(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the Old Colony Railroad : a complete history of the Old Colony Railroad from 1844 to the present time in two parts"

-P 












' 






■nr 







§$& 



« 



1 I1STOR 






Old Oolorrv 



^ 



• ■"."■ 



* Railroad 







HHHHhl 







NEW YORK. BOSTON. CHICAGO, 

R E AD—-- ■-=» 

THE NORTH 

A flonthly Illustrated Journal of 

Industrial, * Inventive, . * Commercial * and 

Financial * Resources * of^ the 

United *• States. 

History, Biography, Science and Literature. 

EDITED AND PUBLISHED BY 

H A Gr E R & HANDY, 

12 PEARL STREET, - BOSTON, MASS. 

Special Editions on the World's Fair by our Correspondents. 



ESTABLISHED 1881 



MdQER & HAND!, 

HISTORICAL & ILLUSTRATIVE PUBLISHERS, 

ART ADVERTISING has its place and in 
the front ranks are OUR SPECIALTIES. 



PUBLISHERS OF 



New England News, The North, History West Encj 

/ 
Street Railway, History Boston Yacht Club, 

History Old Colony Railroad. 



(A) 



ESTABLISHED 1801 




BENT & CO.'S 



CELEBRATED HAND-MADE 



WATER CRACKERS. 

THE BEST UN THE WORLD. 

Used by leading hotels and club-rooms. A great relish for invalids, and 
easy of digestion, and highly recommended by the medical faculty. Keep 
in any climate. Convenient for tourists and excursion parties. Beware of 
imitations. The genuine bear our stamp. Sold by ail leading grocers. 



BENT & GO'S CRACKER MEAL. 

Is one of the most extensively used articles now in the market. Used and indorsed by 
~ the Boston Cooking School. 



Bent's Water Wafers. 



SOMETHING 
ENTIRELY 

NEW. 
ABSOLUTELY 

PURE. 




A DELICATE 

AND 
DELICIOUS 
LUNCH FOR 
THE LADIES. 



HOME MADE GINGER SNAPS 



MANUFACTURED BY 



THE 



NEW YORK BISCUIT CO., Milton, Mass, 




SMITHSONIAN 
INSTITUTION 
LIBRARIES 



Gift of 
THOMAS NORRELL 




(c) 

J. WILLIAM BRADY, 

MANUFACTURER AND DEALER IN ALL KINDS OF 



M 



attresses, 



attress*^Vat)er 
a*LUPMOLSTERBR. 



Hotel Work and Church Cushions a Specialty. 

Brass and Iron Bedsteads, Spring Cots, etc. 

Feather Beds Renovated by all the Latest 
Improved Processes. 

Steam and cold air. 

Feathers of all Grades for Sale at the Low- 
est Prices. 

All orders by Mail Receive Prompt Attention. 



270 and 272 WEYB05SET STREET, 

PROVIDENCE, B. I. 

Richmond Building, opposite Snow Street. 



TELEPHONE CONNECTIONS. 



P) 



THE LEOMINSTER SIT C1PM, 

MANUFACTURERS OF FINE DRESS SHIRTS. 



LAUNDRIED AND UNLAUNDRIED, 



S. A. STEVENS, PRES. 
E. F. POWERS, Treas, 



LEOMINSTER, MASS 



iim~ 





This Corporation is one of the largest manufacturers of this article of 
gentlemen 9 s apparel in this country. 

The Corporation operate two large shirt factories, both situated on the Old 
Colony System of Railroads. The first and largest at Leominster, the other at 
Provincetown, M'iss. This concern is one of the oldest establishments in this 
line and their goods have a sale in every city and town in our broad land. 
They employ some five hundred hands and the capacity of their works is over 
five hundred and fifty dozens of shirts per day. Twenty five different styles of 
shirts are manufactured. They sell to the wholesale trade and the merits of 
their goods and low prices bring them a most flourishing business. 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



JORDAN, HARSH £HB CO., 

BOSTON, MASS. 



TO OUR PATRONS. 

We desire to place before all our customers, no matter how distant they 
may be, some idea of our house. We find it impossible to do this by mere 
ordinary announcement. We wish each person into whose hands this 
book falls to have an accurate idea of our firm, our resources, and our 
goods. When we reflect that our readers number several millions of 
people, we feel ambitious of providing them with something worthy. 
We trust we have succeeded. Among this enormous patronage are, of 
course, thousands who can only know us by our reputation ; who can never 
see for themselves the working of our vast establishment. We are con 
tent to have it recognized as the great American Distributor, the 
colossal establishment, where experience, capital, and earnest zeal are the 
motive power. 

We have brought the Mailing Department up to a 
degree of perfection never before attained. We have a staff of regularly 
trained clerks, many of them ladies of the best education, and we are in a 
position to receive and execute 7,000 Orders within Twenty- 
f our Hours. Prices will be found extraordinarily low. The reason 
for this is we purchase in such large quantities in all parts of the world. 
Our enormous business is felt in every commercial center, Our Store 
is an Exposition of the World's Industries. 

In Conclusion, we beg our patrons to call our attention to any 

point in which we may have failed to satisfy them and promise that any 

suggestions or any views presented by them will be gratefully considered 

by us 

Yours Respectfully, 

JORDAN, MARSH & CO. 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



EMERSON 



Finest Tone, 
Best Work and Material. 



ESTABLISHED IN 1849. 




60 ' 000 *?§B Every insturment 

Made and in use, fv^l y ¥*: Fully Warranted. 



Prices Moderate 

Terms Reasonable 



Prices Moderate and | | /\ 1\| f ^V ^^ 




Pianos to Rent and JFmer°so ^ J1 Oid Pianos Taken in 
on Instalment. if| Exchange. 



T 



HESE instruments have enjoyed a high reputation for more than forty years. Are Brilliant 
and Musical in Tone, and afford a most beautiful accompaniment to vocal music — the 
tone having that rare sympathetic quality which blends admirable with the human 
voice. They are Durable, being constructed of the Best Materials, by the Most Skil- 
ful "Workmen. They have earned an especial reputation for Keeping in Tune, and also for 
retaining in a most remarkable degree their original fulness of tone — never growing thin or wiry 
with age. 

The Emerson Uprierht Pianos especially have obtained a remarkable success during the past 
few years, and have invariably received a high award wherever exhibited. In all the essential 
qualities of a 

PIR5T-CLA55 INaTRUAENT. 

they are second to no pianos manufactured in the country. 



ILLUSTRATED CATALOGUE FREE, 



EMERaON PIgNO coinPAN<i 

w J 174 Tremont St., Boston, Hass. 

Warerooms: j ^ pmh ^ ^ ^ 



CONTENTS. 

Page 
History of The Old Colony Railroad, Part One. - - - - 9 to 130 
History of The Towns and Cities of The Old Colony Railroad, 

Part Two. 133 to 480 

Lease of The Old Colony Railroad to New York, New Haven 

& Hartford Railroad. 480 

Index to Branches, Towns and Cities. 7 and 8 

Prominent Houses and Index to Descriptive Articles. - - - 505 

Index to Advertisements. ^ 508 

Introduction. 

Steam Railroads of The United States and Canada. ... - 483 



LIST OK ILLUSTRATIONS. 

Views in Provincetown. 

Views in Newport, R. I. 

Views along the shore at Cohasset. 

Views along Buzzard's Bay. 

Views in Nantucket. 

View of Plymouth Bay. 

Views in Nantasket. 

View of Massachusetts Bay. 

View of Provincetown. 

View of a group of Whalers at New Bedford. 

Views at Martha's Vineyard. 

View ©f Gay Head, Martha's Vineyard. 

View of Plymouth Rock. 

Views in North Scituate. 

View of Minots Ledge Light. 

Views in Cape Cod. 

View of the National Monument at Plymouth. 

View of the Miles Standish House at Duxbury. 

View of Plymouth Rockand Cole's Hill. 

Kneeland Street and Park Square Stations of the Old Colony Railroad, also showing the 

Public Garden and State House. 
Attleboro Station. 
Middleboro Station. 
Harrison Square Station. 
New Bedford Station. 
North Weymouth Station. 
Dedham Station. 
Southboro Station 
North Easton Station. 
Stoughton Central Station. 
Steamer " Puritan." 
Interior Steamer " Puritan." 
Interior Steamer " Plymouth " 

Interior of one of the Magnificient Steamers of the Old Colony. 
Steamer " Pilgrim" in East River,, New York. 



■IMPORTED- CARPETS • 

<JEl- SCOTCH •«£ 

•AXAIN5TER5- BRVSSELS AMLToNS 

CiJB ENGLISH •'^ 

•WILToNS -BRVSSELS- 

•ART • INGRAINS- 

•WooL-DYTCH-KAL/^VC- 

W^-SAXoNY-^ 3 ^ 

•RVGS-AND-CARPETS- 




\W§ 



ZL^lmj 



T^ 5H1PWAS CHEERD;TTE-HARBoR-aEARP^\EBRliy DID 
I ^Eb^VThE-KIRK-.BELoW-Trf HlLL•BEL^V■T^f•LlGHT• , 
I THE -SVN-CA/AE-VP- VPoN ThE LEFT. oYT oF TOSEA CAME 
| -ANDHE SHoNE-bRlGHTiAND-oNThE RIGHT -YvENTDoWN 

INTO • ThE-SEA!.(f^^^S^T77f^fr 



•JoHNHPTW- SON5-& -COMPANY^ 
$>***ixfi?k -IMPORTERS' S-**^*^ 



Copyn^T- Bj, .ioK-\H p,.,^ So™ & <V>. 



O^rS 






GIFT OF 
THOMAS NORRELL! 

DIVISION OF TRANSPORTATION 
CAL Ha. 326,990 ASS, No. 266,009 



H I STORY 



OF THE 



Old Colony ® 
® ® Railroad. 



A Complete History of the Old Colony Railroad from 
1844 to the Present Time. 



In Two Parts. 



Part I. — History of the Old Colony Railroad. 
Part II. — History of the Towns and Cities on the Old Colony 
Railroad. 



Also a Review and Trade Directory of the Prominent 

Houses Located in the Towns and Cities on the Lines 

Comprising the Old Colony Railroad. Also 

List of the Steam Railroads of the 

United States and Canada. 



* II5ISU3TRATED. * 



boston, mass. 

BY 



HAGER & HAND 
publishers. 




' I * 3 



' y»der\f£: - 



Did LPion^ r 











mrm 




INTRODUCTION. 

In preparing this " History of the Old Colony Railroad" the 
publishers are not unmindful of the fact that some of the details will 
appear dry and uninteresting to the general reader ; but to those 
who will carefully peruse its pages and minutely analyze the reports 
as presented from year to year, much will be found that will prove of 
interest as well as be instructive on the subject of railway develop- 
ment in New England. 

The growth of the Old Colony system presents one phase which 
is just now of peculiar interest, and which many suppose is a modern 
feature of railroad management — that of Consolidation. The Old 
Colony has gained nearly the whole of its present mileage through 
this process, as will be seen elsewhere in this work, and never 
in its long and honorable history has this been in a single instance 
the result of selfish interests or a desire to crush out competition. 
In sparsely settled districts many lines were early established which, 
left to themselves, would have died the natural death of all such 
enterprises, but the Old Colony always stepped into the breach in time 
to rescue their projectors from financial disaster and invariably supplied 
the inhabitants along such roads with a service which could never be 
attained under separate corporations. Such action, while not always 
proving a source of immediate profit to the Old Colony Railroad 
Company, has nevertheless shown wise forethought in its manage- 
ment and a keen perception of the future of the country. It is un- 
necessary for us to say what the result has been. 

Passing as this road does through what is known as " The Old 
Colony," and from which it derives its name, added interest is given 
this publication by descriptions of the cities and towns along its 
various branches, with brief sketches of the more important indus- 
tries carried on in each. 

HAGER & HANDY. 
Boston, 1893. Publishers. 



COPYRIGHTED BY 

Louis P. Hager and Albert D. Handy 

Editors and Publishers, 

1893. 



INDEX TO BRANCHES, TOWNS AND CITIES, 







Page. 




Page 


Brockton 


. 


137 


Bridgewater Branch - - 


369 


Avon 


. 


179 


East Bridgewater - 


369 


Providence R. I. 


. 


181 


The Old Road.. 


371 


Newport, R. I. - 


. 


237 


Holbrook - - 


371 


Quincy 


. 


243 


Bridgewater - 


371 


Taunton 


. 


281 


Matfield - - - 


373 


New Bedford 


. 


299 


Westdale .... 


373 


Fall River 


. . 


317 


Titicut and North Middleboro 


373 


Braintree 


. 


327 


Middleboro - 


375 


South Braintree 


. 


330 


Plymouth and Middleboro Road 


375 


South Shore Branch 


. 


333 


Lakeville - 


378 


East Braintree 


. 


333 


Myrick's .... 


379 


Weymouth 


- 


333 


Assonet - 


379 


North Weymouth 


. 


337 


The New Road - 


381 


East Weymouth 


. 


337 


Randolph - 


381 


Hingham 


. 


338 


North Easton .... 


383 


Cohasset 


. 


339 


Easton - 


385 


Nantasket Beach Branch 


343 


Raynham - 


388 


Nantasket Beach 


. 


343 


Dightons, The 


388 


Duxbury and Cohas 


Bet Branch 


345 


Berkeley - 


391 


Marshfield 


. 


346 


Somerset - 


391 


Duxbury 


- 


346 


New Bedford Branch - 


396 


Scituate - 


. 


345 


Howland's ... 


396 


Kingston 


. 


347 


East Freetown 


396 


Plymouth Road and Hanover Branch 


349 


Acushnet - 


396 


South Weymouth 


. 


349 


Easton Branch, via. Brockton 


396 


North Abington 


. 


351 


West Bridgewater - 


396 


Abington 


. 


355 


Cochesett - / - 


397 


Whitman 


. 


355 


Middleboro and Taunton Branch 


397 


Hanson 


. 


357 


Fall River Branch - 


397 


Halifax 


. 


358 


Dartmouth - 


397 


Plympton 


. 


358 


Fairhaven Branch 


398 


Sea Side - 


- 


358 


Marion .... 


398 


Plymouth 




359 


Mattapoisett - 


398 


Rockland 


. 


363 


Fairhaven - - - 


398 


Hanover 


. 


367 







INDEX TO BRANCHES, TOWNS AND CITIES. 



Cape Cod Division 


_ 


. 


. 


.rage. 
399 


Warehani 


- 




- 


- 


399 


Bourne 


- 


- 


- 


- 


399 


Sandwich 


- 


- 


- 


- 


399 


Barnstable 


- 


- 


- 


- 


400 


Yarmouth 


- 


- 


- 


- 


400 


Dennis 




- 


- 


- 


400 


Harwich 


- 


- 


- 


- 


401 


Chatham 


- 


- 


- 


- 


401 


Brewster 


- 


- 


- 


- 


401 


Orleans 


- 


- 




- 


401 


Eastham 


- 


- 


- 


- 


403 


Wellfleet 


- 


- 


- 


- 


403 


Truro 


- 


- 


- 


- 


403 


Provincetown 


- 


- 


- 


- 


403 


Woods Holl Branch 


- 


- 


- 


407 


Falmouth 


- 


- 


- 


- 


407 


Martha's Vine> 


ard 


- 


- 


- 


407 


Cottage City 


- 


- 


- 


- 


407 


Tisbury 


- 


- 


- 


- 


408 


Edgar town 


- 


- 


- 


- 


408 


Gay Head 


- 


- 


- 


- 


408 


Vineyard Haveu 


- 


- 


- 


409 


Nantucket 


- 


- 


- 


- 


409 


Northern Divis 


irtll 


- 




- 


409 


Fitchburg 


- 


- 


- 




409 


Leominster 




- 


- 


- 


411 


Clinton 




- 


- 


- 


417 


Sterling 


- 


- 


- 


- 


419 


Northborough 


- 


- 


- 


- 


419 


Marlborough 


- 


- 


- 


- 


423 


Southborough 


- 


- 


- 


- 


424 


Sherborn 


- 


- 


- 


- 


424 


Medfield 


- 


- 


- 


- 


424 


Walpole - 


- 


- 


- 


- 


425 


Wrentham 


- 




- 


- 


427 


Foxboruugh 


- 


- 


- 


- 


429 


Mansfield 


- 


- 


- 


- 


431 


Lowell & Fram 


ingham Branch 


- 


435 


Lowell 


- 


- 


- 


- 


435 


Chelmsford 


- 


- 


- 


- 


436 


Carlisle "- 




- 


- 


- 


436 



Page. 

Westford - - - - • 436 

Acton 437 

Concord - - - - 437 

Sudbury .... 437 

Fram ingham ... - 437 

Providence Division ... 441 

Hyde Park .... 441 

Readville - - - 442 

Canton ----- 442 

Sharon ----- 445 

Attleborough - 445 

North Attleborough - - - 453 

Attleborough Falls - - - 455 

Pawtucket ... - 456 

Dedham Branch ... 463 

Dedham 463 

Roslindale ... - ^64 

Highland - 464 

West Roxbury - - - - 4^4 

Shawmut and Milton Branch - 465 

Milton - - - - 465 

Central Avenue ... 466 

Granite Branch - - - • 466 

Stoughton Branch - - - 467 

Stoughton ... - 467 

North Stoughton - - 467 

North Attleboro Branch - - 468 

India Point Branch - - - 469 

Warren & Bristol Branch - - 469 

Suburban Service (Central Division) 
Savin Hill, Harrison Square, Pope's 
Hill, Neponset, Field's Corner, Ashmont, 
Cedar Grove and Mattapan, - 470-47 
Suburban Service, (Providence Division) 
Chickering, Roxbury, Boylston, Jamaica 
Plain, Forest Hills, Mount Hope 474-475 

Plainville .... 476 

Norwood - - - - 478 

Addenda — Lease of the Old Colony 
Railroad to the New York, New Haven 

& Hartford Railroad - - - 480 



HISTORY 

OF THE 

OLD COLONY RAILROAD 

PART ONE. 



CHAPTER I. 



" The road-making sons of Vulcan making an uninhabited country habitable." 

Ahschvlus. 

WHAT changes the builders of railroads have wrought in 
the landscape of our country ! No factor has been so 
important as the steam locomotive in the development of 
our nation ; in fact, it is to this mighty power that we owe our undi- 
vided territory, our large and valuable cities, which embrace within 
their boundary lines hundreds of thousands of inhabitants, our nu- 
merous villages, studded with churches, dotted with schools and 
filled with happy and comfortable homes and budding souls. The 
activity of men is quickened by the railroad, while it sends energy 
and vitality where before were silence and barrenness. But few 
years have passed since our fathers feared that, on account of its 
vast extent of territory and consequent divers interests of its differ- 
ent sections, our fair country would be divided. This fear is not to 
be wondered at when we consider the meagre means of transporta- 
tion on which they depended for business and social intercourse. 
This diversity of interests may be illustrated by comparing the 
states lying side by side, like, for instance, Massachusetts and Con- 
necticut ; their commerce is thoroughly characteristic of the state, 
and each presents different features. In respect to products and 
outward features, the difference between distant states, as, for in- 
stance, between California and Vermont, or between Florida and 



10 HISTORY OF THE 

Montana, is as great as the difference between Russia and Egypt — 
between England and Africa. But it is this great diversity of inter- 
ests, coupled with an essential likeness of the people, which consti- 
tutes the peculiar strength of the United States ; this world within 
our borders, all saluting the one flag, draws the bond of our union 
more closely. 

Less than half a century ago the farmer depended upon water 
communication to carry his produce to market, therefore only the 
land which bordered upon the streams and canals was valuable. 
The inducements offered to emigrants were not the most enticing, 
consequently the rich soil lay uncultivated ; but under the magic 
flight of the locomotive vast tracts of fertile lands have been 
opened, and the mineral wealth and forest riches have attracted to 
us the enterprise and industries of the world. 

To whom are we indebted for these great changes, and how were 
they brought about ? Like all great inventions, they were the re- 
sult of years of toil, study and experiment, chances lost, fortunes 
wasted and hopes crushed ; the rude awakening from bright dreams 
of fortune and success of first one inventor, then another, each in 
succession taking up the labor where his wearied brother laid it 
down, until to-day the world admires the seemingly perfect piece of 
mechanism and triumph of mechanical skill which races over the 
steel rails. 

The story of the early locomotive, both in Europe and America, 
is familiar to our readers. We will not, therefore, again go over the 
ground ; but in order that you may more thoroughly appreciate the 
growth and present high state of perfection of the Old Colony Rail- 
road, we will give a few facts regarding the early efforts of the more 
advanced minds in this country to introduce the railway system. 

The means of communication which existed in Massachusetts 
previous to the establishment of railroads was very meagre. Seated, 
as she is, upon the sea, and favored with a number of sheltering har- 
bors always open to a ready intercourse with foreign countries, yet 
she was almost destitute of internal navigation. The Merrimac had 
in the early days threatened to be to Boston what the Connecticut 
was in 1825. Immediate steps had to be taken by the people of the 
Bay State in order to keep New Hampshire from making Ports- 
mouth its distributing centre instead of Boston. No sooner had 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. II 

peace been declared, our independence established, and the 
weapons of war laid aside, than the people turned their attention 
toward internal improvements. It was then that the idea of the 
Middlesex canal, which connected the upper waters of the Merrimac 
with Boston harbor, was conceived. Governor Hancock signed the 
act incorporating the company authorized to build this canal, in 
June, 1793. The original plan of the promoters was to connect the 
Merrimac, at some point in Chelmsford, with the Mystic, at a point 
in Medford ; but the charter was subsequently so amended that the 
southern outlet was at tide-water in Charlestown, on the Charles. 
The surveys were made by an English engineer named Weston, 
while the whole process of the work was superintended by Colonel 
Loammi Baldwin, senior, who, while surveying the route of this 
canal in Wilmington, chanced across an apple tree, the fruit of 
which so pleased him that he took great pains to grow an orchard 
from that tree, at his home in Woburn, which thus became the pro- 
genitor of the famous Baldwin apple. 

The canal was twenty-seven miles in length. In receding north- 
ward from tide-water it ascended one hundred and seven feet by 
means of thirteen locks. It reached its highest altitude in North 
Billerica, where it drew its supply of water from the Concord river. 
Then crossing that river it descended twenty-one feet by means of 
three locks, striking the Merrimac above the Pawtucket falls, in 
what was then East Chelmsford, subsequently, in 1824, incorporated 
as Lowell. The bed of the canal was four feet deep and thirty wide. 
It was navigated by flat boats of twenty-four tons burden, which 
occupied twelve hours in the average ' passage through it ; and by 
means of improvements in the Merrimac, water connection was 
made as far north as Concord, N. H., some seventy-five miles from 
Boston. This canal was a most costly venture ; its construction, 
together with the improvements in the Merrimac, cost about $500,- 
000, truly a large amount of capital for those days, when the as- 
sessed valuation of Boston was but $15,000,000. In 1803 the canal 
was opened to traffic and continued in use until June 1, 1853 ; but 
disappointment was about all the public and capitalists got in return. 
The gross annual income of the works was never much over 
$20,000, and during the first half of its existence no dividend was 
paid on its stock. After 181 8, and until the railroad was built, they 



12 HISTORY OF THE 

averaged about one and a half per cent, per annum. Then they 
ceased altogether, while the Middlesex was in course of construc- 
tion. The famous- General Knox surveyed a route in 1791 for a 
canal to connect Worcester with the seaboard at Boston, but owing 
to the opposition of parties interested in a canal along the Black- 
stone river to Providence, nothing at this time came of either 
project. 

It was not until the early part of the present century that the 
subject of railroads was advocated in this country, the foremost 
spirit in the enterprise being Mr. John Stevens This gentleman, 
who will always be remembered as the inventor of a steamboat, 
which he exhibited in 1804, was born at New York in 1749, and lived 
to see the development of his favorite enterprise, he having died in 
1838. After the failure of the Western Inland Navigation Company 
of New York State, by whom works were constructed allowing the 
passage across the summit, along the Mohawk and the rivers inter- 
locking with this and flowing into Lake Ontario, of boats of fifteen 
tons burden, an effort was made, in 18 10, to re-open the line, 
and a committee of the New York Legislature was raised to 
examine the route of the old company with the improvements 
thereon. 

The war of 1812, which soon followed, put an end to all move- 
ments in this direction until the return of peace. This war how- 
ever, had one good effect, — it demonstrated the imperative neces- 
sity of such a work, and in 18 16 a Board of Commissioners was ap- 
pointed to consider the whole subject. This board reported at 
length and favorably, and on the 15 th of April, 18 17, an act was 
passed providing for the construction of the Erie canal. The work 
was commenced on July 4 of the same year, and on November 4, 
1825, eight years after, the waters of the Great Lakes were min- 
gled with those of the ocean, and Governor De Witt Clinton of 
New York made his triumphant passage in a state barge from 
Lake Ontario to the mouth of the Hudson, and symbolized the 
union of the two by mingling their waters. Previous to the open- 
ing of this canal, the cost of transporting a ton of merchandise 
from Buffalo to Albany, as stated in a report of the Board of Com- 
missioners already referred to, was $100. The time required was 
twenty-one days. Such a statement affords a good illustration of 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 1 3 

the cost of transportation at the time over ordinary highways. The 
produce then grown in the western part of New York was floated in 
arks down the Delaware and Susquehanna rivers to market. For 
the great interior basin the Mississippi was almost the sole outlet. But 
the navigation of the river was so expensive and hazardous and so 
slow as to restrict its commerce to a very few articles of high value 
in proportion to their bulk. The opening of the Erie instantly re- 
duced the cost of transportation from Buffalo to Albany from one 
hundred dollars to ten dollars and ultimately to three dollars per 
ton. It was on the success of this great public work that the west- 
ern and eastern states immediately undertook the construction of 
similar works. In Massachusetts it became a matter of very ser- 
ious consideration. Bostonians wanted to maintain their city as a 
commercial centre, which could not be continued with such a power 
as the Erie canal to draw the trade to New York. None of the 
large rivers in New England were tributary to Boston. The two 
more important, the Blackstone and Connecticut, flowed, the former 
by Providence, and the latter by Hartford, which were mere stations 
en transit to New York. The question confronting the Boston mer- 
chants was then how to overcome or at least how to counteract 
the natural disadvantages of their state. The legislature had, on 
February 25, 1825, provided for a commission " to ascertain the 
practicability of making a canal from Boston harbor to Connecticut 
river '' and "of extending the same to some point on the Hudson river 
in the state of New York, in the vicinity of the junction of the Erie 
canal with that river." The report in full was transmitted to Governor 
Lincoln on January 11, 1826, which bill was a remarkable illustra- 
tion of the vast difference between estimate and actual cost. Colonel 
Loammi Baldwin, Jr., made the surveys. One covered the route 
from Boston to the Connecticut river, the other that from the Con- 
necticut to the Hudson. Of these routes, two lines were found 
practical, and each had their champions, but the northern, by way of 
Fitchburg, was finally recommended. There was in this route but 
one point at which the Berkshire range could be penetrated by a 
canal at all, and that was at the point where the Deerfield river on 
the east side of the Hoosac mountain and the Hoosac river on its 
west side are but four miles apart, the point where the Hoosac tunnel 
now is, the idea of which was then first suggested. The report of 



14 HISTORY OF THE 

the Canal Commissioners was laid before the legislature in January, 
1826, when, in spite of the recommendation of the Governor, the 
resolves under which the investigations were made were repealed, 
and a resolve to authorize further surveys was laid upon the 
table. 

This decision was arrived at when the cost, $6,023,172, and the 
length of time which would be required to carry it out were con- 
sidered. These canals were by no means adapted to the demands 
either of commerce or travel. They were practicable in only a very 
limited number of routes — liable during navigation to interruption, 
and wholly closed by ice for a considerable portion of the year, so 
that with the introduction of steam railroads these constructions 
were practically abandoned. 

The steamboats of New York, by their daily and regular voyages 
to Providence, to the Connecticut river, to New Haven, and to those 
points of the Hudson river which lie near the western border of Massa- 
chusetts united half the state at least more intimately with New 
York through her great facilities of commercial intercourse, than with 
Boston. There were similar diversions of the trade of Boston ; in 
fact, Massachusetts was commercially divided, so much so that the 
trader from the western part of the state was seldom seen in the 
eastern market. This could not last, and had not the invention 
of the railroad been made, Boston would not have been the 
nourishing city she is to-day ; while had it not been for the 
persistent opposition to railroads by the colonial type of legis- 
lators, who were the leaders in the landed interests of the state — 
and the landed interest was the most prominent at the time — 
Boston would not have surrendered so much of her commerce to 
New York. 

The torch that kindled the fire of interest in railroads in this 
country was applied unintentionally by those who were intrusted to 
erect at Bunker Hill that great shaft commemorating the birth of a 
nation, who, in their endeavor to obtain the most expeditious mode 
for its construction, little thought they were creating in the Quincy 
Railway another monument far greater and more important — 
an epoch in the history of that nation, the stimulus of which 
has been felt in every department of national industry and 
enterprise. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. I 5 

Mr. Gridley Bryant, the genius who planned and built the famous 
Quincy Railroad, the first in the United States, was not only a 
builder, but also a self-educated engineer, was born in Scituate, Mass., 
in 1 789, and was thirty-six years of age at the time he undertook the 
building of this road. The story of the enterprise and its develop- 
ment we reprint from " Stuart's Lives and Works of the Civil and 
Military Engineers of America." 

" The Quincy Railroad was commenced under the following cir- 
cumstances : The Bunker Hill Monument Association had been 
formed, and funds enough collected to commence the foundation of 
the monument, in the spring of 1825. I aided the architect in pre- 
paring the foundation, and on the 17th day of June, following, the 
cornerstone was laid by General de Lafayette, and I had the honor 
to assist as master builder at the ceremony. I had, previous to this, 
purchased a stone quarry (the funds being furnished by Dr. John C. 
Warren) for the express purpose of procuring the granite for con- 
structing this monument. This quarry was in Quincy, nearly four 
miles from water carriage. This suggested to me the idea of a rail- 
road (the Manchester and Liverpool - Railroad being in contempla- 
tion at that time, but was not finished until the spring following). 
Accordingly, in the fall of 1825, I consulted Thomas Handasyd 
Perkins, William Sullivan, Amos Lawrence, Isaac T. Davis and 
David Moody, all of Boston, in reference to it. These gentlemen 
thought the project visionary and chimerical, but, being anxious to 
aid the Bunker Hill monument, consented that I might see what 
could be done. 

"I awaited the meeting of our legislature in the winter of 1825 
and 1826, and after every delay and obstruction that could be 
thrown in the way, I finally obtained a charter, although there was 
great opposition in the House. The questions were asked : 'What 
do we know about railroads?' 'Who ever heard of such a thing?' 
' Is it right to take people's land for a project that no one knows 
anything about?' 'We have corporations enough already.' Such 
and similar objections were made, and numerous restrictions were im- 
posed, but it finally passed, by a small majority only. Unfavorable 
as the charter was, it was admitted that it was obtained by my exer- 
tions ; but it was owing to the munificence and public spirit of 
Colonel T. H. Perkins that we were indebted for the whole enter.- 



1 6 HISTORY OF THE 

prise. None of the first-named gentlemen ever paid any assess- 
ments, and the stock finally fell into the hands of Colonel 
Perkins. 

" The Quincy Railroad is four miles long, including the branches. 
I surveyed several branches from the quarry purchased (calJed the 
Bunker Hill quarry) to the nearest tide-water; and finally the pres- 
ent location was decided upon. I commenced the work on the first 
day of April, 1826, and on October 7 following, the first train of 
cars passed over the whole length of the road.. 

" The deepest cutting was fifteen feet, and the highest elevation 
above the surface of the ground was twelve feet. The several 
grades were as follows : The first, commencing at the wharf or 
landing, was twenty-six feet to the mile, the second thirteen feet, 
and the third sixty-six feet. This brought us to the foot of the 
table-lands that ran around the main quarry ; here an elevation of 
eighty-four feet vertical was to be overcome. This was done by an 
inclined plane, three hundred and fifteen feet long, at an angle of 
about fifteen degrees. It had an endless chain, to which the cars 
were attached in ascending and descending. At the head of this 
inclined plane I constructed a swing platform to receive the loaded 
cars as they came from the quarry. This platform was balanced by 
weights, and had gearing attached to it in such a manner that it 
would return (after having dumped) to a horizontal position, being 
firmly supported on the periphery of an eccentric cam. When the 
cars were out on the platform there was danger of their running 
entirely over, and I constructed a self-acting guard that would rise 
above the surface of the rail upon the platform as it rose from its 
connection with the inclined plane, or receded out of the way when 
the loaded car passed on to the track ; the weight of the car de- 
pressing the platform as it was lowered down. 

" I also constructed a turn-table at the foot of the quarry, which 
is still in use as originally constructed. The railroad was continued 
at different grades around the quarry, the highest part of which was 
ninety-three feet above the general level. On the top of this was 
erected an obelisk, or monument, forty-five feet high. 

" The road was constructed in the following manner : Stone 
sleepers were laid across the track eight feet apart. Upon these 
wooden rails six inches thick and twelve inches high were placed. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 1 7 

Upon the top of these rails, iron plates three inches wide and one- 
fourth of an inch thick were fastened with spikes, but at all the 
crossings of public roads and driftways, stone rails were used instead 
of wood. On the top of these were placed iron plates four inches 
wide and half an inch thick, being firmly bolted to the stone. The 
inclined plane was built in the same permanent manner and had a 
double track. 

"The first cost of the road was fifty thousand dollars, and that 
of the first car six hundred dollars. The car had high wheels, six 
and one-half feet in diameter, the load being suspended on a plat- 
form by chains under the axles. This platform was let down at any 
convenient place and loaded ; the car was then run over the load, 
and the chains attached to it by being inserted in the eye-bolts in 
the platform and raised a little above the track by machinery on the 
top of the car. The loads averaged about six tons each. The next 
car was made with low wheels, with a strong, massive frame. The 
guage of the road being five feet, the axles were placed 
that distance apart, this being the true principle on which to 
construct railroad tracks, and has been adopted generally in this 
country. 

"When stones of eight or ten tons' weight were to be trans- 
ported, I took two of these trucks and attached them together by a 
platform and king bolts. This made an eight-wheeled car; and 
when larger stones were to be carried, I increased the number of 
trucks, and this made a sixteen-wheel car. This was used to trans- 
port the columns for the court-house in Boston, each one weighing 
sixty-four tons in the rough. In the course of a few years the 
wooden rails began to decay, and it was necessary to replace them. 
This was done by substituting stone in the place of wooden rails, 
using the stone transverse sleepers that had originally been laid. 

"The same mode of securing the iron plates to the stone was 
adopted, and every part of the track is as perfect now as it was 
thirty years ago, although it has been in use ever since, and the 
treasurer of the road says that it has not cost ten dollars a year to 
keep the road in repair. 

"All the cars, trucks and machinery are my original inventions. 
I never began work of any kind without thoroughly investigating 
the principles and proportions that would produce the greatest 



1 8 HISTORY OF THE 

effect ; and in building the cars, tracks and machinery for the in- 
clined plane, and all the twisting apparatus, none of my first produc- 
tions were ever altered by myself, nor has any new machinery been 
substituted or alteration made by those who have had the manage- 
ment of the road from the time I left it to this day, most of my 
original machinery being in use at the present time." 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 



CHAPTER II. 



THE car constructed by Bryant had a frame for a body, which 
consisted of three timbers extending longitudinally and rest- 
ing with each end on a cross bolster, to which they were firmly 
bolted, there being two of these bolsters, each resting upon and across 
a four-wheel carriage or truck, having centre plates and side bearings 
of iron, and secured in the middle to each truck by a vertical king 
bolt, to allow a horizontal swinging motion between them and the 
bolsters, similar to the king bolt and bolster of a wagon. 

Each truck, or four-wheel carriage, was constructed with two 
heavy timbers, to each of which was bolted an iron axle-tree. The 
wheels were of cast iron, with inside flanges and treads running 
upon edge rails. These wheels were about eighteen inches in diam- 
eter and revolved separately upon fixed axles, and not in pairs with 
the axles, as with the cars now in use. 

The distance between the bearing points of the wheels on the 
rails was five feet in each truck and about five feet between the 
trucks. Each truck had a platform covering of plank fastened to 
its frame. They had no pedestals or springs, and could be used 
separately when needed as four-wheel cars. 

The main body or frame to connect the trucks, when used as an 
eight-wheel car, terminated about eighteen inches beyond the middle 
of each car. They had no projecting platform or bunter, and in 
the use of two such cars together, their trucks would collide. They 
were drawn by horses attached to the trucks, and had no arrange- 
ment for draft by the body or for connection in trains, or for gen- 
eral railroad transportation. The cars exhibited the swivelling 
principle of two trucks connected to one carrying body, adapted to 
carrying granite or other heavy bodies and not suited to any other 
purpose. These carriages were continued in use on the Quincy 
Railroad for twenty-five years. 

In the suit of Ross Winans vs. New York and Erie Railroad 
Company, the Bryant car was put in evidence against the validity of 



20 HISTORY OF THE 

the Winans patent, granted for the eight-wheel car, October i, 1834, 
and the jury found a verdict against the patent, upon a legal con- 
struction given to the specification by Judge Hall. From this con- 
struction of the patent a writ of error was taken to the Supreme 
Court of the United States, which latter court confirmed the de- 
cision of the lower court. The specifications of Ross Winans drew 
only a distinguishing line between the eight-wheel carriage and the 
four-wheel carriage, and claimed the general principle of construc- 
tion of the eight-wheel carriage, when it should have distinguished 
between Bryant's car and the eight-wheel carriage as constructed 
and adapted in its combinations and appliances for use in trains at 
high speed, and for transporting freight and passengers. 

No railroad invention ever gave rise to more controversy than 
the eight-wheel railway car, and in none was greater talent em- 
ployed on both sides of the question. About five years of time 
and two hundred and fifty thousand dollars were expended in the 
litigation before a final decision was obtained against the patent, 
which decision, although not benefiting Mr. Bryant pecuniarily, 
sustained his claim as the first inventor of the eight-wheel 
car. 

Winans died, it is said, worth $20,000,000, while Bryant, who 
not having patented his device, had no legal right to royalty, and 
never received a cent for his invention of the car. He passed away 
in 1867, a poor man. 

This effort of Bryant's excited a general interest throughout the 
breadth of our land. It will be remembered that Stephenson had 
by this time constructed in a most primitive manner his steam loco- 
motive, three of which were run on the Stockton & Darlington 
Railroad, the first successful trial having been made September 
27, 1825. No attempt, was made by Bryant to adapt his road 
to steam power, he depending entirely upon horse power, so that 
in reality his was an improved tramway and not a railroad. 
But in this was embodied several inventions indispensable to the 
construction of railroads to-day. They were the switch, or gate, as 
it was termed, the portable derrick, movable truck for the eight- 
wheel car, turn-table and snow-plow. The latter was used during 
a storm when the snow was light. He placed two pieces of 
plank before the car, which met in an angle in the centre ; drawn 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 21 

along the rails the snow was effectively removed, so as to render the 
travelling of the wheels as free as in summer. By this improved 
tramway the large blocks of granite were taken from the 
quarry to the wharf at the Neponset river, being then towed 
around the harbor by a steam tow-boat and landed at Charles- 
town. 

The pioneer roads were rude and unsubstantial structures com- 
pared with the permanent and finished work of the present time. 
They were adapted for neither speed nor heavy tonnage traffic, and 
those lines that were built were chiefly between the largest eastern 
cities to accommodate their passenger traffic. It was on the Dela- 
ware and Hudson River Canal Company's railroad, which connected 
their mines at Carbondale with the town of Honesdale, the terminus 
of the canal, that the first revolution on American soil of the 
driving-wheel of a locomotive was made. The fame of Stephenson 
and others in England reached America in 1825, and in 1828 Mr. 
John B. Jarvis, engineer of the Delaware and Hudson River canal, 
sent over his assistant, Mr. Horatio Allen, to England, to be present 
at the Rainhill contests of competing locomotives, and commis- 
sioned him to purchase three of the best in that country. Stephen- 
son was too busy to build the engine ordered, so it was built by 
Foster Roswick & Co., of Stourbridge. It was of the grasshopper 
pattern and had a lion's head painted in red in front of the boiler, 
from which it received its sobriquet of "Stourbridge Lion." It was 
first exhibited at the Westpoint foundry, which was located at the 
foot of Beach street, New York, and then taken to Honesdale, 
where the trial trip was made August 28, 1829. The locomotive 
was a success, but the company was too poor to buy iron rails, and 
the wooden ones proved too frail for the engine. It was housed in 
a building on the canal dock, where it lay for years and was de- 
stroyed. 

The father of the locomotive system in America, Peter Cooper, 
built the first locomotive in this country. The "Torn Thumb," 
which name was given it, proved that it could run at a high rate of 
speed around curves of a short radius. But this was little better 
than a toy, and was constructed solely for the purpose to pass a 
curve of 152 feet around Point of Rock, Baltimore, which feat saved 
from ruin the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. This curve had to be 



22 HISTORY OF THE 

passed on this line, and the news came from England that Stephen- 
son had claimed that no locomotive could draw a train around any 
curve shorter than a 900 feet radius. Horse power had been used 
formerly and proved unprofitable, but Mr. Cooper was equal to the 
emergency and the road succeeded. 

The first American built locomotive for actual service on a rail- 
road was the engine called the " Best Friend," built for the Charles- 
ton and Hamburg Railway, of South Carolina, which road was built 
in 1827, and the engine was run in 1830. But it came to a most un- 
timely end by the explosion of its boiler. This catastrophe was 
caused by one of the negro firemen, who, becoming annoyed at the 
hissing of the escaping steam, sat on the safety valve. He was never 
again annoyed by any earthly sound. Soon after, January 15, 1831, 
the "West Point," another engine, was put in operation, and the 
anniversary of the road celebrated. A large crowd assembled and 
a, negro band played lively music, but the passengers insisted upon 
having a car loaded with cotton bales placed between the locomotive 
and themselves. They were taking no chances of having another 
impatient darkey vent his spite on the safety valve. 

It will be seen from the above that while Boston was engaged in 
educating local public opinion, the other states were forging ahead 
with their railroads, in consequence of which she lost the railroad 
lead, which she will never regain. 

Nothing could be better adapted to Massachusetts' physical con- 
dition than the railroad system, and soon after the experiments of 
the pioneers in England our citizens went to work with a will to 
secure charters from the Government which would enable them to 
construct railroads in the state, but it was a most difficult task to 
convince the legislature of its importance. A large part of the 
public was highly incredulous, and the advocates of the plan were 
hindered in every possible way. The promoters, however, after a 
lengthy and hard struggle, succeeded as early as 1827 in having the 
Massachusetts Legislature authorize the appointment of a Board of 
Commissioners to cause surveys to be made of the most practicable 
routes for a railroad from Boston to the Hudson river, at or near 
Albany. The next year the appointment of a Board of Directors of 
Internal Improvement, consisting of twelve members, appropriated 
a fund to oay the expenses of surveys and plans. In March, 1827, 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 23 

the Committee of Internal Improvement was authorized to survey a 
route for the projectors of the road between Boston and Provi- 
dence. One year later the Board of Directors of this branch of 
the Government was authorized to make a more thorough and com- 
plete investigation. The Legislature of the State of Rhode Island, 
through the influence of the latter board, passed an act granting 
authority for the extension of a railroad leading from Boston through 
any part of that state to Providence, with permission to take tolls 
thereon, while a large number of land owners along the route exe- 
cuted, under seal, agreements to permit the railroad to pass 
through their estates, they releasing all claims to compensation for 
theland which should be taken and for damage which should accrue 
in consideration of the benefits they would receive by the building 
of the road. 

March 2, 1827, by a petition of Whitwell, Bond & Co. and 
others, the Board of Commissioners of Internal Improvements was 
appointed to survey a route to Rhode Island, which report was made 
and sent in to the legislature by Gov. Lincoln, Jan. 25, 1828. The 
manuscript was a voluminous one, and was briefly reviewed by His 
Excellency in his message. In this report they claimed that they 
had no choice between the eastern or western route, and the road 
would not rise more than thirty feet in a mile, except in a single 
short section. Horse power was recommended, while foundation 
tracks of granite, having a flat bar of iron secured by bolts to the 
upper surface of the stone, on which the wheels were to move, was 
spoken of, the cost of which was estimated at $8,000 per mile, while 
the income was figured at $60,000. 

. Messrs. Levi Lincoln, Nathan Hale, Stephen White, David Hen- 
shaw, Thomas W. Bird, Royal Makepeace, George Bond, William 
Foster and Edward H. Robbins, Jr., the gentlemen who constituted 
this board, said in their report, when referring to the advantages of 
horse power : " The labor of the horse may be still more relieved 
by providing a platform, placed on small wheels, on which the horse 
himself may ride when making long descents. This expedient, 
singular as it may seem to persons unaccustomed to observe the ease 
of locomotion on a railroad, is adopted with success on the Darlington 
& Munch Chunk Railroad, and the horses eat their provender while 
they are returning to a point where their labor is to be resumed." 



24 HISTORY OF THE 

Despite these recommendations and the resolutions offered by 
the committees in the succeeding sessions, the legislature refused 
to make an appropriation of public money, either for undertak- 
ing the construction of roads on the public account, or for co- 
operation with private corporations to be established for that 
purpose. 

In 1830 the Boston, Providence & Taunton Railway Co. was 
chartered, with a capital of 8500,000, to build a road extending from 
Boston to the Pawtucket river, in Seekonk, on the Rhode Island 
line, in Pawtucket, and from some part of the road to Taunton. 
They were given until January 1, 1835, to finish the line, but in 
1 83 1 the Boston & Providence and the Boston & Taunton were 
chartered in lieu of this company. Several private companies that 
received charters failed for want of the necessary confidence for 
raising subscriptions to the stock. Among the early companies who 
were thus unfortunate was the Boston, Providence & Taunton Rail- 
road Corporation, which was incorporated March 2, 1830, by Messrs. 
Frederick Tudor, Richard D. Tucker, John I. Boise, Thomas B. Wales, 
Leonard Foster and William Foster, to build a road from Boston to 
Seekonk, or to the line of the state of Rhode Island in Pawtucket, 
and also from some convenient part of the line to Taunton, to the 
Taunton river, the capital stock being $500,000. 

During the session of 183 1 Messrs. John Bryant, Joseph W. Re- 
vere, George Hallet and Benjamin R. Nichols were incorporated, 
June 22, as the Boston & Providence Railroad Corporation, with a 
capital stock of $1,000,000, to construct a road from Boston to Paw- 
tucket or Seekonk. The charter was similar to that granted to the 
Boston, Providence & Taunton. Five years' time was given them 
to complete the road, which period was extended one year, February 
29, 1832. On March 31, 1834, they were authorized to build a 
branch road from their main line to Dedham, but the route laid out 
at this time was slightly altered March 7, 1835. They were also at 
this date permitted to contract with the Boston & Providence Rail- 
road and Transportation Co., of Rhode Island, for the use of their 
bridge across the Seekonk river and of a railroad from thence to 
Providence, also for a depot. The capital stock was increased April 
1, 1835, by an addition of $50,000, and on April 16, 1836, a like 
sum was again added. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 25 

The Boston & Worcester Railroad Corporation was established 
during 1831, and the charter of the Boston & Lowell, granted the 
preceding year, being amended, these companies were organized 
by the subscription of the required amount of capital — the Worces- 
ter conditionally, with the reservation of the right of the subscribers 
to withdraw on receiving the report of definitive surveys and esti- 
mates. The charter of the Boston & Worcester Road was the first 
which contained the express grant of authority to transport passen- 
gers and merchandise on account of the corporation, and to purchase 
and hold locomotives, engines and cars. 

June 22, 1 83 1, Messrs. Cyrus Alger, Israel Thorndike, Thomas 
H. Perkins, David Sears, Solomon Willard, Nathan Hale, William 
Prescot.t, Samuel A. Eliot, James K. Mills, Amos Atkinson, Wil- 
liam Rollins, Samuel Crocker, Charles Richmond and Edward Dwight 
were incorporated as the Boston & Taunton Railway Company, to 
construct a road from Boston to Taunton, and then to the Taunton 
river, for which they were allowed a capital stock of $1,000,000. 
They were allowed five years' time in which to finish the road, which 
time was extended March 7, 1832, one. year. No other railroad was 
to be allowed to be built between Boston, Roxbury or Dorchester to 
Taunton, or from Boston, Roxbury or Dorchester to any place within 
five miles of the point where this road should meet the deep water of 
Taunton river or Mt. Hope bay, unless they would run over the track 
of this line, paying for the privilege such sum as the legislature 
should determine. 

A great part of the original stock of the Boston & Providence 
Railroad was taken by New York capitalists. The Boston & Wor- 
cester Road was partially opened to public travel in April, 1834. On 
this occasion, the use of locomotive engines was introduced for the first 
time in New England. The Boston & Providence Road was opened 
in part in June, 1834, and throughout in June, 1835. One of the loco- 
motives introduced upon the Boston & Worcester Road within the 
first year from its opening was built in Boston. Rails rolled from a 
pattern prescribed in this country were imported from England, as 
were the locomotives. 

The Fall River Mill Road, Railroad and Ferry Company was in- 
corporated March 31, 1835, by Messrs. Henry Gardner, Andrew 
Robeson, Harvey Chase, Samuel Rodman, Jr., Charles W. Morgan, 



26 HISTORY OF THE 

Leander P. Lovell and William Wilbur, with a capital of $300,000, 
among other things to build a bridge over the narrows on Lee's river, 
also Cole's river in Swansey, to establish a steam ferry across Taunton 
Great river, from the easterly shore to the western shore opposite 
Fall River in Somerset ; also to build a branch railroad from the 
western shore of Taunton Great river opposite Fall River, to meet the 
Boston & Providence Road at India Point bridge in Seekonk. The 
first meeting of this company was held on the first Monday in May, 

1835, an d its report sent to the legislature, which was accepted by 
that body. 

The Taunton Branch Railroad Corporation was incorporated 
April 3, 1835, by William A. Crocker, Charles Richmond, Samuel L. 
Crocker and David Brewer, to build a road from Taunton to Mansfield, 
and at the latter place to form a junction with the Boston & Provi- 
dence Road. Their capital stock was $150,000. The latter corpora- 
tion was authorized to build and equip the road, should both corpora- 
tions agree. The capital stock was increased $50,000 April 16, 1836, 
and on February 27, 1837, a like sum was added. 

This corporation completed its line from Taunton to its junc- 
tion with the Boston & Providence Railroad at Mansfield in August, 

1836, when the road was opened for passenger traffic, and a little 
later for freight. It had a contract with the Boston & Provi- 
dence Road to forward its passenger and freight cars to the cities 
of Boston and Providence from that point, which contract expired 
January, 185 1. 

During the year following, the following charters were granted 
for the building of roads that in course of time were merged into the 
Old Colony system : Messrs. Andrew Robeson, Harvey Chase and 
Charles W. Morgan were incorporated April 16, 1836, as the New 
Bedford & Fall River Railroad Company, with a capital of $300,000, 
to construct a road from Taunton to Fall River. 

The Seekonk Branch Railroad Company was established April 
16, 1836, by Timothy P. Ide, Tristam Burgess and John W. Rich- 
mond, to build a line from a point at or near the old Wharf Point on 
the Seekonk river in Seekonk, to a point on the Boston & Provi- 
dence, the capital stock being limited to $100,000. The Fall River 
Mill Road, Railroad and Ferry Company was authorized to lay 
its tracks at any point. A clause of its charter excludes those 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 2J 

persons who owned the southern termination of the Boston & 
Providence Railroad in Rhode Island from ever having any control 
of this road, or holding any of its stock. 

The charter of the Seekonk Branch Railroad Company was so 
amended April 25, 1838, as to permit its using its own time in 
laying rails on that part of its road between Rocky Point and 
Old Wharf. This road was granted a permit to sell its franchise 
to the Boston & Providence, which corporation had the privilege of 
opening a wharf at the Seekonk depot for the accommodation of 
steamboats plying between Providence and New York; this in the 
event of the wharf at India Point, in the former city, being closed 
against it. Should the railroad corporation refuse to permit this 
accommodation for steamboat passengers, the commonwealth reserved 
the right to purchase the branch by paying the same price paid 
by the Boston & Providence Corporation. 

The act of the legislature of April 16, 1836, for increasing 
the capital stock of the Boston & Providence to enable it to 
purchase the Seekonk Road, to an amount not exceeding $500,000, 
was accepted by the stockholders, and the directors caused fifteen 
hundred shares of $100.00 each, being a part of the increased 
capital, to be apportioned among the stockholders, with the exception 
of thirty-two shares, which arose from fractional parts not sub- 
scribed for, but which were ordered to be sold, and the whole 
amount of the shares so apportioned were paid into the treasury. 
A brick freight house was erected during the year, at the depot in 
Boston. Also a small passenger station at Seekonk, and two addi- 
tional houses with wells under them, together with suitable appara- 
tus for raising and securing a proper supply of water for the engines 
on the road. The number of locomotives was also increased to 
eleven, while arrangements had been made for an additional 
supply of merchandise and passenger cars. A second track 
was under advisement by the directors, but they decided that 
nothing would be done in the matter until the price of iron had 
been reduced. 

For the purpose of securing to the public a continued line of 
first-class steamboats, in which the price of passage and freight 
between New York and the southern termination of the Providence 
Railroad at all seasons of the year should be at fixed moderate rates, 



28 HISTORY OF THE 

the corporation on March 18 entered into a contract with proprie- 
tors of sundry steamboats in New York by which the above objects 
were obtained and secured for the term of five years from that 
date. The original location of the road in the county of Bristol, near 
the southern terminus, was changed to allow of better running of 
the trains. 

In August the Taunton Branch was opened for the transporta- 
tion of passengers, and subsequently for the carrying of freight. 
A contract was then entered into and remained in force until 
January, 1837, with the Boston & Providence, by virtue of which 
the passenger and freight cars of its line should be run between 
Mansfield and Providence by the locomotives of the latter road. 

The Mount Hope Railroad Corporation was incorporated April 
13, 1836, by Messrs. .Elisha Burgess, Samuel L. Crocker and Whea- 
ton Luther to build a road from Taunton to Somerset. They were 
allowed a capital stock of $150,000, and permitted to enter the 
Taunton Branch, which road had to be finished in two years. The 
Boston & Taunton Company were privileged to purchase the road. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 20, 



CHAPTER III. 



BOSTON was now entering the transitory state from a provin- 
cial to a metropolitan city. Previous to 1835, tne CU T was 
little more than a large town, but still the provincial New 
England capital. True, the population yearly increased, but 
the 'territorial limits remained the same, and the neighboring towns, 
such as Dorchester, Brighton, etc. — now merged into the city — were 
the only country abodes and summer resorts. The seashore resi- 
dences — since so grandly developed by the Old Colony Railroad — 
were of the future. Business methods were completely revolution- 
ized. The old-time merchants could not understand the change and 
cried out against it, predicting decay of trade. The new points of 
distribution and the means of reaching them so rapidly, killed foreign 
commerce, and those who could not adapt themselves to the new order 
of things were ruined. The interior of the country was fast being 
opened up, and Boston was becoming a commercial centre and daily 
business exchange, for merchants who had their homes in the adjacent 
cities. New branches of industry were called into existence and 
they in turn created others, while the vast volume of business done 
by them was not even dreamed of by the most ambitious merchant 
of a few years earlier. The city proper was gradually given up to 
business blocks, and the beautiful suburbs, within a radius of ten 
miles, taken for dwellings ; in fact, the railroad has consolidated 
this radius, at least, into what is practically one city, and concen- 
trated the energies and public spirit of all into one community. 
We must not suppose that riding in these early trains was the hight 
of comfort or that the new order of things was to the liking of all. 
The old citizens, used all their lives to make their journeys by stage 
or private carriage, and stopping en route at the conventional and 
hospitable inns, — where they leisurely and comfortably partook of 
such refreshments as the houses afforded — could not tolerate 
the stuffy and crowded coaches, the smoke and cinders, the pro- 



30 HISTORY OF THE 

miscuous mingling of all classes or the uncomfortable seats. The 
average speed attained on most of these ancient railroads was about 
the same as that of a good roadster, i. e., ten miles an hour. When 
ascending a grade the speed was much less, but on the down grade 
it was increased as high as fifteen to twenty miles an hour. 
Farmers, berry-pickers, and girls with country produce would 
station themselves along the up grades and pass their wares to the 
conductor, who would sell the articles inthe city. 

Of course the wheels, which were spoked, had no brake attach- 
ments, and when a down grade was reached a stick of cord-wood was 
inserted between the wooden spokes of the wheel, which prevented 
them from revolving. The tender generally had a stage-coach 
brake worked by the foot-power of the engineer. There was no cab. 
The engineer stood with one foot on the machine, the other on the 
tender ; and when the rain and hail or the blustering snows of 
winter beat down upon him he shielded his face with a shingle. 

There were no baggage cars or checks ; passengers took care of 
their own "luggage." Generally the fare was less by riding in 
the forward car where the passengers would have the full benefit of 
cinders, etc. This car was generally called the "T. D.," after the 
famous "T. D." pipe, which was very popular with the travellers 
occupying this car. 

One of the important officials of a road was the road-master, 
whose chief duty was to walk over the line, looking for protruding 
spikes which held down the iron straps or rails to the plank. These 
straps were twelve feet long, two and one half inches wide, and 
three-eighths of an inch thick, and were spiked to stringers of pine 
plank. The road-master was equipped with a hammer and a basket 
filled with pine plugs. When he found a loose spike he drove it 
down, and then forced in beside it one of the plugs to bind it 
more firmly. Sometimes, after he had been over the line, the strap 
iron rail, which had a tendency to curl, would pull a spike, and then 
the end of this rail, catching the bottom of the cars after the 
locomotive had passed over, broke through with a crash, throwing 
the train off the track and causing more or less injury to pas- 
sengers. 

The original act to incorporate the Old Colony Railroad was 
passed April 13, 1838, the corporators mentioned being Alfred Gibbs, 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 3 1 

Joseph Grinnell and James B. Congdon, who were authorized to build 
a road from Taunton to New Bedford, " the course and direction of 
which was as follows : beginning at the southern termination of the 
Taunton Branch Railroad ; thence southerly and easterly to the 
Taunton river, crossing said river about a quarter of a mile above 
the Weir bridge ; thence southerly to the brick yards in said 
Taunton, thence crossing the Pole Plain ridge, passing through the 
Bear swamp, about half a mile westerly of the new county road, so 
called, and continuing at about that distance from said county road, 
to the Middleborough swamp, so called ; thence, crossing the road 
near Bell's bridge, and passing east of the dwelling house of Noah 
Ashley, and west of the Freetown furnace, and from thence 
along the easterly edge of Sassalomen pond and running still 
southerly east of Tarkiln hill, west of the dwelling house of William 
Hathaway and near the dwelling house of Hayden Coggeshall, to 
the intersection of Willis and Ray streets in New Bedford afore- 
said." 

The capital stock was placed at $400,000, divided in shares of 
one hundred dollars each. The state ordered an issue of scrip to 
the amount of $100,000 bearing an interest of five per cent, per 
annum, which was payable semi-annually at the office of the State 
Treasurer, and which was redeemable in fifteen years from date of 
issuing. These certificates were to be considered a pledge of the 
faith and credit of the commonwealth for their redemption. These 
bonds were to be delivered to the treasurer of the railroad corporation 
on the condition that when the corporation had received from asess- 
ments $150,000, and had expended $100,000 in the construction of 
their road the state was to deliver to the corporation certificates of 
debt to be issued as mentioned above, to the amount of $50,000 : " and 
when the said corporation shall have received, from assessments 
duly laid, the further sum of $100,000, and shall have expended 
the one-half of said last sum in the construction of the road in 
addition to the said sum of $150,000, the treasurer of the common- 
wealth shall deliver to the treasurer of said corporation scrip, or 
certificates of debt, to be issued as aforesaid, to the amount of 
$50,000 ; provided, that, before^Buch scrip or certificates of debt 
shall be delivered* as aforesaid, the said corporation shall furnish 
evidence satisfactory to the governor and council, that the condi- 



32 HISTORY OF THE 

tions upon which it is to be delivered as herein before provided, 
have been complied with." 

Section six is important at this day as showing the conditions of 
this state aid. It says : 

"No part of said scrip shall be delivered to the treasurer of said 
corporation until said corporation shall have executed to the com- 
monwealth a bond, in such form as the Attorney General shall 
prescribe, conditioned that the said corporation shall faithfully 
expend the proceeds of said scrip in the construction of said road, 
or in the necessary appurtenances thereof, and shall indemnify and 
save harmless the commonwealth from all loss or inconvenience 
on account of said scrip or certificates of debt, and that said corpor- 
ation shall and will pay the principal sum of the said scrip, or 
certificates of debt, and the interest thereon, as the same shall fall 
due, respectively, and shall also convey to the commonwealth by a 
suitable instrument, to be prepared for that purpose, under the 
direction of the Attorney General, their entire road and its income, 
and all the franchise and property to them belonging, free of all 
prior encumbrances, as a pledge or mortgage, to secure the per- 
formance of all the conditions of said bond ; provided that the 
commonwealth shall not take possession of said mortgaged 
property, unless for a substantial breach of some condition of said 
bond." 

Section 9. After the said road shall be open for use, a sum 
equal to one per cent, on the amount of all scrip, issued as aforesaid* 
shall be annually set apart from the increase of said road and paid 
to the treasurer of the commonwealth, and the whole thereof shall 
be by him placed at interest, and the same, with the interest 
annually accruing thereon, shall constitute a sinking fund, for the 
future purchase and final redemption of all scrip advanced, 
and which shall be advanced by the commonwealth to said cor- 
poration. 

The name of this corporation was changed March 26, 1839, to the 
New Bedford & Taunton Railroad Corporation, and was empow- 
ered to change the location of its road, should it think fit, so 
that it should run westerly of the dwelling house of Noah Ashley, in 
Freetown, and westerly of Sassalomen pond and of Tarkiln hill in 
New Bedford, and should it gain the consent of the Commissioners 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 33 

of Bristol County, they could construct their track along any of the 
streets in the town of New Bedford. They were also given privilege 
to enter upon the Taunton Branch Railroad. 

The work on the New Bedford & Taunton Railroad was com- 
menced in May, 1839, the directors being P. G. Seabury, Jos. Grin- 
nell, Thomas Mandell, Wm. W. Swain, Alfred Gibbs and David R. 
Greene. The first meeting of the stockholders was held February 
6, 1839, wnen seven directors were elected, and by-laws and consti- 
tution adopted. On October 26, the act amending their charter of 
March 26, 1839, was accepted. 

These roads entered into an agreement on November 1, 1839, by 
which the expenses of the rolling stock, and the expense of running 
the same over the two roads, and from Mansfield to Boston and re- 
turn, were to be borne in common between the parties, and profits 
divided according to the value and earnings of the roads. To take 
charge of these interests, an agent or superintendent was chosen by 
the boards of both corporations. On the expiration of the contract, 
which was to last one year or longer as they desired, the property of 
both was to be appraised by three disinterested parties. The rolling 
stock purchased during the term of the contract was to go to the 
New Bedford & Taunton Road, and then what belonged to the 
other road was to be returned to them. 

A long and rather bitter controversy was carried on during 1838, 
between the Boston & Providence Corporation and the Boston 
Water Power Company, regarding the filling of marsh land along this 
line from Boston to Roxbury, as the railroad company desired to widen 
its road bed in order to lay a second track to that section. The 
discussion was settled, however, to the advantage of the road. The 
sum expended for the construction of the main line, including sums 
paid for land and damages, erection of buildings, amount paid to 
Boston Water Power Company, completion of second track and other 
improvements, was $62,424.67. Under the authority of the legisla- 
ture of April 10, 1838, the Boston & Providence Corporation pur- 
chased the charter and equipment of the Seekonk Branch Railroad 
Company at a cost of $31,955.70. It also erected another large 
brick storehouse at the Boston depot, for the accommodation of the 
Taunton and Dedham Branches, filled up a large piece of marsh, 
and secured the same from the tides by a substantial stone wall. 



34 HISTORY OF THE 

The machine shop was also enlarged, while an additional wood-shed 
and passenger station at Roxbury were erected. 

March 23, 1840, this corporation was given authority to contract 
with the New York, Providence & Boston Railroad Company of 
Rhode Island for maintaining a steam ferry boat across Providence 
river between the two roads, provided it did not pay more than 
$6,000 per year for the privilege, or for more than a period of three 
years. But this clause was repealed March 17, 1841. 

On March 23, 1840, the fare of passengers between Boston and 
Providence was reduced to one dollar and fifty cents, and pro rata 
for the intermediate distances ; and on April 1 7 the freight of a ton 
of merchandise between Boston and Providence was reduced from 
five dollars to three dollars per ton, and in proportion for way sta- 
tions. This reduction, the opening of the Norwich & Worcester 
Railroad, and other peculiar circumstances, caused a diminution of 
its income during the first six months of the year, and rendered it 
necessary to encroach upon the reserved fund in making the July 
dividend. The increase of business, however, during the last six 
months of the year, enabled the directors to declare a dividend to be 
made exclusively from the profits that accrued during that time, and 
convinced them that such an encroachment would not again be 
necessary. 

No change was effected on the Boston & Providence in its 
schedule of passenger and freight tariff, except that heavy articles 
of small value in large quantities were carried for less than three 
dollars per ton. The expenses of the road were unusually heavy, 
owing to the alterations in the freight depot at Boston, the taking up 
of the plate rail on the Dedham Branch and substituting a heavy one, 
also to altering and increasing its rolling stock and altering several 
bridges, so as to avoid accidents, by removing the truss frames further 
from the track, or sinking them below the floor of the cars. 

March 24, 1843, the clause limiting the amount to be paid was 
also repealed, and it was authorized to own in whole or part the 
ferry communication. Its capital stock was increased February 
1, 1846, $400,000, and it was privileged to purchase the Boston 
& Providence Railroad and Transportation Company, should the 
cost not exceed $150,000. 

They were authorized on March 27 to construct a branch road 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 35 

from a point on its main line in Attleborough running westerly 
near Read's pond, and through or near Attleborough meadows, 
through Brick hill, the line of the state of Rhode Island in the town 
of Attleborough ; or commencing at some point on the line between 
Dodgeville and the seven-mile post on the line, extending westerly 
to Miller's hill, through or near Sweeting swamp to the state 
line, in Pawtucket or Attleborough. For the construction of this 
branch they were authorized to increase their capital $130,000. 
They also petitioned for, and were granted, the privilege to extend 
this branch so as to connect with the lines of the Providence & 
Worcester Road and for the laying of tracks from the point of 
junction to Providence. 

The express business had its birth about this time. Mr. Wm. F. 
Harnden was employed by the Boston & Worcester for a few years, 
but, being dissatisfied with his position, resigned and went to 
New York. While there he called on Mr. James W. Hale for ad- 
vice as to his future movements. Mr. Hale, who kept a popular 
reading room in the old Tontine Coffee House, at the corner of 
Wall and Pearl streets, advised him to establish himself as a mes- 
senger or parcel carrier between Boston and New York, and sug- 
gested the word " Express" as a suitable title for the new business. 
At that time there were no other means of getting valuable parcels 
to and fro than by consigning them to the care of some traveller, 
who was often a complete stranger to the party sending him. The 
idea of an express business had suggested itself to Mr. Hale from 
the repeated inquiries at his rooms of parties going to Providence 
or Boston who could be induced to carry parcels. Harnden acted 
as advised and advertised himself as an express agent between Bos- 
ton, Providence and New York. He travelled by the sound steam- 
ers, and for some time a single carpet bag held all the matter 
consigned to his care. A rival soon came in the field in the 
person of Mr. Alvin Adams, the founder of the great express com- 
pany. 

In June, 1842, the Boston & Providence commenced running 
three separate trains a day each way between Boston and Dedham, 
over the Dedham Branch Road, which proved most satisfactory to 
the public and to the railroad corporation. The transfer office at 
New York was discontinued during the year for want of business, 



36 HISTORY OF THE 

while the passenger depot at Boston was enlarged sufficiently to 
allow passengers to enter and leave the cars under cover. This was 
done at an expense of $4,500. 

During the past two years the company was laying new sleepers 
all along its line and, where it was necessary, substituting gravel 
for loam and earth for its bed. This greatly improved the road. 
An arrangement was entered into in September, 1843, between 
the parties composing the line between Boston and New York 
via Norwich, and the line via Stonington, by which the rates of 
freight and fare of passengers by both lines were the same, and re- 
ceipts from these sources equalized, except that the line which trans- 
ported an excess over the other retained a reasonable compensation 
for transporting such excess. 

The business of the Boston & Providence Railroad during 1844 
yielded a considerable increase in each branch of trade compared 
with the three preceding years, without involving any increase in 
the expenditures. One marked improvement was the opening, in 
August, of the Long Island Railroad, connecting the city of New 
York and Greensport, and, in connection with the New England 
Railroads, terminating on Long Island sound, which afforded a new 
line of communication between Boston and New York. It was 
deemed due to the public convenience to make such a connection 
with the Long Island and Stonington Railroads as should render 
this line useful by a prompt and uninterrupted passage between the 
two cities. But so far in its history it did not command sufficient 
travel to remunerate the Boston & Providence Road for the expense 
incurred. 

The trade on the Dedham Branch continued to be satisfactory, 
so much so that during the summer they were obliged to increase 
the number of trains, also to enlarge the depot at Dedham, while 
preparations were made, and early the following year completed, for 
a second track to be laid between Roxbury and the Dedham Branch 
junction. 

The durability of the heavy iron rail was considered a subject of 
much speculation in railroad circles, consequently this company was 
at considerable pains to ascertain the state of the rails on its 
road, which investigation set at rest forever any anxiety as regards 
their great expense, as they found that in ten years of constant ser- 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 37 

vice only 2 1-4 per cent, of renewals had been made, while a large 
proportion of this number was originally of inferior quality when 
laid down. Another important transaction of the road during the 
year was a contract with the contemplated Stoughton Branch 
Railroad, which entered its road in Canton. In the agreement, 
entered into January 1, 1845, this corporation was to operate the 
rolling stock, for which it was to receive out of the gross re- 
ceipts $5,978, and in addition the following tolls, for the use of its 
own road between Boston and Canton : Every passenger between 
Boston and beyond South Canton, twenty-eight cents ; between Bos- 
ton and South Canton station, forty cents ; from any way station on 
the Boston & Providence Railroad, two cents per mile; commuta- 
tion passenger, that proportion of the amount paid which tolls re- 
ceived by the Boston & Providence Company shall bear to the whole 
price of the tickets, between the points for which commutation 
tickets were issued. Each ton of freight between Boston and any 
point on the Branch Railroad beyond South Canton, fifty-six cents ; 
between Boston and South Canton station, seventy cents ; every 
case of boots, shoes, hats or bonnets, four cents each. The agree- 
ment also read that should the proceeds pay less than six per cent, 
to the stockholders of the Branch Railroad, then the difference to 
make up that sum was to be paid them. This Branch Road was 
only allowed by the legislature a capital stock of $50,000, while 
the cost of building the road was over $80,000, therefore the bal- 
ance was borrowed from the Boston & Providence, which amount 
it was to convert into capital stock; if not, it was to be refunded 
to the latter road in five annual instalments, with interest. 

Messrs. Isaac Tisdale, Jr., Lyman Kinsley and Martin Wales 
were incorporated March 16, 1844, as the Stoughton Branch Rail- 
road Company, to build a road beginning at or near the depot of the 
Boston & Providence station in Canton, thence southeasterly to Taun- 
ton road, to a stone dwelling belonging to the heirs of Elijah Crane, 
crossing the Forge pond and running east of Bolivar factory in Can- 
ton, thence passing near the house of William Henry in Stough- 
ton ; thence passing near the house of Lemuel Bird, and terminat- 
ing near the Congregational meeting-house in Stoughton village, on 
the land of Benjamin Capen, Simeon Tucker, or Nathaniel Morton, 
or some other convenient place in the village, for which purpose 



38 HISTORY OF THE 

they were allowed a capital stock of $150,000, and were permitted 
to enter the tracks of the Boston & Providence. The title of the 
company as above was not given until February 15, 1845. The 
Boston & Providence Corporation saw at once that it must control 
this branch, therefore began operations immediately, with such suc- 
cess that on February 20, 1845, it was allowed by the legisla- 
ture to subscribe for $40,000 worth of the stock. 

The trains of the Stoughton Branch commenced running April 
7, 1845, under the agreement of January 1, 1845, wrt h the Boston 
& Providence Road, and the $40,000 loan was converted into stock of 
the Stoughton agreeably to an act of the legislature the year pre- 
vious. The Pawtucket Branch of the Boston & Providence was fin- 
ished this year, and cost $144,778.20. This made the length of the 
entire road 41 miles, 12 1-2 of which was double track. 

The double track to Dedham having been completed, a continua- 
tion was begun in the fall between Foxborough and Mansfield sta- 
tion, a distance of 2 1-2 miles, while one from the Dedham Branch 
Junction to Canton was contemplated at an early day. The engine 
house and work shop at Roxbury was enlarged, as were the depots at 
Dedham Village and Jamaica Plain, while depots were built at the 
Low Plain and Toll Gate. 

The tri-weekly day line between Boston and New York, via 
Stonington and the Long Island Raliroad, was discontinued by the 
voluntary act of the latter corporation on April 9, the Boston and 
Providence Corporation being willing to carry it on only for the 
convenience of the public, as it was a source of no pecuniary 
profit. 

Another item of interest was the fact of the sale of one thousand 
shares of its stock at a premium of 12 1-2 per cent. This stock 
was disposed of for the purpose of paying off the 400 shares of the 
Stoughton Branch. Water pipes were laid on the side of the track 
from an ample source in Roxbury, to lead water to the Roxbury 
station. 

The Boston & Providence made a further reduction in its 
tariff in May, 184$, reducing a first-class passage between Boston 
and Providence to $1.25, and a second class passage to eighty-five 
cents, making a total reduction since the road commenced operation 
in June, 1845, of 37 1-2 per cent. A reduction of 25 per cent, was 







Vl(ws KjitvpoRj fL L 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 39 

also made in passenger tolls charged on this road, for passengers 
carried in the cars on the Taunton Branch, reducing the toll to 
I. 56100 per mile, or fifty per cent, since the Branch road went into 
operation. 



40 HISTORY OF THE 



CHAPTER IV. 



THIS year, 1844, the Old Colony was incorporated and entered 
Boston on the south side of the city, and since its organiza- 
tion has always pursued a policy of development and ac- 
quisition. Below, in full, is the act entitled 

An Act to Establish the Old Colony Railroad Corporation. 

Section 1. Nathaniel Russell, Isaae L. Hedge, Jacob H. Loud, Nathaniel 
M. Davis, John Sever, John B. Thomas, Thomas Greenleaf, Francis Jackson, 
Ellis G. Loring, Schuyler Sampson, William Nelson, Allen Danforth, William 
Thomas, Isaac N. Stoddard, John Bartlett, 3d, and Anthony Morse, their asso- 
ciates and successors, arc hereby made a corporation, by the name of the Old 
Colony Railroad Corporation, with all the powers and privileges, and subject 
to all the duties, restrictions and liabilities set forth in the forty-fourth chap- 
ter of the revised statutes, and in that part of the thirty-ninth chapter of said 
statutes relating to railroad corporations, and all statutes subsequently passed 
relating to railroad corporations. 

Section 2. The said corporation may construct a railroad upon one of the 
following routes, viz. : Commencing at the point in South Boston near the 
southerly end of the lower bridge, and thence passing, in a line acceptable to 
the mayor and aldermen of the city of Boston, to the line of the town of Dor- 
chester, and thence in a southerly direction by a line passing easterly of the 
house of Thomas J. Vinton, in Little Neck, so called, in Dorchester, and easterly 
of the house of S. R. M. Ilolbrook, thence near to Savin Hill, not more than four 
rods westerly from the east line delineated on the Quincy survey, and across Dor- 
chester bay to a point near Preston's picnic grove, and thence to Neponset river, on 
a line in a place westerly of the most easterly route surveyed and delineated on 
the plan exhibited for the Quincy Railroad, between said Little Neck and Neponset 
river, except as aforesaid, and crossing Neponset river easterly of Neponset 
bridge, thence by a line running within half a mile of either side of Quincy turn- 
pike, to a point in Quincy near the junction of said turnpike with the old Bos- 
ton road, thence through the towns of Quincy and Braintree to a point at or 
near the head of or above navigation in Fore or Monatiquot river in Brain- 
tree, and thence by a line passing the head of Smelt brook to a point west of 
the village of South Weymouth, and to a point within half a mile of James 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 41 

Tirrel's store, thence in a line passing east of Weymouth Great pond, and 
through nearly the middle of the town of Abington to a point near where the 
towns of Abington, East Bridgewater and Hanson meet, thence diagonally 
through the town of Hanson, and parts of the towns of Pembroke and Halifax, 
and part of Plympton, to the valley of Jones river in Kingston, and thence to a 
point in Plymouth convenient for a depot; or, by another route diverging from 
the preceding in Quincy or Braintree and passing within about one-fourth of a 
mile from Rev. Mr. S to it's meeting-house in Braintree, and thence by a line 
passing within about half a mile of Randall's mills, and through the town of 
Randolph to a point between the villages of Centre Abington and North Bridge- 
water, and thence by a line passing between the villages of East and West 
Bridgewater to a point near Sprague's hill in Bridgewater, and thence by a line 
passing southerly of Bobbins' pond, through the town of Halifax near the Con- 
gregational meeting-house, and through the northerly part of the town of 
Plympton, to the valley of Jones river in Kingston, to a point in the route first 
above described, and thence to Plymouth by the line first above named. And 
the persons named in the first section of this act shall determine, by a major 
vote, which of the foregoing routes shall be adopted, and said election of the 
route as aforesaid shall be binding upon the corporation, upon written notice 
thereof, at any time previous to filing the location of said road with the county 
commissioners, as required by law. 

Section 3. The said corporation is authorized to construct a bridge over 
and across the waters of Nep onset river, where the line of said railroad crosses 
said river, for the sole and exclusive accommodation of the travel and trans- 
portation on said railroad, and it shall not be lawful for the said corporation to 
permit the passing of said bridge by carriages of any description, other than 
those which are adapted for traveling on the said railroad, nor by horses not at- 
tached to such railroad carriages, nor by persons on foot, except by such per- 
sons, carriages or horses as may be employed in the immediate service of said 
corporation. 

Section 4. The said corporation shall construct and maintain a draw in 
their said bridge across the Neponset river, and in their said railroad across 
Dorchester bay, if the route of said railroad shall pass westerly of Savin Hill, 
draws of at least thirty-one feet in width over the channel of said river, and in 
the deepest water on the line through said Dorchester bay, for the passage of 
vessels free of toll, and shall also erect and maintain a pier as long as the piles 
in Neponset bridge and road, for the accommodation of vessels passing through 
the same, and shall keep said piers planked from the line of low water to the 
top of high water, and shall also keep said draws and piers in good repair, and 
shall raise or open said draws, and afford all reasonable accommodation to ves- 
sels having occasion to pass through the same by day or night, and if any such 
vessel shall be unreasonably detained in passing through said draws by the neg- 
ligence of said corporation to provide agents to discharge faithfully the duties 
enjoined by this act, the owner, commander or consignee of said vessel may re- 



42 HISTORY OF THE 

cover of said corporation therefor, in an action in the case before any court com- 
petent to try the same. 

Section 5. The capital stock of said railroad corporation shall consist of 
not more than ten thousand shares, the number of which shall be determined 
from time to time by the directors thereof, and no assessment shall be laid thereon 
of a greater amount in the whole than one hundred dollars on each share. And 
the said corporation may purchase and hold such real estate, materials, engines, 
cars, and other things, as may be necessary for depots for the use of said road, 
and for the transportation of persons, goods and merchandise. 

Section 6. The legislature may, after the expiration of four years from 
the time when the said railroad shall be opened for use, from time to time alter 
or reduce the rate of tolls or other profits upon said road; but the said tolls 
shall not, without the consent of said corporation, be so reduced as. to produce 
less than ten per cent, per annum. 

Section 7. If the said corporation be not organized, and the location of 
that part of their road within the county of Suffolk filed with the mayor and 
aldermen of the city of Boston, and the location of that part of said road in 
the county of Norfolk filed with the commissioners of that count} 7 , and the loca- 
tion of that part of their road within the county of Plymouth filed with the 
"commissioners of that county, all within three years from the passage of this 
act, or if the said road shall not be completed within the passage of this act, 
then this act shall be void. 

Section 8. The legislature may authorize any corporation to enter with 
another railroad at any point of said Old Colony, and use the same, or any part 
thereof, paying therefor such a rate of toll or compensation as the legislature 
may from time to time prescribe, or that may be fixed under the provisions of 
any general law of this commonwealth complying with the rules and regula- 
tions which may be established by said Old Colony Railroad Corporation, pro- 
vided however, that no other corporation shall enter upon said Old Colony Rail- 
road with any motive power, unless the said Old Colony Railroad Corporation 
shall refuse to draw over their road, or any part thereof, the cars of any other 
railroad corporation which may be authorized to enter with their railroad upon 
said Old Colony Railroad. 

March 16, 1844. 

The first annual report of the Old Colony Railroad Corporation 
of its acts and doings, receipts and expenditures, to December I, 
1 844, was as follows : 

The act passed March 16th, 1844, creating the " Old Colony Railroad Cor- 
poration," vested in the persons named in the first section of said act the choice 
of one of two routes. In the exercise of that authority, the said persons, after 
a patient investigation of the whole subject by a competent committee, adopted 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 43 

the route first mentioned and described in said act. Sufficient subscriptions 
having been first obtained, this corporation was fully organized on the 25th day 
of June last by the choice of seven directors and the adoption of the necessary 
by-laws. 

In accordance with the foregoing decisions, after a very thorough and care- 
ful survey and examination, the line of the road has been definitely located 
from Little Neck in Dorchester to Plymouth, and the grading and masonry of 
the entire line has been put under contract upon terms as favorable as has been 
anticipated, and the work has been commenced and is now rapidly progressing. 
The other contracts are in a state of forwardness, and the directors confidently 
anticipate that the whole line will be finished and opened for use before the 
close of the year. 

Seven thousand shares of capital stock have been created, on which there 
has -been paid the sum of $87,820. The expenditures have been as follows: 
For preliminary surveys, engineering and other expenses, $3,579.50; for land 
and damages, $31,095.29 ; amount cash on hand to balance, $53,145.21 ; total, 
$87,820, all of which is respectfully submitted by John Sever, Addison Gil- 
more, Uriel Crocker, Isaac L. Hedge, Nathan Carruth, Jacob H. Loud, Wm. 
Thomas, directors. This report was sworn to before Archibald Foster, Justice 
of the Peace. 

In its second annual report the Board of Directors of the Old 
Colony, consisting of the gentlemen named in the first report with 
the exception of Mr. Addison Gilmore, say : — The construction 
of the road was so far completed, that it was partially open for use 
on the tenth day of November last (1844), since which time passenger 
trains have been run twice each day (Sundays excepted) between 
South Boston and Plymouth. 

The act passed on the 1 5th day of March last, by the legislature 
of this commonwealth, authorizing this corporation to extend its 
road across the channel between South Boston and Boston proper, 
above the North Free Bridge, having been accepted by the stock- 
holders, and the consent of the Boston & Worcester Railroad 
Corporation obtained, an arrangement has been effected with said 
last named corporation, securing the entrance of the passenger trains 
of the Old Colony Road to a convenient station on Albany street, 
adjoining the passenger station of the Boston & Worcester Road, 
which, it was believed, would be advantageous to both corporations. 

At the time of making the last annual report there had been 
paid toward the capital stock $87,820, since that time there had 
been paid in on account of the capital stock, to December 1, 1845, 



44 HISTORY OF THE 



,910; total amount of capital paid in up to December 1, 1845, 
$885,730; received for interest, $1,000; total, $889,730. 



EXPENDITURES. 



At the time of the last report there had been paid for 

surveys, engineering and other expenses $ 3,579.51 

Paid for same to December 1, 1845 14,962.60 



$18,542.10 



At the time of the last report there had been paid for 

land and damages $ 31,095.29 

Paid for same to December 1, 1845 282,623.30 



13718.59 



Paid for grading and masonry $109,969.30 

" bridging 36,827.12 

" superstructure 57,160.42 

" iron 211,069.43 

" fencing 11,708.35 

" cars and engine 43,588.89 

" depots, buildings and furniture Z°>9$ l -?>$ 

Cash to balance 56,194.45 



730.00 



The earnings of the road for the transportation of passengers for 
the few days prior to the first day of December, 1845, amounted to 
the sum of $3,827.70. No freight had been carried over the road 
prior to that time. The expenses of running the passenger trains 
over the road for the few days prior to December 1, 1845, were 
charged to account of construction. The number of miles run over 
the road by the passenger trains up to December 1, 1845, was 2 >55°- 

March 14, 1845, the Old Colony was authorized to construct a 
bridge over the Jones river, in Kingston, with a draw of thirty feet 
and on March 15th they were empowered to build their road, com- 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 45 

mencing at a point on its road in South Boston, between Turnpike 
and First streets, nearly opposite the South Boston Iron Foundry, 
and thence continuing to the northerly wharf of the Iron Company, 
thence crossing the channel by a bridge, to the depot wharf of 
the old Boston & Worcester, now the Boston & Albany Railroad, 
and thence to the vicinity of Albany and Beach streets ; but was 
not to extend its road farther than the south-easterly margin of the 
said channel or to build a bridge across the same, unless an agree- 
ment should be made with the Boston & Worcester Railroad Cor- 
poration for the passage of trains over its tracks within these 
limits. The bridge should have a thirty-one foot draw, and the 
pier nearest the old South Boston bridge was to be placed on the 
side of the draw next to South Boston ; and the pier nearest the 
North Free bridge to be placed on the side of draw next to Boston 
proper, which construction was to be done under the supervision of 
a commissioner appointed by the Governor and Council. 

March 26 they were empowered to construct a branch road from 
Abington through East Bridgewater by a line passing on either side 
of Sprague's hill to Bridgewater, to do which the capital stock was 
increased $400,000. They were forbidden to commence the road 
until after April 1, 1846. 

The Middleborough Railroad Corporation was incorporated March 
26, 1845, tne incorporators named being Messrs. Andrew Robeson, 
Nathan Durfee, Peter H. Pierce and Philander Washburn, with 
power to construct a railroad "from a point in the town of Bridge- 
water, on any railroad which may be constructed to that town, and 
connecting therewith, through the town of Middleborough, and near 
the four corners in said town, crossing the New Bedford and Taunton 
Railroad, near Myricks' corner, in the town of Taunton, in such 
manner as not to interfere with the depot buildings of said road, to a 
convenient point on the Fall River Branch Railroad, in the town of 
Taunton." 

They had power to enter upon and use the Fall River Branch 
Railroad. The capital stock was limiied to $250,000, to be divided 
into 2,500 shares, while no assessments were to be levied of a great- 
er amount than one hundred dollars on each share. They were 
given the privilege of uniting with the Fall River Branch and with 
any other railroad corporation which may have been authorized to 



46 HISTORY OF THE 

construct a railroad from the town of Bridgewater to any point on 
the Old Colony Railroad, provided that the stockholders of the corpo- 
ration with whom such union was to be made agree to the same, "and 
when such union shall have been made, said united corporation shall 
have, possess and hold all the property, rights, privileges and fran- 
chises, and be subject to all the duties, etc., which the corporations 
so united had enjoyed and been subject to under their respective 
charters : Provided, That in the event of a union between said Mid- 
dleborough Railroad Corporation and said Fall River Branch Railroad 
Company they shall, within thirty days after the passage of any 
vote to make such union,refund to any of its stockholders, who within 
said thirty days shall demand the same, the amount paid by them 
on their stock, with interest thereon ; and upon such payment to 
such stockholders the shares which they respectively hold shall be 
surrendered to said company." 

Messrs. Artemas Hale, Nahum Stetson, Aaron Hobart, Solomon 
Ager, Benjamin B. Howard, D. Fobes, Edward Southworth, Ben- 
jamin Kingman, Henry Blanchard, Ebenezer Alden, Royal Turner 
and David Blanchard received a charter incorporating the Ran- 
dolph & Bridgewater Railway Corporation, March 25, 1845, " to con - 
struct a railroad from some point at or near the village in the town of 
Bridgewater, and thence northerly on the most convenient lines in 
the towns of East Bridgewater, West Bridgewater and North 
Bridgewater in the county of Plymouth, and Stoughton and Ran- 
dolph in the county of Norfolk, to unite with the Old Colony Rail- 
road in Braintree or Quincy in the county of Norfolk." 

They were authorized to enter upon and use the Old Colony 
Railroad, on conditions usually specified in all other charters of the 
same order. The capital was limited to $400,000, to be divided 
into 4,000 shares, while three years were given for the filing of the 
location and six years for its completion. The Old Colony Rail- 
road Company was authorized to subscribe for and hold the whole 
of the capital stock, "providing they shall, by a vote of a majority 
in interest of their stockholders, on or before the first day of May 
next, elect to subscribe for such stock, and shall thereupon subscribe 
thereto, and, until the expiration of such term of time, they shall 
have a priority over other subscribers, and, in the event of such sub- 
scription, the Old Colony Railroad Corporation shall be bound to 




RE ATCoK ASSEr . 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 47 

construct such Branch Railroad.'' In this case the Old Colony Cor- 
poration was to accept the act at a legal meeting and complete the 
road by January, 1847, and was authorized to increase its capital 
stock by $400,000. It was bound also to complete this Branch Rail- 
road before commencing any Branch Railroad between Abington or 
South Abington and Bridgewater. This road, as we have before 
stated, was merged into the " United Corporation," and later on into 
the present system. 

The Fall River Branch Railroad Company was incorporated 
March 14, 1844, by Messrs. Andrew Robeson, Richard Borden, Jef- 
ferson Borden and Nathan Durfee. This road was built to a con- 
nection with the New Bedford & Taunton system at Myricks, and 
its promoters proposed to continue its line to South Braintree and 
Boston ; but in 1846 the Old Colony people voted to build a spur or 
branch line from South Abington to Bridgewater, and thus inter- 
cept the pushing Fall River Road. This was at once done, with 
the result that a joint business agreement was made between the 
two roads, the Fall River Road progressing to South Braintree, to 
which point it was finished in 1847. 



48 HISTORY OF THE 



CHAPTER V 



ON the eighth day of August, 1845, a union of the stocks 
of the Middleborough, Fall River Branch and Randolph & 
Bridgewater Railroad Corporations was consummated by 
the organization of the "United Corporation," and all the rights, 
interests and franchises of each corporation were transferred to 
said corporation under powers granted to the said Middleborough 
Railroad Corporation by its charter. The by-laws were adopted 
and a board of thirteen directors was chosen. Of this number we 
find the names of Andrew Robeson, Royal Turner, Edward South- 
worth, Jefferson Borden, M. H. Ruggles, Nathan Durfee, Peter H. 
Pierce, Oliver Bryant, Wm. R. Rodman, Elisha Tucker and Rich- 
ard Borden. 

In their first report, made February 3, 1846, they assert that the 
sum of $315,460 had been paid in to the treasurer, of which $35,000 
were refunded to the stockholders who withdrew from the corpora- 
tion. The total amount expended was $317,805.39. The earnings 
were: From passengers, $13,279. 1 1 ; merchandise, $2,227.11, and 
miscellaneous, $290.50. Repairs on the rOad up to January 1, 1846, 
were $1,406.08; repairs of engines and cars, $725.80; services, fuel, 
oil, etc., $6,074.05, while the total number of miles run by engines 
was 17,800. 

April 16, 1846, the "United Corporation of the Middleborough 
Railroad Corporation with the Fall River Branch Railroad Company 
and the Randolph & Bridgewater Railroad Corporation " was author- 
ized by the legislature to take the name of the Fall River Railroad 
Company, which company was empowered to build a road "from a 
point at or near its depot in Fall River, in a southwesterly direction, 
and westerly of the house of Wm. R. Robeson, to the line of the state 
of Rhode Island." The act incorporating the Fall River Branch 
Railroad was to be repealed when the new road should be completed 
and go into operation from Braintree to the point of crossing the 
track of the New Bedford & Taunton Railroad. The time for filing 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 49 

the location of that portion of the road of the United Corporation 
which was authorized by the Middleborough Railroad Corporation 
was extended to December I, 1846. 

The Dorchester & Milton Branch Railroad Company was incor- 
porated April 16, 1846, by William Richardson, Edmund P. Tiles- 
ton, Asaph Churchill, Jonathan Ware and Mark Hollingsworth, to 
build a railroad with one or more tracks within the town of Milton, 
commencing at the most convenient point at or near the depot of 
the Old Colony Railroad at Neponset Village, in Dorchester, and 
thence running through the southeasterly part of the town of Dor- 
chester to Milton, over Milton Hill, then crossing Neponset river, 
and' extending through the northerly part of Milton to a point near 
the Upper Falls in Milton. The capital stock was $90,000, but was 
increased $40,000 more April 20,, 1848. They were allowed two 
years to complete their road, and to have the privilege of entering 
upon the Old Colony near the depot in Neponset Village. They 
were also given the right to convey their franchise to the Old Col- 
ony by purchase, when the Old Colony could increase its stock 
$90,000 more to cover the expenses of purchase. 

November 10, 1847, the Old Colony leased this road for a period 
of five years at a rental of six per cent, per annum on the entire 
cost of the property up to the time when it was declared by Mr. S. 
D. Eaton, the engineer, as finished, when the Old Colony was to 
furnish the rolling stock of the road and to run the trains from the 
terminus of the road at the Upper mills to Boston and return, not 
less than eight times a day at the same rate of fare as charged on 
its own road. The total length of this road was 3 miles and 1 360 
feet, single track. The Old Colony was to pay all damages and to 
keep it in repair at its charge. It also had the option of buying the 
road, paying for it in stock of the Old Colony at par value. Should 
this result not be arrived at within the first five years, it was to re- 
main in force for an additional five years, "provided, however, that 
for the second five years the party of the second part was to pay 
the same rents, as aforesaid, without running over the road, if they 
shall prefer to do so, more than two trips per day." 

In 1846 the name of Josiah Quincy, Jr., was added to the list of 
directors of the Old Colony. On April 6 of this year the company 
was authorized to increase its capital stock $500,000, or 5,000 



50 HISTORY OF THE 

shares, for the purpose of completing its road and building a second 
track wherever it desired. 

It was also empowered to extend its road to a point in 
Boston at the termination of its bridge, at the depot wharf of the 
Boston & Worcester Railroad Corporation, and continue thence to 
some convenient point on Kneeland street, between South street 
and Cove street, for which purpose its capital was again increased 
#100,000. 

On the Providence Division, the Walpole Railroad Company was 
incorporated April 16, 1846, by Messrs. John A. Gould, Edmund 
W. Clapp, Joseph Hawes and John Morse, to build a road at or near 
the western termination of the Dedham Branch Road in Dedham, 
passing through the southerly part of that town to a point at the 
centre of Walpole. The capital stock was fixed at #200,000, while 
they were allowed to enter the Dedham Branch on the Boston & 
Providence Railroad. 

The Cape Cod Branch Railroad was incorporated April 8, 1846, 
by John Reed, William Bates, Clark Hoxie, Joshua B. Tobey, 
Thomas J. Coggeshall, Nathan B. Gibbs, Sylvanus Bourne, Howard 
Perry and Minor S. Lincoln, with powers to build a road from a 
point in the roads of the " United Corporation" near the Four Cor- 
ners in Middleborough, through that town to Rochester, thence to 
Wareham to a point near the Tremont Iron Works, thence between 
the works of J. B. Tobey & Co. and Burbank's hotel, passing near 
the Parker Lower Mills, thence passing the factory of S. T. Tisdale 
in Wareham, extending across the water between Cohasset Narrows 
and the head of the bay, to a point a few yards south of the house 
of Benjamin Bourne in Sandwich. Monument river was then 
crossed above the lower bridge, when it followed the valley of this 
river to a point north of the graveyard, passing near Atherton's 
tavern in Scusset, terminating near the glass works in Sandwich. 
The amount of their capital stock was #500,000. They were also 
permitted to construct a branch not exceeding one mile in length, to 
connect with the wharves at the Narrows in Wareham, and could 
enter the road of the " United Corporation," with which road they 
could consolidate. 

This company completed their line for passenger traffic from 
Middleborough to Wareham on the 26th and extended it to Agawam 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 5 I 

on the 31st day of January, 1847, while on the 29th day of May 
the first passenger train was run to Sandwich. Freight was hauled 
a few weeks later. 

Our railroad system was now so far advanced as to excite the 
admiration of Europe, and was daily receiving additions and improve- 
ments. Ocean navigation in its primary steps had proved very un- 
successful, but it was left to Mr. Edward Cunard to meet the occa- 
sion with a spirit that would brook no defeat. Despite the 
failures met with by our own countrymen to have Congress grant a 
subsidy for the running of an ocean line, he carried his point with 
the Government and Parliament of Great Britain. His keen sense 
of the fitness of things settled upon Boston as geographically the 
best point for a western terminus, especially as the railroad mag- 
nates were contemplating an early connection of the trunk lines 
with the West and Canada. The fame of Boston's harbors and 
wharves was world-wide, while our commercial sun was at its zenith. 
This excellent showing, compared to New York, was most encourag- 
ing for his plans, as the piers of the latter city were nothing more 
than the remnants of the old Dutch civilization. East Boston was 
selected as the most fitting for a docking place, as the commission- 
ers' line on the Boston side had not been extended to the channel 
limits, dredging had not been introduced, and the mean depth at 
low water was comparatively shallow. 

In May, 1840, the "Unicorn" sailed from Liverpool, and the 
" Britannia " from Boston on July 4th, and their trips were continued 
exclusively from this city until January 1, 1848, when a service from 
New York was begun by the sailing of the "Hibernia." In 1864 a 
new company was formed, composed mostly of Boston merchants, 
but it became insolvent in 1867. At this juncture the Cunard 
Company made a new move. Its mail subsidy was to be reduced 
and a change in its method of management was forced upon it. 
It was feeling the competition of the Inman and other lines at 
the port of New York, and it would seem that it could not 
have been informed as to the new spirit of enterprise to which 
our railroad managers were awakening. It determined, therefore, 
to withdraw its mail steamers from this port at the end of the 
year 1867, and to send instead cargo steamers, which, after land- 
ing their freight here, should proceed to New York to load for 



52 HISTORY OF THE 

Liverpool direct. This decision was altered in 1870, when two 
or three of their cargo steamers were permitted to load at this 
port for Liverpool. 

Returning to our railway interests, the Lancaster & Sterling 
Branch Railroad Company was incorporated April 16, 1846, by 
Amory Holman, Winthrop E. Faulkner, and William H. Wood, to 
build a road from the Fitchburg road at Concord through Acton, 
Sudbury, Stow, Marlboro, Bolton and Lancaster to Sterling, which 
route they selected. The capital stock was. limited to $600,000, 
and they were permitted to consolidate with the Fitchburg Railroad, 
which was at once consummated, and April 24, 1847, tne filing of 
their location was extended fifteen months, when the Fitchburg road 
was authorized to locate and construct the road in sections, com- 
mencing at the junction with its road. 

Another important organization incorporated this year was the 
South Shore Railroad Company, whose incorporators received their 
charter March 26, 1846. Messrs. Gershom B. Weston, Wm. H. 
Sampson and John Hicks were empowered to construct a railroad 
from Quincy through Braintree, Weymouth, Weymouth Landing and 
East Weymouth to the towns of Hingham, Cohasset, Scituate, Marsh- 
field and Duxbury, the capital stock being limited to $600,000, and 
to be in shares of $50 each. They were also permitted to unite with 
the Old Colony and subjected to rules and regulations established by 
that corporation for their mutual safety and convenience. April 20, 
1847, they were permitted to change the location of their route as 
follows : — Quincy or Braintree, through Weymouth, Weymouth 
Landing, and East Weymouth and north of Locust Hill in North 
Weymouth, through Hingham to Cohasset, and the act of 1846 
inconsistent with the above was made void. The term of two years 
allowed for its completion was also on this date extended twelve 
months, and the clause forbidding the crossing of any navigable 
waters in Weymouth was also stricken out, and permission given to 
build a draw-bridge. Stockholders dissatisfied with the new act were 
permitted to withdraw their subscription any time within six 
months, and six months' additional time was given on April 24, 1848, 
for the completion of the road. 

April 16, 1846, the Granite Railway Company was empowered 
to extend its road from its terminus near the Neponset river in 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 53 

the following direction : " Crossing the Granite bridge road at a con- 
venient angle, and continuing thence to a convenient point on the 
southerly bank of said river, below or easterly of the creek, owned 
by the heirs of John Rowe and others, and not more than five hun- 
dred feet below the Granite bridge ; thence straight across said 
river to the northerly bank thereof, by a bridge to have the same 
width of draw as the Granite bridge, and thence in such a direction 
as to form a junction with the branch to be constructed from Mil- 
ton to a point on the Old Colony called the Dorchester and Milton 
Branch Railroad." Should that branch not be finished within three 
years, it could continue its road along the proposed route of 
the. Dorchester Branch itself. It was also permitted to construct 
branches, not exceeding one mile and a quarter each, from any 
part of its railroad within half a mile of its own quarry to any 
of the neighboring quarries ; and for the convenient shipping 
of stone to construct a wharf and depot on the river, below the 
Old Colony Railroad, and a branch from the road to the wharf 
and depot, it being allowed three acres of land for building pur- 
poses and strips of land five rods wide for the extension of its 
road. It was given a permit to transport freight and passengers 
as well as stone over these roads, for which it was allowed to 
increase its capital $50,000, and was given the right to sell its 
entire plant to the Old Colony. This road was purchased March 31. 
1847, by the Quincy Branch Railroad Company and incorporated on 
that day by Octavius G. Rogers, George Penniman and Joshua 
Emerson, the capital stock being $300,000. 

In 1846 the directors of the Old Colony, in their annual 
report state the following facts : — " The increase of capital 
since last report was $500,000 and the amount paid in was 
$310,570. The increase of the floating debt was $223,675.11, 
with an average rate of interest of 5 1-2 per cent. ; $29,356.11 
was paid to stockholders to December, 1, 1845, while $35,670.56 
was paid for grading and masonry, and $19,104.25 for bridges. 
For superstructure, including iron, $61,011.01 was expended, 
and $80,582.28 for station buildings and fixtures. For land 
damages, land and fences, $269,966.68, and $15,722.41 was paid 
for locomotives and $11,172.44 for passenger and freight cars, 
also $8,722.30 for merchandise cars, which sum includes $2,500 



54 HISTORY OF THE 

paid for gravel cars. The cost for engineering andother expenses 
was $7,070, and $17,906.97 was paid on account of construc- 
tion of the Abington and Bridgewater Branch. In the expendi- 
tures for operating the road $8,604.06 was paid for repairs of 
road, maintenance of way, etc., while $2,723.21 was expended for 
repairs of locomotives and $1,950.20 for repairs of passenger cars, 
also $1,599.63 for putting in shape the merchandise cars. Fuel 
and oil cost $11,905.65, while salaries, wages and incidental ex- 
penses chargeable to the passenger department amounted to 
$12,059.50 ; those for the freight department $5,959.69. Taxes and 
insurance $210, and gratuities and damages $655 ; $3,000 was paid 
the Worcester Railroad for privilege of crossing their road, and 
$8,572.52 for salaries of president, treasurer and superintendent, 
office expenses, law expenses, etc. The income from passengers 
exclusively, on the main road (including the branch owned by the 
company) was $101,857.64; from freight $20,403.95 ; while the United 
States mail, rents and miscellaneous receipts amounted to $3,449.67, 
making the net earnings $68,481.20. The dividends were $63,000, 
with an undivided surplus of $5,481.20. The number of miles run 
by passenger trains was 63,073, and of freight trains 22,642 ; other 
trains 19,750; number of passengers carried, 213,144 1-2; passen- 
gers carried one mile, 3,459,271 ; 16,197 tons of merchandise were 
carried, and 299,394 tons carried one mile or more; 26,225 passen- 
gers were carried one mile or more to and from other roads. The 
average rate of speed adopted for passenger trains was 20 miles per 
hour, and for freight trains 12 1-2 miles. 

Messrs. Nathan Carruth and Josiah Quincy, Jr., were succeeded 
in 1847 by Mr. Elias Hasket Derby in the Board of Directors. In 
their report they claim that the floating debt had increased to a 
total of $452,795.10, "to meet which debt in part they were pos- 
sessed of lands and buildings which will not be required for the 
purpose of the road which are variously estimated at from $160,- 
000 to $200,000, which will be disposed of for that purpose." 
A large portion of this debt was on time, and the directors were 
arranging to issue new stock with a view to meet the same. The 
cost for grading and masonry for the year named was $13,986.68 and 
$3,032.29 respectively; for bridges, superstructure cost $22,880.- 
87, and station buildings, etc., $53,578.12. Land damages, land 




GAY HEAD, MARTHAS VINEYARD. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 55 

and fences cost $22,160.06, and $8,015 was expended on repairs of 
locomotives; that on passenger and baggage cars was $5>397-5°> 
merchandise cars $2,160; engineering, etc., $27,129.16, making the 
total cost of equipment $1,639,632.16, which amount included $125,- 
461.63 paid for the Abington and Bridgewater Branch, which spur 
was pushed forward during the year in order to intercept the Fall 
River road which was rapidly building toward Boston. The amount 
of business done by the road had considerably increased during 
the twelve months, as will be seen from the report following : 
105,105 miles were run by passenger trains, and 27,444 miles by 
freight trains, all others running 19,644 miles. The number of 
passengers carried was 389,994 ; those carried one mile or more, 
4,904,861 ; 42,707 1-10 tons of merchandise were transported and 
748,550 6-10 tons more than one mile. The number of passengers 
conveyed one mile or more to and from other roads was 1,256,220, 
and the amount of freight 219,670 7-10 tons. In the items of expen- 
ditures we find the following charges : For repairs of road, exclusive 
of wooden truss bridges and renewals of iron, $11,158.71. Repairs 
of bridges $1 17.01. The items of wages of switch-men, gate-keepers 
and flag-men are now mentioned, the sum amounting to $3,180. 
Repairs of fences, houses for flag-men, etc., $326.96. Locomotive 
repairs, $7,359.11; passenger car repairs, $2,978.34; merchan- 
dise cars, $966,97 ; gravel and other cars, $376.20. Fuel and 
oil, $23,352.45. Salaries, etc., charged to passenger department, 
$16,582.57, while the same charge to the freight department was 
$10,645.57. Gratuities and damages $321.00, and for taxes and 
insurance $2,822.76 ; station repairs, furniture, etc., $632.88. The 
interest was $12,301.28, and the salaries of head officials and their 
expenses were only $3,202.28. The gross earnings for the year 
ending Nov. 30, 1847, were $ I 7 I > I 53-75 ; net earnings, $84,133.35. 
A dividend of 3 per cent, was paid on the latter, less $5,478.20 
carried to the surplus account. 

The Providence & Worcester Railroad was completed on 
October 20th, 1847, as was a l so the branch of the Boston & Provi- 
dence which crossed the Blackstone and connected with the former 
near Central Falls. In making their first report after the completion 
of the road the directors state that of the $1,756,754.99 paid for the 
construction, $222,000 was expended for the benefit of the Boston 



56 HISTORY OF THE 

& Providence, which was principally reimbursed by them ; 51-2 
miles of this road were owned in common with the Provi- 
dence & Worcester. The Boston & Providence paid $370,403.47 
in settlement of its portion of the expenditure for its branch 
road. 

The city of Boston was authorized April 23, 1847, to construct 
a branch railroad from a point on the Boston & Providence road 
near Baldwin Mills ; thence running southeast of Baldwin's lot, 
crossing Tremont, Northampton, Suffolk, Chester, Washington 
and Springfield streets and Harrison avenue to a point near the 
southeast end of the sea wall in South Bay, and connect with this 
road on such terms as might be agreed upon. The road was not to 
be used to convey passengers and merchandise for hire, and the 
rate of speed was fixed at five miles an hour. The city also had the 
right to build branch tracks for the purpose of filling up and grad- 
ing any street or lands in the city southerly of the Worcester Rail- 
road. But this branch was to be removed on May 1, 1852. This 
act was repealed March 3, 1848, when the same privilege was given 
to the city to build a branch connecting with the Old Colony. 
The capital stock of this road was again increased $470,000. This 
sum was added to to the extent of $160,000, May 9, 1848, when the 
corporation was empowered to build a branch line from Dedham 
along and across the Charles river meadows to West Roxbury, and 
from thence to the main line at or near the toll gate. It is needless 
to add that the city did not build this line. 

April 21, 1847, the Fall River Railroad Company was author- 
ized to extend their road from the southern terminus in the town 
of Fall River, in a southwesterly direction, to the wharf of the Fall 
River Iron Works Company, called the new Steamboat wharf ; and 
on March 27, 1848, the New Bedford & Taunton Railroad Corpora- 
tion and the Fall River Railroad Company were authorized jointly 
or severally, to connect the roads of the two corporations near 
their intersection in the town of Taunton by constructing a curved 
track, and suitable switches, as that between the city of New 
Bedford and the town of Fall River, that an engine and cars may be 
run direct from the one place to the other. This curve was 
restricted to be of not less than 600 nor more than 1000 feet 
radius. 






OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 57 

The Cohasset & Scituate Branch Railroad Company was incor- 
porated April 23, 1847, by George M. Allen, Ezekiel Jones and 
Charles Vinal, to build a road within the towns of Cohasset and Scitu- 
ate, starting from the depot of the South Shore Railroad in Cohas- 
set and thence southwesterly, through those towns and through the 
north part of Scituate to a point near the Union school-house at 
Scituate Harbor. The capital stock was $75,000. They were, of 
course, given the privilege of entering the South Shore Railroad and 
to transfer their property to the latter road, for which purpose they 
were allowed to increase their capital stock by $75,000. 



58 HISTORY OF THE 



CHAPTER VI. 



THE Weir Branch Railroad Corporation was chartered April 
1 6, 1847, by Charles R. Atwood, Hezekiah W. Church and 
William H. Ingalls, to lay a track from a point on the New 
Bedford & Taunton Railroad in Taunton near the stone ware 
manufactory. To build this they were allowed a capital stock of 
$12,000. They were not to obstruct public travel, and the select- 
men of Taunton had the right to regulate the motive power, which 
was not to be steam. The incorporators had the right to transfer 
their charter to the New Bedford & Taunton,, or the Taunton Branch 
Railroads, and in 1 847 consolidated with the former, which had two_ 
thirds of the road constructed that year, at a cost of $8,949.33. 
This corporation also began to build a branch road to connect the 
main line with the harbor of New Bedford, and to build a wharf at 
its terminus 

September 20, 1847, a consolidation of the Old Colony and the 
South Shore Railroad Company was effected. By the terms of the 
consolidation the latter road agreed to construct its road from 
North Braintree to Cohasset and maintain it for a period of five 
years for six per cent., payable semi-annually, the first payment to be 
made six months after the completion of the line. Should this 
arrangement prove satisfactory and another lease of five years be 
desired, seven per cent, was to be paid. The Old Colony was to 
furnish all the rolling stock and pay all the expenses. It had 
the privilege of running over the line as soon as the tracks were 
laid from one section to another before the lease was consummated, 
paying a reasonable sum for the same. It agreed to guarantee 
the payment of bonds of $25,000 as soon as the first six miles 
were completed, payable in seven years, with interest semi-annually, 
and a like sum payable in ten years, when the entire road was built. 
The contract was signed by Caleb Stetson, president of the 
South Shore Railroad ; John W. Loud, clerk, and Nathan Carruth, 
president of the Old Colony. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 59 

December ist, of the same year, a contract was entered into 
between the South Shore Company and the Old Colony, made 
necessary by the fact that in forming a line of railroad communica- 
tion between Boston and Fall River via Bridgewater and Middle- 
borough in addition to the line of the Fall River Railroad, it became 
necessary to use a portion of the road owned by the Old Colony. 

January I, 1849, the first train of cars was run over the South 
Shore Road and continued to do so from that date, under the direc- 
tion of the Old Colony superintendent, at the risk of and for the 
benefit of the South Shore Company. The road was, however, far 
from completed, and would not be until summer. A considerable 
amount of the stock was taken by contractors in payment for work 
done. 

On May ist, the Old Colony was authorized by the legislature 
to lease this line. At the same time the former company was 
allowed to discontinue and omit any portion of its road in the city 
of Boston. 

An agreement was made in 185 1 between the Old Colony and 
the South Shore Railroad Companies that no payment for rent to 
the South Shore Company should be made on more than $400,000, 
the value of the road ; but should a new lease be made, then the 
cost should be settled anew. 

An act to establish the Agricultural Branch Railroad was 
passed April 26, 1847, the incorporators being Messrs. Sullivan 
Fay, James S. Savage, and Curtis Newton, to build a road " com- 
mencing near the village of Northborough, extending to the centre 
village of Southborough, to connect with any branch of the Boston 
& Worcester Road, near the centre village of Framingham, and such 
branch railroad, on its way from this point near Northborough to 
the centre village of Southborough shall be required to pass to the 
north of the house of Wm. Newton, Esq., in the southerly part of 
Marlborough ; provided a suitable grade could be found not exceeding 
forty-two feet to the mile, and which would cost no more than the 
average cost per mile of the residue of the railroad hereby author- 
ized." The capital stock of the company was fixed at $280,000. 
Two years' time was given for its completion, but this period was 
extended April 21, 1848, one year longer, at which time it was 
authorized to unite its road with that of the Framinsfham Branch 



60 HISTORY OF THE 

Railroad. This latter company was chartered April 16, 1846, by 
Rufus Brewer, John Wenzell, Benjamin Wheeler, Horace Heard 
and Isaac Fiske, with a capital stock of §200,000, to construct a 
road of one or more tracks in or near the centre village in Framing- 
ham, extending near Saxonville village, crossing the southerly part 
of the town of Sudbury, thence to the centre villages of Wayland 
and Weston, to a point in the latter town convenient for entering 
the Fitchburg Railroad. The two years allowed for building was 
extended March 18, 1848, until April 16, 1850. 

The act to establish the Agricultural Branch Railroad Company, 
passed April 26, 1847, was revived May 7, 185 1, and two years' 
time given it to build its road ; but the stock was to be sub- 
scribed for and twenty per cent, paid in. May 5, 1852, it was 
authorized to extend its line from its terminus in Northborough, 
through Berlin, thence to Boylston, through Lancaster, passing 
Clinton to some point on the Fitchburg & Worcester Road in Ster- 
ling, and could enter and unite with that of the Fitchburg 
& Worcester in Sterling. The right was given to cross the tracks 
of the Worcester & Nashua Railroad in Sterling or Clinton, 
at the same grade with the former road or over it, it to bear 
the cost, for which the capital stock was increased $300,000. 
The road was to be divided into three sections, the first to embrace 
that part from Frammgham to Northborough; the second from 
Northborough to Clinton, while the third was from Clinton to the 
terminus in Sterling. The capital was also divided, that for the first 
section being $150,000; second, $200,000, and third section $100,- 
000. The twelve months' time for filing the claim was extended 
May 18, 1852, to May 9, 1853, and the time of completion to 1855. 
But this period was also extended on April 23, 1853, to July 1, 1856. 
On the latter date the Boston & Worcester, Fitchburg & Worcester, 
Cheshire, and the Vermont & Massachusetts Railroad Companies 
were authorized to subscribe for the stock. The Agricultural 
Branch Railroad Company was permitted to lease its road or take a 
lease of any of those mentioned, or consolidate with them. The 
Ware Branch of the Taunton Branch Railroad was discontinued 
this year. 

The Agricultural Branch Railway Company report that their 
road was open from Framingham to Marlborough and was operated 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 6 1 

by the Boston & Worcester Road from June to December, rent free. 
December ist that portion of the road from Framingham to Marlbo- 
rough was opened and operated by the same company. The entire 
system was leased to the latter corporation April 23, 1853, to take 
effect on the completion of the first section of the road which was 
finished, and the contract dated December 1, 1855, and extended 
for a period of twenty years. The section finished was from Fram- 
ingham to Northborough. 

In the summer of 1847 the Fall River Road became embarrassed 
with a heavy debt, with a large proportion of it authorized stock 
unsold ; to raise ready funds it sold it to the stock-holders at 
$80 per share. This difference between the amount realized and 
the par value, was proportioned and charged in its annual report 
to the several accounts of construction. But the amount received 
from the stock was insufficient to meet its demands, as the road 
was incomplete and therefore unable to do a proper business. The 
legislature was petitioned for an increase of its capital stock. 
This was granted with the proviso that it should not sell for less 
than $100 per share. But this proved of little help, as the stock of 
this company could be bought on the market at $87 per share, and 
even as low as $80, and the greater part of the stock was left unsold. 
The only recourse left them was to appropriate $31,500 — equiva- 
lent to three dollars for each share — to be taken from their 
earnings, and credited to the several accounts of construction. 

March 27, 1848, the Old Colony was authorized to widen its 
road twenty feet on either side so as to construct a second track 
between Boston and South Braintree ; also to widen bridges, draws, 
and streets en route to aid them in so doing. It was also 
empowered to construct a branch road commencing at some point 
on the main line in Quincy, " a little south of the turnpike on the 
southeasterly side of Neponset river, and thence running through or 
near a certain gravel hill, called Mount Hope, to the Granite Rail- 
way, a distance of about one and a third miles." It was per- 
mitted to contract with the Granite Railway Company for the 
purchase of its road. Authority was also given to construct a 
branch road, commencing on the main line between Neponset river 
and Harrison square, in Dorchester, and thence running toward 
Commercial point to deep water, where it was to build wharves 



62 HISTORY OF THE 

and suitable depots for transportation of freight by water, for which 
purpose it increased the capital stock $100,000. 

The New Bedford & Taunton Railroad built in 1848 a branch 
to connect the main line with the harbor of New Bedford, also a 
wharf at its terminus, at a cost of $14,068.38. It built one-half of a 
branch to connect the main line with the Fall River Road, and also 
one-half of the depot at Myricks, at a cost of $3,036.45. 

In the Old Colony report for the year ending December 1, 1848, 
it is stated that $1,199,300 had been paid in during the year, and 
that its floating debt was $509,463.51. It paid no fixed rate 
of interest ; but paid from day to day the current rates to complete 
construction and on construction account. The net earnings for 
this year were $87,757.46. A dividend of 31-2 per cent, was 
declared in July following and another of 3 per cent, was due in 
January, which left a surplus of $8,000. 

Messrs. R. W. Hayward and W. H. Hunnewell succeeded 
Messrs. Thomas and Loud on the Board of Directors. 

March 22, 1848, the New Bedford & Taunton Railroad Corpor- 
ation was authorized to build a branch road, beginning at a point 
on its road about 980 feet north of the north line of Pearl street, 
in New Bedford, thence to a wharf then being constructed by the 
corporation on the west bank of Acushnet river. 

April 21, 1848, the Taunton & Middleborough Railroad Corpora- 
tion was chartered to build a road from a point on the New Bedford 
& Taunton Railroad, near the bridge over Taunton river, in Taunton, 
thence in an easterly direction, through a part of the town of Rayn- 
ham, near the Old Colony Iron Works, in Squawbetty, to a con- 
venient point on the Fall River Railroad near the depot in Middle- 
borough, and so as to intersect the Cape Cod Branch Railroad near 
its depot. A capital stock of $150,000 was granted. 

The time allowed for the Taunton & Middleborough Railroad 
Corporation to construct its road, having expired, it was revived 
March 17, 1853, provided the location should be filed before Jan. 1, 
1854, and the road completed before September 1 of that year. The 
name was then changed to the Middleborough & Taunton Railroad 
Corporation, and on March 17, 1853, the Taunton Branch Railroad 
Corporation was authorized to subscribe for the stock to the value 
of $25,000. 




8^htuck|T* 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 63 

An amendment to the contract existing between the Old Colony 
and the Dorchester & Milton Branch Railroad was made and 
endorsed in June, 1848, as follows : " It is agreed that, if the Old 
Colony Railroad Corporation shall purchase under the liberty given 
by the written indenture, the franchise and property of the Dor- 
chester & Milton Branch Railroad Company, it, said Old Colony 
Railroad Corporation, shall be required to pay no greater part of the 
purchase money therefor in its stock, than an amount equal to the 
stock of the Dorchester & Milton Branch Railroad Company, valued 
at par, held by the stockholders thereof, at the time of said pur- 
chase. The balance of said purchase money may, at the option of 
said Old Colony Railroad Corporation be paid either in cash or its 
stock at par." 

This was signed by E. H. Derby, president of the Old Colony, 
and E. P. Tileston, president of the Dorchester & Milton Branch. 

To this was added, July 26, 1851, another agreement. In this 
it was stated that the Dorchester & Milton Branch was valued at 
$125,500, and that the lease was to run until January 1, 1856. 
The Old Colony was to run over the former road at least five times 
daily in summer and four in winter. The bonds guaranteed by the 
Old Colony were to be renewed by the Dorchester road for 
five years after they became due, without expense to the former, but 
to be endorsed by them. A mortgage was given the Old Colony to 
secure that guarantee and cost of renewal of bonds. All future 
payments of rents, after the one then falling due, which was to be 
applied to the payment of its floating debt or to the purchase of 
these bonds, was to be paid to two trustees, one to be named by 
each party, who were to apply the rents, 1st, to the payment of 
interest on the bonds ; 2nd, to the payment of three per cent, 
dividends semi-annually, on any prefered stock, the proceeds of which 
may have been used to provide for the debts of the company ; 3d, 
to the payment of the second issue of bonds for $22,500, or to 
buying the same before maturity ; 4th, to the making of a sinking fund 
for the redemption of the bonds of the second issue ; and, lastly, of 
the guarantee bonds, but with discretion ; both trustees agreeing to 
buy up bonds of either issue. This article was subject to the rights 
of the mortgagees. The mortgage or pledge referred to above was, 
1st, the mortgage of the rents and profits to the bondholders of the 



64 HISTORY OF THE 

second issue of $22,500 ; and, 2nd, a mortgage upon the house 
adjoining the station at the Lower Mills. 

At a special meeting of the directors of the Dorchester & Milton 
Road, October 28, 1856, at the office of the president, N. F. Safford, 
this contract was renewed for one year, it being understood that the 
Old Colony & Fall River road would renew its guarantee of the 
bonds of the branch to the extent of $25,000 for five years from and 
after the maturity of the then outstanding bonds, which, were to be 
taken up at their maturity by the branch, and the new bonds sub- 
stituted. This was agreed to by the Old Colony & Fall River, and 
the $5,000 difference between the issues was to be paid by the 
branch ; that is, that the former road was to be saved harmless from 
the guarantee of bonds for this branch for $30,000, and they to 
renew the guarantee to the extent of $25,000. 

The report of the Old Colony, December 1, 1849 reads : " Capital 
paid in, $354,815; increase of funded debt, $328,685. Floating 
debt paid, $458,890.61. The average rate of interest paid per 
annum was, on the funded debt, 6 per cent, on bonds at five years, 
which were sold at 8 and 10 per cent, discount ; on the floating 
debt, about one per cent, per month. The rolling stock numbered 
15 engines, 26 passenger cars, 4 baggage cars, 105 freight cars and 
53 gravel cars. 

May 2, 1849, tne Fall River Railroad was authorized to change 
its location in Middleborough near the intersection of the Cape Cod 
Branch, also to increase its capital stock $50,000 ; provided that no 
shares should be issued for a less sum, to be paid up, than the par 
value of shares in the original stock. On March 27, 1852, Nathan 
Slade, Abner Slade and Nathaniel B. Borden, proprietors of the Fall 
River wharf at Fall River, were authorized to build a track from the 
wharf to Fall River at a point near the range of the northerly line 
of land connected with the wharf, and to connect with the Fall 
River Railroad. 

The Fitchburg & Worcester Railroad was incorporated April 16, 
1849, by Solomon Strong, Francis Perkins, Joel Pratt, James H. 
Carter and Caleb C. Field, to build a road from Fitchburg or 
Leominster to Sterling, and thence to intersect or connect with the 
Worcester & Nashua Railroad in Sterling or West Boylston, where 
they could connect with the former road, and could, should that road 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 6$ 

forfeit their charter by negleet to file their plan, extend their road 
to Worcester ; but this, of course, was never done. The capital 
stock was $500,000, and they were privileged to enter the road of 
the Fitchburg and the Vermont & Massachusetts Railroads, and could 
purchase or hire the Worcester Branch, or consolidate with that 
corporation. They also had the privilege of uniting or consolidat- 
ing with the Worcester & Nashua Railroad Corporation. March 20, 
1847, the ti me °f one y ear f° r filing the location of the road was 
extended another twelve months, and again Feb. 29, 1848 ; and this 
was repeated Feb. 14, 1849, an ^ Feb. 2, 1850. March 31, 185 1, 
they were authorized, in pursuance of their contract with the Fitch- 
burg Railroad Company, to construct a track for the use of freight 
trains only from their passenger depot in Fitchburg across the land 
adjacent to the passenger depot of the Fitchburg Road in that city, 
so as to connect with the Vermont & Massachusetts. One thousand 
shares of preferred stock were issued by them in April, 185 1, 
the value being $100 each, on which they were to guarantee the 
payment of three per cent, interest semi-annually ; provided they 
did not dispose of any stock at less than par value. This stock was 
of course first offered to the stockholders of the company at its par 
value in proportion to the number of shares they already held, and 
for each share of the said preferred stock so subscribed and paid for 
at par. Each stockholder had the privilege of surrendering one 
share in three of the old stock held by him, and receiving in return 
one share of the preferred stock. They also had the option of sur- 
rendering the old for the new stock. This preferred stock was to 
be redeemed by the company at any time within ten years, by pay- 
ing the par value of the same, together with all dividends. An 
additional issue of 1,050 shares of preferred stock was authorized 
Feb. 21, 1853, under the same stipulations. 

Ebenezer Lobdell, Seth D. Eaton and Ebenezer T. Lobdell were 
incorporated May 2, 1 849, to build the Silver Lake Branch Railroad 
from a point near the Old Colony Road not more than 1,200 feet 
from the depot at Halifax, and proceed by the Old Colony Road 
to Jones River Pond, thence branching north and south along its 
margin a distance not exceeding one and one-half miles, for which 
they were allowed a capital stock of $35,000. They were authorized 
to sell its franchise to the Old Colony. 



66 HISTORY OF THE 

The Mount Pleasant Branch Railroad Company was incorporated 
May i, 1849, b y Isaac McLel'lan, Marshall P. Wilder, John L. Whip- 
ple, E. P. Tileston and F. Gleason, to build a road from a point 
near the town house in Dorchester, running north about one mile, 
then near the estate of Marshall P. Wilder, following nearly the 
course of the Roxbury Brook to Stoughton street ; thence east to a 
point of junction with the Old Colony Railroad near Little Neck. 
The capital stock was limited to $150,000. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 6*] 



CHAPTER VII. 



~\y^ AY i, 1849, tne act t0 establish the Fairhaven Branch 
/ \ Railroad was passed. The charter was given to Nathaniel 
^~ Church, Warren Delano, Ezekiel Sawin, Zaccheus M. Bar- 

stow, Loring Meiggs, Stephen C. Luce and Gilbert Hathaway, to build 
a road from Fairhaven, in the county of Bristol, intersecting the Cape 
Cod Branch Railroad at or below the South Middleborough station and 
the South Wareham station, and to pass within one mile of Mattapoi- 
sett, in the town of Rochester, and within three-quarters of a mile of 
Mendall & Leonards' store in the scippian quarter of Rochester. 
They were allowed a capital stock of $250,000, and the road was to be 
constructed in four years. They were permitted to use the roads of 
the Cape Cod Branch, Fall River & Old Colony. April 30, 1851, 
the time of construction was extended one year, provided they did 
not begin operations until the entire amount of their capital stock 
had been subscribed for, and ten per cent, paid in ; the capital was 
at the same time reduced to $200,000. On April 20, 1852, one 
year more of grace was allowed them ; and on the 27th they were 
given power to extend their road over the burial ground in Fair- 
haven. April 14, 1853, capital was increased $100,000. 

On the Providence Division, the West Dedham Branch Railroad 
Company was incorporated May 1, 1849, by Messrs. Joseph Fisher, 
Merrill D. Ellis and Oliver Capen, to build a road from West Ded- 
ham to the Dedham branch of the Boston & Providence, to accom- 
plish which they were authorized to issue bonds to the extent of 
$150,000, and were permitted to use the tracks of the Dedham 
Branch of the latter road, which corporation constructed and con- 
trolled that branch. 

The Middleborough & Plympton Railroad Company was incorp- 
orated May 2, 1849, by Zachariah Eddy, Oliver Parker and Eben- 
ezer Lobdell, to build a road from the depot of the Old Colony in 
Plympton to a point at or near the depot of the Fall River Railroad 
in Middleborough, the capital stock to be $150,000. 



68 HISTORY OF THE 

The annual report of the Old Colony for 1850 gave the capital 
paid in as $7,770 ; paid on floating debt, $50,572.90. Six percent. 
was the average rate of interest paid; agencies and expenses, 
$144.25. Total cost of road and equipments, $2,293,534.83. No 
other charges are given in this report except expenditures for work- 
ing the road. Only two hundred hands are reported as being em- 
ployed. Net earnings, after deducting expenses, $80,468.72 ; surplus, 
not divided, $80,468.72. The following changes occurred in the 
Board of Directors : Messrs. Francis B. Crowninshield, Nathaniel 
Whitney, J. W. Seaver and William Richardson, vice Derby, Loud, 
Seaver and Crocker. 

The Matfield Railroad Company was incorporated by James 
Brown, S. Dwight Eaton and J. M. Leonard, April 30, 1850, to 
build a road from a point not more than 300 feet from the East 
Bridgewater Iron Company, in East Bridgewater, to a point on the 
Bridgewater & Abington Branch of the Old Colony, northerly of, 
and not more than 1,000 feet from, the depot in East Bridgewater, 
where they were allowed to unite with the Old Colony, provided 
they could obtain that permission. They were allowed $10,000 to 
build the same. 

The Cape Cod Branch Railroad Company extended its line 
on May 21, 1857, from the terminus in Sandwich, through the 
towns of Sandwich, Barnstable and Yarmouth to the tide-water 
at Hyannis Harbor in Barnstable, with privilege to build a wharf 
for the convenience of passengers and freight, for which pur- 
pose it was allowed an additional capital stock of $250,000, 
which amount had to be subscribed for and 20 per cent, paid in be- 
fore operations on the road were begun. The par value of the 
original stock was reduced to $60, and all dividends declared in the 
future were to be on the original stock at the above value. It 
could, should it see fit, discontinue as much of the branch at 
Wareham Narrows as laid below the southeasterly side of Parker 
Mills wharf. April 20, 1852, a further period of two years was 
allowed to build the road and to act in conjunction with the 
town of Wareham to maintain the bridge over the river in 
in Wareham without a draw until further ordered, and on April 28, 
the town of Nantucket was authorized to subscribe for $50,000 of 
the stock, provided the town pass the order on a two-thirds vote. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 69 

The only change in the Old Colony directory for 1852 was the 
addition of the name of Mr. Charles B. Shaw. The most important 
items in the report for this year are as follows : Capital paid $60,- 
000; funded debt (bought by the company), $45,500; cost of road, 
$2,293,534.83. Passengers carried from the steamboats by the Fall 
River and Cape Cod Railroads, 2,144,962. The undivided surplus 
this year was $101,510.44. 

The Marlborough Branch Railroad Company was incorporated 
April 30, 1852, by Mark Fay, Lambert Bigelow, Richard Farwell 
and Hollis Loring, to construct a road from a point on the Lancas- 
ter & Sterling Branch of the Fitchburg Railroad in the village of 
Feltonville, so called, in the town of Marlborough, and extending to 
a most convenient point near the east or west Parish in the town, 
or Marlborough. Junction, for which they were allowed a capital 
stock of $80,000, and privileged to contract with the Fitchburg to 
equip and run their road. In their charter was inserted a clause 
whereby those shareholders who refused or neglected to pay when 
due the twenty per cent, of the par value of their shares, or any 
part of the assessment, were to forfeit their stock and any payments 
already made. 

The name of the Providence & Bristol Railroad Company was 
changed May 24, 1853, to the Providence, Warren & Bristol Rail- 
road Company, and allowed a capital stock of $250,000. The time 
for the completion of the road was also at this date extended fifteen 
months. 

In the Board of Directors of the Old Colony, only three names, 
those of Messrs. Crowninshield, Walker and Hunnewellare mentioned. 
They report as follows for 1853 : Funded debt, paid and bought by the 
company, $71,100. Increase of floating debt since last report 
(difference between notes payable and receivable), $70,888.13. 
Freight cars, $7,200. No other expense is reported in maintainance 
of road. 

The Old Colony and the Fall River Railroad Corporations, were 
united March 25, 1854, to be called the Old Colony & Fall River 
Railroad Company. Section 3 says : " The first meeting of the 
corporation hereby authorized, shall be called by the presidents of 
the two corporations composing its parts ; and of the time and place 
of said meeting, seven days' notice will be given, by publication in 



yo HISTORY OF THE 

I 

two newspapers in the city of Boston, and one in each of the 
counties of Plymouth and Bristol ; and at said meeting, persons 
holding stock either in the Old Colony Railroad Corporation or in 
the Fall River Railroad Company shall be entitled to vote in like 
manner as they would have been had these corporations been con- 
vened separately. March 31, 1854, they were permitted to change 
the location of their road, by enlarging and making more easy of 
operation, the curves near its southern terminus in Fall River, which 
if not done within two years would deprive them of the priv- 
ilege." 

The first report of the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad Com- 
pany was for 1854. The capital stock was $3,300,000, $3,015,100 
of which was paid in ; the total amount of their funded debt 
amounted to $289,834.65, the floating debt being $250,000, while 
the average interest paid was six per cent. 

The cost of road and equipment in the report for this year is 
given as $3,434,164.81, less $71,216 charged to deterioration. By 
the consolidation the road increased 79 1-2 miles, 11 1-2 of which was 
double track. The total number of men employed, exclusive of 
those engaged in construction, is given as 340. The income from 
passengers was $419,014 ; from freight, $217,148.62 ;that from other 
sources bringing the total up to $649,656.14. The Board of 
Directors was composed of Messrs. Alexander Holmes, Richard 
Borden, Peter H. Peirce, F. B. Crowninshield, J. H. Beals, C. C. 
Gilburt, and William J. Walker. 

April 12, 1854, the eleventh section of an act passed March 4, 
1826, entitled "An act to incorporate the Granite Railway Com- 
pany," whereby the stockholders in said company, are made liable, 
in their persons and estates, for all debts contracted by that corpora- 
tion, was repealed, and another act was passed March 27, 1858, as 
follows : 

Section i. Any justice of the Peace for Norfolk County may 
call a meeting of the stockholders of the Granite Railway Company, 
first giving five days' notice to such stockholders of the time, place, 
and purpose of holding the meeting. At such meeting it shall be 
lawful to choose all officers of the corporation, who shall hold their 
office until the expiration of one year and until others shall be 
legally chosen in their place ; and to ratify, approve and adopt any 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 7 1 

or all past acts of persons who have heretofore acted as agents or 
officers of said corporation. 

Section 2. Any person who has acted as clerk of said company 
and kept a record of their meetings or doings may append to such 
record his certificate, under oath, that the same is true ; and the 
same shall thereupon have the same force and effect, and be admis- 
sible as evidence as fully as if such person had been duly sworn, 
and had recorded his oath as clerk at or prior to the time of the 
making of such record. 

Section 3. This act shall not affect any action now com- 
menced, nor any rights now held or acquired by any other corpora- 
tion or person. 

An act to incorporate the Easton Branch Railroad Company 
was passed March 3, 1854, the incorporators being Messrs. Oliver 
Ames, Oakes Ames and Howard Lothrop, to build a road for or 
near the Stoughton Branch Railroad at or near the terminus at 
Stoughton to the Branch Turnpike to a point in Easton at or near 
North Easton, and were allowed a capital of $100,000 ; three years 
were given them to build. 

February 22, 1854, the name of the Cape Cod Branch Railroad 
Company was changed to the Cape Cod Railroad Company and its 
capital stock increased by the sum of $60,000 and on March 5th, 
same year, the county commissioners of Barnstable were authorized 
to entertain jurisdiction of claims for land damages against this 
road, notwithstanding their interest from being owners of that stock. 
This was the cause of the above act, as a question arose as to 
whether the commissioners, being stockholders, could act in this 
capacity. This line was opened July 8, 1854 from Sandwich to 
Hyannis. 

Messrs. Robert M. Todd, Edward King, and Nathaniel F. Staf- 
ford were incorporated April 29, 1854, as the Dorchester and Milton 
Extension Railroad Company, to construct a road from a point on 
the Dorchester & Milton Branch west of the station at Milton Lower 
Mills to a convenient point of intersection with the Midland, 
thence crossing that road, and extending to some convenient point 
of intersection with the Boston & Providence Railroad near the 
Readville station, and also to terminate their road extend- 
ing from the Dorchester & Milton Branch to the aforesaid point 



J2 HISTORY OF THE 

of intersection or to enter upon, use, or pass over a portion of 
that road between the point of intersection and the point where the 
above road crosses the Boston & Providence Railroad, and to con- 
struct a portion of railroad connecting the Midland with the Boston 
& Providence, uniting therewith at or near Readville station. 
Their capital stock was limited to $50,000, and a period of three 
years was granted them to build, and they were permitted to convey 
their rights to the Dorchester and Milton Branch which was done in 
1857. 

The second report of the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad 
Company submitted in 1853, gave the following statistics : Funded 
debt paid since last report, $13,134.65; floating debt, $9,050; 
total amount of floating and funded debt, $292,650. The total 
increase was $653,499.32 ; net earnings, after deducting expenses, 
$276,365.70. Two dividends of three per cent, were paid, amount- 
ing to $180,906., leaving a surplus not divided of $95,459.70. 

The Providence, Warren & Bristol Railroad Company was on 
April 21, 1855, incorporated under the above name, and was given 
until February 1, 1856, to complete its road, while its capital 
stock was also increased $150,000, which stock was to be distributed 
or sold to the stockholders at such rates as they might decide at a 
meeting called for that purpose. In order to do this it was stipu- 
lated that the stockholders should decide the measure by a majority 
vote ; also that the legislature of Rhode Island give its sanction, 
provided that the act in question was not considered as giving to the 
company power to add to its capital stock from the stock issued 
under a like authority obtained from the legislature of Rhode 
Island. 

On February 1, 1855, the Marlborough Railroad Company was 
mortgaged to Francis Brigham, Francis D. Brigham, and Obediah W. 
Albee, and on March 27, 1858, these gentlemen were authorized to 
associate themselves under any name they should choose to assume, 
for the purpose of managing the road, which title, amount of capital 
paid in, etc., was to be published in the daily papers. This arrange- 
ment was not in any way to affect or impair any contract existing at 
the time between the Marlborough Branch Road and any other com- 
pany, in relation to the use and running of that road, but the corpor- 
ation under this act was to have all the rights and be subjected to all 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 73 

the duties and liabilities of the road under any such contract. The 
company was also to issue bonds for the purpose of taking up and 
paying the bonds and other indebtedness of the mortgagees, and the 
trustees should, in case of the issue of such bonds, hold the property 
mortgaged as security for the payment of any such bonds, so 
issued. 



74 HISTORY OF THE 



CHAPTER VIII. 



THE report of the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad for 1856, 
gives the amount of capital paid in as $3,015,100, and the 
sum paid on account of the funded debt of the road since 
the previous report as $67,100. The floating debt had increased 
during that period $34,500. The total income from all sources 
was $683,356.85, which, after deducting expenses, left the handsome 
sum of $305,139.62 as the net earnings of the road. Two dividends 
of three per cent, were also paid this year, amounting to $180,906, 
and $124,233.62 was carried to the surplus account. These figures 
while, necessarily dry of themselves, are given for the purpose of 
comparison and to show the progress of the Old Colony in its first 
decade of existence. In this sense they can be made interesting 
to the general reader and instructive to the student of early rail- 
roading in this country. 

Messrs. Joseph G. Luther, William Pierce, William Wilber, 
Nason Brown and Benjamin Robinson were incorporated March 17, 
1857, as the Fall River & Warren Railroad Company to build a road 
from Swanzey, R. L, extending through Somerset to Fall River, with 
a capital of $100,000. They were also permitted to establish a ferry 
between the terminus of their road on the northerly side of Taunton 
river and Fall River, and were to consolidate with any road author- 
ized by the state of Rhode Island to continue on the western termi- 
nus with the compact part of Warren. They were, however, not 
permitted to commence operations until all the stock had been sub- 
scribed for, and twenty per cent, of the par value paid in on each 
share. 

The .report of the Old Colony & Fall River Road for the year 
ending November 30, 1859, showed the number of shares of capital 
stock issued to be 30, 1 5 1 ; funded debt paid since previous report, 
$27,000 ; total amount of floating debt, $195,400 ; maximum amount 
of debts during the year, $268,400 ; average amount of interest, 
nearly six per cent. Total cost of road and equipment, $3,434,- 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 75 

164.81, less for deterioration $71,216.21 ; amount of property held 
in addition to the cost, being the surplus earnings on hand after 
deducting the dividend to be paid the following January, $567,- 
321.08 Passengers carried, 1,265,354; income from passengers, 
$404,017.03, $68,615.14 of which sum was from other roads ; freight, 
$219 275.01, of which $30,861.30 was from other roads. Mails, 
$10,750. Net earnings, after deducting expenses, $296,081.81. 
Two dividends of three per cent, were paid, amounting to $180,906 ; 
surplus, not divided, $115,175.81. 

Report of the Old Colony & Fall River for the year ending 
November 30, i860 : Funded debt paid since previous report, $27,- 
500; increase of floating debt, $15,600; total floating debt, $y6 r 
500; maximum amount of debt during the year, $197,500 ; amount 
of assets in property held by the corporation in addition to the cost 
of the road, $701,697.22. Number of passengers carried, 1,122,279 '■> 
tons of merchandise carried, 207,765. Three hundred and sixty 
men were employed this year. Income from passengers, $331,- 
942.44, of which $69,568.95 were from other roads. Freight, $226,- 
471.79, and of this sum $35,923.44 was received from its connecting 
roads. Net earnings, after deducting expenses, $315,282.14. One 
dividend of six per cent, was paid amounting to $180,906, leaving an 
undivided surplus of $134,376.14. 

March 28, 1861, Messrs. Chester Snow, Freeman Cobb, Joseph 
Cummings, E. W. Carpenter, Joseph K. Baker, Jr., James S. Howes 
and Reuben Nickerson, Jr., formed a corporation known as the Cape 
Cod Central Railroad Company. These gentlemen were permitted 
to build a railroad near Yarmouth depot, Barnstable county, and have 
it run through the following towns : Yarmouth, Dennis, Harwich 
and Brewster to Town Cove, a place in Orleans. Their capital stock 
was not to , exceed $200,000. Permission was granted them to 
transfer their property, etc., to the Cape Cod Railroad Company, 
when desired, or the Cape Cod Central Railroad Company, and to 
lease the road, etc., either to the Cape Cod Railroad Company or 
any other corporation for any length of time, and authority was 
given to the Cape Cod Railroad Company and the Old Colony & 
Fall River Railroad Company to accept such lease when the parties 
agreed. Permission was also given on this date to the Old Colony 
& Fall River Railroad Company to build and operate a railway, 



76 HISTORY OF THE 

beginning on Kneeknd street, between South and Cove streets, 
Boston, and running southerly to the channel between Boston proper 
and South Boston, near Clark's Wharf, then southerly, bearing west- 
erly across the channel to South Boston shore to land belonging to 
it, and then westerly and curving southerly over the land belong- 
ing to the company, near land of the South Boston Iron Company, 
to Fourth street ; then under Fourth street, curving easterly, near 
land of the trustees of Cyrus Alger, deceased, and over the flats 
belonging to the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad Company near 
the flats owned by or in care of Daniel Denny, and over the flats of 
the company, and over flats owned by Denny, or the trustee of 
Alger's estate, to the Boston & New York Central Railroad ; then over 
the same to the present track of the Old Colony near Dorchester 
avenue. When this railroad was ready for operation, the old track 
owned by the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad Company was to 
be discontinued, and the bridges removed at the cost of this com- 
pany. The bridge which passes over the Boston & New York Central 
Railroad was to be twenty-five feet wide between its abutments 
and built in a proper manner, and kept in repair by the company ; 
and the bridge over the railway on Fourth street was also to be 
built and kept in order by this company, and was to be at 
least fifty-feet wide. The power was also given the Old Colony to 
raise the grade of Fourth street, together with Dover street bridge, 
where it passes over the track, twelve feet, according to decision 
of aldermen. The expense of raising this on the easterly side was 
paid by the Old Colony, and that on the west side by the railroad 
company and the city of Boston ; provided, that the city was required 
to pay only what is necessary to put the west side of Dover street 
bridge in repair for purposes of highway. March 24, 1865, the act 
requiring this line to raise the grade at Fourth street and build its 
road across the street was repealed. 

The annual report of the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad 
Company for the year ending November 30, 1861, shows no par- 
ticularly marked feature over that of the previous year, except in 
some slight details of operating expenses and an increase in the pas- 
senger and freight service. The maximum indebtedness of the 
company this year was $245,278, the floating debt having been 
increased from various causes $45,278. The fuel account shows 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. J'J 

that coal was fast being substituted for wood, as was the case 
on all roads at this period. The net earnings, after deducting 
expenses, were $208,735.47. A six per cent, dividend was declared 
and paid this year, and $27,829.47 carried to the surplus account. 
Mr. George A. Kettell succeeded Messrs. Borden and Walker in the 
directorate. 

On the 9th of April 1861, the Old Colony was authorized to 
build and operate a railroad from the end of its track in Fall River, 
southerly, to a line in Rhode Island, to connect with a railroad to 
be built from Newport, R. I., to the line of Massachusetts. This 
road was also authorized to connect with an)i railroad in Rhode 
Island, and should, if required by the Bay State Steamboat Com- 
pany, deliver at Fall River all articles of freight, unless otherwise 
ordered. 

The annual report for the year ending November 30, 1862, con- 
tains but little of interest to the general reader, with the bare excep- 
tion that this year the United States internal revenue tax was 
imposed on the business of the Old Colony & Fall River Corpora- 
tion, the amount of such tax for the two months covered by the 
report being $1,897.60. The net earnings were $293,458.56. 
Messrs. John R. Brewer and Benjamin Finch succeeded Messrs. 
Beal and Gilbert as directors. 

In 1 862 the Fall River line was extended to the state line to- 
ward Newport, under a corporation known as the Newport & Fall 
River Railroad. This line was merged in the Old Colony, and 
the name of the system became the Old Colony & Newport Rail- 
road. A contract was made January 23, 1862, between the Old 
Colony & Fall River and the Newport & Fall River Companies, to 
the effect that all the rights of the road were to be transferred to 
the former company for ten years at a yearly rental of $30,000, 
after the completion of the track, stations, depots, etc., to be paid 
semi-annually. The Old Colony paid the sum of $300,000 in advance 
for the purpose of building the road, in such sums as were required 
to carry on the work. This sum was to go toward the payment of 
the rental, as mentioned above, with interest. But one payment of 
$15,000 was to be made on the day it fell due, with which the 
interest on the advance payments was to be paid, the balance to go 
toward the principal. This agreement was signed by Alexander 



78 HISTORY OF THE 

Holmes, President of the Old Colony, and Benjamin Finch, Presi- 
dent of the Newport & Fall River Road. 

The Vineyard Sound Railway Company was chartered in 1861 
from Monument Station on the Cape Cod Railway in Sandwich to 
Woods Holl. In 1868 the name was changed to that of the Ply- 
mouth & Vineyard Sound Railway, and the company was authorized 
to build a road from Monument station tot he Old Colony at Ply- 
mouth. The franchise between Monument station and Woods Holl 
was subsequently conveyed to the Cape Cod Railway and it began 
the construction of that road at once. 

On February 21, 1863, Messrs. William Cobb of Dighton, Job 
M. Leonard of Somerset, Albert Field, Samuel L. Crocker, and 
Sylvanus N. Staples of Taunton, all from Bristol county, formed a 
corporation known as the Dighton & Somerset Railroad Company. 
The capital stock of this company was not to be less than $300,000, 
nor more than $400,000, and the line of railroad was to commence 
at a point on the Taunton Branch Railroad, then running in a 
southerly direction through the towns of Taunton and Dighton to 
the town of Somerset, upon the line of the Fall River & Warren 
Railroad. It could unite with the Fall River & Warren, Taunton 
Branch, and New Bedford & Taunton Railroads, and was authorized 
to construct a road at grade across the highway in Somerset, to the 
house of Philip Bowers. Permission was also on April 29 granted 
to the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad Company to extend its 
railroad any time within two years to the line of the state of Rhode 
Island, from a point in Fall River to a railroad constructed in 
Newport, R. I., to the former line of the commonwealth of Massa- 
chusetts. When this company decided to re-locate or extend its 
railroad, it was allowed to cross at grade the following streets : Met- 
acomet, Mill, and Broadway, and also was allowed to cross the 
American Print Works' pond. 

The Dighton & Somerset Railroad Company was on March 17, 
1864, allowed to build a road from the Old Colony & Newport Rail- 
road in Braintree or Randolph, through the towns of Randolph, 
Stoughton, North Bridgewater, Easton, Raynham, Taunton, Digh- 
ton and Somerset to Taunton Great. River, then across the river to 
Storehouse Point, and through a part of Fall River to the Old 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 79 

Colony & Newport Railroad, between Somerset station and Miller's 
station. 

The Easton Branch Railroad was in 1866 bought by the 
Dighton & Somerset Railroad Company for a part of its location 
and for its use, and the Dighton & Somerset Railroad having 
been united with and being a part of the Old Colony & Newport 
line, the earnings of the Easton Branch for the past year belonged 
to and were paid to the Old Colony & Newport, and formed part of 
the earnings of that company and as such were taxed by the com- 
monwealth, which reduced the stock of the Easton to a nominal 
value. 

The first report of the Old Colony & Newport Railroad Com- 
pany for the year ending November 30, 1863, was as follows : 
Capital stock, $4,000,000; increase of funded debt, $65,500; 
increase of floating debt, $205,856.82 ; average rate of interest, five 
per cent.; maximum amount of debts during the year, $755,914.82. 
There were 33 way stations for accommodation trains and 1 1 flag 
stations. There were 1,194,161 passengers carried; freight, 231,- 
360 tons; $53,942.57 was laid out for repairs of the road, etc. 
Wages received another advance, as the average pay of switchmen 
was $32 per month ; gate-keepers, $36 ; signal men $27 ; and watch- 
men $36. Interest paid on bonded debts and bills payable, $28,- 
196.65 ; government tax, $12,542.21 ; charged off to depreciation, 
$40,000. The income was : from passengers, $460,913.78, of this 
$76,178.41 was from the other roads; freight, $204,143.98 from 
main line, and $30,560.33 from the connecting lines. Mails, $10,- 
750; rents, $15,201.46 ; running Dorchester & Milton trains, $498.- 
40 ; net earnings, after deducting expenses, $328,342.70. A six per 
cent, dividend was paid, amounting to $159,482.46, leaving a sur- 
plus, not divided, of $168,860.24, which, added to the surplus of 
previous years made $993,651.26. Depreciation was estimated at 
$40,000. The changes in the directory of this road were Messrs. 
Richard Borden, Francis B. Hayes, Uriel Crocker, Minot Tirrell, 
vice Messrs. J. R. Brewer, Finch and Crowninshield. 

In 1863 the Dorchester & Milton Branch Railway reported that 
the Old Colony & Fall River Railroad operated the road under a 
contract until Jan. 24, 1 863, and then ceased the running of the trains. 
They were not resumed until about October, 1863, when the Old Col- 



80 HISTORY OF THE 

ony & FallRiver Railroad had acquired possession under its mortgage 
and obtained a transfer of a considerable portion of the stock and bonds, 
so that no more definite statement could be rendered by that 
board. 

The second report of the Old Colony & Newport Railroad Com- 
pany for the year ending November 30, 1864, was as follows : 
Number of shares of stock issued (in shares and scrip) $36,- 
096 ; increase of capital, $594,500 ; paid in since last report, 
$549> 5 00 j increase of funded debt, $36,000 ; increase of 
floating debt, $111,435.18; average amount of interest, 51-2 
per cent.; maximum amount of debt during the year, $903,350; 
amount expended on the Newport Extension, $895,430.93 , total 
cost of road and equipment, $4,258,379.53. Nineteen miles of new 
road were built during the year, and one mile of single track on 
its branches. This gave it four way stations for express trains 
and thirty-eight for accommodation, also twelve flag stations. Passen- 
gers carried, 1,541,849 ; tons of merchandise carried, 260,653. In 
the item of expenditures for working the road the principal cost is 
for repairs, etc., $77,261.77. Wooden bridges cost $9,413.16. 
Again the wages of employees were advanced. This year the aver- 
age pay of switchmen was $35 per month ; gate keepers, $38 ; signal 
men, $30 ; and watchmen, $40. The total number of men on the 
pay rolls was 450. Three cars were built at the shops of the com- 
pany and fifty were bought and charged to the contingent fund, 
the rolling stock, consisting of 26 engines, 51 passenger, 15 bag- 
gage, 488 freight, and 70 gravel cars. The government tax was 
$18,963.98, and the state tax, $34,393.03. The income for the 
twelvemonths was : from passengers, $622,025.36, of which $101,- 
134.89 was received from their connecting lines; freight, $2 76,- 
158.79 ; other roads, $39,160.53 ; mails, $10,752 ; rents, $15,935.20; 
net earnings, after deducting expenses, $371,391.49. A dividend of 
eight per cent., amounting to $300,675.92, was paid, leaving a sur- 
plus of $70,715.57, added to which was $92,334.35 left over from 
last year. The name of Mr. Benjamin Finch was added to the list 
of directors this year. 

April 3, 1865, the Providence, Warren & Bristol and the Fall 
River, Warren & Providence Railways made a contract in which the 
former was to run a train between Fall River and Warren to con 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 8 1 

nect at Warren with each of the three trains run by the latter, for 
$31.30, also the gross receipts from all business over the road of the 
latter to or from Providence or from any point between Providence 
and Warren were to be equally divided. 

The Old Colony & Newport Road about 1865 built a new line 
from Fall River eastward to a junction with the old Fall River Road, 
via Somerset, Taunton and Randolph and in making this addition 
absorbed the Easton Branch Road, running from North Easton to 
Stoughton and there connecting with the Boston & Providence. 
The South Shore Road from Braintree to Cohasset was added to the 
Old Colony system by purchase in 1863. In 1865 the former line 
was extended from Cohasset to Duxbury under the name of the 
Duxbury & Cohasset Railroad. This road was also merged into the 
Old Colony and extended from Duxbury to Kingston, making direct 
connection with Plymouth. Thus the Old Colony became possessed 
of two distinct roads between Braintree and Plymouth. 

The report of the Old Colony & Newport for the year ending 
November 30, 1865, showed an increase of funded debt of $310,500 ; 
increase of floating debt, $129,700. The average rate of interest 
was about six per cent. Maximum amount of debts during the 
year, $1,343,550. Passengers carried, 1,832,590 ; tons of merchan- 
dise carried, 302,642 ; repairs of road, $7 6, 746.77. Wages of 
employes were again advanced this year, the average pay for switch- 
men being $40.60, gate-keepers, $38.56; signal men, $29,73 ; watch- 
men, $50.90 ; while the number of hands employed was 525. The 
company had this year 27 engines, 52 passenger, 15 baggage, 454 
freight and 61 gravel cars. The government tax this year was 
$42,901.42, and the state tax $41,177.76. The income from passen- 
gers carried on the main line and branches owned by the road was 
$699,087.95, while the connecting lines contributed $113,240.10; of 
freight $324,901.98 was received on the main line and $37,877.58 
from other roads. Mails, $10,750; rents, $23,200.40; total income, 
$1,209,058.01 ; net earnings, after deducting expenses, $411,387.20. 
A dividend of 8 percent, was paid, amounting to $303966.32, leav- 
ing an undivided surplus of $107,420.88. Mr. Oliver Ames suc- 
ceeded Mr. Borden on theBoard of Directors this year. 

The report of 1866 is interesting as showing the growth of the 
Old Colony system, which indeed was rapid, and called for an 



82 HISTORY OF THE 

increase of $1,000,000 in its capital ; the number of shares of stock 
issued this year was 48,489. It will also be seen that there were 
great improvements going on all along the lines of its roads, the 
sum of $118,576.01 having been expended for stations and other 
buildings, while the land acquired cost $186,948.09. The total cost 
of the road to this date was $4,578,730.68. The amount of assets 
or property held by the corporation at this time, was, in addition 
to the cost of the road, $4,507,514.47. The amount paid on the 
Dighton & Somerset Road this year was $1,509,301.37, making a 
grand total of $7,001,074.31. For the period covered by this report 
the government tax was $32,528.24, which is also strikingly sug- 
gestive of the increased traffic. Mr. Onslow Stearns was added to 
the directors of the road this year. 

The name of the Agricultural Branch was changed in 1867 to 
the Boston, Clinton & Fitchburg Railroad Corporation. March 18, 
1867, the Foxborough Branch Railroad Company was authorized to 
take the name of the Mansfield & Framingham Railroad Company, 
and to change its location in Walpole and enter the same through 
the towns of Walpole, Medfield and Sherborn, to some point on the 
Agricultural Branch Road in Framingham. This company 
increased its capital stock to $400,000.. 

March 13, 1867, Amherst A. Frazar, Samuel Hall, Joseph O. 
Cole, Bailey Loring, Nathaniel H. Whiting and Stephen N. Gifford 
formed a corporation under the name of the Duxbury & Cohasset 
Railroad Company, to build a railroad from Cohasset, running 
through the towns of Cohasset, Scituate, Marshfield and Duxbury. 
The capital stock was $350,000, divided into shares of $100 each. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 8^ 



CHAPTER IX. 



WHILE we are aware of the fact that railway statistics are 
not of the most interesting character, especially to those 
not directly concerned in such matters, we cannot forego 
giving a detailed report of the Old Colony & Newport Railroad for the 
year 1867, as the figures will be found more suggestive of its progress 
than columns of words could possibly convey : The amount paid on 
the funded debt since the previous report was $27,000 ; increase of 
this debt, $1,000,000 ; floating debt, $230,000 ; maximum amount of 
debt, $2,999,000. Grading and masonry cost $6y^,S6y.6g ; wooden 
bridges, $193,474.71; superstructure, $432,024.04; stations, etc., 
$408,492.14; land, land damages and fences, $286,136.49; locomo- 
tives, $82,000; passenger cars, $40,600; merchandise cars, $139,- 
702.50; total cost of road, equipment, etc., $6,782,845.12; amount 
of assets," other than the road, held by the corporation was $6,711,- 
628.91 ; $906,677.58 was charged to the account of construction. 
The number of passengers carried was 2,035,709 ; number of tons 
of merchandise carried, 369,685. In the items of rolling stock $55,- 
820.98 was spent on repairs of locomotives ; $37,576.30 on pas- 
senger cars ; $15,336.95 for merchandise cars and $7,375 for new 
ones, together with $4,004.20 for gravel cars. This gave the follow- 
ing number of cars, etc. : Engines, 34 ; passenger cars, 59 ; baggage 
cars, 18 ; freight cars, 349 ; gravel cars, 80. Coal cost, $109,207.40, 
and wood, $11,108.59. The income from passengers amounted to 
$769,911.17; for freight, $429,784,05; mails, $25,362.24; rents, 
$66,336.26; miscellaneous, etc., $3,647.97; net earnings, $310,- 
141.66. Messrs. John S. Bray ton and Samuel L. Crocker were 
added to the Board of Directors. 

The sale of the Cape Cod Central to the Cape Cod Railroad 
Company was made April 21, 1868, and the Cape Cod line was 
extended over the Central from Yarmouth to Orleans, their capital 
stock being increased $500,000. 



84 HISTORY OF THE 

April 13, 1868.. the Vermont & Massachusetts Railroad Com- 
pany, the Cheshire Railroad Company, the Boston, Clinton & Fitch- 
burg Railroad Company, the Taunton Branch Railroad Corporation, 
the Boston & Providence Railroad Corporrtion, the Old Colony & 
Newport Railway Company were authorized to take stock in the 
Mansfield & Framingham Railroad Company to an amount not 
exceeding $25,000. 

The annual reports for the years 1 868-1 869 were equally gratify- 
ing to the management and stockholders of the Old Colony, and as 
the latter year was the one in which the Board of Railroad Commis- 
sioners was created by the legislature, reference to the duties and 
powers of the board as it then existed is briefly made. 

By section eleven of chapter four hundred and eight of the Acts 
of 1869, it is provided that the Board of Railroad Commissioners 
"shall, in the month of January in each year, make a report to the 
legislature, of their doings for the preceding year, containing such 
facts, statements and explanations as will disclose the actual work- 
ing of the system of railroad transportation in its bearing upon the 
business and prosperity of the commonwealth, and such suggestions 
as the general railroad policy of the commonwealth, or as to any 
part thereof, or as to the condition, affairs or conduct of any of the 
railroad corporations of the commonwealth, as may seem to them 
appropriate." 

In fulfillment of the duty imposed upon them by this section of 
the act creating the board, the commissioners entered upon the dis- 
charge of their duties on the first day of July, 1869. The duties of 
the board were very explicitly defined, its powers limited, and the 
forms of procedure prescribed in the original act above referred to. 
Though similar boards have long existed in other states of the 
Union, nothing of the sort had ever been firmly established in Mas- 
sachusetts, and both the people and the corporations of the com- 
monwealth were naturally unacquainted with its functions, and even 
with its existence. The first duty of the commissioners was to examine 
the railroads of the state, with a view to keeping themselves informed 
as to their condition, the manner in which they are operated with 
reference to the security and accommodation of the public, and the 
compliance of the several railroad corporations with the provisions 
of their charters and the laws of the commonwealth. In obedi- 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 85 

ence to those requirements, the commissioners, either privately, or 
officially, visited and inspected, with a few exceptions, all the rail- 
roads within the commonwealth. As a result they recommended 
that "the 30th of September, a recognized quarter day, be fixed as 
the time for closing the annual accounts of the railroads ; that they 
shall transmit their reports on or before the first day of November 
following to the Board of Railroad Commissioners ; that the board 
shall make such abstracts and deductions from them as they deem 
useful, and shall transmit to the Secretary of State such reports and 
abstracts, together with their own annual report, in season to, be 
printed and distributed as one of the public documents." In this 
connection the commissioners further stated, that they had under 
consideration the form of returns now required, and were comparing 
it with those of other states, and hoped to suggest some improve- 
ments therein. 

We find the system is marked by great confusion and governed 
by no principle. In direct contravention of experience and of 
public interest it will be found that the through fares and the fares 
for long distances are the lowest, while local fares are subject to 
no rule, and, in many cases, are excessive. It is, however, a well 
established principle that speed is of the essence of all railroad con- 
tracts. The travel over great distances, or between termini, is 
generally carried on by trains which move at very considerable rates 
of speed and with few stoppages. These are the expensive trains to 
run, destroying both rolling-stock and road-beds ; yet, under the 
system now prevailing, and the excessive attention which has of late 
been paid to charges on through travel, these are the cheap train 
upon our railroads. Turning to the local travel, a wholly different 
condition of affairs is found to exist. The local trains, be it 
remembered, are, or should be, the cheap trains of the system ; 
they move at a low rate of speed and with frequent stop pages ; 
they are intended to take passengers up at one station and leave 
them at another. Upon them, in a densely populated manu- 
facturing region, filled with mills and work-shops, the community 
depends for that rapid and easy intercourse which is the life of their 
industry. These are called accommodation trains ; they employ the 
poorer portion of each company's equipment ; they run at little cost 
and with little injury to road bed and rolling stock. The tariffs of 



86 HISTORY OF THE 

the different roads reveal a most extraordinary condition of affairs 
in relation to charges on such trains. Fares between termini and 
great towns, where complaints make themselves loudly heard, are, 
of course, the same on the accommodations as on the express trains. 

Local travel is the manufacturing movement of our community ; 
it is peculiar to it. Railroads through agricultural regions must 
depend on through travel, for no other exists ; those from mining 
regions look to a mineral movement, and travel is of secondary im- 
portance ; but with us a ready and economical internal communica- 
tion is the first essential of development. Unfortunately the cheap 
and easy intercourse for very shortest distances between all con- 
nected neighborhoods is a class of business which the roads do not 
naturally encourage. It crowds the cars, necessitates frequent stops, 
the single fares received are small and too often unaccounted for by 
dishonest conductors, while much labor is devolved on the employees 
of the roads. The subject, however, is none the less important to 
the crowded settlements of a manufacturing community, and, from 
the artisan going from his home to his work, down to the child on 
its way to school, this question deeply interests every resident on a 
line of railway. 

In 1869 the track of the Boston & Providence was found in 
excellent condition ; about 1 5 miles of steel rails were laid during the 
year. India-rubber seated chairs were in use on this road to a con- 
siderable extent. Cast-steel frogs at the crossing of the Albany 
road did not wear well, and were soon replaced by the Mans- 
field frogs, which gave good satisfaction wherever they were 
used. Improvements in the freight stations at Boston were in 
progress. A new station was built at Foxborough. At India 
Point, in Providence, this road had a terminus at deep water with 
ample room and every accommodation, and therefore had not the 
same necessity for reaching deep water at Boston that other roads 
possessed. 

The Old Colony & Neponset Company completed its new pas- 
senger station at Boston, which was very spacious and convenient. 
It also erected large and commodious machine shops at South 
Boston, where they built both engines and cars. At Quincy a new 
station was put up, which the commissioners commended as the best 
that they had seen for the accommodation of the short travel. On 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 87 

several roads it was the practice for the last few years to put up a 
shelter shed opposite the station, to shield the waiting passengers 
somewhat from wind and storm ; but at Quincy there are comforta- 
ble waiting rooms on each side of the track, and passengers need 
not expose themselves to danger in crossing just as a train is com- 
ing, nor stand out of doors in bleak weather. At Somerset, on the 
new line, convenient arrangements were made for doing a large coal 
business. Most of the country through which this road passes 
affords excellent ballast ; the old road was found to be in very fair 
order, and the new line in excellent condition. 

The Framingham & Lowell Railroad Company commenced run- 
ning trains on their road November, 1870, but it was not fully com- 
pleted until October 1st. It was operated by the Boston, Clinton & 
Fitchburg. The only important item in the way of construction 
within this state during 1870 was the completion of the Mansfield & 
Framingham Road, which was opened in June, forming the last link 
in the chain of roads connecting New Bedford with Fitchburg and 
the northern railroad system. It was operated by the Boston, 
Clinton & Fitchburg Road. 

On March 23, 1870, Erastus P. Carpenter, Josiah Gates and 
Hiram A. Blood formed a corporation known as the Framingham 
& Lowell Railroad Company, to build arfd operate a road from the 
Boston, Clinton & Fitchburg Railroad in Framingham, through the 
towns of Framingham, Sudbury, Concord, Acton, Carlisle, West- 
ford and Chelmsford to the city of Lowell. 

June 18, the Old Colony and Newport Railroad was authorized 
to purchase, according to the acts of the year 1846 and 1848, the 
railroad and franchise of the Granite Railway Company and were 
allowed to widen the Granite Railway in order to construct a suita- 
ble road from Belknap Square, Quincy to a point of connection with 
the Mount Hope Branch of their railway, and for that reason were 
permitted to take land, etc., necessary for its completion. 

In a letter to the Board of Railroad Commissioners dated Nov. 
5, 1872, the president of the Old Colony thus refers to the coal 
transportion question which was at that time receiving consider- 
able attention from consumers, and was a source of much com- 
plaint : 



88 HISTORY OF THE 

I am in receipt of your favor of Oct. 16th, relative to the complaint of 
parties of a want of transportation for coal on this road. la reply I would 
say that these parties do not reside on the line of this road, but on that of the 
Hanover Branch Railroad, and have their business connections with that 
company, which provides cars for its own business to be hauled over our road 
for a moderate compensation, fixed by referees. For any deficiency in cars 
for this business, that company, and not the O. C. R. Co., should be respon- 
sible. This statement seems to be a full answer to the complaint, so far as 
this company is concerned. 

in this connection it may be proper for me to say something in answer to 
the somewhat general complaint of a lack of facilities for coal transportation 
on this and other lines of railroad in the commonwealth; on this line, and as far 
as my experience extends on other lines. I do not consider this complaint well 
founded. There is on this line no lack of facilities for transporting coal in 
a reasonably regular and proper manner, and at cheap rates The difficulty, 
when it exists, arises from the utterly irregular and unreasonable manner in 
which coal is brought to the railroads. 

The coal equipment of a railroad can be used for few other purposses than 
the transportation of coal, and when not used for this purpose must lie idle at 
considerable expense for loss of inteiest and depreciation. Every addition to 
this equipment, beyond a reasonable amount, must add to the cost of tranporta- 
tion. To illustrate this I refer to the experience of this road for the past two 
years. In 1871 we carried 46,960 tons, chiefly during the eight months 
between April 1st and December 1st, which may be regarded as the season for 
shipping coal. In 1872, anticipating an increase in the business from the 
reduction in our rates, the freight equipment of this company was increased 
one-fourth by the addition of 146 new freight cars, of which a fair proportion 
were coal-cars, with this increase we could easily and conveniently transport 
600 tons of coal per day, or 15,000 tons per month of 26 working days, or 
124,800 tons for the season of eight months, which being considerably more 
than double the amount carried in 1871, was thought to be sufficient, whatever 
irregularity there might be in the shipments. 

We received and transported in the year 83,284 tons, and for this amount, 
although far in excess of our anticipations, our equipment would have been 
ample had the shipments been reasonably regular during the coal season. 
This was not the case. We received in June fourteen cargoes of less than 4,600 
tons; in August fifty-four cargoes with nearly 16,000 tons, and these were not 
distributed equally through the month, but the vessels came in fleets. On July 
1st eight vessels arrived at Somerset, bringing 2,669 tons. The result was 
that half the time our cars, men and engines stood idle, and wharves empty. 
At other times we had more work than could possibly be done. 

The evil does not end here, it crowds and confuses the running arrangement 
of the road, causes delay and inconvenience in transportation, irregular 
employment of labor, delay in return of cars, and other evils which will readily 
suggest themselves to you. The consignees of coal found equal difficulties 



V 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 89 

in disposing of it, and at the very time when we most needed our cars, the 
greatest difficulty was experienced in procuring their speedy return. 

For the irregularity in the shipments of coal, there are several reasons 
wholly beyond our control. The coal dealers, as well as the manufacturers, 
seek to purchase at the lowest rates, and to take advantage of the lowest 
freights. The result is that the shipments are extremely irregular. Then, as 
sailing vessels chiefly are employed in the trade, the arrivals depend upon the 
wind and weather. Our wharves may be empty in the morning, our men and 
machinery idle, and a change of wind during the day bring a fleet that tax the 
full powers of the road to discharge for many days. 

There are two ways to remedy the difficulties complained of. The railroad 
companies may provide sufficient wharves, machinery, labor and equipment to 
provide for the irregular shipments as they are now made. This will be 
expensive and must be attended by an advance in rates for transportation of 
this prime article of necessity in manufactures and in domestic life. Some 
means may be adopted to make the shipments more regular. This, it seems to 
me, is by far the easiest and most for the public interest. 

If coal purchasers can learn from experience to make their shipments 
regular during the season of navigation, but little trouble would be experienced. 
Possibly this might be effected by introducing a sliding scale of rates of freights 
upon the railroad, reducing these rates as the shipping freights were raised, 
and raising them as the latter fell. 

But the true and only remedy, in my judgment, is the introduction of steam 
colliers, making the transportation upon the water as regular as upon the land. 
If this reform could be effected the railroad companies could well afford to 
make material reductions in their rates on coal, and the question of a demurrage 
on sailing vessels would be heard of no more. 

The charges made for demurrage seem in many cases excessive, and more 
especially as no allowance is made in case of a discharge within the lay 
days. 

If true statistics could be furnished, it would be an interesting question to 
determine whether the gain now sought for by dealers in coal to be made by 
waiting for cheap freights, is not fully balanced by the amounts paid for 
demurrage. I am strongly of opinion that it is cheaper for coal dealers to pay 
the demurrage than to pay the railroad companies a reasonable compensation 
for the excessive equipment made necessary by the present irregular shipment, 
of coal. I may add, in conclusion, that this company, in view of the probable 
continuance of the present method of shipping coal, will largely increase their 
equipment before the commencement of the next season, and that the large 
expenditures required for this purpose must preclude the expectation of lower 
rates for transportation. The public seems to require a mode of transporting 
coal necessarily wasteful and expensive and so long as this demand continues; 
we shall endeavor to meet it. 



■d 



gO HISTORY OF THE 

November 7th of the same year the Board of Railroad Commis- 
sioners addressed a circular to the several railroad corporations of 
the state, in which it was desired that they give information on the 
following points : — 

First. Have any changes been made in the freight or passenger tariffs of 
the road under your charge during the past year ? 

Second. State the nature and extent of such changes, if any were made, 
and specify in particular what articles of merchandise, or travel from what 
towns, were affected by them. 

Third. What effect, so far as the returns of this year indicate, did any reduc- 
tions made during the railroad year of 1870-71 have on the aggregate receipts 
of your road for the year 1871-72? As far as you can ascertain, have the aggre- 
gate receipts from the towns or business affected by the reductions made in 
1870-71 increased or diminished? 

We shall be much indebted for any information you may be willing to com- 
municate to us, for our own use in the preparation of the forthcoming report of 
this board, relating to these or other points of interest in connection with the 
operation or management of the road under your charge during the year just 
terminated. 

In reply to the above, President Stearns of the Old Colony, Nov. 
14, sent the following to the Board of Railroad Commissioners : — 

Gentlemen: In ansvver to your circular of Sept. 30th ult., relative to 
reductions in rates on this road, and the effect upon its traffic, I reply : 

First. Reductions were made in our freight and passenger tariffs. 

Second. In the passenger tariff local rates were in all cases reduced to 
three cents per mile, and reductions were made on long distances — as between 
Fall River and Boston — of say 6 2-3 per cent. The reductions in the passenger 
tariff were estimated at $25,000 on the business of 1871. 

In the freight tariff reductions were made on first-class freight of about 1 1 1-3 
per cent. A new fourth class was established, to which were transferred a 
majority of the heavy articles of merchandise, before included in the third class. 
The rates for fourth class were reduced about 20 per cent, from third-class 
rates. A reduction of about 11 per cent, was made on coal. That you may 
understand the extent of this reduction, I enclose a list of articles placed in 
fourth class. I also enclose a statement of our reductions and the relative 
business of 1871 and 1872, at ten stations on the road, taken at random, from 
which you can form your own judgment as to the effect. The rapid growth of 
Fall River accounts to a considerable extent for the increase there. The esti- 
mated amount of our freight redactions was about $30,000 on the business of 
1871. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 91 

Third. In regard to the effect of the reductions of 1870-71, I can only say 
that this is so far blended with the effect of the reductions of this year that I 
cannot undertake to discriminate. Our gain in passenger receipts for this year 
is $121,259.27 ; in freight receipts, $118,355.33 over 1871. This increase is 
pretty uniformly distributed over the road. Our tonnage of freight carried has 
increased from 395,157 tons in 1871, to 510,433 tons in 1872; our coal tonnage 
from 46,960 in 1871 to 83,284 in 1872. While we show this considerable 
increase in gross receipts, the net receipts have increased only $16,549.58. This 
is in part caused by the increase in work done in our trains, from 990,662 miles 
in 1871 to 1,110,675 miles in 1872, and in part for the higher cost of metals 
which enter so largely into the cost of working the road. Wages for skilled 
labor have in some cases been increased. Improved brakes and telegraph facili- 
ties have added something to our expenses. We have added to our road the 
past year the Granite Branch. This has added to our freight tonnage about 
7,751 tons of granite. It has probably diverted passenger travel from the main 
.line without much increasing the total amount. That you may have some basis 
of comparison with the short travel between Boston and S. Braintree, alluded 
to in my reply to your circular of last year, I would state that the amount of 
this travel increased from $146,239.73 in 1871 to $155,748.34 in 1872. To 
this may be fairly added the earnings (from the same source) on the Granite 
Branch ($8,589.06), making the total increase $18,097.67. I may say that we 
endeavor to keep accurate accounts of tae business of our stations, which are 
open to your examination if they can be of service. 

In conclusion, I would add that on the road it has been found advantageous 
to reduce our rates, whenever business could thereby be stimulated. The im- 
mediate result has been to increase gross receipts and, in a much less degree, 
the net earnings of the road. We indulge the hope that the increase will be 
permanent and progressive. Our lines of railroad cover a large extent of terri- 
tory of the commonwealth, and it is in the expectation that this territory can be 
developed and its business permanently increased, that we have reduced our 
rates, and added to our train accommodations to some extent in advance of the 
public demand. If this increase in business continues, we propose to continue 
our policy of reducing rates and increasing accommodations to that point where 
our net earnings will be the greatest. If the business decreases, justice to our 
stockholders must compel an advance in rates. 



92 HTSTORY OF THE 



CHAPTER X. 



THE Old Colony & Newport Railroad Company was given 
authority, Feb. 24, 1871, to maintain and operate a railroad 
between the main line and Granite Railroad. The provisions 
of 1846, 1848, relating to the branch railroads were revived, and the 
O. C. & N. R. R. Co. was allowed to build branch railroads, but with 
the approval of the Board of Railroad Commissioners. This company 
was allowed to increase its capital stock to $6,500,000. Permission 
was also given, May 25th, to build a railroad from a point near the 
Neponset river, Boston, and then running northerly and westerly 
through the 16th ward of Boston to Park street, and then in an 
easterly direction on the railroad between Harrison Square and 
Crescent Avenue stations, and then to cross the Milton Branch 
Railroad, and the northwesterly part of Cedar Grove Cemetery in 
Boston, provided that the Old Colony obtained consent of the 
Shawmut Railroad Company. This corporation increased its capital 
stock $100,000, on account of building this new railroad. 

In their report for 1871 the commissioners gave their views as 
to the policy which might fairly be expected of railroad corpora- 
tions, in these words : " That policy should be a tentative but a 
persistent one, — a continual effort to see when and how and where 
any portion of the burden now pressing on industry could be so 
removed or so shifted as to enable production to expand, thus replac- 
ing in one direction what was conceded to it in another. The com- 
missioners called for no sacrifice of dividends ; they did ask for a 
constant exercise of ingenuity and for a sacrifice of ease." A very 
excellent illustration of the steady pursuance of such a policy, and 
the excellent results flowing from it, is furnished in the foregoing 
statement of the experience of the Old Colony &' Newport Railroad 
Company. It is full of instruction to all who feel an interest in the 
study of railroad development. The commissioners fully concurred 
in the closing paragraphs of this communication. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 93 

" Considerable reduction has been made during the last year in 
the local fares and freights, especially in the district within fifteen 
miles from Boston. This has resulted in an immediate increase in 
our business ; and the development of the towns and villages along 
the line of the road promises a greater increase in the future." 
(Report of Old Colony and Newport R. R. Co., 1871.) 

" In 1870, after extension from Orleans to Wellfleet, the tariff for 
passengers in present use was made, and the rates varied slightly to 
conform to the following basis, — three (3) cents per mile for Boston 
and way stations on the Old Colony & Newport Railway, and 
31-2 for 60 miles and 41-2 for 5 miles, and in a proportionate ratio 
for distances between 5 and 60 miles. On passengers by stages and 
steamboats to and from us, this company realizes less than three 
cents per mile, as amount realized by this company is less than reg- 
ular tariff rates." 

Old Colony & Newport R. R. Co. 
Boston, Mass., Dec. 23, 1871. 
To the Board of Railroad Commissioners : 

Gentlemen : In answer to your circular ol Sept, 30th, I send the enclosed 
papers, marked A to G, containing the information sought in questions one to 
six inclusive of that circular. I also enclose tables giving the rates for trans- 
portation on the Old Colony & Newport and South Shore Raillroads, filled out 
as you request. 

So far as I understand the purpose of your circular, these papers give all 
the information desired, except as to the effect which the reduction of rates has 
had upon the business, gross receipts and earnings of the roads. 

1 have given much time and labor to an examination of these papers, but the 
character of the investigation asked is such, and the analysis so intricate, that I 
am unable to state results satisfactory to myself. 

The following facts are shown from the papers: In 1859 a passenger tariff 
was adopted, which was increased in 1864, and remained unaltered until 1867, 
when an average reduction was made of about 73-10 per cent. Since that time 
further reductions have been made, reducing the passenger tariff of 1871 8 4-10 
per cent, below that of 1867, and 15 7-8 per cent, below that of 1864. 

Anew passenger tariff has been adopted, to take effect January 1, 1872, 
reducing the maximum rate on local business to three cents per mile, and the 
average rate to 2 6-10 cents per mile. 

The average rate from connecting roads is now 1 62-100 cents per mile, 
including season tickets. 

The reduction from the passenger tariff of 1866 (estimating for an equal 
amount of business) would amount to $81,425.41 on the business of 1866; 



94 HISTORY OF THE 

while the increase of receipts in 1871 over 1866 on local business is $182,- 
668.97. The amount of these two sums, $264,094.38, gives the apparent 
effect of the reduction of rates from 1866 to 1871. 

The reductions from 1869 to 1871, estimated in the same manner, are equal 
to $54,784.70 on the business of 1869; while the increase of receipts of 1871 
over 1869 is $50,206.81. The amount of these two sums, $104,991.51, gives 
the apparent affect of the reduction of rates from 1869 to 1871. 

I presume the greatest effect of reduction in rates would be shown in the 
short travel near Boston, and here our largest reductions have been made. 

Between Boston and South Braintree, from 1866 to 1871, large reductions 
were made, estimated at about 33 per cent, upon the average, from the tariff of 
1886. 

The larger part of this reduction was made on Jan. 1, 1871, and sufficient 
time has not elapsed to see its full effect. The receipts from business between 
Boston and South Braintree and intermediate stations were, in 1866, $102,- 
598.60; in 1869, $150,241.73; in 1870, $156,555.32; and in 1871, $63,826.92. 
The gain in receipts in 1871 over 1870 was $7,274.60, or about 4 per cent. 
The average reduction in rates in 1871 from 1870 is estimated at 24 per 
cent. 

These results are obtained from the same length of road operated in the 
different years. But it may be observed that in 1868 the horse railroad to 
Quincy was discontinued, and in the same year, to meet the public demand, 
trains were run on Sunday between Boston and South Braintree, — three trains 
in each direction, — which have been continued to the present time. 

Between Boston and Wollaston Heights the number of passengers has 
increased from 12,793 in 1869 to 48,270 in 1871, and the receipts from $2,- 
099.50 to $6,399.91 ; while the rates have been reduced about 33 per cent, on 
single tickets, 25 per cent, on package, and 6 per cent, on the season 
tickets. 

The nominal reduction in tariff rates on freight has been about 61-4 per 
cent, since the tariff adopted in 1866 and revised in 1868. By an actual reduc- 
tion considerably greater has been made by the transfer of many of the leading 
articles of consumption, and those used in creating motive power, and in 
building and manufactures, comprising flour, grain, potatoes, apples, coal, 
wood, lumber, stone, brick lime, cement, sand, slate, pig and scrap iron, ore, 
cotton, hemp, wool, tar, rosin, spelter, etc., etc., from the first and second 
classes of the tariff to the third class ; and when in large quantities, to special 
rates less than third class. It would be very difficult to give accurately the 
amount of reductions thus made upon each of these articles, which constitute 
nearly one-third the tonnage of the road. 

A reduction ot 6 1-4 per cent, from the freight tariff of 1866 is equal to 
$13,489.61 on the local business of that year, which was $215,824.18, while in 
1871, the local receipts from freight were $362,532.04, an increase of $146,- 
707.86. The amount of these two sums, $160,196.87, or about 74 1-4 per cent, 
gives the apparent affect of the reduction in rates. In 1868 the local tonnage to 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 95 

and from Boston was 117,879 1-4 tons, from which the receipts were $205,- 
7SS- l S- l n l8 7i the tonnage was 158,156 1-2 tons, from which the receipts 
were $263,005.40, showing an increase of about 34 per cent in tonnage, and 
about 28 per cent, in receipts. The results are somewhat affected by the fact 
that in 1871 more freight was hauled for short distances than in 1869 — partic- 
ular attention having been given to carrying freight between Boston and the 
neighboring towns. 

The gross receipts of the road for the year ending May 31, 1865, were 
$1,061,521.13, while for the year ending Sept. 30, 1871, they were $1,6871 ,- 
478.51, an increase of $609,957.38, or about $7 1-2 per cent. 

But while these results have followed the reduction of rates which have been 
mentioned, it is questionable how far they have been produced by them. 
Many other causes have co-operated to increase the business and receipts of the 
road during the same time. The general increase of business caused by the 
development and growth of the country through which the road runs, and a 
similar increase and development of business upon the lines of connecting roads, 
have done much to produce these results. The policy and efforts of the corpor- 
ation have been directed to the same end. By the construction of branch roads, 
about thirty-eight miles of new roads have been added to the line since 1865. 
In the construction and equipment of these branches, the rebuilding and enlarge- 
ment of depots on the main line, and increase of rolling stock and terminal 
facilities, over three millions of dollars have been expended since 1865. The 
number of passenger trains to and from Boston has increased from forty-four 
running 349,679 miles in 1865, to seventy-eight, running 664,179 miles in 1871. 
And many of these are run at much higher rates of speed than formerly. The 
improvement of the road and its equipment and facilities for doing business, by 
the expenditure of this large sum derived from increase of capital and not from 
earnings, together with the reasons stated, and others which might be named, 
have probably contributed as much as the reduction of fares to increase the bus- 
iness of the road and to swell the amount of its gross receipts. The increase in 
business, has, thus far, scarcely kept pace with the increase in expenditures for 
its accommodation. So that the stockholders of the corporation have, as yet, 
received no adequate compensation for their investment . 

In your circular of August 10, enclosed in that of September 30, certain 
statements and suggestions are made for which you request special consideration 
and an expression of opinion thereon. In reply to the suggestion that fares and 
freight should be reduced on account of the reduced cost of operating the roads, 
I would say that from my experience on the roads with which I am connected, 
this cost is, as a whole, not less than at any previous time. 

It is obvious from the foregoing remarks that the statements in this circular 
"that the rates were largely increased during the war, and have not since been 
reduced," does not apply to the Old Colony & Newport Railway and its 
branches. The rates were not largely increased then, and they are now, on an 
average, lower than ever before. Nor does the statement that the " roads have 
been relieved from the payment of large taxes," apply to this road. This cor- 



g6 HISTORY OF THE 

poration paid in taxes in 1865, $65,766.82, and has during the last year paid 
$76,400.73, which is 18 1-2 per cent, of its net income, and has been exceeded 
only in the years 1867, 1868, and 1870, and then by an inconsiderable 
amount. 

Neither can the suggestion that the reduction of rates should be large, so as 
to stimulate industry and business, apply with any force to this road ; as the 
great centres of industry upon its line are also accommodaetd by water trans- 
portation, giving cheaper transportation for those heavy articles of prime 
necessity than a railroad can furnish. 

The statement that « * the roads have added and are now adding immensely 
to the value of their properties out of their net earnings," cannot apply to this 
road. While it has been the policy of the managers to fully keep up its prop- 
erty out of its earnings, all additions and improvements have been made from 
additional capital. And its net earnings have not increased in proportion to 
the increase of its capital. This increased investment of capital has been made 
by the managers of this corporation in the belief that increased facilities would 
build up, attract and create business. During the past five years they have 
exercised every ingenuity to increase the business of the road, primarily for 
their own benefit but believing also that this increase of business was co-incident 
with the development of the industrial interests of the towns and cities upon its 
line. While the returns to the stockholders have been small, the increase in 
the value of property in the cities and towns has been large ; and it has contri- 
buted its full share to the advance in the value of real estate in Boston, which 
has enabled its owners without effort of their own to more than quadruple their 
rentals. 

If, as is stated by you, the rates of transportation have not been reduced 
since i860, it is well to bear in mind the fact that there is scarcely a single com- 
modity in the market, produced by the joint effort of labor and capital, which 
can today be purchased at less than an advance of 50 per cent, on its cost in 
i860. If then transportation is no higher than in i860, it is, in comparison with 
the value of money and other commodities, one-third less than it was then. 

There is one other fact of great moment, which should be carefully weighed 
in the consideration of this question of reduction. of rates: 

The public demand upon the railroad corporations during the past ten years 
for improved accomodations has been constant, and the managers of this cor- 
poration have endeavored to meet it. The increase in the number of our trains 
has been very great. The increased speed demanded for express trains has been 
attended by greatly increased expense, requiring more perfect and costly- 
engines; more substantial road beds and tracks; more watehful care in the 
operation of the road, — in a word, an increased expense in all the materials 
and labor used and employed by the corporation. 

Iu my view, speaking with the experience of a life-time in railroad man- 
agement, there is great danger to the public interests in endeavoring to unduly 
force down rates and fares and freights upon railroads. Our railroads 
are yet far from perfect ; great expenditures of capital must yet be made upon 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 97 

the existing roads, to enable them to render the highest service to the public 
of which they are capable. Branches must be buijt, to the expense of which 
the main lines must contribute. In my judgment, if the feelings of which you 
speak as existing "in the popular mind and in the legislature," upon the 
subject of "proper concessions by the railroad corporations," lead to an 
unreasonable restraint upon the power given to railroad corporations to fix 
their own fares and freights, the result will be disastrous. The prosperity of 
railroads is dependent upon and coincident with the growth and prosperity of 
the community they serve. Hence, self-interest will induce them to make their 
rates as favorable to the business on their lines as circumstances wMl allow. 

The investment of capital in railroads has been of untold benefit to the 
people of this commonwealth, while it has hitherto made but moderate returns 
to its owners. 

The roads have been in general economically built and carefully managed. 
As yet, they have not returned to their builders the ordinary interest of money 
invested in other pursuits. No one, to my knowledge, has ever paid contin- 
uously the ten per cent, contemplated in their charters. If the legislature has 
the power which is claimed, to arbitrarily reduce rates in spite of the provis- 
ions of charters, it may exact cheap transportation, but with it will obtain cheap 
accommodations. 

In my judgment there can be no greater injury to the public interests than 
such a reduction of rates as will take from railroad corporations fair expec- 
tations of paying a reasonable return for the capital which they employ. It 
must prevent the further investment of capital in the extension of lines which 
are necessary to make the system co-extensive with the public needs, and it 
will check that expenditure which is equally necessary to improve and perfect 
the existing lines. 

Very respectfully, 

ONSLOW STEARNS, President. 



March 27, 1872, the Old Colony & Newport Railroad Company 
and the Cape Cod Railroad Company were authorized to unite under 
one corporation, in the following manner : If the companies should 
vote at a meeting to form one corporation then upon the passage of 
votes the Cape Cod Railroad Company was authorized, according to 
terms agreed upon, to assign and convey to the Old Colony its fran- 
chise and property. This company was also permitted to issue new 
stock in lieu of the stock of the Cape Cod, but the whole was not to 
exceed the capital of both corporations. This company changed its 
name after the union to the Old Colony Railroad Company. 

After the uniting of the Cape Cod Road with the Old Colony, 
the stock of the former was changed for that of the latter, twenty- 



98 HISTORY OF THE 

three shares of the Cape Cod for seventeen of the Old Colony. The 
line was then extended from Wellfleet to Provincetown, a distance 
of fourteen miles, and the New Bedford line one and one-half mile 
to the New Bedford wharf. Branches were also added from Buz- 
zard's Bay to Woods Holl, and from Harwich to Chatham. The 
Stoughton Branch was merged into the Boston & Providence this 
year, and the Nantasket Beach line into the Old Colony. 

Owing to the rapid filling up of the interior states of the country 
and the accumulation of wealth, the seaboard of New England enjoys 
a species of monopoly of the most valuable description. Every year 
both the desire and the ability of a large class of those living in the 
inland cities to pass a portion of the summer on the coast become 
more decided. In consequence of this it needs but a railroad to 
bring any seaboard town into a place of great resort. This has 
already been the experience in a striking degree of the towns along 
the Duxbury & Cohasset Road. 

The Framingham & Lowell Railroad was incorporated, by Chap. 
113 of the Acts of 1870, to run "from some convenient point on the 
Boston, Clinton & Fitchburg Railroad, in the town of Framingham, 
thence by some convenient route through the towns of Framing- 
ham, Sudbury, Concord, Acton, Carlisle, Westford and Chelmsford, 
to some convenient point in the city of Lowell," etc. It had also 
subsequent legislation by Chap. 241 and Chap. 246 of 1870, and by 
Chap. 33 of 1 87 1. The road as built commences at Framingham on 
the line of the Boston, Clinton & Framingham Railroad, about two 
miles from the South Framingham station on the Boston & Albany 
Railroad. It is an important link in the new chain of railroads 
between Maine, New Hampshire and northeastern Massachusetts on 
the north, and Rhode Island, Connecticut and tide-water on the 
south. It is twenty-six miles long, and cost to Oct. 1st, 1871, 
$797,683.07, or $28,803 per mile between termini. 

The Granite Branch was formally opened for traffic on the 9th 
of October, 1871. It is a branch of the Old Colony & Newport, 
leaving that road at Atlantic Station, 5.50 miles from Boston termi- 
nus, and, running over the location of the Mt. Hope Branch, origi- 
nally constructed to bring gravel for filling a portion of the South 
Cove flats, it strikes the old granite railway a short distance from 
the original terminus of the latter on Neponset river ; it then fol- 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 99 

lows the location through Milton to the present terminus in West 
Quincy. 

In 1873 the Old Colony Railroad consisted of the main line from 
Boston to Newport, via Taunton, 67.79 miles; the Cape Cod Divi- 
sion from Middleboro to Provincetown, 85.77 miles ; the South 
Shore & Duxbury & Cohasset Branch, from Braintree to South 
Duxbury, 29.05 miles ; the Dorchester & Milton Branch from Ne- 
ponset to Mattapan, 3.30 miles ; the Shawmut Branch, from Harri- 
son Square to junction with Milton Branch, 2.35 miles ; the Atlantic 
Branch, from Atlantic to West Quincy, 3.10 miles; the Abington 
& Bridgewater Branch, from South Abington to Bridgewater, 6.99 
miles; the line from South Braintree to Plymouth, 25.94 miles; 
the line from South Braintree to Middleboro, 22.82 miles; the line 
from Middleboro to Somerset Junction, 14.78 miles; the Middleboro 
& Taunton Branch, from Middleboro, 8.04 miles ; the Woods Holl 
Branch, from Cohasset Narrows to Woods Holl, 17.54 miles; the 
Hyannis Branch, from Yarmouth to Hyannis, 4.90 miles ; the Easton 
Branch, 1.69 miles — making a total length of 294.06 miles. 

All of the above is in Massachusetts, except that part from the 
state line of Rhode Island to Newport, on main line, a distance of 
16 1-4 miles. 

The road crossed over the Boston, Hartford & Erie Railroad in 
Boston by a trussed bridge of timber and iron, and at " Weir Junc- 
tion" and at " Myricks " it is crossed at grade by the Taunton & 
New Bedford Division of the Boston, Clinton & Fitchburg Railroad, 
and is intersected by the Fairhaven Branch of the Boston, Clinton 
& Fitchburg at Tremont. 

The road-bed of this group of roads is generally of a sandy char- 
acter and well drained, and the bridges are in good condition. The 
rails are, with the exception of some of the older portions, all laid 
with side fish-plates, and upon some of the latter, where chairs were 
formerly used, the rails have been drilled by hand and fished at 
joints since coming into the control of the present organization. 
The description of the road from Wellfleet to Provincetown, 14 1-2 
miles, and the Shawmut Branch, from Granite Bridge to Harrison 
Square, 2 1-2 miles, will be found in the list of new roads. 

The Boston, Clinton & Fitchburg group of roads consists of : 
Main line from Fitchburg to South Framingham, 37.00 miles; 



IOO HISTORY OF THE 

Marlboro Branch, from main line to Marlboro Centre, 1.47 miles; 
Worcester & Fitchburg, from Pratt's Junction to Sterling Junction, 
4.4. Total road owned by the Boston, Clinton & Fitchburg Rail- 
road Company, 42.87 miles. 

It operates under lease or contract the following : Framingham 
& Lowell Branch, from Framingham to Lowell, 26.12 miles ; Mans- 
field & Framingham Branch, from South Framingham to Mansfield, 
21.25 miles. Total 47.37 miles. 

It also operated by lease or contract : The Taunton Branch, 
from Taunton to Mansfield, 11.1 miles; the Attleborough Railroad, 
from Taunton Junction to Attleborough, S.6 miles ; the New Bed- 
ford Railroad, from Taunton to New Bedford, 21.46 miles ; the Fair- 
haven Branch, from Fairhaven to Tremont, 15. 11 miles. Total, 
56.27 miles. Making a total length of road operated by this com- 
pany of 146.51 miles. 

The lines north of Mansfield were much improved during the 
year 1873 by widening embankment, ditching, renewal of iron, and 
new tracks between South Framingham and Framingham Centre. 
The passenger station buildings at Fitchburg were wretchedly poor, 
and the grade crossing at the Fitchburg Railroad, in that city, 
especially dangerous. The freight buildings at Fitchburg were very 
good. Several bridges upon this part of the line were less than 
eighteen feet in height above rails, and were without "bridge 
guards." South of Mansfield, upon the newly acquired lines, the 
tracks, buildings, etc., were generally in fine condition. The new 
freight house at Taunton was exceptionally good. The passenger 
house at New Bedford was as poor as the one at Fitchburg. The 
extension of tracks to tide-water necessitated the erection of a new 
station house. This road adopted for its passenger cars the Miller 
platform and buffer, but thus far hand brakes have been used in 
controlling the trains. This has been partly owing to the variety 
of brakes in use by the connecting roads. This road or its branches 
crosses the Fitchburg Railroad at Fitchburg and at West Concord, 
the Boston & Albany at South Framingham, the Boston & Provi- 
dence at Mansfield, and the Old Colony at Weir Junction and 
"Myricks," all at grade, and its connections with other roads were 
literally too numerous to mention. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. IOI 

The mileage in 1892 is as follows: Central Division, 273.46; 
Providence Division, 11 1.02; Northern Division, 93.64; Cape Cod 
Division, 130.38 ; making a total of 608.50. The steamboat ser- 
vice of the Old Colony system represents 418 miles, divided as 
follows : New York and Fall River, 181 miles ; New York and New 
Bedford, 185 ; New Bedford and Woods Holl, 17 ; Woods Holl and 
Cottage City, 7 ; Cottage City and Nantucket, 28. 









102 HISTORY OF THE 



CHAPTER XL 



TO show the phenomenal progress of the Old Colony system, 
brief summaries of the annual reports of its directors are 
appended herewith for the past decade ; or, rather, from 1873 
to and including 1892. The first mentioned year shows that the 
total amount of permanent investment was $10,971,127.69; total 
gross income, $2,377,251.82; net, $71,238.79. The number of 
persons employed this year had reached 973. The succeeding year, 
1874, the report was varied but little from the previous one, with 
the exception of the introduction of improved brakes and platforms 
for its passenger coaches. 

In the month of April, 1875, an application came to the Board 
of Railroad Commissioners from some thirty or more inhabitants of 
the Dorchester district of Boston, asking its good offices to induce the 
Old Colony Company to put upon its road a workingmen's train 
similar to that on the Eastern. A few days later, another applica- 
tion of the same character, though much more numerously signed, 
was received from residents along the line of the Boston & Maine 
Railroad. Interviews were at once had with the officers of the two 
companies, and the matter was set fully before them. It was urged 
on behalf of the petitioners that these trains were experiments, the 
object of which was to induce a large class of the community who 
worked in the shops of the city to move their families into the 
country. To those disposed to do this, the railroad corporations 
simply said that they would agree to transport them to and fro from 
their work at cost, or a very close approach to it, looking for their 
profit to the natural increase of business which would come from the 
closer settlement of their territories. The experience of railroads, 
no less than the statistics of the state, showed clearly enough that 
every human being along the railroad lines, irrespective of sex or 
age, was tributary to the railroad corporations. Any increase of 
population in a given district meant an increase of revenue to the 
corporation serving it of nearly $20 per annum to each person of 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 103 

which that increase was made up. Fully appreciating this fact, the 
various corporations had been for years in the custom of holding out 
the inducement of special rates to those proposing to settle along 
their roads, — going so far in some cases as to give one free pass, 
good for a period of years, to each house built on tracts laid out by 
certain land companies. A striking example of this policy and 
the results which might be made to ensue from it was mentioned some 
years ago in a report of the commissioners, in the case of the Wollas- 
ton Heights Land Association on the Old Colony Road. The rail- 
road, in this case, offered one free pass for three years to each house 
which should be constructed. In less than two years seventy-five 
houses had been built, and the railroad was carrying that number of 
persons free of charge to and from Boston. Notwithstanding this, 
the annual receipts from the Wollaston station went up during these 
two years from $2,099 t° $6,399 an ^ the number of passengers car- 
ried from 12,793 to 48,270. In other words, those regularly travel- 
ling free to and from their work constituted but a small fractional 
part of those using the road. The workingmen's trains followed out 
this idea. The corporation simply gave notice that, if people work- 
ing in the city desired to settle with their families within certain 
specified limits along its lines, they need not be deterred from so 
doing by any fear of the expense of getting to and from their work- 
shops. The corporation would see that they had facilities for doing 
that at cost. 

These suggestions were received by the two corporations to 
which they were addressed in wholly different spirits. The officers 
of the Old Colony expressed serious doubts whether, under the con- 
ditions upon which that road had to be operated, the experiment 
would prove successful. There was no considerable city like Lynn 
at the further end of the route proposed for the train ; and, as the 
distance it was to run was less than in the case of the similar train 
on the Eastern Road, the saving in fares which those using it could 
effect would necessarily be very small, hardly sufficient to serve as 
an inducement. At the same time, it was conceded that the argu- 
ments in favor of the experiment were plausible, and that the exper- 
ience of the Eastern Road was entitled to weight. Finally, it was 
decided to give the experiment a full and fair trial on the terms sug- 
gested by the commissioners, with the understanding that if, at the end 



104 HISTORY OF THE 

of a reasonable time — " say three years " — the experiment was not a 
success, the corporation should be at liberty to discontinue it. 

A cheap early and late train was accordingly put on the Shaw- 
mut Branch of the Old Colony Road, on the 21st of June, and was 
run daily. The experiment in this case was fully and fairly tried, 
and in such a way as to make it a success did the conditions neces- 
sary to success exist. It was discontinued on June 15, 1876, after 
two years' trial. 

The report for the year 1875 shows a steady gain in receipts and 
an increase in the road's rolling stock, but nothing else which is of 
general interest. In 1876 the Fall River, Warren & Providence 
branch of the Old Colony was built. It leaves the main line of that 
road a few rods north of the Bowenville station in Fall River, and 
extends to a point on the Fall River, Warren & Providence Railroad, 
in the town of Somerset, about one-fourth of a mile west of the 
Ferry -station of that road, on the West bank of Taunton river, 
opposite Fall River, a distance of 2.16 miles. It was built by 
the Old Colony Railroad Company, and including the bridge 
across Taunton River, it was an expensive piece of road, having cost 
about $400,000. By its construction an all-rail line was secured 
between Fall River and Providence, thereby avoiding the ferry at 
the Fall River end of the route. The grading on both sides of the 
river was light, involving no heavy excavations or embankments, the 
main expense being the river bridge. This bridge, including the 
mechanical structures of the approaches, is about 1,300 feet long; 
and, in its construction, required a high degree of engineering skill 
on the part of the chief engineer, E. N. Wilson, Esq. 

Passing over the report for the year 1876, we find that in 1877 
there was considerable dissatisfaction existing in regard to the 
management of the Duxbury & Cohasset Railroad, and an appeal 
was made to the General Court for a remedy. That body passed 
the following resolve in furtherance of the objects sought to be 
attained : 

Resolved, That the petition of Henry W. Nelson, represent- 
ing the railroad committees of the town of Marshfield, for an investi- 
gation and relief under the present management of the Duxbury & 
Cohasset Railroad, be referred to the Board of Railroad Commis- 
sioners, with instruction to investigate the case and report the result 




MARTHA'S VINEYARD, MASS. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 105 

to the parties interested ; and also to report to the next General 
Court, stating what further legislative action, if any, may in their 
judgment be necessary in the premises. 

Under this resolve an investigation into the affairs of the 
Duxbury & Cohasset Railroad Company was begun on May ioth. 
It included a comprehensive examination of all the books, records 
and accounts of the company. Many witnesses were called, and 
the facts elicited were fully discussed by counsel on behalf of the 
existing management of the road and the railroad committees of 
the two towns of Marshfield and Duxbury. The public hearing 
occupied ten days. 

The Duxbury & Cohasset Railroad Company was organized and 
its roads constructed and operated in a manner wholly peculiar to 
itself, owing to the fact that its stock was originally subscribed for 
and the whole of it was for a long time held by the towns through 
which the road was located, and the Old Colony Railroad Company, 
with whose road it connected. It was designed to accommodate 
the three towns of Scituate, Marshfield and Duxbury ; which, lying 
as they do along the sea shore, were wholly outside of the Old 
Colony Railroad system. Its construction was attended with very 
great difficulty, not on account of any excessive work involved in it, 
but through the unpromising character of the line as a business 
enterprise. The scheme of a railroad along the shore of Massachu- 
setts Bay south of Boston was not new. It had been agitated ever 
since 1847, when two charters had been obtained; the one for a 
railroad from Cohasset to Scituate, and the other for a branch from 
the Old Colony line at Kingston to Duxbury. Again, in 1861, a 
charter for a street railway from Kingston to Duxbury was granted, 
and in 1866 a similar charter from Cohasset to Scituate. Nothing 
was practically done, however, until 1867, when the charter of the 
Duxbury & Cohasset Railroad Company was obtained, under which 
the three towns of Duxbury, Marshfield and Scituate were author- 
ized, by a two-thirds vote in favor of so doing, to subscribe for 
$75,000 each of the stock of the proposed road. Having secured 
the charter,the friends of the enterprise caused a preliminary survey 
and estimates to be made by Mr. H. G. Reed, a civil engineer 
resident in Scituate, which showed the length of the line to be 15.83 
miles, and its probable cost $304,093. The authorized capital was 



106 HISTORY OF THE 

$350,000; but the town subscriptions, if voted, would aggregate 
only $225,000, and the deficiency between that amount and" the 
total estimated cost of the road had to be made up from other 
sources. Private individuals could not be induced to subscribe, and 
those having the matter in charge appealed to the Old Colony 
Railroad Company to aid in the construction of what promised to 
be a valuable feeder of that company's line. The Old Colony 
officials did not, however, care to take hold of the enterprise at this 
time, and the negotiations resulted in nothing. Meanwhile a con- 
siderable opposition existed in the three towns to the large sub- 
scriptions proposed, and the necessary two-thirds vote in their favor 
was not obtained. The next year, however, the charter was 
amended so that only a majority, instead of a two-thirds vote, was 
required, and the several town subscriptions were then carried. 
Having secured this basis for the enterprise ($225,000), its friends 
resumed negotiations with the Old Colony Railroad Company, and 
finally a preliminary agreement of a most comprehensive character 
for the construction, management and operation of the projected 
road was entered into. It is a fact having a most important bearing 
on the subsequent history of the road and the relations to each 
other of those owning it, that this preliminary negotiation was 
carried on between parties wholly distinct and independent of each 
other, and no person engaged in it held any conflicting fiduciary 
relations. At a later period, by virtue of the original agreement at 
this time made, President Stearns and two other directors of the 
Old Colony Road became also directors of the Duxbury & Cohasset 
Road, Mr. Stearns being president of both corporations ; but when 
the original agreement was made, representatives of the two corpor- 
ations met as distinct contracting parties, each making the best 
terms it could for itself. By this preliminary agreement it was 
provided that the Old Colony or the South Shore Road, they being 
practically one, should subscribe for $125,000 of the stock of the 
new company, and when an organization was effected, each of the 
towns holding stock should have one director and the Old Colony 
and South Shore corporations should have two each. The Old 
Colony was to enter into contracts for the construction of the road, 
subject to the approval of a majority of the town directors. If the 
cost exceeded $350,000, the excess was to be met by the issue of 




PliffllSl nl 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 107 

mortgage bonds. The Duxbury & Cohasset Company was to fur- 
nish its own equipment, or the Old Colony would furnish it at a rate 
per mile run equal to the average cost per mile run of engines and 
cars (including the interest) on its own road. Finally, the Old 
Colony was to do the business of the Duxbury & Cohasset upon the 
terms fixed by the referees for it to do similar business with the 
Hanover Branch Railroad Company. This perliminary agreement 
expressed in fact the terms of the bargain upon which the Old 
Colony agreed to furnish the funds, without which the projected 
road could not be built. 

Meanwhile additional legislation of a most liberal and even 
unusual character had been obtained, authorizing the Old Colony 
not only to subscribe for Duxbury & Cohasset stock, but also to 
operate and even to construct that road, while the Duxbury & 
Cohasset Railroad Company received permission to issue, if neces- 
sary, bonds to the amount of $100,000 secured by mortgage. Every 
difficulty being disposed of, a final survey and estimate were made 
by Mr. Reed, and during this work Mr. Charles O. Stearns, son of 
Onslow Stearns, president of the Old Colony Railroad Company, 
was employed by Mr. Reed as a " transit man." The line as finally 
decided upon was 17 1-2 miles in length, and the estimate of its 
cost was $403,900. Upon this survey and the accompanying speci- 
fications, proposals for constructing the road were advertised for. 
A number were put in by various parties, none of which, however,, 
covered the whole or even the same parts of the work. The con- 
tract was finally awarded to Mr. Reed, the surveyor of the line, for 
a gross sum on account of the work specified of $168,000, and it 
was signed on December 7, 1870. Work was begun at once, and 
the road was opened to South Scituate on June 19, to Marshfield on 
July 31, and to South Duxbury August 21 ; the whole 17 1-2 miles 
having been constructed sufficiently to admit of its being operated in 
less than eight months from the execution of the contract. The 
work had been estimated to cost $403,000, and it had been proposed 
to raise $350,000 of this amount by stock subscriptions, and the 
balance by the sale of bonds secured by mortgage. The actual cost,, 
however, was but $384,519.06, so that when the road was completed 
and accepted, the corporation was in debt to the amount of $34,000,, 
which sum was advanced to it by the Old Colony Railroad Com- 



108 HISTORY OF THE 

pany on current account, and no mortgage was made or bonds 
issued. 

As regards the subsequent operation and management of the 
road the original agreement was carried out, except that instead of 
four directors on the board the Old Colony Road had three, the same 
number as the towns, while the additional director was agreed upon 
by the parties, the understanding being that in case of controversy 
he was to act as umpire. During the first full year of its operation 
the road netted the sum of $1,433.98. During the next year the 
net loss was $2,000, and in 1874 the gain was $2,500. During 
none of these years, however, was the interest on the amount of 
debt due the Old Colony either earned or paid, but it was allowed to 
accumulate on account current ; so that as the net results of the 
first three years of operating its road the corporation had earned a 
little less than $3,000, and was behindhand on account of the 
unpaid interest about $7,000. The extension of the road to a 
connection with the Old Colony Road in Kingston was determined 
on, and three and one-half additional miles were built in the spring 
of 1874, at a cost of $70,000, of which $40,000 was raised by stock 
.subscription on the part of the town of Plymouth, and $ 30,000 was 
loaned by the Old Colony. This extension did not improve the finan- 
cial prospects of the company, for in 1875 tne net l° ss °f the year's 
■operation was $3,700 in addition to $4,685 unpaid interest, which 
loss increased in 1876 to $7,456, besides $4,685 unpaid interest. 

In September, 1876, the town of Scituate sold the 750 shares of 
stock held by it to President Stearns, who bought them on his own 
account, but practically in the interest of the Old Colony Railroad 
Company, which thus obtained the control of a majority of all the 
Duxbury & Cohasset stock. No change, however, resulted in the 
direction or management. 

The marked feature of permanent improvement on the Boston 
•& Providence Railroad during the year 1877 was the completion of 
the new double-track wrought-iron bridge over Blackstone river 
near Pawtucket. It is 378 feet long, in five spans, varying from 60 
feet to 95 feet in length ; an excellent structure in all respects, both 
masonry and superstructure. About 500 tons of steel rails were 
laid, and substantial wrought-iron ballustrades and railings were put 
upon the Canton viaduct to insure safety in case of derailment of 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. IO9 

trains, while a new and convenient station building of brick was 
completed at Roslindale. 

Aside from the usual work of keeping its road in good order, 
the Old Colony Company also made the following improvements 
during the year: a freight depot, 320 feet by 32 feet, in Boston, 
and the drawbridge over Fort Point Channel widened for a third 
track. About two miles of additional side tracks were laid ; also 
4,000 tons of steel rails and 1,260 tons ot new iron rails. A brick 
passenger station at Wollaston Heights, and a wooden station at 
North Harwich were built, and a first class iron drawbridge over 
Taunton Great river at Somerset, in place of a timber structure 
at that point. 

Seven overhead bridges and 203 linear feet of track bridges were 
rebuilt, and extensive repairs on others made. An engine house at 
Somerset, holding five engines, was erected to take the place of the 
one destroyed by fire. The freight depot at Taunton was enlarged 
34 by 60 feet, and Hall's automatic electric signals were put in use 
upon this road from Boston to Braintree (ten miles), having been 
extended from Harrison Square to the latter place during the past year. 

The report for the year 1878 possessed some features worthy of 
notice, the local passenger receipts being significant of the traffic 
which the acquisition of the various roads was gradually bringing to 
the company, the amount received this year from the source named 
having reached $1,027,202.90, while the earnings of the freight 
department footed up nearly three-quarters of a million more. The 
report for the succeeding year also showed gratifying results in the 
business of the road. Many improvements were made this year, a 
notable one being the building of a new iron bridge over the Nepon- 
set river at Canton meadows ; also an arch bridge over Ten-Mile 
river in Attleborough. A substantial parapet of wrought iron was 
also placed upon Canton viaduct to make it of sufficient width for 
double track, as well as to protect trains in case of accident. Six 
miles of iron track was relaid with steel rails during the year. The 
experiment of using steel rails of greater length than usual over 
bridges, and at the crossing of highways at grade, proved successful. 
These rails, sixty feet in length, were rolled at the Edgar Thompson 
Steel Works, near Pittsburg, Pa. The first lot purchased, consist- 
ing of twelve rails, were laid in 1876; the second lot of fifty were 



110 HISTORY OF THE 

laid in the spring of 1878, and a third lot was purchased in the fall, 
making about 1,100 tons in all. Two miles of new side tracks were 
laid ; a substantial iron bridge built over Granite street, Quincy, in 
place of a wooden one ; five overhead bridges and one track bridge 
were rebuilt, and substantial guard-rails were placed upon nearly all 
these structures ; a new passenger station of brick, and a new freight 
station of wood were erected at Sandwich ; new wooden stations 
were built at South Hanson, South Middleborough, Assonet and 
Monument, and a large wooden car house at Fall River ; also a large 
addition to the passenger station at Bowenville. 




IpUR^TW 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. I I I 



CHAPTER XII. 



IN 1879 tne Old Colony Railroad Company leased the Boston, 
Clinton, Fitchburg & New Bedford Railroad, running from 
New Bedford to Fitchburg, with a branch to South Framing- 
ham and Lowell, and another from Pratt's Junction to Sterling 
Junction. This line owned a branch running from Fairhaven to 
Tremont, connecting with the Cape Cod Railroad ; the New Bed- 
ford Railroad, from the latter city to Taunton ; the Taunton Branch, 
from Taunton to Mansfield and Attleborough ; from Mansfield to 
South Framingham, and from South Framingham to Lowell ; the 
Agricultural Branch, from Framingham to Northboro ; the Fitch- 
burg & Worcester, from Fitchburg to Sterling Junction. The 
articles of this lease were as follows : — 

"This indenture, dated this 31st day of January, in the year of 
our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy-nine, by and 
between the Boston, Clinton, Fitchburg & New Bedford Railroad 
Company, a corporation existing under and by virtue of the laws" of 
the commonwealth of Massachusetts, party of the first part, and the 
Old Colony Railroad Company, a corporation existing under and by 
virtue of the laws of the said commonwealth, party of the second 
part, 

" Witnesseth, That the said Boston, Clinton, Fitchburg & New 
Bedford Railroad Company, its successors and assigns, hereby lease 
its railroad extending from its terminus in Fitchburg to tide-water in 
New Bedford, together with its branch from Pratt's Junction to Sterl- 
ing Junction, the branch to Lancaster Mills, the Marlborough Branch, 
the branch to the Sherborn prison, the Attleborough Branch, the Weir 
Branch, the Acushnet Branch, the Fairhaven Branch, and all other 
railroads and branches of railroads belonging to said party of the 
first part ; and also all the lands on which the railroad of said party 
of the first part and its branches are or shall be located, or which 
are connected with or appertain to the uses of the party of the first 
part, and are its property ; and all the personal property of the party 



112 HISTORY OF THE 

of the first part, however the same be described or wherever situate, 
including all claims against the Framingham & Lowell Railroad 
Company and the Fall River Railroad Company, and excepting the 
items referred to upon the balance sheet of the last annual report of 
the party of the first part, under the heads of ' cash,' < station-bal- 
ances and connecting roads,' except as aforesaid, ' ledger balances,' 
1 New Bedford Railroad bonds,' ' sinking fund,' ' stock in Oak Bluffs 
Land and Wharf Company,' or the proceeds thereof, and its stock 
of supplies and materials on hand. 

" To have and to hold the same to the said Old Colony Railroad 
Company, its successors and assigns, for the term of nine hundred 
and ninety-nine years from and after the day of the date thereof. 

"And, in consideration of the foregoing, the party of the second 
part agrees to pay to the party of the first part, during the continu- 
ance of this lease, as an annual rental, .a sum of money equal to ten 
and two-thirds per centum of the total gross earnings of the rail- 
roads and properties of both the parties hereto, as they are now con- 
stituted, including all railroads and railroad properties now leased to 
either or both of said parties, but excepting any earnings of property 
of the party of the first part not hereby demised ; payments to be 
made quarterly from and after said first day of February." 

This company, including its recent acquisition, then controlled 
454 miles of main line, or one-fourth of the whole railroad mileage 
of the state, of which 15.3 miles were of double and 438.7 miles of 
single track. The road was never in better condition ; and among 
the improvements made the more important were the placing of sub- 
stantial guard-rails upon all the bridges of its old property, and upon 
a portion of those upon the Boston, Clinton, Fitchburg & New Bed- 
ford ; the laying of 2,360 tons of steel rails, and about 194,000 new 
ties; the construction of 12,750 feet of side tracks; a new iron 
drawbridge at Tiverton ; a new cotton house at Fall River ; a new 
coal shed at Taunton, and new freight stations at East and West 
Bridgewater and at North Scituate. The passenger stations at East 
and West Bridgewater, North Scituate and at North Weymouth 
were also rebuilt and enlarged. This company tried the method of 
" creosoting " ties at its works at Somerset, which were erected some 
years previous for creosoting the piles and other timber of Somerset 
bridge ; but it was not a success. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. I I 3 

The figures below show the average rates of fares and freights 
for five years on this road, also the change in average rates of freight 
since the year 1875, tnat being about the time when the movement 
for cheap transportation began. The extent of reduction would be 
more apparent, however, if the returns to the Board of Railroad 
Commissioners enabled them to state the rates received on business 
which is really through business. At that time all business was 
classed as "through," whether it traversed the commonwealth or 
only passed over one mile of its territory, provided it passed from 
one road to another: Fares — 1875, 2.24 cents; 1876, 2.20 cents ; 
1877, 2.10 cents; 1878, 2.10 cents; 1879, 2.00 cents. Freights — 
1875,4.04 cents; 1876, 3.98 cents; 1877, 3.60 cents ; 1878,3.70 
cents ; 1879, 2 -^9 cents. Average rate of local freight per ton per 
mile on roads operated by the Old Colony Company, 16.8 cents; 
average rate of freight per ton per mile received from freight to and 
from other roads, 18.4 cents. 

The year 1880 was not characterized by any important event in 
the history of the Old Colony other than the additions to its equip- 
ment made necessary by the increased traffic on all its lines. The 
company this year had 109 locomotives, 208 passenger coaches, 5 
parlor and sleeping cars, 55 mail and baggage cars, and 1,847 freight 
cars; 1,953 men were employed in the various departments. The 
total income from all sources was $2,862,575.24. The Board of 
Directors this year was composed of Charles F. Choate, Francis B. 
Hayes, E. W. Willard, Samuel L. Crocker, Royal W. Turner, John 
S. Brayton, Thomas J. Borden, Jacob H. Loud, Uriel Crocker and 
Fred L. Ames. 

The various systems of signals, were eliciting considerable interest 
at this time, and in reply to inquiries made by the Board of Rail- 
road Commissioners in regard to those employed on the Old Colony 
lines, Superintendent Kendrick wrote under date of January 3, 1880, 
as follows : — 

In reply to your inquiries in relation to signals, I will say that our experi- 
ence has been entirely with the "Hall" and "Bean" signals. The "Bean" 
signal is atmospheric, and intended for switches, drawbridges, stations or yards, 
and has proved very reliable. In connection with the tell-tale bell, to announce 
the changing of the signal to the person operating it, we should not hesitate to 
depend alone upon it for the purposes described. It is not a block signal, for 



114 HISTORY OF THE 

spacing trains automatically, and does not cover what is claimed for the " Hall " 
or "Union" system. Of the Union system we have as yet no actual experi- 
ence, but are equipping three and one-half miles of single track with its signals, 
with the view of testing its merits. The Hall signals have been in use on our 
double track for some five years, and have worked generally satisfactory. There 
have been instances where they have not shown the actual condition or occupa- 
tion of the section of track they were designed to cover ; and we use the system 
as an additional safeguard, but not as an entire substitute for the former pre- 
cautions. 

The examination of the Old Colony Road from year to year 
shows a constant improvement in its condition. With its leased 
lines it operates more miles than any other company in the state, 
and more than one-quarter of all the railroad mileage in Massachu- 
setts ; and the leased roads are assuming the excellent characteris- 
tics of the main line. During the year 1880 4,000 tons of steel rails 
and upwards of 200,000 new ties were laid on the main tracks, and 
about 5 miles of new side tracks were also laid. A new iron draw- 
bridge across Fort Point Channel, and wooden drawbridges across 
Neponset river and at Buzzard's Bay were constructed, and new 
passenger stations built at Monument Beach and Barrowsville, also 
new freight houses at East Stoughton, Mansfield and Marlborough. 
The train house in Boston was lengthened 225 feet, and a new 
freight house of corrugated iron erected at South Boston. At Fall 
River about ten acres of land were purchased for freight pur- 
poses, a mile of new tracks laid thereon and a commodious freight 
house erected. 

With the completion of the stone and brick arch bridge on the 
Boston & Providence Railroad at Dodgeville this year, the main line 
of the road had no wooden bridge more than twenty feet in length. 
In all other respects, also, it was one of the most substantial and 
thoroughly constructed roads in the state, and its condition credita- 
ble to the management. Among the other noticeable improvements 
was a new brick passenger station at Canton. 

In 1882 a law was enacted requiring the examination of railway 
employees for visual defects, and such persons were also required to 
be re-examined biennially. When this subject was referred to the 
Board of Railroad Commissioners two years previously for its exam- 
ination and report, the existence of such defects was at once recog- 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. I I 5 

nized, although its extent seemed to have been exaggerated. The 
board then recommended an annual examination, both as to color 
blindness and all other defects of vision, extending to all persons in 
any way connected with the movements of trains. But it was 
thought to be unnecessary to compel such examination by the 
enactment of laws and the infliction of penalties ; for it was argued 
that, as long as the subject had been made familiar to the public, 
and especially to the managers of railroads, the latter would, of their 
own accord and in their own interests, provide for such exami- 
nations. In this the board was in error. A circular was issued Sept. 
15, 1880, calling attention to the need of annual examinations, and 
was sent to all the railroad companies of the state. They were also 
requested to report to the board the result of such examinations. 

Only one of the larger corporations (the Old Colony) responded 
to the circular, and that response showed the need of annual exami- 
nations, for three train hands were shown to be seriously defective 
in perception of color ; so that the result of the board's circular 
demonstrated both the need of frequent examinations, and the 
necessity of providing for them by statute. The board, therefore, 
appeared before the railroad committee by its chairman, and 
seconded the efforts which had been already made for the enact- 
ment of a law. 

The Whittenton Branch of the Old Colony was constructed dur- 
ing the year 1882, and this year also saw the consolidation of this 
road with its leased lines with the Boston, Clinton, Fitchburg & New 
Bedford Railroad, by purchase. The Fall River Branch line also 
came into the Old Colony system about the same time. 

Among the improvements made on the Boston & Providence 
Railroad in 1883 was the erection of a new station at Dedham, 
which, with its beautiful grounds and commanding location, is 
undeniably the finest piece of railroad property in this state, if not 
in the entire country. Two bridges and a trestle were also dis- 
pensed with on this division by filling, a substantial iron bridge sub- 
stituted for one of wood, while a brick arch took the place of another 
bridge. A distant signal was put up east of Canton Junction to 
show the position of the Junction switch, and designed to prevent a 
recurrence of such an accident as had previously happened at that 
point. 



Il6 HISTORY OF THE 

On their inspection of the Old Colony Road this year, the Rail- 
road Commissioners noted many improvements of more or less 
importance at various points along its extensive lines. The former 
good condition of the track was more than maintained, and a large 
amount of new fencing was erected, while Union block signals had 
replaced the old ones and had been extended to additional tracks ; the 
freight yards at Braintree, Taunton, Somerset, South Abington, and 
other points had been improved, but the most important innovation was 
noted at Taunton, the Wales street passenger station. The changes 
at South Abington were also a marked improvement. In the various 
branches of construction the new work and repairs were generally 
of a thorough and substantial character, and wherever the commis- 
sioners called the attention of the management to any defects, or 
methods of doubtful policy, they found a readiness to comply with 
their suggestions. 

In 1884 the number of season ticket passengers had reached 
1,913,406, as against 1,558,961 in 1882, and 1,770,443 in 1883, 
while the total income from all sources showed an increase over the 
previous year's report of $616,721.90. This year the Old Colony 
and the Fitchburg companies availed themselves of the provisions of 
the clause in section 162, chapter 112, which allows a discontin- 
uance of the stops required at the grade crossings of two railroads 
when a system of interlocking or automatic signals has been adopted 
by the railroad companies and approved by the Board of Railroad 
Commissioners. The number of hands reported was 2,965. 

In 1885 a branch line was constructed from Brockton to Easton, 
which proved a great convenience to residents of those two places 
as well as a profitable investment for the Old Colony Company. 

The annual reports for the years I886- 1 / were highly gratifying 
from a -financial standpoint ; but perhaps the most remarkable 
feature of that for the year last named was the fact that, notwith- 
standing the numerous grade crossings of highways and travelled 
places on the extensive mileage of the Old Colony system, no 
accident had occurred. This road has not always enjoyed 
immunity from this class of casualties, of course, but no corporation 
has ever shown more persistence in its efforts to abolish these 
sources of danger. The act of 1885, designed to promote the aboli- 
tion of grade crossings, has proved useful, especially on this road, 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. II7 

where ten level crossings were abolished this year. The apparent 
increase of these crossings on the Old Colony, as shown in its 
returns, arose from the fact that 37 existing on the Framingham 
& Lowell Bailroads are this year reported as of the former. 

The Hanover Branch Railroad was purchased by the Old Colony 
in 1888, while the Dorchester & Milton Railroad, which several 
years previous had become its property, ceased this year to be 
recognized as a separate organization. The Nantasket Beach Rail- 
road, not having been operated since the fall of 1886, a hearing on 
the subject was had before the Railroad Commissioners in July, 
1888, who held that it was the duty of its owners to operate the 
road, but that duty was not fulfilled. The subject of a lease of this 
road to the Old Colony Railroad Company was pending, in order 
to secure the operation of the road during the next season by the 
latter. 

A branch line was this year built to Woods Holl, and the Chat- 
ham branch, built in 1887, was extended so as to unite with the 
Provincetown Branch. The subject of heating cars had become of 
considerable importance during this year, and many experiments 
were made, which were more or less satisfactory, the Old Colony 
heating its coaches by the Johnson hot water system. Incandes- 
cent electric lights were also introduced on some of its lines. 

In 1888 also the Old Colony system acquired by lease the Bos- 
ton & Providence Railroad, with all its^ branches and leased roads, 
the control of the Providence, Warren & Bristol Railroad being 
included in this consolidation, which business stroke was considered 
one of the most important in the history of the railroad interests of 
the Old Bay State. 

The following year, 1889, steam was introduced for heating pas- 
senger, baggage and express cars, and in order to test the actual 
danger which would result in case a pipe heated by locomotive 
steam should burst or be broken in a car, the Board of Railroad 
Commissioners, by the kindness of the Old Colony Railroad, which 
furnished an engine and a car for the purpose, made experimental 
tests, which resulted in the commissioners' approval of this system 
as free from danger and altogether the most effective. In 1891, the 
Old Colony reported that about 52 per cent, of its cars were fitted 



Il8 HISTORY OF THE 

for heating by steam from the locomotive, and that 345 trains 
would be run without fire in any car. 

The most recent acquisition prior to that of the Fall River, War- 
ren & Providence Railroad, which is mentioned in the foregoing 
report for the year 1892, was that of the Martha's Vineyard Rail- 
road, which was sold at auction under mortgages held by the Old 
Colony and was bid in for $27,500. The amount of the mortgages 
and accrued interest was $51,000. 

Having followed the annual reports of the directors of the Old 
Colony Railroad Company closely enough for purposes of compari- 
son, a summary of the 29th annual report is given to close this por- 
tion of the work. It will be observed that this report (1892) also 
contains a comprehensive synopsis of that made for the previous 
year. Details of both reports are omitted here, for the reason that 
they are not of general interest to the public. 

The earnings, expenses and taxes for the two years ending June 
30, 1892, were as follows: For the year 1891 — earnings, $8,376,- 
452.16; expenses, $6,014,900.04 ; taxes, $455,374.22 ; net earnings, 
$1,906,177.90. For the year 1892 — earnings, $8,744,812.23; ex- 
penses, $6,253,312.72; taxes, $441,073.75; net earnings, $2,050,- 
425.76. This shows an increase in earnings for 1892 of $368,- 
360.07; expenses, $238,412.68; a decrease in taxes of $14,300.47, 
and an increase in net earnings of $144,247.86. The earnings and 
expenses of the Providence, Warren & Bristol Railroad are included 
in the accounts of 1892. In the expense for the latter year is also 
included the balance paid to settle claims growing out of the Quincy 
accident, which amounted to $75,473.58. Number of passengers 
carried, 1891, 22,395,487; 1892, 23,870,419; tons of freight car- 
ried, 1891, 3,455.500; 1892, 3,708,480. 

The equipment on June 30, 1892, including that of leased lines, 
was: locomotives, 238; passenger and baggage cars, 552; parlor 
cars, 2 ; freight cars, 4,061 ; caboose and service cars, 392. The 
whole cost of new equipment for the year was $438,990.19. New 
stations were built this year at Middletown, Steep Brook and Crystal 
Springs to replace those burned, and new stations completed at 
South Braintree and Fall River ; a new engine-house and turntable 
were also built at South Braintree. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. H9 

The Walpole and Wrentham Branches were substantially com- 
pleted, forming a complete line between Dedham and Attleborough. 
A second track was completed on the Cape division, between South 
Middleborough and South Wareham, and some work done 
in the construction of two additional tracks between Boston and 
Braintree. 

The Fall River, Warren & Providence Railroad was sold under 
the mortgage this year. The Old Colony owned all the bonds and 
a large proportion of the stock. The railroad and property covered 
by the mortgage was purchased at the amount at which the stock 
and bonds stood on the books of the company, which was $355,- 
866.47. 

Under the provisions of an act of the Legislature of Rhode 
Island, a lease was taken of the Providence, Warren & Bristol Rail- 
road for a term not exceeding the termination of the lease of the 
Boston & Providence Railroad. Fourteen hundred and ninety-one 
shares out of 1,500 shares of the preferred stock, and 1,872 shares 
out of 2,870 shares of the common stock of the P., W. & B. R. R. 
Co. were held by the Old Colony Company under the Boston & 
Providence Railroad lease. The lease provides for a dividend of five 
per cent, on the common stock, and is for the term of ninety-six 
years, but is to terminate upon any earlier termination of the Boston 
& Providence lease. 

The new railroad between Plymouth & Middleborough was com- 
pleted this year. It is about sixteen miles in length, and its cost 
about $300,000. Its stock is mainly held by the towns of Plymouth, 
Carver and Middleborough, and it has a mortgage debt of $225,000. 
The directors of the Old Colony made a contract to operate the 
road for a term of ninety-nine years, paying as a rental thirty per 
cent, of the gross receipts, and guaranteeing that this rental shall 
be sufficient to pay the interest on the bonds, viz., $11,250 per 
year. 

At the time a nucleus was formed for the present great system 
controlled by the Old Colony Railroad Company, railroading was in 
its infancy, comparatively speaking ; and while it has advanced with 
rapid strides throughout the civilized and portions of the uncivilized 
world since that time, it would be difficult to find a more progressive 
career than that which has characterized this road from its inception 



120 HISTORY OF THE 



to the present time. In 1846 its earnings were $125,000; in 1892, 
$8,744,812.23. These figures tell the story more forcibly than 
words, and are suggestive of the farsightedness and eminent busi- 
ness qualifications of those who have guided its affairs. 



3LD COLONY RAILROAD. 121 



CHAPTER XIII. 



IT is not difficult to arrive at a correct conclusion on the elements 
of the great recent growth in all material respects of this com- 
monwealth. It is to be remembered that within the memory of 
the present generation the whole industrial system of Massachusetts 
has been revolutionized. From the first settlement of New England 
down to a comparatively recent date, the prosperity and growth of 
its people was connected with agriculture and commerce. Their 
wealth was drawn, partly from the soil, but mainly from the seas. 
In colonial days, the fishery was held to be "a mine of infinitely 
greater value than Mexico or Peru " ; it was "a source of luxury and 
vanity " ; it was " of essential importance to us in every branch of 
our commerce" ; in short, it was "our only staple commodity," and, 
as such, its freedom was made an ultimatum by the representatives 
of New England in the treaty of independence. Even as late as the 
negotiations at Ghent, in 1 8 14, it had hardly lost its importance. 
All of the large fortunes accumulated in this part of the country, 
down even to the time when the railroad system first began to take 
shape in 1830, had their origin in the fisheries, in commerce and in 
the carrying trade. The embargo of 1808 nearly ruined New Eng- 
land, six towns of which then possessed more than one-third of the 
tonnage of the Union ; it " pressed upon all classes, and paralyzed all 
industry " by " destroying the chief source of wealth and prosperity." 
The " Cod-fish Aristocracy " gave way to the " Merchant Princes," 
and each of these carelessly used political and social designations, 
as well as the more subsequent one of "The Lords of the Loom," 
represented in truth a distinct and successive phase of industrial 
development. In the earlier days of the century, accordingly, New- 
buryport, Salem, Boston and Nantucket were the prosperous centres 
of Massachusetts. All ideas of wealth and of stable prosperity 
naturally associated themselves with their pursuits. This fact had 
ingrained in the New England mind, as the result of two centuries 
of experience, certain principles, which have not yet lost their influ- 



122 HTSTORY OF THE 

ence, but have, during the last few years, very largely contributed 
toward giving a shape to the railroad policy and legislation of the 
state. It has already been stated that the key to that policy and 
legislation, has been the idea of through lines of railroad as auxili- 
aries to a foreign commerce ; more through lines to the west to 
enable the New England seaboard to compete for foreign trade with 
the other Atlantic cities ; "to bring," in the ordinary parlance, "the 
product of the West to tide-water." Though this traditional policy 
still exists in great force, a very remarkable industrial revolution has 
taken place since it originated. 

As an evidence of the comparative importance of the manufac- 
turing and commercial industries, it may be here added that the 
entire value of the exports of Massachusetts during the year 1869 
was about the gold value of the ready-made clothing manufactured 
in her shops in 186$, and one-third of the iron industry. The 
imports of the year 1869 were about the value of the woolen indus- 
try of 1865, and the whole foreign commerce, if reduced to gold, 
would amount to but little more than half of the boot and shoe 
industry of that year (1869), and which itself ranked second only 
among the industrial interests of Massachusetts. In other words, 
the interests of this state have so changed within the present cen- 
tury, that, if an embargo like that of 1808 had been placed on her 
foreign commerce in 1865, leaving the coast trade and a free impor- 
tation at other points open, instead of causing the widespread dis- 
tress experienced in 1808, it is doubtful if the loss of net income 
would have amounted to five per cent, of the whole income derived 
from her industries. In computing this loss, allowance is made 
for the smaller percentage of net profit which results from handling 
importation and exportation as compared with the profits on manu- 
factures. 

For more than half a century, Boston has held the proud posi- 
tion of the second city in the United States — second only to New 
York as a commercial, shipping and business centre — and, by its 
elaborate railroad facilities and its close contiguity to the Atlantic 
ocean, the first and most important point of arrival and departure 
for steam and sailing vessels to every section of the habitable globe. 
From a commercial point of view, both as regards freight and pas- 
senger traffic, the Old Colony Railroad occupies the same relation 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 123 

in regard to its traffic connections as Boston itself does to the 
Federal Union, viz.: the keystone of American commerce, the 
golden gate of the Eastern and Middle States, and the chief link in 
the chain which unites the states of the Union with the other conti- 
nents of the world in one vast and indissoluble whole. Prior to the 
year 1835 ( tne vear m which the Boston & Providence line was first 
opened to public traffic) the means of communication with the 
metropolis of America (New York) was difficult, uncertain, and at 
the best, beset with delays equally antagonistic to the comfort and 
safety of the passengers and the maintenance of our business rela- 
tions ; the perils to life and property in the passage of the Fall 
River and Narragansett Bay, which the merchant had to encounter 
— and the tediousness and uncertainty which characterized the land 
route to New York were matters so formidable as to materially 
impede our interstate commerce and communication, and, conse- 
quently, the opening of the Boston & Providence line of railroads 
was hailed by all classes of the community as a Providential solution 
of all their difficulties, and as a triumphant opening up of a new and 
unlimited facilities for commercial growth and prosperity. There 
are still many eminent citizens living who can recall to their remem- 
brance the details of that auspicious and ever memorable event — the 
inauguration of the Boston terminus of the Boston & Providence 
line — which, with the other depots of the Old Colony system, 
has been universally admitted to be the most elegant, commodious 
and convenient railroad structure in existence, and situated at the 
junction of Park Square and Columbus avenue, opening on to Boyls- 
ton street, the Common and the Public Garden. If any section of 
the city has a special claim on historic pre-eminence, this is the 
spot ; for, from the time of the formation of the American Repub- 
lic, this of all others, has been the scene of its struggles and its 
triumphs — political, social, and commercial. 

The Providence Division is, in fact, but one section of a 
series of lines with which it is directly connected in traffic facili- 
ties and general arrangements — the lines being as follows : the 
Shore Line All-Rail Route between Boston, New York, Philadelphia, 
Baltimore, Washington and all points South and West ; the Stoning- 
ton Line or inside Route to New York, via Providence and Stonington; 
the Bristol, Fall River and Newport Line, communicating with 



124 HISTORY OF THE 

Providence, Bristol, Warren, Nyatt, Bowenville, Fall River and 
Newport ; the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad, the 
chief stations on which are Greenwich, Wickford Junction, Kings- 
ton, Wood River Junction, Niantic, Westerly, Stonington, Mystic, 
Nouank, Groton and New London ; the Naragansett Pier Railroad ; 
the Providence and Springfield Railroad connecting with Olneyville, 
Centredale, Georgiaville, Harrisville, Pascoag and intervening towns. 
Beyond New London the New York, New Haven & Hartford Rail- 
road, permeates every manufacturing centre in the busy and 
important district washed by the Connecticut river and its tributaries. 
The connections of the Providence Division with those hav- 
ing their termini of departure at New York city and Jersey City 
are so complete and well defined, that through passages to any 
part of the American continent, and from thence seaward, can 
always be negotiated and obtained at the Boston terminus at Park 
Square. 

The steamboats of the Fall River Line — if it be not a misnomer 
to apply the term " boat " in connection with such vast bulks — are 
owned and run by the Old Colony Steamboat Company, a corpora- 
tion distinct from the Old Colony Railroad Company, although made 
up largely of the same owners and officered by the same persons as 
the last-named corporation. The term " Monarch of Long Island 
Sound " is not a misnomer as applied to the Pilgrim or the Puritan, 
or, indeed, to the Plymouth or Providence, since either of these ships 
is worthy of the designation, and would be a marine monarch, not 
alone in Long Island Sound, but in any waters in which it might 
appear in any part of the world. Their vast proportions, immensely 
beyond those which characterize steamboats elsewhere to be found ; 
their superb finish and ornamentation ; their palatial furnishings 
and accommodations ; the harmony and practical character of all 
their appointments ; the marvellous adaptation of means to an end, 
found in all their arrangements and devices ; the qualities of safety, 
comfort, and rapid transit found in their service; — all these have 
never yet been equalled elsewhere, and cannot be surpassed. 

For the essentials of public and private rooms, fine table pro- 
vision and service, and all the requisites of first-class hostelries upon 
a grand scale, they are magnificant hotels, lacking in no qualifica- 
tions as such. As sailing-craft, gliding at rapid speed through the 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. I 25 

water under all circumstances, and equally safe and available at all 
seasons of the year, they have no superiors. As wonders of marine 
architecture, they are models interesting to the ingenious and scien- 
tific of all nations. As popular agencies for transportation, minister- 
ing equally to the highest and lowest order of patrons and with 
perfect satisfaction to all, they are universally known. 

Four freight steamers also ply between New York and Fall 
River, named as follows : City of Brockton, City of New Bedford, 
City of Fall River and City of Fitchburg. Passenger and freight 
service is performed on Vineyard Sound by the steamers Nantucket, 
Gay Head, River Queen, Martha's Vineyard, Island Home and 
Monohansett. 

In the important matter of passenger traffic, reference to the 
early methods of transacting business in this department of railroad- 
ing may be found interesting to those whose recollections do not 
extend back to that period. As is well known, in England, railway 
ticket offices are always spoken of as " booking " offices, and this 
had its origin in the practice in vogue, prior to 1836, of accounting 
for passengers by booking, or registering, their names. In that year 
a Mr. John Edmonson, who was employed in a little side railway 
station in the neighborhood of Corlish, England, changed the sys- 
tem Formerly the name of the station to which the passenger was 
going was written upon the ticket at the time of its issue ; later 
on he invented the numbered ticket. His sons still carry on the 
business of ticket printing in Manchester, England. The first con- 
secutively numbered tickets used in America were printed for San- 
ford, Harroun & Warren of Buffalo, N. Y., by George Bailey, who 
was sent over by Edmonson with one of his machines in 1855. 
Previous to this the ticket was a plain unnumbered piece of card 
board, good for a single passage. As late as i860 such tickets were 
in use on the Boston & Providence. The coupon tickets are the 
invention of a Mr. Hubbard and were first used on the Baltimore 
& Ohio Railroad. Messrs. John P. Lovell and J. Thaxter Clanes 
are said to be the first persons to purchase season tickets on the 
Old Colony. 

With the march of improvement and progress in passenger ser- 
vice, this company has in all things kept in the fore front, and its 
system of handling its vast suburban and through traffic is well 



126 HISTORY OF THE 

nigh perfection. Its rates of fares have also been adjusted to meet 
the wants of its patrons in every conceivable manner consistent with 
a sound business policy. In short, nothing has been left undone 
in the work of development all along its lines, and this has not only 
proved a source of growth to the outlying towns and villages, but 
an important factor in relieving the over crowded portions of 
Boston and providing homes for thousands of its business men and 
others in the most accessible, beautiful and healthful portions of 
New England. The growth in population in these districts which the 
Old Colony Railroad supplies has been in the last few years phenom- 
enal — a fact which may be accounted for by the improvement 
in the running of the trains and the relatively low rates at which 
single tickets and commutation tickets are sold, as well as in the 
natural advantages of the places the road has been instrumental in 
opening up for business and residential purposes. While this 
growth has been more preceptible in the immediate vicinity of 
Boston than elsewhere, perhaps, it has nevertheless been general in 
its character. 

Such is the history of the formation and growth of this great 
railroad system to the present time, which is largely engaged in 
the freight and passenger traffic of four of the most important 
states in this country, viz., Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecti- 
cut and New York. 

There has, from the year of the incorporation of the Old Colony 
to the present time, been no one on the executive staff but officers 
specially fitted by their administrative ability, their indomitable 
energy, their unswerving integrity, their intimate knowledge of the 
ever-increasing and varied requirements of commerce, and more 
than all, their engrossing devotion to the interests of both the public 
and the road. The gratifying position the Old Colony Railroad has 
assumed among the great systems here in the East, while mainly 
attributable to the fortunate acquirement of lines and branches 
which traverse sections peculiarly susceptible of rapid development, 
is largely due to the excellent management which has always char- 
acterized its affairs. Representative men have always been chosen 
as its officials, who in turn have made wise and judicious selec- 
tions in the important matter of subordinates. 



old. colony railroad. 127 

Reference having been made elsewhere in this work to those 
who took important parts in the upbuilding of this great enterprise, 
it is eminently proper that the names of those who are now at the 
helm should be known. They are : Chas. F. Choate, president ; 
F. L. Ames, vice-president ; J. R. Kendrick, general manager ; J. 
M. Washburn, treasurer ; Geo. L. Connor, general passenger and 
ticket agent ; C. Peter Clark, general freight agent. 

With such a working staff as this, whose every energy is devoted 
to the public interests, where years of experience in the working of 
these roads has been one continuous triumph over difficulties, the 
Old Colony Railroad cannot fail to maintain and retain the public 
confidence and realize still more gratifying and signal success in the 
future. 

This system ministers to the finest seashore and summer resorts 
known in the service of any one railroad system. More than six 
hundred miles of winding sea coast are directly included within its 
operation, every portion of which has developed or is growing into a 
centre for summer business. All the shores about Boston on the 
south and southwest : Hull and Nantasket Beach ; the magnificent 
Cohasset shores ; the south shore from Cohasset and Duxbury, 
inclusive ; historic Plymouth, with its manifold natural attractions ; 
the entire Cape Cod shores, on ocean, bay and sound sides ; the 
Buzzard's and Onset Bay sections ; Fairhaven, Mattapoisett and New 
Bedford ; the Newport shores on every side ; Mount Hope and 
Narragansett Bays, with their magnificent scenery, and Martha's 
Vineyard : — all these sections and districts lie directly within the 
routes of this railroad and depend solely upon it for their transportation. 

While practically not identified with the various lines of railway 
centering in Boston, there is one railroad which cannot be ignored 
in speaking of its transportation facilities. Reference is here made 
to what is now known as the Union Freight Railway, and its func- 
tions are fully outlined in the following paragraphs. February 21, 
1863, this roa d was chartered as the Union Horse Railroad 
Company, the incoporators being George B. Upton, Alfred C. 
Plersey and John L. Gardner. This railroad was to be run 
from the Boston & Lowell Railroad, through Lowell and Brighton 
streets, and then over Causeway, Commercial, India, Broad, Fed- 
eral, Kneeland and Eliot streets, to the Boston & Providence 



128 HISTORY OF THE 

Railroad. The motive power used on this road was to be horse 
power only. The capital stock was not to be more than $300,- 
000, and it was permitted to connect with any of the steam railroads 
having terminus in Boston, provided that it did not apply to the 
Supreme Judicial Court to appoint commissioners, or to use any 
steam railroad, and that if the owners of wharves should construct 
a track, the corporation was required to connect the same with its 
road. It was allowed to connect with other horse railroads upon 
consent of the parties. This company was to be deemed a railroad 
corporation, so far as to make such annual returns to the legislature 
as may be prescribed by law, and to be subject to all laws that may 
be prescribed for horse or street railroads. 

April 25 Thomas Russell, Edward Crane and Harvey Scudder 
formed a company under the name of the Marginal Freight Railroad 
Company. The Commercial Railway Company was authorized to 
unite with the company and form one corporation. The capital 
stock was not to exceed $1,000,000. The act was void so far as 
it authorized the construction of the Marginal Freight Railway 
over the Commercial Freight Railway or through the streets of its 
location, unless the Marginal Freight Railway and the Commercial 
Freight Railway should form one corporation, and agree in all 
particulars. George B. Upton, Percival L. Everett and Henry S. 
Russell, May 6, 1872, united under the name of the Union Freight 
Railway Company for the purpose of building a railroad for carrying 
freight only, with single or double tracks, and extending over the 
following streets : Lowell, Brighton, Causeway, Minot, Nashua, 
Commercial, Prince, Hanover, Fleet, India, Broad, Atlantic avenue, 
Federal, Kneeland, Cove, Lincoln, Eliot and upon such other 
streets as the Board of Aldermen might determine ; and also to 
construct side tracks to wharves and warehouses, provided, that no 
railroad should be laid upon a public street without the permission 
of the Board of Aldermen, and also provided that the rails were 
approved by that board. Every other railroad corporation whose 
road passed the Union Freight were privileged to connect tracks 
for transportation of freight, and the Union Freight Railway was 
obliged to deliver cars at each of the connections and carry the 
same over its road at the established rates. Within four months 
after passage of this act, this company had power to take the tracks 





f HMiORS ^TEAMEHPLYMPlflH. 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 1 29 

of the Marginal Freight Railway Company according to the law of 
taking land by railroad companies. The repeal of the act of 1867 
to incorporate the Marginal Freight Railway Company, and the 
act of 1869 relating to the Marginal Freight Railway Company was 
taken, and the powers conferred by this act ceased unless the 
Union Freight Railway Company had constructed tracks, etc., 
within one year, connecting with the steam railroads on the north- 
erly side of Boston with those on the southerly side. 

The Marginal Freight Railroad, the Union road, was originally 
intended as a road to connect stations, and be a means of passing 
freight cars between the roads of the South End and the roads at 
the North End. It answered that purpose to a very great extent. 
Since the road has been built the conditions of business have 
changed. To-day the Union road is still important as con- 
necting the railroads at the North and South Ends. Its great 
importance and its great use is its connection of the whole wharf- 
age front of Boston with the whole railroad system. Now it passes 
by every wharf in the city of Boston, practically every wharf, and all 
those below the bridges. It connects every wharf, or can connect 
every wharf, and it does connect the larger part of them with all 
the railroads. It has done more to keep up business — the com- 
mercial business of Boston — than any other one thing, and in the 
future the merchants of Boston can more easily dispense with 
almost anything else than that railroad. It connects the markets 
with the railroads. All the beef which is brought to the city of 
Boston is carried over that road. The enormous cold storage ware- 
house is built on the line of that road. It receives its supplies, it 
receives its ice over the lines of the road. It has a direct connec- 
tion with the Quincy market. Cars are run directly into the 
market and loaded and unloaded there. It brings a very large 
quantity of ice and provisions and produce directly into the vicinity 
of the principal markets of the city of Boston. It has a large yard 
on Atlantic avenue and Commercial street, from which a very large 
distribution of that sort of perishable freight is made, and to the 
very great convenience of the merchants of Boston. It connects 
the fish wharves with the railroads. Carloads of fish are taken in that 
way and distributed from Boston to all points south and west. In fact, 
the importance of the road is growing day by day, and its importance 



130 HISTORY OF THE 



to the commercial business of Boston cannot be overestimated. 
The result is that freight is distributed to and from the railroads at 
a minimum. The expense is about 20 cents a ton. There is no 
other way in which it can be distributed so cheaply. There is no 
way in which relief can be given to the streets of Boston to such an 
extent as can be done by distribution of freight which is now done 
by that road in that form 

The officers of the Union Freight Railroad are : Charles F. 
Choate, president ; J. R. Kendrick, general manager ; J. M. Wash- 
burn, treasurer ; A. H. Grovenor, superintendent ; C. Peter Clark, 
general freight agent. 



ADVERTISEMENTS I 3 I 

B. A. ATKINSON A CO., 

LIBERAL HOUSE FURNISHERS, 
827 WASHINGTON ST. 827 

Cor. Common Street, Boston, Mass. 

FURNITURE, 

r Qarpets, 

gEDDING, 

STOVES • AND • RANGES, • AND • ALL, • KINDS • OF 
HOUSE • FURNISHING ■ GOODS. 

OUR GOODS AND PRICES PLEASE THE PUBLIC. 



In need of anything in the line of House Furnishings you can depend 
on finding it here at the Very Lowest Figures. 

We have the best assortment of any House Furnishing Establishment in 
this country. We can show yon what you want at the lowest prices in New 
England. 

We can show you all kinds of Parlor, Sitting Room, Chamber, Dining Room 
and Kitchen Furniture, including Draperies, Shades, Curtains, Tables, Chairs, 
Sideboards, Hall Stands, Lamps, Clocks, Dinner and Tea Sets, and all household 
articles at specially low prices. 

CALL OR WRITE FOR ESTIMATE. 

CASH OR EASY TERMS. 

B. d. dTKIN JON & CO., 

LIBERAL HOUSE FURNISHERS. 

827 WASHINGTON ST., BOSTON, MASS. 



We Are Here To Wins 

BOSTON ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION. 

Boston, Nov. 20, 1890. 
I. S. Johnson & Co. Dear Sirs: — The Johnson's Anodyne Liniment came to 
hand in good shape. The boys all like it. For bruises, strains or muscular lame- 
ness it most certainly is all you claim for it. Wishing you continued success, I am 
Yours truly, 



Athletic Manager. 



AN 



?Pfc 



No Remedy 
u ^outReal^ v x 

fcULDHAV ESuRv|vEDF0RElGH TYYEAR^ 



&&*&& 






/. 



SOLD EVERYWHERE. 



•# >» 
^ 



T *JS e % p W' , " x£tS f, 



A. 



Jt 



Cures Cramp*, Chills, Colic, etc., used Internally. 

Why suffer from sore muscles? Johnson's Anodyne JAniment makes them pliable. 

A STRAIGHT TIP FOR ATHLETES. 

Every Bruise, Burn, Cut, Sore Muscle, Stiff Joint or Strain, flees from Johnson's 
Anodyne Liniment as from a wrath to come. Sold by all Druggists. Price 35 
cents per bottle. Six bottles, $2.00. Every traveler should have a bottle of it in 
his satchel; acts promptly; always ready to use; Soothing; Healing; Penetrating. 
1. S. JOHNSON & CO., 22 Custom House St., Boston, Mass. 



HISTORY 

OF THE 

TOWNS AND CITIES OF THE OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 

PART TWO. 



IT is an undeniable fact that there is not another system of rail- 
roads in this country, if in the world, so entirely unique in all 
respects as the Old Colony. It has but eleven miles of main 
line, the balance of its extensive mileage being made up of branches, 
which, as the reader of the preceding pages will notice, have been 
acquired from time to time since the inception of the enterprise in 
1 844. This main line only extends from Boston to South Braintree, 
and is a four-track road. After leaving this point the branches 
extend in all directions at various distances along the route, until no 
town or hamlet in southeastern Massachusetts is left out of the sys- 
tem and scarcely a rod of historic ground uncovered. Leaving 
Boston at the Kneeland street station, the traveller gets a view of 
the historic Dorchester Heights and Bay, and the islands in their 
neighborhoods and waters ; the Quincy, Blue Hill, Braintree, Wey- 
mouth and Hingham sections, with ancient Hull and Nantasket 
Beach ; the famed South Shore, from Cohasset to Duxbury, includ- 
ing the Scituate and Marshfield cliffs and beaches and the old home 
of Daniel Webster; Plymouth, the Mecca of the people of the 
United States ; Cape Cod, picturesque and wonderful in its sur- 
roundings and traditions ; the far-famed islands of Nantucket and 
Martha's Vineyard ; the Buzzard's and Onset Bay shores, with the 
beautiful group of the Elizabethan Islands contiguous ; Marion, 
Mattapoisett, Fairhaven and New Bedford. Starting from the Park 
Square station across to Providence, and from this line southward, 



134 HISTORY OF THE 

every place of importance is touched in the states of Massachusetts 
and Rhode Island. With its adjuncts and auxiliary steamboat lines 
the Old Colony system comprehends everything of historic interest 
and all the popular summer resorts included in the broad section 
lying between the Atlantic coast on the east and Mount Hope and 
Narragansett on the west, including the Old Colony territory and 
that almost equally historic area of country lying adjacent ; in fact, 
it is the only public means of transportation in the sections named, 
and it ministers with the utmost adequacy of provision to every 
part. 

Not only is this great corporation zealous in the matter of 
increasing the efficiency of its service, but it aims in every way to 
make its roads and stations attractive to its patrons. Who would 
have thought a few decades ago of associating lawns and shrubbery 
and flower-beds with the ugly cinder-strewn railroad tracks, stretch- 
ing across the country like long, black serpents, bordered at intervals 
by shabby station buildings, with nothing to break the monotony of 
the view from the car window save what kind-hearted nature pro- 
vided in the way of scenery ? Who would have dreamed of rail- 
roads hiring skilled gardeners to turn every spare patch of earth 
into a thing of beauty, establishing conservatories for the cultiva- 
tion of flowers, and placing their laborers at the service of the flori- 
culturist ? Yet all of this has come to pass. The Old Colony Road 
took the initial steps. For ten years past George A. Parker has 
been its head gardener, with nothing to do but to study out ways 
and means of rendering the road beautiful. He has from five to 
fifteen men, according to the season, to assist him. Should he need 
carloads of loam, the section train forthwith brings it. If an excep- 
tionally heavy piece of grading is to be done the section gang lends 
him its assistance. Right in the heart of the city, along the Provi- 
dence division, probably as unpromising a spot as could be found, a 
mile of flower-beds has been planted. Even the grimy shops are 
surrounded by well kept lawns dotted with flowers. As far out as 
South Braintree most of the stations have received the gardener's 
attention. At Middleboro the floral features are of an elaborate 
character ; at Neponset finest effects in floriculture are to be seen. 
The South Boston station has been made a veritable gem. The 
nursery at Halifax has been liberally provided with every requisite 



OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 1 35 

for the work of the gardener. The prospects are that in the near 
future the once generally accepted idea of a railroad station — that 
it was a dull, dreary, smoke-begrimed spot, will have given place 
to a conception as pleasant to think of as a vine-clad cottage where 
roses bloom and violets scent the air. 

Plans now matured for improvements in the passenger service 
of the Old Colony Railroad contemplate an expenditure of nearly a 
million dollars. All the grade crossings will eventually be abolished 
and the freight department will be removed from the city proper to 
South Boston, which will make ample room for passenger accommo- 
dations at the former place. 



I36 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

L. RICHMOND & CO., 



DEALERS SN 

CURTAINS, |ffl| POLES, 

DECORATIONS, 

L 
L 



BRASS ■» CORNIGE 

RODS, I MOULDINGS. 



ARTISTS' MATERIALS. 



PAINTS, OILS, VARNISHES, BRUSHES, 
WINDOW AND PICTURE GLASS. 



SPEC I A L TIES : Chemicals. Sponges, Chamois, Pasters and 

$f)oe Finishers' ^applies. 

TELEPHONE No. m-2 i 
Outside and Inside Painting, Paper Hanging and Kalso mining. 

Particular Attention to INTERIOR DECORATING AND HARD WOOD FINISHING. 

Contracts taken for Furnishing Houses Complete 

EXPERT WORKMEN IN ALL BRANCHES. 

c=^m WHOLESALE DEALERS IN m^=^ 

PAINTS, DRUGS 

AND 

CHEMICALS, 

GLASS, BRUSHES --DRY COLORS. 



56 and 62 SCHOOL STREET, 
& 9 LINCOLN STREET, opp. City Hall, 



BROCKTON, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 37 



BROCKTON. 



THIS is the only city in Plymouth county, and is distant from Boston 20 
miles. It is famous for the extent of its shoe manufacturing industry, 
97 factories being located within the city limits, the products of which 
enjoy an almost world-wide reputation for excellence of quality or for some 
strongly marked characteristic in the manner of construction. This business 
was founded in Brockton by Micah Faxon, who came from Randolph in the 
year 181 1, and commenced operations on a naturally limited scale, no doubt 
little thinking at the time that 71 years would find a city on the spot where he 
began, and an annual output of boots and shoes closely approximating $20,- 
000,000 in value. It was not until ten years after the arrival of this pioneer in 
the shoe industry that the place where he settled arose to the dignity of a town, 
being incorporated June 15, 1821, as North Bridgewater, the population then 
being 1480. A post office was first established here in 181 5 ; the railroad was 
'built in 1846, and ten years later the telegraph followed. It was authorized to 
change its name on March 28, 1874, and on May 5th following adopted 
Brockton as the new name. In 1875 P art °f tne town was annexed to South 
Abington (now Whitman), and parts of the same and of East Bridgewater 
were annexed to Brockton. The act of incorporation as a city was passed 
April 9, 1 88 1, and was accepted May 23 of the same year. 

Brockton occupies the northwest extremity of Plymouth county, and has 
Stoughton, Avon and Holbrook on the north, Abington, Whitman and East 
Bridgewater on the east, West Bridgewater on the south and Easton on the 
west. The Old Colony railroad has a fine station at Brockton (centre), 
one at Montello, two miles north ; and another at Campello, one mile south of 
the central station, the latter being a most convenient and perfect structure, and 
though highly ornamented there is no waste of room. Built of carefully selected 
red brick, with artistically arranged stone trimmings, the aim of the architect 
was evidently to combine the utmost solidity with rare grace of outline, and in 
these respects he was eminently successful. 

The districts of the city are known as Brockton, Campello and Montello; 
the first and third having post offices. The central portion of the territory is 
quite level, but rises on the east in Carey's and Tower's hills, from both of 
which there is a pleasing view of the city proper. Toward the northwest is 
Prospect Hill and an eminence at West Shores, commanding one of the finest 
inland prospects in the country. The geological basis is sienite. " The most 
elegant specimen of porphyritic sienite that 1 have met with in the state, " said 



138 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 




GUY'S FURNITURE MFG. CO., 

Brockton, Mass. 

Large Assortment, * 

* Reliable Goods, 

Honest Dealing, * 

* Easy Terms. 



E. S. MELLEN. 



S. FRANKLIN PACKARD. 



LUCIUS LEACH. 



FRANK E. PACKARD. 





"— ■ = ~ :" 



RQ0M5A&e,iiXBY BUILDING, ISfiflAfN STREET. 
ROOMS 4§t5,Fl!AliKLiN iUiLDiNG,iIQi MAIN STREET. 

Real Estate of every description bought and sold for cash or on commission. 

The settlement of estates and management of business property and tenements for residents and 
aion-resiHents a specialty. Collections promptly made and statements rendered monthly. Loans 
-Negotiated on Real Estate Security. Insurance effected in reliable companies. 

-f AMERICAN HEELING MACHINE CO, <K 

Brockton, Mass. 

The Only Machine Heeling Shoes on the Last. 

* * Forty Machines in use in Brockton. * * 
~>e Price of Outfit Complete, $250.00. e«- 

GEO. E. KEITH, President, W. T. COPELAND, Treasurer, J. H. POPE, Superintendent. 



* # 



J. S. SARGENT & SON, * * 



-DEALERS IN- 



^ Builders' Hardware. 4- 

Fine Cutlery, Mechanics' Tools, Shoe Tools and Findings, 

Paints, Oils, Varnishes, Brushes. Farming Tools 

and Seeds. 

* Sole Agents for ENGLISH TINTED LEAD. * 

83 Main St., - Lyman Block, - Brockton. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 139 

Prof. Edward Hitchcock, "occurs in North Bridgewater (now Brockton) 
and in Abington and in other parts of Plymouth county. Its base consists of 
quartz and felspar, with an abundance of epidote, disseminated and in veins " 
Peat is also found in several places. Territorially, its greatest length is about 
one and a half miles from east to west, and five miles from north to south. 
The assessed area is 10,948 acres, and of this 2,965 are woodland. 

The United States census of 1890, a bulletin of which concerning the 
industries of Brockton was issued on the 10th day of November, 1892, s:ives the 
latest authentic information in relation thereto. In this the number of indus- 
tries is given as 64, and the number of establishments as 530; capital 
invested, $7,533,399; hands employed, 11,141; wages paid, $6,566,314; cost 
of materials used, $11,157,552; value of products $20,944,705. The population 
of the city, according to the above census, is 27,294. A study of these figures 
reveals some very interesting facts, which may be summarized as follows : Making 
a fair allowance for the numbers engaged in the various professions, these show 
that fully y$ per cent, of the population are connected with the manufacturing 
establishments in one capacity or another, representing a greater number of 
active workers than any other city along the lines of railroad with which our 
work is directly concerned, and, it would be sale to say, exceeding any other 
municipality in this respect in the United States. The figures also indicate a 
concentration of industries, which, while not uncommon to New England towns, 
exist in this thriving city to a greater degree than almost anywhere else, 64 
representing the diversity of manufactures in the 530 establishments reported 
to the census bureau. The wages paid to the employees of these manufact- 
ories is a fraction over $580.40 each annually, which is a fair income to adult 
wage earners when due allowance is made for the number of minors and those 
who are not employed in departments where skill is a requisite. 

The city presents many features not common to New England towns. Its 
people are full of push and enterprise and fully alive to everything calculated 
in any way to advance the interests of the place. Everybody seems to be stir- 
ring and wide awake, and these traits account for its unexampled growth and 
prosperity. It has fine schools, churches of all denominations, gas and electric 
lights, an electric street railway extending to the village of Holbrook; national, 
savings and co-operative banks ; effective fire and police departments ; its hotel 
accommodations second to no city of its size in this country, while its stores, 
manufactories and public institutions of all kinds are of the most modern type. 
The citizens of Brockton are also proverbial for the possession of more than the 
ordinary share of intellectual as well as the solid business abilities necessary 
to promote the welfare of a city. Swedish immigrants have settled in the 
place in successive companies for a score of years past, and now form a large, 
orderly and thrifty part of the community. 

The city is noted for its annual fairs, or cattle shows, and the crowds 
yearly attracted by these exhibitions are simply enormous. Not only do people 
from the agricultural districts attend them, but extra trains are run from all 
the surrounding cities, including Boston, so great has become the interest in 



140 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Bay State Carpet Company, 

G. C. LOVELL, Proprietor. 

* * Carpets, Rugs, Mats, Etc., * * 

BAY STATE BLOCK. 

53 AND 55 CENTRE STREET, . BROCKTON. 
Wm. A. Sweetser, 

MANUFACTURER OF 

TACK, * SHOE * NAIL, * AND * WIRE * NAIL * MACHINERY, 



Engines, Boilers, Pumps, &c, Shoe Machinery, * * * 

SHAFTING, HANGERS, PULLEYS, BELTING, &C. 

Special Attention given to Fitting up Shoe Shops and General Repairs. 

39 Montello St., Brockton, Mass. 

GOOD WORK. FAIR PRICES. 

E. H. REYNOLDS, 



MANUFACTURER OF 



Fine 
Calf Shoes, 

MACHINE SEWED, HAND SEWED, „. * PROf^TON MA9^ 

HAND WELT AND STANDARD NAILED. * • DnUUIMUINj IVIMOOi 

L. M. REYNOLDS & CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 



Shoes, 



-> *. -v. -v. ..«. Jt HAND SEWED 

' * AND COODYEAR WELT. 

91 IS S M T fi N ER OF ^EET. BROGKT0N, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. I4I 

these displays of the manufactures and husbandry of the county. The society 
under whose auspices these exhibitions are given is composed principally of 
Brockton's most active business men, and the liberality of its premium list and 
the diversified character of the program offered make these annual fairs red 
letter days in the history of the town. 

Another feature characteristic of Brockton is the general air of comfort 
observable upon every hand. There are no extremes of wealth or poverty 
noticeable in its make-up, but all seem to be in the full enjoyment of those 
blessings which come of industry, frugality and economy. There are many 
handsome residences, of course, but none of them bear the impress of the 
lavish or foolish expenditure of the wealthy snobocrat, nor ape the architecture 
of feudal lords in their exteriors. In short, Brockton seems blessed with 
homes for all classes of its population, and this fact at once strikes the least 
observing person. There are many fine drives about the city, and every- 
thing seems well calculated to make life agreeable to the man of business or 
leisure. 

MONTELLO. 

This suburb of the city of Brockton, to which we have before incidentally 
referred, while largely interested in the shoe industry, is surrounded by a rich 
and well tilled agricultural country, and considerable attention is given to 
general farming. The thickly populated portion of Montello is on high 
ground, and the sanitary conditions, both as to water and drainage, are excel- 
lent. It is only one and a-half miles from the centre of the city, with which 
it is connected by both steam and electric railways. The accommodations for 
summer visitors are excellent, and the place is a most desirable one for perma- 
nent homes. The Old Colony Railroad has a handsome passenger station at 
Montello, and the train service consists of seven or eight trains a day, to and 
from Boston. 

CAMPELLO. 

This is the ^southernmost section of the city and contains about one-fourth 
of its population. Shoe manufacturing is extensively carried on here, and all 
business is thriving. It has good hotel accommodations, several large board- 
ing houses and a co-operative bank. It is connected with the central portion of 
Brockton by both steam and electric roads, and its close promixity to the centre 
makes it a most desirable location for residence. Campello is growing rapidly 
and real estate is yearly appreciating in value. 

Our sketch of this thriving city would not be complete without brief refer- 
ence to those who have so largely contributed to its growth, and who, by their 
progressive and enterprising traits of character, are still active in the work of 
placing Brockton in the front rank of New England's industrial cities. What 
follows in regard to these representative people will not only be found 



142 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

GRAY'S 

Boot and Shoe 
Patterns for 1898 



STYLE AND PERFECT „ WILL PLEASE THE 

GRADES GUARANTEED. ** TRADE. 




Long experience and study en- yt I bring out leading and novel 
ables me to produce the best results. '** designs in sample shoes made up. 

MANUFACTURERS ARE INVITED TO CALL 
AND SEE THEM AT OUR OFFICE. 



W. H. OR AY, 



""■ZSZ/JSH'bo-i. 126 Main St., Brockton. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 143 

instructive, but will serve to give a clearer idea of the busy town than could 
well be incorporated in a general article on the subject. 



The Hub Gore Makers of this city and of 91 Bedford street, Boston, are 
famous for the invention of the "Hub Gore." This shoe-elastic is made only 
for fine Congress shoes. Every piece is dated at the factory when made and 
issued for one and one-half years. The sales of the " Hub Gore " in this coun- 
try are larger than the combined sales of all other fine gores, domestic and 
foreign. The company owns a large establishment in this city, which is 
equipped with the latest improvements in machinery. They also own and 
operate the Hub Gore Mills at Chelsea, Mass., and Camden, N. J. The con- 
cern was established in 1882, with Albert Herbert as president; E. B. Page, 
treasurer; and William Rapp, director. An original label is used by them, the 
trade mark being in shape of a heart, and inside of all insured shoes will be found 
stamped upon the elastic gore this dated heart trade mark ; and without this 
trade mark none are genuine. 

The Columbian Manufacturing Company is composed of many influential 
men; W. W. Cross being president; F. S. Thomas, treasurer; C. C. Merritt, 
vice-president and general manager; and C. H. Emerson, assistant manager 
and general sales agent. The work which is produced by this company here in 
large quantities aunually, consist in the manufacture of the celebrated Pearsall 
patent variable hose nozzle, improved pipe wrenches, fine door knobs and 
other specialties. The spacious factory is conveniently located in the rapidly 
growing section of Brockton, known as Montello. A competent force of hands 
find steady employment here, as the goods manufactured by this company are 
of a superior quality and are in universal demand. 

The American Heeling Machine Company, situated 64 and 66 Railroad 
avenue, is noted for the invention and manufacturing of a wonderful machine, 
called the heeling machine. It is a great time saver, in attaching heels to boots 
or shoes. The machine is capable of attaching heels to twelve or fifteen hun- 
dred pairs of shoes a day. This company has a trade which extends all over this 
country, and to several parts of England, Scotland Sweden, and Switzerland. 
The president of this machine company is Geo. E. Keith, Warren T. Copeland 
acting as treasurer, and J. H. Pope being superintendent. 

Geo. E. Keith, manufacturer of boots and shoes, commenced business here in 
1874, and at the present time has the largest factory in Brockton. In the 
medium grades of men's, boys' and youths' shoes, ranging in price from $2.00 
to $5.00, nearly 1,000,000 pairs were made during the last year for the retail 
trade. The Boston office is located at 56 Lincoln street. 

Terry, Ware & Alley hold a prominent place as manufacturers of men's, 
boys' and youths' boots and shoes. Their facilities for getting up these grades 
of shoes are among the very best. They have a sufficient force of skilled work- 
men, and their factory contains every modern improvement to facilitate the 
work in hand. The members of the firm are all gentlemen of practical exper- 



144 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



RALPH R. LITTLEFIELD, 



MANUFACTURER OF 



-* MEN'S & BOYS' FINE SHOES. 

Machine Sewed and Goodyear Welt. * * * 

Brockton, Mass. 

BOSTON OFFICE, 280 DEVONSHIRE ST. 

N. A. W. Ransden, Shoe Stitcher and Shawl Strap Manufacturer, 

# 78 Railroad Ave., Brockton, Mass. * 




The above cut represents our Patent Shawl Strap, with Metal Base and Handle. They are made 
of Orange Leather, 5-8 in. wide and 40 in. long. We also manufacture Shoulder Straps. Price, 
$2.25 per dozen. Sole manufacturer for Mass. 



ANDREW F. PACKARD, 



-COLORER OF 



Q flLf OR Klf S K1RTIHQ 



FINISHED IN ANY DESIRED MANNER. 

Prices and quality of work guaranteed. 



Also Machine Pebbling * -*- 

ON SHOE TOPS, FOXINGS, TIPS, QUARTERS OR VAMPS. 

Shop 24 R. R. Avenue, near the depot, - BROCKTON, MASS. 

C. E. JOHNSON & C0. 5 

DEALERS IN 

SOLE i LEATHER i REMNANTS. 

Washer Stock, Cut Lifts, Top Pieces, and Picker Stock. 



62 Railroad Ave., 



Brockton, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 45 

ience and well known to the trade. The Boston office is at 291 Devonshire 
street. 

Guy's Furniture Manufacturing Company is among Brockton's prominent in- 
dustrial houses, One of its stores is at 59 and 61 Centre street, and the other 
extending from 52 to 60 Church street. An increasing business, a good repu- 
tation, and many other good qualities distinguish this company from many 
other business houses. The stores of this company contain every thing needed 
for house keeping, and all the latest novelties, in artistic style and finish, while 
a full line of carpets are sold at lowest prices, for cash or weekly payments. 

Johnson & Porter are well known as the manufacturers of Johnson's 
Patent Grooving Attachment, for fair stitch, harness and other machines. It is 
manufactured and for sale by the above firm, who are located at 65 Centre 
street. This attachment cuts a groove to receive the loop, or chain, at the time 
the stitch is formed by single thread machines. It derives its cutting motion 
from the rise of the needle bar, and while the feed or needle post is stationery, 
thereby avoiding all interference with the feeding of the work. On fair stitch 
work it not only saves cutting off the loop, but makes quite a saving in the 
quantity of thread used. It also prevents the stitches from loosening and the 
edge of the shoe from checking. It assists the operator in guiding the work, 
and also in obtaining more uniform stitches. Besides using this to good advan- 
tage in stitching soles to welts, this attachment can also be applied to the 
National, Nason, and New England machines. 

W. H. Gray has won an influential and extensive patronage from shoe man- 
f acturers in all parts of New England through the merits of his boot and shoe 
patterns; and his patterns for 1893 will meet the approval of the trade. Mr. 
Gray has had long experience in the business, which enables him to produce 
the best results. He is located at 126 Main street, and occupies one floor 
of a large building. 

Baxendale & Co., who were established in business here in 1872, 
are the pioneers in the manufacture of box-toes in leather and leather board 
for ladies and gents wear in all styles. New customers are yearly added to their 
lists, so that the box-toe business of Baxendale & Co. is not only a repre- 
sentative business of Brockton but of the whole country. Mr. Baxendale 
has for many years been closely identified with many of the interests of this 
enterprising city. His factory is only a short distance from the Old Colony 
station situated corner of Centre and Montello streets. 

Emery & Packard, at No. 107 Main street, are dealers in all kinds 
of sole leather, inner soling, heeling and welting. This firm each year is 
increasing their facilities, until at the present time they have a large and flour- 
ishing trade. The materials are procured in large quantities, while the advan- 
tages possessed by the firm, to fill all orders promptly and satisfactory, render 
them desirable parties to trade with. Their place of business is located at 
63 and 65 Franklin street, Brockton. 

Mellen & Leach, at 106 Main street, Brockton, and n 06 Main street, Cam- 
pello, were established in 1885, and the amount of business transacted, since 



I46 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

GEO. KNIGHT & CO., 



MANUFACTURERS AND DEALERS IN 



JHOE nflCfflNER Y 2F l SSVS f SS3?. 

50 Montello St., Opp. Ward St., Brockton, Mass. 

WRITE FOR PRICES. TELEPHONE No. 85-2. 

Preston g. Fjeitf), n**^*™ of 
Boots & Shoes, ve 



CAMPELLO, MASS. 

BOSTON OFFICE, - - - - 97 LINCOLN ST. 



Ellis F. Copeland, 



MANUFACTURER OF 



-* MENS CUSTOM SHOES. 9- 

FOR FINE RETAIL TRdbE. 

Brockton, Mass, 

GEO. A. CARTER, 

MANUFACTURER OF 



T/IQKS ™ /HOE N/HL/. 



(?^r 



Office and Factory, 41 Maple Ave. 

TELEPHONE 103-4. BROCKTON, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 147 

that time, and the honorable methods employed by them, is not only a credit to 
these men, but also to the city in which they hold forth. In addition to the 
handling of real estate in the way of buying and selling, settlement of estates, 
collecting of rents and negotiating loans, they do a thriving insurance business, 
insuring both life and property. 

Wendell Leach & Co., of 50 Montello street, this city, are well 
known as manufacturers of men's and boys' Goodyear welts. They also turn 
out in their well equipped factory a splendid line of machine-sewed goods in all 
the latest styles. This firm is worthy the patronage they are receiving. 

T. A. Baxendale, of the firm of Baxendale & Co,, box-toe manufacturers of 
this place, has also another large interest on the line of the Old Colony Road in 
the shape of a twelve-acre island at Cataumet, which he has recently purchased 
and commenced improving, having already connected it with the main land by a 
carriage bridge 250 feet in length; driven a fine artesian well; made a careful 
survey ; laying this beautiful spot out into large choice lots, all with fine shore 
fronts. This island is the gem of Buzzard's Bay, being a succession of bold 
wooded bluffs and hills, from which the view is magnificent, while its near 
accessibility, being only ten minutes walk from Cataumet station, greatly 
enhances its value. Cataumet lies on the Woods Holl branch of the Old Colony 
some ten miles below the Buzzard's Bay station. 

A. P. Reynolds, proprietor of the Brockton Steam Laundry, came into posses- 
sion of his business in 1886, having been employed by the former owner, M. B. 
Sumner, about twelve years previously, so that Mr. Reynolds has had over 
seventeen years' experience in this business, and is consequently well fitted to 
carry on the largest laundry establishment in this city. The premises occupied 
by him as a laundry, consist of the two-story frame building at 20 Perkins 
street, where he is supplied with steam power and all the latest machinery. 
His office is located at 20 East Elm street. This establishment, which has 
spared nothing to improve the reliability and efficiency of its laundry, has gained 
the confidence of the public in a marked and unusual degree. 

Andrew F. Packard stands among the leaders in the art of coloring calf and 
kip skirting, also machine pebbling on shoe tops, foxings, tips, quarters or 
vamps, which are finished in any quality desired. Having skilled workmen in 
his employ, Mr. Packard guarantees his work to be of the best. His shop is 
located at 24 Railroad avenue. 

Sargent, Anglim & Keith, who are located at 106 Main street, are the special 
agents for the Provident Savings Life, of New York. They also take risks on 
fire and accidents, and do considerable business in real estate. Though only 
having been in this business since 1889, they have acquired a large and flourish- 
ing patronage, and number among their policy holders some of Brockton's 
stanchest citizens, and largest property owners. Mr. Keith, the junior member 
of this firm, is a resident of the town of East Bridgewater. Their agency cov- 
ers the entire section of southeastern Massachusetts ; they also have an office 
in Boston at 1 78 Devonshire street. 



I48 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

ROBERT CLIFFORD & CO. 

Crimping, Stamping v?» Perforating, Pinking 
and Scotching. 7r and Cording. 

No. 65 CENTRE STREET, 
BROCKTON, MASS. 



TAUNTON 243 No - mon b t r e ^t s o t n: 

LUMBER ^ OH BROADWAY, 

r^r^iv/ro A TVT\7 TAUNTON, MASS, 

V-'WlVlX A IN X 5 Wholesale and Retail Dealers in 



• • LUMBER. * 

We ship direct to any point in New England. Quotations Cheerfully Given. 

WM. H. LEWIS, MANAGER. 

A. M. HERROD, *- 

. . . Manufacturer of . . . 

InKl L) OHOES 

BROCKTON, MASS. ^ 

FRANK E. WHITE, . • • • ' 



MA NUFACTURER OF FIN 



% Calf, Buff and 

Flesh Split Shoes, 

Boston Office, I 33 Summer St. Brockton, MaSS, 



HHTSTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 149 

Goddard & Rogers, who are located at 254 Montello Street, make a specialty 
of general machine jobbing, experimental machines, and patent office models. 
They are sole manufacturers of the Damon Standard Hollow Auger, used by 
carriage makers. The excellent reputation that this firm has built up, is due 
to their pains-taking care that every piece of machinery which is manufactured 
by them, is the best that can be produced. 

Kimball Bros. & Co., who svere established in 1867, with E. A. Kimball 
and J. E. Kimball as partners, for the manufacture of improved tack and nail 
machinery is another well known firm. In 1875 tne partnership was dissolved, 
and a little later E. A. Kimball went to Cleveland as superintendent of the 
tack and nail department of the Union Screw Company of that city, and J. E. 
Kimball began the manufacture of machinery for the Clinching Screw Com- 
pany of Boston, a corporation organized under patents obtained by Mr. Kim- 
ball for the manufacture of nail-making and nail-driving machines. Mr. 
Kimball invented the entire plant of this company. He continued making all 
the machinery for this company from I879 to 1888. About four years ago, Mr. 
Kimball made another change in his business, and again his brother, E. A. 
Kimball became a partner in the concern, but at the present time J. E. Kimball 
is the proprietor of the business. The house claims to have the finest plant 
of machinery in the city of Brockton. They utilize five thousand feet of floor 
room and ten expert machinists are employed. 

L. Richmond & Co., about fifty years ago, became established at $6 and 62 
School and 9 Lincoln streets, this city. They are engaged as dealers in paper 
hangings, curtains, and cornice mouldings, artists' materials, wholesale and 
retail dealers in paints, oils, varnishes, brushes, window and picture glass. A 
specialty is made of chemicals, sponges, chamois dusters, and shoe finishers 1 
supplies. This is one of the oldest and most prominent establishments in 
Brockton. 

Chas. S. Pierce, in 1875, commenced business in this city, with E. S. 
Maloon, and later, in 1887, he bought out Mr. Maloon's interest. His factory 
is situated at 254 Montello street, and is devoted to the manufacture of ladies' 
patent calf and split shoe tips. One hundred and twenty toe cap machines are in 
operation in the factory, making tips for both men and women's shoes. A 
specialty is made of line machine crimping. Mr. Pierce gives his careful and 
personal attention to all orders. 

J. S. Sargent & Son are doing an extensive business as dealers in hardware, 
fine cutlery and tools, paints, varnishes and window glass. Their store is 
located at 83 Main street in a massive structure known as the Lyman Block. 
It is handsomely fitted out with every convenience, and a full line of goods of 
all grades, from the finest to the most ordinary, is kept constantly on hand. 

A. M. Herrod carries on one of the largest shoe factories in the city of 
Brockton. His work consists in the manufacture of boots and shoes of medium 
grade for the wholesale trade. The factory was established in 1872; it is 
located at Montello, at 756 North Main street, and is equipped with all modern 
appliances. Mr. Herrod, the manager and proprietor, is a gentleman of ambi- 



150 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

nuR/in w/ide, 

.^l^'&t^.^E, . CHOICE STAPLE 

Brackets, and Fancy Flower Pots, •/£ • • • and • • • 

Vases, Cologne Sets, Moustache FANHY PiROPFRIF^ 

Cups, Plated Knives, Forks and rAlNUY UKUUCrtlE,^, 

Spoons. 

89 LYflflN BLOCK, BROCKTON, IVISS. 

■* BROCKTON * BUTTON * HOLE * COMPANY, e*- 

W. H. JORDAN, Proprietor, 

65 Centre Street, Brockton. 
Machine Made Button Holes Made to Order at Short Notice. 

* * W. P. BOSWORTH, * * 

DEALER IN 

*■♦ SOLE •:• LETOE^ •:• ^EEQPPS, +4 

Top Lifts, and Under Lifts Cut to Order. 

Washers, Rands and Top. Lifts Stock Bought and Sold. 
30 Linden Street, - Brockton, Mass. 

BION F. REYNOLDS, 

MANUFACTURER OF 

Hand Sewed and Goodyear Welt Men's Shoes, 

Specialties The Bion Shoe for Gentlemen. 

Brockton, Mass. 

BOSTON OFFICE, 302 DEVONSHIRE ST., WITH JAY B. REYNOLDS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 5 1 

tion and energy. He is well known in business circles, and gives special 
attention to the orders of his numerous customers. 

S. H. Mchols is well known as the manufacturer of skiving knives. Be- 
sides the manufacture of the above line of goods he also manufactures and deals 
in new and second-hand machinery for the boot and shoe trade. His factory is 
equipped with steam power, and all modern improvements, and a full force of 
experienced workmen is employed. His office and factory are at 6s Frank- 
lin street. 

Frank E. White stands very high as a manufacturer of fine calf, buff and 
flesh split shoes which are sold to a jobbing trade. The long experience of 
Mr. White in the business, enables him to meet the demands of his patrons. 
Always using the best grades of stock in the manufacture of his goods, he has 
been able to build up a trade which is most gratifying. He has a Boston office 
at No. 133 Summer street. 

Smith & Wade's is another well known establishment of Brockton . It is 
conveniently located at 119 North Main street, and a number of experienced 
hands are engaged as assistants to carry on the work, which is produced in large 
quantities annually. It consists in the manufacture of patent piping, seam 
stays and bindings. They are also engaged as dealers in a general line of 
shoe manufacturing goods, paper, twine and glue. Their goods are sold to 
a New England and western trade. 

N. R. Packard, as a boot and shoe manufacturer, ranks among the leaders 
of this industry. Mr. Packard has been established here since 1870. His 
factory is situated at the corner of Centre and Montello streets, next to the Old 
Colony Railroad station. Here we find a Jine of hand sewed, Goodyear- welts, 
machine sewed and standard screw, in all the leading styles. Mr. Packard 
has the reputation of making shoes fully up to samples and consequently has 
built up a large trade among the jobbing houses of New England and the 
west. 

George A'. Carter has, for the past number of years, been engaged in the 
manufacture of steel, copper, iron and zinc shoe tacks and shoe nails, McKay 
and Bigelow machine nails, Hungarian hob and shank nails, copper tacks, 
brush, gimp and shoe tacks, polished carpet tacks, brads, channel, cigar-box 
and chain nails, upholsterers 1 nails, etc. His factory is located at 1 1 1 Maple 
avenue, and here we find Mr. Carter busily at work, catering to the wants of 
his numerous customers. His goods are sold all over the United States and 
Canada, and are shipped also to Europe. 

Preston B. Keith has been established in business since 1 871, and since that time 
has never known anything but success and prosperity. The premises are confined 
to a three-story factory, where on an average of twenty-seven hundred pairs 
of shoes a day are produced. The factory is equipped with all the latest im- 
proved machinery, and the people who are employed here, are all experienced. 
The goods manufactured are of medium grade, machine sewed and standard 
screw. These goods are made for the jobbing trade in Boston and suburbs. 
A Boston office is located at 97 Lincoln street. 



I5 2 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

I, MITCHELL & CO,, | L MITCHELL & CO,, 
^ Leading | iyr AS0N t % i 

" LU, t^le r s. 1 * * H SUPPLIES, 

PROMPT If 

*«■ ™ R ft HARDWARE. 

TREATMENT. %f 

338 MONTELLO STREET, * BROCKTON. 
We Make a Specialty of 

Granite Monumental Work 






FRED HANSON, 
81 Railroad Ave., Brockton 



I. P. GAYNER. E. W. WALKER. 

-« Glanville and California Stay. &~ 

BROCKTON STAY COMPANY, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

QVUM QTJIVG Piping & Lace Fronts, Cork Sole Welts- 
UJjAlll blAllJ, Bindings & Welting, Drill Stay. * 

Factory at Brockton, Mass. 



J. C. TANNATT 



MANUFACTURER OF 



GENTLEMEN'S FINE 
and MEDIUM SHOES, 

Mach a^l &7RW -x- Brockton, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 153 

Huram Wade started in business here in 1872, but the present build- 
ing he occupies was erected in 1876. He carries a full line of groceries,, 
crockery and glass ware, china ware, lamps and chandeliers, etc. The busi- 
ness of the house has steadily increased, it being a most desirable place to buy 
goods. 

Whitman & Keith and Walker & Whitman are among the numerous boot 
and shoe establishments which attract our attention. They are engaged as 
manufacturers for the wholesale and large retail trade ; making a fine line of 
men's shoes in hand sewed and Goodyear welts. The large trade which this 
firm has built up, all over the country, is due to the careful and undivided 
attention which they have given to the goods which they manufacture. The 
Boston oflice is located at 96 Summer street. 

Swasey & Grew are among the many enterprising firms who carry on a 
business contingent to the manufacture of boots and shoes here in Brockton. 
The firm manufacture shoe tools, and their edge-planes, irons, and cutters are 
superior to any in the market. They are made from the best of English steel 
by experienced workmen, and are hand made. 

Snell & Atherton, of 72 Snell street, are manufacturers of shoe tools. 
They were established in 1853, and have a large force of workmen employed. 
Their goods combine all the recent improvements and are in great favor all 
jover the United States. 

The Bay State Carpet Company, located in the Bay State Block, 53 and 55 
Centre street was founded many years ago by G. C. Lovell, and to-day it ranks 
with the most famous of Brockton's carpet establishments ; it being the only 
exclusive carpet house in the city. Here we find an endless variety of carpets, 
rugs, and mats in all the latest styles. The store covers a large area, and all 
goods are as represented or the money is refunded. Mr. Lovell is a gentleman 
of great business tact and energy, and is well known and respected by the 
citizens of Brockton. 

The Brockton Stay Company was established in 1879 by Gaynor & Campbell, 
but in 1881 E. W. Walker bought Mr. Campbell's interest. The specialty of 
this house is the California stay for front and back seams for men's, 
womens', misses' and children's boots and shoes. This stay has stood the 
test after years of trial and makes the strongest seam of any now on the 
market. Their other lines are pipings, both cloth and leather, in all kinds of 
colors, also folded stay in glove calf, goat, French and Dongola kid, etc. This 
company are agents for J. R. Leeson & Co.'s linen thread, and the McKay and 
Bigelow heeling and McKay Metalic Fastening Associations and the McKay 
sewing machine. 

C. Wakeling is known as a bleacher and colorer of leather, also as a dealer 
in remnants. Having had a large experience in this line of business, he is 
fully adapted to meet the wants of his large and increasing business. His 
factory, located at 78 Railroad avenue, is equipped with all the latest in- 
ventions in machinery for producing the best results in the shortest space of 
time. 



154 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

GODDARD & ROGERS, 

JOBBING, MACHINISTS and ENGINEERS, 

Shafting, Hangers, Pulley Belts and Belt Lacings. 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

1000 POUND LIFT POWER ELEVATOR. 
Damon Standard Hollow Augers, Spoke and Dowel Trimmers, for Carriage Makers. 

254 Montello Street, Brockton. 

Estimates Furnished on New Work. 

A M. NILE8. D. E- WILBAR. 

£» NILL3 5" WIL^AR, @» 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

* IN HEN'/ SHOE/. - 

FACTORY, BOSTON OFFICE, 

44 Montello St., Brockton, Mass. 96 1-2 Summer St., Room 23, 

A. M. CENTER, Salesman. 

HENRY M. KINGMAN. CHESTER S. KINGMAN. WM. P. KINGMAN. 

-*8 HENRY M. KINGMAN, 8^- 

MANUFACTURER OF 

i flEN'T, POTS' ^ T0UTH5' SHOE/, i 

BOSTON OFFICE, FACTORY, NEW YORK OFFICE, 

112 SUMMER ST. BROCKTON, MASS. 18 WARREN ST. 



WENDELL LEACH. 



W. B. ATWOOD. 



WENDELL LLACM & CO., 

MAKERS OF MEN'S AND BOYS' 

FINE & MEDIUM GRADE SHOES. 

Goodyear Welts a Specialty. 

Brockton, - Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 155 

Burr & Kingman make a specialty of repairing shoe machinery, bicycles, 
etc., and are dealers in shafting, hangers and pulleys. The firm make from 
sample all kinds of shoe knives and deal in machinery of every description. 
Their factory is located at 25 High street where all orders are promptly 
executed. 

W. H. Jordan is the proprietor of one of the largest buttonhole manufac- 
tories in this state, and which is located in Brockton at 6$ Centre street. The 
business has been established for ten years, but for the past three years has 
been run by the present proprietor. Having a large force of workmen, and 
all the latest machinery, he is able at short notice to fill all orders no matter 
how large. 

C. E. Johnson & Co., of 62 Railroad avenue, are dealers in sole leather 
remnants, top pieces, cut lifts, etc. All materials sold by them are of the best 
quality. The firm being well-established it is consequently known to all of the 
principal buyers in this line of goods of which they always carry a full 
stock. 

Willard L. Dunbar & Co. of Brockton, are among the leading firms who 
manufacture boot and shoe patterns of every description. Their office is at 106 
Main street, room 32, where they carry on a large and extensive business. 
They are able to supply the trade in large or small quantities, and their pat- 
terns are considered to be among the best in the market. 

William M. Thompson's is the oldest fire insurance agency in this city. 
This house was founded in 1852 by S. A. Hay ward, Mr. Thompson becom- 
ing his partner in 1873, and afterwards sole proprietor in 1883. Some idea 
of the scope of his business may be derived from the fact that he is agent 
for some twenty-three companies, and he commands the largest part of 
the insurance business of this vicinity. Mr. Thompson has resided in 
Brockton for thirty-five years and is closely identified with its business 
interests, having assisted a great deal inbuilding up the city. His office is at 
286 Main street. 

Perkins & Joyce, engaged in the manufacture of men's fine shoes, in hand 
sewed, hand welt, Goodyear welt, improved welt, acme welt, and machine 
sewed, is an old established firm. Their factory, located at 165 Centre street, 
a few steps from the Old Colony Railroad station, covers a large area. It is 
fitted up with all the latest improved machinery, and gives employment to a 
large number of workingmen. The members of the firm are well known 
throughout the country as manufacturers of gents' shoes for the retail 
trade. 

Isam Mitchell & Co. are dealers in all kinds of lumber, lime, cement, and 
hardware, and have one of the largest retail stores in this city. The business 
was established in 1877 by Isam Mitchell, he having previous to that time been 
a carpenter and builder. His native place is Bridgewater, but he has resided 
in Brockton for the past twenty years. His son, Herbert I. Mitchell, is the 
other member of the firm, having been admitted into partnership in 1887. He 
graduated from the Brockton High School in 1879, and immediately entered his 



I56 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

N. R. PACKARD & CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

-a MENS 2£ BOYS' SHOES. 8^ 

Brockton, Mass. 

BOSTON OFFICE, 101 BEDFORD ST. 

JTllTH & W/1DE, (Successors to Charles E. Stone,) Manufacturers of 
Piping's, Binding's, Seam Stays, Folded and Single Welting, 

Folded Stay, Drill Stay, Patent Serated Piping* 
Cork Sole Welts, Amazeen Knives. 

117 and 119 No. Main St., - Brockton, Mass., D. S. A. 

C. S. PIERCE , 

MANUFACTURER OF 

LADIE S' PATENT CALF SHOE TIPS, 

I use tlie famous Cornelius Heyle stock exclusively in my Tips. 

Factory 254 Montello St., Brockton, Mass. 

D.S.PACKARD. VERANES FILOON. 

D. S. PACKARD & CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

* BOOT """{2Z» SHOE C 5u N fERS, * 

Brockton. Mass. 

BOSTON OFFICE, 138 LINCOLN ST. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 157 

father's employ. They have an immense lumber trade, and carry a large and 
varied stock with which to meet the demands. Their yard has a frontage on 
Montello street of about 400 feet, and on the Old Colony Railroad of 500 feet. 
Here is located their office and storage buildings, stable, etc. The firm em- 
ploys twenty men and nine horses. Their trade extends all over the city and 
the surrounding towns. 

The Brockton Marble and Granite Works, located at 81 Railroad avenue, 
formerly at 62 Lincoln street, is one of the oldest establishments of its kind in 
this part of the state, being founded away back in 1853, and since its inception 
it has always done a prosperous business. Mr. Hanson, its present proprietor, 
succeeded the business in 1875, and under his management a constant increase 
in patronage has resulted. A number of skilled hands are employed turning 
out in the most artistic and elegant designs, marble and granite monuments and 
headstones, also emblematic work of every description, while work of any style 
is turned out to order in an excellent manner. Mr. Hanson is an old resident 
of Brockton, having been here for about forty years. 

A. A. Battles is a leading exponent of the book binders' art. His estab- 
lishment is located at 47 Centre street, and is known as the Brockton Book 
Bindery. Mr. Battles started in business about five years ago in this city and 
has won for himself a reputation in keeping with the excellent work he turns 
out. In addition to the legitimate book binding business, he has established 
here a head quarters for society regalia, jewels, gold and silver trimmings, etc; 
A specialty is also made of gold lettered badges, and old books are repaired and 
rebound in a painstaking and thorough manner. A specialty is made of blank 
books for office use which are well made and strongly bound. 

O'Neil & Howes are engaged in the manufacture of stairs and interior 
finish. They succeeded to the business of Howard, Clark & Co., November, 1, 
1888. The building which they occupy contains four floors, fifty by fifty feet, 
fully equipped with all the modern appliances known to the trade, and employ- 
ment is given to fifteen or more skilled workmen. Before buying out Howard, 
Clark & Co., they conducted a stair building business in Thompson's mill, on 
Railroad avenue, and they now have a large amount of work in this department 
of their trade. A specialty is made of wood mantles and cutting blocks. Wood 
carving and designing are done in the most artistic manner. Their work 
in desk and office furniture is unsurpassed by that of any concern in New 
England. 

Dr. Edward S. Powers, manager of the Brockton Dental Association, is 
socially and professionally known throughout Brockton, where his skill as a 
dentist is evident by the large patronage he commands from the best citizens. 
In July, 1879, he first appeared in Brockton and at once established himself in 
the high estimation of its people. He employs two assistants, one a lady, thus 
ensuring to his patrons the best of care and professional skill. The operating 
rooms are located at 87 Main street and are furnished with the latest improved 
appliances. The best anaesthetics are employed when desired, and altogether 
the establishment is one of perfect appointments. Dr. Powers has also recently 



Statement of the 

condition of the 



158 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

E. E. SMALL ..../. HOWES. 

UNION MARBLE WORKS, 

Marble * and * Granite * Monuments, 

TABLETS, HEADSTONES, &C. 

Qettenna and oleanina done in oemeteries at «pl?ort Kotice. 

NEW DESIGNS CONSTANTLY ON HAND. 

514 SO. MAIN ST., BROCKTON, MASS. 

BROCKTON SAVINGS BANK, 

OF BROCKTON, MASS. 

A T THE CLOSE OF BUSINESS, SEPT. 30, 1892. 

ASSETS. 

Public Funds, - $237,600.00 Banking Building Account, - - $ 135.46 

Bank Stock, - - _ 20,800.00 Premiums, 9,488.75 

Railroad Bonds, - 199,000,00 Suspense, ------ 269,13 

Real Estate, ----- 88 000.00 Tax, ------ 1,402.36 

Loans on Real Estate, ... 701,215.00 Expense, ------ 2,232.06 

Loans on Personal Security, - 189,225.00 Deposits in Banks on Interest, 58.936.02 

Loans to Cities and Towns, 5 000.00 Cash on Hand, - - 4,587.27 

Furniture and Fixtures, - - 13,500.00 $1531391-05 

LIABILITIES. 

Deposits, . $1,452,053.71 Unsettled Mortgage Loans, - - $ 3,893.00 

Guaranty Fund, ... 35,400.00 Real Estate Income Accouut, - 2.960.08 

Interest, ----- 30,737.18 Profit and Loss, - 6,347.08 

CHARLES C. CROOKER, Treasurer. 



A. C. THOMPSON, 

yfj0 PLAINING 

Vr and MOULDING MILL, 

Brackets, Turning and Jig Sawing, 
Cutting-blocks Made and Repaired. 

RAILROAD AVENUE, opp. the Depot, BROCKTON, MASS. 



O'NEIL & HOWES, 

(Successors to Howard, Clxek & Co.,) 

Stair Builders » Interior Finish Manufacturers. 

CUTTING BLOCKS MADE AND PLAINED. 

66 FRANKLIM ST., BROCKTON, MASS. 

w_U CONNECTED BY TELEPHONE. 1^— < 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 59 

become the proprietor of what is known as Smith's vegetable compound, a 
valuable remedy in the treatment of rheumatism, liver and kidney troubles and 
blood diseases gen-rally. This remedy is in great demand by those who know 
of its wonderful curative properties, the number of which is increasing 
every day, as the numerous testimonials he is constantly receiving will 
testify. 

A. C. Thompson, proprieter of the planing and moulding mill on Railroad 
avenue opposite the depot, is one of Brockton's enterprising men, and does a 
flourishing business in the manufacture of builders' finishings, besides which 
he does a general line of jig sawing and turning, also makes and repairs cutting 
blocks and such other kinds of work as may come within his line of business. 
He established himself here in 1873 an( i at present occupies several frame 
buildings of various sizes where he employs about ten men. Mr. Thompson is 
a trained, practical man, well acquainted with his business in all its 
details. 

Hon. Ziba C. Keith is one of Brockton's most prominent citizens. That he 
is popular, is attested by the fact of his election to the office of chief magistrate 
of his native city. He attended the schools in his native town, completing his 
education at Pierce Academy in Middleboro. After leaving school he entered 
the employ of his brother in the shoe manufacturing business, and afterwards, 
in 1863, opened a dry goods and grocery store; which after some years of 
successful operation he sold out in 1882, when he was elected the first mayor of 
the new city of Brockton, which office he continued to hold in 1884 and 1885, 
and was again elected in 1 89 1. In addition to this office, he has represented 
the town in the legislature, served on the board of selectmen, and has been 
collector of taxes. He is a director in the Brockton National Bank, vice-president 
of the Brockton Savings Bank, and was for a time treasurer of the Brockton 
Street Railway Company, and treasurer of the Campello Co-operative 
Bank, which institution he was largely instrumental in organizing. He is a 
member of the various masonic orders, and is organist of the South Congrega- 
tional Church. He is now in the prime of life, being fifty years of age, and a 
gentleman to whom the citizens of this city can look up to with satisfaction and 
pride. 

The Brockton Savings Bank was incorporated March 3, 1881. The officers, 
Baalis Sanford, president; Ziba C. Keith, vice-president; Bradford E. Jones, 
second vice-president; C. C. Crooker, treasurer; are among the city's most 
public spirited and responsible citizens. The board of trustees is composed of 
the same stamp of men, and embraces Davis S. Packard, Baalis Sanford, Ziba 
C. Keith, Wm. W. Cross, George E. Freeman, Lorenzo F. Severance, Patrick 
Gilmore, George E. Keith, Enos H. Reynolds, Loring W. Puffer, Walter F. 
Cleaveland, Gardner J. Kingman, A. Cranston Thompson, Elisha H. Joslyn, 
Bradford E. Jones, Sewall P. Howard, Charles H. Cary : board of investment, 
David S. Packard, Enos H. Reynolds, Bradford E. Jones, Gardner J. Kingman, 
A. C. Thompson. The banking house is conveniently situated at the corner of 
Main and Court streets. 



l6o ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Boston Office. 13S Lincoln 3t. ® At Office Wednesday and 5atQrda^s 



BROCKTON LAST CO., 

• • -MANUFACTURERS OF ALL KINDS OF BOOT AND SHOE ■ . . 

i 



Lasts and sole patterns. - ustsporfi "» 



A SPECIALTY. 



"!' 



W. H. CARY, 
A. A. DELANO, 
WILLIAM THOMPSON. 



BROCKTON, Mass 



W.W.CROSS, D.J.PIERCE, B. F. PENNINGTON, 

PRESIDENT. TREASU RER. VICE PRES. AND GEN , MANGR , 

LADIES', MISSES', xSKbEcOA?!^ ATTRACTIVE 

waterproof * Xmbroc^^ _^/ " 

• Garments. ^"^^ty^^ Mackintoshes. 

67 CHAUNCY ST., CataIogues and Price Lists Fumished . 51 LEONARD ST., 

BOSTON, »SALESOFHOES* NEW YORK. 

S MITH'S VEGETABLE COMPOUND. 

HQCQ Rheumatism, Neuralgia, Lumbago, Fever 
and Ague, Kidney and Liver Complaint and 
CURE all Blood Diseases 

prepared oNLy b> dr. Ei S , POWERS, BROCKTON, MASS. 

Sole Proprietor DR. SMITH'S FORMULA. 

* . • • WALKING MADE EAST. * * * 

G, W, WILLEY, 

101 Belmont 5f., gROCP)TON, ^#35- 

Moulds taken of the feet and lasts made 

* $ * * * * to order. % % % & % ® 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. l6l 

The Union Marble Works, of which E. E. Small and 1. Howes are the 
proprietors, is a w r ell established concern. They manufacture all kinds of mon- 
uments, headstones and tablets of both American and foreign marble. The 
firm is constantly making new designs for their work, to suit all classes of 
people. The works are centrally located, being situated at 514 South Main 
street, this city. 

James C. Tannatt we find among the large shoe manufacturers of this city. Ho, 
is located at No. 62 Railroad avenue, where he has excellent quarters, fitted up 
with modern machinery, which turns out annually a large number of gents' fine 
shoes, which are hand sewed, hand welt, and Goodyear welt. These shoes are 
of excellent workmanship, and find a ready market among the retail trade 
throughout New York state, the entire western country, and the New England 
States. 

W. P. Bosworth is a dealer in heel stock and sole leather remnants of 
all kinds. Being an active and practical man of business he has established 
a large and profitable business in his special branch. His factory is at 30 
Linden street, where a full line of his goods can always be found. 

Bion F. Reynolds, who has been established in Brockton for a number of 
years, has founded an excellent business, and has a trade which extends to all 
parts of the west and south. He manufactures principally gents 1 fine shoes, 
which are hand sewed, hand welt, and also Goodyear welt, which for style, 
workmanship and fine finish are not excelled by any similar line of goods. Mr. 
Reynold's factory, which is located at 62 Railroad avenue, this city, contains all 
the necessary machinery for the successful prosecution of the work in hand. 
He has recently adopted a trade-mark, which is stamped on the bottom of each 
shoe (" The Bion Shoe, ") and all shoes bearing this trade mark are second to 
none as regards price or workmanship. 

J. O. Tougas, who is known as the "Brockton Die Maker," is without 
doubt the leading die maker in this city. He has been in business for some 
years, having succeeded the old established house of Duprey & Tougas. His 
place of business is located at No. 257 Main street, where all the necessary 
modern appliances to facilitate the work in hand are to be found, and where a 
number of skilled mechanics are employed. Mr. Tougas has always made it a 
point to manufacture dies that are not surpassed in the market. His trade is 
not only centred in this city but extends to many of the large shoe cities of the 
west. 

H. T. Marshall is one of the oldest of Brockton's shoe manufacturers. His 
specialty is the manufacture of a lace Congress, which embraces all the features 
of a Congress shoe. It can be put on and taken off without unlacing, and at 
the same time the shoe can be laced to fit the foot without in any way binding 
the instep. The shoes he manufacturers are stylish and serviceable and the 
best of material enters into their make up. Having a large factory Mr. Marshall 
turns out many cases of shoes a day. A branch store and office is at No. 220 
Devonshire street, Boston, Mass. 

N. A. W. Ransden, of 78 Railroad avenue, is a manufacturer of shawl and 



l62 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



TO GET THE BEST RESULTS USE 

THE MILLER 



"TWIN" 



SHOE 

TREEING 

MACHINE 




Tw:n Treeing Machine. 
FITTED WITH RIGHT AND LEFT TREE LEGS AND PATENT SPLIT FEET. 

» » * OVER ^£30 NQW 1N USE - 



Manufactured by 



O. A. MILLER, 

TlSSS 8 t»e.t. * * BROCKTON, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 63 

shoulder straps. He manufactures a shawl strap of his own invention, with 
metal base and handle. This is made of orange leather, and is one of the 
best straps ever invented, it being adapted for large and small bundles ; while 
his special line of shoulder straps cannot be surpassed in the market He is the 
sole manufacturer for this line of goods in the state of Massachusetts. He also 
makes a specialty of shoe stitching and shoe fitting for the trade, and his prices 
and prompt manner of doing the work has given him quite a reputation in this 
line. 

Thompson Bros, of this city, is another important firm which is engaged in 
the manufacture of boots and shoes of fine and medium grade, in calf, kangaroo, 
cordovan, and colored fancy stock, while the manufacture of welt goods, both 
hand and|machine, are a specialty. A large amount of work is produced from 
this house for the wholesale trade, which extends throughout the country. Their 
spacious factory is located at Campello. 

Woodward & Wright, last manufacturers, in 1880 bought out Churchill, 
Lee & Co. About eighteen months from that time Mr. Churchill withdrew 
from the firm and the business was continued by Lee & Wright, till 1886, when 
Mr. Wright assumed control of the business and formed a partnership with 
H. F. Woodward, since which time the firm has been known as Woodward & 
Wright. Both Mr. Woodward and Mr. Wright are well known business men, 
and enjoy an enviable reputation, and a lively trade all over the country. Their 
Boston office is at 1 6 South street. 

R. B. Grover & Co. were established a few years ago by R. B. Grover, C. 
O. Emerson and J. F. Hill, who commenced the manufacture of fine shoes in 
all the latest and popular styles for gentlemen's wear ; establishing as their 
trade-mark the " Emerson Shoe." They operate a large factory which is fully 
equipped with all the latest and improved machinery for conducting a large 
business, which is steadily increasing year by year, until they now have twenty- 
two retail stores situated in the principal cities from Portland, Me., to Washing- 
ton, D. C, and west to Chicago, 111., where they sell the productions of their 
factories direct to the consumer at popular prices. 

Howard & Foster are among the most industrious firms of the city of 
Brockton. They are engaged in the manufacture of men's, boy's and youth's 
fine shoes, in Goodyear welts, hand welts and machine sewed, in calf, kangaroo, 
cordovan, Dongola and patent calf, etc., for the retail trade, which extends 
throughout the United States. Their factory is located on Montello and Ward 
streets, only a short distance from the Old Colony station. Their Boston 
office is at 96 Summer street. 

Averell & Thayer have been established since 1886. Their work consists in 
the manufacture of blackings and cement, also the selling of boot and shoe 
supplies of all kinds, including sand paper, paste, glues, etc. Among this 
firm's specialties are shank burnishing inks, which are said to be the best inks 
made for this purpose. Their factory is at 433 Crescent street, also 267 Centre 
street. 

Packard & Field were established in 1862 in this city. The house makes a 



164 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



KmBdLL Pros. & Co.'/ 

diverse LAST LATHE 




Correct and Sensitive in Action. Perfect in Workmanship. In- 
stantaneous Reverse Movement. 

Also Builders of ROUGHING MACHINES, Etc. 

Write for particulars- KIMBALL BROS. & CO., BROCKTON, MASS., U. S. A. 




"^-~iiA>^!y 



SWASEY <S GREW, 

124 MONTELLO ST., BROCKTON, MASS 

Shoe factory supplies. 
Shoe tools of all descriptions. 




HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 65 

specialty of fine shoes for the retail trade, also a large amount of custom work 
is produced in all the leading styles for gent's wear. They occupy a large 
factory located at 259 Warren avenue, their Boston office being located at 121 
Summer street. The above firm have recently opened a large store in New 
York city, corner of Park place and Broadway, where they have a large stock 
of gents shoes for the retail trade. Packard & Field are the makers of the 
Burt & Packard " Korrect Shape" shoes which are noted throughout the 
country for elegance of fit and their superior wearing qualities. 

H. M. Kingman is engaged in the manufacture of men's, boys' and youth's 
calf, Dongola, buff and veal calf shoes. Their large and commodious factory 
is near the Old Colony Railroad and can be seen from the train, looking to the 
left just before entering Brockton station from Boston. Associated with H. M. 
Kingman are his brothers, Chester S. and William P. This firm commenced 
their career in 1882, starting in a small factory which they occupied one year 
and then built the front part of the present building. As the demand for their 
now well known shoes increased, more room was needed, and first one wing 
then another was added so that the building now forms three sides of a square 
with a total length of 410 feet and width of 35 feet. The 50 horse- power 
boiler and 25 horse-power engine was originally thought to be large enough for 
any growing demands, but recently it has been found necessary to add an 
entire new steam plant including a Green engine of 125 horse-power. The 
daily capacity is 3,000 pair and an extensive business is carried on with the 
jobbing trade throughout the country. The Boston office is located at 112 
Summer street, and they also have an office in New York city at 18 Warren 
street. 

Edwin Keith is located near the Old Colony station in that part of Brockton 
known as Campello. His work consists in the manufacture of men's boys' and 
youth's machine sewed shoes in calf, buff and veal calf. He also makes a line 
of fine shoes, with the celebrated Eppler welt, which is noted for its comfort 
and durability. Mr. Keith also supplies the well known Boston house of 
Hathaway, Soule & Harrington with quantities of fine shoes. 

Churchill & Alden are engaged as manufacturers of men's, boys' and youth's 
medium and fine shoes in all the latest styles. We find this industrious firm doing 
an important business in Campello, Brockton, they having had an experience 
of many years. They have an office in Boston at 3 High street. 

L.M. Reynolds, the subject of this sketch, made his first pair of shoes when 
but seven years old, and has been in the business ever since. He worked with 
his father (Charles T. Reynolds) making custom work, and manufacturing in a 
small way until he was twenty years of age ; he has been connected with some 
of the largest factories in Brockton, and in 1881, with his brother, B. F. Rey- 
nolds, as partner, he started his present business, and Aug. 1, 1890, he became 
sole proprietor. The line of goods he makes ranges in price from $1.50 to 
$4.00 in machine, Goodyear welt and hand sewed, which are sold to the job- 
ing^nd retail trade. A Boston office is located at 91 Summer street. Reynolds 
is a name that has been connected with the shoe business further back than that 



1 66 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



PERKINS & JOYCE,HHBHHBiBMl 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



Men's 

Fine Shoes, 



BOSTON OFFICE, 

302 Devonshire St. 



BROCKTON, Mass 



The Finest and Best Gentlemen's 
Shoes in Boston. 



$3 to $7 f or HT - MARSHALL'S make. 
$10 to $1$ for LUTHER BELCHER'S. 

^gFINE CUSTOM SHOES, HAND MADE TO MEASURED 



AT 



220 DEVONSHIRE ST., BOSTON. 




"go 






A¥erell& Thayer,Blackin g srD7es7ings7waxTs, Cements.Brocktoa, fflass-.U.-S-A. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 167 

industry is connected with the history of Brockton itself. The past nine genera- 
tions of the Reynolds family have been shoemakers, and there are a number by 
that name in the shoe business here in Brockton. Robert Reynolds made shoes 
and ran a shoe store in Boston in the year 1632. His grandsons, Nathaniel and 
Thomas, came to North Bridgewater (now Brockton) in the year 1740, where 
they worked at shoemaking and tanned their own leather. The manufacturers 
who bear the name of Reynolds are descendants of these two men. 

The Standard Rubber Mills are extensive and thoroughly equipped, and when 
running at full capacity employ 150 to 175 hands and turn out 1,200 to 1,500 
garments per day. At these works are manufactured everything in rubber 
clothing, from the cheap circular and plain rubber coat to the highest priced 
double and single textures, making a specialty of Mackintoshes. The Standard 
Company (a corporation organized under the Massachusetts laws) are proprie- 
tors of the above mills. Their goods are sold all through New England and 
the east and as far west as the Pacific coast, and every garment with their stamp 
on is fully guaranteed. The officers of the company are : W. W. Cross, presi- 
dent; D J. Pierce, treasurer; B. F. Pennington, vice-president and general 
manager; all of whom are careful and reliable business men. The company 
have sale offices in Boston and New York, and sales agents in Chicago and 
San Francisco, and supply their goods to both the jobbing and retail trade. The 
catalogues and samples sent out by this company are very attractive, and enable 
people to purchase of them by mail in a knowing manner. 

D. S. Packard & Co. were established in 1857. The work of this firm con- 
sists in the manufacture of boot and shoe counters. Their factory is a mas- 
sive building, covering a large area in which are engaged many assistants. 
The gentlemen who comprise this company are D. S. Packard, V. Filoon, 
both well known in Brockton. Their Boston office is located at 138 Lincoln 
street. 

Robert Clifford & Co., of 6$ Centre street, Brockton, whose line of 
trade embraces crimping, stamping, perforating, and pinking, are doing a 
prosperous business. The firm commenced business in 1881. 

William A. Sweetser has been established here since 1869. He has the repu- 
tation of making the best tack machinery in the market, which is in use in most 
of the factories in this country. He has the latest improvements in choppers, 
slitters, shears, tumblers, sifters, reed nail machines, knife grinders, and rivet 
machines. 

Ralph R. Littlefield, located at 255 North Main street, produces at his 
factory a medium grade of shoes in calf and satin calf, buff and 
veal calf in men's and youths', in machine sewed and Goodyear welt for the 
jobbing trade. Having the personal supervision of his factory, he is careful to 
see that none but the best of work goes out from it. He has the reputation of 
making shoes fully up to sample and at prices that defy competition on similar 
lines of goods. His Boston office is at 280 Devonshire street. 

The Brockton Mallet Co., was established by G. B. Goddard, in 1879. The 
premises utilized are spacious, comprising an entire two-story building, 60x30 



1 68 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

TERRY, WARE & ALLEY, 




MEN'S, * * * * OTTAT^O Goodyear Welt, . 
BOYS', * * * * HHIIKN Machine Sewed, 
YOUTHS' * * * k/IlVrJJk/ Standard Nailed. 

Medium Grade, Calf, Buff, Grain, Satin, :Oil and Flesh Split. 



FOREIGN GOODS 

A SPECIALTY. 



BROCKTON, rld5S. 



MYRON F. THOMAS, 

Aanofacforers of Aen's, govts' and ^Iotttf)^ ^r * 

Cordovan, P^angarco, Calf, Veal and gaff ^llUvSt 

Hand Sewed, Goodyear Welt and Machine Sewed. 
CAMPELLO, MASS. Boston Office: 99 and 101 BEDFORD ST. 

WALr^ER^WMITAYtiH, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

MEN'S FINE SHOES, 

Boston Office: 96 Summer Street. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 69 

feet in dimensions, fully equipped with all the latest improved machinery, 
appliances, etc., for carrying on the work, including the employment of a num- 
ber of skilled and experienced workmen. The company are manufacturers of 
44 Goddard's patent-leather handle raw hide mallets, ,, " Goddard's pinking roll,"' 
and " Goddard's patent leather-covered chisel handles'" for carpenter's, etc. 
These mallets are made of the best imported raw-hide disks, and are the 
strongest and best made, being warranted to last three times as long as any 
mallet yet invented. The " Goddard raw-hide pinking roll " will do more work 
than any other in the market. This company make a roll that will fit on any 
pinking machine. These rolls are made under thirty tons pressure. They 
also give attention to refilling and repairing all kinds of mallets. Their trade 
is very extensive, and goods are shipped to all parts of the United States, and 
Canada, and exported to Austria, Belgium, Germany, France, England, Italy 
and Australia. Every department of this house is in practical hands. The 
advertising department especially being in competent hands, who fully under- 
stand and appreciate this important branch, and at the head of each department is 
found a prudent and practical man. 

O. O. Patten & Co., manufacture dressings, cements, McKay machine wax, 
and blackings. This firm has been established since 1858, and since its incep- 
tion it has year by year done an increasing business, and it is widely known 
throughout the country, as the goods which they manufacture are noted for 
their superior quality. Their factory is conveniently located in the business 
part of Brockton. Many hands find employment here, and all orders are 
promptly and satisfactorily executed. A Boston office is located at 138 Lin- 
coln street. 

E. H. Reynolds, manufacturer of men's fine calf shoes, located at 956 Main 
street, by strict attention to business and making an Al shoe at the lowest 
possible price, has built up a large business. 

Geo. Knight & Co.'s factory is conveniently situated on Montello street, only 
a short distance from the Old Colony Railroad station. A specialty is made of 
shoe machinery and its duplicate parts. They also supply the greater part of 
the machinery used in the Brockton factories, besides carrying on a large trade 
throughout the United States. 

Myron F. Thomas is a manufacturer of and dealer in men's, boys 1 and 
youths' tine shoes of veal and buff, in Goodyear, welt, and machine sewed. He 
is located at 1186 Montello street, and caters for a New England and Middle 
States jobbing trade and western retail trade. Mr. Thomas is a gentleman 
well known in both the business and social circles of Brockton. 

The Brockton Last Company's originators were the first, it is claimed, to 
make a factory made last, which was made by hand, in 1825, while the first 
machine for making lasts was used in 1833 in Brockton. Cary, Delano & 
Thompson formed the company now known as the Brockton Last Company in 
1885. This company makes a specialty of men's lasts for fine goods which are 
known throughout the country as the "Brockton Last." They'give steady 
employment to a large number of skilled workmen. The firm claim'that for 



I70 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

SARGENT, ANGLIM & KEITH, 

IflSUFflJlCG. * FIRE ' LIFE m ACCIDEMT I WSURAKCE, * 

Real Estate. 



* * MORTGAGES AND LOANS, t * 



USSrS?,*!*?*. PROVIDENT SAVINGS LIFE OF NEW VORK. £% i £££ I rrr. 

Our 1 O, 1 5 and 20 Year Bond cannot be beaten as an Investment. 
IT WILL PAY YOU TO LOOK IT UP. It will also PAY you to look US up if you 
want ANYTHING in OUR LINE. We can suit' you and respectfully solicit your 
patronage. 

FRED W. SARGENT, 

HENRY T. ANGLIM, 

QoLbTMw^iTE's Block. victor w - keith - 
lOlfl^iNjT., : : BROCKTON, nAJJ. 



COLUMBIAN - MANUFACTURING - CO 

Manufacture 

The Columbian Pipe Wrench, Colum- 
bian and Montello Door Knobs, Pear- 
sail Patent Hose Nozzle, Bowers Im- 
proved Patent Guitar Bridge and other 
Specialties, 

Send for samples and prices of any of the above to the'general office. 

BROCKTON, ----- MASS, 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. l^l 

taste, style, durability and exactness their lasts cannot be surpassed by those of 
any other manufacture. They also make a line of ladies lasts for ,the fine 
grades of work, besides making a large portion of the lasts used in the Brockton 
shoe factories; their product is shipped to all parts of the country. The wood 
used in the manufacture of their lasts is mostly hard maple, and most of it comes 
from Maine, where the timber is of a close fine grain, and before being used it 
is thoroughly weather seasoned, thus enabling the firm to warrant their lasts not 
to shrink. The Boston office is located at 138 Lincoln street. 

"Niles & Wilbur are among the numerous manufacturers here in Brockton. 
Their factory is located at 54 Montello street close to the station of the Old 
Colony Railroad. They make a specialty of the manufacture of a shoe for 
gents' wear which they sell to the retail trade for $1.60, which is the best 
shoe for the money that is manufactured in this city, if not in the United 
States. 

G. W. Willey, 101 Belmont street, Brockton, makes a specialty of manufac- 
turing lasts, by first taking a mould of the foot in plaster and then making the 
last from the pattern, thus assuring a perfect fitting shoe. Nothing is more 
annoying than an imperfect fitting shoe, and in order to have your shoe fit 
perfectly it is necessary to have a last that is as near the shape of the foot as 
possible, and by so doing you get not only ease and comfort, but durability in 
a shoe made from such a last. 

Ellis F. Copeland started in business as a manufacturer of men's custom 
made shoes in 1875, ana " caters only for the finest retail trade, who have 
customers that want the best shoes obtainable, and are willing to pay for them. 
Mr. Copeland's shoes are all bench made by old-fashioned custom workmen, 
from fifty to seventy-five of the most experienced of whom are in his employ. 
He is making a full iine of bluchers in patent calf and French enamel, on the 
famous imported piccadilly last; a Isoa new line of English button boots, with 
five large buttons, made on an extremely pointed piccadilly last, is a novelty 
which Mr. Copeland is putting on the market. This is the latest London style 
and is proving a popular shoe with college students of whose trade he is making 
a special feature, and is now producing a full line of specialties designed for 
students. Dealers who may need to meet the demands of student trade will 
find in Mr. Copeland's samples, lines which have proven especially popular 
with students in the leading universities and colleges of the East. 

O. A Miller is engaged in the manufacture of the Miller "Twin" shoe tree- 
ing machine fitted with right and left tree legs and patent split feet. A great 
amount of capital and labor has been expended in bringing this machine to its 
present perfected state, of which there are now over seven hundred and fifty in 
use. Many of these are in use in Brockton, and all acquainted with its merits 
are enthusiastic in its praise. 

The Taunton Lumber Company are wholesale and retail dealers in all kinds 
of lumber, while they make a specialty of hard pine and shingles. Their 
place of business is at 243 North Montello street, Brockton. This business 
was formerly carried on by A. II. Leatherbee, but in January 1892 the present 
company took charge with William H. Lewis as manager. They also have 
quarters at 30 Broadway, Taunton, and the large business they enjoy is in keep- 
ing with the esteem they command among their fellow men. 



172 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

^PHE one invention for which the Hub Gore Makers are 
famous, is SUB GrOSJE. This shoe-elastic is 
made only for Fine Congress Shoes, and every gore is 
dated at the factory when made, and is then insured for 
one and a half years. Htib Gore Makers are the largest 
manufacturers of fine Gore in the World, and the only 
manufacturers of Gore exclusively in the United States. 

They own a large establishment in Brockton, which 
is equipped with the best up to date machinery. 
They also own Hub Gore Mills at Chelsea, Mass. 
and Camden, New Jersey. The concern zvas estab- 
lished in 1882. Albert Herbert, is President, E. 
B. Page, Treasurer, and William Rapp, Director. 
This original label is used by them. 



IVil/wuS^UE None 
This ^®F% Genuine, 



EVERY COMMUNICATION-ANSWERED THE DAY OF RECEIPT 
IF ADDRESSED THUS: 

HUB GORE MAKERS, 

91 Bedford Street, * Boston, Mass. 




ADVERTISEMENTS. 



173 




TRY THE * 



Brockton 



Steam 



Laundry. 

* Office * 

19 East Elm St., 

A. P. Reynolds, 

PROPRIETOR- 



■*e C. WAKE LING, e*- 



CALF * SKIRTING * COLORER & BLEACHER, 

78 Railroad Avenue, 

Brockton, - Mass. 
s. h. nichols, manufacturer of- ^^ 



% SKIVING KNIVES 



ALSO MANUFACTURER AND DEALER IN 



new and second-hand Shoe Machinery, 
65 Franklin Street, - - Brockton, Mass. 



174 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

BAXENDALE & CO., Established 1872. 




MANUFACTURERS OF 



^ . Ladies' and Gents' Box Toes 

( * ..Jilfeife. 0f al1 SM» in Leather and Leatherboard. 

'•"SSRoE?" 93 Centre St., BROCKTON, MASS, 



• * B®T5 (Jnd 5rioca. 

FINE AND nBDiim cingDB. 

CAMPELLO, * J * MASS. 

O. O. PATTEN & CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

STANDARD flcKdT 

Machine Wax 
and Cement, 

WHITE AND BLACK LIQUID STICH1NG WAX, FINE DRESSINGS, 
. . . EDGE INK, RED, WHITE AND JERSEY STAINS 

Sole Proprietors of the 

Brockton Burnishing Ink:. 

Boston Office, 138 LINCOLN STREET. D ran 

Factory at BROCKTON, MASS. * DROCKTON, IVIASS. 

All Correspondence Mailed to Brockton. 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



175 



Don't 

spoil 

your 
Feet with 

Cheap 
Shoes: 



****** If you want 
PERFECTION in fit, 
with freedom from 
CORNS and all 
DISCOMFORT you 
will never wear any- 
thing except THE 
BURT & PACKARD 
SHOE, 



O wear the yr% 

qDURP&meTCARD 



See that EVERY PAIR is STAMPED 
THE BURT &, PACKARD 

"Korrect snape." 




Fire Insurance Agency , 

OF 

W. M. THOMPSON , 

Established 1852. 

286 MAIN STREET, BROCKTON, MASS. 

FACILITIES FOR LARGE LINES INSURE IAGAINST FIRE AND 



IN RELIABLE COMPANIES. 



LIGHTNING. 



HEADQU ARTERS FOR 

SOCIETY REGALIA, JEWELS, GOLD AND SILVER TRIMMINGS, 
ETC., GOLD LETTERED BADGES for all Occasions a Specialty. 

Ledgers, Journals and Order Books, Folio and Sample 
Cards made to order. Old Books re-boimd and cased. 
School and Library Books repaired. . , 

A. A. BATTLES, Prop., 



No. 47 CENTRE STREET, 



BROCKTON, MASS. 



I76 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

JOS. A. BURR. HORACE KINGMAN. 

BURR & KINGMAN, 

n/KHINISTS, 



Engine, Shoe Machinery and Bicycle Repairing. 

New Machine Work attended to promptly and Satisfaction 

Guaranteed. Shafti- g, Hangers and Pullers 

constantly on hand. 

No. 25 HIGH ST., telephone iss-s BROCKTON, MASS. 
HOWARD ~ FOSTER, Manufacturers of 

MEN'S, - BOYS' - AND - YO UTHS' FINE ./HOE*/'. 

Factory: MONTELLO AND WARD STS., 

BROCKTON, MASS. 

Boston Office: 96 SUMMER ST. 

J. O. TOUGAS, 

MAKER OF BEST QUALITY 

GUTTING DIES AND GHISELS. 

For Leather, Cloth, Paper, Sheet Metal, Etc. 

257 No. Main St., BROCKTON, MASS. 

ESTABLISHED 1853. 

JNELL 6r dTHERTON, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

FINE SHOE TOOLS. 

TRADE MARKS REGISTERED O. E, D. 

FOR HOME AND EXPORT TRADE. 

Edge Planes, Heel Shaves, Welt Trimmers, Burnish- 
ing Irons, Edge Setter Irons, Bresting Knives. 
Knives for Machines made to order. 

72 SNELL STREET, BROCKTON, MASS., U. S. A, 




ADVERTISEMENTS. 



177 



6^§fT0nly Patent Leather Handle Raw Hide 
Mallet Manufactory in the World. 

GBGODDARD'SPAT 

APR. 9. 1878-KJAN. 7. 1879 
NOV. 12. 1839. 




-^ ESTABLISHED 1879. \£- 



i i 



The ONLY MALLET with a Handle that 
will not Bend, Brake, Work Lose or Blister 



the Hand 



j ? 



BROCKTON MALLET CO., BROCKTON, MASS. 



W 



EAR 



i£ 



m 




Manufacturers 
of 



/iMebraled • 
\\isio rev (Made 



FINE 
SHOES 



For 



GENT'S 
WEAR. 



R. B. GROVER & CO., 

PROPRIETOR./, BROCKTON, t\ASS. 




i 7 8 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



JOHNSON & PORTER, 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



JOHNSON'S PATENT 
GROOVING ATTACHMENT, 

FOR 

FAIR STITCH, HARNESS AND OTHER MACHINES. 

T^HIS attachment can be used in stitching soles to welts and 
can be applied to National, Nason and other New England 
machines. 

Office: 65 Centre St., Brockton, Mass. 




D. H enry CRflK, 

345 WASHINGTON ST., BOSTON, MASS. 



CONTRACTOR FOR 



brb - RAILROADS, BRIDGES, - m 
• ABDTMENTS AKD PUBLIC WORKS, ■ 

Hoisting Engines and Cram's 
Patent Derricks to Rent. 



ALSO GENERAL MANAGER OF 



CRAM'S PATENT DERRICK. 

patented may 1,1888. "THE AMERICAN DERRICK CO." 

Unequalled for Speed, Durability and Power. new york office - - - - 53 broadway. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 179 



AVON. 



THIS picturesque village is three and a half miles from the thriving city 
of Brockton, with which place and Holbrook it is connected by an 
electric railway opened the past year. The surrounding country 
is a prosperous agricultural and horticultural region, peopled by a highly 
intelligent class, the village itself being largely given up to the shoe industry. 
It has a population of about 1,300, and the hilly surroundings present a beauty 
of landscape seldom met with in that part of the state. It was formerly known 
as East Stou^hton, is a growing locality, possessing good railway facilities, 
good schools, and all the requirements for making life desirable. 

L. G. Littlefield is among the best known firms of Avon, in the manufacture 
of boots and shoes for the wholesale trade. Being a house of an enterprising 
nature it has built up a large trade. The specialty being the manufacture of 
men's and boys 1 shoes in Dongola, calf and buff in sewed^and standard screw. 
The trade of this house is done with the best known firms in this line of 
business. It has always been his ambition and aim to give his customers the 
best shoes that can be produced for the money. His Boston office is situated at 
1 01 Bedford street. 

L. G. LITTLEFIELD, 

MANUFACTUBEB OF 

MEN'S DONGOLA, CALF, VEAL CALF, BUFF AND GRAIN BOYS' 

811 El ill ST. 86BKW 8H018, 

FACTORY AT AVON, MASS. 

Office and Salesroom, lOl Bedford St., Boston. 

KEELER & CO., 

Furniture Manufacturers 
and Upholsterers, 

Washington and Elm Streets, 

' T °EAST CAMBRIDGE, MASS. * * DUO 1 UN, MAoO. 



i8o 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Office and Works of 

in. 




Builders of 

LOOMS, JACQUARDS, DOBBIES, &C, 

Harris Ave., cor. Acorn Street. 

Providence, R. I. 



ALLEN'S 


STEPHEN PAINE, 


PRINT WORKJ, 


MANUFACTURER AND DEALER IN 

OPTICAL GOODS. 


Manufacturers of 

Standard Calicoes, 


SPECTACLES, EYE GLASSES, MAGNIFYING 
GLASSES, OPERA GLASSES, READING 
GLASSES, MARINE GLASSES, MICROSCOPES, 
TELESCOPES, THERMOMETERS, BAROME- 
TERS, HYDROMETERS, COMPASSES. 




66 Westminster St., 


Providence, R. I. 


Providence, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 15 I 



PROVIDENCB 



THE early history of Providence is of a most interesting nature, and as 
this work has principally to do with transportation facilities, brief 
reference to the city's modes of conveyance, both primitive and 
modern, will prove of value to those seeking information on the subject. It is 
altogether a mistake to suppose that the wilderness found here by Roger 
Williams 250 years ago, was a pathless one. The state of civilization devel- 
oped among the Narragansetts was sufficiently far advanced to develop roads. 
Through these roads the Indians traversed the country at all seasons of the 
year, passing from town to town with their merchandise. The "Pequot path" 
was the main one, not only of the Narragansetts, but of travellers of other 
tribes going from the west to the east, or vice versa. It entered the Narra- 
gansetts' territory about where Westerly now stands, passed to the north of 
Charlestown pond near the so-called "Fort Ninigret," over Kingston Hill, 
through East Greenwich, and following Greenwich, Broad and Weybosset 
streets, crossed to the head of the bay by a ford from Washington Row to the 
foot of Steeple street. 

The town stieet of Providence was not the first used as a thoroughfare b}^ 
the white man; for generations before their coming the Indians had used it as 
such ; the Pequot path was there met by other paths — one led up a gorge to 
the eastward, the site of Meeting street, and thence to a ferry at "Red Bridge," 
whence the Indians passed over into the country of the Wampanoags toward 
Taunton and Plymouth. Another path led southward to Power street, where it 
ascended another gorge under " Bewitts Brow," and passing round under Tock- 
wotton Hill, by another ferry crossed to Watchemoket, and thence to So warns 
(Warren) and Montaup (Mount Hope). Another path went northward up a 
third gorge (Constitution Hill) to Stampers street, thence outward to Pawtucket 
Falls, and thence into the Wampanoag country, probably toward Shawmut 
(Boston). Still a fourth path is known to have passed up Milk street, crossing- 
the Moshassuck by a ford, and following the present Charles street into the 
Louisquisit country. Ot.her paths followed up the Woonasquatucket valley, and 
ran from town to town between the main paths. Thus it is evident that accord- 
ing to the development of the Indian civilization, Providence, even before its 
settlement by the whites, was a centre of quite a system of transportation facili- 
ties established by the aborigines. 

These " paths," it must be understood, were not the roads of the present day, 
but were equal to the emergencies for which they were intended, viz : the pas- 



182 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



SMITHFIELD GRANITE CO., 

ALMY MATHEWSON, Prop. 

Cemetery and Building Work. 

Heavy Foundation and Building Stone a Specialty. 

JOBBING AND TOOL SHARPENING OF ALL KINDS. 

YARD AND OFFICE, 125 GASPEE STREET, * * PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

Orders left at Box 61, Mechanics' Exchange, or Yard. 



TRUSSES. 

A Specialty of Curing Ruptare in its Worst Forms. 

New style of Trusses made especially for difficult 
cases. Personal attention given to fitting in each case. 
Low Prices. Consultation free. 

T. J. HAMILTON, Rear 56 Union Street, Providence, R. I. 




L/3NQELIER flFQ. Co. f 



#: 



DESIGNERS AND BUILDERS OF 



^PECIAL M ACHINERY , ^]pOOL3, gTC, 

67 & 69 CLIFFORD STREET, 
PROVIDENCE, * * R. I. 




This Cut represents our No, 2 Reducing or 
S wedging- Machine, which is fitted up with 
automatic oiling arrangement which is needed 
when reducing lo^g stock, This Machine is 
designed for Reducing, Tapering and Point- 
ing all kinds of metal, We build three sizes 
of Machines, Nos. I, 2 and 3. 

All Information will be Furnished 
on Application. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 83 

sage of foot carriers and their burdens. Their width varied, probably from six 
to ten, or, at the outside, twelve feet. The bay was always present, and the 
means of water transportation which it furnished had been from time immem- 
orial taken advantage of by the Indians, and were readily seen and seized by 
the whites. The first means of transportation over its waters were the canoes 
of the Indians, but we find in early days that Roger Williams had a pinnace 
(probably a square-bowed, square-sterned craft, partially decked over at each 
end, with a mast or masts and sail, or sails in the centre, intended to be pro- 
pelled by the latter ordinarily, but which in case of emergency could be 
propelled by oars), which he used on the bay and its head waters as far as 
Taunton. The facts of the Taunton Iron Works having been early opened, its 
transacting business with both Boston and Plymouth parties, and that Roger 
Williams apparently sent his "pinnace " habitually to Taunton, indicate that one 
of the earliest routes of commercial communication from both Boston and 
Plymouth to Providence was via Taunton by road, thence by water to 
Providence. 

At the time of King Philip's war, 1676, a communication with other colo- 
nies and the West India Islands had been established from Newport and Provi- 
dence. Williams, at least, possessed a sloop with which he made trips occasion- 
ally to Providence from that point, but probably the main means of communi- 
cation was by canoes and boats; for we find that in 1672, when Roger Williams 
was in a hurry to go to Newport in order to take part in a religious discussion, 
he rowed himself there. 

The first development of local transportation facilities afterlhe^King^Philip 
war, was the establishment of a ferry at the present Red Bridge, and of local 
roads where they crossed the larger rivers. Carts were not much used for trans- 
portation of goods till after the beginning of the eighteenth century. For heavy 
transportation between the different parts of the colony, boats and vessels were 
used as much as possible, and this fact explains why all the commercial centres 
were situated on navigable waters. 

The first regular stage line to Boston was established by Thomas Sabin, who 
kept a tavern at the northeast corner of Planet and South Main streets. The 
line was first advertised by newspaper in 1767, andthe stage made one trip per 
week from the house of Richard Olney, inn-keeper, who kept a tavern on North 
Main street, opposite Court House Parade. Stage lines aboutthis time ran in 
competition with the packets and sloops which plied between Providence and 
Newport and Providence and New York, the latter starting 'twiceja week, and 
their speed and accommodations were claimed to be unsurpassed. 

As late as just before the Revolutionary war the condition^of the roads lead- 
ing out of Providence was such that a trip from Boston to New York via Provi- 
dence and New London, the most frequented road in New England, consumed a 
week. During the Revolutionary war the inland roads^of the country were 
rather improved than otherwise, as they were much used for transportation of 
supplies, the coasting communication being cut off by the British fleets, and as 
little had been done in their interests before, what was done then as a military 



184 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

B. H. GLADDING & CO., 

IMPORTERS AND RETAILERS OF 

SILKS, AND DRESS GOODS. 

FULL LINES OF 

PRIESTLY' S BLACK GOODS, 

Ziinens and ITotisekeeping Goods, 
Infants and Children's Department, 
laces and Trimmings, 

CLOAKS AND FURS, 
CARPETS AND UPHOLSTERY, 

241 and 245 Westminster St., 

Providence, R. I. 

«T. IE. ODR^nsraDA-LL, 

ESTABLISHED 1857. 

LIGHT CAllIAil I AMI 1CTI111. 

Any Pattern or Style Carriage Made to Order at Short Notice. 

EEPAIBING OF ALL KINDS PROMPTLY ATTENDED TO. 

Worcester St., cor. Union and Fountain, - - PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

J. W. GRANT & CO., 

>v Manufacturing v! , 
"'** Jewelers, ' 

25 Calender st., 

Providence. R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS, AND CITIES. 1 85 

necessity served to better their condition. After the Revolutionary war, a 
great improvement was made in the facilities for transportation, both by water 
and by land. Vessels were built of greater tonnage than were before used, and 
lines of vessels running to the coast ports were established. The various ferries 
in the state were then maintained in a state of efficiency before unknown. 
Lines of stages were established to Taunton and New Bedford, Worcester, 
Plainfield, Springfield, etc., and the Boston and New York line, via Providence, 
was so much improved that the time of the trip was reduced to three days. 
Lines of teams for transportation of goods were also established on the same 
routes. The great obstacle to rapid (as the word was then understood) com- 
munication and transportation by land was the condition of the roads. The 
citizens along the main lines of communication did not feel called upon to put 
the roads in first-class order for the benefit of strangers who might want to use 
them, or for that of foreign stage owners. Nor did the owners of stage and 
transportation lines care to put the ruads in like order when the residents along 
the line of the same would get the chief benefit of their expenditures. 

This state of affairs led to the introduction of what may be termed the turn- 
pike era in this state. By this turnpike system a corporation assumed the care 
of a particular road and charged every one, neighbor or stranger, a given fee 
for the use of it, every time he made such use, the fee being varied according 
to the extent of the use made ; thus a wagon or team with four cattle was 
charged less than one with more ; a single horse and chaise less than a coach 
and more horses, etc. The idea of such a guage of rates seems to have been 
derived from the system on toll-bridges which had been erected before then. 
The original idea of the toll bridge was that while those originally building the 
bridge, were entitled to the use of it free, yet strangers using the same 
ought to bear their fair share of the expenses of maintaining it; thus we 
find that as early as the time of Roger Williams, the Wapweyset bridge, 
one of the earliest bridges erected in Providence, was free to all citizens of the 
town, while strangers were obliged to pay toll for the use of the same. This 
primitive principle developed in the course of a century or more into the erec- 
tion of bridges by corporations, as the Washington and "Red," or Moses 
Brown's bridge, and others, where charges were made against every person, 
even foot passengers, using the bridge, and in time was transferred to turnpike 
roads. 

The first turnpike road of which we find any record in the statutes was, as 
might have been expected, on the line from Boston to New York, and was the 
Providence and Norwich turnpike, which had been commenced in the limits of 
Rhode Island previous to the year 1798. The Providence and Boston turnpike 
was in existence previous to the year 1800, having been built under an act of 
the Massachusetts Legislature, and an act to incorporate the same in this state 
was passed on Oct. 29, 1800. Turnpikes to East Greenwich, Gloucester, the 
island of Rhode Island, to Smithfield, Louisquisit, Pawtucket, Wickford, the 
powder mill turnpike, turnpikes to Coventry, Cranston, Foster, Cumberland, 
Worcester and other places, were incorporated in the course of the next thirty 



1 86 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



J. M. ALPAUGH & CO., 



WHOLESALE DEALERS IN 



/ 



\ 



Paper 
Hangings, 

Window 
Shades, 



Shade Rollers, Brass and Nickel Shade Trimmings, 

Hollands and Upholsterers' Hardware 

30 EXCHANGE PLACE, 



elephon: No. 1313-5. 



Providence, R, I 



Ga$ Ranges for Cooking, 



Gas Heaters 




FOR HEATING 
PARLORS, BEDROOMS, 
LIBRARIES, OFFICES, 
BATH ROOMS AND 
NURSERIES. 

No Coal, No Ashes, No Kindling, 
No Dust, Always Ready. 

DELIVERED FREE JOF CHARGE. 
For Sale byH 



THE GAS STOVE STORE 

15 Market Sq., cor. North Main St. 

: Providence, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 87 

years, and "before the introduction of railroads the turnpike was considered as 
the highest development of land communication. 

The general adoption of the turnpike system, both in this and adjoining 
states, led to great improvements in the stage facilities. By the year 1805 
the time between Boston and New York was reduced to about fifty hours, and 
team transportation facilities were increased in like proportion. In all 
cases where it was practical, water transportation was preferred for the heavier 
classes of freight, and it was on the water that the first application of steam to 
locomotive purposes in America, at least, was made. 

It is to the credit and at the same time to the discredit of Providence that 
one of the earliest, if not the first, steamboats ever constructed was made here 
and plied on Narragansett Bay and Providence harbor. In 1792, years before 
Fulton's attention was directed to this subject, Elijah Ormsbee constructed his 
steamboat, the " Experiment," and showed that a steamboat was a practicable, 
attainable thing, and not merely the dream of an enthusiast, as it was up to 
that time claimed to be by practical men. This event is a monument to the 
ingenuity of the Providence mechanic of that day, but the fact that the inven- 
tion was not utilized does not speak so highly of the foresight and ability of 
the capitalists of the town. 

The development ol steamboats waited — Ormsbee was ahead of his time — 
till the days of Fulton's " Clermont" on the Hudson, and its successors, and it 
was Wednesday, the 28th of May, 181 7, before a commercially practical steam- 
boat ever entered Providence harbor. This was the "Firefly," of New York 
construction, and the first steamboat that ever rounded Point Judith. She 
" attracted considerable notice," and on the next Friday made the round trip 
from Providence to Newport and return in eleven hours. She ran for a time 
between Providence and Newport, but the enterprise was not pecuniarily suc- 
cessful and was abandoned. Before this time steamboats had been made use of 
to shorten the trips to New York, the stages running to New London, where the 
passengers embarked on a steamer which ran to New Haven, stopped there 
over night, "wooded up," and reached New York the next day. It was in 
August, 1821, before a steamboat ever arrived at its wharf direct from 
New York. This was the "Robert Fulton," on an excursion trip. 

In June, 1822, a steamboat line between Providence and New York was 
established. The boats made the trip in 23 hours, consuming 14 cords of wood 
in the passage. The first point to be obtained after the demonstration of the 
possibility of a steamboat, was the reduction of the fearful expense of running 
those early boats. In this matter Providence came to the front, and by his 
" Babcock boiler engine," John Babcock, a Providence mechanic, ran the 
steamer " Babcock " from Newport to New York, in August, 1826, with a con- 
sumption of only one and three-quarters cords of wood. These boats were very 
different from the boats of today. The " Washington," one of the best boats of 
the time, lost in May, 1831, owing to a collision with the "Chancellor Liv- 
ingston," was valued at from sixty to seventy thousand dollars. In August of 
the same year, the newest and most improved boat on the Sound, the "Boston," 



i88 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



* # * 



* DAVID BURTON, « 



^r S& # -^r 



WHOLESALE AND RETAIL DEALER IN 



Steam, Gas and Water Pipes and Fittings. 

Steam Engines and Boilers, Patent Steam Pumps, Clarke's Steam and Fire Regu- 
lators, Low Water Reporters, Steam Traps, &c. Also Feed and Force 

Pumps of all descriptions Gives particular attention to 

House Piping and all Public Kuildings, and to the 
introduction of Pawtuxet Water. 

PAGE ST., telephone 1506-4. PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



Nugget Wire a Specialty. \ 

In sizes from No. 17 to No. 8, Brown & 

Sharpe gauge, either square or round. 

—MAKER OF— 

Rigu*ed#BaII Wipe 

Under patents of Feb. 7, 3SS2; Feb. 28, 1882; 
Dec. 18, 1S83. 

Fifty Designs of Flat Stock, 

Among which are the Nugget, Alligator, Sand- 
Blast, and Straw Patterns. 



JAS. A. CHARNLEY. 

FLAT STOCK 

Which can be used in the manufacture of 



P 



UTTONS, 

AR PINS, 

ANGLE AND 

UGLE BRACELETS. 



118 DORRANCE ST., PROVIDENCE. 



J. M. WESTMACOTT & CO. 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



Platers, An* s, Boilers-out, loiters k Jewelers' Blow Pipes. 

Soldering and Flushing Irons, and all kinds of Jewelers' Findings. 

81 Friendship St., Providence, R. I. 



J. M. WESTMACOTT. 



H. A. FREEMAN & CO. 



H. A. FREEMAN & CO., 




. . . Workers of Sheet Metal, Iron, Tin, Brass^ 
and Copper. Ventilation and Furnace Piping 
a Specialty. Also Manufacturers of the Acme 
Rug Tufting Machine and Acme Can Opener 



81 FRIENDSHIP ST, PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 89 

is described as "150 feet long, and the Massy copper boilers of her two engines 
give the most satisfactory assurance of her being an entirely safe boat." 
"The President," the new wonder of the deep, had three decks, lower cabin, 
staterooms, closets for washing, etc. It was I60 feet long, thirty-two and one- 
half feet beam, eleven feet depth of hold, was of 500 tons burden, had thirty- 
four staterooms, 150 berths, two separate low pressure engines, and Massy cop- 
per boilers. 

By this time stage lines were running from Providence to Taunton, New 
Bedford, Worcester, and most of the country towns, as well as on the main line 
between Boston and New York. The point of starting and arrival for most of 
them was the Manufacturers' Hotel, where the What Cheer block now stands, 
and it was no uncommon sight to see a dozen or more coaches, each with six 
horses, drawn up in the highway in front, above and below this building, and 
when into this cluster of equipages came the arriving stages pellmell at top 
speed, each striving to get in first, the scene became one of excitement, and 
sometimes of danger. With regard to the time made by these coaches, we find 
in 1832, the editor of the Gazette proclaiming exultantly, "We were rattled 
from Providence to Boston last Monday in four hours and fifty minutes, includ- 
ing all stops on the road. If any one wants to go faster, he may send to Ken- 
tucky and charter a streak of lightning, or wait for a railroad, as he pleases. " 

After the New York boats came to Providence their was a special stage 
line started from the boats to go to Boston, and which came to the boats with 
passengers from Boston. The keeping and baiting of the horses used on these 
stage lines formed no inconsiderable business in those days for numerous livery 
stables. Probably a greater number of them were cared for at what was known 
as Copeland's stable, than at any other single one. A signal system was 
established between the stable and Field's Point. The boats arriving there 
would signal the number of passengers for Boston, the signals were then 
repeated to the stable, and then there was hurrying in hot haste. The steeds, 
the mustering squadron, and the clattering coach, went pouring forward with 
impetuous speed, and swiftly forming in the ranks of stages, thundered down to 
the wharf, and were there stationed, and ready for passengers by the time 
of the arrival of the boat. 

At this time it was possible to go to Boston and return the same day, spend- 
ing two hours there, while the running time of the boats between these and New 
York was reduced to less than seventeen hours. 

The next development of transportation facilities was the Blackstone canal, 
opened in 1828. This was a very useful institution for the city of Providence, 
and towns along its route, as it enabled freight to be carried at greatly cheap- 
ened rates. There were some twenty or twenty-five freight boats used upon it 
with an aggregate capacity of about eight hundred tons. It was, however, far 
from a success to those who invested in it. In an experience of some twenty 
years the total dividends declared upon the stock was $2.75, paid during the 
first eight of those years; the par value of the shares was $37.50 each, and 
when it was finally wound up the whole capital was lost. 



190 Advertisements. 

DOUGLAS'S PATENT 

Instantaneous Water Heater 



FOR 




Baths, « Domestic 

Offices aD d fBK>. Purposes. 



The value of an apparatus that will heat water instantly any minute of the 
day or night, in unlim ted quantities, cannot be over estimated, when the con- 
venience and so often the necessity of getting hot water instantly, is considered. 
The bath nee^ not be neglected with the Instant ane on s Water Heater which is 
Economical, Durable and Ornamental, and can be used in any place where gas 
and water can be obtained. 

Send for Circulars or call and examine it. 



J. S. FULLER, 



^ 1 39 WEYBQSSET ST., 



PROVIDENCE, R. I 
SOLE AGENT FOR RHODE SLAND. 



PLUMBER, 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. I9I 

By the year 1829, the stage coaches and wagon teams over the turnpike 
roads were considered as too slow and costly, and a railroad was looked to and 
talked of. An idea of the extent of the business over the turnpike roads of 
that day can best be obtained by the statistics then compiled. It was computed 
that twenty-seven thousand tons of freight were carried annually between Bos- 
ton and the towns adjacent to the road at one end, and Providence and like 
adjacent towns at the other, whilst of this amount, only 3,400 tons were carried 
by water, the remainder all going over the turnpike. The number of passen- 
gers carried by two lines only of stages between these points was 24,100. 

It was considered that this business could be more expeditiously and cheaply 
carried on by means of a railroad. It was figured that one horse on a railroad 
could carry twenty-seven passengers eleven miles per hour for seven hours in a 
day, and could haul eight tons of freight for ten hours per day at the rate of 
three miles per hour; that it would cost to build and equip the road $400,000. 
On this estimate the Boston & Providence Railroad was first planned and char- 
tered. The first charter for this road was afterwards revoked so far as Rhode 
Island was concerned, but a new charter was granted in 1831, under which, in 
connection with a charter granted by Massachusetts, the road was built, equipped, 
and operated. It will be noted that up to this time there was no thought of a 
railway having for motive power a steam locomotive, and that it was expected 
that every individual could employ his own carriage and horse power on the 
road, paying toll therefor. In fact it was a railroad turnpike. Without this 
being borne in mind, some of the provisions of the charter would seem unintelli- 
gible ; thus, section six provides that the directors of said road may erect toll 
houses, establish gates, appoint toll gatherers, and collect toll on the road when 
completed, and upon such parts of the road as shall from time to time be com- 
pleted. Section five provides that " transportation of persons and property, 
construction of wheels, the form of cars and carriages, the weight of loads," 
etc., are to be according to the rules, regulations, and provisions established by 
the directors. 

The first suggestion of a railroad using steam locomotives as a source of 
power, emanating in print from Providence, was on June 26, 1832, noting a 
passage by steamboat from New York to Providence in the unprecedented time 
of fourteen hours and 29 minutes, and that eight coaches of the citizen's line, 
started with its passengers to Boston, which caused the editor of the Providence 
Gazette to say: "We hope before many years to see a steam carriage on a 
railroad between this city and Boston.' 1 

His hopes were realized — in 1834 locomotive engines drew cars from Boston 
to the viaduct at Canton connecting there with sta^c coaches; and in June, 
1835, locomotives ran the whole length of the road to its then Providence ter- 
minus at India Point, and the doom of the turnpike and stage coach was sounded 
in the shrill scream of the locomotive whistle. But one turnpike company was 
incorporated in Rhode Island after that date : the Peacedale Turnpike Company, 
in 1842. 

At first the turnpikes and stage lines made common cause against the rail- 



192 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 




ESTABLISHED 1856. 

Stillman White, 

Jrass 
founder. 

Sole Manufacturer of 

S. WHITE'S 
LINISG 
METAL. 
No. 1 Bark Street, 

PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



STILLMAN WHITE. 



HOUSEHOLD SEWING MACHINE CO., 



PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



MANUFACTURERS OF THE 



Famous "Household" Sewing Machine. 

Machine, Foundry and Cabinet Work of all Kinds, 

Office and School Furniture, Cases for Silk, Thread and Braid, Specialties. 



GANNETT * CO., 



(SCCCESSOBS TO SwABTS & GrANNBTT,) 

Electrical Engineers 
and Contractors for 

ARC AND INCANDESCENT LIGHTING SYSTEMS. 

ELECTRIC MOTORS. 
@i Electric Wiring in all its Branches, (o^-— 

Swarts Building, 87 Weybosset St., * Telephone 846-4, * PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 93 

road, and attempted to run it out of existence by a vigorous competition, but 
the railroad could make the trip to Boston in the beginning in two hours and 
a half, and they gradually reduced the time required till it is now made in 
one hour. No amount of speedy horses or frequent relays could drive a stage 
coach from Boston to Providence in two hours and a half. The stage lines 
then sought business, by lowering the price, but here also the railroad could 
meet and discount them, and reluctantly the stage lines and turnpike corpora- 
tions yielded to the inevitable and accepted their fate. The same destiny has 
since overtaken other lines and turnpike roads as other railroads came into exist- 
ence, and it is now believed that there is not a turnpike and but very few stage 
lines in existence in the state. 

Before the opening of the Boston railroad, and before the idea of using 
steam as a railroad locomotive power, in June, 1832, another railroad with 
rights and powers similar to those of the Boston & Providence, known as the 
New York, Providence & Boston Railroad, was authorized to construct a track 
from Providence to Westerly. This company, in connection with a Connecticut 
company, built a line from Stonington to Providence, striking the shore just 
north of Sassafras Cove, and running up the west side of the harbor to the 
present Hill's wharf. This line was opened in 1837. Soon afterwards a steam 
ferry boat connection was made between the New York, Providence & Boston 
Railroad, and the Boston & Providence Railroad, in connection with steamboats 
running from Stonington to New York, thus giving a second all steam line from 
Boston to New York. 

The next great movement in the way of increasing transportation facilities, 
was the building of the Providence & Worcester Railroad. The Blackstone 
canal had proved its inefficiency, and in May, 1844, the Providence & Worces- 
ter Railroad was incorporated. 

This corporation built the central railroad station now in use on land filled 
in by them from the Old Cove, and made arrangements with the Boston & 
Providence Railroad by which the latter, building a branch track from East 
Junction to near Valley Falls, came into the city on their tracks and used the 
same central station. 

This action was followed by the New York, Providence & Boston Railroad 
constructing a new entrance into the city and using the same central station. 
These arrangements were all completed in 1848, and since then the main pas- 
senger station in the cily has been the central one, and around it are grouped 
most of the freight stations of the city. 

About this time came the development of a means of transportation of an 
institution that is said to have originated in Providence. We refer to the so- 
called " furniture wagons," a species of light, strong wagons, which with the 
development of upholstered seats, have become the " excursion wagon" of the 
present day. 

The "low gear" of Providence, which is seldom seen elsewhere, and when 
seen is merely a copy of a Providence insiitution, was also a production of this 
period. These conveyances are matters which, though calling little attention 



194 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Thos. J. Hill, President and Treasurer. W. C. Peirce, Secretary and Superintendent. 

ESTABLISHED 1845. 

Providence Machine Co., 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



Cotton and Worsted Roving Frames a Specialty. 

SOLE BUILDERS "™ HILL SPEEDER. 






«J 



COTTON COMBERS OF THE HETHERINGTON PATTERN. 

Lap Winders, Fluted Rolls, 

Bolster, Bobbin Gears, 

Spindles and Flyers. 

Patent Flyers, solid nib with clasp centrifugal presser. Presses 
for our own make flyers always in stock, other makes to order. 

564 Eddy St., Providence, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 195 

from the world at large, are worthy of notice as practical triumphs of Provi- 
dence mechanical ingenuity. 

In 1852, the Providence, Hartford & Fishkill Railroad was allowed to enter 
the city and central depot on land to the northward of that of the New York, 
Providence & Boston Railroad. This road, though late in its coming, added 
greatly to the transportation facilities of Providence. It is now a part of the 
New York & New England Railroad system. 

Still another means of transportation was afforded in 1854 by the Providence, 
Warren & Bristol Railroad to the system centering in Providence. It has 
proved of great benefit to the commercial and other interests of Providence in 
bringing her inlo relation with the towns and villages located on the east side of 
the bay, and in southwestern Massachusetts. 

The city of Providence to-day is the metropolis of the state of Rhode Island, 
and is one of the most interesting places in the New England states. It is not 
only a most thriving manufacturing town, but its products are entirely peculiar 
to itself. The manufactories are the largest and most extensive of their class to 
be found anywhere in this country, and their equipment unsurpassed, if equalled, 
by any similar concerns in the world. The city is noted for its cleanliness and 
healthful conditions, and all places where great manufacturing industries are 
conducted partake of the tidiness and scrupulous order everywhere to be 
observed. Some of the plants devoted to iron-working, which is one of the 
largest interests here, are simply elegant in their surroundings, and to a stranger 
might easily be mistaken for a well kept public institution of some sort. The 
grounds about many of these establishments are laid out into tasteful lawns, 
with drives, walks, flowers and shrubbery that would be a credit to a private 
estate. 

Unlike most cities, Providence creates a favorable impression the moment it 
is entered, passengers by the- Old Colony line stepping from the depot into a 
spacious square, at one end of which is the imposing city hall and the fine 
soldiers' monument, at the other an equestrian statue of her gallant son, Major- 
General Ambrose E. Burnsicle, while directly opposite the station are some of 
the most imposing business blocks the city possesses. The city is very advan- 
tageously situated for commerce. Its harbor is safe, spacious and commodious, 
admitting vessels of 1,000 tons. Formerly the port carried on an extensive 
trade with China and the East Indies, but since the marvellous increase in local 
manufactures the foreign commerce has considerably declined. The principal 
articles now imported are molasses, sugar and salt, with an occasional cargo 
from Africa of ivory, gum, tortoise-shell, cloves, dates, etc. The principal 
articles received coastwise are cotton, flour, corn, oats, wheat and coal. The 
business of Providence in print cloths and various textile fabrics is extremely 
large, and in conjunction with other products a large amount of capital is em- 
ployed. An important industry here is the manufacture of jewelry, for which 
there are nearly one hundred establishments. There are numerous foundries 
and machine shops, large manufactories of screws, establishments for the manu- 
facture of muskets, cannon and cannon-balls, locomotives, steam-engines, 



I96 ADVERTISEMENTS, 

WlLLIdn H. fllLLER 6r JON/, 

Machine and Tool Fmrglng ti BLACKSMITHS. BUILDING WORK. 

PICKS, TONGS, TURNING TOOLS, DIES, HUBS, CUTTER-PLATES, JACK-DIES, PLUN- 
GERS and HOLDERS, PLUMBERS' and PIPERS' SCOOPS for TUNNELLING, Always kept in Stock 

We also keep in stock JESSOP'S TOOL STEEL, annealed from 1-4 in. varying in size 
1-8 inch to 2 1-2 inches in diameter, which we are prepared to cut by machine in 
blanks of any desired length, at short notice. 

All Gutter-Plates, Hubs and nonoralRlapkcmlthinirfc Inhhinff Doneto order at short notice 
Plungers Furnace Annealed, benerai DiaGKSmilnmg & JODDmg and in a workmanlike manner. 

194 and B96 Eddy St., - Providence, R. I. 

Telephone Connection. 
d. russell beown. h. martin brown. charles h. child. 

Brown Bros. 5~ Co., 

• GENERAL MILL FURNISHERS. * 
MANUFACTURERS OF LEATHER BELTING, 

Shaw's U. S. Standard Ring Travelers, Belt Hooks, 
Loom Forks, Steam Packings, Factory Wire Goods &c. 
Providence, K. I. 

MASON, CHAPIN & CO.'S 

Anchor Colors % % 

in TASTfi ri.JV3) ZIQUI3) FOIIM. 

These colors are manufactured from selected materials 
and are highly recommended for all kinds of exterior and 
interior painting. Warranted pure linseed oil paints. 

MANUFACTURED BY 

MASON, CHAPIN & CO., 

Providence. New York. Boston. 

B. H. M C CABE, 

Japan Enameler, 



of TIN, 
BRASS, 
COPPER, 
and METALS 
of ALL 

DESCRIPTIONS. 



JEWELRY A SPECIALTY. 

81 FRIENDSHIP ST., PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 197 

machinery of all kinds, stoves, butts and hinges, nails, pick-axes, and other 
articles of metal; cabinet ware, carriages, boots and shoes, etc., are also pro- 
duced in large quantities. 

The American Screw Co. was originally instituted in 1838, as the Eagle 
Screw Co. In i860 the Eagle Screw Co. was consolidated with the New 
England Screw Co. which was formed in 1840, and has since continued the 
manufacture of screws with uninterrupted success under the present title of the 
American Screw Co. The extensive plant of this company comprises a number 
of brick buildings, varying from two to four stories in height, which are com- 
pletely equipped with special machinery for the work, power being furnished 
by engines, aggregating about 3,000 horse power, and employment is furnished 
to eighteen hundred operatives. The American Screw Company also operates 
factories in Leeds, England, and Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, under the respective 
names of British Screw Co. Ld. and Canadian Screw Co. Ld. The products 
of the works comprise all kinds and styles of wood screws, machine screws, tire 
bolts, stove bolts, rivets, coach screws, etc. The present officers of the com- 
pany are E. G. Angell, president; Clark Thurston, vice-president; J. A. 
Nealey, agent; Olney Arnold, 2nd., secretary; G. W. Thurston, treasurer and 
William A. Cranston, assistant treasurer. 

The Rhode Island Perkins Horse Shoe Company is the most extensive 
manufacturer of all kinds of horse and mule shoes in the world. This company 
was first organized as the Rhode Island Horse Shoe Co. in 1867. In 1891 its 
name was changed to its present one, with the following board of officers to 
manage it: F. W. Carpenter, president; C. 'H. Perkins, general manager; 
R. W. Comstock, secretary; C. R. Stark, treasurer. Their office is centrallv 
and pleasantly located in the Brownell building on Westminster street, this 
city. They possess a very large and complete plant at Valley Falls, R. I., 
which in its entirety covers some six acres of land, and comprises an immense 
rolling mill four hundred feet long and one hundred wide, while the horse shoe 
shop, punching room, packing room, cooper shop, foundry, etc., are equally 
well adapted to their needs. The mill buildings are of iron, of one story in 
height. They are fitted with the latest improvements in the way of special 
machinery, the invention of Mr. Perkins, the general manager, which, together 
with the large force of help they employ, numbering five hundred hands, 
enables them to supply the large demand from all sections of the globe. In 
addition to the regular patterns of horse and mule shoes they have several 
specialties for which there is a large and increasing demand. Perkins' toe 
weight and side weight shoes are Mr. Perkins 1 latest inventions. Owing to 
their peculiar shape these shoes have never before been successfully made by 
machinery, but Mr. Perkins' inventive genius has finally overcome all obstacles, 
and the company are now placing before the public a perfected shoe. They 
also manufacture a line of shoes particularly adapted to horse railroad service, 
for which there is a large demand. Light steel shoes for fine shoeing have 
for a number of years been a specialty of the company. In addition to 
horse shoes they make the celebrated Perkins' toe calks, both blunt and sharp. 



I98 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

The Brown & Sharpe Manufacturing Company is one of the most extensive 
and important establishments of Providence. They are makers of iron castings, 
sewing machines, machine-tools and small tools for machinists' use. David Brown 
and his son, Joseph R. Brown, were the founders of this business in 1833. Mr. 
Brown, Sr., retired some years after, and his son in 1853 together with Lucian 
Sharpe formed the firm of J. R. Brown & Sharpe, which in 1868 was incor- 
porated as the Brown & Sharpe Manufacturing Co. Their works situated 
about a half mile from the business centre of the city, are buildings of excep- 
tionally neat construction, particularly well arranged, and remarkably well 
equipped, the floor space of which exceeds four acres (a growth from 1800 sq. ft. 
in 1853) and the machine shops are in all respects among the most notable on 
this continent. In 1859 was commenced the manufacture of the Wilcox & 
Gibbs sewing-machines, and the requirements of this work were a great factor 



p;V 



in bringing about the invention and development of milling ana grinding machines, 
the cutters that can be sharpened without change of form, and the standard guages 
and exact measuring instruments for which this house is noted and which have 
greatly modified and improved machine-shop practice throughout the world. 
Heavier and larger machines, some suitable for use in locomotive works have 
also been recently brought out by this company. More than eight hundred and 
fifty workmen are employed at these works, which are open to visitors. Lead- 
ing awards were received at international exhibitions at Paris in 1867, Vienna 
in 1873, Philadelphia in 1876, Paris in 1878, and the grand prize at Paris in 
1889 by the Brown & Sharpe Manufacturing Company. 

F. J. Gay & Company is one of those particular manufacturing enter- 
prises that naturally increase and develope with the growth and extension of all 
industrial centres. The firm are now one of the largest manufacturers of mill- 
ing cutters in this section of the country, and making a specialty of special and 
standard milling cutters, for which they have a well established trade throughout 
this country and abroad. The products of the house have given the best possible 






HTSTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 1 99 

satisfaction to the trade ; their cutters being made by the best skilled labor, with 
every regard to accuracy, strength and durability. Mr. Gay, the senior partner 
of the firm has had an extensive experience in cutter and gear departments, 
with other large concerns, and was formerly eleven years with the Brown & 
Sharpe Manufacturing Company. The firm are also agents for Seebohm &; 
Dieckstahl, Dannemora Steel Works of Sheffield, England, and supply the 
trade with the celebrated products of this house at the shortest notice, and in 
quantities to suit. The plant occupied by the firm consists of premises located 
atNos. 189 and 191 Eddy street, 100 x 50 feet in measurement, and these are 
fully equipped with suitable mechanical appliances, and employes a number of 
skilled artisans in its operations. 

The Providence Belting Co., 37 and 39 Charles street, was established in 1885, 
their business has steadily increased year by year until now they have one of 
the finest equipped factories in the country, covering an area of 25.000 square 
feet. Only the best skilled labor is employed in producing the goods, their 
oak tanned, short lap leather belting is second to none in quality and durability. 
They are the sole manufacturers of the copper sewed waterproof leather belt- 
ing, for the manufacture of which the latest improved patented machinery has 
just been imported. Copper sewed belting is fast taking the place of rubber 
and fabric belting. They also make a specialty of roll covering for worsted 
machinery and manufacture the patent folded Twist belting. 

The Providence Machine Co. are leaders in their line,, which consists in the 
manufacture of cotton and worsted machinery. This enterprise was founded 
in 1834, and has occupied the present location since 1846. In 1866, business 
increased to such an extent as to cause apartments to be added to the plant, 
and today it is one of the most complete and perfect in the New England states. 
The main building is three stories in height, and covers an area of two 
hundred and twenty by sixty feet, the adjoining buildings comprising a foundry, 
pattern shop, a blacksmith shop, aud numerous smaller buildings. About three 
hundred workmen find constant employment in this factory, which is well 
equipped with all the latest improved machinery. The work produced here 
embraces improved cotton and worsted roving frames, combers and lap 
winders, patent flyers, etc. They are in use by all manufacturers here and in 
some foreign countries. The officers of the company are Messrs. T. J. Hill, 
president and treasurer; Wm. C. Peirce, secretary and superintendant. 

The Providence Coal Co. was founded in 1840 by Samuel R. Jackson and 
Sterry Clark. This firm were succeeded by Jackson, Clark & Co., who were 
in turn succeeded by the following fii ms : S.Clark & Co. ; Clark & Cogges- 
hall; Henry C. Clark; Clark & Webb; Tucker, Swan & Co.; Tucker & 
Little; and then the Providence Coal Co., was organized in 1881, the pro- 
prietors being H. C. Clark and Harry C. Clark. Eighty-five horses, and one 
hundred and twenty-five men are employed in the conduct of the business, and 
the trade of the house, which is both wholesale and retail, extends throughout 
New England. The company handles the best varieties of coal in the market, 
including Franklin. Lehigh and Cumberland. A specialty is made of the 



200 ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Providence Belting Company, 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



OAK 
LEATHER BELTING 



AND 



Pat iff FeiBEB Iwibt Bilt h& 

OFFICE AND WORKS, 

37-39 CHARLES STREET, * * PROVIDENCE, R. I, U. S. A. 



A. C. J. LEARNED, 

Mil 5Qtlding 

• • AND • • . 

Large Contracts 



* A SPECIALTY. * 



5 Charles St., Providence, R. I 



^6)1 LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE. ]&- 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 201 

celebrated Plymouth coal of which they are the only sales agents in this 
market. 

The George W. Stafford Manufacturing Company is favorably known 
throughout the textile manufacturing world by their special machines. Since 
Mr. Stafford founded this business in Providence in 1882, increasing business 
has obliged four removals to secure larger accommodations. They finally 
purchased of the City Machine Co., who were going out of business, the property 
that they now occupy on the corner of Harris avenue and Acorn street, con- 
taining over 60,000 square feet of land on which were buildings having some 
35,000 sqnare feet of floor space. During 1892 they built a foundry and other 
buildings which gave them an additional floor space of nearly 30,000 square feet. 
They own many valuable patents on their machines, and are continually improv- 
ing and adding new specialties as they are demanded in the mills. Mr. George 
W. Stafford, the general manager, and Charles H. Poland, secretary, devote all 
their time to the business which is continually increasing. Within two years 
past they have brought out a loom which is meeting with good success in some 
of the best factories. It is rapid running and very substantial. It is built in 
plain box and also drop box. 

Brown Bros. & Co., in 1877 succeeded Butler, Brown & Co., who 22 years 
ago erected an establishment for the purpose of supplyin g the wants of cotton, 
woolen and silk mills. Brown Bros. & Co's. premises include two floors of the 
Butler Exchange building; they also operate a factory for the manufacture of 
leather belting, and leather specialties, also ring spinning and twister travelers. 
Their goods have always been noted for their excellent quality and embrace 
everything in the way of mill supplies, such as beltings, leather hooks, wire 
goods, roll covers, stock and tools. The members of the present firm are D. 
Russell Brown, H. Martin Brown and Charles H. Child. 

The Church & Russell Co., is rapidly becoming one of the best known 
houses in its line in New England. Its chief dealings are in manufactured iron 
and steel of all kinds, and in both it represents the most reliable producers 
in the United States, among them being: Sterling Steel Co., Pittsburg, Pa., 
Sterling Tool Steels; Carbon Steel Co., ship, boiler, tank, and bridge steel; 
Linden Steel Co., Pittsburg, Pa., open hearth bar steel; Lockhart Iron & 
Steel Co., Pittsburg, Pa., bar iron and Bessemer steel; Kidd Steel Wire Co., 
Sharpsburg, Pa., drill rods and drawn wire; La Belle Iron Works, Wheel- 
ing, West Va., tack plate. All these firms stand in the foremost rank of the 
world's steel and iron makers. The Church & Russell Co., do an extensive 
business in the higher grades of iron and steel, fine tool steels, polished drill 
rods, the best grades of bar iron and boiler steel being specialties, holding firmly 1 
the trade of manufacturers whose reputation rests on the unvarying high 
quality of their product. They have furnished all the ship, and boiler plate 
steel as well as the bar steel used in the construction of the cruisers ' 'Machias" 
and "Castine" and the harbor defense "Ram" building at Bath, Maine, for the 
U. S. Navy, and are recognized as a leading house dealing in government 
material. Alive to all the improvements being made in the manufacture of 



202 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



ESTABLISHED 1830. 



PMBNIX Iron 

Potrndrv^ 



fmrrrmifrf^^ 

PROVIDENCE, 




MANUFAC1UKEKS OF 



Calenders, Starch Mangles, Calender Rolls 
of Paper, Cotton and Husk, 

Bleaching and Dyeing Machinery, Printing Machines, Shafting, Iron Tanks, 

Expansion Pulley (new), Pulleys, Gearing, Grate Bars, Hydraulic, 

Presses, Tenter Drying Machines, Cloth Cutting Machines, 

Silk Lace and Cotton Finishing Machinery. 

And Sole Manufacturers of NAGLE POWER FEED PUMP. 

SEND FOR CATALOGUE. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 203 

iron and steel, they keep pace with the times and are building up a large and 
remunerative business, as is evidenced by their increase of warehouse facilties, 
adding to their territory, etc. This company is composed of gentlemen who 
have had an extensive experience in «the trade which they represent. They 
are A. H. Church, president; F. G. Russell, secretary and treasurer; and E. 
C. Church, assistant secretary. The office and ware rooms, which are 
commodious and well adapted to the business, are now located at 125 Dyer 
street. 

The Phenix Iron Foundry, located on Eddy street corner of Elm street, is one 
of the oldest iron foundries in the state of Rhode Island, being founded in 1830 
and incorporated in 1832 under the name of Phenix Iron Foundry. The 
foundry buildings cover an area of sixty-five thousand square feet and the 
machine shops twenty-six thousand square feet. This company are sole 
manufacturers of the "Nagle Power Feed Pump 11 , made from first class 
material throughout. Machinery for all kinds of bleaching, dying, printing 
and finishing cotton goods, silk and plush ; mangles of all kinds, hydraulic 
presses, and in fact machinery of all kinds is made by them. They are also 
manufacturing a new Expansion Pulley. A large business is transacted 
by them and the trade extends throughout the United States and Canada. They 
have a capacity of getting out daily thirty-five tons of castings. In the several 
departments of this foundry about two hundred skilled workmen are employed, 
and all orders are promptly filled. They have a fire proof store-house which is 
used by them for the storage of patterns of their machinery, pulleys, etc. 
They have the most extensive list of patterns for gears and pulleys of any cor- 
poration in the United States. An annual business of upwards of half a million 
of dollars is transacted by this company. The president and treasurer of this 
company is Charles R. Earle ; secretary, M. W. Gardiner, Jr.; and the agent 
is Amos W. C. Arnold. 

Flint, Blood & Co's. factory is at 94 Point street with a New York office at 
194 Broadway. This firm commenced business in 1869 under the name of 
Flint, Blood & Co., later, on the retirement of B. A. Holbrook, becoming 
Flint, Blood & Young. Three years ago, on the death of Mr. Young, the 
original firm name was assumed. The present firm are veterans in the jewelry 
business. Mr. Flint is a native of Walpole, N. H., but has long resided in this 
city, following the jewelry manufacturing trade since 1855. Mr. Blood, who 
came to Providence in 1851 is a native of Ipswich, Mass., and has been en- 
gaged in the trade since that time. They are located in the four-storj T Simmons 
Building, 94 Point street, where they occupy a shop 40 by 80 feet, with steam 
power, and furnish work for 20 to 40 hands. Flint, Blood & Co. manufacture 
solid gold rings, gold filled rings, a large and superior line of plated rings 
and collar buttons, which are sold to the jobbing trade only, in all parts of 
the world. Owing to their superior work and designs the jobbers and 
wholesale dealers find that their manufactures are in great demand and are 
ready sellers. 

The Hotel Girard during the years 1878 to 1891, inclusive, was managed 



204 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



fHE WH1TTEN GODDING CYCLE C0. ; 



Manufacturers, Importers and Jobbers 



4- 4~ 



Bicycles, Cycle Parts and Fittings, 
Guns, Athletic and Sporting Goods. 



Our Specialties are 



Saladee Saddles, I Universal Whistle, 



Does not leak 

Magic Oiler. 

Clean for Pocket use. 



THE UNIVERSAL WHISTLE 



Best for Cyclists, Sportsmen Owners of 

Sewing Machines, Typewriters, 

and all who use light Oils 

of any kind. 



HE "SALADEE" GENTS. 




PRICE $5.00. 




PRICE $5.00. 



The Narragansett Scorcher- Magic Pocket Oiler and Yale Cyclometer. 
Rims, Tubing and Bicycle Forging. 

BRANCH: HOME OFFICE: 

125 bellevue ave., Hg, 120, 122 and 124 So. MAIN STREET, 
NEWPORT, R... PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 20 J 

by E. W. Tinker, but in the latter year he was succeeded by Jesse Brown, the 
present proprietor. The hotel is a three-story building, contains twenty-five 
rooms, centrally located on Eddy street, Nos. 51 to 55. The hotel is nicely fur- 
nished throughout, well ventilated and is kept up in first-class order, contains 
all the modern conveniences and is conducted on the European plan. Mr. 
Brown has had many years of experience in this special kind of business. He 
is well known throughout the city, and has succeeded in building up a large 
business by his courteous manner. 

Mason, Chapin & Co was founded as long ago as 181 5, and is therefore 
one of the oldest of its kind in New England. The present firm consists of 
E.^P. Mason, W. P. Chapin, S. L. Peck and E. E. Arnold. The business 
consists in the manufacturing of and dealing in drugs, dye stuffs, chemicals, 
paints, oils, etc. The premises, which are located from 55 to 61 Canal street, 
comprise a building sixty by one hundred feet in dimensions, having six floors, 
the whole of which is stored with a large and valuable stock. The firm has 
branch establishments at 58 Pine street, New York, and 141 A Milk street, 
Boston. 

J. M. Alpaugh & Co., were established in 1889, as wholesale dealers in 
paper hangings, window shades, shade rollers, etc. They carry at all times a 
large and well selected stock of the above articles. The premises occupied 
are large and well adapted to the business, and contain every convenience 
known to the trade. The trade of the house extends to all parts of New 
England, and that they have at all times met the requirements of an exacting 
public is well attested by the constant increase in the volume of business 
transacted annually. The salesroom and storage house is located at No. 30 
Exchange place. 

The Providence Gas Company occupies the premises on the corner of 
Market square and North Main street. They carry a full line of the best and 
safest gas stoves and ranges with all the latest improvements on the same. By 
personal supervision and critical examination of all stoves and ranges before 
they leave their premises, they are sure that no cheap work is placed on the 
market. They make a specialty of gas stoves and ranges only, and offer them 
on trial. 

B. H. Gladding & Company, located at 241 and 245 Westminster street, is 
one of the oldest firms in the city, having been established in 1805. The 
premises occupied consist of five floors, the main store being forty by one 
hundred and fifty feet. For the past forty years they have been known for 
the fine quality of linens that they carry, only the pure linen fabrics being sold. 
They are also leaders in silks and dress goods, having fine importations from 
Frauce, England, Germany and all the home productions of the best manu- 
facture. In their carpet department can be found a large stock of all the 
latest productions of the best grades and styles. A full line of Priestly 's 
celebrated black goods are also carried by them. To attend to the wants of 
their patrons in a prompt manner, employment is given to one hundred and 
twenty-five hands, some of whom have been with the firm for twenty-four 



206 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Charles H. Moore, 



Manufacturer of Every Description of 



FOR 



CLOTH BUTTONS 

Clothiers, Cloakmakers, and Dressmakers, «&s 



Upholsterers, Carriage Trimmers, Etc., Etc. , , s 8f 




' i SFEQIdL ATTENTION <5IVEN TO i » 

DRESS PLEATING AND PINKING, 

12 yNI0N STREET, 
PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

Geo. L. Claflin & Co., 

* Wholesale and Retail DiU{$StS. I 

IMPORTED AND DOMESTIC 

DRUGS, MEDICINES and CHEMICALS, 

Jewelers Supplies, Sponges, Mineral Waters, 
Glassware, Chamois Skins, Essential Oils, Etc. 

We also carry in stock a large line oj 

Surgical Instruments, Crutches, Trusses, Supporters, Elastic 
Stockings, Ear Trumpets, Electric Batteries, Etc. 

?6, ?8, 62, 64, 66, So. Main St., ffiOOTKB, L L 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 20/ 

years. For the convenience of their patrons an elevator is in the store to carry 
all patrons to the various departments on the floors above. All members of 
the firm are thoroughly experienced in the business, but the t senior partner has 
obtained a high reputation for the taste and skill he has used in the selection of 
furs and fine garments. 

The American Ring Traveler Company of 7 Eddy street, Providence, was 
incorporated in 1 882. They manufacture every description of spinning and twist- 
ing travelers. Among their specialties, which they manufacture solely, are the 
famous Wilson round pointed fast speed spinning travelers, the American U. S. 
standard square pointed travelers, the Climax patent bronze twister traveler 
for wet twisting, also the Fowler patent twisting traveler for dry twisting. 
The premises cover an area of six thousand square feet of floor space, and are 
equipped with their own special machinery operated by steam power, thus 
having the facilities for producing a large amount of work. They are also 
manufacturers of felt hooks, loom forks, reed hooks, weaver combs, and wire 
specialties of every description. The products of this company are used by 
most of the mills throughout the country, and are considered to be the best that 
the market affords. Their capacity is an output of many million ring travelers 
annually, and their trade extends not only throughout the United States, but 
to foreign countries. C. W. North is the superintendant and A. C. Tingley is 
the agent. Both these gentlemen have had years of experience. 

T. D. Pratt established himself in this city as a manufacturing jeweller in 
1885, when he was located on Westminster street. He remained at this 
location until the early part of 1888, when he removed to his present site, 
126 Summer street, where he occupies a large floor fully equipped with all the 
requisite machinery and tools necessary in the successful operation of his 
special line of production. This includes a full variety of jewelry in gold, 
white stones being a specialty, however, and many handsome designs are shown 
in this line, with fine white imported stones. 

The Whitten-Godding Cycle Co., formerly Whitten, Godding & Co., was 
originally established under the name of Whitten & Co., in 1886. The 
partnership then formed consisted of William W. Whitten and Edward A. 
Godding, and was confined wholly to the retail sales of bicycles and sporting 
goods. By degrees the business was extended step by step, new departments 
being added from time to time, until at the present time they are supplying the 
home market with everything in the athletic and sporting line, including guns, 
boats, fishing tackle and boat hardware. Three years ago the firm began the 
manufacture of bicycling sundries and the importation of bicycle parts and 
fittings, and to such an extent has their trade in this line grown that they now 
are receiving regular shipments of goods from abroad, and have on their books 
several hundred accounts of firms situated throughout the United States. The 
business, originally started in a third story room on Westminster street was 
moved in the spring of 1887 to 118 South Main street, in the Light Infantry 
building. It soon outgrew this store and the adjoining one was added ; this 
soon proving too small for their rapidly growing wholesale business, they 



208 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

PROPHET SPRING WATER, 

ABSOLUTELY PURE. 

The water has all the Curative Powers that other Springs claim 

\ 
t o have and holds its ow n among its many competitors 

y - 

Furnished in any Quantity Desired. 
E. E. DRAKE, - 41 Dorrance Street, - PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

TELEPHONE 832-2. 

P ATH BONE & SMITH, 

"""lor thVirad'.' °" ha " d qgLb AND T9 p p>i M p 17 c 

Prompt Return ! , ' SILVER |\L,1 1 1 1 L.l\0. 

No. 1 to 9 Mathewson St., cor. Cove. 

TELEPHONE. 850 . PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

THE LATEST GEMS FOR PIANO, 

By Mrs. H. E. LeValley. 

The Waltz of the Day, Price 75 Cents, i March of the Stars and Stripes, 
Gaiety Polka, 40 " Price 40 Cents. 

The Donzella "Waltz, 40 " ) Grace Mozurka. 50 •* 

Sent postpaid to any address on receipt of marked price, Address 

Mrs. H. E. LeValley, Teacher of Piano, 

20 Aborn St-, Providence, R. I. 

Send for catalogue of Latest Banjo Music by H. E. LeValley . Teacher of Banjo 
and Guitar. 

D RAKE'S L OCAL E XPRESS, 

Office, 41 1-2 Dorrance t., cor. Westminster, Providence, R. I. 



Orders for Baggage and General Expressing promptly attended to at 

Reasonable Rates. 

Telephone Connections 1369. E. E. DRAKE, Proprietor. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 20O, 

secured two more stores adjoining the other two in the same building, thus occupy- 
ing one half the ground floor of this large and fine structure. They have the 
best equipped bicycle machine shop in the country, having special machines 
built for them for special work in building wheels, bicycle rims, and manufac- 
turing other parts and fittings. A special wheel built by them to order is 
called the Narragansett, a light scorching or road-racing machine for those 
desiring a specially light wheel. The new firm was incorporated in May 1891, 
and William W. Whitten was elected president, and Edward A. Godding 
secretary and treasurer. Both these gentlemen are college bred men with no 
previous business experience, and whatever success they have attained has come 
from honest hard work and strict attention personally to every detail of the 
business. Two years ago a branch store was opened at Newport, R. I., and 
this has proved a paying venture and is still open, occupying one of the best 
located stores on Bellevue avenue. 

Geo. L. Claflin & Co., at 56, 58, 62, 64 and 66 South Main street are pro- 
prietors of one of the oldest drug stores in Rhode Island. The present company, 
founded under this name by Geo. L. Claflin in 1873, in reality dates back to 
181 7, when Joseph Balch. established a small drug store at the same location. 
In 1873 Mr. Claflin, together with N. W. Smith and F. J. Phillips, purchased the 
stand, fixtures and good will of the Balch heirs, on South Main street, and 
continued the business under the firm name of George L. Claflin & Co. In 
1874 Mr. Phillips sold out his interest to C. A. Babcock. In 1875 Mr - Smith 
died and Messrs. Claflin and Babcock continued the business for a number of 
years, when the latter gentleman retired, Mr. Claflin assuming the entire 
control, assisted by his son, Arthur W. Claflin, and later by his second son, 
William L. Claflin. In 1885 Arthur W. Claflin was admitted as partner, and 
upon his father's death in April, 1886, took entire charge, continuing the 
business until 1890, when his brother, William L. Claflin, was admitted to co- 
partnership, the firm name remaining unchanged. The premises occupied by 
the concern comprise five stories and basement, at Nos: 62, 64 and 66 South 
Main street, in which are situated the wholesale department, while the retail 
store at Nos. $6 and 58 is the largest in the city. This house furnishes com- 
plete outfits for retail apothecaries and a very large business has been done in 
this line. A large and complete stock of drugs and medicines, essential oils, 
dyestuffs, chemicals, chemical glassware, acids, jewelers' supplies, etc., is 
constantly carried; while here can also be found a full line of the most valuable 
patent medicines and pharmaceutical preparations. They have one of the most 
extensive laboratories of any of the wholesale drug houses in the East, the 
entire fifth floor being devoted to this department. The fourth floor contains a 
large stock of drugs and patent medicines in original packages. The third 
floor is filled with glass bottles of every description, ointment boxes, corks, 
etc., while on the second floor is the pharmaceutical stock, liquor room and 
fancy goods department. The offices, salesrooms, order and shipping depart- 
ments are on the first floor, and two telephones give quick communication with 
the numerous local and suburban customers. The retail department is in 



2 I O ADVERTISEMENTS. 



I I Designees 

i i 



R J. GAY & CO., 

MILLING CUTTERS, 



i\ /in Manufactxtbebe 

1 ' OF 



AGENTS FOR 



SEEBOHM & DlECKSTAHL, Dannemora Steel Works, SHEFFIELD, ENGLAND. 



hilling cutters Self Hardening Steel, Best 

Warranted Cast Steel. 




IRREGULAR i OUTLINE, 

, IN BARS AND SHEETS. 

Which can be sharpened with- 
out changing their form. ^IflSPfll Blanks Cut to Dimensions. 



189 and 191 Eddy St., Providence, JR. I. 



BARNARD LUCE, R. W. CROCKER, P. H. SCHOONMAKER, A. M. F. HALL, 

President. Sup't. of ManuPg Dept. Gen. Manager. Treasure! 

THE CROCKER HARNESS CO., 



WHOLESALE MANUFACTUBEBS AND DEALEES IN 




Harness 
and Collars. 

H> HORSE FURNISHING GOODS OF EVERY DESCRIPTION. «K 

MAIN OFFICE AND WORKS AT VINEYARD HAVEN, MASS. 

BOSTON STORE, PROVIDENCE STORE, 

No. 31 FRANKLIN STREET. No. 33 WASHINGTON STREET. 

E. F. Wyer, Manager. W. H. Whittemore, Manager 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 211 

charge of registered pharmacists, and here everything in the line of drugs and 
medicines, whether new or old, can usually be obtained. 

The Clark Manufacturing Company is located on Ashburton street. This 
firm is the only one of the kind in Providence that manufactures this line of 
goods for the trade. The business was established in a small way but has 
increased every year, and at the present time they occupy" a four-story factory 
and three-story store house. The factory is fitted up with all the necessary 
machinery operated by a fifty horse power engine which enables them to turn 
out a large variety of burial caskets, and undertakers supplies. Constant em- 
ployment is given to forty skilled workmen. The officers of the company are 
John L. Clark, president; who is the founder of the business; J. E. Clark, 
vice-president; and Albert H. Clark, treasurer and business manager. 

The Combination Ladder Co., of this city, stands in the foremost rank as 
manufacturers of ladders and kindred articles in New England. C. N. Rich- 
ardson, the proprietor and general manager of the company has a thorough 
experience in every branch of the business, and under his energetic manage- 
ment the company has built up a trade extending throughout the entire United 
States, the new patent fire extension ladders manufactured by the company, 
having achieved a national reputation. The company occupy a three-story 
building, the dimensions of which are one hundred feet by two hundred feet. 
The factory is equipped with all the latest wood working machinery. Besides 
the company specialties which consist of fire extension ladders, extension mill 
trestles for staging purposes, the new circular saw guard, which has sprung 
into instant popularity, fire escape ladders, step ladders, rattan and splint 
chairs, painters' ladders, park settees and many other articles of wooden ware, 
they are interested in models for inventors, interior finish for offices and 
churches, etc. The goods they manufacture are said to be the most perfect in 
the market. They have a large number of wagons which make periodical 
tours through the different New England states, carrying a full assortment of 
samples of goods manufactured, and large sales are effected in this manner. 
Mr. Richardson has by his push and pluck combined with straight forward 
dealing constantly enlarged and developed the business, until, to-day he has 
achieved a national reputation and stands second to no one in the country in his 
line. The safety lock used on the fire extension ladder, so widely known as the 
"Providence tire extension ladder" being of his own invention. His office and 
factory are located at 300 Fountain street, Providence. 

The J. J. Ryder Co., located at 146 Westminster street, Providence, are 
designers, engravers, electrotypers and printers. For the past ten years their 
productions have taken high rank with the best houses in the country, as a result 
of which their trade extends throughout the United States. Their designs 
always show a high degree of originality combined with rare artistic worth. 
Their engraving processes comprehend steel and copper plate, lithograph, 
wood and photo-engraving, including half-tone engraving. Their photo- 
type process is unsurpassed for the reproduction of subjects with photographic 
fidelity and is in general appearance, not unlike a photograph, although 



212 ADVERTISEMENTS, 



Motel (itrard. 



m t tl tl MMMMUMMM t ffll 



Nss. 5 1, 53 as 55 Eddy street, 

PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

This House, % * 

Centrally located, opposite City Hall, on 
Eddy Street, and but two minutes walk 
from m the General Passenger Depot, has 
recently been remodeled, refitted, and new- 
ly furnished throughout, is heated by 
steam and contains all modern conven- 
iences for the comfort of its guests. .'. 

The Table, -* * 

On the European Plan, will be supplied 
with the best the market affords, and 
it shall be our aim to establish the 
"GIRARD" a reputation second to no 
small hotel in the country. 

Respectfully yours, 

fESS BROWN, Prop. 

CLERKS, 

HENRY TINKER, EUGENE CARROLL. 

Private Dini ng Rooms. 

Dining Room Open 
. . Until 12 P. M. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 213 

printed in a printing press. In their printing department they have availed 
themselves of the best machinery. The electrotype foundry which they have 
connected with their establishment rounds out its completeness and enjoys an 
extensive patronage. 

David Burton of North Page street is a dealer in steam, gas and water pipes 
and fittings, and also steam engines and boilers, patent steam pumps, Clarke's 
steam and fire regulators, low water reporters, steam traps, etc., and feed and 
force pumps of all descriptions ; Mr. Burton also furnishes estimates, and gives his 
personal attention to the piping of private houses and public buildings, and 
employs the most skillful artisans in all the work undertaken by him. His con- 
nection with the largest manufacturers in the country enables him to be con- 
tinually supplied with a large and complete stock. 

J. S. Fuller, located at 139 Weybosset street, this city, does all kinds of 
plumbing and gas pipe fitting, and deals in lead pipe, brass and nickle 
plated faucets, etc. All plumbing, and especially sanitary plumbing is always 
done by him in first-class style. To conduct his business in a successful 
manner he employs ten competent assistants. A full line of nickle plated goods 
is constantly kept on hand. Mr. Fuller is sole agent for the state of Rhode 
Island for the Instantaneous water heater. This heats the water as it passes 
through it direct from the main supply. 

The Crocker Harness Company was established in 1884 for the sale of 
harnesses, collars, and horse furnishing goods of every description. A full 
and complete line of carriage robes, blankets, whips, boots, and a fine line of 
light carriages and road wagons are constantly kept on hand. They occupy 
two stores and a basement, each sixteen by eighty-seven feet in dimensions. 
W. H. Whittemore has had charge of the business since it was established here, 
and by his thorough knowledge of the trade has succeeded in building up a large 
and extensive patronage. The company do both a wholesale and retail trade. 
Barnard Luce is president, and A. M. F. Hall is treasurer. The Providence 
office is located at 51 Washington street. The main office and factory are 
located at Vineyard Haven, while a salesroom can be found in Boston at 31 
Franklin street. 

R. A. Melpi, whose premises are located at 164 North Main street, is one of 
the popular custom tailors here, having been established for the last six years. 
He occupies a store measuring 30x40 feet, which is very neat in its arrangement. 
He makes a specialty of first-class tailoring and employs a number of the best 
class of work people, and catering to a first-class patronage only, he naturally 
carries in stock a full line of fine imported pantaloon goods and vestings, also 
broadcloths for dress suits, and suitings and overcoatings of both foreign and 
domestic manufacture. 

The Providence Creamery at 89 and 91 North Main street, the object of 
which was the founding of a depot for milk, plain cream and ice cream at 
wholesale and retail, was established in 1879, being the oldest creamery in the 
state. The quality was such that it soon became to be one of the best appre- 
ciated industries in the city. From small beginnings thirteen years ago it has 



214 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



RHODE ISLAND CEMENT DRAIN PIPE CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

Drain, Sewer, Well and 

Chimney Pipe. 
Artificial Stone Caps 

For Brick Chimneys. 

Lawn Vases, Etc. 






WELL PIPE. 

These Pipes exclude all sur- 
face water, insects, or other 
impurities, and cost less than 
stone. 

Artificial Stone Vases 

for Lawns and Cemeteries. 



We have New Designs for the 
coming season. 



WITH CAP. 

jj^^gr To resemble both Granite 

and Red SatidStone, at less CHAS. GOEN, Agt. 

F. W. Burt, Treas 



than one balf the cost of 
natural stone. 



Office and Works : - 30 Francis Street, PROVIDENCE, R. I. - Near the Depot. 

J, BRIGGS & SONS COMPANY, 



ESTABLISHED 1849. 



INCORPORATED 1890. 



Gold and Silver Platers, 

65 Clifford St., Providence, R. I 



MANUFACTURERS AND DEALERS IN 



JEWELERS' PLATE, WIRE, ETC., ETC., SQUARE, 
FLAT AND FANCY WIRE OF ALL KINDS. 



Gold on tho Side and Gold on tbe Edge Wire. Half Round 
Ring Wire with Gold Soldered Seam, Making it Seamless. 



STRIPED PLATE. 



All Colors and Karats of Flat Plate, any width and thickness desired. 
GOLD, SILVER AND BRASS SOLDERS. In addition to all kinds 
of Plate and Wire used in the manufacture of Jewelry. 



WE MAKE STOCK FOR 



Cane Heads, Umbrella Mountings, Pencil Cases, Watch Cases, Watch Crowns, 
Thimbles, Spectacles and Eye Glass Bows, Diamond Mountings, &c. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 215 

grown to be one of the best equipped places of the kind to be found. Excel- 
lence was its motto and it has been maintained. 

The Star Carpet Cleaning Works, which are located at 25 Calender street, 
was commenced here in 1887. For its operations the works, of which C. J. 
Finley is the sole proprietor, occupy two large rooms, 100x60 feet in measure- 
ment, and these are fully equipped with special machinery, and all suitable 
mechanical contrivances whereby the work is turned out in the most rapid 
manner possible. In fact the work is expedited in such a manner that carpets 
taken one day can be returned, after being thoroughly cleansed, the next day. 
The works have facilities for the cleansing of 5,000 square yards of carpet per 
day. 

The Smithfield Granite Co., of which Almy Mathewson, is the proprietor 
has been established for the last five years, and its successful operation has 
been most beneficial to the building interests of this city and also to that in 
more distant sections of the country. The yard and offices of the company 
are situated at 125 Gaspee street in a most desirable location for the business. 
The yard in itself measures 200 by 100 square feet and employment is given 
thirty to forty skilled workmen in its stone sheds and other departments, one 
of these being equipped with a large forge for the repairing and sharpening of 
tools. While the company make a most important specialty of building work, 
giving particular attention to heavy foundation and building stone work gener- 
ally ; they also do cemetery work as well. 

JohnR. Pearce & Son, dealers in paper stock, cotton and woolen rags, old 
iron and metals, whose place of business is located at 95 to 1 01 Dorrance street, 
was established some twelve years ago by John R. Pearce and in 1891 Fred L. 
Pearce was admitted to the firm. They now occupy a five-story building 58 feet 
by 104 feet. They also are dealers in rubber goods of all kinds. A large and 
extensive trade is carried on by them. All the woolen stock is shipped to the 
woolen manufacturers, and the cotton and rags and paper stock goes to the 
mills to be made into paper. 

J. W. Grant & Co., founded in 1872, the proprietor of the firm being J. 
W. Grant. The house produces a large and most interesting line of jewelry the 
designing and workmanship of which displays rare mechanical skill in execu- 
tion. A specialty of the house is fine rolled plate, solid silver chains and 
charms, which have long since become most popular with the trade. The 
factory comprises two floors measuring 100 by 60 feet each at 25 Calender 
street, which are fully equipped with the latest improved machinery and tools, 
and employs some fifty hands. 

Gannett & Co., succeeded in 1891 the firm of Swarts & Gannett, which was 
formed in 1889. The business is electrical engineering and contracting for arc 
and incandescent lighting plants and electric motors, together with wiring in 
all its branches. Their office is located in the Swarts building, 87 Weybosset 
street, Providence. 

Charles Ft. Moore, about six years ago, established himself at 188 West- 
minster street, Providence, but recently removed to 12 Union street. Although 



2l6 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



t& 



~ CONCRETE 



SUCCESSORS TO 



E. D. SMITH & SON. 



C?. 



The finish and dur- 
ability of our work 
is unsurpassed. . . . 




Pitch, Tar, 

Asphalt and Gravel 

Supplied. 



Concrete Driveways, Side and 

Lawn Walks, Basement Floors, &c, 

Office: Builders and Traders Exchange, 

9 Custom Souse Street, Providence, It. I. 

TELEPHONE CONNECTIONS: Builders and Traders Exchange. 
* — Residence and Yard. 



PURE WATER SUPPLY! 

DELBERT L. BARKER, Contractor. 



ARTESIAN AND 
DRIVEN WELLS. 

Prospecting for Minerals 
with the Diamond Drill. 

Testing. 

For Building, Bridge, 
Pier & Dam Founda- 
tions. 




Shafts for 
Hydraulic Elevators. 

Pumping applian- 
ces, either Hand, 
Steam, Caloric, or 
Wind Power, Fur- 
nished and Set up. 



PROVIDENCE, B. I. 



Office 



9 CUSTOM HOUSE ST., (Builders and Traders Exchange.) 



Shop: 

211 EDDY STREET. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 21? 

of recent origin, the trade which Mr. Moore has built up during that time is 
almost as encouraging as that experienced by business men of longer stand- 
ing. The work manufactured here consists principally of cloth buttons of 
every description, for clothiers, cloak and dressmakers. Also upholsterers' and 
carriage trimmers' buttons, covered tacks and nails. The department for 
dress pleating is always up to the times with all the latest improved machinery 
and the most artistic workmen, and all that naturally goes with a business of 
its kind, such as pinking, sponging, button-holes, stitching, quilting, etc., etc., 
is done in a strictly first-class manner. 

J. William Brady manufactures mattresses of all kinds in great variety, and 
also parlor furniture, the work being done by a force of twenty-three skilled 
artisans. Feathers and bedding are carried in stock, and these are also 
renovated by the latest improved process ; either steam or cold air. Mr. Brady 
has also in his warerooms a fine assortment of brass and iron bedsteads. Mr. 
Brady's store is located at 270 and 272 Broad street opposite Snow street, and 
possesses a large frontage and handsome plate glass show windows. It comprises 
two floors measuring 125 by 70 each, which are fully stocked with a large and 
most comprehensive variety of the goods mentioned above. The house was 
established twelve years ago and has long made a specialty of the manufacture 
of mattresses in which it greatly excels. 

Volney W. Mason & Co. was founded in i860, for the manufacture of 
friction pulleys, hoisting machinery and elevators. Having an experience of 
over thirty years, this firm is one of the best known for this kind of machinery. 
They have built up a trade which extends not only over the United States but in 
Europe and other foreign lands. They furnished all the machinery for hoisting 
cattle at the Brighton abattoirs, near Boston, Mass., also at the great hay 
depot of the New York Central & Hudson River Railroad in New York. 
Wherever the machinery of this firm has been shown, it has received the 
best endorsements of the best engineers. Their factory is located on Lafayette 
street, between High and Washington streets in Providence. 

The Rhode Island Cement Drain Pipe Co. was inaugurated in 1866, F. W. 
Burt being the treasurer and Mr. Goen the agent of the company. Their 
operations consist of the manufacture of drain, sewer, well and chimney pipe, 
lawn vases, artificial stone, chimney caps, well curbs, etc. The plant occupied 
for the manufacture consists of works located at 30 Francis street, on land 
250 by 250 feet in dimensions, upon which are situated a number of buildings, 
each one of which being devoted to a special branch of the manufacture, and 
employing in all a large force of workmen. 

A. C. J. Learned of 5 Charles street in this city, has been established some 
fifteen years and occupies a two-story building one hundred by forty feet. A 
specialty of his being taking large contracts and mill building, also band and 
jig sawing, planing, and all kinds of machine work, and mouldings of every 
description are kept on hand. Employment is given to about one hundred 
hands, and require the use of several teams. All lumber is brought direct 
from lumber countries. Mr. Learned is probably the best known contractor in 



218 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



A. JIXUSON. 



FRED W. FOIiSOM. 



JILL50N & FOLSOM, 

SAIL 
MAKERS. 




Yacht and 
Boat 
Sails a 
Specialty. 



_; ,: 




MANUFACTURERS OF 



Tents, Awnings, Wagon Covers, 
Hammocks, Flags, Etc. . ■ . 

A GOOD STOCK OF SAMPLES TO SELECT FROM CONSTANTLY ON HAND 
AWNINGS TAKEN DOWN AND STORED FOR THE WINTER. 

34 SOUTH WATER STREET, 



Orders Solicited and Promptly Attended to. 
TELEPHONE No. 1529. 



* PROYIDENCE, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 2IO, 

New England, his thorough knowledge of the business, and the reliable manner 
in which his work is performed has secured for him a wide- spread reputa- 
tion. 

T. J. Hamilton, of 56 Union street, is well known as a manufacturer of 
elastic and spring trusses. A large assortment of trusses is kept constantly on 
hand, and he is fully prepared to treat any case that comes to his notice. He 
has also a large variety of spring trusses. His elastic truss can be 
worn day and night without inconvenience to the wearer. The trusses manufac- 
tured by him are made upon scientific principles. He is the sole agent for 
Rhode Island of the new patent elastic truss. Mr. Hamilton has had a long 
experience in the business, and thoroughly understands it. 

The Smith Concrete Co. is an outgrowth of the business established by the 
firm of E. D. Smith & Son, in 1885. The house has gained a wide spread 
reputation for the superior excellence of its work, which includes the con- 
creting of driveways, public and private park walks, lawn walks, basement 
floors, etc. They furnish estimates and contract for this branch of work, 
furnishing the most experienced workmen and the latest improved machines in 
its execution. The company also carry a large stock of pitch, tar, asphalt and 
gravel supplies for the trade, having commodious storage facilities for these sup- 
plies at their large yards on Ridge street. The office of the company is 
situated in the Builders' and Traders 1 Exchange, 9 Custom House street, where 
all orders should be sent. 

Jillson & Folsom, located at 34 South Water street, was established in 1881 
by Mr. Jillson, and in 188.4 Mr. Folsom was admitted, when the firm changed 
to its present title. The special feature of this house is the manufacture of 
sails, but a large trade is carried on in the making of awnings, hammocks and 
flags. They are competent to manufacture anything out of canvas to order 
or for the trade. A full and complete line of awnings, flag and tent poles, 
wagon covers, boat sails, striped awning cloth, etc., is kept constantly on hand 
at low prices. Both members have a thorough knowledge of the business. 

George H. Thurston & Co., established here in 1887, and composed of 
George H. Thurston and Walter I. Thurston, devote their attention to the 
equipment of electric light plants, and it is the largest house devoted to this 
special industry in the state of Rhode Island. The firm occupy the store and 
basement measuring 150 by 40 feet in the large building 59 South Main street, 
where they carry a large and complete stock of electrical apparatus of every 
description. The members of the firm are practical electrical engineers them- 
selves, and introduce their apparatus in the most approved manner with the 
assistance of the most skilled and competent workmen. They do all the 
electrical work for this city, and also for the railroad corporations, and the 
street railway companies. They furnish estimates for the constructing of 
electrical plants of the largest capacities. 

Rathbone & Smith, whose refinery is situated at from 1 to 9 Mathewson 
street, corner of Cove street, has been established for the last four years. The 
firm consists of Julian Rathbone and William A. Smith. Both gentlemen are 



220 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



<3T9 






frEEL, COPPER -PLATE. & L/rrtOGRARH/C ENQRAV/NG. 



pINE letter press printing. We aim to do 
the best work in our lines at lowest prices 
and would be happy to do yours. The En- 
graving and Printing of Catalogues a 
Specialty. No orders too large, none too 
small. Estimates cheerfully furnished. A 
specialty of Half Tone and general Photo- 
Engraving. — Telephone, 13 S7 

BARKER M'F'G. CO., 4- 




MANUFACTURERS OF 



No. 60. 




THE ORIGINAL PATENT STIFFENED AND 
FILLED GOLD THIMBLES. 

SOLID COLD AND SILVER THIMBLES. 

White Stone Ear Drops, Scarf Pins, 
* 4- Studs, Etc., Etc. * * 

38 Friendship 5t., p.o.b x145, PROYIDENCE, R. I. 

WILLIAM BENS, 

MANUFACTURER OF 

m Rolled Gold Plate Bracelets, Scarf 

i||P Pins, Lace Pins, Glove Buttoners, 

and Novelties, i t t % t t i * 



102 FRIENDSHIP ST., PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 221 

favorably known in the business and social circles of this city, and more distant 
localities as well. Possessing unequalled facilities for the most careful refining 
of gold and silver, and also practical assaying, the house has always enjoyed a 
large patronage in this vicinity. 

J. S. Davis and C. W. Davis as a firm was started in 1892, at Providence, 
as a New England Agency for blank books, paper boxes, envelopes, paper 
bags, and manufacturers' products. J. S. Davis was formerly connected with 
the Davis Paper Company, and C. W. Davis was salesman for the same firm. 
The firm are also agents for Yantic Paper Mills, Taylor Manufacturing Com- 
pany, American Paper Pail & Box Company, and many other prominent manufac- 
turers. This firm is the first one of its kind to start in Providence. Their 
trade is wholly wholesale. Their office is located at 26 Wilcox Building. 

Thomas Phillips & Co., of which George R. and George C. Phillips are the 
proprietors, has been in existence nearly a century and is worthy of special 
attention. It was founded in 1804 by Josiah Keene, and conducted by him 
until 1830, and was succeeded by Calder & Phillips. This firm continued 
until 1 $53, and they were succeeded by Thomas Phillips & Co. In 1867 
Thomas Phillips withdrew, and the business has since been conducted by 
George R. Phillips, under the same name. In 1891 George C. Phillips was 
admitted to the firm, and the business was carried on under the old firm name 
of Thomas Phillips & Co., George R. and George C. Phillips being proprietors. 
This is one of the largest and leading establishments of the kind in this country, 
and its history has been an unbroken record of progress. The business now 
comprises the manufacture of lead pipe, sheet lead, and plumbers' supplies. 
Another department consists of the manufacture of light and heavy copper 
work for all uses, — drying machines, slashers, tape dressers, dye kettles, 
vacuum pans, and an apparatus for use in print works, bleacheries, sugar 
refineries, cotton and woolen works, cream tartar works, gluecose works, etc. 
Another department consists of sanitary plumbing. The office and salesroom 
are located at j$, yy and 79 South Main street, while their factory occupies the 
block founded by Benefit, Pike, Traverse and Tockwotten streets. A large 
machine shop is connected with their works, admirably fitted up with all 
improved facilities for carrying on their business. They employ one hundred 
and ninety hands, and all orders are promptly filled. 

Delbert L. Barker is one of the most successful and best known contractors 
for the driving of artesian wells throughout the country. Mr. Barker gives 
particular attention to supplying cities, towns, and villages and also to making 
soundings for building, bridge, pier and dam foundations and shafts for 
hydraulic elevators. He furnishes and sets up pumping appliances for either 
hand, steam, caloric, or wind power, and also deepens dry wells. As we have 
said above his reputation is of the highest order. His office is located at Build- 
er's and Trader's Exchange, Providence. 

Allen's Print Works were originally established in 1830, by Philip Allen & 
Sons, and in 1857 the plant was purchased by Crawford Allen, who continued 
the business until 1871, under the name of the Woonsocket Company Print 



222 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



E. D. CUMMINGS & CO , 

OPTICIANS, 

36 Dorrance Street, PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

2nd door from Westminster St. 



Don't Fail to Try Our Patent Eye Glasses. 
We cut and set *he Glasses in our Spectacles and 
Eye Glasses, and warrant the Cones and Focus 
correct. 

Special Attention given to Repairing. 



JOHN r\d50N, 
Pattern anil Model Manufacturer. 

il IN WOOb 2R MET4L. & 



Particular Attention Given to Helping Inventors. 

Models for any l<ind of Machinery and 

perfecting the same. All kinds of J 

Patentable work perfected. 

No. 121 Dorrance St., Providence, R. I, 



A. P. POSSNER, 

49 Exchange Place, * * * 
PROVIDENCE, R. I. 0ppUnionDepot ' 

Wholesale and Retail Dealer in 

CHOICE AMERICAN, FRENCH and GERMAN 

t GROCERIES, t 

IMPORTED AND DOMESTIC DELICACIES. 

Fine Teas Coffees and Butter 

a Specialty, .... Telephone 69. 



FRED I. ndRCY &■ C2., 

SPec.mcs: MMACTURM 

Acme Lever Button. . . 

Sensible Collar Button. JEWELERS. . . 

95 Pine Street, 

PROVIDENCE, R. I., U. S. A. 

New York Office: 198 BROADWAY. 



JOHN R. PEARCE, 



Fred. L. Pearce. 



JOHN R. PEARCE & SON, 



Cotton and n a n o 
Woolen Rags. UMIK 
Paper Stock. Iirmu ' 



Old Iron 

and 

Metals. 



95 to 101 DORRANCE STREET, 



PROVIDENCE, R, 



William W. Flint. 



Joseph F. Blood. 



FLINT, BLOOD & CO., 
MANUFACTURING JEWELERS. 

RINGS A SPECIALTY. 

s' %■ Established 1869. ^ 

Factory, 94 POINT STREET, 
PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

NEW YORK OFFICE,- 194 Broadway. 

Address all Communications to Factory. 



i R. A. MELFI, * 

The American Tailor. 
Fine Imported and Domestic 

W 00LEN5. 

First-class Tailoring at Popular Prices. 

68 North Main Street, a « « 
@ a a PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



American Ring Traveler Co., 

Makers of 

High Class Spinning and Twisting 



i.i * 



; TUTIU1I 

OF EVERY DESCRIPTION, 

PROVIDENCE, = R. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 223 

Works. In the latter year the present company was incorporated, the owners 
being the heirs of Crawford Allen. The works cover a large area in the 
northern part of the city, the buildings are chiefly erected of brick, are 
thoroughly equipped with the latest improved machinery, are operated by 
steam power, and furnish empJoyment to about three hundred and fifty opera- 
tives. The products are the widely celebrated Allen's Prints, which are the 
most popular calico goods in the Southern and Western States, of any in the 
market. These goods are distributed to the trade in all parts of the country, as 
well as exported, through the selling agents, Lawrence Taylor & Co., of New 
York. The management of the business is vested in the hands of John W. 
Danielson, president; John B. Kelley, treasurer; W. J. R. Phillips, secretary; 
and James D. Thornton, superintendent. 

George A. Peckham, engaged in the preparation and sale of drugs, medi- 
cines and grocers' sundries, was established in 1861, and has since enjoyed an 
annually increasing trade. The premises include two floors, each sixty by one 
hundred twenty-five feet in dimensions. All the medicines and other prepara- 
tions of the house are manufactured under the personal supervision of the pro. 
prietor. Mr. Peckham is an enterprising and progressive business man. He 
began his business career with the Providence Steam Engine Co. and was after- 
wards with B. B. & R. Knight, the great cotton manufacturers. The present 
enterprise is conveniently located at 22 and 24 Peck street. 

Stephen Paine, located at 66 Westminster street, is a manufacturer and 
dealer in optical goods. The premises occupied are neatly fitted up. His 
stock includes spectacles, eyeglasses, opera and marine glasses, telescopes, 
thermometers, etc., in all styles. A line of field and opera glasses are 
imported by him from the best manufacturers. He carries the largest line of 
optical goods that can be found in the city. Employment is given to four 
assistants all of whom are in constant attendance to meet the wants of patrons. 
Special attention is given by Mr. Paine to examining the eye, who is thoroughly 
reliable in this respect, having studied with one of the best professors of a 
medical college in Boston. Having had thirty years experience in this special 
line of trade, he can be depended on as being a thorough optician. 

Edmund Carpenter, for many years has been engaged in handling all 
kinds of eastern, western and whitewood lumber, at both wholesale and 
retail. The business was originally established about fifty years ago by Mr. 
A. Daly, who was succeeded by C. H. & E. Carpenter, and in 1884 the present 
proprietor assumed control. The yards utilized for storage, cover sixty 
thousand square feet of ground, upon which six large sheds are erected. A 
specialty is made in pattern lumber as well as other kinds of fancy woods for 
builders' and manufacturers' uses. 

Mr. Stillman White, in I856 established a business house on Bark street. 
Providence, and to-day his establishment is one of the most prominent in the 
city. At first the business was carried on, on rather a limited scale, but by indus- 
trious working, he became the owner of the present large business house. Mr. 
White makes all kinds of light and heavy brass, bronze and composition castings. 



224 ADVERTISEMENTS. 



T. D. PRATT, 



BlIfffllH « MIIIIHimmi Iff tflffflllllHIfHHtlltllffmilMHIffHIftHWBHItCMlfflflt 



MANUFACTURING 

* JEWELER, 



nmiww fififiiiH ufffffttm nmnm wmim mmm \m\mm mmmn mmmn mmmmmmmwww 



White Stone Work 

A SPECIALTY IN GOLD. 



Work of All Kinds yf/ , ^ 

Made to Order. "'* "'* 



1 .27 Summer Street, 

PROVIDENCE, R. I 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 22 5 

The plant is equipped with all the latest improved machinery and all modern 
appliances. The above named gentleman is also the sole manufacturer of the 
celebrated S. White's lining metal, which is known and acknowledged by all 
business men of the various cities in the United States, to be the best lining 
metal in the market. 

John Mason for forty years has occupied a leading position in the mechan- 
ical circles of Providence. With all necessary facilties, and a long experience 
in the business, Mr. Mason is prepared to make patterns and models for any 
kind of machinery and also to perfect the same on reasonable terms. Mr. 
Mason is everywhere recognized as one of the most expert pattern and model 
makers in the country. The products of the house are sawing and turning, 
square and oval stretchers for oil paintings, draughting squares and drawing 
boards 

The H. W. Hudson Company's merchant tailoring establishment is located 
on the Dorrance street side of the Narragansett Hotel in Providence. This 
company have on hand a fine and selected stock of woolens, worsteds, chev- 
iots, beavers, etc., and all the latest novelties in suitings are always to be 
found at this store. Mr. Hudson, of this company, has had a long experience 
in the business, and his excellent taste and good judgment has won a reputation 
for him second to none in the city. The garments made by the company are 
noted for fine workmanship, fit, finish and quality of goods used. The prices 
are moderate and all patrons are sure to be suited. 

Chambers, Calder & Co., who are engaged as wholesale druggists, occupy 
the entire building located at n and 12 Exchange place, including five floors, 
completely stocked with all kinds of pure drugs, medicines and druggists 1 sup- 
plies for the trade, and makes a specialty of handling acids, chemicals, dye 
woods, extracts, paints, oils, varnishes, window glass, brushes and painters' 
supplies. The trade of the house extends throughout New England. The 
individual members of the firm are R. B. Chambers, Gr. B. Calder, W. C. 
Calder and W. S. Chambers. The two former founded the business in 1853, 
the present firm having been organized in 1890. 

Oliver Johnson & Co. is one of the leading business houses in the city of 
Providence. It was established in 1833 by Oliver Johnson, as a retail drug 
and medicine business, and until 1865 was devoted to the sale of these goods 
only. A five-story building sixty feet square was erected for a factory, which 
is known as the What Cheer Paint Works. The products of the factory are 
King Philip white lead, villa paints, excelsior paints, Geneva green and colors. 
At the warehouse, and salesrooms of the firm, consisting of three large stores, 
each having tour floors, and a basement, is carried a complete stock of every- 
thing pertaining to painters' supplies. The trade of the house extends through- 
out New England. The entire business is managed by B. N. Spink, who is 
well known throughout the trade. 

The E. H. Reynolds Co. engaged as platers of gold, silver and platinum, and 
carry a complete line of flat stock and wire, plain and striped. A great spec- 
ialty is made of stock for watch cases, cane handles, pencil cases, umbrella 



226 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

CEO. H. THURSTON. WALTER I. THURSTON. 

GEO. H. T HURSTON fi (JO. 

Props of Providence Electric Supply Go. 

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERS. 

MANUFACTURERS AND DEALERS IN 

TELEPHONE, ■ TELEGRAPH - AND - ELECTRIC ■ LIGHT ■ SUPPLIES. 



Electric Light Plants and Motors installed by skilled workmen. 

RESIDENCE AND MILL LIGHTING 
A SPECIALTY. 

Private Telephone Lines _^|k^ 

Constructed and Maintained. ~^P 

GAS LIGHTING BY ELECTRICITY, 

BELLS, SPEAKING TUBES, Etc., 
SELF WINDING CLOCKS and WATCHMEN'S CLOCKS. 



59 So. MAIN STREET, 

PROVIDENCE, B. I. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 227 

mountings, etc. Their factory is located at 117 Dorrance street. It is fur- 
nished with all the latest improved machinery, and many hands are constantly 
employed. 

M. M. Inman & Co., which is composed of M. M. Inman and E. D. 
Browne, was established in 1 861 by Serrill Mowery and Gilbert F. Robbins, 
who first located at 4 Washington Row, from which place in 1883 they . were 
compelled to move in order to accommodate their greatly enlarged business to 
their present location, 139 and 141 Westminster street, corner of Dorrance 
street. On removal of this firm in 1883, the title of this company was 
changed to Mowery, Robbins & Co. Mr. M. M. Inman becoming an associate, 
and in 1891 it changed to the present firm of M. M. Inman & Co. The late 
mayor, Gilbert F. Robbins, was a member of the original firm. Here they 
occupy two commodious and well lighted floors in a four-story brick building. 
In addition to dealing in ready made clothing, they also sell a superior quality 
of tailor made clothing to the great satisfaction of their numerous patrons. 
The firm is composed of M. M. Inman and E. D. Browne, both gentlemen of 
business ability and thorough knowledge of their trade. With such exper- 
ienced management, ample facilities, and a large stock, it is easy to account 
for the prominent success the house has attained. 

The Household Sewing Machine Co. was incorporated in August 1882, and 
purchased the plant of the Providence Tool Co., where were made the first 
Household Sewing Machines. This company operate two extensive plants, the 
main one on Wickenden street, where the machine and iron work is made 
together with job work of various kinds ; and the other on Crary and Langley 
streets, which is devoted to cabinet work of great variety. The former plant 
covers an entire block 250 feet on Wickenden and South Main streets, and 150 
feet on Farthing and Cent streets, upon which is erected a five-story brick 
building. The cabinet work plant is embraced in a four-story brick building 
fifty by one hundred and twenty-five feet in dimensions, and a number of 
smaller structures, covering in all about forty thousand square feet of ground. 
The whole plant furnishes work for some four hundred skilled workmen. 
Thousands of the machines produced here: are in use throughout the United 
State and the British Provinces ; they are also largely exported to foreign 
countries. The officers of the company are Nicholas Sheldon, acting presdent; 
G. H. Dart, treasurer and Geo. H. Newhall, manager, all well known. The 
company has offices in New York, Chicago and Boston. 

J. E. Crandall, engaged in the manufacture of light carriages, was estab- 
lished thirty-five years ago, and since that time a trade has grown up with the 
leading business cities throughout New England. The help engaged averages 
fifteen men, who turn out a large amount of work annually. The spacious 
apartments are located on the corner of Worcester and Union streets in this city, 
and comprise a large building three stories in height, covering an area of one 
hundred by forty feet. The first floor contains the office, repository, black- 
smith and woodworking departments. The secondfloor devoted to the trim- 
ming shop and storage of carriages, while the third floor is given up to paint- 



228 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

THE OLD RELIABLE AND POPULAR . . . . 






CLOTHING 



HOUSE, 



OF 



M. * M. » IMAM t CO., 

139 & 141 Westminster St., 
27 & 29 Dorrance St., 

* * * PROVIDENCE, R. I. * * * 

Are headquarters for Mens, Boys', Youths' and Children's 
Clothing in all the latest styles and designs, and we are 
the only clothing house in Rhode Island that sell .: 

First-Class Tailor Made Clothes, 

(fit and style guaranteed) for just one-half price of any 
tailor in this city. Also we are Sole Agents for the .-. 

CELEBRATED WORLD REKOWNED FIRST-CLASS TAILOR MADE 
GOODS OF THE STEIN-BLOCK CO. MAKE OF HEW YORK. 



ALSO HEADQUARTERS FOR 



Hats, Boots and Shoes. 



M. M. INMAN & CO. 

M. M. INMAN. E. D. BROWNE. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 229 

ing. In this factory any pattern or style of carriage is made to order at short 
notice. 

The Woodward Enterprise Manufacturing Company, located at the corner 
of Sabin and Calender streets are engaged in the manufacture of fire escapes, 
fixed ladders, tree boxes and are the only company that manufacture the new 
combined wire and picket fencing. Their factory is fully equipped with all 
the latest machinery and constant employment is given to a large number of 
experienced hands. They are fully prepared to furnish fences of any height 
and strength from one to seven feet, and also to make an estimate for any kind 
of work done in their line, and make contracts to furnish posts and fencing. 
All goods are made from machinery of their own invention ; they use galvanized 
wire only, and guarantee all their work to be of the first quality both in work- 
manship and material, cedar being the wood largely used. Robert Woodward, 
the treasurer, gives his personal attention to the supervision of the factory. 

E. D. Cummings & Co., of 36 Dorrance street, dealers in spectacles, eye- 
glasses, and a general line of optician's goods, was established in 1862 by G. N. 
Cummings, who conducted the business until 1874 when ne was succeeded by 
the present firm. The premises occupied are neatly arranged, and contain 
a full line of spectacles, eyeglasses, opera and field glasses, telescopes, etc. 
of the best makes. A patent eyeglass is made by them of which they are the 
sole proprietors. All oculists 1 prescriptions are carefully put up, and they fit all 
eyes free of charge, and special attention is given to repairing. 

The Prophet Spring, located on Mowry's Hill in the town of Johnson, Rhode 
Island, has gained an enviable local reputation. E. E. Drake is the pro- 
prietor of the spring and has an office at 41 Dorrance street. The water from 
this spring is absolutely pure, and as a table water or for general domestic use 
it has no superior. An analysis of this water has been made by Prof. Calder, 
and he endorses it as being a very pure water. The water is taken direct from 
the spring and put in barrels and demijohns and is sold in any quantity that may 
be desired. Teams are in constant use to supply the trade both for hotels, res- 
taurants and families. Since this spring has been brought into notice, a large 
trade has been established. 

Drake's Local Express is one of the oldest in the business having been 
established since 1871. Expressing of a general character is performed by him 
in a satisfactory manner. All orders are promptly attended to, as seven teams 
are in constant use. Particular attention is paid to the transportation of bag- 
gage, only experienced and competent men employed. The office is at 41 
Dorrance street, and has telephone connection. 

James A. Charnley, located at 118 Dorrance street, founded the business in 
1872, and his is the headquarters for fancy figured flat stock which is used in 
the manufacture of buttons, bar pins, bangle and bugle bracelets, etc. The 
premises used by him are one hundred and twenty-five by forty feet and con- 
tain all the improved machinery, and a large number of hands is employed. 
He is also maker of figured and ball wire, and carries a stock of fifty designs of 
flat stock, among which may be mentioned nugget, alligator, sandblast and 



230 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 




NEW PATENT WHIP HOIST 



VOLNEY W. MASON & CO., 



Manufacturebs op 



Patent Friction Pulleys, 

FRICTION CLUTCHES, 

For connecting Shafting and Gearing. 

HOISTING MACHINERY AND ELEVATORS. 
PROVIDENCE, R. L, U. S. A. 



-#~ 



COMBINATION LADDER CO., 

PROVIDENCE, R. I. 



. . Builders of Fire Extension 

. Ladders and Ladders of every 

description. . . , 



C. N. RICHARDSON, - PROPRIETOR. 



-#~ 



THE AMERICAN TOOL & MACHINE CO., 

ENGINEERS, FOUNDERS AND MACHINISTS. 

ESTABLISHED 1848. INCORPORATED 1864. 

84 KINGSTON ST., BOSTON, MASS. 




manufacturers of Turret and Fox Speed Lathes, Leather Splitting Machines (Belt Knife), 
Shafting, Hangers and Pulleys, Centrifugal Sugar Machinery and Hydro Extractors, General Machinery, 
Foundry and Mill Work. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 23 1 

straw patterns. He also manufactures metal millinery goods, and figured 
sheet metal. It is one of the oldest established houses in this line in the city 
and is a thoroughly reliable one to deal with. 

B. H. McCabe has been engaged in japan enamelling here in this city for 
the last sixteen years and was located at 119 Pine street for eleven years of this 
time, when he removed to his present site, 81 Friendship street. Here he occu- 
pies two large floors, measuring 40 by 40, each of which is subdivided into 
compartments; employing in all some fifteen skilled workmen. The work in 
hand consists of the skillful japan enamelling of tin, brass, copper, and othe 
metals of all descriptions. A specialty is made of jewelry and in this work 
alone Mr. McCabe has gained a high reputation. 

J. Briggs & Sons Co., located at 65 Clifford street, was established in 1849, 
but was made a stock company in 1890, with the following officers : Jeremiah 
Briggs, president; Charles Briggs, vice president; and George Briggs, secre- 
tary and treasurer. They are engaged as manufacturers and dealers in 
iewelers' plate, square, flat and fancy wire of all kinds, gold, silver, and brass 
solders, and manufacture stock especially adapted for cane-heads, pencil-cases, 
watch cases, thimbles, spectacles and^eyeglass bows, etc., occupying two floors, 
each being one hundred by forty feet, where employment is given to a number 
of hands. Their factory is fully supplied with all the necessary machinery that 
is required. The trade is wholly with manufacturers and the goods are sold in 
a rough state to finishers. Having excellent facilities they are enabled to make 
over two thousand patterns of fancy wire which are far beyond competition in 
quality and finish. 

The Langelier Manufacturing Company, of which A. T. Langelier is presi- 
dent and treasurer, and A. J. Langelier, his son, superintendent and manager, 
was established about seven years ago, and from the start tne enterprise has 
been a positive and permanent success. This company, located at 6j and 69 
Clifford street, are large builders and designers of special machinery and tools 
for different branches of manufacture. These will include multiple drilling 
machines for wood or metal, upright drills, metallic tip and needle machines, 
lock-nut, reducing, swedging and hammering machines, and also jewellers' and 
opticians 1 machines and tools. They make many special machines and tools 
which are original with themselves, and which are not made by other manufac- 
turers. Among these is their special No. 2 Multiple Drilling Machine, which 
fills a long felt want for drilling a number of holes, differing in diameter, and 
true in their relative position in one operation, without a jig being clamped to 
the work and in the time previously taken to drill one. Other specialities of 
the company are power presses, ball tools, ball rolling, reducing machines, 
solder cutters, jewellers 1 drills, etc., particular attention being given to accurate 
work of all kinds. The company occupy a floor 36 by 100 feet in measurement 
at the location indicated above, which is fully equipped, and employ fifteen to 
twenty skilled workmen among whom are electrical and mechanical experts. 

J. M. Westmacott & Co. and H. A. Freeman & Co., who represent two very 
important industries at 81 Friendship street, manufacture plateis, melters, 



232 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



THE NORTON DOOR CHECK & SPRING CO, 



JAMES P. FLYNN, Pres.; CHARLES S. PENHALLOW, Treas. 
Office: 505 Sears Building. 



The door check and spring shown in the accompanying cut is really a triumph of me- 
chanical genius and the most perfect practical appliance for the purpose ever devised. 




Briefly, the apparatus consists of a cylinder, piston, sprinsr, and self-adjusting valve, the 
whole provided with suitable brackets and adapted to be attached to the top part of a door 
and the frame over the door. In it are combined two opposing powers — the spring, for 
closing the door (drawing with greatest power when nearest closed), and the check, or 
cushioning of the piston on air, which brings the door to a momentary pause near the jamb, 
then quietly and surely closing and latching it by the operation of the spring, the operation 
being regulated by the automatic valve, which permits the air to enter the cylinder while 
opening the door, and while closing exhausts the air more or less as the force exerted on the 
door to close it is greater or less. The parts of the device are so arranged together that 
the greater the force exerted to close the door the greater the resistance offered ; conse- 
quently no slam or jar can occur. "Of all the appliances ever designed for this purpose the 
Norton Door Check and Spring is the only one that has actually succeeded. Nothing equals 
it for the noiseless closing of doors and the prevention of glass-breaking, and every hotel, 
car, steamboat, business house, residence, church, theatre, hospital, public building and 
office door should be equipped with it. The Norton Door Check & Spring Company was 
incorporated in 1881, capital stock $200,000; board of directors — James P. Flynn, presi- 
dent ; Col. Charles R. Codman, Frank Wood, Russel Gray and Charles S. Penhallow, 
treasurer, all of Boston. The office is situated in the Sears Building, and the corporation 
does a large and growing business, selling in all parts of the world. London, England, is 
the great distributing point for European countries, and sends out thousands of door checks 
yearly to France, Spain, Italy, Russia, Egypt, Norway, Australia, etc, while the Boston 
office is kept busy supplying the United States, Mexican and South American orders. The 
vast fourteen-story Ames building is fitted throughout with this time-saving, noise-prevent- 
ing device. Also the steamers of the Old Colony S. S. Co. Sales are effected through 
agents. Send for circulars to above address. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 233 

annealers, blowers-out, jewellers' blow pipes, soldering and flushing irons, and 
in fact all kinds of jeweler's findings, for which the firm have a large trade in all 
the large jewelry manufacturing centres of the country. J. M. Westmacott 
of the firm is a most practical man and has been engaged in this business for a 
long number of years, and the boilers-out and annealers made by this firm are 
constructed from his original ideas. The firm of H. A. Freeman & Co. are 
workers of sheet metal, iron, tin, brass, and copper, and make ventilation and 
furnace piping a specialty, and are also manufacturers of the Acme Rug Tuft- 
ing Machine and the Acme Can Opener, both specialties which have become 
popular with the trade. 

William Bens, located at No. 102 Friendship street, makes a specialty of the 
manufacture of bracelets in rolled gold plate, and has a trade for his pro- 
ductions among the wholesale jewelry houses throughout the United States. 
The premises occupied by Mr. Bens consist of a plant 70 by 40, located as 
above, which is fully equipped with everything necessary in a large manufactur- 
ing jewelry business. Mr. Bens is also a large manufacturer of scarf pins, lace 
pins, glove buttoners, and numerous other novelties for which he has a large 
trade. The business was established some two years [ago, and is one of the 
most successful in its operations in the city. 

William H. Miller & Sons are blacksmiths and do machine and tool forgings 
of all kinds, building work, etc., being located at 194, 196 and 200 Eddy street. 
In the line of general blacksmithing, machine and tool forging, etc., none in 
this city or state maintain a higher reputation for excellent work than this firm. 
They are also manufacturers of Miller's carriage shaft or thill supporters, with 
iron socket at top, which takes the nut or bolt which passes through the whifiie- 
tree and cross bar holding up shaft when carriage is not in use, which is con- 
ceded to be the most perfect, effective and altogether superior device for the 
purpose intended on the market. It is simple, neat and handy and notably 
cheap, 25 cents each or five for a dollar, and is rapidly growing in favor all 
over the country. The Messrs. Miller have a spacious and well equipped shop, 
six fires, four trip hammers, two milling machines, and two cutting-off 
machines being in operation here that will cut from 1-4 inch in diameter to five 
inches or 3 1-2 square, while they are prepared to cut by machine, blanks of any 
desired length at short notice, eighteen skilled workmen being employed. 
Blacksmithing and jobbing of every description are executed and machine and 
tool forgings are turned out at short notice, while all classes of building work 
in this line are attended to in the most expeditious manner. The firm keep on 
hand a large stock of picks, tongs, turning tools, dies, hubs and cutter plates 
which are milled to the right bevel and also milled on the face all ready for 
patterns, they also have jack dies, plungers, holders, plumbers' and pipers', 
sconps, etc., also Jessop's annealed tool steel, and all orders will receive prompt 
attention. This business was established in May, 1866, by Crowell & Miller, 
who were succeeded by Miller & Sisson, and then by William H. Miller & 
Co., and later came into sole control of William H. Miller, who in 1887, took 
into partnership his sons, J. W. Miller and W. F. Miller. Mr. Miller, the 



234 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



George B. Appleton & Co., 

Importers and Dealers in Finest Grades of 

XT' <*>• 

A.ND L/tfGEST AND /HOST COMPLETE LifiE OF 

FISHING * TACKLE. 

TO BE FOUND IN NEW ENGLAND. 



KODAKS FROM $6.00 TO $65.00. 



1 I, MM & CD. 



304 Washington St , 

Second door north of Old South Church, 

BOSTON, MASS. 



READ .... 

w mmm w— WMW MWl 

PUBLISHED BY 

HAGER & HANDY, 

BOSTON, - - MASS. 



MAGUIRE & O'HERON, 






GRANITE 



DEALERS. 



EAST MILTON, MASS. • * * 



Estimates given on all kinds of Monumental and 
Cemetery Work. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 235 

elder, was born in Swansea, Mass., and has resided in Providence some forty 
years, his sons being natives of this city. 

The Barker Manufacturing Company, located at 38 Friendship street, 
are the manufacturers of their original patent stiffened and filled gold thim- 
bles and other products as well. The business of the Barker Manufacturing Com- 
pany . succeeds that of an old firm which was founded some forty years ago, 
and the house has always maintained a high position in the trade. The present 
company was incorporated March 17, 1891, with Wm. L. Lowell as president; 
J. H. Green, treasurer; and S. A. Barker, secretary and manager. The com- 
pany have made a specialty of the manufacture of thimbles for the last thirty 
years, and beside the manufacture of their patented stiffened and filled gold 
thimbles, they also produce solid gold and silver thimbles, white stone ear drops, 
scarf pins, studs, and other specialties of a like kind, for which they have a 
large trade among the leading wholesale dealers throughout the country. 

G. B. Darling, whose finely equipped lapidary is situated at 109 Friendship 
street, is one of the oldest and most experienced lapidarians in the city, being 
engaged in this work since 1852. In i860 he formed a co-partnership with 
Mr. Atkinson, the firm being known to the trade as Atkinson & Co. until 1864 
when the partnership was dissolved upon the retirement of Mr. Atkinson from 
the business. The old quarters were occupied by Mr. Darling until 1874, when 
a removal was necessitated by the largely increased business, and the present 
site was fitted up to meet the demands made upon him. The premises occu- 
pied at the location indicated above are excellently arranged, the lapidary 
being the best equipped in important details in the city, and therefore possesses 
the best possible facilities for the execution of the best order of work. The 
most careful attention is given by Mr. Darling to special orders from the trade, 
in the cutting, grinding, and polishing of all kinds of precious stones. 

A. P. Possner, of 49 Exchange place, this city, established the business some 
eight years ago on Westminster street, moving from there to High street, and 
from there to his present location. His stock includes everything in fancy and 
staple groceries, best brands of flour, teas and coffees direct from China and 
Japan, canned goods, bakers' materials, etc., all of which are the purest and 
best that can be obtained. To meet the wants of his patrons in a prompt man- 
ner, five competent assistants are employed and two teams are used to deliver 
all orders both in and out of the city. The premises occupied comprise a store 
and basement, 25 by 100 feet in dimensions, conveniently arranged. 

H. E. Le Valley, dealer in all kinds of musical instruments, books, strings, 
sheet music, and everything in the musical line, and publisher of piano, banjo 
and guitar music is located at 20 Aborn street, where for the past eight years 
he has catered to the wants of the musical people of Providence with success 
and general satisfaction. The Victor guitar supporter and arm rest, an inven- 
tion of Mr. LeValley's, supplies a long felt want and is in great demand. Mr. 
LeValley is a successful teacher of the banjo and guitar, while his wife who 
has composed some excellent music for the piano is also a teacher of that instru- 
ment. 



236 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

C. W. Long. W. L. Saundees. 

DESIGNEES AND MANtTFACTUEEBS OP 

Statuary, Monuments, Tablets, Head-stones, Curbing, Posts, 

AND ALL KINDS OF CEMETERY WORK, IN ALL OF THE 

Foreign and American Granites and Marbles. 

All work set in cemeteries under our own personal supervision, and guaranteed 

satisfactory. 

Works at South Qziincy, Mass., - Near Quincy Adams Depot 

James Mcgillvbay. Feed. L. Jones. 

McGILLVRAY & JONES, 

MANUPACTUEEES OP 

QUINCY *"<■ «■»»• NEW ENGLAND GRANITE, 

Polished Monuments, Headstones, &c. 

The Best of Stock and Workmanship Guaranteed. 

Granite Works, - - Quincy, Mass. 



JOHN F. KEMP, 



Q? 



Engineer 

and Machinist. 



Manufacturer and Dealer in. 



GRANITE TOOLS. 82 ^ot'th'otincy. 



QUINCY MARBLE & GRANITE WORKS, 

McQRATH BROS. Established 1854. 

A Large Stock of Finished MONUMENTAL WORKS in Granite and Marble. 

~*S Directly on the line of the Old Colony R. R. at &- 
Quincy Adams Station, - - Quincy, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 237 



NEWPORT 



THE whole civilized world is so familiar with this famous resort that to 
say anything concerning it is a work of supererogation. Its early set- 
tlement is contemporaneous with that of other portions of Aquidneck 
(now Rhode Island) , and was the result of a "hierarchal turbulance " devel- 
oped in Boston in 1637, led and championed by Mrs. Ann Hutchinson, who, in 
March, 1638, was exiled by the church for her antinomian sentiments. This 
sect of antinomians to which she belonged at that time numbered seventy-five in 
all the towns of Massachusetts, and two months prior to the banishment of Mrs. 
Hutchinson, had been required to deliver up their arms and ammunition before 
the thirteenth of that month (January, 1638), unless they would "acknowledge 
their sin" before two magistrates. Even before this time, in the fall of 1637, 
the followers of the persecuted sect, foreseeing the signs of the times, had been 
looking for a place of refuge without the bounds of the established New Eng- 
land colonies, and had appointed Dr. John Clarke, then (in November, 1637), 
just arrived from England, to " pitch " upon a place of retreat. His own state- 
ment of the course pursued is : < 'By reason of the suffocating heat of the sum- 
mer before, I went to the north, but the following winter proved so cold that 
we were forced in the spring to make towards the south. 

" So having sought the Lord for direction, we all agreed that while our 
vessel was passing about a large and dangerous cape (Cape Cod) we would 
cross over by land, having Long Island and Delaware Bay in our eie for the 
place of residence ; so to a town called Providence we came, which was begun 
by one Roger Williams, ... by whom we were courteously and lovingly 
received, and with whom we advised about our design. 

" He readily presented two places before us in the same Narragansett bay — 
the one on the mainland called Sowams, the other Aquedneck (now Rhode 
Island). We inquired whether they would fall in any other patent. ... He 
told us that the way to know was to have recourse to Plymouth ; so, our vessel 
as yet not having come about, and we thus blockt up, the company determined 
to send to Plymouth and picht upon two others together with myself, requesting 
also Mr. Williams to go to Plymouth to know how the case stood; so we did. 

4 « The Plymouth magistrates informed us that 'Sowams was the garden of 
their patent and the flour in the garden. 1 And when asked ' whether they laid 
claim to the islands in the Narragansett Bay, and that in particular called 
Aquednecke,' they all with cheerful countenance made us answer: It was in 
their thoughts to have advised us thereto, and if the Provident hand of God 



2 3 8 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 




CHARLES JOHNSON & BROTHERS, fl 



Monumental 
and Building . . . . 

Quarry Street, 



«- -*- -*- 



GRANITE. 

Quincy, Mass. 



W. R. FEGAN. JOHN C. BALLOTJ. 

FEGAN & BALLOU, 

Successors to Henry Barker & Sons. 
Established 1865. 

wholesale manufacturers of 

tag! i Bamnisnd Bruits, 

Steam Polishers and Granite Workers. 
Monumental and Cemetery Work of all 
descriptions executed in the best style from 
Dark Blue and Medium Quincy Granite. 

< aps, Dies and Second Bases Cut and 
Polished to suit customers. Sawed and 
Polished Slabs all sizes constantly on hand. 
Quarry and Polishing Mills, 

P. 0. Address, Lock Box, 49, * QUINCY, MASS. 




QUARRY ST. 



j. a. McDonnell. 



t. McDonnell. 



M c DONNELL BROTHERS, 



WHOLESALE DEALERS IN 



Dark Blue and Cray 



ALSO CEMETERY WORK 
OF ALL KINDS 
A SPECIALTY. 



4* 



Quincy Granite, 



SUPERIOR WORKMANSHIP GUARANTEED. POLISHING DONE IN FIRST- 
CLASS STYLE. ALL ORDERS PROMPTLY ATTENDED TO. 

G^TJiixrcrsr, :m:^ss. 

JOHN FALLON & SONS, 

MANUFACTURERS AND DEALERS IN 

Marble and Granite 



QUARRY STREET, * * * QUINCY, HASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 239 

should pitch us thereon they should look upon us as free, and as loving neigh- 
bors and friends should be assistant unto us. 

" So we humble thanked them and returned with that answer: So it pleased 
the Lord by moving the hearts of the natives, even the chief est thereof, to pitch 
Us thereon. ... So that having bought them off to their full satisfaction we 
have possessed the place ever since." 

Through the influence of Roger Williams, a deed was soon obtained of the 
island of Aquidneck, with a right to "grasse" on other islands and shores of 
the bay. As soon as the deed was obtained, they commenced a settlement at 
Poeasset, between the cove on the northeast part of the island and the Great 
Pond to the northwest of the same, in the (now) town of Portsmouth. 

There was a broad distinction between the primal fundamental ideas of the 
colony at Providence and that at Rhode Island. On the island the intent was to 
form a democratic Christian commonwealth, where every follower of Christ 
might worship God freely, according to the dictates of his own conscience. The 
intent at Providence was to establish a community where every man, Jew or 
Gentile, Christian or heathen, might worship according to the teachings of his 
mind, and in civil government to be ruled by the principles of democracy. A 
careful consideration of this distinction will explain some variance in the course 
of the two colonies before they finally united in adopting the principle of Roger 
Williams. 

It is evident that even at this time, before the colonists had been a year upon 
the island, they had a far more complete system of civil government than was 
attained at Providence at a much later date. The settlement had grown much 
faster; it bad more trade, and had commenced, in an humble way, the business 
of navigation ; at least, two " shallops" were built or building at that. time. 

Within a year or thereabouts of its foundation, viz. : on the 28th day of 
April, 1639, the following article was drawn: "Poeasset, on the 28th of the 2d, 
1639. It is agreed by us whose hands are underwritten to propagate a Planta- 
tion in the midst of the island or elsewhere ; and doe engage ourselves equall 
charges, answerable to our strength and estates in common ; and that our deter- 
mination shall be by major voice of Judge and elders ; the Judge to have a 
double voice." 

This article was drawn up with a view to a settlement at Newport, and it is 
noticeable that all the members of the Poeasset government took part in what 
may almost be termed the transference of the colony to the latter place. Further, 
when they removed to Newport they carried with them their records up -to 
that date. 

In 1645 an Indian war broke out, which was only quelled by the negotia- 
tions of Roger Williams ; troubles with the Dutch were increasing ; and finally 
after the triumph of the English parliamentary party in the surrender of 
Charles I., Newport and Portsmouth reluctantly organized with Providence and 
Warwick under the charter of Providence Plantations, in May, 1647. 

After the union of the colonies in 1654, Newport continued in its course of 
development in trade, and also in the settlement of outlying provinces. In 



240 . ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Geo. H. Mitdjcoclj 5" Co., 

SQCCe^or<5 to CfmrcfcUl &" Httcijcocl^, 

CONTRACTORS for Knn/m /v .^-^-^Ht 



ODGH 



Odincy fi 
* u 



quincy, mass. " uRANITE. 

GRANITE TOOLS. * i 

Alexander Clark:, 
-»S All Kinds of Granite Tools, 8*- 

Best of stock Used, Good Workmanship Guaranteed. 

Shop at Thos. W. Smith's, Polishing Mill, 

138 Water St., - Quincy, Mass. 



D. HAYES & SOUS, 

WHOLESALE AND RETAIL DEALERS IN 

QUINCY * AND * EASTERN * GRANITE. 

West Quincy, Mass. 

William Callahan, &, Ik 

MANUFACTURER OF 

MONUMENTAL WORK 

from all grades of QUINCY 

and other GRANITES, 

Send for Estimates. QUINCY, MASS 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 24I 

trade it had established relations with the Dutch, the other English colonies of 
North America, the Barbadoes Islands and Jamaica. The outlying settlements 
of Newport extended over to the mainland to the westward, and it is to be 
remembered in accounting for the large population of Newport in early days, 
that the inhabitants of the present towns of North and South Kingston claimed 
and exercised the privileges of, and were accounted as, citizens of Newport for 
many years. 

In 1743 the interest of the settled part of Newport had become so far sepa- 
rated from that of the "Middle Woods" in the north part of the town, that the 
latter was set off into a separate town as Middletown. The growth of the town 
now seemed to reach a point as great as the colony could sustain, and for 
years its population remained in the neighborhood of 6,500. In 1758, 
the first newspaper published in the colony — the Newport Mercury — 
was published in this town. After this date, and especially after the peace of 
1763, the town again rapidly increased in wealth and population, till, in 1774, 
its inhabitants numbered over 9,000. The townsmen still resolutely 
maintained their opposition to the acts of the British revenue authorities in 
opposition to the colonies charter, and after a long course of minor conflicts, 
on July 19, 1769, the British revenue sloop "Liberty" was destroyed by the 
citizens in Newport harbor. This conduct of the Newport citizens led to their 
being more closely watched than the other parts of the colony, and, consequently, 
when the Revolutionary war broke out a large British naval force lay in the 
harbor, and the citizens with their whole town under the guns of the hostile 
fleet, were practically bound hand and foot, and unable to manifest their sympa- 
thy with the patriot cause. 

In 1776 a British army, under General Clinton, took possession of Newport 
and held it for three years. This occupation was almost the death-blow to New- 
port; great numbers of its wealthier people fled to places of safety on the main- 
land. Oct. 25, 1779, the British army evacuated the island, after having prac- 
tically wrecked the town during their stay. After the war was over a vigorous 
attempt was made to revive the town, and it was incorporated into a city, the 
first in the state, in 1784. But the community had been too much enfeebled to 
live as a city, and the paper money issue of the state struck still another blow 
at it; consequently, in 1787, it became necessary to surrender the charter and 
fall back into a town organization. 

From this time for fifty years the town remained nearly stationary, the in- 
crease of the population being only from 6,176 in 1790, to 8,333 in 1840. After 
this latter period the growth of the present Newport, — the fair city of villas 
and summer dwellings by the sea — commenced. 

In 1853 it had become sufficiently strong to again attempt a city form of 
government, and has since been growing till from a population of about 
9,600, it has grown to have now nearly 20,000 permanent inhabitants. 
It is a city unique and unapproachable by any other municipal com- 
munity on the continent. With an unrivaled climate, delightfully cool 
on the hottest summer day, and having the frigid blasts of winter tempered by 



242 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 



the warming influences of the Gulf stream, there is no reason why it should not 
become a favorite winter as well as summer place of residence. Year by year 
its permanent residents are increasing, and many visitors who spend the sum- 
mer here conclude that they can find no pleasanter place to pass the winter, and 



so remain. 



C. H. HARDWICK & CO., 



GRANITE 
QUARRY. 



-* 



H. E. HARDWICK. 

C. THEO. HARDWICK. 



ESTABLISHED 1848. 




Hammering - and - Polishing - Works 

Granite Furnished the Trade. 

In Dark Blue, of Medium and Light Shades. 
. . . Dark Quincy 'Granite a Specialty. 



QUINCY, 



MASS 



HTSTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 243 



QUINCY. 



A PLACE so intimately identified with the early history of the republic 
would seem to require no lengthy description here. Quincy has 
erected a monument to her name and fame as enduring as her 
granite hills in the Adamses — statesmen and patriots, whose characters were 
typical of the solid blocks which have since their day entered so largely into 
all noble structures throughout the land. This grand" old place has the proud 
distinction of being the birthplace of John Adams, second president of the 
United States, and John Hancock, president of the illustrious Congress of 1776, 
the first signer of the Declaration of Independence, and the first governor of 
Massachusetts under the constitution. It is also the birthplace of John Quincy 
Adams, sixth president of the United States, and of Edmund Quincy, the 
patriot. In Revolutionary reminiscences there are few places in the state to 
compare with Quincy, and many old landmarks still remain as reminders of the 
struggle for independence and the sterling patriotism of those who led the 
movement. Among these are the houses in which Hannah Adams and John 
Quincy Adams were born. The former is near the railroad on the left, in 
going south, and the latter near Penn's Hill. Here also is the famous ancestral 
estate of the Quincy family, one of the most beautiful and well tilled farms in 
New England. The Adams Temple, erected in I828 at a cost of $40,000, and 
the gift of John Adams, our second president, contains a fine marble monu- 
ment erected to the memory of the donor and his estimable wife. The great 
patriot and statesman also gave a lot to the town for an academy and also his 
library of more than 2,000 volumes. 

The city is delightfully located, both for summer pleasures and permanent 
homes, has excellent streets shaded with noble elms, fine schools, churches of 
all denominations, first-class boarding accommodations, and its municipal govern- 
ment is of the best. Its early history is one so full of interest as to even attempt 
an outline of it here would be an impossibility. Volumes have been devoted to 
that subject already with not altogether satisfactory results. The territory 
inclosed within the limits of Quincy was former iy the first and north parish in 
the ancient town of Braintree, and included what was called "Dorchester 
Farms" and a point of land called Squantum, between Quincy and Dorchester 
bays, once the residence of Chickataubut, a celebrated Indian chief. This 
territory, in common with that of Braintree and Randolph, belonged to 
Boston until the incorporation of Braintree as a town in 1640. When this 
territory formed a part of Braintree it was the first portion settled, and it was 



244 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

in. gpji $ goty 



<g^>- — 

QUARRYMEN AND DEALERS IN 



-f Rough * and * Hammered * Granite, 4- 

* Post Office Box 61, & 

West Quincy, Mass. 



W. T. SHEA, PROPRIETOR. 



-+ MQNAHAN & BREEN +- 



MANUFACTUBEBS AND WHOLESALE DEALEES IN 

ALL THE NEW ENGLAND GRANITES, 

Monuments, Head-Stones, SS'K ^ 

* # ESTIMATES GIVEN ON ALL KINDS OF GRANITE WORK 

SATISFACTION GUARANTEED. WEJT QUINCY, l\AJJ. 

P. F. HUGHES & SON, 

-" . -\ "- 

I olispers of rffeonuments, Head-stones, (tablets, Qlc, 



iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiniiiiiiiiiiiiiiininiiiiingniiiniiauMiiiiiin 



Furnace Ave., We<$t <®atncv„ ?\asv 

ABEROGWEN MONUMENTAL WORKS, 

JOHN R. WALTERS, PROP. 

50 Copeland St., - QUINCY, MASS. 

Artistic Memorials Cut to Order, * * 

* From all Grades and Colors of Granites. 

Order direct from the Manufacturer. Will call with Designs and 
give Estimates when Desired. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 245 

called Mount Wollaston, in honor of Captain Wollaston, one of the first settlers 
in 1625. In 1792 this part of Braintree was made a separate town and called 
Quincy, to perpetuate the family name of one of its first progenitors, a name 
revered by the lovers of American liberty everywhere. Atlantic and Quincy 
Adams are large and growing sections of Quincy, and at these points, and also 
in the centre of Quincy, the Old Colony railroad has fine stations. 

The industries of Quincy are as diversified as tjiose of any other city in this 
section, if not more so, but the leading and staple business is the quarrying, 
polishing, and carving of granite, the city being noted from one end of the 
country to the other for the superiority of the granite taken from its quarries. 
A large number of firms are engaged in quarrying, others conduct an extensive 
business in polishing as well as in quarrying, while some are engaged solely in 
the manufacture of monuments, headstones, etc. The first granite quarried in 
Quincy was used in the building of King's Chapel, Boston, and since then few 
cities have been built up which have not laid tribute upon its quarries for 
building blocks, memorial columns, etc. The stones for buildings are often 
cut, finished, and numbered at the quarries in readiness for laying in their 
proper places in the erection of edifices hundreds of miles distant. 

A range of elevated land, rising in some parts to an altitude of more than 
600 feet above sea level, is located about two miles to the rear of Quincy bay. 
This range contains an inexhaustible supply of that invaluable building material 
so much used and appreciated throughout the country for its durability and 
fineness of texture. This range of hills extends through Quincy, Milton and 
Braintree. From the summits of some of the quarries the most charming 
views of ocean and land are to be obtained, and the lovers of scenic grandeur 
find themselves repaid for any trouble they are put to in attaining the highest 
point of elevation. The first railroad was built in connection with these 
quarries, reference to which is more fully made elsewhere in this work. 

Quincy is bounded on the north by Dorchester, on the east by Boston harbor, 
south by Weymouth and Braintree, and west by Milton. Hills, valleys and 
plains are characteristics of Quincy, and the soil is generally of an excellent 
quality and under good cultivation. 

About two miles east from the centre of the city is Quincy Point, at the 
junction of Town and Weymouth Fore rivers and near Newcomb's Neck, a 
small territory taken from Braintree about thirty-five years ago. This is an 
attractive spot and contains many fine edifices of a residential and business 
character. Quincy Point, with a peninsula near it called Germantown, is ad- 
mirably located for ship-building purposes. Here some very fine vessels 
have been built , and every facility is offered for all sorts of maritime oper- 
ations. 

ATLANTIC. 

This is the most northerly of the Quincy villages, is not only a popular sum- 
mer resort, but it is distinguished as the seat of one of the famous Quincy 



246 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

MITCHELL GRANITE CO., 
Zt m Quincy and all New England Granites. 



Successors to 

MITCHELL GRANITE W0RKS< 



Dealers and 



Monuments, Building Work, Statuary, Vaults, Headstones, Platforms. 
Plain Surface Cutting and Polishing by Machinery. 

w. h. Mitcheii. Office and Works, QUINCY. MASS., Quincy Adams Station, w. w. Mitchen. 



J. Robbie. R. Mavbb. W. Reynolds 

GLENCOE GRANITE CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF AND DEALERS IN 

..•rs^- eqirciyi granite, 



AND ALL EASTERN GRANITES. 

f- "■ ■"■ "■ Off Quincy Avenue, SOUTH QUINCY. MASS. 



MILLER & LUCE, . 



Geo. L. Miller 

ANUFACTURERS OF 



Wholesale Dealers in r IIP lessees of the 

QUINCY, SOUHEGAN, l" II L ® ® ® ® ® $& Souhegan Granite Quarry. 

CLARK'S ISLAND.OAK HILL, - ._ 

HALLOWELl, CONCORD, V M NU V tN Al ««"■•-« st Re.„ 

OARRE, BLACK DIAMOND, IIIWIIWIII Wl IIIV Willard School. 

RED BEACH AND BAY OF WORK SS «8 88 ® SS ' °°°™ °™™ 

FONDY GRANITES- VVUIIIX, 94 boylston ST. 

WEST QUINCY, MASS. 

W. LlLLICRAP. J. LlLLICRAP. 

MOUNT VERNON GRANITE CO., 



DEALERS IN ALL KINDS OF 



NEW ENGLAND and FOREIGN ■ QRANITF MONUMENTS, 

CARVING AND STATUARY A SPECIALTY. 

Office and Works: Cor. Centre and Vernon Sts., Quincy, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 247 

schools and as the location of the first railroad — Granite Branch of the Old 
Colony — built in America. It has a population of upwards of 2,000, and this 
is largely increased in the summer months by those who yearly seek a home 
by the seashore at Squantum, which is located on the bay and affords fine harbor 
views, has the best boating, bathing and fishing privileges and is fast becoming 
a popular resort for the inhabitants of the surrounding cities. It is only five 
miles from Boston, and enjoys the best transportation facilities. 

WOLLASTON HEIGHTS. 

What is known as Wollaston Heights is within the city limits of Quincy 
and occupy an elevated site, charmingly located on the south shore of Massa- 
chusetts bay. It forms one of the most beautiful of the many attractive 
spots in this locality. Overlooking Boston's magnificent harbor, with its 
scores of islands and commanding a full view of every passing steamer, it 
has become a favorite resort for affluence and wealth. 

WOLLASTON PARK. 

Wollaston Park is a recently laid out section in the limits of the city of 
Quincy, and is designed for residential purposes. It is only three minutes' walk 
from the Wollaston Heights' station of the Old Colony Railroad, and the Boston 
and Quincy electric road also passes along its entire front. The place is one of 
the most beautiful in its natural features that could well be imagined. It contains 
153 acres of level land dotted in all portions by trees of long growth, one of its 
avenues being 80 feet wide and one-quarter mile long, and is bordered on either 
side by three rows of magnificent elms planted in 1 793 . The Park has an 
excellent beach on its eastern side and commands superb views of the harbor, 
city and surrounding country. 

NORFOLK DOWNS. 

This is also a suburb of Quincy and within its corporate limits. It is 
situated midway between Atlantic and Wollaston Heights stations, and has a 
handsome depot of its own built by the Old Colony Railroad Compay at an 
expense of $10,000. It adjoins Wollaston Park, is on a tableland some 20 
feet above the railroad bed, and like the latter park is provided with excellent 
transportation facilities by both steam and electric roads. Fine walks and 
drives have been laid out here, electric lights introduced, and like most of this 
region an unbroken harbor view is had. 

QUINCY ADAMS. 

This growing section of the city of Quincy is a most desirable location for per- 
manent or summer residence, and has many fine private estates. The surround- 
ings are healthful, the streets shaded by stately elms, there is an abundant supply 



248 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

W. H. Thomas, Saratoga Springs, N. Y. J. L. Miller, Quincy, Mass. 

THOMAS & MILLER, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

Statuary, Monuments, Headstones. 

M^— ■ WF%^^— —M» 111 I » II Will I ■»«»— T— — -.T-^Mll II — i>^— r - ^— T^^T— T— 

Cemetery Work of all kinds from 
QUINCY, WESTERLY, BARRE, CLARK'S ISLAND AND ALL OTHER GRANITES. 
A ME RICA N AND ITALIAN MARBLE. ^ -» «- 

Best Stock and Work Guaranteed. * V^UINCY lVLASS. 

WORKS AT QUINCY ADAMS STATION, 6. C. R. R. 



cDONNELL & KELLEY, 



Manufacturers of 



Quincy and other 
New England 



Granites, 



Office and Works, 6-12 BROOK STREET, 

Polished Monuments, Headstones, &c. OT TTT\TO~V A./T A ^<^ 

Best of Stock and Workmanship Guaranteed. vj CJ ± 1N> O Y , LYIAOO, 



A. Marnock & Co., X |Bg 



-CLASS 

K 

WORKMANSHIP. 



Wholesale Dealers in Fine 

SCOTCH, SWEDISH and- all AMERICAN 

GRANITES, 

SOUTH QUINCY, MASS, 



P. T. Fitzgerald. T. M. Elcock, 

PITS&EE.ALD & ELOOOZ, 

Wholesale and Retail Dealers in Fine 

Monumental % and % Cemetery % Work, 

FURNISHED IN QUINCY AND ALL NEW ENGLAND GRANITES. 

New and Original Designs Constantly on Hand, 5 Minutes "Walk from K. K. Station, 
SOUTH <^TJITsr0^2% MASS. 

Send postal and we will call with Designs and Estimates. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 249 

of excellent water, and every modern convenience and comfort calculated to make 
life enjoyable. Many summer sojourners find Quincy Adams a delightful 
retreat during hot weather, as the accommodations for such are first-class and 
the prices comparatively low for the entertainment afforded. The population 
is upward of 2,000. 

WEST QUINCY. 

West Quincy is noted for its great granite quarries, which are the most ex- 
tensive in this country, as well as for the character of the finished product. Many 
fine specimens of architectural sculpture have emanated from this place, the most 
notable one being, perhaps, the large emblematic piece which for years adorned 
the front of the old post office on State street, Boston. When this structure was 
razed to make way for the present Exchange building this stone was carefully 
preserved and placed in the wall of the new Chamber of Commerce building on 
India square. Although black with age it is a fine piece of work, and is in 
strong contrast with the pink granite of which the building itself is constructed. 
West Quincy has a population of about 4,000, good schools and churches, and 
is two miles from the city proper. Thousands annually visit the place to in- 
spect the granite qnarries, and as many of these are located upon a high hill of 
solid rock, a fine view is had of the surrounding country in addition to the 
attractive features presented by the granite industry. 

The Granite Railway Company, of which Henry E. Sheldon is the agent, 
and J. Albert Simpson the treasurer, was incorporated in 1826, and its opera- 
tions are the most extensive in the manufacture of granite here. The com- 
pany operate two large quarries, one at Concord, N. H., and the other here at 
Quincy, the latter covering several acres of ground, the granite of which is seen 
in many buildings in the large cities of this country, and it has also been 
exported to the West Indies. The stone for many buildings has been cut and 
finished and numbered at the quarries all ready to lay in its proper place in the 
building which may be miles away. It is fully equipped with large work sheds, 
storage sheds and the latest improved mechanical appliances to expedite the 
work, while employment is furnished to a large number of workmen. The 
concern are also manufacturers of Chesley's Patent Bush Hammer and Lifting 
Jack, and occupy besides their quarries large machine shops and polishing 
works at West Quincy. The company possess superior facilities for being 
supplied with large quantities of monumental and building granites, and receive 
orders for the same at their Boston office 166 Devonshire street. The first rail- 
road in this country was built from the quarries of this company and is fully 
described in Part One of this work. 

Swithin Brothers, located on Granite street, Quincy, are among the 
prominent granite workers of this city, and are entitled to mention in this work. 
This firm imports Scotch, red Swede, Norway, English and Irish granite, 
and granite from Labrador, and deal in all kinds of New England granite. 



25O ADVERTISEMENTS. 

cINTOSH & SON, 



M 



ONUMENTAL WORK. 



— Manufacturers of all kinds of 



Plain and Elaborate. 
vf> . From all Grades of Quincy and other 

"ft* Granites. 

Estimates Cheerfully Given. 

p. o. box 74 . SOUTH QUINCY, MASS. 

JOHN COLE, 

MANUFACTURER OF ALT. KINDS OF 

MONUMENTAL WORK, 

QUINCY GRANITE A SPECIALTY. 

SOUTH QUJJYCT MASS. 



MERRY MOUNT GRANITE CO., 



Dealees in 
all kinds 

OF 



MONUMENTAL » 
CEMETERY and » 
BUILDING WORK. 



incorporated dec. 31, 1861. 

JOHN LAVERS, Agent. 
STATUARY A SPECIALTY. 

QUINCY, ~ ~ ~ MASS 

The best of Dark and Light Quincy, Concord, Clark's Island, and all White Stocks fur- 
nished. All work guaranteed satisfactory. Orders promptly attended to. 

OSWALD & MOYLE, 



MANUFACTURERS OF • 



MONUMENTS, HEAD STONES AND GEMETERV WORK, 

Of all kinds from the best Quincy Granite. 

Light, Dark and Medium Stock. All work Guaranteed. 



Works off Penn St., SOUTH QUINCY, MASS. 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 25 1 

They manufacture monumental, statuary and all kinds of cemetery work, and 
carry in stock a large and varied assortment of monuments of all kinds of 
granite. A force of sixty skilled hands is employed by them, and they 
engage two experienced draughtsmen for monuments, etc. This firm are the 
leading retail dealers in their line in Quincy, having had many years' experience. 
The work produced by them is of extra quality. Besides their house in Quincy 
they carry on a granite and marble business at New Bedford. 

E. C. Willison purchased the business of the International Granite Co. last 
May, the industry being established in 1871. The plant at Quincy, occupied 
for this business consists of a yard covering over an acre of ground upon which 
are situated two large work-sheds, one measuring 210 by 40 feet, and the 
other 160 by 40 feet. Other buildings besides the sheds mentioned are also 
occupied and also a fine large office, while a spur-track connecting with the 
railroad and reaching to the works, afford facilities for the transportation of 
granite to all sections of the country. Sixty-four hands are employed. Mr. 
Willison 's output consists of large quantities of granite, monumental and fin- 
ished work, and all kinds of carving, etc., and branch ofiices are located at 
Boston and Kansas City, Mo., Aberdeen, Scotland, and at Carrara, ]taly. 

McDonnell & Sons was first established in 1857 by Mr. P. McDonnell, who 
conducted the business until 1871, when his sons, T. H. and J. Q. McDonnell 
were taken into partnership, and they have continued the business ever since 
under the above named firm. The business carried on by them is that of whole- 
sale dealers in all kinds of rough and finished granite for monumental and 
building purposes. The premises cover several acres, having two large quar- 
ries, one at Barre, Vt. and one here in Quincy, which are supplied with all the 
latest improved machinery, appliances, etc. that are necessary in their line of 
business. The works are ably and systematically conducted. Their products 
are shipped to all parts of the United States and they have quite a trade in the 
British Provinces and Canada. They give employment to many experienced 
workmen who have been in their employ for a number of years. Samples of 
their work can be seen in the Mt. Auburn Cemetery, also the larger cemeteries 
in New York state. They have a branch office in Buffalo, N. Y., and their 
Quincy office is located on Quarry street. 

The Merry Mount Granite Company was incorporated in 1861 with a capi- 
tal of fifteen thousand dollars. Its officers are as follows : president, John C. 
Kapples ; treasurer, Patrick W. Driscoll ; agent, John Lavers. The business is 
carried on as dealers in all kinds of monumental, cemetery, and building work. 
One of their specialties being the manufacture of statuary. All work produced 
is of the finest quality, the principal stock that is used consists of the light and 
dark Quincy granite. They employ a large force of workmen and their works 
cover an area of twenty-four thousand feet. A large and prosperous business 
has been built by them, their trade extending to California, Tennessee, and all 
the Western States. The work of this company is well known throughout the 
country for the fine finish that is given to it, and the quality of material used. 
The office is situated on Water street, Quincy. 



252 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

DEACON BROTHERS, 

Manufacturers of 

, Granite Monuments, 

-*s* 1 

Centre 5treet, Jovith Quinqt, Mass. 

ESTIMATES GIVEN. SATISFACTION GUARANTEED. 

SKILL WINS FAVOR. ARTISTIC, PROMPT, ACCURATE. 

wm. a. smith, 
Granite Dealer, 

PENN ST., QUINCY, MASS. 

SAMPLES $1.00 EACH. POLISHING MILL, QUINCY NECK. 



. . Henry Barnicoat. 

_/ 



S. HENRY BARNICOAT, 

Successor to H. BARNICOAT & LAWRT, 

MANUFACTURERS OP — 

Statuary, Draped Work Monuments, 

<:dRVINQ a SPECIALTY. 

Works, CENTRE Corner COLUMBIA STREETS, * * * QUINCY, MASS. 

H. NICOLE. J. MOOEHOUSE. 

NICOLL'S GRANITE WORKS, 

Manufacturers of 

Quincy * Granite * Monuments. 

ESTIMATES FREELY GIVEN AND PROMPTLY ANSWERED. 

QUINCY, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CTTIES. 253 

Joss Bros, was established about the year 1880 as manufacturers and whole- 
sale dealers in all kinds of granites. Their works cover a large tract of terri- 
tory on Garfield street, Quincy, where may be seen a large variety of monu- 
ments, head-stones, tablets, etc. Through their knowledge of the industry they 
have built up a large business. They make a leading specialty of the finest 
class of work, their facilities enabling them to produce monuments of the most 
artistic design and finish. At their works a fine display of sample work is 
shown. Joss Bros, are prepared to suit the most critical taste, and a great 
variety of plans and designs may be seen at their office. All orders are filled, 
promptly and the lowest quotations are given. 

McKenzie & Paterson, located on Canal street, were established in the year 
1870, and now enjoy an excellent reputation and trade which is principally 
wholesale, extending through the Middle and Western states. McKenzie & 
Paterson operate one of the largest quarries in Quincy, which is fully equipped 
with all the necessary appliances, and employment is given to a large number 
of skilled workmen, they being the first firm to introduce the polishing of 
granite by steam power in the United States. The stone obtained from their 
quarry is the celebrated dark blue Quincy granite, although they handle all 
kinds of New England granites. The members are Gordon McKenzie and 
George S. Paterson, both men of thorough experience in their line. 

William Shea & Son is a well known firm that has been established for over 
twenty-two years in the granite business, getting stock out for all kinds of mon- 
umental and building work. The land on Quarry street, Quincy, covered by 
their works, extend over an area of four acres, and are equipped with the 
necessary mechanical appliances. They give fourteen skilled hands constant 
employment, and get out about 1 0,000 feet of dimension stock per year. The 
members of the firm are men of energy and enterprise, and they are thoroughly 
experienced in every detail of the business. 

George H. Hitchcock & Co. succeeded Churchill and Hitchcock in 1892, the 
latter firm having founded the business in 1873. They are contractors for 
rough Quincy granite and are prepared to furnish all kinds of Quincy granite in 
any quantity that may be required. Their trade is increasing quite rapidly as 
the firm has a noted reputation for producing an extra quality of granite in the 
rough from their quarries. The office is located on Quarry street, Quincy. 

Alexander Clark is one of the prominent mauufacturers of granite tools of 
every description, at No. 138 Water street, Quincy. In the manufacture of 
these tools none but the best stock is used and all work is warranted to be satis- 
factory. His tools consist of all the latest patterns and are made in every 
style and shape to suit his patrons. By the excellent quality and manner in 
which his work is produced he has built up a large trade. The repairing of 
tools by him is done in first class manner. 

Lewis Dell & Co. have been for the past thirty -seven years operating as 
dealers in building, monumental, and cemetery work of all descriptions, the 
granite of which is of a medium blue Quincy granite. The works cover an 
area of five acres of land, and the firm are able to get out fifteen thousand feet 



2 54 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

J. P. DUFFY, ** 15 GARFIELD STREET, 

QUINCY, MASS. 

Monumental 
and Cemetery Work, 

FROM THE VERY BEST 

QUINCY GRANITE. 

SEND FOR ESTIMATES. CORRESPONDENCE SOLICITED. 

ALLEN & WALKER, 

. . . WORKERS IN . . . 

Qnincy Granite 



* 



**S* 



MONUMENTS AND CEMETERY STONE WORK OF EVERY 
DESCRIPTION DONE IN A SATISFACTORY MANNER. . . 
GOOD STOCK AND GOOD WORKMANSHIP GUARANTEED. 



All Orders Promptly Attended To. 

jo°s B E E p R H T wAtk L ER N - P. 0. Box 322, WEST QUINCY, Mass. 

M. F. O'BRIEN. J. T. MCNEIL. 

O'BRIEN & McNEIL, 

MANUFACTURERS AND 

GRANITE DEALERS 



IN FINE MONUMENTAL WORK. 

CORKER WILLARD AMD WEST STS., » * WEST QUINCY, MASS. 

n. OWEN5, ^anite - - 
Monumental 

West Qmincy, 1\ajj. Wflptc 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 255 

of dimension stock a year, having one twenty horse power engine, and giviug 
employment to twenty skilled workmen. The works are located on Quarry 
street, Quiney. They have all the conveniences for conducting a large busi- 
ness, and have one of the best quarries in the city. Mr. A. A. Dell, proprietor 
and manager, has had many years of practical experience, and all work that 
goes from his works can be relied on as giving perfect satisfaction in every 
respect. The trade extends over a large territory and the business is rapidly 
and steadily increasing. 

John Thompson & Sons, located on Quarry street, Quiney, was established 
in 1872 for the manufacture of cemetery and building work in all its branches, 
and also as wholesale dealers in all New England granites. The works are 
ably and systematically managed, and are equipped with all the modern appli- 
ances. Their products are shipped to every state from Maine to California. 
They give employment to many experienced workmen who have been in their 
employ for a series of years, which speaks well for the management as well as 
efficiency of the work produced. The granite used by them is the best quality 
of standard Quiney, but all kinds of New England granites are furnished. The 
firm stand well in the community, and take a keen interest in matters not only 
pertaining to their trade but public questions as well, the junior partner of the 
firm having been a member of the City Government of Quiney since its charter. 
The past two years he has been president of the City Council, the only legisla- 
tive body, and the general material progress of the city is indebted to gentlemen 
of like push, energy and public spirit for its rapid advance in the last few 
years. 

C. H. Hard wick & Co., first established in 1848 by C. H. Hardwick, are 
proprietors of the largest and one of the oldest quarries here, it having been 
worked one hundred and ten years ago, and is now one hundred and thirty-five feet 
deep in its deepest place. The dark blue granite having a rich handsome color, 
as well as the lighter shade, are both found here and take a fine polish. Many 
public buildings and hundreds of well known monuments throughout the 
country contain work cut by this house. In connection with the quarry are a 
polishing mill with all the modern equipments, stone cutting and carving yards, 
blacksmith shop and engine house, the entire plant covering about eighteen 
acres. Both rough and finished stock are supplied to dealers throughout the 
States and Canada, and the stone has an unrivaled reputation for excellence of 
quality. 

Fegan & Ballou, in 1890 succeeded Henry Barker & Sons, who estab- 
lished the business in 1865. They carry on the business as wholesale man- 
ufacturers of rough and hammered granite, and are steam polishers and 
granite workers. Their monumental and other work suitable for cemeteries is 
executed in a prompt manner and in the best grade of granite that can be 
obtained in dark blue and medium Quiney granite from their own quarries. 
The goods are shipped to all points in the United States. Their works are 
well equipped with all the necessary machinery. A special feature beins; the 
improved saw used in sawing granite, which is the only one in operation here. 



2 56 *■ ADVERTISEMENTS. 

QRflNITE 

RAILWAY 

COriPflNT. 



PKOPKIETORS 

OF 

THE 

CELEBRATED 



B 

'CO 

H 
mM 



©oinc^ 







Granite, 



ALSO 



Concord, N. H. Quarries. 



PRINCIPAL OFFICE, QUARRIES 

166 Devonshire St., Boston, Mass. West Quincy, Mass,, Concord, H. H. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 257 

Employment is given to thirty-five hands, and the works cover a space of seven- 
teen acres. The office is located on Quarry street, Quincy. The firm consists 
of W. R. Fegan and John C. Ballou. 

William Callahan located at 34 Quincy avenue, Quincy, dealer in dark and 
light Quincy granite was established in 1 889. He has a large and thriving business, 
his stock being sent to all points of the United States. In connection he also 
manufactures work of every description suitable for cemetery purposes. Con- 
stant employment is given to eight efficient men and a vast amount of work is 
produced during the year. 

The Glencoe Granite Company of Glencoe place, Quincy, manufacturers of 
and dealers in dark and light Quincy granite, was incorporated in 1887 with a 
capital stock of five thousand dollars. The company consists of J. Robbie, R. 
Maver and W. Reynolds. The manufacturing consists of building work and 
the making of monuments and all work pertaining to cemeteries in dark and 
light Quincy, and all eastern granites. A corps of thirty-five men is em- 
ployed by them, and their plant covers an area of thirteen thousand feet. 

McGrath Brothers, located on Water street, are among the oldest establish- 
ments for the manufacture of monumental, statuary, and all kinds of cemetery 
work in this city. Their works occupy an area of one half acre of land, and 
employment is given to twenty-five hands. They have constantly on hand the 
largest stock of finished monuments, headstones, etc., in Westerly, Quincy. 
Italian and American granite and marble to be found in this vicinity. Having 
an experience of nearly forty years in the business they have won a high 
reputation for first class work. Their works being only a few steps from the 
Quincy Adams station, they are a great convenience to customers along the line 
of the Old Colony Railroad. 

McDonnell Bros., established in 1876, are among the principal wholesale 
dealers in dark blue and gray Quincy granite, and are located at 95 to 97 
Water street, Quincy. Their trade extends through the Middle and Western 
states. The firm is composed of J. A. McDonnell and T. McDonnell. The 
land occupied by them covers an area of fifteen thousand feet, where they em- 
ploy twenty-five skilled workmen. In connection with the wholesale trade they 
also manufacture headstones, and do all kinds of cemetery work. They are 
experienced men and have built up a lucrative business, which is constantly 
increasing. 

C. Johnson & Brothers have been established on Quarry street, Quincy, about 
two years, but they have been engaged in the business for a number of years, 
being at one time the proprietors of the Merry Mount Granite Company. The 
business they are engaged in is jhe production of stone in the rough, for monumental 
and building work. They have in use one steam engine and employ three 
expert workmen. The works cover a large tract of land, and have all the 
necessary appliances that are used in the business. All orders are given 
prompt attention, estimates being furnished on application, and all work is 
completed at the lowest rates. 

The Galvin Granite Co. was established in 1883, and has ever since con- 



258 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 




& 






QUINCY, MASS.,^ BARRE, VT. 




z,s 









S-S o3 6 

^ S~-a « o- 

u o P rt +J 

<» «> 3 .?sa 

•a be 14 -* a 2 o p 
c c< a :a ,. 

•- re ^ .J2 *» te 2 
J2.S •*=& -§>- 

a rt »g"a° 

•g^gaa'o 
^_g a-^-^ju 



** S.S.S- 



"re P-'O 

g£ ° 

i O 1) 

a i-8siiii 

-s.s-'g.g'i* 

jh re -~ £ bog 

K to a re tn .S . 






3.3 IS* 



^ bo|> ^3 "g 42 

4) C"t= £ W S 



II 



- +■ m ^ « 

■a m a _ 

o rt 



•a reir^ 1 - 



* pO>J a 



cu bO 



re «* 

<h tn >- *^ re O 
.5 bo ^ .a rrt - a J3 

Sru «T3 ♦i'S 

•a g^o-a *) a ™ 

rt ft _ 5 to .. 

re a g , 
<u « o'l 

£■5 rt ' 



$ ;? 'SB 3 

0, 5 o,t3 o <u >, o 

eo'S'2 '« g as ^ 
> Z. V, > ° > *J 
rth^-C _re g 

,a 2 s-.s « a <° -g 



§s 



H 



"S S &| 3 

>- o a £t3 



BRANCH OFFICE AND YARD, 



858-860 MAIN STREET, BUFFALO, N. T* 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 259 

ducted a large and most successful business. The members of the company 
are J. P. and J. M. Galvin and T. Galvin, all practical men of long experience 
in the granite business. Their operations are with the wholesale trade in rough 
and dressed dark blue and medium Quincy granite, and the manufacture of 
monumental and building work, polishing, finishing, etc., a specialty, however, 
being made of rough stock for which they have a large trade throughout the 
country. The plant occupied by the company consists of a good sized quarry, 
and works, which cover over a large area of ground upon which are built sheds 
measuring 60 by 20 feet where some twenty skilled workmen are employed. 
The quality of stone produced at this quarry is especially desirable for monu- 
ments and also for building purposes. 

William Turner founded the business in 1882 and is one of the reliable 
dealers in monumental and cemetery work. The premises are located on 
Water street, Quincy, and are well equipped with the latest improved machinery 
and have every facility for the prosecution of the work. Being a man' of 
energy and enterprise, his trade has increased annually until now it is large 
and flourishing. Employment is given to fifteen skilled workmen who have 
had many years' experience in this line, and all work is guaranteed satisfactory, 
nothing but the best material being used. 

John P. Duffy, succeeded in 1890 Duffy & White. This concern deals ex- 
tensively in all kinds of rough and finished granite for monumental and build- 
ing work, Quincy granite being a specialty. The premises occupied are ample 
and commodious, and completely equipped. Work of any style is turned out 
to order in the most excellent and expeditious manner. Mr. Duffy is well and 
favorably known in the community. 

S. Henry Barnicoat is the successor to the firm of H. Barnicoat & Lawry. 
who established the business in 1890. Mr. Barnicoat has had control of the 
business since June of 1891, and occupies a large plant on Centre street, 
corner of Columbia street, where he employs twenty workmen. The specialty 
s statuary, draped work, and other fine monumental work, which calls for fine 
carving and finishing for which the house has been popular since its founda- 
tion. 

Franklin Hard wick & Son formed a part of the original firm of C. Hard- 
wick & Co., who established the business in 1848, and who divided the quarry 
and business in 1880, since which time Franklin Hardwick & Son have done 
business under the present firm style. They are well known as manufacturers 
of statuary, monuments and a general line of cemetery work. The members of 
the firm are energetic and possess good business principles, having built up a 
large and prosperous business, which is constantly increasing. They are able 
to meet all the wants of the trade, and are well known among dealers. Con- 
stant employment is given to a number of hands all of whom are expert 
workmen. The office is located on Quarry street, Quincy. 

John Fallon & Sons' marble and granite works was established about 16 
years ago. The principal business is the getting out of stone for monumental 
and building work. Their works cover an area of three acres and are fitted up 



260 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



MILNE & CHALMERS, 

{Msfti £ \ Manufacturers and Wholesale Dealers in 

% ; j Granite flonuments, 
Statuary, Etc., 

KBBR1 BB Importers of 

HBiBB ENGLISH 1 SCOTCH GRANITES, 

STOCK AND WORKMANSHIP GUARANTEED. 

Near Quincy Adams Depot, » * QUINCY, MASS. 

PROUT BROS. + 

Granite Company, 

EXCLUSIVELY WHOLESALE 

Granite,'. Cemetery '. and '.Building ".Work. 

IMPORTERS OF 

ALL fOREIQN QRflNITES. 

QUARRIES, WORKS, 

WEST QUINCY. 45 GARFIELD STREET, 

Boston Office, 154 KNEELAND STREET. * * * QUINCY, MASS. 





HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 26l 

with all necessary machinery. They have three thirty-five horse power engines, 
and produce about ten thousand feet of dimension stock per year. Only first- 
class workmen are engaged and forty-five are given employment, while twenty- 
six horses are in constant use. Their goods are shipped all over the country by 
the Metropolitan Steamship line and the Old Colony Railroad. The granite 
produced from their quarries is of an excellent quality, and the Messrs. Fallon 
are at all times prepared to execute all work at short notice. Their business 
amounts to fifty thousand dollars per year. The firm are located on Quarry 
street, Quincy. 

A. M. Deane & Co.'s granite works have been established here in Quincy 
for the last three years and have been very successful in turning out many fine 
granite monuments in new and original designs. The plant occupied for the 
industry consists of a yard covering over an acre of ground upon which 
are large work sheds measuring 75 by 30 feet where twenty-five skilled 
workmen are employed. The specialty of the firm is granite monumental 
work in all its branches, including fine carving and polishing, and a good 
connection has been established with the trade throughout New England. 

The Mount Vernon Granite Co. has been established for the last three years, 
and has during this time gained a wide spread reputation. The company, which 
is composed of W. Lillierap and J. Lillicrap, possesses the best possible facilities 
for being supplied with New England and foreign granites and make a specialty 
of carving and statuary work. For its operations a plant is occupied at the 
corner of Centre and Yernon streets, Quincy, which covers over a half acre of 
ground upon .which are situated work sheds, 60 by 20 feet in measurement, 
with a suitable office connected, while a number of skilled artisans are 
employed. 

William A. Smith has been established four years and has control of a 
large business, requiring for its operations the occupancy of a plant here cover- 
ing over one half acre of ground with sheds measuring no by 25 feet (includ- 
ing excellent winter sheds), a blacksmith shop and also a large polishing shop 
located at Quincy Point, measuring 100 by 40 feet, where ten polishing 
machines are in use and fourteen workmen employed. At the works on Penn 
street sixteen skilled workmen are engaged. Mr. Smith's specialty is monu- 
mental work of all kinds, carving, statuary work and general polishing, and 
his trade connections extend throughout the whole country. 

The NicolPs Granite Works, located on Centre street, have been established 
for the last four years. The plant occupied for this industry covers over one 
half acre of ground and is equipped with work sheds 80 by 20 feet in measure- 
ment, a well equipped blacksmith shop and office. Some twenty of the most 
experienced workmen are employed. The specialty of the works is the pro- 
duction of a fine line of granite monuments, including carving, finishing and 
polishing, and all kinds of cemetery work, for which estimates are furnished in 
the shortest possible time. 

Swingle & Falconer are well known as manufacturers, importers and 
wholesale dealers in foreign and American granite. The plant in Quincy, 



262 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



CWITHIN 

^ BROS., 



HRAITNE 
vt . WORKS, 



QUINCY, MASS. 



Importers of 

SCOTCH, 
RED SWEDE, 
ENGLISH, 
IRISH, 
NORWAY, 

and 
LABRADOR. 




ALSO DEALERS IN 

WESTERLEY, 
QUINCY, 
BARRE, 

CONCORD, 
PONEWA, 

and all 
NEW ENGLAND 
GRANITES. 



After years of careful study and strict attention devoted entirely to our business, fol- 
lowing its minutest change as pertaining to the execution and erection of fine monumental 
work, we are enabled to refer with pardonable pride to the many prominent monuments 
which we have erected in the Boston cemeteries, as well as the various other cemeteries 
throughout New England. We keep always in stock at our works at Quincy and New 
Bedford, a large and varied assortment of finished monuments and tablets, new and original 
in design, which we cheerfully invite you to inspect. Having in our employ two experienced 
monumental draughtsmen, we are prepared at all times to submit special designs, original 
and perfectly proportioned. We have made a special study of proportion — one of the most 
essential features of a monument. By giviug us an opportunity to submit designs will cost 
you nothing, and probably save you money, and above all, assure you a perfect monument. 
Should it be inconvenient for you to call at our works at Quin cy, by sending us your address 
we will send a competent representative, with designs, to your residence, for you to inspect 
before placing your order. 

FIVE MINUTES' WAUK FROM QUINCY STATION, O, C. R. R. 

OFFICE AND WORKS, 

49 GRANITE STREET, * QUINCY, MASS. 

88 DARTMOUTH ST., NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 263 

consists of a yard covering over an acre of ground, in close proximity to the 
railroad where a spur track of the Old Colony is laid, which affords facilities for 
quick transportation of granite and finished work to all sections of the country. 
Two very neatly arranged sheds are situated on the plant measuring 100 by 24 
feet each, where a number of skilled workmen are employed. They have a 
foreign office at 25 Thistle street, Aberdeen, Scotland. 

Fred F. INTourse is a dealer in granite, being located on Hancock street. He 
has quite a local trade and his products are also shipped to New York state. 
He gives all orders his prompt and personal attention. He always has on hand 
a stock of rough and finished granite for monumental and building purposes, 
which he furnishes to order. 

Mathaurs Bros, is a reliable house and has been established here since 1891, 
and although so recently founded it ranks high among the manufacturers and 
dealers in granite. The premises utilized, are located on Quarry street, cover- 
ing an area of four acres of ground, and well equipped in every respect with 
the most improved machinery, appliances, etc., while the concern is supplied 
with ample steam power, and upward of twenty-five skilled hands are em- 
ployed. An immense and superior stock is constantly carried on hand, embrac- 
ing rough and dressed granite, monuments, headstones, tablets, etc., and 
general cemetery and architectural work is executed in the most excellent man- 
ner, the trade extending to all parts of the country. 

Andrew Erickson, teamster and dealer in rough stone, was established in 
1890. The premises utilized cover two acres of land and are located at 27 
Morton street. Employing an efficient force of hands, he gives special attention 
to teaming, and is at all times prepared to fill orders expeditiously and in the 
most satisfactory manner. Mr. Erickson is a dealer in all kinds of rough 
granite for monumental and building work, which he sells in the rough to the 
local trade. His granite works are fully equipped with all necessary appli- 
ances for carrying on the work. 

The Mitchell Granite Company established in 1846, and whose works are 
located at Quincy Adams, are dealers and workers in Quincy and all New 
England granites for monumental statuary, vaults and platform purposes. 
The premises occupied by them cover an area of two acres, and to carry on 
their work in a successful manner requires forty experienced men. For cutting 
the granite they have in operation a steam cutting machine, the only one in this 
city, and the only one of two in operation in this state. A steam derrick is also used 
by them, and with such facilities they can accomplish a great amount of work 
in a short time. The firm consists of W. H. and W. W. Mitchell. Both give 
their personal supervision to every detail of the business, and they have a 
reputation of high standing, and their work can be relied on as being promptly 
and faithfully executed. 

Fitzgerald & Elcock comprise a new and enterprising granite firm estab- 
lished during 1892, on Penn street Quincy Adams, which gives promise of a 
brilliant and successful future. They have an extensive and well equipped 
plant and their large force of superior workmen guarantee execution in the 



264 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



1855 



Badger Brothers, 

Granite Dealers 
and Machinists 




Largest Polishing 
Works. 



Proprietors Wigwam 

Quarry-Dark Quincy 
Granite. Granite 

Monuments. 



Engines, Quarry 
Gearing, Polishing 
Machinery, etc. 



West Quincy, 
Mass. 



Craig & Richards Granite Co., 

GRANITE MONUMENTS. 




Mariufacttirers, Importers & Quarriers, 

Dealers in all American and Foreign Granites. 

Dark Quincy Granite a Specialty. Estimates Freely Given. 

106 Water St., ~ Quincy, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 265 

finest possible manner. From a long and thoroughly practical acquaintance 
with all branches of the business these gentlemen cannot fail to satisfy any and 
all purchasers. The strictly honest and thoroughly attentive methods employed 
by this firm will certainly win a large share of public patronage. Parties 
desiring designs or estimates on any of the New England granites will receive 
them promptly on application. 

Craig & Richards situated on Water street, Quincy Adams, are well known 
as manufacturers, dealers and importers of all kinds of granite for cemetery 
purposes. The firm occupies an area of two acres of land for their work, and 
have two acres of quarries. A specialty is the dark blue Quincy granite that is 
worked by them. Their work is of the very best quality and is sent to all parts 
of the country and to the British Provinces. They employ a force of seventy 
workmen all being experienced in the business. All kinds of lettering is done 
and estimates are promptly given and first-class work guaranteed. They have 
had a business experience of eleven years and are fully acquainted with all 
details of the business. 

John F. Kemp of 82 Water street, Quincy Adams, is a well known manu- 
facturer and dealer in machinists 1 and granite workers' tools. He occupies a 
one-story frame building, which is in dimensions some twenty by thirty feet 
and an ell of the same dimensions. Employing three able assistants, he produces 
quite a number of tools of various styles, and does jobbing of all kinds. Hav- 
ing been established only three years, still he has built up a large and increas- 
ing trade. 

McGillvray & Jones, granite workers on Liberty street, Quincy Adams, were 
established in 1878. As manufacturers of polished monuments, headstones 
and all cemetery work they rank among the first. The premises occupied by 
them cover an area of three quarters of an acre, and give constant employment 
to thirty-five hands. Their facilities for filling orders at short notice are of the 
best. McGillvray & Jones at all times invite the publics' inspection of their 
stock on hand, and will furnish estimates whenever desired. They have a 
trade which extends to all parts of the United States. 

Long & Saunders are among the prominent manufacturers of statuary, 
monumental and all cemetery work in granite and marble, located on Penn 
street, Quincy Adams. This firm was established in 1890 and it has built up a 
large and prosperous business. The works cover an area of ninety thousand 
square feet, where fifteen experienced workmen are engaged. All their work 
is set in cemeteries under the personal supervision of the firm. Their works 
are near quarries and located on the line of the Old Colony Railroad so that 
they have advantages for shipping and handling work at low rates. 

Thomas & Miller, situated on Liberty street, Quincy Adams, are among the 
principal manufacturers of marble and granite, the firm being established in 
1885, and ranks now among the first in their line of industry. The granite 
used by them is Westerly, the celebrated blue diamond, and Quincy, and all 
others, while the marble is of American and Italian production. They keep 
on hand an excellent assortment of plain and ornamental monuments, richly 



266 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

JANU T. DEJflOND, 

mWMWMMM&~ 

MONUMENTAL 



^61 
- - - t 



Wuffn. FROM 



BEST DARK QUINCY GRANITE. 

Particular attention given to Statuary and Carving. 

Designs and Estimates furnished on application, 

Sri"- rk ' :Ml . lLE . R 8T -: w. quincy, nass. 

ESTIMATES FURNISHED ON AIX NEW ENGLAND GRANITES. 



BURNS & CORMACK, 



MANUFACTURERS OP 



IN ALL NEW ENGLAND GRANITES' 
STATUARY, CARVING and DRAPERY. 
ESTIMATES PROMPTLY GIVEN. . . 



, MONUMENTAL AND 
• CEMETERY WORK, 



Works: PAYNE ST. 



SOUTH QUINCY, MASS, 

A. M. DEANE & CO., 

DEALERS IN 

GRANITE * AOIWAENT3 



OF EVERY DESCRIPTION. 

New and Original Designs 



QUINCY, MASS. 



Constantly on Hand. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 267 

carved tombstones, etc. Their trade extends over a large territory and includes 
many of the states from Maine to Georgia, as well as Canada and other places. 
Their works are fully furnished with every labor saving appliance and all 
necessary implements for carrying on a large and extensive trade. 

A. Marnock & Co. were established in 1886 as wholesale dealers in Scotch, 
Swedish and all American granites. They are also manufacturers of all kinds 
of monumental and statuary work for cemeteries, public parks, or private resi- 
dences. The land covered by them is eighteen thousand square feet in area, 
and they give employment to twenty-four experienced workmen. The statuary 
work produced by this firm is of a very fine quality. The office and works are 
located at the corner of Quincy and Liberty streets, Quincy Adams. 

McDonnell & Kelley are manufacturers of monumental and statuary and all 
kinds of cemetery work, their works being located at from 6 to 1 2 Brook street, 
Quincy Adams. This firm was established in 1886, and today their plant occu- 
pies an area of forty -three thousand square feet of land. They use all kinds of 
New England granite, none but the best stock being handled, and twenty exper- 
ienced workmen are employed. The works are equipped with all the latest 
implements known to the business. All orders are filled promptly and accu- 
rately at reasonable prices. 

Milne & Chalmers, located on Penn street, Quincy Adams, is a firm that has 
been established for the past ten years as manufacturers and wholesale dealers in 
monuments, statuary, etc. The premises occupied by them cover an area of 
three-quarters of an acre, and employment is given to forty experienced and 
skilled assistants. In connection with their business they have a large steam 
polishing works used for polishing the granite and marble required in their 
business. A great convenience is derived by them in having a spur track in their 
yard, so that they are able to load and unload direct from the cars. 

E. Bizzozero & Co., of Willard street, West Quincy are carrying on a busi- 
ness as designers, sculptors, and manufacturers of artistic monuments, head- 
stones and cemetery work. The firm consists of E. Bizzozero, B. Monti, and C. 
Calderana. The work done by this firm is equal to that done by the other firms 
and they have a large and extensive trade. The granite used by them is princi- 
pally Quincy granite and Westerly, and all New England granites are also 
required. They have a large number of assistants and the plant covers a space 
of seven thousand square feet. All the members of the firm are thoroughly 
educated in the business in all its details and all work left in their charge can 
be relied upon as being satisfactorily completed. 

Badger Bros., of Willard street, West Quincy were established in 1855 by 
C. L. Badger and L. C. Badger, as granite dealers and machinists. In connec- 
tion with this branch they operate one of the largest polishing works here. 
They occupy three buildings, use steam power, and give employment to one 
hundred and fifteen experienced workmen. All work done by them is noted for 
the excellent quality of granite used and the fine manner in which it is finished. 
In the polishing shop they have in constant use thirty of the most improved 
machines for that line of business. Being proprietors of the Wigwam quarry, 



268 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

FRED F. NOURSE, 



Wholesale and Retail Manufactubee of 



Rough and Hammered Granite, 

Monumental and Cemetery Work of all descriptions executed in the best style from 
Foreign and Domestic Granite. 



* New and Original Designs Constantly on Hand. * 

QUINCY GRANITE A SPECIALTY. 

OFFICE, % 302 Hancock Street, QUINCY, MASS.> 

THOS, F7BURKE & BROS. 

Manufacturers of Fine 

-* QUINCY * GRANITEf 

4 MONUMENTS fr 

Willard Street, West Qmincy, Nla.ss. 

^WILLIAM TURNER,^ 

DEALER IN ALL KINDS OF 

H> MONUMENTAL and cemetery work,*- 

Hamilton Street and Nightingale Avenue, QUINCY, MASS. 

Light, \ Dark, % also % Scotch % and % American % Granites, 

ALL WORK GUARANTEED SATISFACTORY. 

Orders Promptly Attended to. - - Estimates freely given, 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 269 

they are certain of securing the best dark Quincy granite. This firm is one of 
the oldest in the country in this line of business. Their trade is large and 
widely extended and the quality of their work is recognized as being of the 
highest standard. 

Prout Brothers Granite Company manufacture all kinds of cemetery work. 
Only being established since 1889, yet they have succeeded in building up a 
large trade which extends to all parts of the country, and principally to the 
west. Having a large force of experienced stone cutters, polishers, and let- 
terers their work is of the best quality. Their quarries are among the best 
located in West Quincy, the granite obtained from them being of the very best 
quality and color. They are exclusively wholesale dealers in all kinds of granite, 
cemetery and building work. Their office is located at 45 Garfield street, 
West Quincy, and 154 Kneeland street, Boston. 

Thomas F. Burke & Bros, have an establishment devoted to the production 
of granite monuments, and have been founded some fourteen years. The 
firm occupy a yard measuring three quarters of an acre and a shed 150 by 20 
feet in dimensions, and employ twenty-eight skilled workmen. There is also 
a large office, and commodious blacksmith shop devoted to the repairing: and 
sharpening of the tools employed at the works. These are situated on Willard 
street in a most desirable locality, being in close proximity to the railroad and 
therefore affording excellent facilities for the transportation of finished work in 
all directions. The firm manufacture all their monuments from the Quincy 
granite and have turned out many handsome and original designed specimens of 
their handicraft. 

Monahan & Breen, located on Copeland street, West Quincy, are manufac- 
turers as well as wholesale dealers in all the New England granites, and all kind 
of cemetery work. The business was established in 1879, and is each year 
increasing. The works cover an acre of land and they employ a staff of fifteen 
hands. Tne work is done in a prompt and reliable manner, while the prices 
are reasonable. Both members of the firm have a thorough knowledge of the 
business and possess great abilities for conducting a large trade, 

The Aberogwen Monumental Works, situated at 50 Copeland street, West 
Quincy, is a large establishment for the manufacture of monuments, tablets, 
headstones and all kinds of cemetery work in all the leading and foreign 
granite. John R. Walters, the proprietor, has had a long experience in the 
business, having been established since 1885. His work is shipped to Pennsyl- 
vania, Kansas, Vermont and all large cities. One of his specialties is the 
manufacture of statuary work which is finished in first-class style and the 
material used is of very fine quality. He manufactures monuments, tablets, 
etc., from his own special designs and all work done by him is guaranteed to be 
accurate in every respect as he employs only the very best workmen. The 
works cover one half acre of land, being easily reached from the Quincy 
station by the Quincy & Boston electric cars, as they pass directly by the 
door. 

A. Reinhalter is a dealer in granite. He was formerly connected with his 



270 




ii^m 




HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 2jl 

brother, Mr. J. JB. Reinhalter, and the establishment was founded in 1882. 
The premises utilized by the present proprietor covers several acres of land, and 
is well fitted up with all the facilities for carrying on the work, including steam 
power and the latest improvements in machinery. From eighteen to twenty 
thousand feet of stone is taken from the quarry every year, and is sold in the 
rough state, and his products are shipped to the western states. A. Reinhalter 
is a resident of West Quincy, and is well and favorably known. 

D. Hayes & Sons are among the leading granite dealers in West Quincy, 
situated on Miller street. The business was first established in 1872 by 
Daniel Hayes, who was succeeded in 1892 by D. Hayes & Sons, J. B. Hayes 
and C. A. Hayes, the present proprietors, as wholesale and retail dealers in 
Quincy and all eastern granites. Their work is shipped to Massachusetts, New 
York and New Jersey. They occupy one acre of land, and give constant 
employment to twenty experienced hands. All kinds of cemetery work are 
executed by them at short notice, and the work is of the first quality. 

George L. Miller carries on a business under the firm name of Miller & 
Luce, as manufacturers of and dealers in all kinds of granite for cemetery 
work. Mr. Miller is well adapted to the business, being thoroughly educated 
in this branch of industry. The work produced by this house is of very fine 
quality and is done in first-class style. The office and works are located on 
Miller street, West Quincy 

J. B. Reinhalter, engaged in the granite business was founded by him 
in 1882, has from the date of its commencement always continued to do a 
prosperous business. This concern does a wholesale and retail business in 
granite, which is sold in the rough. The premises utilized cover one and one 
half acres and are fully equipped with the most approved machinery, appli- 
ances and appurtenances, and employment is furnished to upward of twenty-five 
skilled workmen. A superior stock of granite is constantly on hand. Fourteen 
thousand feet of stone is taken from the quarry every year. The trade is 
large, extending to all parts of the west. 

Elcock & Sons, quarry owners and dealers in all the best grades of dark 
blue and medium Quincy granites, is a notable and representative concern, 
being established in 1876 by the present proprietors. The premises occupied 
cover an area of six acres of land, and comprise several buildings supplied with 
the best facilities, and fully equipped with the latest improved machinery fo^ 
quarrying, polishing and manufacturing, electric power for blasting, and steam 
power for hoisting and polishing. They own their own quarry, employment 
being given to seventy-five first-class hands. Granite monuments and head- 
stones are made in the most artistic and elegant designs, also figures, urns, 
crosses, and emblematic work of every description. There is some beautiful 
work of this kind done right here in Quincy, and those who doubt this assertion 
would do well to visit the granite works of Elcock & Sons, located off Willard 
street in West Quincy, and they will see some very superior work. None but 
the best dark blue and medium Quincy granite of superior quality is used for 
monumental purposes. 



272 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

ELCOGK & SONS, 




OTA11I 011118, 



And Dealers in all Kinds of 



Dark Blue and Medium 
Quincy Sranites, 







W Steam Polishers and Granite 



Engraving Showing Our Own Work 



JffBfe'' Workers, 



WEST QTJINCY, MASS. 



WM. T. SPARGO. 

MANUFACTURER OF 

STATUARY, MONUMENTS, HEADSTONES, 

AND CEMETERY WOKK OF 'ALL KINDS. 

From Quincy, Westerly, Barre, and all 
other Granites. 

BEST STOCKS L AND WORK GUARANTEED * . SOUTH QUIHCY, MASS. 

F. HARD WICK & SON, 

STATUARY, 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



AND A GENERAL LINE OF 



Uftu „.. rHT o CEMETERY WORK. 

MONUMENTS, 

QUARRY ST., QUINCY, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 273 

James F. Desmond's marble and granite works on Miller street, West 
Quincy has been established for a number of years and is among- the best 
known in this section of the state. He manufactures all kinds of monumental 
work from the best dark Quincy granite. Particular attention is given to 
statuary and carving, and he is prepared at all times to furnish designs, and to 
estimate on any work. His works are fully equipped with all improved 
machinery that is used in the business. A large and varied assortment of 
monuments, tablets, etc., of the most approved and fashionable designs are 
constantly kept on hand, well worthy of a careful examination by those 
interested. His facilities for filling oiders without delay and at the least 
possible expense are of the best. Mr. Desmond has had a practical business 
experience, and has succeeded in building up a large trade. 

P. F. Hughes & Son, located on Furnace avenue, West Quincy, are an old 
and reliable firm engaged in the business of granite polishing of monuments, 
headstones, and tablets in a fine style and have the reputation of doing their 
work in a most thorough manner. The trade is done mostly for the local 
dealers and manufacturers in granite. Steam power is used, and the firm's 
plant covers two acres of land, and gives work to twelve men. The members of 
the firm are practical men in their line of business. 

John Cole is a recent addition to the granite business of West Quincy, being 
established in 1891. Mr. Cole devotes his attention to the trade in granite, and 
also the manufacture of .granite monuments, and the finishing and carving of all 
kinds of granite work. He occupies for his operations suitable sheds, equipped 
with all the requisite modern mechanical appliances and employs a number of 
skilled workmen. 

M. Owens, who pays special attention to granite monumental work and 
whose works are located at West Quincy, has been established since 1876. He 
occupies a good sized plant for his operations which include large work sheds 
and storage houses, and employs fourteen skilled artisans. He possesses the 
best possible facilities for the execution of fine monumental work, both by the 
matter of being supplied with the most suitable material and the employment of 
skilled labor. Many fine specimens of the work executed at his establishment 
are to be seen in the cemeteries at different sections of the state of Massachu- 
setts and also in those of more distant localities, all of which display remarkable 
skill in design and workmanship. 

O'Brien & McNeil commenced business here in 1880, and moved to their 
present fine large premises last year. The firm has gained a standard reputa- 
tion for the excellence of its work and is constantly in receipt of orders from 
different sections of the country. They make a specialty of monumental and 
cemetery work in granite, and many handsome specimens of their handicraft 
may be seen at their establishment. The plant occupied by O'Brien & McNeil 
consists of a yard covering 58,000 square feet, and sheds 120 by 30, where some 
eighteen skilled workmen are employed. 

Allen & Walker commenced their operations here some six years ago. The 
firm, which is composed of Robert C. Allen and Joseph Walker, produce mon- 



274 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

OHN THOMPSON & SONS, 






MANUFACTURERS AND WHOLESALE DEALERS IN ALL KINDS OF 



New 

England 

Granite, 

H- MONUMENTS, TOMBS, STATUARY, BUILDING WORK k. «h 

The Finest Grades of Quincy Grani te a Specialty. 

Office and Works, Quarry St, QUINCY, MASS. 

LEWIS DELL & CO., 

DEALERS IN 

MEDIUM o, U | 

BLUE * * * 

UINCY 
GRANITE. 



FOR BUILDING 
MONUMENTAL AND 
CEMETERY WORK. 



Q 



Quarry, Off Quarry Street, 

». A. DELL, »„,.«„, QUINCY, MASS 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 275 

uments and cemetery stone work of every description, which is done in the 
most approved and satisfactory manner. Only the best of selected stock is used 
in the firm's manufactures, while the work is executed by the most skillful 
workmen to be found in this vicinity. The works which are situated at West 
Quincy cover over half an acre of land and are equipped with work sheds 
measuring 60 by 25 feet, and other necessary buildings, including the black- 
smith shop, while employment is given to eighteen skilled artisans. 

John Cashman, contractor, was established in 1874 at the present loca- 
tion, and is one of the oldest in this branch of trade. Contracts are made 
for all kinds of teaming, excavating, road building, and stone work. Mr. 
Cashman owns and works a large quarry, covering two acres of land, and it is 
well equipped with all modern machinery, steam power, etc., for carrying on 
the work. All work entrusted to this concern is sure to be executed in a thor- 
oughly practical and satisiactory manner. Bridge, cellar, foundation, paving, 
and edge-stone is furnished promptly, particular attention being given to stone 
for bridges. He makes a specialty of building water works, sewers, etc. Up- 
wards of forty skilled workmen are employed, and their work is under the gen- 
eral supervision of the proprietor. Mr. Cashman also has on hand calcined 
plaster, lime, hair brick, cement and sand, which he sells at lowest market 
prices. He is an enterprising business man and has had twenty years experience 
in this line. 

Mcintosh & Sons produce a fine line of monumental work from all grades of 
Quincy and other granites, the specimens shown being either plain or elaborate. 
The business was established five years ago and the firm have already become 
popular with the trade. The works are located at South Quincy, comprising 
large yard room facilities, with sheds measuring 65 by 20 feet, and a black- 
smith shop where the tools used by the workmen employed are repaired and 
sharpened. 

Oswald & Movie were established four years ago. The firm make a 
specialty of the manufacture of monuments, headstones and cemetery work of 
all kinds from the best Quincy granite in light, dark, and medium colored stock 
for which they have a well established trade extending throughout the whole 
country. Their works are located off Penn street and are quite large, covering 
over considerable ground, upon which are situated worksheds measuring 80 by 
22 feet where some thirty skilled workmen are employed. 

Burns & Cormack have been established here for the last four years, and 
operate a good sized plant with works on Payne street, South Quincy. The pre- 
mises cover over one-half acre of land and arc equipped with large sheds measur- 
ing 70 by 22 feet, special machinery, a good sized blacksmith shop, and em- 
ploys some nineteen workmen. The specialty of the house is monumental 
and cemetery work, statuary, carving and drapery, for which they furnish 
estimates at the shortest notice. The trade of the house is by no means confined 
10 this locality but extends throughout the entire country. 

Deacon Bros, have been established here for the last three years and have 
been very successful in producing a line of work which has made them popular 



2?6 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



E. C. WILLISON, 

MANUFACTURER AND WHOLESALE 
DEALER IN 




Foreign * and * Domestic 

— IIIIMMimi— — ^^IMIM— !■ ■ I ll Mill II ■ !■— Ml ■■Mill [[■■■■I— ■— ■■! Illl ■ ■■IIWMMIII1I W ill !!■■■■ I I HIMIHH M 

GRANITES. 



FACILITIES for handling LARGE WORK with 
quick despatch unsurpassed. 

QUALITY of work always of the very BEST. 



.CORRESPONDENCE AND TRADE SOLICITED 



HBADQUAETKES FOB 



New and Original Designs. 

160 Boylston St., Boston, Mass 

AMERICAN BANK BUILDING, KANSAS CITY, MO., 
ABERDEEN, SCOTLAND, MONTPELIER, VT., SO. QUINCY, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 277 

with the trade. The specialty of the firm is the manufacture and finishing of 
monuments and also all kinds of monumental work including carving and fin- 
ishing. For their operations the Deacon Bros, occupy a yard covering over 
25,000 square feet, with sheds thereon 65 by 20 feet on Centre street, South 
Quincy. These premises are fully equipped with the latest improved modern 
mechanical appliances and employ a number of skilled workmen. With excel- 
lent facilities for being supplied with a superior quality of granite, the firm is 
rendered capable of filling all orders from the trade at the shortest possible 
notice. 

William T. Spargo is among the representative houses that may be men- 
tioned here. He is a manufacturer of statuary, monuments and headstones. 
This business was established in 1887. The establishment is equipped with the 
latest improved machinery and implements known to the industry. Constant em- 
ployment is given to from fifteen to twenty skilled workmen of many years' exper- 
ience. Nothing but the best stock is used in the manufacture of his monuments, 
headstones, tablets, etc., and cemetery work of all kinds, from Quincy, Westerly, 
Barre, and all other granites. Mr. Spargo is always prepared to execute orders 
from designs furnished him, or will draft original designs. 

The Wollaston Hotel, located at Wollaston Heights, Quincy, Mass., is among 
the most popular and home like hotels in this town. It has been run by many 
parties, but for the past twelve years Captain S. A. Merrill has been the pro- 
prietor. The hotel is a handsome four-story frame building, containing fifty- 
two rooms, all of which are comfortably furnished, clean and spacious. The 
table is first class, abundantly supplied with the best products of the market. 
This is the only hotel in Wollaston, and accommodates transient as well as 
permanent guests, but chiefly permanent. 



MATHAURS BROS., Wanu<acture 3 ,IDealersl " §^ 

£ R0U .S H GRANITE. £ 

f DRESSED — J 

Monuments, * Headstones, * Tablets, * Etc., 
Quarry Street, QUINCY, MASS. 



278 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

M C KENZIE & 
PATERSON. 



t t t I 



Wholesale Dealers in 
Rough and Finished 



GRANITE 

For Monumental and 
Building Work. 

Quarry and works, 

QUINCY, MASS. 

JOSS BROS., ; « 




Manufacturers and Wholesale Dealers 



MONUMENTS, STATUARY and 

all kinds of CEMETERY WORK. 



\L-ight and Dark Quincy 
and all New- England 



GRANITE. 



FIRST-CLASS WORK 

GUARANTEED IN EVERY RESPECT. 



Office and Works: 10 GARFIELD ST., QuiNCY, Md//, 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 279 



J. P. Galvin. J. M. Galvin. T. Galvin. 

GALVIN GRANITE COMPANY, ^^^ +- 

Rough and Dressed .'. 
Dark Blue and Medium, 

Monumental and Building Work, Polishing, Etc. 

ROUGH STOCK A SPECIALTY. ^ 






m~ All orders shipped without delay. % % % QUINCY FM«SS. 

ANDREW ERICKSON, 

• • •• Dealer in all Kinds of • • • • 

For MONUMENTAL and 



BOUGH GRANITE, 



BUILDING WORK.** 



27 Morton St., - QUINCY, MASS. 

A. REINHALTER. 



DEALER IN 



R ough and Dressed IDark Blue and Medium 

'QUINCY * GRANITE, * 

All orders shipped without delay, ^^"WEST ©fcilNGY 

" J. B. REINHALTER, 

* i i Dealer in ROUGH AND DRESSED DARK BLUE * i * 



| : QUINCY GRANITE? 

WEST QUINCY, MASS- 



280 ADVERTISEMENTS. 



J ohn 



ESTABLISHED 1874. 



Q ASH MAN. 



Contracts made for all kinds 

of Teaming, Road Building, Cellar 
Foundations, Paving, Edge-Stones, 
Etc. Water -Works and Sewers a 
Specialty. Plaster, Lime, Hair, Brick 
and Sand constantly on hand. Par- 
ticular attention given to furnishing 
Stone for Bridge Building. ...... 



-*i 



WEST QUINCY 
MASS. 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 28 1 



TAUNTON. 



THIS is a city of nearly 26,000 population, and is, perhaps, more 
extensively engaged in manufacturing pursuits than any city of its 
size in the state of Massachusetts. Its settlement dates back to nine- 
teen years after the arrival of the Pilgrims at Plymouth, and its boundaries 
were fixed in 1640 by the famous Miles Standish. It was originally known as 
Cohannet, and remained a town for upward of 1 70 years previous to its incor- 
poration as a city, in January, 1865. While there are many evidences of its 
antiquity still remaining Taunton is now rapidly progressing, and building 
operations are carried on upon an extensive scale, a new opera house and a 
court house costing a quarter of a million dollars being among the latest addi- 
tions to its architectural features. 

Its principal water courses are the Mill, Taunton, and Three Mile rivers. 
The Taunton rises in Plymouth county and meets the tides at East Taunton, 
although Weir village, the 8th ward of the city and one mile from the city 
square, is the principal port. Light draught freight vessels ascend to this point 
and considerable shipping is done, mostly, however, by the numerous large 
manufactories there. The river empties into Mount Hope Bay, 17 miles below, 
and is famous for its herring fisheries. Tradition has it that a friendly Indian 
named Squanto taught the colonists the practice which still prevails of fertiliz- 
ing their corn with this prolific fish. 

As early as 1643 tne manufacture of bar iron, from native or bog ore, had 
commenced in Lynn, on the Saugus, and not long afterwards in Braintree, on 
the Monanticut ; and the discovery of iron ore on the banks of the Three Mile 
river in Taunton stimulated the forefathers to attempt the same industry. Sev- 
eral of the leading citizens of the place, including George Hall, Richard Wil 
liams, Walter Deane, James Walker, Oliver Purchis, Elizabeth Poole, and 
others, formed a joint stock company with a capital of 600 pounds, and built a 
dam across the Three Mile river, on the road leading to Raynham, and made all 
the preparations for the manufacture of bar iron from bog ore. Prominent 
among them was George Hall, the first clerk and manager of the company for 
many years, and the first "celectman" of Taunton. He continued to be an 
influential man in all town affairs until the day of his death. 

To secure experienced workmen for this new industry, the town voted on 
the 21 st of October, 1652, to invite three workmen from Braintree, viz., Henry 
Leonard and his brother James, and one Ralph Russell, "to come hither, and 
join with certain of our inhabitants to set up a Bloomery work on the Three Mile 



282 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Atlas Tack Corporation, 

508 SEARS BUILDING, 

BOSTON, MASS., U. S. A. 



BRANCHES. 



Dunbar, Hobart & Co., Whitman, Mass. A. Field & Sons, Taunton, Mass. 

Established in 1810. Established in 1827. 

Losing & Parks, Plymouth, Mass. Taunton Tack Co., Taunton, Mass. 

Established in 1842. Established in 1854. 

American Tack Co., Fairhaven, Mass. Old Colony Rivet Co., Plymouth, Mass. 

Established in 1867. Established in 1866. 



WAIREIEIOTjrSES . 

NEW YORK, CHICAGO, SAN FRANCISCO, PHILADELPHIA. 

BALTIMORE, BOSTON and LYNN. 



Tack Department. 



Manufacturers of 

Tacks, Brads, Small Nails, Shoe Nails, 

^ Lining a7id Saddle Nails, Tufting Nails 

T3 -d and Button, Wire Nails, Wire Tacks, 

oj > Escutcheon Pins, Eyelets, Glaziers Points, 

}5 ' ' Furniture Springs, Rivets, Staples and 

m 



i HOME TACKS. 



other Articles. 



Bed Department. 



■ wmm 
Manufacturers op 



Do You Sleep Peacefully? 



THE FAMOUS 

^LPILGRIM 



Atlas Tack Corporation, Boston. 



Exhibited at 2 Hamilton Place. 



^ SPRING BED 

A SPECIFIC FOR INSOMNIA 



Send for Primer. an £ ^// ^ attendant ills. 

For Sale by all Reliable Dealers. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 283 

river." At that time no person could become a citizen of any town except by- 
permission of the same. If the above named three persons all came to Taunton, 
Henry Leonard and Russell did not long remain, for Leonard is known to have 
resided in Lynn as early as 1665, and Russell's name does not subsequently 
appear associated with the enterprise. It would seem that James alone re- 
mained, for on June 3, 1655, the town conveyed to him individually about 
fifteen acres of land on the east side of the Forge Pond on the Bloomery, situ- 
ated next to the old pond adjoining the road to Raynham. 

The preparations for this enterprise required some time, and it was not 
until 1656 that the manufacture of iron actually commenced, and soon after- 
wards bar iron became a circulating medium in this community in place of 
money, and so continued for many years. As disaster soon overtook the 
earlier works at Lynn and Braintree, these may justly be considered the first 
permanent successful iron works in this country. Other large iron manufac- 
tories soon followed and with such an early education and long experience in 
the manufacture of iron, it is not strange that it should become a flourishing 
industry. 

The first purchase made for the erection of a town resembled in shape a 
rhombus, or diamond like tract, with parallel sides but no right angles, having 
its northerly corner or apex near the center of the town of Mansfield. This 
was called " Cobbler's Corner," because, as it is said, when Miles Standish and 
his men ran out the boundary line in 1640, one of them mended or cobbled his 
shoes at this spot. The extreme southerly point was near the Lakeville line, 
the easterly corner in the edge of Bridgewater, near Nipenicket Pond, and the 
westerly angle at the point where Taunton, Dighton and Rehoboth all meet. 
It was eight miles long on every side, and generally called " The Eight Mile 
Purchase," or "Long Square " and contained about sixty-four square miles, or 
over 40,000 acres. 

Notwithstanding the extent of this first purchase, the early settlers soon 
became anxious for more land, and in 1640, '43, '63 and '65, various additions 
were made to the original territory, mostly on the southerly side towards 
Assonet; but the second great addition was made in June, 1668, called the 
Taunton North Purchase, being the land surrounding the northwesterly end of 
the old town, and extending northerly to the Massachusetts Colony line, which 
is now the southerly line of the towns of Stoughton, Sharon, and Foxboro. 

This second purchase was bounded easterly by Bridgewater, southerly by 
the First Purchase, and westerly by Rehoboth, now Attleboro. The northerly 
line was twelve miles long, the east and west lines about seven, while the south 
line was made by the apex of the old town projecting into it. The tract con- 
tained about sixty square miles, or thirty-eight thousand acres, and cost one 
hundred pounds. Dorchester and Taunton were thus made adjoining towns, 
and so continued for nearly half a century. 

But the ambitious forefathers were not yet satisfied. In less than four years 
after the North Purchase, they were looking with longing eyes to the fertile 
lands southerly along the banks of the Great River ; and after several negotia- 



284 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

TAUNTON BRICK COMPANY, 

CHAS. F. JOHNSON, Treas. 



*Yard on Old Colony Railroad, at 151 Winter Street,* 
TAUNTON, MASS. 



PHOENIX MANUF'G GO. 






TAUNTON, MASS. 

Manufacturers of 

PURE CEYLON PLUMBAGO CRUCIBLES 

AND 

* Woman's Suffrage Stove Polish. * 

H. D. ATWOOD, Treas. .... H. C. ATWOOD, Sec. 

TAUNTON CRUCIBLE CO., 

Manufacturers of 

BLACK LEAD CRUCIBLES, 

Black Lead Stoppers and Nozzels. 

Office and factory * * * TAUNTON, MASS. 

* * * E. D. PAGE, 



H. L. CTJSHMAIT & CO., 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



PAPIER-MACHE SHOE and TUFTING 

* * BUTTOITS. * * 
TAUNTON, 1 * * MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 285 

tions, another tract on the west side of the river, described as four miles square, 
though somewhat more, was bought of King Philip for one hundred and ninety 
pounds, and eighty -three pounds more was paid for a mortgage on the same 
tract, previously given by King Philip to the Plymouth Colony and by its 
treasurer assigned to the purchasers. This embraced the territory now con- 
stituting the town of Dighton, and contained at least sixteen square miles. 
These several purchases with some subsequent additions towards Assonet Neck, 
the whole embracing about one hundred and fifty square miles or nearly one 
hundred thousand acres (considerably larger than the District of Columbia), 
and comprising the present towns of Norton, Easton, Mansfield, Raynham, 
Dighton and Berkeley, constituted the entire township of Taunton until 
1711. 

In the year 1735 a number of Taunton people petitioned the General Court 
of Massachusetts to be incorporated as a new town on the Connecticut river. 
Their request was granted, and a new town was created under the name of 
Township No. One, or New Taunton. 

After expending considerable money in building houses, a saw mill and 
grist mill, and making other improvements, it was ascertained in 1741, and on 
the resurvey of the boundary line between New Hampshire and Massachusetts, 
(which latter state had therefore claimed jurisdiction as far north as Concord, 
N. H.) that New Taunton was several miles north of the true boundary line, 
and the grant from Massachusetts therefore invalid. The new settlers there- 
upon sold out their improvements to other parties who had been authorized by 
Gov. Benning of New Hampshire to take possession, and in 1742 those who had 
gone to Vermont returned to Taunton where they lived and died. 

Modern Taunton has many fine churches; five railway stations on the Old 
Colony system ; the hotels and places of amusement are sufficient in number 
and of ample capacity ; a most valuable public library is maintained; the Old 
Colony Historical Society has its headquarters here, and every facility is 
afforded for the intellectual and moral development and entertainment of young 
and old. The business center and residence districts are substantially and 
handsomely built, and the suburbs are embellished by many palatial homes. 
Street car lines traverse the city in all directions, and the transportation ques- 
tion in the city is solved so far as those interested are concerned, while two 
lines of railroad furnish connection with " the rest of the world." The indus- 
tries of Taunton are extensive and diversified, and embrace the manufacture of 
machinery of various kinds, silver and brittania ware, fire brick, tiles, cement, 
etc., cotton fabrics and yarns, stoves, ranges and furnaces, electrical supplies 
and apparatus, lumber, windows, doors, inside finish, and minor articles in 
great variety. The building of locomotive engines was at one time a leading 
interest, but has declined of late years, the construction of printing presses 
taking its place. 

The Atlas Tack Corporation is one of the oldest and most enterprising, and 
at the same time most conservative concerns in the country engaged in the 
manufacture of tacks. For many years its progressive increase in trade and 



286 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



WEBSTER FILE WORKS, 



A M 



ANUFACTURER 




J. WEBSTER HAND GOT FILES AND RASPS. 



C. W. WEBSTER, PROPRIETOR. 



TAUNTON, MASS. 



MOORE & BOOTH, 

Steam Planing and Moulding Mill, 

CABINET flNb DOOR WORK A SPECIALTY. 



COR. MASON 4, j, & 

AND MYRTLE STS. * *** *** 



Taunton, Mass 



ESTABLISHED 1864. 



Taunton Stoye Lininq Co., 



IANUFACTURERS OF 



Fire Brick and Stove Linings, 



Office and Manufactory, 



* * TAUNTON, MASS. * * 



A. W. PARKER. 
W. N. PARKER. 



A. W. PARKER, Treas. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 287 

manufacturing facilities has been rapid, and its products embrace the largest 
assortment and best qualities of goods of this character to be found anywhere 
in the world. The main office of the corporation is at 508 Sears Building, 
Boston, with branch offices and warehouses in New York, Chicage, Philadel- 
phia, Baltimore, Boston, Lynn and San Fransisco, with numerous connections 
abroad. It owns and operates five large mills, each of which is fitted with 
modern machinery, of the latest and most approved patterns, and has every 
facility for carrying on its work economically and successfully. This corpora- 
tion was organized in May 1891, under the laws of Massachusetts, and is one 
of the largest and most important of the manufacturing institutions on the line 
of the Old Colony Railroad. It is a consolidation of the following named 
firms and corporations, viz : The American Tack Company, Fairhaven, which 
was established in 1867; Loring & Parks, Plymouth, successors to Samuel 
Loring, established in 1842; Dunbar, Hobart & Co., Whitman, the oldest of 
all, established in 1810; Taunton Tack Company, Taunton, established in 1854; 
A. Field & Sons, Taunton, the largest of all, established in 1827; and the 
Old Colony Rivet Company, removed to Plymouth, established in 1866. The 
consolidation of these old, successful and wealthy concerns results in a tack 
manufacturing concern by far the largest of any in the world. Its varied 
product consists principally of tacks, brads, nails, lining and saddle nails, 
rivets, and innumerable other articles. As is well known, New England 
produces nearly seven-eights of all the tacks made in the United States, and 
Massachusetts alone three-fourths of all, and as the Atlas Corporation makes 
and sells considerably more than one-half of all that are made in this country, 
its importance to the Old Colony and to Massachusetts is readily apparent. 
The corporation has a large cash capital, and unlimited facilities for conducting 
all branches of its business, under the most favorable auspices, and upon the 
largest scale. The president of the corporation is Mr. Henry Hobart of East 
Bridgewater, one of the oldest, best known, and most successful tack manu- 
facturers in the United States. His uncle, Benjamin Hobart, was the 
pioneer in the tack manufacturing industry of this country. The vice-president 
is Mr. Thomas J. Lothrop, long and acceptably known in Taunton. The 
treasurer is Mr. John H. Parks of Duxbury, Mass., (son-in-law of the late 
Samuel Loring, who was one of the oidest and wealthiest tack manufacturers 
in the Old Colony). Mr. Parks is well and favorably known in all trade, 
manufacturing and financial circles. The Atlas Tack Corporation is also 
manufacturing the celebrated "Pilgrim Spring Bed,' 1 which is so rapidly coming 
into general public favor, and the manufacture of which bids fair to become 
one of the largest departments of the concern. The officers and directors of 
the corporation are experienced, able and reliable business men, of high stand- 
ing in commercial and social circles, and the foundation of the company's suc- 
cess is undoubtedly due to the complete knowledge of the business possessed by 
its executive management. 

The Mason Machine Works are among the largest and most prominent manu 
facturing establishments of Taunton. The nucleus of this great enterprise was 



288 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

UNIVERSAL LOOM CO,, * I I 

Builders o T thl 234 High Street, TAUNTON, MASS. 

- EMERY DUPLEX VERTICAL LOOMS. - 



Pres. JOHN E. SEARLES, Vice-Pres. A. D. EMERY, 

New York. Taunton, mass. 

Treas. W. R. BURNHAM, 
NORWICH, CONN. 

ALEXANDER H. WILLIAMS. GEO. F. WILLIAMS, 2d. 

WILLIAMS BRICK CO., 

BRICK MANUFACTURERS AND DEALERS IN ALL KINDS OF 

BIILMM Ail Pif lie BBICI. 

OFFICE AND YARD : WILLIAMS COURT, 

Off Somerset Avenue opposite Third Street near Weir Village Station. 

» , , , . TAUNTON, MASS. 

H. lTsEAVER, 

Formerly with P. T. & H. S. WASHBURN. 

FUNERAL DIRECTOR & EMBALMER, 

14 UNION BLOCK, - - TAUNTON, MASS. 

D. D. WHITE SHOE CO.,— ™ 

MENSBOYS 5H0ES. 



Manufacturers of 



AND YOUTHS' 

Of all Kinds in Medium Grades, a Specialty for Retail Trade. 

TAUNTON, MASS. Boston Office: 91 BEDFORD STREET. 

ALL MAIL ORDERS PROMPTLY ATTENDED TO. 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 289 

started in 1845 D y Mr. William Mason, who had for several years been engaged 
in the manufacture of cotton machinery of his own designing, in another part 
of this town. The new works were devoted exclusively to building cotton 
machinery until 1853 when he began locomotive building which was abandoned 
in 1887. I n !873 his manufacturing business was incorporated with the title 
of Mason Machine Works, Mr. Mason being its president and holding that 
office till his death which occurred in the year 1883. The officers of the company 
-are men who were associated with Mr. Mason for many years. They are 
president, Frederick Mason ; treasurer, William H. Bent; superintendent, John 
T. Meats. The principal products of this company are cotton machinery and 
printing presses, the building of which requires the services of nine hundred 
men. Ten acres of ground are covered by the plant of this concern with some 
nine acres of floor space. The great success of the Mason Machine Works may 
be largely attributed to the high standard of excellence in their output which 
was fixed in the beginning and has ever been rigidly maintained. 

The Reed & Barton corporation has a most interesting history, which we 
shall endeavor to briefly trace. The first piece of britannia ware ever pro- 
duced in this country was made in this city by Isaac Babbitt. He took into 
partnership a William W. Crossman. Here they produced, in 1824, the first 
finished britannia ware made in this country. In three years (or 1827,) after, 
their business increased to such dimensions that they were compelled to enter 
larger quarters. In 1828 William Allen West and Zephaniah A. Leonard 
associated themselves with Mr. Crossman, the firm being known as Crossman, 
West & Leonard. It was also in this year (1828) that Henry G. Reed and 
Charles E. Barton obtained situations in the works, as apprentices. The firm 
prospered, and organized the Taunton Britannia Manufacturing Company, 
which was in business for a number of years, when it liquidated all its debts, 
and left the plant in the hands of two expert workmen, viz : Reed and Barton. 
In the last year or two of the existence of the old company the business was 
run down, but under the guidance of Reed and Barton the business was soon in a 
flourishing state, and they were able to purchase the buildings and plant, although 
previous to this time the firm was changed to Messrs. Leonard, Reed & Barton. 
By the demise of Mr. Leonard in 1845 the style of the firm was again changed, 
this time to Reed & Barton, at which time Henry H. Fish was admitted as 
special partner. In 1859 Mr- George Brabrook, an old and faithful employe, 
was made a member of the firm, which continued without further change till 
the death of Mr. Barton in 1867, when the surviving members purchased his 
interest, but retained the old name of Reed & Barton. In 1882 Mr. Fish died, 
when his sons George H. and Frank L. succeeded to his interest. In 1888 this 
firm was organized as a stock company with a capital of $600,000, and known 
as Reed & Barton. The company operate to-day one of the largest works of 
its kind in the world. Its goods are found in every principal market in this 
and the old world. Its facilities for producing sterling silver and electric plate 
are unsurpassed, and Taunton may well feel proud of such a company. 

The Taunton Copper Manufacturing Company, incorporated in 1831, stands 



290 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



TAUNTON COPPER M'F'C CO., 

TAUNTON, MASS. 



MANUFACTURERS OF ■ 



YELLOW METAL. 

^ — ^ — ^— — y ia 

Sheathing, Dimension Sheets, Piston Rods, Bolts, Spikes. Sheathing and 
Slating Nails 

COPPER. 



Ingot, Sheathing, Bolts, Sheets of any size, Shape or Thickness, Tinned or 
Untinned; Circles, Bath Tubs and Locomotive Fire-Box Sheets; Boat, 
Sheathing and Slating Nails; Bath Boilers, Stove Boiler Bottoms ; Light- 
ning Kous, Calico Printers' Kollers, Tack Plate and Soldering Irons. 



ZINC. 



Spelter, Sheathing, Dimension Sheets, Tack Plate; Sheathing, Shingle and 
Slating Nails. 

CASH PAID FOR OLD GOSPER, YELLOW METAL, BRASS, ZINC, Etc 



SELLING J 
AGENTS ; 



Taunton Copper Mfg. Co., 11 Broad 
Street, Boston. 

Taunton Copper Mfg. Co., 232 South 
Street, N. Y. 

E. Pratt & Brother, 29 South Charles 
Street, Baltimore. 

G. M. Jo&selyn & Co , 38 and 40 Mar- 
ket Street, San Franoisoo Cal. 



Lyman, Son & Co., Portland, Me. 

Gummey, Spering & Co,, 1023 Market 
Street, Phi'adelphia. 

Shoemaker & Voute, 124 South Dela- 
ware Avenue, Philadelphia. 

Stauffer, Eshleman & Co., 71 Canal 
Street, New OrJeans, La. 



REED & BARTON, 

FOUNDED 1824. 




MANUFACTURERS OF 



Sterling Silver & Electroplate of Finest Quality and Design. 

Salesrooms at their Factories, TAUNTON, MASS. and 37 UNION SQUARE, N, Y. 

Our Goods sold by the Principal Dealers in Silver and Plated Ware. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 29 1 

to-day among the leaders in its special line of industry. They manufacture 
yellow metal sheathing, sheet copper, and brass and copper, also copper wire, 
and have special facilities for the refining of copper. The buildings cover over 
two acres of area and are equipped with the most ingenious and improved 
mechanical appliances known to the trade. George M. Woodward, its presi- 
dent, and H. F. Bassett, the treasurer are well known in the commercial world. 
They have a Boston office at 11 Broad street, and one at 232 South street, New 
York City. 

The Presbrey Stove Lining Company are the largest manufacturers of fire 
brick and stove linings in the United States. The company was incorporated 
in 1866, and was organized to succeed William and Albert Presbrey, who, forty 
years previous engaged in the same business, occupying two small sheds located 
opposite to where the present works now stand, which is at 212 Somerset 
avenue. Here they occupy nearly four acres of land, about one half of which 
is covered with connecting frame buildings of two and three stories in height. 
About seventy-five men and boys are employed, the output of whose work is 
something enormous in volume and value, comprising every description of fire 
brick, stove linings, fire clay, fire cement, kaolin, fire sand, etc., which is sent 
to all parts of the United States as well as exported to other countries. Harry 
T. Root, a representative Providence stove and range man, is president of this 
company. B. C. Pierce, a practical and experienced fire clay worker, is 
treasurer and superintendent, while James T. Maher the wealthy plumber and 
real estate dealer, D. A. Trefethen, the well known brass founder, and 
William Miller are members of the board of directors. 

The Taunton Crucible Company was incorporated in 1865. Their works are 
on the corner of West Water and Third streets, Weir Village, Taunton. The 
premises occupied by them is a two-story frame building, two hundred feet long 
by eighty feet wide. Their business is the manufacture of crucibles, largely 
used in brass, bronze, silver and other metal foundries, throughout the country. 
The Weir Stove Company is one of the largest and best known stove manu- 
facturers. The business was inaugurated in 1875, an d they give employment 
to two hundred men. The premises occupied by them consist of a number of 
frame buildings. The special line of manufacture is the Glen wood stoves and 
ranges. These ranges are made of the very best material that can be procured, 
and it is claimed give better satisfaction than any other range. Their works 
are situated on West Water street, Weir Village, Taunton. 

The D. D. White Shoe Co. commenced business here in 1891. Mr. White 
was for twenty years located at Raynham, Mass., when he removed, August, 1891, 
to the present location at Taunton. The company manufacture a line of men's 
boys' and youths 1 shoes in calf, veal calf, buff, Dongola, and Kangaroo, for the 
retail trade. It has always been their aim to make as good a shoe for the 
money as can be produced. Mr. White gives his personal supervision to the 
manufacture of the same, and all orders are carefully filled, shipped to the 
trade promptly and at the lowest market price. A Boston office may be found 
at 91 Bedford street. 



29: 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Glenvood 



Ranges and 
Heaters. 







Have received the HIGHEST AWARD 

in the gift of any New England Insitution- 

GOLD MEDALS at Two Successive Ex- 
hibitions of the Massachusetts Charitable 
Mechanics Association. 

A deserved Compliment to HIGHEST 
GRADE. 



mw$M 



Sold by leading Stove dealers, 



Established 1826. 



Incorporated 1866. 



pRESBREY STOVE LINING COMPANY, i Taunton, Mass. 

FIRE BRICK Si STOVE LININGS . 

Fire Clay, Fire Mortor, Granite Clay, Kaolin, Fire Sand, &c, 

ANY SHAPE OR SIZE OF FIRE BRICK MADE TO ORDER FROM PATTERN. 
B.C. PIERCE, Treasurer. « Offe 3IUl WOfkS, 212 SOMERSET AVENUE. 



p LDRIDGE & CO., 



4§. Established 
1848. • • 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



NAME PLATES, HINGES, 
LINING TACKS, Etc. . . 



E. H. ELDRIDGE. 
J. H. ELDRIDGE. 
A. S. ELDRIDGE. 



TAUNTON, MASS. 



Our Goods are for Sale by all Leading Jobbers throughout the Country. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 293 

Strange's Machine Works, of which Emerson C. Strange is the proprietor, 
was founded away back in 1827 by Elias Strange, the father of the present pro- 
prietor, who succeeded to the business in 1885. The building occupied is located 
at 36 Washington street, and is a three story structure, sixty by eighty feet 
in dimensions, and is supplied with all the necessary machinery. Here is made 
cooperage machinery of the latest patterns, box-board machines, combination 
foot lathes, a specialty being Strange's patent combination vise and drill, which 
is extensively used by mechanics, amateurs, jewelers, and others. The manu- 
facturing and repairing of bicycles in all its branches is also carried on here. 

The Taunton Brick Company is the largest brick manufactory in Taunton. 
It was incorporated in 1868, with C. F. Johnson as treasurer. The work con- 
sists in the manufacture of building and paving bricks, which are shipped all 
over the country. Fifty acres of ground are occupied and one hundred and twen- 
ty-five men are employed. From seven to eight million bricks are produced 
annually. The yard is conveniently located at 151 Winter street, Taunton. 

Charles Webster conducts one of the oldest manufacturing establishments for 
hand-cut files of all kinds, in Taunton. It was established in 1863 by Joseph 
Webster. Since 1888 it has been carried on in a successful manner by the first 
named gentleman. The premises occupied by him are in the American Screw 
Company's old mill, where one floor, in dimensions, 25 by 75 feet is required. 
It is fitted up with steam power and all appliances necessary in the business and 
employment is given to fourteen skilled workmen. Mr. Webster has the tact 
of recutting old files so that it is difficult to tell them from a new article. He is 
located on Court street in Cushing's yard near the Court House. 

Moore & Booth are engaged in the manufacture of all kinds of cabinet 
work and house finishings on the corner of Mason and Myrtle streets, Taunton. 
The firm was established in 1878, employ fifteen men, and have all the latest 
improved machinery. They are also the inventors and patentees of the Booth 
window frame pocket machine. All orders are promptly filled, the work is 
finished in the best style and satisfaction guaranteed. 

The Universal Loom Company is engaged in the manufacture of double ver- 
tical looms. This establishment, which was incorporated about four years ago, 
occupies a two story frame building one hundred by thirty-five feet, also a two 
story ell. This house is located at 234 High street, Taunton, is fully equipped 
with all the latest improved machinery, and fifteen hands are kept constantly 
busy. They are the builders of the celebrated Emery Duplex Vertical Looms, 
which are receiving considerable attention all over the country. The officers 
are president, J. E. Searles of New York; vice president, A. D. Emery, of 
Taunton, and treasurer, W. R. Burnham of Norwich, Conn. 

The New Process Twist Drill Company was incorporated in 1886 with a 
capital stock of sixty thousand dollars. It controls a large and increasing trade 
in this country and Europe. Neither labor, time or expense have been spared 
to attain perfection, and the results have proved to be far above their expecta- 
tions. By this new process the drill is made of the best imported steel, and is 
hot forged, not milled. They occupy premises ' fitted up with the latest im- 



294 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



THE NEW PROCESS TWIST DRILL CO., 



-Manufacturers of • 







HOT FORGED STRAIGHT LIP INCREASE 

Twist Drills of Every Description. 

. . • WRITE FOR CATALOCUE. • • • 

TAUNTON, MASS. 



SOMETHING NEW! 




. . STRANGE'S . . 

P ATENT C OMBINATION y iSE & DRILL, 



MANUFACTURED BY 



Stage's Machine Works, 

36 Washington St., TAUNTON, MASS. 



And now for Sale by Hardware Dealers. 
Send for Circular and Price List. 




-Also Manufacturers and Dealers in- 

BICYCLES. 



U/HEELS of every description repaired. Nickel 

Plating and Enameling. All work promptly 

executed at reasonable rates. Difficult repairing a 

specialty. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 295 

proved machinery, and give employment to a large number of tool-makers. 
They also make complete lines of twist drills for jewelers 1 sets, etc. The offi- 
cers of the company are B. L. Dwinell, president; P. H. Conn, treasurer, and 

A. L. Lincoln, secretary and manager, well known citizens of Taunton. Their 
factory is situated at No. 34 Court street, Taunton. 

The Elizabeth Poole Mills is a well established incorporated company whose 
factory is located at the foot of Adams street, Taunton. Its officers are William 
C. Lovering, president, and Mr. Albert E. Swasey, treasurer. The goods man- 
ufactured by them consist of high grade cotton flannels. The factory buildings 
are of brick, of one and two stories in height, and cover over an area of two 
acres of land. Their appurtenances are of the best, including nine thousand 
spindles and over two hundred and sixty looms, operated by a duplex Harris- 
Corliss engine of two hundred and fifty horse power. They employ in the 
vicinity of two hundred operatives and produce twelve thousand yards daily. 
Their trade extends all over the United States, their goods being sold through 
New York and Boston commission houses. 

Alexander H. and George F. Williams, whose works are located on Wil- 
liams Court opposite Third street, Weir Village, are among the oldest brick 
manufacturers in Taunton. Both members of the firm are well informed men 
in all branches of their work for which they are supplied with a complete outfit 
of machinery, while none but experienced men are employed, of whom on an 
average they have a corps of fifty. The business consists principally of build- 
ing and paving bricks, which are sent to New Bedford, Pawtucket, Fall River 
and all points on the Old Colony Railroad. Their works cover a large tract of 
land, and they turn out in the vicinity of four million bricks a year. 

The American Chemical Company, of which H. L. Seaver is the proprietor, 
is another important industry. The house is conveniently located at 14 Union 
building, Taunton. Besides dealing largely in embalming fluid and disinfect- 
ing deodorizing compound, he is also in the undertaking business. Mr. 
Seaver is acknowledged to be one of the best embalmers in the state, parties 
sending for him from Boston, Quincy and other places. He has been a resident 
of the place for many years. Mr. Seaver devotes his undivided attention to his 
work, taking full charge of the affairs. 

The Soule Piano and Organ Investment Company, a house that is worthy of 
consideration in this work was established in 1883 but not incorporated as a 
stock company until 1889. The stockholders of this company are among the 
most prominent manufacturers and merchants located on the line of the Old 
Colony Railroad. L. Soule, of Taunton, manager; F. L. Fish, of Taunton, 
president; Z. C. Keith, of Brockton, treasurer; H. H. Earle, of Fall River, B. 

B. King, of Taunton, C. H. Packard, of Brockton and M. N. Arnold, of North 
Abington, compose the board of directors. The Brockton warerooms are at 
No. 11 North Main street, and are commodious and well stocked with the 
pianos and organs of the following well known and reliable makers : Ivers & 
Pond, Mason & Hamlin, Emerson, Decker & Son, Krakauer, and others 
(pianos) ; Mason & Hamlin, Packard, Palace and others (organs). They also 



296 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

MULES of 1%, li 14 1|, 1£, If, and 2 inch gauge of 
latest improved pattern; lightest running in the world. 

LOOMS for Cotton, Silk and Jute; plain, twill, fancy 
and bags. •»•$»«*-■»«* 

MULES. LOOMS. 

MASON 

MACHINE WORKS, 

COTTON MACHINERY, 

TAUNTON, 

MASS. 

SPINNING FRAMES. 

DOBBIES of recent invention and with great improvements. 

PATENT SPINNING FRAMES, with Rabbeth, Sher- 
man or Common Spindles. Many modern improvements. 

The Soule Piano and Organ Investment Company, 

ESTABLISHED BY LEADING MUSICAL BUSINESS MEN 
OF 5 CITIES AND SEVERAL TOWNS TO FURNISH . . . 

* ft FWNOJ i ft 

OF EXCELLENT AND UNEXCELLED QUALITY 
A1ND REFUTATION AT 

HONEST LOW PRICES, 

OFFER TO ALL BUYERS OF^SO. EASTERN 

MASSACHUSETTS. 

10 STANDARD MAKES. 10 

Pianos. Ivers & Pond, Mason & Hamlin, Decker & Son, Emerson, Krakauer 
Bros., Trowbridge and Stone. 

Organs. Mason & Hamlin, Packard, Palace and others. 

SECOND-HAND PIANOS AND ORGANS FROM S10 UP TO 8200. 



WA 



br^ckton 1 , mass. Address : L SOULE, Manager, Taunton, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 297 

have offices at Taunton (at No. 17 City Square, Taylor Block) and at New 
Bedford (at No. 147 Purchase street). This company deals only in the very 
best instruments, and since its inception has built up a remarkably fine trade all 
over south eastern Massachusetts, more especially in the cities. Mr. Soule, the 
manager, is an experienced and well known musical business man, having been 
a leader in and identified with the best musical enterprises for the last forty 
years. 

The Taunton Stove Lining Company, prominent among the manufacturers 
of Taunton, is engaged in the manufacture of fire brick and stove linings, and 
their goods are known all over the country. They occupy several buildings, 
have all the improved appliances in every department, and are capable of 
turning out forty thousand dollars worth annually of fire brick and stove 
linings, constant employment being given to twenty- two workmen. Their 
goods are sold mostly in the New England states and New York, and all orders 
are filled promptly and satisfactorily. The firm consists of A. W. and W. N. 
Parker, Taunton. 

Eldridge & Co., are manufacturers of superior white metal and silver- 
plated coffin plates, hinges, lining tacks, etc. The business was established in 
1848 by Eli Eldridge, on West Britannia street; later, his son Eli H., who was 
making a similar line in another place, united his business to his father's under 
the present name of Eldridge & Co. Upon the death of Eli Eldridge, in 1875, h* 8 
grandson, John H., became a member of the firm, and in 1890 another grandson 
Albert S., was admitted to the company. Tire re has been a constant increase of 
business from year to year, their goods going to all parts of the United States and 
Canada, and a few to South America. Eldridge & Co.'s works, situated on 
Eldridge street, were erected in 1882, and consist of two-and-a-half-story 
frame building, thirty-two feet front and ninety feet deep, fitted up with a 
twenty-horse- power engine, a forty-horse- power boiler, large and superior 
power presses, rolling mill, electroplating apparatus and other necessary 
machinery, and furnishes employment for twenty to thirty skilled workmen. 
The specialties made here are coffin and casket name plates, hinges, lining 
tacks, etc., which are sold to the jobbing trade only. Their goods are kept in 
stock by all the leading jobbers. 

H. L. Cushman & Co. are among the most extensive manufacturers of 
papier-mache buttons in this country. This firm is composed of H. L. and 
David B. Cushman, and is located at 24 Court street, occupying one floor of 
7,000 sq. feet, conveniently divided into office, wareroom and factory. They 
employ specially designed machinery of the most perfect kind, and together 
with the help of thirty operatives are enabled to produce a daily output of 
84,000 gross of buttons in various sizes and styles, which go to supply 
the demand from all parts of this continent. 

A. B. Hodges & Company are located in the Taylor building, Taunton, occu- 
pying rooms 6 and 7. These men are engaged as Real Estate and Insurance 
agents for fire, life, marine, and accident. They have been established for the 
past five years, some of the companies whom they represent being Mutual Life 



298 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Insurance Company of New York, the Middlesex Mutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany of Concord, Mass., and other first class companies, including Orient of 
Hartford, Spring Garden of Philadelphia, and First National of Worcester. 
This house makes a specialty of buying and selling real estate and collecting 
rents. Mr. F. E. White, the partner, is also agent for Sohmer, Lawrence & 
Son and Gordon pianos. 

John W. Hart & Co. have for many years been engaged in the manufacture 
of building and paving bricks, which are sent to Fall River, New Bedford, and 
surrounding cities. An annual amount of one and a half million bricks are 
produced here. The premises embrace land covering twenty acres, and the 
products are shipped direct by cars from the sheds. Mr. Hart is also one of the 
proprietors of the Weir Brick Company. 

The Weir Brick Company is another house of great prominence. The pro- 
prietors are John W. and Edward O. Hart, Chester S. Hart acting as treasurer 
of the company, which was established in 1865. Over a million of bricks are 
annually produced, including building and paving bricks, large quantities being 
loaded into cars direct from the yard. 

The Phoenix Manufacturing Co. was established in 1844, and is the oldest 
establishment engaged in the manufacture of black lead crucibles in this 
country. Its wares are specially commended by the officers of the United 
States Government. Its annual production is upwards of two million five 
hundred thousand (2,500,000) numbers of crucibles. 

A. B. HODGES & CO., 

REAL ESTATE AND INSURANCE. OENERAL ™ 



REAL ESTATE. 



Fire, Life, Marine and Accident Insurance 

•-*IN THE BEST COMPANIES.^ 
Taylor Building, = - TdUNTON, t\ASS. 

J. W. HART & CO., 3 

Manufacturers of gCJILDINQ T"> T\ ¥ ("* AS 

is PdYINQ • ♦ Dlvl^*^? 

TAUNTON, MASS , 



HTSTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 299 



NKW BEDFORD. 



NEW BEDFORD, long noted for its whale fisheries and for the wealth 
and urbanity of its people, is a city of 45,000 inhabitants, delightfully 
situated on the west bank of the Acushnet river, which here broadens 
into New Bedford harbor, on the north side of Buzzard's Bay. It is 228 miles 
northeast from New York, with which it has connection by steamboats ; and is 
55 miles south of Boston, and connected with that place and the westerly 
regions by the New Bedford & Taunton and the Fall River branches of the 
Old Colony Railroad; while the Fairhaven branch, just across the river, makes 
connections, with the eastern towns and Cape Cod. A fine bridge 4,000 feet 
in length provides easy access to Fairhaven ; and street cars run to this and 
other neighboring villages. 

The largest manufacturing establishments are the cotton and woolen mills, 
employing, in 1891, 7,844 hands and a capital of $9,210,000, with an aggregate 
weekly pay roll of $53,900. The capital represented by other manufacturing 
corporations in 1891 was $6,593,900; number of hands employed, 2,813; 
weekly payroll, $25,675. Of manufacturers not incorporated there were 71 
establishments, employing 1,519 hands, with a weekly pay roll of $14,811. 

The relative importance of the textile industry of New Bedford as compared 
with other manufacturing centres is best shown in the number of spindles 
employed, which was at the latest report 834,500 and the number of looms 
12,534, working up into various articles 66,550 bales of cotton annually. New 
Bedford thus stands fourth on the list in the state in textile manufactures, the 
other cities being Fall River, Lowell and Lawrence in the order mentioned. In 
the year 1892 four new mills were added to the industries of the city, each with a 
capital of $500,000, but as two of these are not yet completed, we are unable 
to state what the increase will be in the number employed, weekly pay roll 
and other details. 

Since the decline of the whaling industry, for which at one time New 
Bedford was the most famous port in the world, much attention has been paid 
to building up industrial enterprises, and in this matter a lively interest has 
been taken by the Board of Trade of the city. This organization is composed of 
some 230 members, every one of whom is a wide awake and thorough going 
business man and a powerful factor in promoting the city's welfare. Under 
its auspices New Bedford is rapidly advancing both in the extent and variety 
of its manufactures, and it will not be long before she will have attained as 
great prestige under these new conditions as she formerly enjoyed as a whaling 



3oo 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



BUILDERS' MATERIALS, 




NAT. P. SOWLE, 

Manufacturer and 
Dealer in 

I Doors, Blinds, Sash, 
jjjjjjl Window Frames, 
Mouldings, Lumber, 
§ Turning, Scroll Sawing, 
Wood Mantles, 
Builders' Finish, 

Window Glass, 
Plate Glass, Gutters, 
Window Screens, 

Office and Factory, 

Cor. Elm and 
Bethel Sts., 

NEW BEDFORD, 
MASS. 

Connected by Telephone. 




NEW AND SECOND HAP 
AUTOMATIC 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 301 

port. It has 125 miles of streets, the greater part of which are paved or 
macadamized, with flagged or paved sidewalks. No city in the United States 
of even double its population has as many miles of curbed, flagged or paved 
sidewalks as has New Bedford. The streets arc beautified by thousands of 
shade trees, set along the borders of the sidewalks, whose tops meet and arch 
over the streets. The city is noted for the cleanliness of its streets, credit for 
which is due the Board of Public Works, and is well lighted by gas and 
electricity. There are thirty-eight miles of main ventilated sewers under its 
sloping streets. These are thoroughly cleansed during every shower of 
any magnitude, and their contents emptying into the river and bay are 
carried out to sea by the tides twice a day, contributing to the good health of 
the city. 

Extending from the mainland, southward from the city, into the waters of 
the bay is a peninsula known as Clark's Point, around which, bordering on the 
shore, is a well-kept driveway, 3 1-2 miles in length and 80 feet in width, built 
at great expense by the city in 1853. Starting at Cove street and passing along 
the west side of the drive one has a full view of the bay which makes up into 
the cove, with Dartmouth across the water. At the end of the point is a granite 
fort built during the late war, patterned after Fort Sumter, and from this posi- 
tion, across the broad and sparkling Buzzards bay, in full view are Round Hills, 
Elizabeth Islands, Martha's Vineyard (on which is Gay Head), Sconticut Neck 
and numerous small islands. Continuing around up the east side, one has a 
beautiful view of the harbor, the city and Fairhaven. On the left for the entire 
distance are fields, beautiful groves, with here and there elegant residences hav- 
ing nicely kept lawns. Taken as a whole the view is enchanting and delight- 
ful. During the summer the drive is much resorted to by pleasure seekers. 
No matter how hot it is in the city, there is always a cool breeze on "The 
Point," and summer evenings it is thronged with carriages and pedestrians. 
Along the river front are 26 substantial wharves, in good condition and equal- 
ling those in every way of much larger seaboard cities. The harbor is large 
and convenient, enabling vessels of 1,700 tons to come up to the wharves. 

New Bedford has a number of fine public and private buildings, and these 
are being constantly added to. Its school buildings are models in exterior and 
interior finish. The Young Men's Christian Association has erected a handsome 
edifice in the centre of the city, costing $65,000. The United States Govern- 
ment has also built a new post office of stone. The city is and has been for 
years the wealthiest of its size in the Union ; its wealth being estimated as high 
as $100,000,000. 

The site of the city of New Bedford was purchased in 1652 from the chiefs 
Wesamequen and his son Wamsutta, its Indian name being Acushnet. Of the 
first settlers upon the ground were Half Russell, his son John Russell, and 
Anthony Slocum, who later built an iron forge at Russell's Mills, and John 
Cooke, whose home was at the head of the Acushnet river. The place w as 
a part of Dartmouth until February 23, 1787, when it was set off and incor- 
porated as a town. It was first named "Bedford" in honor of the Russells, 



302 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



The Pairpoint M'f'g. Co., 




Knives, Forks, Spoons. Everything in Tableware. flflpffirW TOrV RFTlFflRT) MASS 
Quality Guaranteed. Burnished by Hand. JtttlUllP&. Mi M DLV£\)RU, fflflOO. 



GILBERT ALLEN, President. 



H. C. W. MOSHER, Cashier. 



NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 

Capital, .... $1,000,000. 

Surplus 500,000. 

Undivided Profits, 122.000. 

DISCOUNT DAYS: TUESDAYS AND FRIDAYS, 



New Bedford Cordage Co., 



NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



Manufacturers of all classes of 
Manilla, Sisal and Hemp Rope, and 
Binder Twine. 



WM.W. CRAPO. ANDREW G. PIERCE, 

Pres. Vice Pres. 



Capital, $600,000, 

THE M ECHANIC'S N ATIONAL RANK. 

Surplus and Undivided Profits, $392,000. 



JAMES W. HERVEY, LEMUEL T. TERRY, 

Cashier. Asst. Cashier, 



C„Ik«s°b°os S o„. TELEPHONE, 139-3. 

BLS-T/On PROS., 

Manufacturers of and Dealers in 

DOORS, SASH, BLINDS, ETC., 

Sawing Planing and Moulding, 

Wood Turning and Scroll Sawing. 
Dealers in Polished Plate and Window Glass. 

Mill: 238, 240 and 242 North Water Street. 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



William Hindle, 

Dealer in 

CHOICE . . . 
GROCERIES. 

MEATS, FRUITS, VEGE- 
TABLES, DRY GOODS, 
ETC. . 

No. 404 Purchase St.,New Bedford, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 303 

early settlers of the place, and who were related to the Duke of Bedford. 
Finding there was already a "Bedford" in the state, the prefix "New" was 
adopted. The town embraced also certain territory on the east side of the 
harbor, which, on Feb. 22, 181 2, was set off to form Fairhaven. New Bedford 
was made a city March 9, 1847. 

Denison Brothers Company was founded in 1858 under the firm name of 
Warner & Denison, and changed to the firm of Denison Brothers in 1873. I n 
1891 the title was changed to the present one; viz., Denison Brothers Com- 
pany. This company does an extensive trade in flour and grain, and as dealers 
in coal, hay and straw. They have excellent facilities for handling these com- 
modities, and are able to carry an extensive stock at all times. The prem- 
ises occupied at the corner of Hillman and Water streets are large and well adapted 
to the business. Some two acres of land are utilized, which is covered with 
mills, office, and coal structures, and an excellent wharf for receiving and ship- 
ping purposes. They also have a large mill at the corner ©f So. Water and 
School streets. Some thirty hands are employed. 

The Pairpoint Manufacturing Company in the manufacture of fine silver 
plated ware is not excelled by any of its contemporaries at home or abroad. 
Organized in 1880 with a capital of $100,000 in the comparatively short 
period of seven years it was increased to $500,000, where it now stands. The 
premises first erected and occupied for the enterprise were a three story brick 
structure, 120 by 40 feet in dimensions, which was augmented the. following 
year by a three story wooden building, 120 by 30 feet. These were soon found 
inadequate for the volume of business, and in 1882 a brick building, four stories 
in height and 150 by 40 feet in area, was added to the plant. In 1890 a four 
story structure was added, some 40 by 80 feet in area, while in 1891 another 
four story building was erected which is 260 by 40 feet in dimensions. A new 
engine of 275 horse power and a complete electric light plant of 1000 lights 
capacity, were among the improvements made. The present plant has floor 
space forty feet wide and a half mile long. Here every apparatus for conven- 
ience and economy of labor, and facilitating the conduct of the operations has 
been provided. Machines of the greatest ingenuity and efficiency, apartments 
occupied by artists and draughtsmen, by engravers, chasers, embossers, die cut- 
ters and hardners, fancy case makers in plush, in fact there are departments, 
machinery and workmen for every process from the reception of the raw mater- 
ial to the delivery of the goods finished, cased and packed for transportation. 
Employment is found for five hundred and fifty operatives, the weekly pay roll 
amounting to $6000. The goods comprise all varieties of useful and orna- 
mental household goods such as knives, forks, spoons, cake baskets, table ware, 
hat, hair, clothes and crumb brushes, candlesticks, casters, card receivers, com- 
munion ware, ice pitcher sets, epergenes jewel, cigar and cigarette cases, wine 
coolers, ash receivers, match safes, etc. of the best workmanship and highest 
art. When it is known that the wood cuts used in illustrating the catalogue of 
this company represent some ten thousand dollars, some idea may be gained of 
the variety of their products. The officers are as follows : president, Edward 



304 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



# * 



THEATRICAL RATES. 



-*- * ^c- 



Mansion House, 



NEW BEDFORD, MASS 

•1.75 SINGLE > ™«.-i« ™ 

«1.50 DOUBLE } For a Whole Day or More 



LESS THAN A DAY AT RATE OF 
$3.00 A DAY. 



STEAK HEdT, ELECTRIC BELL5, 

EVERYTHING FIRST-CLASS. 



ASHLEY & PEIRCE, 

Clothiers 
and Hatters, 

72 AND 74 WILLIAM STREET, 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



Joseph P. Kennedy, 

PAPER, 
PAPER BAGS and TWINE. 

Manufacturer of and Dealer in NEW 
and SECOND-HAND 

Casks, Barrels, Kegs, Etc., 

P EVERY DESCRIPTION. 

Cooperage cor. Water & Cannon Sts- S 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 
Telephone 272-11. 



CHARLES S. PAISLER, 



DEALER IN 



Masons' Building Materials, 

Plain, Glazed and Ornamental 

Tiles for Hearths and Vestibules. 

Lime, Cement, Brick, Flag Stone, Drain 

Pipe, Granite Curbing, &c. 

160 NORTH WATER STREET, 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



NEW BEDFORD 

STEAM * LAUNDRY 

F. G. TRIPP, Prop. 

SHIRTS, COLLARS AND CUFFS A 
SPECIALTY. 

173 and 175 Purchase St. 
NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



SAMUEL C. HART. 



FRANCIS T. AKIN, 



HART & AKIN, 

DEALERS in EVERY VARIETY of 

COdL, 

For Family Use and Steam Purposes. 

Bituminous Coal for Smiths' Use. 
. . Offices. . . 
Cor. South Water and Walnut Sts. Tel. 206-2; 
No. 9 North Water St., Tel. 2<J6-2; No. 84 
Pleasant St., Odd Fellows' Building, Tel. 4-6; 
No 690 Acushnet Ave., foot of Willis St. 
Tel. 14-12. Yabds: Eddy's Wharf, foot of 
Coffin St. and Acushnet Ave., foot of Willis St. 



New Bedford, 



Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 305 

D. Mandell; treasurer and general manager, Thomas A. Tripp; directors, 
Edward D. Mandell, William J. Rotch, William Baylies, Wendell H. Cobb, 
and Captain Lewis. The company have branch stores at corner of Maiden 
Lane and Liberty place, New York city ; at the corner of Wabash avenue and 
Washington street Chicago, and at 220 Sutter street, San Francisco. 

The Merchants 1 National Bank, foot of Williams street was originally estab- 
lished in 1825 and reorganized and chartered in 1865 as a National Bank It is 
in the front rank as regards character, solidity, usefulness and public confidence 
— a result referable to the excellent management that from the beginning has 
marked its course. With a paid in capital stock of $1,000,000 and the advan- 
tages referred to it is not surprising that the Merchants has proved such a pro- 
fitable and successful venture. The Board of Directors is composed as follows : 
Gilbert Allen, president ; George F. Kingman, vice president ; Andrew Hicks, 
George F. Bartlett, Wm. R. Wing, Samuel C. Hart, Thomas BE. Knowles, 
Francis B. Greene, Wm. N. Church, Geo. S. Homer, James Delano, and 
Charles M. Tripp. Henry C. W. Mosher faithfully fills the responsible 
position of cashier. 

The New Bedford Cordage Company was originally established in 1842 by 
Joseph Ricketson, William J. Rotch and Benjamin S. Rotch, and was organized 
as a company, January, 1846, with a capital stock of $60,000 which was increased 
in 1849 to $75,000, and today amounts to $200,000. The premises, located 
within a square, bounded by Court, Emerson, Ash and Kempton streets, em- 
brace some four acres of land which is covered by nine buildings, which are 
used for manufacturing, storage and shipping purposes. The equipment in 
every department is as complete as long experience, and practically unlimited 
means can make it, and is unsurpassed anywhere, a 500 horse-power engine 
being necessary to furnish motive power to the machinery. A force of three 
hundred and fifty workmen find steady and remunerative employment in the 
various departments, and $100,000 is annually disbursed in wages alone. The 
leading specialties of the establishment is the manufacture of cables used in bor- 
ing artesian wells, (which is unsurpassed by anything in the market) binder or 
reaper twine and cordage, and rigging used on all classes of vessels. J. W. 
Macomber is general manager of the company. 

Hon. Charles S. Ashley was born in New Bedford, Sept. 5, 1858, being a 
descendent of an old Massachusetts family. After graduating from the Parker 
street grammar school he entered the Friends Academy at the age of fifteen 
and after remaining here one year he entered a business life, his first venture 
being in the provision business, he opening a store on Purchase street. His 
business augmenting, we find him later engaged in the wholesale pork business, 
and about the same time he entered into partnership with S. D. Pierce which 
formed one of the solid clothing establishments of this city. Popular, with a 
liking for politics, it isn't surprising that in 1885 he was elected to the common 
council, and for two consecutive years he was a member of the board of alder- 
men. He has always been a straight out-and-out democrat, but was nominated 
by the citizens' party for mayor in 1889, but was defeated by the fusion candi- 



306 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



JOHN H. DENISON, PRES. 



HENRY C. DENISON, TREAS. 



DENISON BROTHERS CO, 

— MANUFACTURERS AND DEALERS IN — 

FLOUR, GRAIN, STRAW, HAY & GOAL 

MILLS 

Cor- Hillman and Water Sts. - Cor. School and Water Sts. 

New Bedford, . . Mass, 



PARKER ^ H2U5E, 

Holder M. Brownell. 



New Bedford, 



Mass. 



HENRY C. HATHAWAY, 

Successor to J. R. Forbes & Co., 

Manufacturer of 

FINE CARRIAGES, 

AUCTIONEER AND COMMISSION MERCHANT. 



Auction Sales of Horses and Carriages 

Every Week. Stable Connected 

For Horses, 

CASH ADVANCED ON GOODS FOR AUCTION SALES. 

33 TO 37 ELM ST., NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



Buss & Nye, 

CHINA, CROCKERY, * 
: GLASS WARE, 

PAPER HANGINGS, Etc., 

145 Union St., cor. Acusimet Avenue, 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



E. B. CHASE & CO., 

. . MANUFACTURERS OF . . 

PICTURE FRflHEJ, 

. . DEALERS IN . . 

Art Goods, Mouldings Class, Station- 
ery, Williinantic Cotton. Barbour's 
Linen, Eureka Silk. Novelties 
and Fancy Goods, 

Sewine Machine Repairinea Specialty. 

. Pianos and Organs Tuned and Repaired. 

Headquarters for Pianos, Organs. Sewing 
Machines, and Oil Stoves. 

Nos. 214 to 218 Union and No. 3 Fifth Sts. 

New Factory, 532 and 534 Acushnet Ave. 

New Bedford, . Mass. 



BANCROFT'S 

BOARDING i & i LIVERY 

STABLE, 

SADDLE HORSES A SPECIALTY. 

85 HILLMAN ST„< EAST0I! ' I ' nECHASE > 



TELEPHONE 8-12. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 307 

date, Walter Clifford. In 1889 he was again pitted against the gentleman, and 
was again defeated, but by a plurality of but 81, and after one of the hottest 
political fights this old seafaring city ever witnessed. In 1890 he was again 
nominated; this time by the Independent Citizens' Party and easily elected. 

The Parker House is a first-class hotel and where one can get all the com- 
forts of home and most satisfactory service. It was founded in 1841 and has 
always held its place in popular favor and today it has an enviable prestige. 
The location is the most favorable in town. The hotel is three stories in height 
and 100 by 185 feet in area. It is substantially and comfortably furnished, 
many of the suites being beautiful ; and the one hundred and thirty-five rooms 
are well lighted and ventilated. The entire house is supplied with all the mod- 
ern improvements, such as gas and electric lights — bells, steam heat, etc. The 
dining-room has a seating capacity of two hundred, and the cuisine is most ex- 
cellent. Some fifty servants are employed who are courteous and well trained. 
Holder M. Browneli, the proprietor, is an experienced hotel man and is 
very popular, and merits the great patronage the hotel receives. 

Chas. A. Gray, whom we find located at 421 Purchase street has been 
general forwarder of the Old Colony Railroad and steamboats in New Bedford 
since Oct. 1st, 1863, and has carried on a most lucrative and succcessful busi- 
ness as teamster to and from the various railroads and steamboats now con- 
trolled by the Old Colony Railroad. Experienced teamsters and special 
trucks and wagons are provided for moving light and heavy goods. Superior 
facilities are at hand for promptly meeting the demands of his patrons. 
Twenty or more hands are employed with teams in quantity and build that the 
business demands, and both satisfaction and low rates are the distinguishing 
features of the service of this enterprise. The business is conducted in an 
orderly and systematic manner which shows a master mind and a watchful eye 
to be at the head of its affairs. In addition to teaming, in 1872 he was ap- 
pointed superintendent of the New Bedford and Fairhaven Street Railway, and 
held the position five years, and was the first one to advocate extending tracks 
to the south part of New Bedford. He proved the necessity of tracks there by 
running sleighs in the winter of 1876, and finally the directors increased the 
capital stock and extended their road which proved that this was all that was 
needed to make it one of the best paying roads in this vicinity. In 1887 Mr. 
Gray took the agency of the American Powder Mills and Powder and Aetna Dy- 
namite, and a full stock of all grades are on hand. He was the first one to 
induce the city of New Bedford to try dynamite in place of powder, in 1888, 
the city having used large quantities since. He is identified with the business 
interests of New Bedford, being a director of American Carrier Rocket Co.; 
director, Safe Deposit & Trust Company, one of the most successful banks in 
New Bedford, and director of Pope's Island Manufacturing Corporation who 
make the celebrated Howard iron noncorrosive metals in silver and gold color; 
was the first one to start the business that is so well known all over the world today. 
It is getting almost indispensable in many places. Spermaline made by the same 
corporation is acknowledged to have no equal as a bearing metal both in light 



308 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



DAVID DUFF & SON, 



<%- 



Dealers in all the Best Grades 



For Steam and Domestic Use 



-COAL, 



NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



WILLIAM S. JENNEY, 

Dealer in 

Groceries, Fruit, Con- 
fectionery, Tobacco, Ci- 
gars, Etc., cheap for 
Cash 

Hos. 17, 19, 23, 25 So. WATER ST.; 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 

Vessels supplied at short notice. 

Telephone 17-6 also 293-4. 

CHAS. 0. BRIGHTMAN, 

CONTRACTOR & BUILDER, 

Estimates given en all Classes ef Work 

Factory and Office, 72 No. WATER ST., 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



GOOD 

LODGING - ROOMS f 

TO LET, 



ck 



? 



— — APPLY TO 

WILLIAM S. JEMEY, 

17, 19, 23, 25 South Water Street, 

NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 



J. D.SULLIVAN, 

Furnishing Undertaker & Embalmer, 

277 PURCHASE ST., 

telephone 24-3. NEW BEDFORD, MASS. 

Caskets, Coffins and Robes of the 
Latest Designs always in Stock. 

Residence, Locust Street Telephone Connection. 

Where night and Sunday calls will be 
promptly answered. 

Also Passage Tickets & Drafts for Sale 



ALFRED P. I 
WOODWARD, 



1 






and 



BOARDING 
LIVERY STABLE. 



TAUNTON, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 3O9 

and heavy bearings. Mr. Gray has had charge of the goods stored in New Bed- 
ford by railroad companies for the past twenty years, is now running six large 
store houses used in storing cotton, lumber, hay, grain, furniture, machinery, etc. 
He was in the express business in the early part of his life with his father, Gil- 
bert C.Gray, who ran baggage wagons between New Bedford and Boston before 
any railroad was built, doing the general express and baggage business between 
the two places, and driving anywhere from 6 to 10 horses according to the 
wheeling; making two round trips a week. When the railroad started he be 
came associated with A. D. Hatch and later with Smith E. Ladd and went under 
the name of Hatch, Gray & Co. for years, when owing to failing health, he had 
to retire, when the firm name was changed to Hatch & Whiting. Later, on the 
death of Whiting it was again changed to Hatch & Co. and is now known as 
the New York & Boston Despatch Express with Geo. C. Hatch as manager 
in New Bedford. 

Blossom Brothers, though founded but two years ago is favorably known to 
the sash, door and blind trade. The premises of the house consist of a two 
story mill, 65 by 40 feet in dimensions located at 238, 240 and 242 North Water 
street. The plant is completely equipped with the latest improved wood work- 
ing and sash and blind machinery operated by a 25 horse power engine, with 
surplus boiler capacity, and furnishes employment in the several departments 
of the sawing and planing mill, sash, door and blind shop to fifteen hands. 
The products of this mill comprise window and door frames, sashes and blinds, 
of all descriptions, special attention being given to wood turning and pattern 
making. All manner of planing, scroll and band sawing is done to order, 
and promptly. The trade of the house extends all over the New England 
states. 

J. V. Bancroft, of No. 35 Hillman street, established the livery and board- 
ing stable Sept. 6, 1 891. His premises are large and well adapted to the 
business, being 125 x 60 feet in all, and two stories in height. Mr. Bancroft 
is thoroughly acquainted with the business, and is determined to run an estab- 
lishment second to none. 

J. V. Bancroft who has been in business in this city since 1877 does the 
principal portion of the sprinkling of this enterprising city's streets. His work 
is all done for private individuals, who contract for this work for a certain 
portion of the season. He requires the aid of seven men while some six 
modern sprinkling wagons are used. His address is 527 Acushnet avenue. 

M. F. Kennedy in 1878 laid the foundation of the cooperage house o£ which 
J, P. Kennedy became sole proprietor in 1888. This gentleman is a manu- 
facturer of aud dealer in new and second hand casks, barrels, kegs, etc., of 
every description ; his establishment, which is a four-story structure, measuring 
72 by 66 feet, being located at the corner of Water and Cannon street is 
supplied with all the latest improved machinery for facilitating operations. 
The house does a prosperous business in this line, the trade extending 
throughout New England and the Southern States. In addition to his cooperage 
business, Mr. Kennedy in 1890, established himself as a dealer in paper bags 



310 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

and twine, making a specialty of printed wrapping paper for drygoods, 
clothing and boot and shoe houses and also mill wrapping paper. His trade in 
this line extends throughout New Bedford and vicinity. 

The New Bedford Tow Boat Company was founded in 1874 and is receiving 
the largest share of the business of towing boats. They have first-class facili- 
ties; their wharfage being in most excellent condition, some 25 by 100 feet in 
area. Their steamers are the "Nellie," "Cygnet" and " George W. Hunt," 
which have no superiors for safety and speed, and are manned by experienced 
men. The agent of this well known company is Samuel C. Hart, one of this 
city's popular business men, whose office is situated at the corner of South 
Water and Walnut streets. 

Hart & Akin of 58 South Water street, conduct the business founded in 1850 
by John H. Perry, which was changed to Perry & Wilson three years later. In 
1866 Mr. Hart bought out Mr. Wilson's interest in the business, and the title of 
the house then changed to John H. Perry & Co. This firm carried on the business 
till 1874 when Mr. Perry disposed of his part of the business to Mr. Hart, the 
latter gentleman taking into copartnership at this time Mr. Akin, the name of 
the firm changing to Hart & Akin. Samuel C. Hart and Francis T. Akin have 
• built up a large trade in this city. They are dealers in paints, oils, varnishes, 
etc., which they sell at wholesale and retail. They do a large business as 
painters of signs, houses and ships, and their work in this line is of a most 
superior character. In addition to the above they have an extensive trade as 
wholesale and retail dealers in coal and wood. 

Capt. H. C. Hathaway, of this city, was born in New Bedford in 1842, and 
there grew to manhood and received a liberal public school education* He 
commenced the struggle of life early, making his first trip on a whaling vessel 
from this port and was away on a two-year's cruise. He followed this business 
for some time making various trips. One voyage was of special interest as the 
good ship " Gazelle" of which he was third officer, had the fortune of harbor- 
ing a no lesser light than John Boyle O'Reilly, after his escape from English 
tyranny. After being promoted to first officer on this ship, he cast his fortunes 
with the ship " Milwood" as its first officer. This ship was wrecked in Cumber- 
land Inlet and Mr. Hathaway remained there some eight months. He retired 
from this vocation and in 1874 he was appointed assistant marshall of the 
police force, and in 1875 was made captain of the night patrol. One year 
later we find him chief of the police, and he remained in this office through 1876 
and 1877. From 1878 to 1882 he commanded the bark Veronica, a packet plying 
between New Bedford and the Azores Islands and Madeiras. In 1887 ana " 1888 he 
was appointed a member of the board of overseers of the poor. He is a mem- 
ber of the Board of Trade, and is connected with many local societies, being 
a member of the Star in the East, Sutton Commandery, F. and A. M., of the 
Wamsutta Club, honorable member of the City Guards and Young Men's 
Christian Association. He is one of the best known real estate men in this city, 
and annually transtacts a large business. As a member of the board of alder- 
men of this city his services have always been of the most creditable nature. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CTTIES. 3 1 I 

He was elected in 1890 by the Republican party. In 1 891 he purchased the 
carriage business of J. R. Forbes & Co., which is located at the corner of 
Elm and Acushnet Avenue, where he carries on the manufacture of carriages, 
and has in connection with this business at the same location added a sale and 
auction mart. 

The Mansion House of New Bedford is a building which is y$ by 150 feet 
in dimensions, contains three floors, and sixty-five rooms are utilized altogether 
for transient and permanent guests, employment being given to twenty-five 
assistants, all experienced and courteous people. The hotel throughout is 
elegantly furnished, and supplied with electric light, steam heat, and other 
modern conveniences, necessary in a first class hotel of to-day. The dinino* 
room is commodious and tastefully arranged and the table is all that the most 
fastidious epicurean would desire. The proprietor of this well known hostelry 
is C. W. Ripley, who runs the " Sippican" at beautiful Marion. The genial 
clerk is James B. W. Bates. 

Wendell H. Cobb, first saw the light at Sandwich, this state, 1838. He 
attended the public schools in this town, going to Phillips academy in 1855, 
were he remained two years. Here he prepared himself for college, entering 
Dartmouth, from which he graduated in 1861. After leaving college he taught 
school in Newport, Vt., for about six months, but in 1862 he located in New 
Bedford, where he took up the study of law under the guidance of that well known 
firm of lawyers Stone & Crapo. Soon after the death of Mr. Stone, the law firm of 
Marston & Crapo was founded and Mr. Cobb became a member. In 1879 on 
the dissolution of said firm Mr. Cobb became associated with the Hon. George 
Marston, under the firm name of Marston & Cobb. By the decease of Mr. 
Marston, this firm was necessarily dissolved, Mr. Cobb, encering alone into the 
discharge of his large practice, his office at present being in the Five Cent Savings 
Bank building. Always active in politics, he first became a member of the 
School Committee which he held from 1869 to 1873. I n tms year he became 
New Bedford's City Solicitor and for three consecutive years he faithfully and 
conscientiously served the city in this capacity. That he is popular is well 
attested by the constant appeal of his friends to put him forward for some 
responsible position. 

Ezekiel Gardiner was born in 1839. At tne a e e °^ fifteen he removed to 
Providence, and entered the employ of A. Crawford Greene, where he learned 
the art of printing. He remained here until the outbreak of the war, when 
June 6, 1 861 he enlisted in Co. D. 2d Regiment, Rhode Island Volunteers, con- 
tinuing in the service till 1864, when he was mustered out. In 1866 he 
resumed the printing business in Westerly, R. I., thence removing to this city, 
where he entered the employ of E. Anthony & Sons, with whom he 
remained several years. He served most acceptably in the Common Council of 
1880 and 1881, and during 1890 did excellent work under Mayor Clifford. He 
also served the city as alderman. Mr. Gardiner is a prominent Mason and 
member of the R. I. Peirce Post 190, G. A. R. and is at present Chief of 
Police of New Bedford. 



312 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

L. G. Hewins, the ticket agent at New Bedford is the oldest employe of 
the Old Colony road. He has been in continuous service here since 1865, and 
has worked his way step by step to his present position, and is held in high 
estimation by his employers and patrons of the road. 

Charles H. Gilford, the postmaster in New Bedford, has for three years 
administered the affairs of the post-office in a highly creditable manner. He 
was born in this city in 1833, and after a collegiate education he entered the 
commercial field, and at once became largely identified with the interests of the 
city. He is a popular man in every respect. His administration of the post- 
office has been of such a high character that he has the reputation of having one 
of the best appointed offices in the country. 

The Mechanics National Bank, established as early as 1831, and chartered in 
1864, we find in comparison with the same class of organizations elsewhere: 
solvent, prosperous and useful in the highest degree. The character of the busi- 
ness carried on is of a purely legitimate banking nature and the policy upon 
which it has been conducted, is amply shown by its statements. The present 
officers and board of directors are the Hon. Wm. W. Crapo, president; Andrew 
G. Pierce, vice president; and John R. Thornton, J. Swift, Thos. Wilcox, 
Edward D. Mandell, Horatio Hathaway, L. Snow, E. Williams Hervey, 
Henry C. Denison and William C. Taber. Jas. W. Hervey honorably and very 
agreeably fills the responsible position of cashier. 

Nat. P. Sowle, successor to Fred'k A. Sowle is the leading representative of 
his special industry in New Bedford, and conducts the largest business in the man- 
ufacture of house finish in this part of the state. He occupies a substantial 
brick factory at the corner of Elm and Bethel streets, three stories in height, 
50x100 feet in dimensions, and employs on an average thirty-five skilled work- 
men in all departments. His factory is equipped with the latest wood working 
machines necessary for his line of business, and operated by an engine and 
boiler of 100 horse power each. The products of the house are doors, blinds, 
sash, window frames, mouldings, wood mantels, stair rails, newel posts, balus- 
ters, brackets, special attention being paid to turning out builders' finish. 
Scroll sawing and turning is another feature of the business and a large trade is 
likewise transacted in all kinds of lumber. Mr. Sowle also handles window 
and cathedral glass, plate glass being his specialty and is the largest dealer in 
this line in this section. The house was established in 1873 and owing to the 
increase in business has been several times enlarged until at the present time 
his transactions aggregate $75,000 per annum, and his trade extends all through 
the southern^part of the state. 

E. B. Chase & Co. are engaged in the manufacture of picture frames as well 
as dealers in "art goods, mouldings, glass, stationery and fancy goods. They 
are also head quarters for pianos, organs, sewing machines, and oil stoves ; 
tune and repair [pianos and organs and make sewing machine repairing a 
specialty. They occupy premises 214 to 218 Union street and 3 Fifth street, 
while their new factory is located at 532 and 534 Acushnet avenue. Since their 
establishment in 1871 they have enjoyed a steadily increasing and prosperous 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 313 

business, owing to good management, square dealing, and the handling of only 
reliable goods. 

Bowker & Tripp are a most reliable firm of machinists and engineers, which 
was established in 1874. They have well appointed shops, provided with all 
required machinery of the latest improved kinds, and employ a force of twenty 
workmen, turning out many thousand dollars worth of superior work annually, 
which is disposed of in all parts of the country. The specialties of the house 
embrace steam engines, shafting, pulleys, and their appurtenances. They are 
patentees and sole manufacturers of the matchless steam and fire regulator and 
matchless single and multiple frictionless dampers for flues and chimneys, which 
are superior to any device in the market. This house also carries a large stock 
of valves, check valves, American pop safety valves, Barclay & Co.'s patent 
automatic valves and water guages, indicators, pyrometers, injectors, pumps, 
etc., and are prepared to furnish estimates for steam and hot water heating 
apparatus for mills, factories, public buildings, private residences, etc. The 
annual damper business amounts to $25,000, which indicates what its extent and 
possibilities are. 

Bliss & Nye at 145 Union street is one of the old established houses of New 
Bedford extensively engaged in the crockery and house furnishing goods trade. 
This house was established in 1845 by Allen & Woqds, who were suc- 
ceeded in 1854 by Alien & Bliss, the present firm assuming control in 1874. 
The premises occupied by them consist of the basement and first and second 
stories of a building three stories high and 22 bv 100 feet in dimensions. Their 
trade embraces the whole of this city and vicinity, and in fact, customers are 
had from all parts of southern Massachusetts. The stock of goods embraces 
china, crockery, glassware, paper hangings and house furnishing goods of every 
description, all at the lowest possible prices. A very active trade, both whole- 
sale and retail is done, aggregating $50,000 per year. 

Charles S. Paisler, whose office is at 160 North Water street is well known 
as one of the largest dealers in builders' supplies in this city, and supplies many 
of the leading builders of New Bedford and vicinity. Mr. Paisler is an exten- 
sive wholesale and retail dealer in brick, lime, cement, King's Windsor cement, 
(the new article for plastering) flag-stone, sewer and drain pipe, rough and 
dressed granite, etc., etc. He also carries in stock a large and fine assortment 
of plain, glazed and ornamental tiles for hearths, floors and vestibules, which 
are so universally used at the present time. This establishment covers an area 
of an acre of ground, and possesses every known facility for the successful pros- 
ecution of this important enterprise in New Bedford. This house in its line of 
trade is the largest in southern Massachusetts, and the heavy demands upon its 
resources necessitate the carrying at all times of an immense stock, that no delay 
may be occasioned in filling orders of any magnitude with promptness. Mr. 
Paisler has been established for so many years here that no personal mention is 
necessary, but we are at liberty, however, to say that it is an industry worthy 
of mention in a review of this nature, knowing that those who enter into busi- 
ness relations with Mr. Paisler will alwavs find him honorable to the letter. 



314 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

David Duff & Son was founded in 1886 as dealers in coal and general for- 
warders. In both these lines they do an extensive business in this city and 
vicinity. They handle all grades of coal which they reeeive direct from the 
mines in large quantities, some fifteen thousand tons being handled annually. 
As general forwarders they receive a large share of the business of teaming 
done by the merchants of this thriving city. Their offices are located on Front 
street, foot of Middle street, and on Front street, foot of Centre street, while the 
yard is situated at Fish Island. Their premises are large and well arranged for 
their special business. Some twenty hands are employed by this house, and 
thirty teams are required to do the constantly increasing work of this prominent 
house. 

J. D. Sullivan we find engaged in the undertaking business, who com- 
menced in 1890, and now occupies convenient quarters at No. 277 Pur- 
chase street. The stock kept on hand, consisting of caskets, black walnut, 
rosewood and cheap coffins, together with shrouds of all kinds, coffin plates, 
handles, etc., is unexceptionally a superior one, and in this establishment may 
be found every requisite necessary for embalming and undertaking. In every 
department of the business the greatest propriety and good taste is observable, 
and the facilities are such that all the resources of the business can be brought 
into play at a moment's notice. He is also agent for passage tickets on the 
Cunard, Allan, Anchor, Inman, Warren, Red Star and White Star Lines. 

Brightman & Washburn, located at the corner of North Water and North 
streets are engaged in the manufacture of* builders 1 materials. This industry 
was originated twenty-two years ago by Gardner & Brightman. In 1871 
it changed to Jacob Brightman, some six years later L. R. Washburn 
became associated with him under the present title, and they have since con- 
tinued to conduct the business with energy and success. They occupy the 
second floor of the three-story brick building at the above address, which covers 
an area of 6,000 square feet, employ twenty operatives and possess all the 
requisite machinery for executing the work. The products of the factory con- 
sist of house and cottage trimmings, window and door frames, brackets, balus- 
ters, newels, inside shutters, besides which the work of stair building, pattern 
making, turning, scroll and circular sawing is undertaken. A specialty is 
made of mantels and sideboards. The trade is confined to New England, and as 
none but the most satisfactory work is turned out, the firm enjoy a large share 
of public patronage. 

The New Bedford Steam Laundry, 173 and 175 Purchase street, stands high 
in the estimation of the people of this city. Here you can send your goods 
with the assurance of getting fine work, and prompt delivery ; and the superi- 
ority of the process of doing work over the old style, is such, that no damage is 
caused to the finest fabrics. The premises are large, being two stories in 
height, and fitted especially for the business. The first floor is given up to the 
office, sorting, shipping, and cleansing departments, while the second is 
devoted to the drying and ironing. The establishment has a steam bar drying 
room, and is fully equipped with all the latest improved machinery known to 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 315 

the business, some twenty hands are constantly employed, and three teams are 
required to collect and deliver the goods. This laundry was established in 
1888, but the proprietorship of the same changed in 1891, F. G. Tripp 
becoming proprietor. He is a gentleman especially adapted to the business, and 
with strict attention to every detail he has added to the already large business 
until he has succeeded in building up a very lucrative patronage. 

Charles O. Brightman is among the most reliable and skillful contractors 
and builders in this city. The enterprise he conducts was inaugurated in 1879, 
since which time the business of the house has reached large proportions, and 
in point of fact it now ranks with the most extensive in the city. The premises 
occupied are located at 72 North Water street, and comprise four floors measur- 
ing 60 x 84 feet. A force of three hundred assistants is employed, and every 
facility is at hand to work with. Mr. Brightman as a contractor and builder 
ranks high and he has erected many fine buildings in this city. 

William S. Jenny has since 1887 been engaged in the grocery business in 
this city, and has made a specialty of the ship trade, supplying vessels at short 
notice with everything connected with this trade. The building occupied by 
him as a store and warehouse at 17 to 25 South Water street, stands on an area 
of 100 by 75 feet. He does also quite a business in the letting of rooms for 
lodgings ; having apartments in desirable locations. 



STEVENS & WILLIS, 

MANUFACTURERS OF ALL KJNDS OF 

Iron, Zinc and Copper Shoe Nails and Tacks, 
: : and Steel Shanks. 



1 ■ 
• 1 



Hungarian, Clout, Channel, Chair, Cigar- 
Box and Finishing Nails. 

Upholstery, Carpet, Gimp, Brush, .Lace, Car- 
riage, Saddlery and Matting Tacks. 

Nails for McKay, American, National and 
Bigelow Heeling Machines made a Spe- 
cialty. 

Shoe Tacks for Machine Driving made a 
Specialty. 

SOUTH BRAINTREE, NORFOLK, GO. 

JAMES T. STEVENS. CEO. O. WILLIS. 



■3i6 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Incorporated 1854. 

AMERICAN STEAM GAUGE COMPANY, 

(ORIGINAL STEAM GAUGE CO.) 




MANUFACTURERS OF 



BOURDON * STEAM i GAUGE, 

With Lane's Improvement. 
Water Gauges, Gauge Cocks, - - 
Whistles, Revolution Counters, - 



Marine Clocks, Pyrometers, 
Hydrometers, Salinometers, 



Etc., Etc. 




Also Manufacturers of jhefl ft E R K A N FOP SAFETY VdLVE 

For Stationary, Marine, Locomotive and Portable Boilers, 
also Water Relief Valves. 

Sole Manufacturers of THOMPSON IMPROVED INDICATOR. 
••■ .-. MORE THAN 15,000 IN USE. .-. v 
JS^S* Adopted by the U. S. Navy for use on all the new Cruisers and Gunboats to be built. 

36 Chardon St., (Send for Catalogue.) BOSTON, MASS. 

JOHN T. ROBINSON & CO., 

HYDE PARK, * * MASS. 

— manufacturers: of — 

Fine Paper Box and Card Cutting 
Machinery including the celebrated 
Robinson Scorer, so well known to 

the Paper Box Fraternity 

Special work of all kinds in our line. 
Comers Cutters, Shears, Thumb 
Hole Cutters, Rotary Slitters, and 
Cross Cutters of every description. 
Correspondence Solicited. 



1874 



JOHN T. ROBINSON, 



JOHN R. FAIRBANKS 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 317 



FALL RIVER. 



THE busy, bustling city of Fall River is the embodiment of the sagacity, 
energy, and successful industry of her own people. No city or town 
engaged in similar pursuits has greater cause for satisfaction, or can 
refer to stronger reasons for the exercise of a just pride in its achievements. 
Most of the large manufacturing towns of New England are the representation 
of the surplus capital of the older commercial cities. Fall River is the out- 
growth of home industry and good management, which, under the blessings of 
a benign Providence, have given her a foremost rank in manufacturing cities, 
and a continued success rarely enjoyed, by those engaged in manufacturing or 
commercial pursuits. The city has at various times met with reverses, in the 
way of conflagrations and strikes, but upon recovering from them, increased 
prosperity has been the result ; and whether in manufacturing or other business, 
the immense capital which is wielded here is strictly within the hands of her 
own citizens. 

The words or motto of her corporate seal, "We'll Try," have thus received 
a most significant and practical exposition, and, to-day, the swiftly developing 
interests of Fall River represent a productive force at least double that of any 
other New England city engaged in the same class of pursuits. Business is 
managed with a thrift and exactness seldom attained ; but thrift and exactness are 
not allowed to degenerate into littleness, nor are preconceived opinions held 
with a tenacity which amounts to stubborness. Her manufacturers are con- 
scious that the world advances, and desire to advance with it, adopting those 
suggestions which are reasonable, keeping fully up to the demands of educated 
labor, desirous of promoting the interests of their employes in wages, hours of 
labor, and mental and physical requisites, and making them feel that the 
interests of employer and employed are one and inseparable. 

In union of hydraulic power and navigable waters, it is perhaps without a 
parallel upon the American continent. Its hydraulic power is derived from 
a small stream — Fall River — whence the name of the city, which has its 
sources, or is in reality the outflow of a chain of ponds lying two miles east of 
Mount Hope bay, a superb harbor overlooked by this flourishing city, and 
covering an area of some 3,500 acres. The extent of country drained is 
comparatively small — not over 20,000 acres — and the quantity of power 
therefore is to be attributed to the rapid fall of the river, which in less than 
half a mile is more than 132 feet. Within that distance there are no less than 
eight falls, each occupied by mills. The whole of this fall occurs in a distance 



3i8 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Massasoit Manufacturing Co., 

WENDELL E. TURNER, Treasurer, 

-+ FALL * RIVER, « * * * MASS. +- 






Cotton Batting, Mods, Wick, Quilted Stair Pads, Spun Cotton, Etc. 



CONTRACTORS FOR 



COTTON MILL WASTE, PAPER STOCK AND BAGGING. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 319 

of 2,300 feet. In one case the falls are only 136 feet apart, and this distance 
occurs between the two greater falls. The flow of the river is one hundred and 
twenty-one and a half cubic feet per second, or 9,841,500,000 imperial gallons 
in a year of three hundred days of ten hours each. 

The growth of Fall River, owing principally to the natural advantages it 
possesses, has been phenomenal, as is well illustrated by the fact that the 
population increased from 48,961 in 1888 to 74,351 in 1890. It is the greatest 
textile manufacturing city in this country, especially in the production of print 
cloths, which industry it practically controls. It has 2,128,228 of the 11,900,- 
456 spindles credited to New England. 

It was the wealth, tact and energy of Fall River's business men that 
founded and promoted the famous Fall River Line, and here the palace like 
steamers of the Old Colony Steamboat Company arrive and depart, making a 
busy scene about the docks as the throngs of passengers to and from New 
York and Boston embark or disembark at this point. 

The local trade of this important industrial centre is also of a representative 
character, the advantageous location of the city between the two great commer- 
cial metropolis making its shipping facilities unequalled in the New England 
states All places of business in Fall River, therefore, are noted for »the 
extent and variety of the stocks carried, while its manufactories are the largest 
of its kind in this country. 

The first settlement of the region comprising and immediately adjacent to 
the city of Fall River was in the regular course of expansion of the Plymouth 
Colony, about the year 1656. In this year, on the third of July, the General 
Court of Plymouth granted to a number of Freemen of the jurisdiction, a tract of 
land east of the Taunton river, four miles in width, and six to seven in length, 
bounded on the south by Quequechan, and on the north by Assonet Neck. 
Three years subsequently this grant was confirmed by a warrantee deed signed 
by the local sachems, the consideration being "twenty coats, two rugs, two 
iron pots, two kettles and one little kettle, eight pairs of shoes, six pairs of 
stockings, one dozen hose, one dozen hatchets, two yards of broadcloth and a 
debt satisfied to John Barnes, which was due from Wamsutta to John Barnes." 
This grant was termed the "Freeman's Purchase," and after incorporation in 
1683, Freetown. «< The first settlers," says that industrious and correct student 
of local history, the late Rev. Orin Fowler, in a series of papers published in 
1 841, "were principally from Plymouth, Marshfield and Scituate. Some were 
from Taunton, and a few from Rhode Island. The early names were Cud- 
worth, Winslow, Morton, Read, Hathaway, Durfee, Terry, Borden, Brightman, 
Chase, and Davis. The purchase was divided into twenty-six shares, and the 
shares were set off — whether by lot or otherwise does not appear — to the 
several purchasers. After the division into shares was made, there was a 
piece of land between the first lot or share and Tiverton bounds, which in 1 702 
was voted by the proprietors to be sold " to procure a piece of land near the 
centre of the town for a burying place, a training field, or any other public use 
the town shall see cause to improve it for." Accordingly this piece of land was 



320 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Fall River Machine Co., 

POND STREET, FALL RIVER, MASS. 

MANUFACTURERS AND REPAIRERS OF 

TEXTILE I MACHINERY 

RING + SPINNING *- FRAMES 

(FOR WARP OR FILLING 

CARDS, COILER RAILWAY HEADS, DRAWING FRAMES, ETC., 



— BUILDERS AND REPAIRERS OF — 



Marine and Stationary Boilers 

FURNISH IRON AND BRASS CASTINGS. 

C. H. WlLLISTON, 

B09HB * Ail * C0S6BIHB. 

Rear 81 PLEASANT ST., FALL RIVER, MASS. 

TELEPHONE CONNECTION. 

W. G, Pearse, 

AGRICULTURAL +***■ IMPLEMENTS, 

— SEEDS FERTILIZERS,— 

Wooden Ware and Baskets, 

HARNESSES AND HORSE CLOTHING. 

55 to 61 Second St., - - Fall River, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 321 

sold to John Borden, of Portsmouth, Rhode Island, the highest bidder, for nine 
pounds and eight shillings, and was the territory on which that part of the 
village south of Bedford street, and north of the stream, now stands. This 
John Borden is believed to be the ancestor of all who sustain his name in this 
vicinity. 

The Hargraves Manufacturing Company, a long established firm engaged 
in the manufacture of soaps, glue substitute, refined tallow ; and packers of 
tripe, pigs feet, lambs 1 tongues, etc., was established in 1848, Reuben Hargraves 
and Thomas Hargraves being the proprietors. The works, situated opposite 
the Stafford Mills, off Pleasant street, Fall River, are fitted up with the best 
machinery that can be obtained. An extensive business is carried on by them, 
and constant employment is given to a large force of hands. They are among 
the largest producers of soaps of all kinds in New England. Their business of 
packing lambs tongues, pigs feet, tripe, etc,, is continually increasing, but the 
members of the firm are fully capable of carrying on their business in a 
successful manner. 

Callahan & Daley are members of a well known and representative house 
engaged in the building line. This copartnership was formed about 1878, and 
is composed of gentlemen of long experience and good business ability, aud 
from its inception has carried on a successful and steadily increasing business. 
They are prepared to furnish plans and specifications and give estimates on all 
kinds of building, and having 50 skilled men employed they are enabled at all 
times to fill orders in a prompt and stisfactory manner. In addition to this line 
of work they have for the past five years carried on the hardware business. 
They carry a large and varied assortment of builders and general hardware, 
carpenters' tools, machinists 1 supplies, butchers' and grocers' tools, and also 
cutlery of all kinds. Their stock of scissors, shears, and pocket knives is the 
largest in the city. They occupy large and convenient premises at 45 South 
Main street, corner Annawan, and have done much to aid the substantial growth 
and enhance the wealth of the community. 

Benson & Austin, successors to the Fall River Mill Supply Company, are 
extensively engaged in the manufacture of patent loom harnesses and reeds, 
and the covering of top rolls. The firm is composed of C. E. Benson and James 
T. Austin, gentlemen of experience, ability, and energy, and public spirited citi- 
zens of high personal and commercial standing. They occupy two large floors, 
each 40 by 6$ feet, of a four story building, well fitted with the necessary appli- 
ances, and employ a sufficient number of men, the product of whose labor and 
skill is in demand throughout the North and South. The goods made here 
are in all respects of the best quality, and the outlook for a prosperous career is 
most flattering. 

Covel & Osborn comprise a long established and well known firm as 
dealers in mill supplies and manufacturers of cotton banding, spindle, braided 
and loop bands. The business was established in 1873 under the name of San- 
ford & Covel, but in 1884 the name was changed to Covel & Osborn. A full 
and complete stock of all kinds of supplies for manufacturers, builders, etc. is 
kept on hand. They are sole agents for Cook's steel loom forks for United 



322 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Royal Oak Range. 

NOTHING LIKE IT. 

THE LEADING 
RANGE 
OF TO-DAY. 

We ask comparison with other ranges. You will find 
it full size, a perfect baker, and economical worker. 
Fitted with all modern improvements 

IT HAS NO SUPERIOR. 

We place this Range against any first-class make in the 
market to-day. Made in all the different styles and sizes. 
For sale by all leading dealers • . . 





MANUFACTURED BY 



Eagle Stove Foundry Co, 

FALL RIVER, MASS. 

C. E. Benson. Jas. T. Austin. 

BENSON & AUSTIN, 

SUCCESSORS TO 

FALL RIVER MILL SUPPLY CO., 

Loom Harness Manufacturers and Top 
# * Roll Coverers. # ;■*? 

S ati S fac™n o gfakan^ ED . Ko 90 p ocasset SLj j AlL RI¥ERj MASS> 

M. HEYWOOD & CO., -$-, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

Cotton Banding and Cotton Braids, 

DRUM RIM, SCROLL, SPINDLE, LOOP 
AND BRAIDED BANDING, 

CABLE LAID DRIVING ROPE A SPECIALTY 
264 So. Main St., Fall River Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 323 

States and Canada. A force of thirty hands is employed by them in the various 
departments, and five teams are kept in constant use. The members of the firm 
consist of T. D. Covel and J. E. Osborn, both of whom are well known resi- 
dents of the city and have a thorough knowledge of their line of goods. A large 
trade is carried on by them and all transactions are met in a straight forward 
and fair dealing manner. The store is located at 71 Pleasant street, Fall 
River. 

U. T. Tripp in 1892 succeeded to the business established in 1878 by Wil- 
liam M. Hawes. This house deals in new and second hand machinery, machin- 
ists' tools, engines, etc., a specialty being made of boilers, pumps, wood- 
working machinery, etc. He is also agent for Wm. P. Miller's lubricating 
compound. Mr. Tripp has had many years' experience in the trade, is a 
thorough workman and understands every point in the business. Mr. Tripp is 
well known among the business men of the city, and his stock is one of the 
largest of the kind. All his goods are first-class in every respect no inferior 
article being kept by him. The premises occupied by him are located at 131 
Central street, where all orders are promptly filled at short notice. 

George W. Frye, located at 20 Third street, is an extensive dealer in oils 
and chemicals, and is a leading representative of this interest in this city. 
This enterprise was established in 1872 and transacts a large and grow- 
'ing business with the mill owners and machinists of Fall River and 
vicinity. Mr. Frye manufactures all kinds of lubricating oils for all classes 
of machinery, and deals to a considerable extent in E. Sehlbach & Co., Jebb's 
Starch and Wattle's Dressine, a compound for the improvement of sizing for 
cotton warps. The house is in excellent favor with the large mill owners of this 
city, whom it supplies with a superior quality of lubricants including high-grade 
cylinder, engine, machine, dynamo, sperm, neatsfoot and spindle oils. 

C. H. Williston of 81 1-2 Pleasant street, commenced business in 1877, as 
agent for Storey's phoenix brand felt and composition roofing. This compound is 
the best and cheapest in use, being both fire and water proof. All kinds of 
mica, and majgrials for roofing are always on hand, and all orders are promptly 
filled at short nofLe. The work done by Mr. Williston is always of the best 
and gives perfect satisfaction, as he employs only first-class workmen. War- 
ren natural Asphalt and double roofing is also done by him. He is well known 
among the business men and has the reputation of conducting a large business 
in an honest and fair dealing manner. 

The Eagle Stove Foundry Company, located on Pearse street, is an important 
house engaged in the manufacture of stoves, ranges and sinks, and is conducted 
by the heirs nf the late John Davis. It was established some sixteen years ago 
and has built up a large trade, especially in the West. The goods manufac- 
tured by them are from their own designs and are made from the best material. A 
force of thirty-five experienced workmen are employed who turn out about three 
thousand a year. The premises occupied by them consist of a story and a half 
building, ninety-five feet front and one hundred and ten feet back, fitted up with all 
the latest machinery. All goods manufactured by the company are warranted 



324 ADVERTISEMENTS. 



(callahanMdaleyj) 

CONTEACTOHS & BUILDERS, 

AND ALSO DEALERS IN • • • 

BUILDERS AND GENERAL HARDWARE, CUTLERY, TOOLS, ETC., 
45 So. Main St., - Cor. Annawan. 

FALL RIVER, - MASS. 

COVEL & OSBORN, 
MILL FURNISHERS, BUILDERS' SUPPLIES, GENERAL HARDWARE. 

. . Largest Stock of MILL, SUPPLIES in New England. . . . 

CONTRACTORS FOR SASH, FRAMES AND HARDWARE Fo Eve N r e y w i>e B scr^n. of 

. . . AGENTS FOR . . . 
The Cook Steel Loom Fork - and - The H. W. Johns' Paint. 

71 Pleasant St., - - Fall River, Mass. 

GEO. W. FRYE, 

— MAKUEACTTJBEB AND DEALER IN LUBRICATING 

■^ OILS -x- 

For all Classes of Machinery, 
SPERM, WHALE, LARD, TALLOW, PARAFFINE, CYLINDER AND SPINDLE OILS. 

— AGENT FOR — 

Binghanaton Cylinder Oil, Peter Cooper's Kenned Neatsfoot Oil 

Wattle's Dressine, Jebb's Starches. 

1 8 Third Street, - - Fall River Mass. 

. . . SUCCESSOR TO WM. M. HAWES. . . . 

DEALER IN NEW AND SECOND HAND MACHINERY, 

Machinists' Tools, Engines, 

BOILERS, PUMPS, WOOD WORKING MACHINERY, SHAFTING, PULLEYS, 
HANGERS AND COUPLINGS A SPECIALTY. 

AGENCY for WILLIAM P. MILLER'S LUBRICATING COMPOUND. TRUMPINE 

POLISHING PASTE. 

131 Central Street, . Fall River, Mass. 

Orders solicited and Promptly Attended To. Telephone 254-3 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 325 

to be as represented, and inexperienced buyers can trade with this firm with 
perfect safety and know that they are obtaining the best, at low prices. 

M. Hey wood & Company was established in 1869 for the manufacture of 
cotton banding, cotton braids, and cotton rope. A large and successful busi. 
ness is carried on b} 7 them and the articles manufactured are of the best quality. 
The machinery outfit includes all the modern improvements manipulated by 
a large number 01 assistants of both sexes. A vast amount of work is produced 
by them each week, which gives perfect satisfaction. The factory is located 
in the rear of 264 Main street, where all orders receive immediate at- 
tention, while especial care is taken to have the wants of their patrons met in 
a satisfactory manner. The capacity of the factory is three thousand pounds 
per week. 

The Fall River Machine Co., is one of the largest establishments for the 
manufacture of cotton machinery, ring spinning frames, cards, etc., in 
Fall River, their premises being located on Pond street. In connection 
with the above business they have also an iron foundiw and boiler works. An 
extensive trade is carried on by this company and since its incorporation in 1880 
until the present time, its trade has increased constantly. The premises 
occupied by them cover an area of five acres, and employment is given to over 
two hundred experienced hands. All the latest machinery is used by them and 
great pains are taken to have the best results. The company was formed with 
a capital of ninety-six thousand dollars, and the officers are president, Hon. J. 
S. Brayton and treasurer, G. H. Bush. These men are well known in business 
circles, are good financiers and possess all the qualities for carrying on a large 
business. 

The Massasoit Manufacturing Company, of Fall River, located on Davol 
street, produce cotton batting, cotton waste, mops, wicking, etc. The company 
was incorporated in 1882, and their present capital and surplus is one hundred 
and fifty thousand dollars. A large tract of land is occupied with their build- 
ings which are fully equipped with all the machinery necessary, it being of the 
latest pattern, while employment is given to one hundred and eighty hands all 
of whom are skilled workmen. The products stand high in the markets and 
their reputation is well known. W. E. Turner is treasurer of the company. 

W. G. Pearse, of 55 Second street, is well known both as a wholesale and 
retail dealer in agricultural implements, seeds, fertilizers, harnesses, horse 
clothing, whips, etc. The business was established in 1878 under the name of 
Pearse & Easterbrook, but in 1890 the firm was succeeded by W. G. Pearse and 
the nature of the business changed by adding harness and horse supplies. 
Occupying the whole of a three-story building is evidence enough that a large 
and successful business is carried on. His trade extends to all of the surround- 
ing towns and six assistants are engaged by him thus avoiding any delay in 
filling orders. 



326 



F. L. ROBERTS, Manager. 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



TELEPHONE No. 23-3. 



Hargraves Manufg. Co, . 

Beef Department. 

==— ^ d "" " 

RECEIVERS OF 

CUDAHY PACKING CO.'S 




Western Dressed Beef, 

MUTTON, LAMB, VEAL, 
PORK, PROVISIONS, Etc. 



261-265 Pleasant St. 
Stafford Sq., 

FALL RIVER, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 327 



TOWNS ANDCITIESON THEBRANCHES 
OK THE OLD COLONY RAILROAD. 



HAVING given in the preceding pages somewhat extended historical data 
and description of several important cities on the Old Colony system, 
the remaining cities, towns and stations will be found classified on the 
various branches upon which they are located. We have heretofore referred 
to the fact that this road has only eleven miles of main line (from Boston to 
South Braintree) all the rest, comprising upward of 500 miles, being branches ; 
but as our starting point under this classification must of necessity be in the 
town of Braintree (the various stations included within the city limits of Boston 
all mentioned as "Surburban Service' 1 ) a sketch of that town is the first in order 
on what is known as the Central Division, main line. 

BRAINTREE. 

Braintree, one of the most respectable and ancient towns of the state, lies in 
the northeastern part of Norfolk County, 10 miles south of Boston on the Old 
Colony Railroad. The stations, villages, and post offices are Braintree, South 
Braintree, and East Braintree. It is bounded on the northwest and north by 
Quincy, east by Weymouth, south by Holbrook, and southwest and west by 
Randolph. It contains fine public schools, a public library and many elegant 
estates, while the Old Colony has here erected an attractive and most con- 
veniently arranged station. There are a number of manufacturing establish- 
ments in the town. Of these, the most extensive are the boot and shoe 
factories, of which there are several. There are several factories for making 
wood and metal goods, hosiery, knit goods, findings and trimmings, two or 
three tanneries, a large paper mill, three or four establishments for food 
preparations, one each for cement, soap, dye-stuffs, furniture, rubber and 
elastic goods. The town has quarries of excellent granite, from which as early 
as 1752, Mr. John Hayward furnished the material for King's Chapel in 
Boston. 

The original settlement of the town was in 1625. Some of the earliest settlers 
came from the town of Braintree, in the county of Essex, England, and when 
the town was incorporated May 13, 1640, it was under the name most familiar 
to them. Previously it had been called Mt. Wollaston. The township included 
what are now Quincy, Randolph and Holbrook. The town purchased the Indian 
right to their lands, in 1679, °f Wampatuck, otherwise Josiah Sagamore, the 
chief of the Indians hereabout; the price paid being £21, 10s. In 1792 parts 



328 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

WINKFIELD & GREGG, 



Manufacturers and Wholesale Dealers in 

COTTON and 
FLANNEL 



Also Manufacturers of and 
"Wholesale Dealers in . . 



SHIRTS, . . 
OVERALLS. 

BRAINTREE, MASS. 
WINFRED A. TORREY, 

i i DRUGGIST, 

Cor. Washington St. and Holbrook Ave., 
SOUTH BRAINTREE. MASS. 



B. H. WOODSUM & CO., 

MANUFACTUREBi OF — — 

Tacks, Shoe Nails and Small Nails, 

Channel, Countersunk, Hungarian, Chair, Clout, Box, Barrel, 

Trunk, Cigar-box, Finishing, 2d and ^d Nails, Etc 

Upholsterers', Gimp, Carpet, Brush, Card, Lace, Carriage, 
Miners' 1 , Trimmers' Tacks, Etc 

. TINNED AND COPPERED TACKS AND NAILS. . 

SHOE NAILS AND SHOE TACKS OF ALL KINDS. 

SPECIAL SIZES CUT TO ORDER. 

SOUTH BRAINTREE, MASS. 

Store: 413 BROOME ST., NEW YORK. 

JAEGER & TIMME, Selling Agents. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CTTIES. 329 

of Braintree and Dorchester were established as Randolph, there being a further 
annexation in 181 1; and in 1856 another part of the town was annexed to 
Quincy. The part of this territory now known as Braintree was voted to be a 
distinct parish in 1708. The Rev. Hugh Adams, ordained in 1707, was the 
first minister. Population, 1890,4,842. 

A. S. Morrison & Bros, located in this town are among the oldest manufactur- 
ers in their line in this country. Their specialty being yarns, men's fashioned un- 
derwear, French finish jersey cloth, and jackets, etc. At what time this privi- 
lege was first occupied we know not, neither by whom the enterprise was 
first started, but in looking over the records of the town of Braintree we find 
this mill was first used as an iron foundry, afterwards as a saw mill and grist 
mill, and about the year 181 6 Robert Sugden, a native of England, leasing the 
premises commenced the manufacture of woolen goods, and carried it on a 
number of years. In the year 1831 Alva Morrison, a native of New Hampshire, 
leased the privilege and began the manufacture of woolen goods, especially 
woolen yarns. His business proved successful and he afterwards purchased the 
property from the Thayer family. He continued to improve it from time to 
time until he was the owner of the best factory in this section. His prosperity 
was mainly due to his skill and faithfulness in putting on the market the best 
goods that were manufactured in his line in this country. Hon. Alva Morrison 
remained in the town for the remainder of his life, a period of more than fifty 
years, always taking an active interest in town and state affairs until his death 
which occurred May 28, 1879. The business is still conducted by his three sons, 
Alva S., R. Elmer, and Ibrahim, under the name of A. S. Morrison & Bros. 
The premises now occupied by this firm consist of two mills, each three 
stories in height. These mills are fully supplied with all the modern machinery 
that is required in their business. They have a large electric plant for their own 
use consisting of two dynamos ; they also light this section of the town. Em- 
ployment is given to about one hundred hands, and they are the only firm that 
make fashioned underwear in this section. In connection with this they also 
manufacture hosiery for gentlemen's wear, and are able to turn out about two 
hundred dozen per day. Their trade extends all over the country and they have 
gained a wide reputation for the superior quality and finish of their goods. 
The Boston office is located at 1 28 Essex street ; they also have an office at 74 
Franklin street, New York City. 

The Old Colony Cotton Mills were establised in Braintree over a year ago for 
the manufacture of pure absorbent and medicated cotton, perfumers' and jew- 
ellers' cotton. The premises occupied by them consist of a two and a half 
story building whose dimensions are sixty by forty feet, while connected with 
the main building are a bleach house, picker house, drying rooms, etc. 
The buildings contain modern machinery oil the latest pattern and at 
present one picker is in operation and one extractor, but arrangements are being 
made to add other machinery to meet the demands of the increasing business. 
Constant employment is given to twenty hands all of whom are experts at the 
business. The trade extends all over the United States. A. G. Durginis treas- 



33° HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

urer and manager of the mills and has had a large experience in this special 
line of manufacture. 

Winkfield & Gregg were established in Braintree about the first of 1892, for 
the manufacture 01 shirts and overalls. They occupy one floor forty by fifty 
feet where eight machines are in operation. Employment is given to nine 
skilled hands and the special line of shirts manufactured is cotton and flannel 
shirts; they are also wholesale dealers in the same. The goods are made from 
the best material that the market affords and this firm has the reputation for pro- 
ducing an extra fine quality of goods. The members of the firm consist of F. G. 
Winkfield and R. C. Gregg, both of the firm having had a large experience in 
this line of business, Mr. Winkfield being at one time connected with one of the 
largest manufacturing firms located in Boston. 

SOUTH BRAINTREE. 

South Braintree is a quiet place and a most desirable one for permanent 
homes. It is 1 1 miles from Boston, and the seat of the famous educational 
institution known as Thayer Academy, a preparatory school much patronized 
by students about entering the universities and colleges of the country. It has 
a savings bank, fine churches, an excellent railway station with handsomely 
laid out grounds and flower beds, and everything about its clean and orderly 
streets bears evidence of the high character of its residents. The extensive 
building and repair shops of the Old Colony Railroad were located here the 
past year (i892),?and this is giving impetus to the growth of the place which 
will materially advance the price of real estate in the near future. Four tracks 
are laid to South Braintree, and with the added facilities for transportation 
which this improvement affords, the place cannot fail to become an important 
section into which large numbers of the urban population will early flock to 
seek homes and employment. It is surrounded by a fine agricultural district, 
and all the conditions are most favorable for home-owning and the enjoyment of 
domestic life. 

Stevens & Willis are manufacturers of all kinds of iron, zinc, and copper 
shoe nails, tacks, and steel shanks, also Hungarian clout, channel, chair, cigar- 
box and finishing nails, upholstery, carpet, gimp, brush, lace, carriage, sad- 
dlery, and matting tacks, and nails for McKay, American National, and Bige- 
low heeling machines, while shoe tacks for machine driving are made a specialty. 
These works were founded in 1868 by J. T. Stevens & Co., who carried on the 
business under that proprietorship till 1870 when they were succeeded by the 
present firm which is composed of James T. Stevens and George D. Willis, men 
of long experience in the trade. The works comprise two factories of 100x30 
feet each, which are devoled to the packing, stock and store houses, and covering 
in all a territory of about one acre of ground floor. The whole is equipped with 
machinery which is of the latest and most improved patterns, and where some 
thirty hands are employed, who turn out each day some three thousand pounds 
of nails and tacks, which are not only sold throughout the United States but are 
largely exported. Nails and tacks for machine driving are a great specialty 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 33 1 

of this house. The methods of manufacture are such that everything may be 
designated as first-class that emanates from the establishment, the immense 
productive capacity of the works combined with the facilities for procuring stock 
from the best sources of supply, enable them to offer the trade both at home and 
abroad superior inducements. Being situated only ten miles south of Boston 
this firm is the only one producing the above line of goods so near Boston, and 
they are also on the direct route to New York and the West. 

The Braintree House, located at the corner of Pearl and Washington streets, 
South Braintree, has all the comforts of home, besides every civility, attention 
and convenience possible to a sojourn in a public caravansary. The house is a two- 
story structure covering an area of ioo x 30 feet, and contains sixteen rooms which 
are neatly and tastefully furnished. The dining room has a seating capacity of 
twenty, and the menu is abundant, and first-class in every respect. The house 
has been established four years, C. E. Smart being the proprietor, and during 
that time has become favorably known to the public. 

Winfred A. Torrey is the postmaster in South Braintree, whose appointment 
dates back to 1885. He is a native of the town, having been born there in 
i860, which places him among the youngest postofB.ce officials in this section. 
He is proprietor of a well known drug establishment, having succeeded in 1885 
Elias Hay ward who founded the business many years ago. He has been a very 
successful business man, and his drug store receives the largest share of patron- 
age of any in the vicinity. He is always interested in town affairs and his 
management of the postoffice here has been most satisfactory to all con- 
cerned. 

J. R. Hathaway, the station agent at South Braintree is a conscientious man 
in serving the road, and is very popular with the patrons of the,, same. He has 
been in the employ of the Old Colony Railroad in different departments continu- 
ously for twenty- two years, and has been station agent at South Braintree for 
ten years. 

F. J. Powers is the ticket agent at South Braintree. He has thoroughly 
mastered telegraphy, and he combines this with his other duties. 

B. H. Woodsum & Co., of So. Braintree, are proficient in all the details of 
the manufacture of tacks and nails. Established eight years ago, each succeed- 
ing year has found their trade enlarged, their business to-day reaching through- 
out the United States and into Canada. A three-story building, 78 x 35 feet, 
with awing measuring 50 x 35, fitted up with all the most improved mechan- 
ical appliances is devoted to manufacturing purposes. Six thousand pounds 
each of nails and tacks are produced here every week, eighteen employes being 
engaged in the various processes of the work. The products of the house are 
all of that excellence which make them of staple value to the trade. 



332 ADVERTISEMENTS. 



AABLER er IiOP,ART, 



■WHOLESALE AND RETAIL DEALERS IN- 



QRAIN, # pEED, ^ fCRAPS and 

MEAL, '■ FLOUR, ^ SHELLS. 



Oats and Corn Ground to Order. 
Tele &ection. EAST BRAINTREE, MASS. 



P. O, Address, Weymouth or East Braintree. 

Mills at East Braintree. 



L E. FORD & CO., 



■MANUFACTURERS OP- 



TACKS & NAILS, 

Shoe Tacks a Specialty. 

KINGSTON, MASS. 

( , ( L. E. Ford. 

U- \M. W. Ford. 



H. C. & I. S. COLE, 

KINGSTON, MASS. 



MANUFACTURERS OF- 



Tacks for Lasting Machines, 

Also Shoe Tacks, Channel 
Halls, Etc. * t ■ t t 



S. H. SHERMAN, 



MANUFACTURER OF 



STT/^VT^ Heels, Inner Soles, Sock 

— ^ >fe Linings, Taps, Sheet, 

1 vJO±V. Heeling, Etc. 



P, 0. Box, 522. 



U,Tim street, EAST WEYMOUTH, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 333 



SOUTH SHORE BRANCH. 



EAST BRATNTREE. 

THIS is a farming section of the town of Braintree, from the hills sur- 
rounding which fine views of the valley of the Monantiquat river may 
be had. It has the best of accomodations for summer sojourners, 
increasing numbers of whom are yearly attracted by its quiet and restful scen- 
ery and fine fishing grounds. 

L. O. Crocker invented the Crocker Punch in the year 1865, and from that 
time to the present it has been called the best punch in the market. As a proof 
of this we call attention to the fact that it is used all over the civilized world, 
standing the test for twenty-four years. Another evidence of its superiority is 
the fact that it is imitated by other manufacturers and called the Crocker 
Punch, but all such are infringements. The true Crocker punch is 
made only by him and stamped L. O. Crocker, East Braintree, Mass. Over 
seven hundred patterns are in use by the Boston & Maine Railroad. Mr. 
Crocker is also agent for the Yost typewriter, which is considered the ideal 
typewriter on the market to-day. Railroad corporations are using this machine 
in preference to all others. 

Ambler & Hobart are located on Shaw street, East Braintree. This house 
has been established for many years, and always enjoyed an extensive business 
throughout Braintree and the surrounding towns. They are engaged as whole- 
sale and retail dealers in grain, meal, feed, flour, scraps, shells, hay and straw. 
A specialty is made of oats and corn ground to order. The mills are fully 
equipped with all necessary appliances including the latest improved machinery. 
Six experienced workmen are engaged as help, and four horses and teams are 
kept continually on the road delivering orders. Mr. Ambler is a gentleman of 
experience and industry, and this is well known in and around Weymouth, 
although the business plant is located in E. Braintree. He devotes his undi- 
vided attention to the work at the mills. 

WEYMOUTH. 

The town of Weymouth is a busy section, industrially, with an element of 
progress strongly marked in all public and private undertakings. It is situated 
at the southerly extremity of Boston Harbor, in the northeasterly section of 
Norfolk county. An arm of the sea, called the Weymouth Fore river, separates 
the territory from Quincy and partly from Braintree, which form the western 



334 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

ESTABLISHED 1866. 

J. W. HART & GO., 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



MEN'S « FINE * SHOES. 

WEYMOUTH, MASS. 

Boston Office: 287 Devonshire Street.. 



GEO. H. BICKNELL, 

MANUFACTURER OF 

Men's Boys' and Youths' 

COUNTERS, HEELS AND INNER SOLES. 

WEYMOUTH, -. MASS. 

FORE RIVER ENGINE CO., 

QUINCY AVE., WEYMOUTH, MASS. 



Builders of STEAM YACHTS and TOW BOATS. 

Simple High Pressure, Compound Condensing, and Triple Expansion 

MARINE and STATIONARY ENGINES. 

Exceptional facilities for Marine Repairs, 

MARINE RAILWAY 

SURFACE CONDENSERS, IRON, BRASS or COP- 

PER SHELIjS designed with special regard to lightness. . . . 

PROPELLERS OF ALL STYLES AND SIZES OF CAST IRON OR BRONZE. 

Makers and Local Agents for PER- . . MILL WORK and MACHINE 

FECTED PROUTY PRINTING PRESS. REPAIRS of all Descriptions, 

STEAM AND HOT WATER PIPING. 

Complete stock of PIPES and FITTINGS constantly on hand, also Oil, and WASTE. 
Large assortment of SHEET RUBBER, SHEET ASBESTOS and ROD PACKING. 

BOLTS and NUTS. IRON and STEEL. BELTING and BELT LACING. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 335 

boundaries; and another arm, called the Weymouth Back river, separates it 
from Hingham, which is the boundary on the east, both bodies of water being 
nearly three miles in length and receiving streams as their interior formation. 
That on the east, the outlet of Whitman's pond, near the centre of the town, 
has an area of 240 acres. This receives the outlet of Great pond, in 
the southwest part of the town, which contains about 280 acres, and has a 
pretty island in the centre. In 1623 Myles Standish made a terrible attack 
upon the assembled Indian chiefs in this town, and a year later a company of 
colonists from Weymouth, England, settled here and gave it the name of the 
place from whence they came. Weymouth village has a population of 
4,000, a national bank, one savings bank, many line estates, good schools and 
churches, and is a most desirable section for permanent or summer homes. It 
is on the South Shore of the Old Colony system, 12 miles from Boston. 

The South Shore Branch of the Old Colony Railroad runs through the north- 
ern part of the town, having a station at Weymouth Landing, a sta- 
tion at North Weymouth, and one at East Weymouth. The postoffices 
are Weymouth (village and Landing), Weymouth Centre, East, North and 
South Weymouth. Other villages are Lovell's Corners and Old Spain. 

The Fore River Engine Co., which business was formerly carried on under 
the name of F. O. Wellington & Co., is located on Quincy avenue, Weymouth. 
The premises cover fifteen thousand square feet of floor space, compris- 
ing machine, pattern, boat, joiner, and blacksmith shops, wharf and marine 
railway. A specialty is made of steam yachts and tow boats, and a full line of 
marine and stationary engines is made. They are also builders of the cele- 
brated Prouty Job Printing Press. All kinds of machinery are designed, con- 
structed and repaired. The marine business last year included a 90 foot tow 
boat, and 10 steam yachts varying from 60 to 130 feet in length. The business 
was established in 1885 and has been steadily on the increase. Sixty mechanics 
find constant employment. The proprietors are T. A. Watson and F. O. Wel- 
lington, both prominent citizens. 

J. W. Hart & Co., are manufacturers of men's fine boots and shoes on Hunt 
street, Weymouth, where they were established in 1866. The premises occu- 
pied by them are commodious, comprising three stories and a basement, where 
every convenience and facility are employed by them to transact a large and 
active business. They give employment to one hundred hands who turn out 
three thousand pairs a week. The members of the firm are active, progressive 
business men. 

George H. Bicknell, located on Congress street, Weymouth, is well known 
as a manufacturer of men's, boys', and youths' counters. He started in busi- 
ness in 1870, and has built up a large and successful trade, extending through- 
out the United States. A three-story frame building is occupied, where steam 
power is used and constant employment is given to seventy-five experienced 
workmen. Having had an experience of twenty-two years, he is well versed in 
all branches pertaining to his business. All orders by mail receive prompt and 
careful attention. 



336 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



BAY STATE "PERFECTION" HAMMOCKS. 



[trade mark.] 




PATENTED SEPT. 1. 1891. 



The most beautiful and strongest Hammock in the market. ■ . . Woven bodied. 
Small opening. . . . Cannot pull off the BUTTONS from the clothing. . . . These 
Hammocks have a curved Spreader in one end. . . . Manufactured by 

BAY STATE HAMMOCK CO., - No. WEYMOUTH, MASS. 

GEORGE W. BURR, 

[Successor to DANIEL BASSETT.] 

DEAXEB IN 

COAL, WOOD, HAY & STRAW, 

Prepared Wood Constantly on Hand. 

Offke on /urmER Jr.. HINQH/in HARBOR. 

P. O. ADDRESS, BOX 403, HINGHAM, MASS. 



LINCOLN BROS., 



DEALERS IN 



COAL & WOOD. 



All Kinds Coals for Family Use. 



Hard & Soft Wood, Sawed & Split, 
or in Clift, constantly on hand. 

DEPOT AVE., COHASSET, MASS. 




2L~ 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 337 



NORTH WEYMOUTH. 



A growing and enterprising village of the town, 13 miles out from Boston 
on the South Shore of the Old Colony system, commanding an excellent view 
of the harbor and its islands and possessing every requisite for business or 
residence. It has a population of nearly 2,000, five schools, four churches, a 
good fire department, excellent drainage, good water, and accomodations for 
large numbers of people who each recurring summer make this a place of 
resort. 

The Bay State Hammock Company is located on Sea street, North Wey- 
mouth, Augustus Beals being the proprietor. The productions of this company 
consist of the Perfection Hammock and a general variety of woven articles. A 
two and a half story frame building, in dimensions thirty by fifty feet is occu- 
pied which has every convenience for making fifteen thousand hammocks per 
year, which are sold throughout the United States as well as in Australia, Eng- 
land and Canada. Mr. Beals has had a long experience in the business, his 
goods are well known and all hammocks and other articles are sure to give per- 
fect satisfaction. 

EAST WEYMOUTH. 

An important village of the town of Weymouth, 15 miles from Boston, con- 
taining 3,500 inhabitants of an enterprising and industrious character. The 
village has a savings bank, ten public schools, one private school and four 
churches, an excellent water supply, and all the modern conveniences which go 
to make life attractive. Like all other districts of Weymouth its principal 
industry is the manufacture of boots and shoes, several of the largest factories 
being located here. At this place are also quite extensive iron works. 

S. H. Sherman, whose factory is located on Water street, East Weymouth, 
is identified as a manufacturer of shoe stock. The enterprise was started in 
1880 and has been successful from the beginning. A large trade has been 
established extending to all parts of New England. The premises consist of a 
factory building 2 1-2 stories in height, 130 by 32 feet in width, and a storage 
building 90x100 feet. Both steam and water power are used and employment 
is given to fifty hands. The house manufactures heels, innersoles, sock linings, 
tops, sheet heeling, etc., and the goods have a well established and deserved 
reputation throughout the trade. 

Edwin Clapp succeeded in 1883 to the business founded by J. H. Clapp in 
1857. The work consists in the manufacturing and designing of the finest 
grades of boots and shoes for gentlemen. A frame building is occupied which 
is six stories high in front and four stories in the rear. Steam power is used at 
the works, and three hundred diligent hands find constant employment here. 
The products are sent all over the country. Mr. Clapp pays special attention to 
novelties of personal designs, also all the standard styles in men's fine footwear 
from the best selection of stock. Three thousand pairs of boots per week are 
produced, including enamelled, cordovan, kangaroo, French, and American calf. 



338 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

The Hotel Derby is very pleasantly located at the corner of Shawmut and 
Broad streets, East Weymouth. The proprietress is Mrs. Joseph N. MaDan, 
who has run it successfully for over a year. The hotel is a two-story frame 
house, with a pleasant, spacious piazza in front. It contains twenty-one rooms. 
The sleeping apartments are beautifully furnished, and are fitted out with all 
modern improvements. The spacious dining hall is also elegantly furnished. 
The table is first class, the meat, fish, poultry, vegetables, fruit, etc. being the 
best that the market can offer. 

WEST HINGHAM. 

A village and station of Hingham, 16 miles from Boston, rural and attrac- 
tive in its scenery. It has £ood accommodations for summer visitors, and is 
noted for its smelt fishing in the season of that sport. 

HINGHAM. 

The town of Hingham dates its settlement from 1635, and is one of the 
oldest in New England. It is a place of great historic interest, being the burial 
place of Massachusetts' noted war governor, John A. Andrew, who resided here 
for many years ; and possessess the oldest occupied church in the United States, 
the edifice being over two centuries and a half old. It has a population of 
about 5,000; churches of nearly every denomination; ten excellent schools 
(Derby Academy and the Keble Seminary being among the number) a national 
and a savings bank, two hotels, and fine accommodations for summer visitors, 
there being upwards of sixty cottages for the the exclusive benefit of this latter 
class of residents. The water supply is rated the second best in the state. Hing- 
ham is justly regarded as one of the most beautiful shore towns, and has the 
best of drives, good fishing, boating, etc. In addition to its agricultural 
interests the town has manufactories of cabinet ware, cordage, wooden ware 
boots and shoes, upholstery trimmings, building materials, worsted goods, 
— woven, knit and hand-made — iron castings, hatchets, leather and other 
articles. A little attention is still given to the fisheries. The other station on 
this branch in the town of Hingham is the Old Colony House, and the villages 
are Hingham Centre, South Hingham, Downer Landing, Glad Tidings, Palin, 
Liberty Plain and Queen Anne's Corner. 

The Gushing House, of which George Cushing is the proprietor, is among 
the noted hotels of Hingham. The house is conveniently located directly 
opposite the depot. It was established in 1876, and offers unsurpassed accom- 
modations for transient and permanent guests. The house is a three-story 
frame, pleasantly situated, and is in all a very quiet and comfortable hotel. It 
contains fifty rooms, clean and spacious. They are well furnished, and fitted 
up with all modern conveniences. The table is first-class, abundantly supplied 
with the best food that the market can offer. It is carefully prepared and 
served by attentive waiters. A large stable is connected with the house, and 
recently an addition has been made to it, the whole covering an area of one 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 339 

hundred feet square. The house also has been refurnished and remodeled 
throughout. The house has the reputation of being the best in this vicinity. 
Carriages and barges are let for all occasions and are at the depot on the 
arrival of the trains and at the wharves on the arrival of the boats. There is 
also a telephone connection with Boston. 

Geo. W. Burr became the proprietor, in 1890, of the business established by 
Daniel Bassett many years ago. He is engaged as a dealer in coal, wood, hay 
and straw, making a specialty of prepared wood which is constantly on hand. 
Mr. Burr is well known in this section and enjoys the esteem of the public. 
His trade extends throughout Hingham and surrounding towns, and is princi- 
pally retail. The house is conveniently located on Summer street of this 
town. It embraces ten coal bins, each capable of holding two hundred and fifty 
tons. Six men are engaged as help, and five teams are kept busy delivering 
orders. 

NORTH COHASSET. 

A village and station in the town of Cohasset, 19 miles from Boston, a 
description of which is included in that of Cohasset. 

COHASSET. 

No other town on the seacoast of New England is entitled to more consider- 
ation as a summer resort than Cohasset. Of late it has attracted many wealthy 
people, as well as some high up in histrionic art, such well known names as 
William Crane, Stuart Robson, and the late Lawrence Barrett appearing among 
the list of residents. On the famous Jerusalem Road, which overlooks the bay, 
are many costly structures, the residences of people of wealth and high social 
position. The shores along the town are rocky and precipitous, against which 
the Atlantic dashes with incessant roar, mariners being warned of the dangers 
of the coast by one of the most famous lighthouses in the world — " Minot's 
Ledge Light." Back from the seashore the town abounds in gently-rising hills 
and fertile valleys, affording areas for cultivation and dairy farming. 
Cohasset has excellent schools, churches, and a savings bank, and is provided 
with all the modern conveniences which those of wealth and high social standing 
naturally demand. The place is growing rapidly every year on account of the 
innumerable advantages offered for sporting, gunning, fishing, bathing, and 
fine drives, as well as the magnificent stretch of marine view to be had from its 
craggy and rock-strewn shores. Its population in 1890 was 2,448. North 
Cohasset and King street are stations in this town. 

Tower Bros. & Co. were established on Border street, Cohasset in 1858. They 
are engaged as dealers in coal, building material of all kinds, groceries, white 
lead and oil, ready mixed paints, and yachting outfits. Their spacious premises 
comprise eight buildings, covering about one acre of ground. Their coal bins 
are capable of holding one thousand tons. They enjoy an extensive trade but it 
is chiefly retail. The members of the firm are gentlemen of business tact. 



340 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Lincoln Bros, are well known as they have been established opposite 
the depot in Cohasset since 1879. They . are engaged as dealers in coal 
and wood of all kinds for family use. They enjoy an excellent business in 
Cohasset and surrounding towns, but it is principally retail. A specialty is 
made of hard and soft wood, sawed and split, or in clift, which is kept con- 
stantly on hand. Their spacious apartments include nine coal bins holding an 
average of eight hundred tons each. Five hands are here kept busy, aided by 
three horses and teams. Lincoln Bros, have been residents of Cohasset for 
many years. 

TOWER BROS. & CO., 

. . . Dealers in . . . 

COAL, LUMBER, HARDWARE, 
AND BUILDING MATERIALS. 

Grocin's White Lead & Oil; Ready-Mixed Paints & General Outfits. 

Offices and Wharves: BORDER ST., COHASSET, MASS. 



* 



EDWIN CLAPP, 

DESIGNEE AND MANUFACTUEEB OF / 

FINEST GRADES BOOTS AND SHOES 



Novelties of Personal 
Design, also all th 

Standard Styles in 

Men's Fine Footwear, from 
best Selection of Stock. 

Patent Calf. 

W~M [Cornelius Heyl.] 

Enameled. 

Cordovan. 



SSSK- x CaM ■ ' FOR GENTLEMEN. 

American, j 1>alt * g 

Oak Sole Leather. § EAST WEYMOUTH, NO. 98 SUMMER ST 



Artistic Bluchers. 



MASS. BOSTON. 



Piccadilly Lasts. §5 

[Private Models.] ^ Address Correspondence to East Weymouth. 



PATUXET HOUSE, 

A. B. LUCAS, Proprietor. 

• KINGSTON, MASS. 

A pleasant and comfortable resort for transient or permanent guests. 
TERMS: $1.50 tO $2.00 PER DAY. * Free Carriage ^Guests^* £ ^ 

A LIVERY AND SALE STABLE IS CONNECTED WITH THE HOUSE. 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



341 




PLYMOUTH FOUNDRY CO. 

MANUFACTURERS, 

PLYMOUTH, MASS. 



oa 2 ADVERTISEMENTS. 



The Atlantic. 




Situated on Atlantic Hill, one hundred feet 
above sea level, overlooking the ocean, and the 
famous stretch of Nantasket Beach. Patron- 
ized by the best people. Location unsurpassed 
on the New England coast. Scenery both ma- 
rine and landscape, unrivalled in picturesque 
beauty. Temperature cooled by never failing 
ocean breezes. Excellent facilities for surf 
bathing, boating, fishing, driving and tennis. 
Frequent hops. Most careful attention paid to 

drainage and all sanitary arrangements 

Thirteen miles from Boston, reached by 
modern steamers of the Nantasket Steamboat 
Co., (hourly from Rowes Wharf) and by rail 
viaO.C.R.R 

L. Damon's Sons, Prop's. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITLESo 343 



NANTASKET BEACH BRANCH, 



HULL. 

THIS is one of the most picturesque and unique towns in the vicinity of 
Boston from which it is nine miles distant by water and twenty-two 
by land. The Nantasket Beach Branch extends from the Old Colony 
House station in Hingham to Pemberton Point, where it terminates directly in 
front of the Hotel Pemberton. Hull is the smallest town in Plymouth county, 
of which it forms the extreme northwestern point, and the smallest but two 
in the entire state, having a population of something less than 1,000 perman- 
ent residents. Its yachting facilities are unsurpassed, and it has one of the 
best equipped and largest yacht clubs in this country. 

NANTASKFT BEACH. 

This is the second station on the branch, and is justly styled the "Coney 
Island of Boston." A fine stretch of beach runs along almost the entire sea 
front of the promontory, affording a most excellent drive and unsurpassed 
facilities for bathing. The scenes on this beach during i * the season " are of the- 
most animated character, 50,000 visitors in a single day being a not unusual 
number in warm weather. Immense summer hotels have been erected in close 
proximity to the waters edge, from the ample piazzas of which the visitor can 
behold a broad stretch of ocean scenery, witness the various sports along the 
beach, or listen to the music of the numerous bands which discourse the most 
popular airs of the day, from morning until the late train and the last boat 
departs well into the night. As the width of the promontory is but a few hun- 
dred yards at its greatest width, all the most prominent attractions of this great 
breathing place are but two or three minutes' walk from the railroad station 
and steamboat landings, the more inaccessible parts of the village on the hill 
being reached by frequent trips of the street railway. Nantasket is famous for 
the excellence of its fish dinners and clambakes, and the great facilities it 
affords for recreation at the seashore at an outlay within the means of the 
middle classes, and is the popular resort of tens of thousands of artisans, 
mechanics and wage earners from the surrounding cities and towns. 

The entire town of Hull is dotted with summer cottages, which are reached 
from the stations already indicated and those at Weir River, Surfside, Ken- 
berma, Waveland, Bayside, Point Allerton and Stony Beach. 



344 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

The Atlantic House is one of the very best hotels situated on Nantasket 
Beach. It is situated on a hill so that a view can be had of the surrounding 
towns, and facing the beach as it does it gives its guests an excellent opportunity 
to witness the breaking of the waves as they dash on the beach. It has a wide 
piazza all the way around, where the cool breezes from the ocean can 
be enjoyed in a comfortable way. It was opened in 1867 by L. Damon's Sons, 
and their reputation as hotel managers is known far and wide ; they are also 
managers of the well known Thorndike and Huntington hotels in Boston. The 
Atlantic is furnished nicely throughout ; the accommodations are of the best and 
there is room for five hundred guests. A large corps of hands is employed to 
the number of one hundred and seventy-five. The stable is one of the best, 
coaches and barges connecting with all boats and trains and pleasure teams can 
also be had. The hops given at this house are patronized by the best class of 
people. The hotel is open from June till October. 

The Hotel Nantasket at Nantasket Beach, of which E. F. Sturgis is the pro- 
prietor who has the reputation of keeping a well and nicely furnished house. 
Every endeavor is made to meet all demands for the comfort of his patrons. The 
hotel has accommodations for three hundred and fifty guests. A corps of 
two hundred efficient assistants is engaged. A fine view of the beach and all 
its attractions can be obtained from the piazza of the hotel. This hotel has 
many attractions for the summer tourist. The Rhode Island clam bakes of this 
hotel have become famous, and its patronage is increasing every year. 

HENRY SAWYER, TREAS. R. S. DOUGLASS. AGT 

PLYMOUTH WOOLEN CO., 

MANTTFACTUBEKS OF 



FANCY«CASSIMERES»AND»SUITINGS, 

Old Colony Steam Laundry, ^ii^ 



CUSTOM WORK, 



POLISH OR DOMESTIC FINISH. 

AIX CLOTHES DRIED IN THE OPEN AIR. 

18 HOWL AND ST., PLYMOUTH, MASS 

CASEY & SAMPSON, Proprietors. 
JAMES M. CASEY. FRED. A. SAMPSON. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 345 



DUXBURY AND COHASSET BRANCH, 



SCITUATE. 



THIS line old shore town is becoming famous as a resort for high-class 
professional people, several of whom have elegant summer homes 
here. It is about 25 miles southeast of Boston, and looks out upon the 
bay through a wide harbor-mouth near by. Its shores rise into a succession 
of sand cliffs, which form land marks for mariners, as well as objects of inter- 
est in its scenic appointments. The town has some fine estates, excellent sani- 
tary conditions prevail, educational facilities are provided by ten schools, while 
church-goers have the option of half that number of denominations, each wor- 
shipping in edifices of their own. There are fine locations along the shore for 
summer camping, with good boating, bathing and fishing in the bay. The man- 
ufactures of Scituate are quite diversified and consist of boots and shoes, ready- 
made clothing, carriages, leather polishes and dressings, lumber, metallic arti- 
cles, etc. Its population is 2,318. 

NORTH SCITUATE. 

This is a shore village of great attractiveness, located within the town of 
Scituate. It has good accommodations for summer sojourners, who largely 
augment its population each year. It is a growing locality, and being near the- 
bay shore, affords every facility for entertainment and pleasure. Its sanitary 
conditions are well nigh perfect, and it is noted for the large amount of Irish 
moss which is annually collected for the market, in which product it is unsur- 
passed anywhere on the Atlantic seaboard. 

EGYPT. 

Another village of Scituate town, noted as a growing summering place, and 
as possessing many attractions of land and ocean scenery. The chief industry 
of Egypt is farming, the land being particularly adapted to this important pur- 
suit, and a ready market for such products is provided in the great influx of 
visitors who yearly make this a place of resort. 

GREENBUSH, 

This is a most interesting village and station of Scituate, and attracts many 
sojourners, not only on account of its natural beauty, but as the place where 
Samuel Woodworth received that inspiration to write that world-known song. 



34-6 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

" The Old Oaken Bucket." In its vicinity is excellent fresh water fishing and 
good gunning in the season of that sport. 

The several stations of the town of Scituate are Beechwood, Greenbush, 
North Scituate, Egypt, and Scituate. 

MARSHFIELD. 

This town is best known as the home of America's famous orator and states- 
man, Daniel Webster, whose house on the farm which he long occupied and 
often tilled with his own hands, still stands, and which is yearly visited by 
thousands of tourists, and summer visitors to the various resorts with which the 
town abounds. It is a beautiful seaboard town, in the northeastern part of Ply- 
mouth county, largely devoted to agriculture, although it has several shoe man- 
ufactories, five saw mills, three shipyards, a musical instrument factory, 
tanneries, iron foundries, carriage shops, etc. Its seaside resorts are rapidly 
growing, each year attracting many sojourners from all parts of the country to 
enjoy the fishing, boating, bathing, and gunning to be found along the shores. 
Many interesting anecdotes of Daniel Webster are recorded, one of which, 
showing that Boston sportsmen visited that locality at an early date in pursuit of 
game, is worth the telling. Webster was one day engaged in mowing a piece 
of marsh land on the border of a small stream which run through his farm, 
when he was accosted by a dude sportsman from the Hub with : '• Say, old man, 
blessed if I don't give you a shilling if you'll carry me across the creek. 11 The 
great statesman at once accepted the offer, and, barefooted, waded the stream 
with the dude on his back, landed him safely on the other side, and pocketed the 
shilling with many expressions of thanks. When the sportsman reached the 
highway, a neighbor of Webster who had watched the performance with no 
little amusement, asked the Boston man if he knew who it was that had taken 
him across the stream in such a unique fashion. Receiving a negative reply 
from the passenger, it is said the latter nearly fainted with shame and 
astonishment upon being informed that his ferry was none other than the 
famous United States Senator. 

The town has a resident population of about 2,000, the stations within its 
limits being Marshfield Hills, Sea View, Marshfield Centre, Marshfield, Green 
Harbor, (formerly Webster Place,) the last named being near the old Webster- 
homestead. 

DUXBURY. 

Duxbury, one of the oldest and most notable towns of the state, is situated 
midway of the eastern shore of Plymouth county. It is 38 miles southeast of 
Boston, and about 8 miles north of Plymouth, from which it is separated by 
the town of Kingston and Plymouth Harbor. Its bounding town on the west is 
Pembroke, on the north and northeast, Marshfield, and on the east are Duxbury 
Bay and the ocean. The railroad stations are Duxbury, South Duxbury, and 
Island Creek ; these and West Duxbury are postoffices ; the villages are Ashdod, 
Crooked Lane, High Street, Mill Brook and Tinkertown. Duxbury is famous 







•^■- ? 




HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 347 

as one of the chief places in the history of the early colonists, as it was here 
that John Alden, the youngest of the Pilgrims, settled, and the house built by 
him nearly two centuries and a half ago, is still standing. Population of town, 
1890, 1,908. 

SOUTH DUXBURY. 

This is an interesting village in the town of Duxbury, and famed as the resi- 
dence of Capt. Miles Standish, a monument to whose memory and heroic deeds 
stands on Captain's Hill, near the foot of which he resided. From the summit 
of this hill fine views may be had of Duxbury bay and its shores, as well as of 
Plymouth Harbor and its shores, enabling one to trace the course of the May- 
flower from the outermost points of Cape Cod to her moorings in the Cowyard 
off Plymouth. 

Island Creek is also a village and station in the town of Duxbury, and a 
place of much scenic and historic importance. 

KINGSTON. 

Kingston is an ancient seaboard town in the easterly part of Plymouth 
County, 33 miles southeast of Boston by the Old Colony Railroad. On the 
north are Pembroke and Duxbury, on the east, the latter and Kingston Bay; 
Plymouth lies on the southeast, and Plymouth and Halifax on the southwest and 
west. The manufactures are quite numerous, consisting of hollow ware, rivets, 
tacks, carpenters' boring implements, and other iron and steel goods, also lum- 
ber, wooden boxes, cotton thread, cordage, leather, shoes, woolen goods, cloth- 
ing, food preparations, and stone. 

The town has a good harbor for small vessels, which opens into Duxbury 
and Plymouth Bay. Silver Lake (formerly Jones River Pond) is partly in the 
northwestern corner, and partly in the towns of Pembroke, Halifax and Plimp- 
ton, adjoining. The bed rock of this town is principally granite and sienite. 
Veins of volcanic trap are thrown up in some localities almost like the walls of 
masonry, especially at the " Devil : s Stair," near rocky nook in' the southeast. 
The soil is red loom, intermingled with sand and gravel. The population of 
Kingston in 1890 was 1,659. 

L. E. Ford & Co., manufacturers of shoe tacks and nails, stand as high as 
any house in the trade. The business has always been conducted upon the 
strictest principles of fairness, to which the firm owe their great success. 
Their business was established in 1884, and their works comprise two floors in 
two different buildings, in dimensions 80 x 25 feet and 18 x 22 feet respectively, 
containing improved machinery to facilitate the work and where some ten 
skilled operatives find constant employment. The shoe tacks and nails manu- 
factured by this house, are equal to any in this market, and they have estab- 
lished a reputation for the firm which would be hard to excel. The trade of 
the house extends to ail parts of the country and is constantly increasing. The 
members of the firm are L. E. Ford and M. W. Ford. 

The Patuxet House is a most agreeable and pleasant resort for transient or 
permanent guests, and the house is at all times comfortably filled with the best 



34-8 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

class of people. The house is finely situated and is a large building, three 
stories in height, and contains twenty-five comfortably furnished rooms, which 
are well lighted and ventilated. Attached to the hotel is a well equipped sale 
and livery stable, which contains some fifteen horses, and a number of fine 
turnouts. Mr. A. B. Lucas, the proprietor, is a gentleman who thoroughly 
understands catering to the wants of his patrons. 

H. C. & W. S. Cole, some twelve years ago, engaged in the manufacture 
of shoe tacks of every description, since which time they have succeeded in 
establishing such a reputation for their goods throughout New England, that 
they now have thirty-four tao.k machines in constant operation and furnish 
employment to a number of workmen. Their factory located at Kingston 
comprises the second floor of a building covering an area of 110x28 feet, 
which is thoroughly equipped to meet all the demands of an annually increasing 
trade. 

George H. Bonney, Jr., the postmaster at Kingston, is popular with the 
townspeople as he is alway on the alert to improve upon Uncle Sam^s system of 
delivering and receiving the mails. He has been in the employ of the govern- 
ment since 1889 and is a native of Kingston, where he is well and favorably 
known. 

J. E. Frizzell, who acts in the capacity of station agent, has been with the 
road about four years and during that period he has gained the good will of his 
employers and the patrons of the road. 



Rockland Company, 

• • • MANUFACTURERS OF • • • 

* MEN'S ^ FIN E * SHOES,* 

292 Devonshire Street, 
boston, mass. 



Wm. H. BATES, President. FACTORY AT 

^ R P Y T M Av C L U o R R RI T f R e' a r. lce - Pres - ROCKLAND, MASS. 



Wm. P. TAYLOR, Treas. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 349 



PLYMOUTH ROAD AND HANOVER 
BRANCH. 



THE Plymouth Road traverses the central portion of Plymouth county, via 
South Braintree and the Abingtons, and is one of the oldest lines of 
the Old Colony system, having been opened to Plymouth in the year 
1845. From Braintree to Kingston the line is inland from three to eight miles, 
but points of interest along the coast are of easy access. The Hanover Branch 
is a short spur of about seven miles in length, extending from North Abing- 
ton to Hanover. 

SOUTH WEYMOUTH. 

This is a village of Weymouth, of about 3,000 population, and is also a 
shoe manufacturing centre. It has five schools, four churches, two hotels and 
other accommodations for summer visitors. There is good fresh water fishing and 
good gunning in the season of that sport. It is a rapidly developing section 
and contains many fine estates. 

E. H. Stetson & Co., manufacturers of boots and shoes, occupy perhaps the 
most prominent place in the list of important industries that have reached their 
largest growth and highest developement in New England. They manufacture 
men's fine footwear ; their Boston office is located at 97 Summer street while 
their factory is in South Weymouth. The premises are in every way adapted 
to the business, and are thoroughly equipped with all the latest improved 
machinery for securing the best results. The superior character of the work 
turned out has given the house a wide celebrity, and their products are in steady 
and extensive demand throughout the country, particularly in New England and 
the West, while the trade affords evidence of constant and substantial increase 
every year. The members of the firm are : E. H. Stetson, A. C. Heald, and F. 
D. Blake. They are wide awake business men, and are popular in commercial 
circles. 

H. B. Reed & Co., was founded in 1 851, and the leading specialty of the 
house is the manufacture of fine boots and shoes. Their factory at South Wey- 
mouth is a large four-story structure, furnishing employment to two hun- 
dred and fifty skilled workmen. All the modern improvments in the way of 
machinery are to be found here. Sixty cases per day is the capacity of the 
factory, and the goods are of a superior style, a quality for which it has long 
been celebrated. An extensive trade is enjoyed North and South, East and 
West. 



350 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

HEALEY & WELGE 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



_^Fine Calf Shoe Laceg,^ 

SOUTH WEYMOUTH, MASS. 

R. H. HEALEY. J. F. WELCH. 

THE WEYMOUTH MTTEN^ 

Successors to HUNT & ELWELL. 
MANUFACTURERS OF 

Calf* Skin * Mittens, 

AND PALMERS OF WOOLEN MITTENS, 

J.F.Hunt. SOUTH WEYMOUTH, MASS. 

T. F. KELLEY & CO., 



MANUFACTURERS OP 



Boots and Shoes, 

SOUTH WEYMOUTH, MASS. 



E H. STETSON. A. C. HEALD F. D. BLAKE. 

E. H. STETSON & CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 






BOSTON: 97 SUMMER STREET. 

Factory at .... South Weymouth, Mass 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 35 1 

Healey & Welch manufacture fine calf shoe laces, being established in 1887. 
They are located on Union street. South Weymouth. The building occupied by 
them is two stories in height and is fully equipped with all the necessary 
machinery. The capacity of the factory is about four hundred bunches a day. 
The firm consists of R. H. Healey and J. F. Welch, both of whom are well 
known among business men. 

The Weymouth Mitten Company, of Central street, South Weymouth, has 
been established for the past fifteen years, succeeding the firm of Hunt & 
Elwell, the proprietor now being J. F. Hunt. This company is noted for its 
manufacture of calf skin mittens and palmers of woolen mittens, in which it 
has built up a large and profitable trade. A two and one half story frame 
building is occupied which has all the appliances necessary to facilitate the 
work, while none but first-class help is employed. The goods are shipped 
principally to the New England states and the West. 

Sidney Greenwood's business was established in 1881, and he has since 
built up a large and flourishing trade extending all over the country. The 
premises occupied for this enterprise consists of a building 30 x 60 feet in 
dimensions, having two floors. Here some seventeen skilled workmen are 
employed steadily the year round in the manufacture of fine calf leather laces, 
all the operations of the business being conducted under the immediate super- 
vision of the proprietor, who allows no inferior article to leave his establish- 
ment. The laces are made from carefully selected calf skin stock, being 
thoroughly tested so that they can sustain a weight of forty pounds. The daily 
output of this factory which is divided into its several departments and is 
equipped with a full complement of necessary tools and machinery,is one hun- 
dred and fifty bunches per day, these goods being in steady demand by the 
trade, and the Boston market being supplied through the well known dealers in 
shoe supplies, G. F. Daniels & Co., 190 Congress street; Whitcher & Emery, 
4 High street; Beals&Co., 33 South street; Winch Bros,, 33 Federal street ;; 
Parker, Holmes & Co., 141 Federal street; Brooks & Co., 97 Summer street; 
Ed. Young, 157 Summer street and John D. Young, Lincoln street. 

J. B. McComber is the station and ticket agent at South Weymouth. He is 
universally liked by the patrons of the road and does his work in a faithful and 
conscientious manner. 

T. F. Kelley & Co., began the manufacture of boots and shoes at South 
Weymouth in 1890. Their factory embrace, 3,000 square feet of floor room, 
while the mechanical equipment is in no way inferior to that of any other house 
in the trade. Some twenty skilled workmen, under the personal supervision of 
the proprietors, are engaged in the manufacture of a fine grade of boots and 
shoes, the entire product being taken by the well-known house of H. B. Reed 
&Co. 

NORTH ABINGTON. 

This is a village of Abington at the northern terminus of the Hanover Branch 
of the Old Colony Railroad. It is largely devoted to shoe making, and is sur- 



352 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



E. P. REED, ^™* 



NORTH ABINGTON, MASS. 



Spruce, Pine and Hemlock Sawed to Order. 

Steam Planing and Saw Hills at Ellsworth, Me. 



H. B. REED & CO., 



5 High Street, BOSTON. 



Factory: South Weymouth, Mass. 

J. HOWARD FIELD 



The Culver House 



NORTH ABINGTON, MASS. 

Refitted and Remodeled Throughout and 
Under New Management, 

Terms, $2 a Day and Upwards. 

Rooms Single or En Suite. 

Special Inducements to Families. 

CUISINE UNEXCELLED. 

A Specialty Made of Private Dinner Parties, Etc, 



J. R. SMITH, P 



ROPRIETOR. 



-wim:. :e. T_rz"o:tT, 



Manufacturer of 



Canvas 




Shoes. 



COLORED GOAT, CALF, GRAIN, BICYCLE, LAWN TENNIS 
- - - - AND BASE BALL SHOES. - - - - 



Sporting Shoes a Specialty. 



NORTH ABINGTON, MASS. 



F. E. NESMITH & CO., 

Paper — Bos — Manufacturers. 



JOB PRINTINQ £H5 

EMBOSSED WORK A SPECIALTY. 

ROCKLAND, MASS. 

Telephone Connections. 



HOTEL JACKSON, 

Newly Opened Nov. 1, 1890. 

JACKSON & CAMPBELL, Proprietors. 

RATES $2.50 PER DAY. 

Special Kates to Permanent Guests, 
Public Bath Room Connected. 

Corner of Union and Webster Streets, 

ROCKLAND, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 353 

rounded by a fine agricultural district, with many excellent dairy farms. It is 
one and a half miles from the main viilage, and is growing rapidly. 

William E. Lyon is an extensive manufacturer of lawn tennis, bicycle and 
base ball shoes, in which particular specialty he has gained a high reputation 
for the excellent finish and quality of the goods. His factory comprises a three- 
story structure, some 40 x 60 feet in dimensions, with an ell of equal height 
and about 40 x 40 feet in area, all of which is supplied with the latest and 
most improved machinery and appliances, and conveniently divided into various 
departments. Here one hundred skilled hands are employed who turn out 
about eighty dozen pairs per day, which find a ready sale among the whole- 
sale and retail dealers in the principal cities of the New England and Middle 
States. 

E. P. Reed is proprietor of one of the oldest houses engaged in the lumber 
trade in this section of the country. The business was established in 1845 by 
A. & A. S. Reed, afterwards A. S. Reed & Co, who carried on a successful 
business till 1870, when they were succeeded by E. P. Reed, who lias succeeded 
in establishing a trade of large proportions. He deals in lumber, lime and 
cement, of which he handles large quantities annually ; in lumber alone millions 
of feet are sold yearly in North Abington and vicinity. His yards are one 
hundred and fifty feet in width and one quarter mile long, where are located 
ten buildings containing lumber, while three other buildings are devoted to 
stable, mill and office purposes. The mill is a model of its kind, being 
equipped with all the most modern improved mill machinery, is operated by a 
one hundred horse-power engine, and two boilers, Some thirty hands are at 
all times employed, and a constant increase in the volume of business is one of 
the features of Mr. Reed's establishment. He has also two saw mills and a 
planing mill in operation in Ellsworth, Me., containing all the necessary 
appliances known to the business. 

E. W. Phillips is located in convenient and commodious quarters in the M. 
N. Arnold building, No. Abington, where for eleven years he has been engaged 
in the manufacture of the latest improved machinery, making a specialty of 
engine pumps, in the construction of which great care is exercised both as 
regards workmanship and material. Six experienced workmen are employed 
under the personal supervision of Mr. Phillips, who is himself a practical 
machinist. A general jobbing trade is transacted by this house throughout New 
England. 

J. R. Smith is proprietor of the Culver House, located at North Abington, 
a well appointed hostelry of four stories measuring 100 x 50 feet in dimensions, 
and containing twenty-five rooms which are neatly and comfortably furnished. 
The dining room, which has a seating capacity of forty, leaves nothing to be 
•desired in respect to courteous attendants or first class cuisine. A livery stable 
is connected with the hotel. Mr. Smith thoroughly understands catering to the 
traveling public, and has made the Culver House a popular resort. 

H. B. Wadsworth, the station agent at North Abington, has been with the 
Old Colony road some ten years, during which time he has made himself not 



354 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

Whitman Grain & Coal Company, 



DEALERS IN 



Flour, Grain, Coal, Hay, Straw, 

ETC., ETC. 

WHITMAN, MASS. 

A. S. STETSON, Manager. HENRY W. CHANDLER, Treas. 

WHITMAN INSURANCE AGENCY, 

ESTABLISHED 1883. 

The Oldest Insurance Agency in Whitman. 

Do not go out of town wlien you can get as good if not better terms at home. 
I am the authorized agent of thirteen of the oldest and best Eire, Life and 
Accident companies in ihe world. 

^*S TENEMENTS CARED FOR. REAL 

// -*• ESTATE BOUGHT AND SOLD. 




v**^/ Whitman Insurance Agency, 



ATWOOD BROTHERS, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

BOOT, SHOE & PACKING BOXES OF ALL DESCRIPTION. 



ATWOOD'S STANDARD BOTTLE BOXES. THE HONEsT MILK MAN'S 
SHIPPING CASE AND LOCK CORNER BOXES OF ALL SIZES. 

"KANTBRAKEM" BUTTER CASE, PERFECTION EGG CASE. 

B. S. ATWOOD, Proprietor. EAST WHITMAN, MASS. 

SMITH & STOUGHTON, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

mmmmwmmmmt iVltJIl p OllOUb* ^^^^^^^^ 

No. 77 BEDFORD STREET, 
wh,t F m C a T n° R mass. • • * BOSTON, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 355 

only popular with the officers of the road, but also with the patrons of the same, 
and through his courtesy has won the respect of all. 

ABINGTON. 

Abington is an important and thrifty manufacturing town in the northwest- 
erly part of Plymouth county, having an area of 6000 acres. Holbrook and 
Weymouth lie on the north, Rockland on the east, Whitman on the south, and 
Brockton on the west. It is twenty miles southeast of Boston, and has sta- 
tions at Abington and North Abington ; each of which also have post-offices. 
The population is over 4,000, with over 800 dwellings. The soil is in some 
parts very good, the farms are fairly fertile, and the dairies are among the first 
in the state. The chief manufactures are shoes, and the material and machinery 
requisite. Other manufactures are clothing, furniture, lumber and wooden 
goods. The people here are thrifty and the industries of the town are in a 
prosperous condition. 

A. C. Carey is the station agent at Abington and is deservedly popular with 
the patrons of the road. He has been with the road for ten years, and during 
that period he has always attended to his duties with precision and courtesy to 
all. 

WHITMAN. 

Whitman, formerly South Abington, is a lively manufacturing town of 
small area, in the northwestern section of Plymouth county, 21 miles south of 
Boston. The post offices are Whitman (village) and South Abington Station. 
Auburnville is the other village. The town is bounded on the north by Abing- 
ton, on the east by Rockland and Hanson, on the south by East Bridgewater, on 
the southwest by the same and on the west by Brockton. Whitman has a popu- 
lation of 4,000 and upward, and has one of the largest tack and small nail man- 
ufactories in the United States. There are twelve schools, five churches, good 
hotels and boarding houses, an efficient tire department, and all the desirable 
features of advanced modern civilization in the make-up of the community, 
government, etc. Its present name was assumed when it became an inde- 
pendent municipality in 1885. Whitman is eight miles from the seashore at 
Marshfield, and is noted as being situated among fine rural scenery. 

Smith & Stoughton, prominent boot and shoe manufacturers of Whitman, 
were established in 1884, and to-day they enjoy a trade extending all over the 
United States. Their manufacturing plant comprises a four-story building 
covering an area of 1 20 x 40 feet with a wing measuring 40 x 80 feet. Here 
two hundred and fifty operatives, aided by modern improved machinery, are 
engaged in the manufacture of men's and boy's shoes of a style and quality 
suited to the general trade. The Boston office is located at 77 Bedford street. 

The Whitman Grain & Coal Company was founded about five years ago and 
is still conducted under that name, with A. S. Stetson as manager, and Henry 
W. Chandler, treasurer. These gentlemen fully maintain the prestige of the 
company, far they are both thoroughly acquainted with the grain and coal 



35^ 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Ripley & Bartlett, Plymouth, flass. 



Manufacturers of 



IRON, ZINC AND BRASS COUNTERSUNK NAILS 



Oval Head, Round Head and Shot Head HUN Gr ART AN NAILS. 

Grooved Head, Star Head and Square Head HOB NAILS. 

Swedes Iron Tacks, Trunk and Clout Nails, Upholsterers* Tacks, S ho* Tacks, Miners' Tacks, Carpet 
Tacks, American Iron Tacks, Channel Nails, Iron Gimp Nails, 0. II. Shank Tacks, Brush Tacks, Gimp 
and Lace Tacks. Manufacturers of the Celebrated Cobblers' Tapping Nail*, and Countersunk 
and Corrugated Brass Nails. Also Tacks made to run in the Boston Lasting Machine. 

Any Variation from Regular Sizes and Shapes Made to Order from Samples. 



GHAS.A. 

SMITH, 




Periodicals 



<mmmm@x > 

DAVIS' BUILDING, 

PLYMOUTH, MASS. 



and Stationery, 

MAIN STREET, 



Dailv and Wee^l^ Papers Delivered at Residences. 



'J 

Situated on Cole's Hill, overlooking 
, Plymouth Rock and the Bay. 



STEAM HEAT. ELECTRIC LIGHTS. 

House Open all the Year Round. 

C. H. SNELL, Prop'r. 

Plthouth, * nass. 



Opp. R. R. Park. 

2 Minutes from Depot. 








[, 



D. H. MAYNARD, Prop. 

PLYMOUTH, - MASS. 



Livery Stable Connected with House. 



WROUGHT STEEL FASTENINGS 
for BEDSTEADS, and . . . 
MACHINERY FOR FITTING. . 

Manufactured by 

BRADFORD JOINT CO., 

Plymouth, Mass. 

NATHANIEL MORTON, Treas, 



CENTRAL HOUSE, 



SHIRLEY SQUARE, 
Plymouth, Mass. 

A Comfortable and Well Ap- 
pointed Hostelry, 

E. J SHAW, Proprietor. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 357 

trade in all its branches, and are determined to spare neither trouble nor 
expense, in serving their customers in the best possible manner. The com- 
pany's yard and store house cover a large area, and a heavy stock of grain and 
coal is carried. 

Atwood Brothers, prominently engaged in the manufacture of wooden boxes 
of every description, was established in 1866 by B. S. and E. H. Atwood, but 
is now under the entire control of B. S. Atwood, his brother having retired 
from the business in 1879. The manufacturing plant, comprising factory, saw 
mill and lumber yard covers an area of four acres, the factory proper beino- 
a four-story structure measuring 80 x 40 feet, supplied with every appliance in 
the line of modern machinery, operated by an 80-horse power engine ; water 
when sufficient, being also utilized. Eighty-five workmen are steadily engaged 
turning out boot, shoe and packing boxes of every description, also egg, butter 
and beer cases, which are in great demand with the trade. The dairy output of 
the factory amounts to between 4,000 and 5,000 boxes which are shipped to all 
parts of the United States and Canada. 

The Whitman Insurance Agency, which was founded in 1883 by George D. 
Soule, is one of the reliable agencies of this state. Mr., Soule has been a 
member of the board of selectmen for seven years, and is now chairman of the 
board of assessors. He is a business man 01 experience and is deservedly popular 
in his town and the surrounding country. The companies he represents are 
among the most solid and substantial institutions in this country, and comprise 
fire, life, accident and plate glass insurance. Mr. Soule is a very busy man, as 
he is engaged in the real estate business as well as being a justice of the peace, 
conveyancer and auctioneer. He is also assistant postmaster at the station 
post-office, having been appointed in 1883; and secretary and treasurer of the 
Whitman Co-operative Bank. He attends to his various duties with prompt- 
ness and with a fairness that has gained for him many life long patrons. 

James E. Bates, the postmaster at Whitman, was appointed by President 
Harrison the 7th of September, 1890. He is a man of sterling qualities and 
a thoroughly experienced man for the position. He is most favorably spoken 
of by his townspeople and he is doing his best to improve the service whenever 
and wherever necessary. 

George A. Jones, for over twelve years with the Old Colony Railroad, 
is the popular station agent at Whitman, and attends to his duty in a careful 
and conscientious manner, thereby making himself deservedly popular with the 
road and its patrons. 

HANSON. 

Hanson is a very pleasant and industrious farming and manufacturing 
town situated in the northern part of Plymouth county, about 25 miles south by 
southeast of Boston. The railroad runs diagonally through the town, havino- 
stations at two post villages, North Hanson and South Hanson. The other village 
js Gurney's Corners. The Hanover Branch of the Old Colony Railroad has a sta- 
tion within a few rods of the northeast of the town. There are low hills at the 



358 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

north, three on the eastern side, and an extended elevation at the centre ; but 
with these slight exceptions the surface is nearly a level plain. Population in 
1890, about 5000. 

HALIFAX. 

Halifax lies in the central part of Plymouth county, 28 miles southeast of 
Boston. The Old Colony passess along its northeastern border. It has for its 
boundaries, Hanson and Pembroke on the north, Jones river pond and Plymp- 
ton on the east, the latter and Middleborough on the south, and Bridgewater 
and East Bridgewater on the west. Its assessed area is 9,378 acres, about one- 
half of this being more or less wooded. Excellent gunning for geese and ducks 
and good fresh water fishing is to be had. It lies six miles from the seashore. 
Population, 1890, 562. 

PLYMPTON. 

A farming town in the central part of Plymouth county, with a population 
of about 700. Has two churches, four schools, and is much admired by so- 
journers for its quiet seclusion and excellent sanitary conditions. In this town 
is located Silver Lake Grove, comprising some thirty acres of wooded area » 
which has been fitted up for pleasure parties. Plympton is pleasantly situated 
on a commanding eminence, and Winetuxet village is upon a beautiful stream of 
the same name, which with all its affluents flows through the southerly part of 
the town, and thence through Halifax into the Taunton river. 

SEASIDE. 

On the line between Kingston and Plymouth is Seaside, the village being 
mainly on the Plymouth side, and two miles from the main village of the latter. 
It overlooks Plymouth and Duxbury harbors, has a population of about 500, 
and the largest cordage works in this countiw. 

The Plymouth Cordage Co. is the oldest incorporated cordage company in 
the United States, and is the most widely known industry of Plymouth. It was 
established in 1824 by Bourne Spooner, who died in 1870, and was succeeded 
by his son, Charles W. Spooner, who, having been his father's assistant was 
well qualified to succeed him in the 'management. Upon the death of Charles 
W. Spooner in 1882, G. F. Holmes, the present treasurer and general manager, 
was chosen as his successor, who is thoroughly familiar with the business and 
is to-day regarded by cordage manufacturers as one of the best posted and 
reliable men in the trade. The output of this company consists of rope, lath- 
yarn and binder twine, which has achieved a reputation for excellence unsur- 
passed by any other house in this country. In their factory they are equipped 
with the most modern improved machinery and employ many skilled hands who 
have grown up in their service. The company have never departed from the 
polic}- originally established by them, of making the best quality of goods 
possible and have thereby won for themselves the esteem and confidence of 
dealers throughout the country. The officers of the company are C. VV. Loring, 



MONUMENT 

TO THE 

FOREFATHERS 

ERECTED 

BY A 

GRATEFUL TECU'LE 

IN' REMEMBRANCE OF 

THEIR 

LABORS, SACRIFICES 

AND SUFFERINGS 

FOR THE 

CAUSE OF CIVIL 

AND 

RELIGIOUS LIBERTY. 



'' ; TT| 





HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 359 

president, G. F. Holmes, treasurer and general manager and R. A. Brown 
superintendent. 

Orick H. Kelley, the postmaster at Seaside has been here in this capacity 
since December i, 1890. lie thoroughly understands his business, and is 
favorably known to the people of Seaside. He is a native of Dennis 
Mass. 

PLYMOUTH. 

Plymouth, ever memorable as the first town settled by Europeans in New 
England, lies in the southeast part of Plymouth county, 37 miles southeast of 
Boston. It is a port of entry and the seat of justice for Plymouth county. 
It is bounded on the north by Kingston, Duxbury Bay and the Atlantic ocean, 
east by the latter, south by Bourne and Wareham, and west by Carver and 
Kingston. It is one of the most beautifully situated towns in south-eastern 
Massachusetts. Its history dates from the landing of the Pilgrims in 1620, and 
satisfactorily proves the difficulties the early settlers had to contend with in 
" settling" the Indians, who, as a charming variety in frontier life, not un- 
usually " settled" the whites. Lo, having gone to the happy hunting grounds, 
has left to his victorious white brother his ancestral acres, and the undisputed 
possession of guns, powder and shot. Various manufactures are carried on in 
the town, in which may be found many fine buildings, well located on broad 
streets, while unmistakable prosperity pervades the entire place. The large 
hotels, situated near the depot, are inviting, and possess elements of 
comfort to the traveler. On an elevated plain, a little to the west of the 
depot, stands the National Monument to the Pilgrims, one of the 
grandest modern works of the kind in the world, and worthy of the events it 
commemorates. The town of Plymouth is 18 miles long and from four to nine 
miles wide, very irregular in shape, and on account of the numerous indentations 
it has a coast line 30 miles in extent. The village has all the appointments of 
a city, the best water and finest water system in this country ; a modern fire 
department; gas and electric lighting ; 12 churches, 32 public schools; several 
financial organizations; eight hotels and a large number of boarding houses; 
a fine public library ; electric street railway, and as a county seat has the 
distinction of possessing the best county buildings in the state. For healthful 
air, pure water, and all sanitary conditions, and facilities for summer enioy- 
ment, it is unsurpassed in the country. There are delightful locations where 
town and country life are separated by only a few minutes' driving, and either 
can be enjoyed at will. Visitors from every part of the country and the world 
sojourn or visit Plymouth during the summer, and the place is the growing 
resort of wealthy and distinguished people. Deer are found in Plymouth and 
Sandwich woods, the only woods in the state where this game is. Among 
the public attractions of Plymouth is Forest Park, a diversified tract of 
about one-hundred acres of wild woodlands and beautiful lakes. It is situated 
about a mile and a half from the railroad depot, and is a pleasant drive of one 
or two hours. Several hours may be enjoyed in walking through the newly 



360 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

opened paths which lead to the most attractive parts of this natural park. The 
population of the town is about 8,000. 

The Plymouth Foundry Co., a representative house engaged in the production 
of stoves and ranges has been established nearly half a century, doing business 
under the present firm name since 1881. Such an extensive experience as this 
cannot have done otherwise than to bring about the great success that has 
rewarded their efforts, as may be readily inferred when it is known that their 
goods are extensively sold throughout the United States. The plant of the 
house covers, with the foundry, office, yard, etc., an acre of land, and com- 
prises four large and several smaller buildings. Here eighty men find steady 
employment in producing the celebrated Royal stoves and ranges, but not these 
alone, for Atlantic cabooses, oil stoves, hollow ware, sinks, etc., combine to 
increase the list of staple products put upon the market. Mr. E. F. Shaw, the 
treasurer, is a gentleman of long experience in the business and fully qualified 
for the responsibilities of his position. The executive officers are all gentlemen 
of ability who have done much to promote the prosperity of the house and foster 
an industry that has conduced to the general welfare of the community. 

The Plymouth Woolen Company, whose business originated in 1864, in 
Franklin, New Hampshire, and who removed from there to Plymouth some 
fifteen years later, is one of the most complete establishments of its kind in the 
country for turning out woolens. Their premises have been several times 
enlarged and to-day are fitted up with all modern appliances, and supplied with 
machinery peculiarly constructed and adapted to the business, in fact, this is a 
model establishment in every way. About 200 hands find constant employment, 
and the products, which consist of fancy cassimeres, cheviots, etc., are guaranteed 
all wool and reliable colors. They also make worsteds which are guaranteed 
either all-worsted or wool and worsted. The building occupied by this success- 
ful company, is located on the line of the Old Colony Railroad, and close to the 
depot in Plymouth. The proprietors of this business are Henry Sawyer, who is 
the treasurer, and R. S. Douglass who acts as the agent. These gentlemen 
are experienced business men, and have done much toward enhancing the 
business interests of their town. Their superintendent, C. W. Eaton, who has 
been with them for twenty-two years, came from Franklin, New Hampshire, 
and is an experienced man in his vocation. 

Bradford Kyle & Co., proprietors of the enterprise established in 1887, 
at Plymouth, are engaged in a business although little known to the general reader 
is most important on account of the indispensable nature of the production. 
The business consists of the manufacture of insulated fine electric wire. Their 
product is such as to be properly classed as superior. This house has earned 
a well deserved reputation by successfully covering the finest wire made at the 
present time. They also invent and manufacture their own machinery, all of 
which is used solely by them in their works at Plymouth. 

The Bradford Joint Company established here in Plymouth about twenty 
years ago has grown to very considerable proportions. The premises occupied 
comprise an ample factory containing three floors and measuring 40 x 50 feet, 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CTTIES. 361 

where with the aid of all necessary appliances, fourteen employees are engaged 
in the manufacture of steel fastenings for bedsteads and machinery for fitting. 
The raw material entering into these products is of the best quality, and the 
product is thoroughly satisfactory to the parties using the goods. So popular 
have they become they are sold throughout the United States and Canada. 

The Old Colony Steam Laundry, located on Howland street, is an establish- 
ment that is managed in a thoroughly straight forward manner, and the 
uniform excellence of its work, really leaves very little to be desired. The 
proprietors, Casey and Sampson, founded the business in 1888, and under their 
direction it has developed and extended with a rapidity as steady as it is sur- 
prising. The premises occupied are 50 x 35 feet in dimensions, and two stories 
in height, and contains all the most improved machinery. Some twelve hands 
are employed who do their work thoroughly, and without the aid of injurious 
chemicals. Everything about this establishment savors of enterprise and 
success. 

Ripley & Bartlett, of Plymouth, are classed among the extensive and 
reliable nail and tack manufacturers of New England. This firm was estab- 
lished some fourteen years ago by the present proprietors, who at once sprang 
into popular favor, and to-day we find them transacting a most lucrative business. 
They are both gentlemen well known to the trade as experienced and reliable 
manufacturers, their goods being sold throughout the United States, and 
foreign markets. They manufacture over 600 different kinds of nails and 
tacks, such as iron, zinc and brass countersunk nails, also oval, round and 
short head Hungarian nails. They also manufacture extensively grooved, 
star and square head hob nails, and the celebrated cobblers 1 tapping nails, and 
countersunk and corrugated brass nails. A large variety of tacks are also made, 
such as Swedes iron tacks, trunk and clout nails, upholsterers' tacks, shoe tacks, 
miners' tacks, carpet tacks, American iron tacks, channel nails, iron gimp nails, 
O. H. shank tacks, brush tacks, gimp and lace tacks, also tacks made to run in 
the Boston lasting machine. The productive capacity of the factory, combined 
with their methods of manufacture, enable them to offer the trade superior 
inducements. 

The Samoset House, Plymouth's favorite hostelry of forty-six years' standing 
has always occupied a position in the front ranks of hotels. The house, 
which was originally erected by the Old Colony Railroad Corporation, but is 
now owned and efficiently managed by Mr. Daniel H. Maynard, is a four-story 
building 48 x 78 in dimensions, furnished in the best manner throughout, and 
all desirable appurtenances for the comfortable accommodations of its guests. 
Located at the head of Railroad Park, it stands surrounded by pleasant lawns 
and orchards, and affords a most delightful and desirable home. 

John S. Robbins is the proprietor of one of the best appointed and most 
largely patronized steam laundries in this section of the country, known as the 
Plymouth Steam Laundry, located in Davis building. This establishment was 
founded in 1885 and its business has been a steadily growing one from its 
inception. This success was largely due to the enterprise and ability of Mr. 



362 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Robbins, who has been indefatigable in his efforts to improve the efficiency of 
the laundry, in which every convenience is at hand for turning out work at 
short notice. A large number of hands are employed who are under the direct 
supervision of Mr. Robbins. The very finest goods can be sent here without 
damage either to fabric or color as no injurious chemicals are employed. 

The Old Colony National Bank of Plymouth was organized in 1832, and 
chartered in 1865, and has therefore been in existence sixty-one years, during 
which time it has contributed in a marked degree to the progress of the town. 
The board of directors is composed of prominent men, with William S. Mor- 
rissey, president, and James B. Brown, cashier. The officers, are experienced 
and capable gentlemen, and popular with the business community. That 
wisdom as well as liberality characterize the operations of this bank under its 
present administration is abundantly shown. 

W. H. Edson, bottler of Belfast ginger ale, tonic beer, mineral water, etc., 
produces goods that are very hard to equal, either as regards their purity or 
the delicacy and durability of the flavoring ; and that the people of Plymouth 
and the New England States, favor the house is shown by the large and 
steadily growing demand for the goods bearing its name. The business was 
begun in 1884, and now reaches to such proportions that some ten hands are 
required to supply its demands. The premises located on Water street, con- 
sist of two floors, some 38 x 100 feet in dimensions, together with a store house 
of considerable capacity. He makes a specialty of Excelsior Hop Beer, which 
has become celebrated, and he has reason to feel proud of the reputation his 
productions have in the market for uniform superiority of excellence. Dealers 
and others find this house an excellent one to trade with. 

Charles A. Smith is the genial and popular proprietor of the stationery and 
periodical store to which, of the thousands of people that visit Plymouth each 
summer, it is safe to say that 50 per cent, go to buy some memento of the 
historic town. Mr. Smith is widely known for his honorable dealing and his 
prompt and polite attention to customers. His store is very commodious and 
contains a large and well selected stock of periodicals and stationery. The business 
is an old established one, having been founded 38 years ago, Mr. Smith succeed- 
ing to the business in 1881, and by careful attention to the details of his trade 
he has gained a reputation that stands A No. 1 in this town. 

The Central House, located in Shirley Square, is a comfortable and well- 
appointed hostelry of 28 rooms, and was established a number of years ago. 
E. J. Shaw, the proprietor, having had years of experience in the hotel 
business, thoroughly understands catering to the traveling public, and offers 
every inducement in the way of first-class cuisine and accommodations, which 
has given the house a degree of popularity that is peculiarly its own. 

The Plymouth Rock House, one of the thriving hotels of this old and histor- 
ically interesting town, is situated on Coles Hill, within one hundred feet of the 
rock where the Pilgrims landed. The hotel will accommodate some 60 guests, 
and is renowned for its hospitality to thousands throughout the country. C. H. 
Snell, the proprietor, is an experienced hotel man, and thoroughly understands 




~ zr~^ '- 




PLYMOUTi ROCK, Plymouth, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 563 

the wants of his customers. This hotel is a well known resting place for 
families, and to stop here once is to come again. 

W. W. Avery was appointed postmaster of Plymouth by President Harrison, 
and has since so carefully guarded and studied the interests of his position that 
he has gained popularity among his townspeople. The receipts at the Plymouth 
office have increased about twenty per cent, since his appointment in 1888, and 
in addition to the inauguration of the free delivery system he re-fitted the office 
by largely increasing the number of lock boxes of modern design, fitting up a 
money order department, and greatly improved the service by securing addi- 
tional mails, and at such hours of arrival and departure as to prove a great help 
to the business interests of the people. He is a gentleman 55 years of age, and 
was born in Montpelier, Yt., but of Old Colony stock, his ancestors being 
among the early settlers of Truro, on the Cape. Of sterling integrity and 
irreprochable character, he has filled, with credit to himself and the town of 
Plymouth, the position of Representative to the General Court for two consecu- 
tive terms, and various offices of trust and responsibility in the Methodist 
Episcopal church, and several of the leading benevolent, social and charitable 
institutions of which he is an honored and active member. Mr. Avery is also 
senior member of the firm of Avery & Doten, publishers of the Old Colony 
Memorial. 

Thomas A. Stevens is one of the oldest employees of the Old Colony Rail- 
road, who for 46 years has honorably served this corporation, in the capacity of 
fireman, engineer and baggagemaster, the latter position he having held for ten 
years here in Plymouth, making himself popular with the patrons of the 
road. 

ROCKLAND (HANOVER BRANCH). 

Rockland adjoins Abington on the east. It was formerly known as East 
Abington, and has a population of 5,213. The principal business carried on 
here is the manufacture of boots and shoes, in which branch it is fast becoming 
an important centre. Other manufactures are machinery, tacks, paper boxes, 
leather, polishes and dressing, carriages, mittens, clothing, lumber and wrought 
stone, food preparations, etc. It has a savings bank, an effective fire depart- 
ment, good water supply, churches, schools, and fine hotel accomodations. 
Lying on the northern border of Plymouth county, it has a rich outlying 
agricultural district, which is an important tributary to its prosperity, and its 
people are wide awake and progressive in all that tends to promote the growth 
and welfare of the place. Rockland is 19 miles from Boston; the station lies 
between the centre of the village and Boxborough. The postoffices are Rock- 
land and Hatherly. As a place of residence or for business it is unsur- 
passed in the state. 

The Rockland Company, engaged in the manufacture of men's fine shoes, 
commenced business seven years ago, and are recognized as one of the leading 
houses in the business. Their premises, covering an area of 198 x 28 feet, 
with two wings 40 x 26 feet, are three stories in height. On the first floor, the 



364 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

J S. TURNER, 



-Manufacttjber op- 



ROCKLAND, MASS. 

CHIPMAN, CALLEY & CO., 

ROCKLAND, MASS. 



-MANTJFACTUBEBS OF- 



MEN'S FINE CALF AND KANGAROO SHOES. 

* # # Hand and Goodyear Welts and McKay Sewed. * * * 

JASON SMITHS 

Y .'. Manufacturer of/. '.' 




FITTING 1 CHANNELING MACHINE, 

Rockland, Aa^S- 



IANUFACTURER OF 



GIDEON STUDLEY, -. 

NAIL *E LOCK CORNER RQXE3 ° f - Descri P ti ^ 

* * Beer and Tonic Cases, Egg Cases. * * 
FRIHTCb BOXES A SPECIdLTY. ; ROCKLAND, MASS. 

Satisfaction Guaranteed! Orders Solicited. ALL ORDERS FILLED PROMPTLY. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 365 

cutting, finishing and shipping are done ; on the second, the bottoming and 
fitting, and on the third, bottoming. The house has taken advantage to the 
fullest extent of all modern improvements in machinery, that have been put 
upon the market, that would in any way aid them in placing their productions 
before the trade stamped with the brand of excellence. Their goods are found 
in all parts of the United States, and " speak for themselves." The officers of 
the company are Wm. H. Bates, president; Henry M. Currier, vice-president, 
and Wm. P. Taylor, treasurer. Their Boston office is located at 292 Devon- 
shire street. 

Chipman, Calley & Co., manufacturers of men's fine boots and shoes, 
established about four years ago, are conspicuous among the more recently 
established and prosperous manufacturing enterprises of Rockland. There is 
now in process of erection, for their occupancy, a factory four stories in height 
with monitor roof, covering an area of 200 feet by 40 feet, with a projection for 
offices, store rooms, etc., 36 feet by 40 feet. The factory is in every way 
a model one equipped with all the modern appliances and machinery known 
to the trade, and is to be provided with automatic sprinklers, electric fire 
alarm, electric lights, and a system of in direct radiation for heating and ventilat- 
ing. Especial attention has been given to the plumbing, and the latest and most 
perfect devices for disposing of the sewage have been adopted. The engine, 
boiler and dynamo are situated in a brick building detached from the main 
factory. The firm employs by far the largest number of workmen of any 
factory in town, producing in the course of a year fully one quarter of all the 
shoes manufactured in Rockland. They have among their employees some 
of the most skillful workmen to be found in this region of fine shoe makers, and 
while they produce goods of fine quality, style and workmanship, they sell 
them at prices that meet with such popular favor that orders flow in from all 
quarters of the country, keeping them busy from January to December. They 
have twice been compelled to enlarge their quarters. Their city office and 
warehouse are at 83 Bedford street, Boston. 

The French & Hall Company carry on a large business in the manufacture 
of gentlemen's fine footwear, and the trade they do in the course of a year 
forms a large item among the other industries of the town. This now extensive 
business was established in 1881 by J. E. French and G. W. Hall, Mr. French 
having been engaged in the manufacture of boots and shoes for twenty years 
previous, to that time. The present company name was adopted in 1891, when 
C. J. Shriner and S. P. Urner were admitted to the firm. The premises con- 
sist of a three-story building, 35 x 100 feet, where they employ one hundred 
hands, and. an engine of 40-horse power is constantly at work in supplying 
power to the necessary machinery used in the establishment. Twenty-five 
dozen pairs is the daily output, orders for which are being constantly filled and 
sales made in all sections of the country. Wednesdays and Saturdays the firm 
are to be seen at their Boston office, 287 Devonshire street. 

F. E. Nesmith & Co., in January, 1884, succeeded C. Littlefield & Co., who 
began the manufacture of paper boxes at Rockland in 1883. They occupy a two- 



366 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

story building 225 x 35 feet, where are produced large quantities of paper boxes 
for the local trade, the specialty being folding paper boxes of every description suit- 
able for ice cream, confectionery, patent medicines, nails, etc., which are distri- 
buted to the trade all over the United States, and for the manufacture of which 
they have superior facilities. Fifty skilled operatives are employed who turn out 
40,000 folding boxes per day and some 2,500,000 paper boxes per year. In 
addition to their business as paper box manufacturers, the firm have a finely 
equipped printing office, where they are prepared to fill all orders in job 
printing and embossed work in the best possible manner. 

Gideon Studley, Jr., is proprietor of a house that has honorably stood the 
test of commercial fluctuations for nearly thirty years. The business was 
founded in 1 864 by Gideon Studley, who was succeeded by his son, Gideon 
Studley, Jr., in 1883. The house has always had an A No. 1 reputation as 
manufacturers of boot and shoe boxes, and is but one of the very few firms 
whose trade extends to all parts of New England. The premises occupied are 
well adapted to the business, being large and well equipped with the necessary 
appliances to ensure prompt and superior work, and employment is given to 
thirty hands, who are under the supervision of S. B. Besse, the superintendent, 
a man of experience and ability. Everything about this establishment denotes 
enterprise and success, and it is evident that this business is here to stay. 

Jason Smith is a manufacturer of shoe machinery, and since the business 
was first started here a large trade has been built up all over the world. The 
business was started in 1878 by C. T. Stetson and J. Smith, Mr. Stetson retir- 
ing the following year, and Mr. Smith assuming entire control, and since then 
the business has met with a steady and rapid increase. The factory is equipped 
with the most perfect machinery and latest appliances. A specialty of the house 
is the manufacture of Smith's sole fitting and channeling machine, by the aid of 
which one man can do the work of from two to four men, one man being able 
to round, channel and groove two thousand pairs per day. None but skilled 
workmen are employed and they are under the personal supervision of S. R. 
Wilson, a gentleman thoroughly conversant with all the details of the work, and 
who has been with the house for twelve years. 

J. S. Turner, manufacturer of the finest grades of gent's shoes for the retail 
trade, has for over a quarter of a century, been one of the most prominent 
houses in Rockland. The factory is a two-story structure with floor room of 
28,000 square feet. It is divided into several departments, each being especially 
adapted and furnished with every requisite and modern appliances for manu- 
facturing the very finest class of goods known to the trade. Power is derived from 
an engine of 25 and boiler of 50-horse power. The establishment is provided with 
an automatic fire sprinkler, automatic fire alarm and electric lights, Mr. Turner 
owning his own dynamo. The work produced is of such a kind as to give the 
house a reputation in all parts of the United States for manufacturing superior 
goods. 

C. E. Lane, manufacturer of fine calf shoes, has for more than eighteen years 
successfully conducted his business in Rockland, adding to the industrial thrift 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 367 

of the town. His plant is a large three-story establishment with the various 
departments conveniently arranged and fully equipped with modern machinery, 
A force of seventy-five workmen is employed, whose daily output is twenty-five 
dozen pairs. These goods stand well with the trade being of uniform excel- 
lence as regards style, material and workmanship, as the factory is under the 
personal supervision of the proprietor. The trade extends all over the United 
States. At 105 Summer street, room 9, is located the Boston office of this well 
known house. 

Jackson & Campbell, Nov. 1, 1890, opened their new and popular Hotel 
Jackson at the corner of Union and Webster streets, Rockland, and from that 
time up to the present it has received a most liberal patronage. The hotel, 
which is a four-story structure, 38 x 65 feet is furnished throughout in a 
thoroughly first-class style, and is supplied with steam heat and electric lights. 
The dining room will accommodate fifty-two persons at a time, and too much 
cannot be said in praise of the cuisine and courteous attendants. The house is 
liberally patronized the year round. There are thirty rooms in the house, 
which render it sufficiently commodious for an excellent patronage, and there is 
also a public bath room connected. 

J. S. Smith, postmaster, without doubt one of the most popular men in Rock- 
land, is a native of Edgartown, this state. After receiving a liberal education, 
he became identified with newspaper work, in which he rapidly gained a 
reputation as a journalist, so that in 1868 though but twenty-two years of age 
we find him editor-in-chief of the Rockland Standard, which paper he had no 
little share in bringing to its present high standard. He has continued editor 
of the Standard ever since, and in point of continuous service on any single 
paper is the senior editor in Plymouth county. He was appointed postmaster 
April 1, 1 87 1, faithfully serving the government in this capacity till 1886 when 
he retired to devote his time to journalism. After a lapse of four years, he was 
again appointed postmaster in July 1890, and assuming charge Sept. 1 of that 
year. He is eminently qualified for the satisfactory performance of the 
official duties by a long residence in the town, an extended acquaintance 
with its people and an intimate knowledge of its affairs. He is a member of the 
Rockland Encampment, and Standish lodge of Odd Fellows, of which he is 
a past chief officer and one of the trustees. 

HANOVER. 

Hanover is a very pleasant town in the northerly part of Plymouth county, 
26 miles from Boston, on the Hanover Branch of the Old Colony Railroad. It 
is bounded on the north by Rockland and South Scituate, on the east by the 
latter, on the south by Pembroke and Hanson, and on the west by Rockland. 
The Four Corners village, at the confluence of the Third Herring Brook and 
North river (forming respectively the eastern and southern lines of the town) 
is Hanover station, and the terminal point of the railroad at the southeast 
corner of the town. Other stations and villages along the railroad are Curtis' 
Crossing, Winslow's Crossing, South Hanover and West Hanover. Other vil- 



368 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

lages are the Centre, North Hanover, and at the northeast corner, Assinippa 
village, having West Scituate as its post office. There are in the town 99 
farms, but few owners devote themselves wholly to agriculture. The manufac- 
ture of boots and shoes, nails, tacks, boxes, lumber, etc., is quite extensive 
here. Population, 1890, 2,093. 

E. C. Waterman is a native of Hanover and is thoroughly identified with its 
commercial as well as its municipal growth and prosperity. His efforts and 
time in this direction have been devoted to serving three years as selectman, 
and as representative of Hanover and Rockland from the 5th Plymouth District. 
He was for fourteen years a Justice of the Peace, and is at present a Notary 
Public. In all the trusts delegated to him Mr. Waterman has labored for the 
good of this community, and well merits the esteem with which he is regarded. 
His trade is that of ship carpenter and he is prominently identified with the 
Masons, Odd Fellows, and several other societies. 

William S. Curtis in 1887 became sole proprietor of the pharmacy established 
in 1880 by J. J. Estes at Hanover Four Corners. The premises are spacious 
and convenient, while the stock embraces every article to be found in a well 
appointed establishment of this kind. Here prescriptions are accurately com- 
pounded, medicines prepared, perfumes, toilet requisites and physician's sup- 
plies sold at the most moderate prices. Born in Hanover, in 1866 Mr. Curtis 
has identified himself with its growing interests. Appointed postmaster in 
1889 he has exhibited that interest in the execution of his duties that entitle him 
to the respect of this community, aside from the consideration with which he is 
held in the trade. 

A. S. Barnes, the popular ticket and station agent at Hanover, has faith- 
fully served the interests of the Old Colony Railroad for the past two years. 
Born in 1864, at Litchfield, N. H., he has made the railroad business his work 
thus far, and thoroughly understands all the details of his duties. He is well 
known in this community as a young man of high character, and justly enjoys 
the esteem of the public. 

J.E.FRENCH. G.W.HALL. C. J. SHRTNER. S. P. URNER 

French & h/ill conr/mr, 

-:- MANUFACTURERS OF -:- 



Bj|GentIemen's Fine Footwear,pSI 



SdLSSSoL street. * ROCKLAND, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 369 



BRIDGEWATER BRANCH. 



EAST BRIDGEWATER. 

THIS is a flourishing manufacturing and agricultural town in the north- 
westerly part of Plymouth county, on the Pan Handle Branch of the 
Old Colony Railroad, which passes directly through it. It is bounded 
on the north by Whitman, on the east by Hanson and Halifax, south by Bridge- 
water, east by West Bridgewater and Brockton. Its manufactures consist of 
shoes, nails, cotton gins, bloomeries, foundries, a rolling mill, and several box 
and lumber mills. 

The population of East Bridgewater in 1890 was 2,911. Elm wood is a 
village of this town, where the Old Colony Railroad has a station. Other 
stations are Brown's and Washington street. 

Z. A. Jenkins, a well known citizen of East Bridgewater, is engaged as 
dealer in flour, grain, lumber, lime, cement, hay and fertilizers ; also making 
a specialty of hardware and farming tools. Mr. Jenkins has been established 
here for the past six years, and has built up one of the most flourishing trades 
of the kind, that the town has ever known. He occupies a two-story frame 
building, conveniently located on Central street, fully stocked with everything 
in his line, the trade for which is principally retail. Mr. Jenkins is an energetic 
man and by his pleasant manners, has won the esteem of the public in Bridge- 
water and vicinity. 

The Ameiican House, formerly the Crescent House, is a well known hostelry 
of East Bridgewater of which T. S. H. Rounsevilie has been proprietor and 
manager for the past four years. It is pleasantly located on Union street, one 
of the most desirable streets of the town, conveniently near the depot, and 
offers excellent accommodations for transient and permanent guests. Compe- 
tent and obliging help is constantly at hand, and everything is done to ensure 
comfort and satisfaction to its patrons. A well arranged stable is connected 
where horses may be hired or boarded on reasonable terms. 



37o 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



nzEisriRrsr j\ miller, 



Manufacturer of all kinds of- 



TACKS and NAILS. 

Shoe Tacks and Nails a Specialty. 

MASS. 



BRIDCEWATER, 



C BURRILL. 



J. A. Bowman. 



BOWMAN'S I f w mpcEWATER 



and BOSTON 

EXPRESS. 



Office, - 1Q5 Arch Street. 



Leave Boston Office, 1 and 4 P. M. Bridge water, 7.30 and 9. 



HOOPER & CO., 

Jobbers and Retailers of 

Flour, Brain, Groceries^ Provisions, 



,*.*,.„ 



HARDWARE, FRUIT and 
CONFECTIONERY, 

BRIDGEWATER, MASS. 



A. F. HOOPER. 





East Bridgewater, Mass. 

NEAR THE DEPOT. 

T. S. H. ROUNSEYILLE, Proprietor. 



Board by Day or Week. 



Z. A. JENKINS, 



Dealer in 



FLOUR, GRAIN, HAY, 

Lime, Lumber, Cement, 

BUILDING MATERIALS and 

FARMING IMPLEMENTS. 

CENTRAL STREET. 

East Bridgewater, - Mass. 



ALDEN & PRATT, 

— Manufacturers of — 

Men's Boys' and Youths' Calf, 
* Buff and Split * 

SHOES, 

NORTH MIDDLEBORO, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 37 1 



THE OLD ROAD 



T 



HIS is another of the older sections of the Old Colony, and runs 
from South Braintree to Middleborough, via Brockton and Bridge- 
water, from thence via Myricks to Fall River. 



holbrook. 



Holbrook is a new and delightfully situated town in the southeastern part of 
Norfolk county, 14 miles south of Boston with which it has ready communica- 
tion by the Old Colony Railroad, passing along its whole western border. The 
villages and post offices are Holbrook and Brookville. Its boundaries are 
Braintree on the north, South Weymouth on the east, Abington and Brockton 
on the south, and Avon and Randolph on the west. The villages of Holbrook 
and Brookville are surrounded by rich agricultural districts, and those engaged 
in farming are the most prosperous to be found in this section of Massachusetts. 
Holbrook is connected with Brockton by a recently constructed electric railway, 
is largely devoted to shoe manufacturing, and its industrial interests and general 
welfare are being greatly enhanced each year by an organization known as the 
Commercial and Social club. Population nearly 3,000. 

[For description of Brockton, including the stations in that city, also Avon, 
see preceding pages.] 

BRIDGE WATER. 

Bridgewater is a fine old town in the western part of Plymouth county, 28 
miles south of Boston on the Old Colony Railroad, the stations being 
Bridgewater Iron Works, Bridgewater (centre), and Flag street. The post 
offices are Bridgewater, Scotland and State Farm ; the villages being these 
(except the last), and Paper Mill village and Matfield. In the eastern part of 
the town there are a paper mill and two or three saw mills making shingles and 
boxboards. At the iron works is made a variety of cast and wrought iron work, 
cotton machinery, nails, tacks and other articles. The town also has boot and 
shoe factories and several brickyards. The largest products are iron and 
wooden goods. The town is noted for its schools. Bridgewater Academy, 
incorporated in 1799, now furnishes the town high school. The public schools 
are graded and occupy, aside from the academy, 14 buildings, valued, with 
attached property, at $31,410. The State Normal School here has been in 
constant operation since 1840, the attendance now requiring the entire accom- 



37 2 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

modations of its two substantial edifices. Bridgewater enjoys the distinction 
of being the place where the first machinery for carding, roping and spinning 
cotton was produced, as well as where the first machine-cut nails were made. 
In the year 1 740 Hugh Orr erected a trip-hammer here on the Matfield river ; 
eight years later he made 500 muskets for the colonists, and these were the 
first firearms made in America. During the period of the Revolutionary war, 
this place made large numbers of brass and iron cannon and iron cannon 
balls for the Continental army, and its citizens were most zealous in the work 
of furnishing the sinews of war in the prolonged struggle for independence. 
Population, 1890, 4,249. 

The Bridgewater Box Co. are manufacturers of every variety of wooden 
packing boxes and shooks, making a specialty of lock corner and printed boxes. 
This company was incorporated in 1890, with a capital stock of thirty thousand 
dollars. The president is H. O. Little and the treasurer E. B- Gammons; the 
board of directors being composed of Dr. L. G. Lowe, S. P. Gates, H. O. 
Little and E. B. Gammons. The premises comprise four large buildings 
located on the corner of Spring and Plymouth streets, covering an area of 
eight acres, and giving employment to fifty hands and from seven to ten teams. 
Twenty thousand feet of lumber are used daily to supply the large demand, 
which comes principally from Boston and Brockton. 

Henry J. Miller has been for the past ten years engaged in the manufacture 
of tacks, nails, and box nails ; making a specialty of shoe tacks, and shoe nails. 
His spacious premises are located on Hale street, of this town, on the track of 
the Old Colony Railroad. They consist of a one-story frame building and 
basement, covering an area of one hundred by thirty feet where steam power is 
used and twelve hands are employed. An extensive trade has always been 
enjoyed, the goods being shipped to neighboring towns, New York, Boston, and 
western cities. The products amount to one ton of nails per day. 

Hooper & Co., located in Central square, conduct an old established busi- 
ness, it having been founded in 1850 by A. F. Hooper of the present firm. In 
1873 Mr. Clark became a partner, continuing till 1889 when the firm name was 
changed to its present one. This firm is known as jobbers and retailers of flour, 
grain, groceries and provisions, also dealing largely in hardware, fruit, and 
confectionery. The firm is well known, as it enjoys a flourishing trade in 
Bridgewater and surrounding towns, and also keeps one of the largest stores 
of the kind in the town. Nine hands are engaged as help, and five teams are 
continually on the road delivering orders. The store is large and carries 
a complete line of the goods mentioned. 

A. S. Lyons, who in 1882 started a successful business career in Bridge- 
water, is engaged as dealer in lumber, hay, lime, cement, and building 
materials. He occupies premises located on Spring street, covering about four 
acres of land, where employment is given to six hands. Mr. Lyons is a man of 
ambition and business tact and carries on a thriving prosperous trade, chiefly in 
the vicinity of this town. He is well known in social as well as business cir- 
cles, and enjoys an enviable reputation. 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 373 

The Bridgewater & Boston Express of which J. A. Bowman and C. 
Burri]l are the proprietors, was established about thirteen years ago, and has 
since conducted a large and prosperous business. They do a general express 
business between Bridgewater and Boston, shipping freight by the Old Colony 
Railroad. Three hands are employed, and two teams are kept busy in the 
delivery of parcels. Thier office is located in Central square, while they have 
an office in Boston at 105 Arch street. 

MATFIELD. 

Matfield is a small village and station of Bridgewater, and is almost 
entirely devoted to agricultural pursuits. 

WESTDALE. 

This is a village of West Bridgewater, the station being formerly known as 
Satucket. It is in the midst of a farming district and is a most desirable place 
for those who enjoy the quiet of a rural home. There is good gunning for 
small game in the vicinity, and the sanitary conditions are of the best, the 
water being excellent. 

TITICUT AND NORTH MXDDLEBOROUGH. 

This is a station on the Old Colony in the town of Middleborough, its inhabi- 
tants being devoted to general rural pursuits. It is a growing section of the town, 
has many fine residences, and offers superior attractions to the summer 
sojourner and sportsman. 

Alden & Pratt, a well known firm engaged in the manufacture of men's 
boys 1 , and youths' calf, buff and split shoes ; also sole manufacturers of the 
Perkin's shoe, were established in 1885. The premises located on Plymouth 
street, comprise a two-story frame building, ninety-five by twenty-eight feet, 
fitted with the latest appliances and modern machinery operated by steam power, 
and furnish employment to seventy hands. Some seventeen cases of shoes are 
produced daily while the business is steadily increasing. Alden and Pratt have 
been residents of North Middleboro several years and are well known in social 
as well as business circles. 

Hammond & Richmond located on Plymouth street are manufacturers of fine 
shoes in calf, veal, dongola, etc. They are proprietors of the business origi- 
nally established in 1881 by Alden, Leonard & Co., they coming into possession 
by purchase in 1888. They occupy premises consisting of a two-story frame 
building with ell conveniently arranged, and employ a force of thirty hands, 
the product of whose skill and labor is shipped throughout New England. This 
house is well and favorably known by the trade, and enjoys a prosperous and 
steadily increasing business, 

Keith & Pratt are old settlers, well known in this town, and justly entitled 
to a place in any menton of trade affairs. This house was established here in 



374 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



J. K. & B. SEARS & CO. 



Dealers in 



WHOLESALE AND RETAIL 



LUMBER. 



t Slitters, Mouldings, Doors, Windows, Screen Doors, i 

t Window Screens, Hardware, Drain Pipe, Paints, Oils, Etc. t 

Vine Street opp. Depot. MIDDLEBORO, t\ASJ t 



Barnabas Sears, 



— YARDS at Hyaimis and Middleboro. 

Isaiah C. Sears. Henry W. Sears. 



Nath'l B. H. Parker. 



C. W. MAXIM 

SAWING, PLANING, . 
MOULDING, TURNING. 

Scroll Sawing and General Jobbing. 



WINDOW & DOOR FRAMES MADE TO ORDER, 

MIDDLEBORO, MASS. 



JAMES L TENNEY, 

—Dealer in — 

GOAL AND WOOD, 

■vhnte street. 



Near Railroad Station, 



fllDDLEPORO, 



t\AJJ, 



Orders left at Residence, No. 28 Pierce 
Street, will be promptly attended to. 

Orders left with B. F. Tripp. Also Bills for 
Collection. 



F.W.HAYDEN, 

- - EXPERT t WATCHMAKER, - - 

Watches, * Diamonds, * Jewelry, 
Silverware, * Clocks, * Etc. 

FINE GOLD RINGS A SPECIALTY. 

Cold Pens and Fountain Pens. 

Gold and Silver Canes and Umbrellas. 

Center St., Middleboro, Mass. 



Warren B. Stetson, 



MANUFACTURES OF- 



MEN'S, BOYS' and YOUTHS' 
MIDDLEBORO, = flASS. 



N. W. Keith. 



H. A. Pratt. 



KEITH & PRATT, 



■MANUFACTURERS OF- 



MEN'S AND liOYS' 



F ine 5 hoes, 

North Middleboro, Mass. 



& 



— Manufacturers of — 



FINE * SHOES, 



NORTH MIDDLEBORO, 

Geo. A. Hammond. E. W. Richmond. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 375 

1878 by the present proprietors. The premises are in every way fitted up, and 
are well adapted for the business done, which consists of the manufacture of 
men's and boys 1 balmorals, button and congress shoes. They occupy a three- 
story building, measuring y$ x 30 in dimensions. In the manufacturing 
department of their business they have a full assortment of machinery and 
tools, specially constructed for their trade requirements, and the hands em- 
ployed numbering sixty are all skillful mechanics. This house is conveniently 
situated on Pleasant street, North Middleboro. The goods which average 
twelve cases per day, each case containing twenty-four pairs, are shipped to 
Baltimore, Philadelphia, and the leading New England cities. 

MIDDLEBOROUGH. 

Middleborough is an unusually level town of large area, lying in the west- 
ern part of the southern section of Plymouth County. The Cape Cod Division 
of the Old Colony Railroad begins here, running to the west of the centre, 
where it connects near Four Corners village (Middleborough station) with the 
Newport line and Taunton Branch. It is 35 miles from Boston, 20 from Fall 
River and New Bedford, 15 from Plymouth, and 10 from Taunton. It has 
excellent public schools, the Eaton Family school and the famous Pratt Free 
school. Religions worship is held in three Baptist, three Congregational, two 
Methodist, and one Catholic church. The village has a savings bank, several 
good hotels and boarding-houses, and is largely engaged in manufacturing 
enterprises, among which are boot and shoe factories, lumber mills, box fac- 
tories, a woolen mill, carriage factories, stone, brick and tile yards, tannery, 
trunk, and valise factory, etc. The Nemasket river, Assawamsett pond (the 
largest sheet of fresh water in the state), and several smaller fresh water areas, 
offer fine sport for devotees of the rod, and add a quaint picturesqueness to the 
diversified scenery of the town. Middleborough has also many interesting 
historic associations and was the scene of some of Myles Standistfs most daring 
exploits. It is a very productive section for horticultural products, apples and 
berries in large quantities being raised for the various markets. There are 
numerous fine estates, and the place is growing very rapidly. Middleborough 
is also a terminus for the Middleborough, Taunton & Providence Branch of the 
Old Colony Railroad. There are two other villages in the town — North and 
South Middleborough, respectively. Middleborough is the terminus of the 

PLYMOUTH AND MIDDLEBOROUGH ROAD 

which is the latest addition to the Old Colony system, and extends from 
Plymouth to Middleborough, a distance of 16 miles. The largest and most 
important town on this line is Middleborough, if the town of Plymouth is 
excepted. The stations on this road are Plymouth, Darby, North Carver, 
Mt. Carmel, Putnam, and Middleborough. 

C. N. Atwood of Middleboro, in that part known as Rock, conducts a large 
establishment for the manufacture of all kinds of wooden boxes. It was first 
established in 1865 and known as Rock Mi 11, which was changed in a few years after 



37^ HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

to H. N. Thomas & Company, they being succeeded in 1879 by C. N. Atwood. 
The premises occupied for lumber yard and factory cover an area of five acres, 
and employment is given to thirty-five hands. The business extends over a 
large territory , his goods being sent to Boston, Providence, Bangor, Worcester 
and other large cities, and uses from three to four million feet of lumber per 
year, a specialty being made of trunk boxes. Being centrally located directly 
opposite the depot, and possessing unusual facilities for the rapid production of 
work he is always ready to fill and deliver orders promptly. 

J. K. & B. Sears & Co. on Vine street and the largest lumber dealers in Mid- 
dleboro, were first established in South Yarmouth, Mass. about fifty years ago, 
from whence they moved in 1874 to their present location. They carry on both a 
wholesale and retail business in lumber, doors, windows, mouldings, hardware, 
paint, oils, drain pipe, etc. a demand for which exists from Middleboro to the 
Cape. They occupy eight buildings, and a large yard which is directly con- 
nected with the Old Colony Railroad, besides yards at Hyannis. On one of 
their buildings at Middleboro they display every morning at 7.45 the weather 
signals adopted by the United States Weather Bureau. The firm consists of 
Barnabas Sears, Henry W. Sears, Isaiah C. Sears, Nath'l B. H. Parker, who 
by their courteous treatment and fair dealing in all their transactions have built 
up a large and prosperous trade. 

The LeBaron Foundry Company conducts one of the oldest and most extensive 
industries in this town which consists of the making all kinds of iron castings, 
such as are required for machinery, stoves and general jobbing; also all 
kinds of ornamental work such as lawn vases, settees, etc., while a specialty 
is made of the Middleby bakers oven which is in demand by bakers generally. 
The plant in use by this company is a very large and complete affair, 
covering as it does some three acres of land, and consists of twelve substan- 
tial buildings of brick and wood all protected by tire proof roofs. Power to 
operate the various machines used here is supplied by a forty-horse power engine, 
and the services of fifty expert moulders and assistants are employed. The out- 
put of this company is very large, amounting to 1 200 tons of iron in a year. 
This foundry was established in 1856 by the firm of Tinkham & LeBaron and was 
operated by them until 1861 , when J. B. LeBaron took sole charge, and conducted 
the business until 1884 when the present owner E. P. LeBaron bought out the 
business. He has been a resident of Middleboro for the past thirty years, and has 
a great interest in the welfare of the place. He is one of the most public spirited 
citizens, and the town is fortunate in having among its citizens a gentlemen who 
combines the qualities which bring success to his private business, with those 
of a personal pride for the best interest of the town itself. 

Warren B. Stetson came to Middleboro in 1879, ana " engaged in the manu- 
facture of men's boys 1 and youths' shoes. The premises occupied by him are 
situated on Clifford street and consist of a three story frame building where some 
thirty-five hands are employed. This place was first established in 1846 by E. E. 
Perkins who was succeeded in 1879 by the firm of Stetson, Holmes & Hammond, 
they in turn being followed in 1881 by the present proprietor. The goods man- 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 377 

f actured here are from a cheap to medium grade and are sold to New England 
and western parties. Mr. Stetson stands among the leading representatives 
of Middleboro industries, and is a gentlemen well calculated to enjoy the respect 
and confidence of his fellow citizens and tradesmen. 

M. H. Cushing & Co, are a firm well known as wholesale and retail dealers 
in grain, flour, groceries, hay, lime, cement and hair, and is composed 
of M. H. Cushing and his son, whom he took into partnership with him in 
1887. The business was established in 1866 by Mr. Cushing, senior, and has 
enjoyed a prosperous run of business ever since. They occupy adequate 
premises at the corner of Main and Centre streets, consisting of a store 25 x 37 
feet and three large store houses covering in all about 5,000 square feet of 
ground, and employ the services of seven hands. Their goods are reliable and 
their dealing with their customers is of that kind that induces them to be perma- 
nent. Some idea of the extent of their trade can be formed when it is stated 
that two hundred car loads of merchandise are handled by them annually. 

F. W. Hayden of Centre street is the proprietor of a thoroughly reliable 
house engaged in the sale and repairing of watches, clocks, jewelry, plated and 
silverware, etc. Mr. Hayden, who has been established here for the past 
eleven years is a practical watchmaker and is thoroughly experienced in the 
business. The store is of ample dimensions, handsomely appointed and pro- 
vided with every facility. He carries a good stock of ladies and gents gold and 
silver watches, French and American clocks, wedding and engagement rings, 
spectacles, eyeglasses and a general line of things that may be expected to be 
found in a place of this kind. In connection with these he also carries a line of 
sporting goods, bicycles, fishing tackle, etc. Mr. Hayden enjoys the reputation 
of an upright, capable business man and his store is well patronized b}- the 
people of Middleboro and vicinity. 

The Nemasket House, located on Main street, has been for the past ten years 
under the management of P. E. Penniman, who has conducted it in a manner 
gratifying to his many patrons, and with success to himself. The house con- 
tains twenty-four rooms nicely furnished, and the accommodations generally are 
many and adequate. A well kept livery stable is maintained where comfortable 
teams may be procured, and coaches connect with the trians. Mr. Penniman 
is ably assisted by his genial clerk J. C. Daggett who is ever watchful for the 
comfort of guests as well as for the interest of his employer. 

James L. Jenney, one of the principal dealers in coal and wood, is located on 
Vine street, where for the past nine years he has supplied many of Middleboro's 
families with fuel, as well as supplying many of the manufacturers with coal. 
He has ample facilities for handling coal in large quantities, which is landed 
direct to his sheds by the cars of the Old Colony. Me has eleven sheds, and 
employs eight hands and six teams. Mr. Jenney is an old resident of this 
town having lived here for the past twenty-five years, and is well and favor- 
ably known. 



37^ HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Clark & Cole, manufacturers [of boot, shoe and packing boxes, represent 
one of the thriving industries of Middleboro. Though established but four years 
the} 7 are already well and favorably known among the various manufacturers of 
New England, where the larger part of their output is sent. The premises 
occupied by them are located on Cambridge street about one and a half miles 
from the depot, and consist of a two-story frame building 105x35 feet in 
dimensions. A force of forty hands is employed and the latest and best kinds 
of machinery enable them to produce a great variety of boxes for a great 
variety of uses to the number of 500 to 1,000 per day. Clark & Cole are 
young, energetic, and alive to the interests of their customers; and they may 
well be proud of the high standing and excellent rating which has been ac- 
corded them. 

C. W. Maxim's sawing, planing, moulding and turning mill is located on 
Vine street, near the depot in Middleboro, It is a two-story frame building 
44 X42 feet in dimensions, and in it are employed none but skilled workmen. 
In connection with the saw mill he does general jobbing, and all kinds of win- 
dow and door frames are made to order. He has built up a lucrative business 
and is well and favorably known. 

J. S. Benson & Son, manufacturers of and dealers in box boards, slabs, wood 
and lumber, are located upon Wareham street, where they are well provided 
with arrangements and appliances for carrying on the large and prosperous 
business which they enjoy. Ten hands are employed, the products of whose 
labor is in good demand in New York, Philadelphia and other places. This 
business was originally founded about forty j^ears ago by S. Benson and 
occupied the present site of the South Middleboro station. In 1885 S. Benson 
died and the business came into the hands of the present proprietors who 
possess a high reputation for business integrity. 

E. F. Witham's mill at South Middleboro was first built in 1872, and was 
originally used as a trunk factory until *i 880, when it was bought by B. F. 
Leonard, who conducted it up to the time of his death. In 188^5 it became the 
property of J. F. Witham & Son. They used it for a box and trunk factory for four 
years, when E. F. "Witham commenced the sawing of lumber, which is obtained 
within the vicinty of from five to six miles, by his own teams. About two and 
a half million boards are produced annually, amounting to twenty thousand 
dollars. They occupy a two-story frame building twenty-five by fifty feet. 
This mill is operated by steam power, and an average help of about twenty men 
are employed. Mr. Witham was born in Middleboro and has always resided 
here. 

LAKEVILLE. 

This place derives its name from a magnificent chain of lakes and ponds 
which lie along the borders of the town. It is one of the best inland summer 
resorts and dwelling places in the state, and is fast gaining a reputation for the 
excellence of its fresh water fishing. Assawamsett pond, with an area 
of five by three miles in extent, being well stocked with fish, includ- 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 379 

ing black bass and land-locked salmon. The town has a population of about 
1,200, most of whom are engaged in agriculture, and the best accommodations 
are at hand for camping parties. It is a healthful resort, abounds in picturesque 
rural scenery, and in the early days of the Old Colony these beautiful ponds 
were the scenes of many desperate encounters with Indians. 

myrick's, 
is a station on the Old Colony Railroad, aad is about three miles from 

ASSONET, 

a village of Freetown on Assonet bay, eight miles from Fall River, the stations 
intervening between Assonet and the latter being Somerset Junction and Steep 
Brook. (See Fall River.) 

The stations on the Newport line are Tiverton, Bristol Ferry, Portsmouth, 
(see Portsmouth) , Portsmouth Grove, Middleto wn and Newport. (See Newport.) 

(y JCV. L^ J\. JNL tl/ , Manufacturer of =fei 

FINE CALF BOOTS AND SHOES, 

BOSTON OFFICE: RfWIANn MW 

105 and 111 Summer Street, Room 11. AWiAnanu, mam. 

nemasket house, 

MIDDLEBORO, MASS. 



P. E. PENNIMAN, Prop. J. C. DAGGETT, Clerk. 

LiBAMI FOttKBBT »., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

Stove, Machinery and Job Castings, 

Patent Window Weights of all sizes constantly on hand, or made to order. 

Garden Vases, Chairs and Seltets, Stable Castings, Etc. 

Also Ship and Boat Ballast. 

e. p. lebaron, prop. MIDDLEBORO, MASS. 

Near the Depot. 



3§0 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

PIPER, COTTLE & CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

UNION AND HEMLOCK SOLES, TAPS, INSOLES, TOP LIFTS, Etc 

Factory: 

Randolph, . , . Mass. 

BOSTON OFFICE, 120 Summer Street, - - BOSTON, MASS. 

C. F. & A. W. STONE, 

Machine Work, Engine Building, 

GENERAL REPAIRING. 
Randolph, _____ Mass. 

~~ A. J. GOVE'S 

RANDOLPHand BOSTON EXPRESS, 

BOSTON OFFICES, 
174 Washington St., .-. and .\ 15 Devonshire St. 



_A_ _l. s o 



A. J. Gove's Boarding and Livery Stable. 

Barges for Excursion Parties. Hacks for Social and Civic Occasions. 
Randolph, __--__- Mass. 

ESTABLISHED 1864. J. F. TWOMEY, MANAGER. 

ESTATE W. P. O'BRIEN, 

MANUFACTURE ALL GRADES 

MEN'S AND BOYS' CALF BOOTS, 

Randolph, _-____- Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 38 1 



THE NEW ROAD 



RETURNING again to South Braintree, this latter place has another 
connection with Fall River by what is known as the " New Road,' 
a name used to distinguish the line from the route last mentioned and 
known as the " Old Road." The road runs via Taunton, the first station from 
South Braintree being Mayflower Park ; other towns and stations follow in their 
order. 

RANDOLPH. 

This town is one of the most interesting in point of scenic features on the 
line of what is known in the Old Colony system as the «' New Road." It is 
practically what is generally recognized asa (t shoe town," that industry pre- 
dominating in its manufactures, although the suburbs of the villages of 
Randolph, New Dublin, Tower Hill and West Corners are the finest agricultural 
sections to be found in this part of the state. The village proper has many fine 
streets, amply shaded by handsome elm trees, and the most commodious town 
hall in this section. Its people are highly cultured as a whole, being musically 
inclined, and are noted for the successful musical conventions for so many years 
held there. There are some elegant private estates in Randolph, its educational 
advantages are of the highest order, and its churches embrace nearly every 
denomination of Christians. It has several fine stores, its municipal affairs are 
wisely and efficiently administered and everything about the town is indicative 
of thrift, progress and domestic comfort. It is located 1 5 miles from Boston, 
and six miles from Brockton, with which latter city it is connected by an electric 
railroad. The town has a population of nearly 4,000. 

W. P. O'Brien, boot and shoe manufacturer, is a well and favorably known 
house among the jobbers of these goods. The business is at present being 
managed by Mr. J. F. Twomey for the estate of W. P. O'Brien. Mr. Twomey 
has had some twelve years' experience with his late employer and is conse- 
quently well qualified to fill the position he holds. This business was originally 
established by S. O'Brien & Son about twenty-five years ago, who were suc- 
ceeded about ten years ago by the late W. P. O'Brien. The business consists 
principally of the manufacture of men's boots and is mostly confined to the 
western trade. The factory, at the corner of North and Plain streets, is 
thoroughly equipped with the most modern machines and special appliances. 
This house is in a position to turn out first-class work with promptness and 



382 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

reliability, their long experience and excellent business methods building for 
them a desirable and enviable reputation. A Boston office is maintained at 105 
Bedford street. Mr. Twomey, who is managing the business, is also connected 
with the house of Twomey & Brennan, gents furnishing goods, boots, shoes, 
etc. 

Twomey & Brennan are dealers in boots, shoes, rubbers, and a general line 
of gent's furnishing goods. They are well known business men of Randolph 
and are conducting a successful and growing business. Mr. Twomey is also 
managing the business of the late W. P. O'Brien. 

Piper, Cottle & Company was established in 1891 as dealers in sole leather 
and manufacturers of Union cut soles, hemlock soles, insoles, top lifts, etc. 
Though established only a short time their business has increased rapidly and 
their goods are known all over the country. The premises occupied by them 
are centrally located on the main street in Randolph, and consist of a three- 
story frame building 100 x 60 feet in dimensions. Steam power is used and ten 
experienced hands are employed who cut about one thousand sides of Union 
soles a week, and two hundred sides of hemlock in the same time. The men's 
goods are sold mostly in Randolph and vicinity, while the goods for women are 
sent to Maine and New York state. Mr. Cottle is a well known resident of 
Randolph, having lived there for over thirty years, while Mr. Piper has also 
lived in the place for over twenty-five years. They have a Branch office at 120 
Summer street, Boston. 

C. F. & A. W. Stone, a well known firm engaged in machine work, en- 
gine building and repairing of all kinds of machinery were established about 
three years ago. They are located on Union street, Randolph, where they also do 
a large business in plumbing. They occupy the lower floor of a two-story frame 
structure whose dimensions are forty-two by seventeen feet, which is lit by 
electric lights ; they being the first to use electricity in the town, and owning 
their own dynamo. Steam power is used and they employ three hands. 
Satisfactory work is guaranteed and orders by mail or otherwise receive 
prompt attention. 

Gove's Express, which was established by its present proprietor, Mr. A. J. 
Gove in 1865, is the oldest express to run between Randolph and Boston. 
Before the cars entered this town he made the trips by road entirely. Now the 
cars of the Old Colony Railroad are used in addition to the trips by road to 
facilitate the prompt delivery of merchandise entrusted to his care, which 
through his popularity with the merchants and citizens of this place has 
developed into a business of no small proportions. In addition to the express 
business he also carries on a successful and extensive livery stable, where he has 
excellent facilities for that business in the way of fine hacks for social and civic 
occasions, barges for excursion parties and well kept carriages for pleasure 
driving, etc,, his outfit consisting of eight single and two double teams, and 
twenty-five well kept and faithful horses. The premises occupied consist of 
a large two-story building 190 x 75 feet in area located on South Main street. 
Twelve men are employed and under the direction of Mr. Gove, they keep the 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 383 

place up to that standard of neatness and general excellence which is charac- 
teristic of the man himself. The horses are well fed and well kept, the car- 
riages are of the best, the stable and surroundings are neat and orderly and 
one is at once impressed, on entering the establishment with a sense of 
satisfaction, and assurance that in securing the services of Mr. Gove, or in 
other ways being accommodated by him, he will receive the best that can be 
had, and it is from this fact that Mr. Gove has attained the success he so 
well deserves. 

STOUGHTON. 

For description of Stoughton and North Stoughton, see ' ' Stoughton 
Branch," Providence Division. 

NORTH EASTON. 

This is a manufacturing and general farming section, but is principally 
noted for the great production of shovels, more than three-fifths of all these 
useful implements made in the world being credited to North Easton, it being 
the location of the famous Ames shovel works. This great industry was 
founded by the family whose names are still identified with it, and who have 
beautiful estates in the village. It was the home of Oliver and Oakes Ames, 
whose names are familiar to all in connection with the Union Pacific Railway, 
the first trans-continental railway constructed in this country, and which has 
been instrumental in opening up for agricultural and mining purposes such 
a vast area of the west. North Easton has a population of 3,000, good schools, 
one national and one savings bank, several chnrches, and possesses many 
social advantages not common to a place of its size. 

The Oliver Ames & Sons Corporation of North Easton is well known 
throughout the world for the mannfacture of their celebrated shovels, spades, 
scoops, and drainage tools. Their works are the oldest of the kind in the 
United States, having been established since 1776, and also the largest in the 
world. The premises occupied consist of eighteen large shops, run by steam 
and water power, and the annual products amount to one hundred thirty-five 
thousand dozen. They have taken the first prizes at the United States Centen- 
nial Exhibition, 1876, at the Paris Exposition 1878, at the Chili International 
Exhibition, 1879, at the Melbourne International Exhibition of 188 1, and at 
many others. The shovels manufactured here are used exclusively by most of 
the railroads of the United States, and have a wide reputation the world over, 
particularly in Australia, South America, Africa and Mexico. The factory fur- 
nishes employment to five hundred expert mechanics. 

The New England Specialty Company, of North Easton, is extensively 
engaged as hardware manufacturers ; among their products being screw drivers, 
can openers, kitchen knives, brad awls, tack hammers, etc. They also make 
a specialty of nickel plating. The company enjoys an extensive trade, their 
goods being sent to the leading cities throughout the United States as well as 
abroad. The works are confined to a one-story frame building, where water 



384 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

J. B. KING, 

MANUFACTURER OF 

BOOTS AND SHOES 

Exclusively for Retail Trade. 

NORTH EASTON, - - MASS. 

NEW ENGLAND SPECIALTY CO., 

NORTH EASTON, MASS., 



MANTJFACTTJBERS OF 



Hardware Specialties and Novelties, 

ALSO NICKEL PLATERS. 
A. J. LEAVITT, Manager. Boston Office, 64 Federal St. 




BRISTOL PRINTING GO., 

MEEOANTILE PEINTEES, 

And Wholesale Dealers in Paper, Twine 
and Bags of all kinds. 



We make a Specialty of High Grade Commer- 
cial and Ball Work, Engraved Invitations and 
Cards, and the Finer Class of Printing. 



SHOE TAGS AND FACTORY PRINTING AT 
BOTTOM PRICES. 



A. A. GILMORE. Treasurer. NORTH EASTON, MASS. 
ESTABLISHED 1830. 

HAYWARD t CARRIAGE I COMPANY, 

* * EdSTON, JWS. * * 

• • • MANUFACTURERS OF • • • 

W A a O IT s 

Of Every Description. 
Butcher, Milk, Grocer and Express Wagons a Specialty. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 385 

power is used and employment is given to fourteen skilled workmen. This 
company which has been established here for the past eleven years, is under 
the management A. J. Leavitt, the proprietor, who by his energy and business 
tact, has built up one of the most thriving enterprises in North Easton. 

J. B. King, on Centre street, ranks with the first in North Easton in the manu- 
facture of men's boys 1 and youths' boot and shoes, a business he has successfully 
conducted for the last twenty years. During this time business has steadily 
increased so that now sixty hands are employed whose daily output amounts to 
from twelve to fifteen cases per day, of twenty-four pairs each. The goods are 
made chiefly for the retail trade, and shipped to the West. The premises 
embrace a three-story frame building, covering an area of thirty by eighty feet, 
equipped with all the latest improved machinery operated by steam power. Mr. 
King, being a native of North Easton, is well known, and highly respected 
throughout the town. 

EASTON. 

Easton forms the northeastern angle of Bristol county, and is 24 miles south 
of Boston. It is bounded on the north by Sharon and Stoughton, east by 
Brockton and West Bridgewater, south by Raynham, Taunton and Norton, and 
west by the latter and Mansfield. Its territorial form is quite regular, but 
with its western side shortest. Easton has many fine estates, excellent sanitary 
conditions, good schools, churches, a national and a savings bank. It is the 
centre of a productive farming section, and possesses many features which 
make it desirable for permanent residents or summer vistors. Population, 
4,493. It is located at the junction of the Brockton and Easton Branch of the Old 
Colony, known as " Shovel Handle." The Indian name of this place was Hocka- 
mock. It was originally a part of Norton, from which it was detached and 
incorporated Dec. 21, 1725, being named, perhaps in honor of John Easton, who 
was governor of Rhode Island from 1690 to 1694. 

The Hayward Carriage Company, among the notable houses engaged in the 
manufacture of carriages, it entitled to special consideration. The business was 
established in 1830. Mr. Hayward has had long and practical experience in his 
vocation and he supervises all departments of his factory, assisted by com- 
petent foremen, thus affording satisfactory results. The company manufacture 
wagons of every description, which for style, workmanship and durability, 
cannot be excelled by any other concern in southern Massachusetts. A specialty 
is made of butcher, milk, grocery and express wagons, only the best and most 
carefully selected materials being used. The products of the establishment are 
sent to all parts of the state, and are giving the best of satisfaction. A full 
stock is constantly carried, special attention being given to order work. 

The Belcher Mailable Iron Co. in 1890 succeeded to the business established 
in 1837 by Daniel Belcher. The work consists in the manufacture of superior 
malleable iron castings from air furnace iron for machinery purposes, also for 
gun, rifle and pistol castings, carriage iron, or anything that requires a strong 
tough casting, Other products are steel castings, tempering pots, chilled rolls, 



386 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

T. H. DEAN & CO., 

[Formerly T. H. & J. O. BEAN, 

MACHIITISTS; 

— Mantjfactubers of — 
Piano and. other Castors, Winding Machines, Eye Machines, Boring Machines, Drill- 
ing Machines, Boring Bitts, Beaming Bitts, a variety of other 
TOOHS and HARDWARE, 

SOUTH EASTON, - - MASS. 

S. D. SIMPSON & SON, 

CARRIAGE MANUFACTURERS, 

Butcher, Milk, Express, Farm and other Wagons 

MADE TO ORDER. 

Repairing done with Neatness and Despatch. SO, EASTON, MASS. 

JiriPJON 5PRINQ— — K ^ 

(WHITE LABEL) 

-* v. Qinqer Ale. 

Absolutely free froin Capsicum. Will not cause Constipation. 

Made from the Mildly Cathartic Simpson Spring Water. Purity Guaranteed. 

Delicious and Sparkling as Champagne, 

The Finest in ilie World. sIpson spring water. 

■8—W IWM —W 

" It is veey palatable and absolutely safe."— Prof , RAPHAEL PUMPELLY, Chemist National 
Board of Health, Newport, R. I. 

"lam convinced that its properties are characteristic, and as clinically trustworthy as are 
those of terebinthina, lithia, or many other of the partially proven drugs."— J. HEBER SMITH, 
M. D., Professor of Materia Medica for eleven years in the Boston University'Medical School. 

SIMPSON SPRING CO. 

F. A. HOWARD, Treas. and Manager. 

Supt, of Factory : Prof. W. U. BARNES, Chemist and State Assayer. 

Office, 201 State St., Boston. ™o . , EES£S££r" y 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 387 

and plough points. The latter are made from best charcoal iron, and will wear 
three times as long as ordinary chilled points. Their premises embrace five 
buildings where thirty-five hands are kept bus}* producing work which is sent to 
all parts of New England, requiring a weekly melting of ten tons of iron. 

The Bristol Printing Company, Easton, of which A. A. Gilmoreis proprietor, 
was established in 1887, and does a large amount of shoe factory and other print- 
ing ; also deals in wrapping paper, twine and bags of all kinds, envelopes, writing 
papers, blank books, papeteries, toilet papers, Japanese napkins, ice cream and 
candy boxes, oyster sacks, wood dishes and plates, cutters for paper in rolls, 
etc. The premises which are conveniently located on Main street, comprise 
a four-story frame building, covering an area of twenty-two by thirty-three feet, 
fitted up with steam power and all the latest improved machinery. Mr. Gil- 
more is well known to the trade, and devotes his undivided attention to all 
orders which arc executed with promptness and satisfaction. 

The Simpson Spring, a somewhat celebrated spring, was purchased more than 
sixty years ago by Samuel Simpson, from whom it takes its name, it beingformerly 
called Ridge Hill Spring. Its medicinal qualities were tested and utilized by 
Mr. Simpson, more than fifty years ago and the proof of its beneficial effects in 
diseases of the stomach, kidneys and bladder became so positive, that in 1878 
F. A. Howard, grandson of Samuel Simpson, decided to put the water on the 
market. " The Simpson" spring supplies a drinking water that is endorsed by 
physicians, and is highly recommended for people troubled with the diseases 
before mentioned. The business was commenced in a very small way, and 
carried on for ten years by F. A. Howard & Co., when it was incorporated 
under the laws of Maine with a capital stock of thirty thousand dollars. The 
present officers are Henry C. Delano, president ; F. A. Howard, treasurer and 
manager. The directors are, H. C. Delano, Oliver Ames, 2d., J. Mott Smith, 
A. W. Preston and F. A. Howard. The company have excellent facilities for 
successfully carrying on the work at the spring, their main office and storage 
rooms being at 201 State street, Boston. They now do a very large business in the 
manufacture of carbonated beverages, fruit juices, extracts, etc. The company 
also has a growing export trade to the West Indies, and deals in, and imports 
fruit juices. 

S. D. Simpson & Son are old residents of Easton and are known as manu- 
facturers of milk, express and farm wagons, also carriages of all kinds. This 
business was originally founded by Samuel Simpson in 1828, he carrying it on 
till i860, when S. D. Simpson assumed control, who in 1882 took in his son and 
formed the present company. The premises located on Washington street 
consist of two buildings, one a two-story frame being thirty by sixty feet in 
dimensions, and the other a one-story frame, twenty by sixty feet with an ell 
adjoining, twenty by thirty feet. Seven men are engaged as help, who turn 
out large quantities of work, which is sent to Brockton, Stoughton and Bridge- 
water. The gentlemen of this firm are well known to the trade and enjoy an 
excellent reputation for square dealing and first class work. 



388 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

T. H. Dean, a well known citizen of South Easton, has since 1850 been 
engaged in the manufacture of piano castings and pianoforte machinery of all 
kinds, in which he enjoys an extensive and flourishing trade, both in Easton 
and surrounding towns as well as throughout New England. His factory con- 
veniently located on Washington street, covers a large tract of land, and is fully 
equipped with all the necessary appliances, operated by both steam and water 
power. Six hands are engaged as help, the products of whose labor and skill is 
noted for its excellent quality. 

KAYNHAM. 

Raynham in the easterly part of Bristol county, and long associated with the 
cruder manufactures of iron, is 30 miles from Boston, The post-offices are 
Raynham (centre) and North Raynham; the other villages, Pratt ville, East 
Raynham and South Raynham. Easton bounds it on the north ; Bridgewater 
and Middleborough on the east; and Taunton on the south and west. The 
largest manufacture of this town at present is boots and shoes. There are also 
made shovels, nails and iron castings. Population, 1890, 1,340. 

The Diamond Tack and Nail Works of Raynham, Mass., were first started in 
1844 by Geo. W. King. Later he was succeeded by Emerson & Company, who 
were succeeded by Leeds, Robertson & Company, and in 1891 the present firm 
comprising C. B. Gardiner and D. F. Ranney, became proprietors of the works. 
They are fully equipped with all the latest improved machinery, both 
steam and water power being used. The products, which include tacks and 
small nails of every description are sent principally to New York and Boston, 
but some foreign trade is transacted. The premises comprise a one-story 
frame building, where twenty-five hands, who have all had a practical experience 
are busily engaged turning out large quantities of tacks annually. Gardiner 
& Ranney are well known to the trade, and enjoy the esteem of the public as 
well as a prosperous business. 

Zeno H. Kelleyof North Raynham, who is conveniently located near the 
depot, has been for the past twenty-two years engaged as manufacturer of 
men's, boys' and youths' shoes of medium grades for the jobbing and retail 
trade, which are shipped mostly to the leading cities in the West and South, 
although he enjoys an extensive home trade also. The premises embrace 
a three-story frame building, where the latest improved machinery is in use, 
including steam power. 

TAUNTON. 

[Whittenton, Whittenton Junction and other stations within the city limits 
are mentioned elsewhere.] 

THE DIGHTONS. 

Dighton lies in the central part of Bristol county, 40 miles south of Boston 
by the Old Colony Railroad, which runs along the Taunton river (formerly the 
divisional line on the east) through the entire length of the town. Taunton 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 389 

bounds it on the north, Berkeley on the east, Somerset and Swansea on the 
south and Rehoboth on the west. The post-offices are Dighton, North and 
West Dighton, and Segreganset. Dighton was originally a part of Taunton, 
and was incorporated May 30, 181 2. "It was named," says Wm. H. Whit- 
more, in his able essay on " The Origin of the Names of Towns in Massachu- 
setts," " most probably in honor of Frances Dighton, wife of Richard Williams, 
one of the first settlers, and sister of the second wife of Gov. Thomas 
Dudley." There is said to be no other town in the state that derives its 
name from a woman. The first church was organized in 1710, and re- 
organized in 1826. Assonet Neck, on which is situated the famous" Digh- 
ton Rock," whose inscriptions have puzzled the antiquaries of Europe 
and America, lies on the eastern bank of the Taunton river in the town of 
Berkeley. Three-Mile river forms the line separating Dighton from Taunton at 
the northeast corner, where it furnishes power for the manufactories of North 
Dighton village. The Swes^anset river, an affluent of the Taunton river, 
rises in the western part of the town, flows southeasterly, and affords valuable 
water-power. The manufactures consist chiefly of stoves and the associated 
articles; paper, paints and colors, carriages, building material, brooms, etc. 
The Old Colony Railroad has stations at Dighton and North Dighton. Popu- 
lation of the town, 1890, 1.889. 

The Dighton Stove Lining Company, has been established twenty years, but 
was incorporated as a stock company about ten years ago, with a capital stock 
of twenty-five thousand dollars. They are engaged as manufacturers of stove and 
range linings, fire brick, etc. The president is G. C. Francis and the treasurer 
W. Z. Whitmarsh. The main building covers an are a of one hundred fifty 
by sixty feet, while they also have a large storehouse adjoining, the dimensions of 
which are one hundred twenty by twenty-five feet. The factory furnishes em- 
ployment to twenty men, who are kept constantly busy, producing special work 
for the Magee Furnace Co., Richmond Stove Co. of Norwich, Conn, and the 
well known house of Walker & Pratt Manufacturing Co. of Boston. The pro- 
ducts are also sent to Providence, New Bedford and Erie, Pennsylvania. The 
clay from which these goods are made is procured from New Jersey, the annual 
production of stove linings, amounting to fifty thousand sets, while twenty-five 
thousand dollars worth of tire brick is turned out every year. 

C. N. Simmons the subject of this sketch, is a life long resident of Dighton, 
and one of its most prominent and prosperous farmers and strawberry growers. 
Dighton strawberries are noted throughout the state for their excellent flavor 
and are grown in great quantities. Mr. Simmons is one of the largest growers 
in this section, having had as many as twenty-six acres of strawberries under 
cultivation in a single season. During the season he employs from fifty to one 
hundred pickers, and a fair average per acre of strawberries picked would amount 
to 3,200 quarts, which are principally sent to Boston. In addition to the grounds 
used for the cultivation of strawberries he also owns a farm which is known as 
Crystal Spring farm of over 200 acres in extent which is said to be one of the best 
farms in Bristol county where a beautiful grove is situated which is in demand by 



390 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



4WINTHROPf 




RANGES i2S FURNACES. 



HIGHESTGRADE. 



rl^DIGHTON FURNACE CO., 

North Dichton or Taunton, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 39 1 

picnic parties, and the famous clam bakes of the season are held here. One of 
the finest springs to be found any where in New England is situated here, the 
water of which is cold, clear and sparkling and from which the farm derives 
its name. Mr. Simmons is a man of good sound business ability, and respected 
by all who know him. He is of a cordial and hospitable nature and the 
success and prosperity he has attained are as well merited as they are 
prominent. 

The Dighton Furnace Company, located on Railroad avenue, North Dighton, 
has been established since 1858, being incorporated with a capital stock of 
seventy thousand dollars. The president is Sylvanus N. Staples, and the 
treasurer is Fred P. Leonard. This company is engaged in the manufacture 
of stoves, furnaces, hollow ware, cast iron pipe and fittings. The products are 
sent all over the New England states, California and Chicago. Their premises 
cover about three acres of land. Steam power is used and one hundred and 
twenty hands find employment here. 

BERKELEY. 

Berkeley is a small agricultural town situated in the easterly part of Bristol 
county, about 40 miles south of Boston, and bounded on the north and north- 
east by Taunton, on the south, and southeast by Freetown (from which it is in 
part separated by Assonet Bay) , and on the west by Dighton and Taunton, — 
from the last of which it is divided by Taunton river, here a navigable, broad 
and beautiful stream. It is watered in the east by Cotley and Quaker brooks, 
and in the west by several affluents of Taunton river. The villages and post- 
offices are Berkeley (centre) and Myricksville ; and the railway stations are the 
latter, in the southeast part of the town, on the New Bedford and Taunton line, 
and Berkeley on the Fall River Branch of the Old Colony Railroad. The ter- 
mination of the town southerly is a long point of land called Assonet Neck. A 
little south of it lies Conspiracy Island, probably so named from its connec- 
tion with King Phillip's conspiracy against the English, which resulted in 
the Indian war, known by his name. 

SOMERSET. 

Somerset, near the centre of Bristol county, lies on the west bank of the 
Taunton river, opposite the city of Fall River. Dighton lies on the north, and 
Swansea on the west, also on the north of a southwestern projection, and on 
the south is Mount Hope Bay. The form is long, narrow and curved south- 
westward. The railroad crosses the river here, entering the suburbs of Fall 
River on the other side. The town lies on an elevation sloping gently upward 
from the bay, and presents many situations overlooking the waters in all 
directions, of rare beauty. Many desirable summering-places are within easy 
reach. Population, 1890, 2,106. 

The Somerset and Johnsonburg Mfg. Co. is one of the wealthiest and best 
known corporations of its kind doing business in this town, and is widely 
known in the manufacture of vitrified paving brick, fire proof building brick, 



39 2 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

ARNOLD B. SANFORD, Prest. WARREN H. SANFORD, Treas. 

EDWARD D. EMERSON, Gen. Mgr. 

Somerset and ^^ 
Johnsonburg ^^ 
Manufacturing Co., 



^ ^ ^ ^ 


Ca?\M t 


500,000. 


MANUFACTURERS OF 

VITRIFIED PA VING BRICK. : : 




ENAMELED BRICK. ; 






FIRE BRICK. STONE 


WARES. 




CUPOLA and FURNACE LININGS 





DEALERS IN 



Fire Clay, Kaolin, Etc. 

CAPACITY 30,000,000 BRICKS PER ANNUM. 

Sole Agents and Owners in 

United States and Canada of the JOHNSON PA TEN! 

Brick Making Machinery. 

. FACTORIES, 

Somerset, Mass., Johnsonburg, Pa. 

BOSTON OFFICE. NEW YORK OFFICE. PITTSBURG OFFICE, 

166 Devonshire St. 119 Times BI'dg. 712 & 713 Lewis Block. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 393 

cupola furnace and stone ware also dealers in tire clay, kaolin, etc. It was 
established as the Somerset Pottery Works, but in 1891 it was incorporated 
under its present name and now has a capital of $500,000, and officered as 
follows: Arnold B. Sanford, president; Warren H. Sanford, treasurer and 
C. Hathaway, superintendent. The amount of business done by this concern 
is of great magnitude, dealing as it does throughout the United States and 
Canada. In addition to the business described they are also sole agents and 
owners in the United States and Canada of the celebrated Johnson patent brick 
making machinery. Their factories are extensive affairs covering some four 
acres of ground and giving employment to nearly 200 hands, and with their 
large plant at Johnsonburg, Pennsylvania, gives them facilities for turning out 
30,000,000 bricks per annum. The gentlemanly managers of this business are 
thoroughly energetic, reliable and responsible, and are very popular with their 
patrons on account of their liberality and the honorable spirit characterizing all 
their transactions. 

The Somerset Stove Foundry Company, one of the influential and flourishing 
industries of Somerset, was first established in 1858 as the Boston Stove 
Foundry Co., which in 1868 was succeeded by the Somerset Co-operative Stove 
Foundry Co., it in turn being followed by the present company which was 
incorporated in 1 89 1. The officers of the company are president, John D. 
Flint of Fall River ; treasurer, Wm. P. Hood; Hon. Frank S. Stevens, A. A. 
Hood, A. W. Lincoln and Isaac T. Brownell, with the president and treasurer, 
constitute the board of directors, and under the able management of these gentle- 
men this foundry has attained a position in the mercantile world that is in keep- 
ing with good management and business integrity. The works on Main street 
consist of the foundry building with several storehouses, sheds and wharves, the 
whole covering ground to the extent of nearly two acres. The establishment is 
well equipped throughout with all desirable appliances, including steam power, 
and gives employment to fifty skilled moulders, mounters, etc., their product 
is noted for its excellence of finish and durability, and embraces a full line of 
stoves, ranges and hollow ware, among the leading specialties of which may 
be named the "Somerset Grand," "Grecian," "Matron" and "Wyoming" 
ranges. 

The Wilson Lace Clasp Co., who carry on one of the important branches of in- 
dustry in Somerset, are engaged in the manufacture of Wilson's patent improved 
lace clasps, for use on lace shoes, corsets, gloves, leggings, gaiters, etc., to enable 
the wearer to securely fasten the ends of the lacing without tying a knot. This 
company was incorporated in 1889, with $150,000 capital. H. B. Baker of 
Digh ton, Mass., is its president and treasurer. It makes the most practical 
lace clasp, and the only one which has a medal and diploma for excellence. 
The clasps are made in black, silvered, copper, brass red and russet, and are 
extensively used by many of the best makers in the country, among which are 
Edwin Clapp, Wright & Richards, J. T. Turner, Stacy, Adams & Co., Churchell 
& Alden, Niles & Wilbar, L. A. Cresset, Dugan & Hudson, Tony, Bullivant 
& Co., So. Weymouth Shoe Co., Rockland Co., Jay B. Reynolds, Howard 



394 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



^SQMERSET^STQVE^FOUNDRY^COr^ 



SOMERSET, MASS. 




RANGES. 



Manufacturers of a Complete .Line of 

Wood and Coal Parlor Stoves, Air Tights, Hollow Ware, 

Sinks, and best assortment of Common Cook 

Stoves to be found in Hew England, viz: 

RANGES: Somerset Grand, Somerset G, Somerset, Arion, Matron, Wyom- 
ing, Grecian, New Grecian, Harvest and Times. 

COOK STOVES: SUPERB, ARION, VESTA and CERES. 

PARLORISTOVES: Arion, New Somerset, Leo, Leo B, and Cheer- 
ful Wood Cottage. 

Best HollowIWare in all variety* and Sinks, made in New England ; all made from 
best material by highest skilled labor, carefully numbered, insuring perfection as 
near as can be reached in working qualities. Reference to any in use will establish 
above fact. 

Don't fail to see'/them before you buy. 

For sale by all first-class dealers. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 395 

& Foster, Geo. E. Keith, R. B. Grover & Co., E. H. Stetson & Co., Smith & 
Stoughton, Thos. White & Co., Allison Boot & Shoe Co., Strong & Carroll, 
J. Freman Shoe Mfg. Co., and many others. This company has an office in 
Boston, No. 280 Devonshire street, which is presided over by its energetic and 
efficient selling agent, E. B. Webster. They also do an extensive business in 
Canada and England ; the Canada business is taken care of by the home office, 
but the business in England and the continent, is done through the selling 
agent, Adolph Riekmann, 59 Knightrider street Queen Victoria street, London, 
E. C. Eng., who has sold the clasps from England to Australia. — (For illustra- 
tions of the Wilson lace clasp see index to advertisements.) 

The Mount Hope Iron Company is a large iron manufacturing company in 
Somerset, the business of which consists of the manufacture of cut nails and 
spikes, plate and band iron for gas pipes, shovels, etc., of every description. 
The company occupies two large factories and gives constant employment to 
a large number of experienced workmen. They have the reputation of producing 
a fine quality of iron, and with all the improvements and conveniences which they 
have, are enabled to produce a large variety of work, all orders for which 
receive prompt attention. Branch stores are located at Boston and Providence. 
J. M. Leonard is the treasurer and H. B. Leonard agent of the .company. 

Geo- C Belcher. William T. Belcher. 

Belcher Malleable Iron Co., 

Successors to Daniel Belcher. 

MANUFACTURERS OP 

Superior Malleable Castings 

FROM AIR FURNACE IRON, 

^PFPIAITIF^' Machinery. Rifle, Gun and Pistol Castings, Cast Cast-Steel for Gears, Pinions, 
OrmjiMiULO. Cams, Eolls, etc. Metal Patterns made from Draft or Sample 

EASTON, - Mass. 

ZENO H. KELLEY, 

-:- MANUFACTURER OF -:- 

^MIEN'S, BOYS' j^T*T3D YOUTH'S 

S* T T * f^\ * ~CT" * ^ 

Of Medium Grades for the 

JOBBING AND RETAIL TRADE. 
North IZaynham, - - Mass. 



39^ HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 



NKW BEDFORD BRANCH, 



howland's. 



/"IaHIS is the first station on this branch of the Old Colony Railroad, and is 
45 miles from Boston. The next one of importance is 



r 



EAST FREETOWN. 



This is a station in the town of Freetown, which latter is noted for its 
ledges and large area of forest. It is 45 miles south of Boston, and Brayley's 
is a station in this town. 

ACUSHNET. 

Acushnet station is in the pleasant town of that name, located in the 
southeasterly part of Bristol county. It is bounded by Freetown and Rochester 
on the north, the latter and Mattapoisett on the east, Fairhaven on the south, and 
New Bedford on the west. Nearly one third of the original area was annexed 
to New Bedford in 1875. It was formerly included in the town of Fairhaven, 
.having been incorporated on February 13, i860. Its name is from the 
beautiful river which flows southward along the western side of the bay. 
Another pretty stream flows along Mattapoisett river in the southeast. New 
Bedford reservoir, of 280 acres, is located here, and is a very attractive sheet of 
water. The postoflfices are Long Plain, on the eastern side of the town, and 
Acushnet village on the southwest. Belleville is another small village. 






EASTON BRANCH, VIA BROCKTON. 



WEST BEIDGEWATER. 

WEST BRIDGEWATER, one of the oldest settlements, is situated in 
the northwesterly part of Plymouth county, 25 miles south of 
Boston. The Old Colony has stations at Matfield and Westdale 
sending from the former a branch to Easton, which has stations at West 
Bridgewater centre and Cochesett. The last two places and Matfield are the 
postoffices. The other village is Jerusalem. There are boot and shoe factories, 
a shovel factory, one making eyelet machines, and others of less importance, 
while the farming interest is very large. Population, 1890, 1,917. 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 397 



WESTDALE. 

This is a station in West Bridgewater, the name of which was formerly 
Satucket. It is in a quiet rural district, and possesses many desirable features 
for those who seek the pleasures and health which a country home affords. 
The sanitary conditions here are of the best, small game is plentiful, the water 
of excellent quality, and land is comparatively low in proportion to the 
numerous advantages offered. 

COCHESETT. 

A village of West Bridgewater referred to above. Population, 350. 
Largely devoted to market and dairy farming, for which the soil is eminently 
adapted, and the products of which find a ready market in the city of Brockton, 
from which it is seven miles distant. 

[Other stations on this line are Eastondale, South Easton, Easton, North 
Easton and Stoughton Central, descriptions of which are given elsewhere.] 



MIDDLEBOROUGH & TAUNTON BRANCH 



THE stations on this branch are Turnpike, North Lakeville, Chace's, East 
Taunton, Weir Junction and Taunton Central, the more important of 
the towns and cities in which these are located having been previously 
referred to. 



FALL RIVER BRANCH. 



DARTMOUTH. 



DARTMOUTH is a large farming, fishing and manufacturing town in the 
southern part of Bristol county, bordering on the other section of 
Buzzard's Bay. It is bounded on the north by Fall River and Freetown, 
and on the east by New Bedford, on the west by Westport, and south by Buz- 
zard's Bay. The Old Colony Railroad station at New Bedford is near and just 
opposite the middle of the town, and the Fall River Branch has stations at 
Hicksville and North Dartmouth. The villages are onf Apponaganset Bay at 
the southeast, on the Pamanset river near the eastern line, in the north part of 



39^ HTSTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

the town on the main branch of the Westport river, and at West-port Mills, on 
the same river, where it leaves the town on the western side. Other stations on 
this branch are Mt. Pleasant, Westport Factory, Hemlock, North Westport and 
Flint Village. 



FAIRHAVEN BRANCH, 



MARION. 



~^>^ ARION is an interesting seaboard town in the southern extremety of 
/ ▼ % Plymouth county, 50 miles south by southeast of Boston. It has 
JL Jl Rochester and Wareham on the north, Buzzard's Bay on the east 
and southeast, Mattapoisett on the south of the western half, and the same and 
Rochester on the west. The postofiice is Marion. Other villages are Bay 
View, East Marion, Old Landing and Sippican. The Fairhaven Branch of the 
Cape Cod Division of the Old Colony Railroad, passing by the head of the har- 
bor, affords convenient land connections. Population, 1890, 871. 

MATTAPOISETT. 

Mattapoisett is a pleasant seaboard town forming the southwestern corner of 
Plymouth county, 55 miles from Boston. It is bounded on the north by Rochester, 
also in part by Marion, east by the latter and Buzzard's Bay, south by the last, 
and west by Fairhaven and Acushnet, in Bristol county. Population, 1890, 
1,148. 

FAIRHAVEN. 

Fairhaven lies on the eastern side of Acushnet river and of New Bedford 
Harbor, forming the southeast corner of Bristol county, 60 miles south of 
Boston by the Fairhaven Branch of the Old Colony Railroad. It is bounded on 
the north by Acushnet, east by Mattapoisett, south by Buzzard's Bay and New 
Bedford Harbor and west by New Bedford. The soil is loamy and fairly 
fertile. The place was formerly largely engaged in the whale fishery, but the 
pursuit has entirely died. The manufactures have flourished, however, and the 
American Tack Works, with its solid stone factory, and the Fairhaven Iron 
Foundry, a substantial structure of brick, still lead the industries of the place. 
There are also four shipyards, a cordage factory, picture frame, clothing, 
and boot and shoe factories; a printing establishment, and a lively weekly 
newspaper, the Fairhaven Star. Population, 1890, 2,919. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 399 



CAPE COD DIVISION. 



THIS division of the Old Colony system has 32 stations, the least impor- 
tant of which will be mentioned in the various towns as they occur. 
The division begins at Rock station, following which is South Middle- 
borough, both of which have been previously mentioned. Then come stations 
within the town of 

WAREHAM. 

Wareham is a large town in the southerly part of Plymouth county, at the 
head of Buzzard's' Bay, and 50 miles southeast of Boston. The Cape Cod 
Division of the Colony Railroad enters the town at the northwest, sends the Fair- 
haven Branch from Tremont (West Wareham post-office) southward, then 
swerves to the southeast ; the other stations being South Wareham, Parker's Mills, 
Wareham, (centre and chief village), East Wareham, Onset Junction and Buz- 
zard's Bay. These excepting the last are post-offices. The other villages are 
Agawam, Onset Bay and Tihonet. The principal industry in Wareham village 
is iron manufacture, the largest single item being nails. The largest establish- 
ments are the Franconia Iron and Steel Works and the Tremont Nail Works. 
The town contains a saw mill, carriage factories, and factories for leather goods, 
clothing, etc. 

BOURNE. 

Bourne occupies the northwest extremity of Cape Cod and Barnstable 
county, and is about 56 miles from Boston, on the Old Colony Railroad. The 
stations are Bourne, Bournedale and Sagamore. All these are post-offices. 
The town is bounded on the north by Wareham and Plymouth, on the east by 
Cape Cod Bay and Sandwich, south by Falmouth, and west by various bodies 
of water forming the eastern extremity of Buzzard's Bay. The harbors are 
Buttermilk, Red Brook, Cataumet and Back River. Population of town 1,442. 

SANDWICH. 

Sandwich lies on the southwest side of Cape Cod Bay, in the northwestern 
part of Barnstable county, and is 62 miles from Boston. The stations are 
Sandwich and East Sandwich ; and these, with Forestdale, South Sandwich and 
Spring Hill, are post-offices. Other villages are Farmersville, Greenville, 
Scorton and Wakeby. Population, 1890, 1819. 



400 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 



BARNSTABLE. 

Barnstable extends across the western portion of Cape Cod from shore to 
shore. It has Yarmouth on the east and Mashpee and Sandwich on the west, 
and contains about a dozen villages. It is 73 miles from Boston with stations 
at West Barnstable and Barnstable. These are also post-offices, together with 
Hyannis Port, Centreville, Marston's Mills, Cotuit, Osterville, Craigville and 
Wianno ; other villages are East Barnstable, Newtown and Old Cotuit. The 
harbors are Barnstable, Hyannis, Net and Cotuit. A narrow peninsula called 
Sandy Neck, extends from the northwest corner of the town several miles 
easterly, forming Barnstable Harbor, which admits vessels drawing seven or 
eight feet of water. Bordering on this harbor are great salt marshes, from 
which many tons of hay are annually cut. Hyannis Harbor, on the southern 
side of the cape, is protected by a breakwater, and admits the largest coasting 
vessels. Cotuit Harbor is formed by Oyster Island and a peninsula projecting 
from the southwest corner of the town. The manufactures consist of brick, 
drain pipe, building materials, carriages, and wagons, clothing, fertilizers, 
leather, wooden goods, etc,. The town has also a large income from its 
fisheries in which numerous vessels and a large number of its citizens are 
engaged. 

YARMOUTH. 

Yarmouth forms a section of the southern part of Cape Cod, in Barnstable 
county, 75 miles southeast of Boston by the Old Colony Railroad, which passes 
through the midst of the town, with a station at South Yarmouth. 
The township extends from Barnstable Bay (forming the southern portion of 
Cape Cod Bay) on the north, to the ocean on the south. Dennis bounds it on 
the northeast and east, and Barnstable on the west. A peninsula of peculiar 
form, called Point Gammon, projects far into the sea from the southern shore, 
marking very nearly the middle of the south side of Cape Cod, and enclosing 
Lewis Bay, which lies westward. Population, 1890, 1,760. 

DENNIS. 

Dennis is a somewhat crescent shaped town in the midst of Barnstable 
county, extending from one shore to the other of Cape Cod. Its east side is 
a straight line almost to Cape Cod Bay, on whose margin the township has an 
eastward projection. Brewster and Harwich bound it on that side, and Yar- 
mouth on the west. Trees have been extensively planted here on tracts which 
would otherwise have been sandy wastes. The Cld Colony Railroad has a 
station at South Dennis, and one at the eastern line. The post-offices are 
Dennis, Dennis Port, and East, South and West Dennis. Other villages are 
Searsville and South Village. The manufacture of salt, commenced by 
Capt- John Sears as early as 1776, has been extensively carried on. Popula- 
tion, 1890, 2,899. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 4OI 

HARWICH. 

Harwich, one of the most characteristic and pleasant of the Cape Cod towns, 
lies on the south side, about midway of Barnstable county, southeast from 
Boston, and about 85 miles distant by the Old Colony Railroad. This road has 
three stations in the town. North Harwich at the northwest, Harwich (centre) and 
Pleasant Lake on the north side, Brewster lies on the north, Dennis on the west, 
while the south side is washed by the waters of the Atlantic. Population 1890, 
2,734- 

CHATHAM. 

Chatham occupies the extreme southeastern angle alike of Cape Cod and of 
Barnstable county ; and, being indented by numerous coves, harbors, creeks 
and inlets, is, topographically, one of the most irregular towns in the common- 
wealth. It has Pleasant Bay, separating it from Orleans on the north, the 
ocean on the east and south, and Harwich on the west. It has over 500 dwell- 
ing houses, with 1 ,954 inhabitants, who are hardy and industrious people, many 
of whom are engaged in maritime pursuits. South Chatham, the first station 
in the town, is 88 miles from Boston by the Old Colony Railroad. The othe r 
stations in the town are West Chatham and Chatham. The post-offices are 
Chatham, Chatham Port and North Chatham. 

BREWSTER. 

Brewster lies on the inner side of the bend in the elbow of Cape Cod, 89 
miles southwest of Boston by the Old Colony Railroad. The railway stations 
are Brewster and East Brewster ; the post-offices and villages South Brewster 
and West Brewster, the latter formerly known as Setucket. About three 
hundred acres are devoted to the growth of cranberries. Peat of a good quality 
is dug at many points in the lowlands, and is used for fuel. There is a line of 
eminences through the middle of the town nearly east and west. One at the 
northwest was a station in the Trigonometrical Survey of the state, and on its 
summit stands a packet signal, visible at sea for a long distance. The view 
from here of the curving line of the shore, from Duxbury to Provincetown, is a 
rare and pleasing scene. 

ORLEANS. 

Orleans is a farming, fishing and manufacturing town in the outer line of 
Cape Cod, in Barnstable county, 94 miles from Boston. The town is about 
five miles north and south, and three east and west. The assessed area is 
5,025 acres. From Eastham, on the north, it is separated by Rock river, flow- 
ing into Cape Cod Bay, and on the ocean side is Nauset Beach, a long and 
narrow strip of land enclosing Pleasant Bay, which separates it from Chatham 
on the south. 



402 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



THE LEADING 

Manufacturers 



USE THE 



WILSON LACE 
CLASP. 




The Wilson Lace Clasp 

takes the place of 
the top stud and 
does not increase 
the cost, but in- 
creases the sales 
because of its con- 
venience to the 
wearer by allow- 
ing him to fasten 
his shoe-strings 
without having to 
tie them. 



Manufactured by 



WIL50N LdCE CLd J? C2., 

SOMERSET, Mass., Boston Office, 280 Devonshire St. 

Agent! for England and Europe, ADOLPH R8EKMAN, 59 Knightrider St. Queen Victoria St., London, 

E. C, England. 

Stop at 

GIFFORD'S 

y- : when in 

PROVINCETOWN. 

'■^M\ Finely located and First-Class 
gsflftr- Accommodations. 

^ Prompt Service and Reason- 

able Rates. 

JAMES GIFFORD, Proprietor. 




ATLANTIC HOUSE, 



AA30NIC PLgCE, 

Provincetown, - Mass. 

FRANCIS P. SMITH, - - - Proprietor. 



\ 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 4°3 



EASTHAM. 

Eastham lies at the middle of the outer arm of Cape Cod, in Barnstable 
county, 97 miles from Boston with stations at Eastham and North Eastham, 
which are also the post-offices. The territory is about six miles long by three 
wide. The assessed area is 4,892 acres, of which 623 are woodland. The 
annual value of the cranberry crop is about $3,000, and the poultry product 
$9,420. The manufactures consist of salt, prepared fish, leather and several 
others of slight extent. A great variety of fish are taken here though in small 
quantities. 

WELLFLEET. 

Wellfleet is an interesting fishing town in the northeasterly part of Barnstable 
county, and near the middle of the outer arm of Cape Cod, 106 miles from 
Boston by the Old Colony Railroad. The stations are Wellfleet, (village and 
centre) and South Wellfleet, which are also the post-offices. The other 
villages are Billingsgate, Dog Town, Fresh Brook Village and Painesville. 

TRURO. 

Truro occupies a cross section of the outer portion of Cape Cod, in Barn- 
stable county, lying somewhat in the form of a slightly curved finger, with 
Provincetown at its tip and Wellfleet as its base. Its length is 14 miles; its 
width, at the south is 4 3-8 miles ; and at the northern extremity about half 
a mile. The Old Colony has stations at South Truro, Truro and North Truro. 
Population about 1,000. 

PROVINCETOWN. 

Provincetown is one of the most unique towns of the commonwealth. It 
occupies the extreme northern point of Barnstable county and Cape Cod ; and 
is, with exception of a narrow neck connecting it with Truro at the east, 
entirely enclosed by water. The place is 50 miles from Boston by the course 
of steamers, and 120 by railroad. The Old Colony Railroad opened its line to 
this place on July 22, 1873. The outlooks from High Pole Hill and the 
elevations immediately in the rear of the principal street; the outer shores, 
With their terrible reminiscences of wreck and sea tragedies; the life 
saving stations and the performance of their heroic crews ; the grand old ocean 
which now indeed appears outspread without limits, are a few of its sights. 
To these we must add the harbor views inside, the curving finger of the cape, 
bending until the point seemes almost to touch the Truro shores, thus making 
a great circular basin in which the navies of the world might float. Its popu- 
lation is 4,642. 

The Puritan Shirt factory on North Court street owned and operated by The 
Leominster Shirt Co., of Leominster, Mass., was organized about ten years ago 
and is a great factor in the financial interests of the town. One hundred and 
fifty hands are employed, the output of whose labor, amounting to over one 
hundred dozen shirts per day, is shipped to all parts of the country. The 



404 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Hiis is the 


Store of 


G 




R 




O 


P 


C 


w% 


E 


O 


R 


V 


1 


1 


E 


s 


s, 


1 




o 




N 




s, 



JOHN ADAMS, 



Dealer in 




Headquarters for SWIFT'S CHICAGO DRESSED BEEF. 

201-203 Commercial St., Provi ncetown, Mass. 



CENTRAL HOUSE, 

Commercial St , - Provincetown, Mass. 




situated upon tue Beach. proprietor. 

JAMES A. REED, - . - 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 405 

factory is an object of attraction to visitors, and is fully equipped with every 
facility for manufacturing this important article of male apparel, which is one 
of the chief industries of Provincetown. 

The Central House, one of the largest hotels in the town was established in 
1870 by Allen Reed, who continued to run it up to the time of his death which 
occurred in 188 1, when he was succeeded by his son James A. Reed, the present 
proprietor. The hotel is a two-story building located on Commercial street, 
about five minutes' walk from the depot and the same distance from the steam- 
boat landing. Being close to the shore, the facilities for bathing, boating and 
fishing are first-class. It has accommodations for sixty guests, with rooms 
large and well ventilated. On the shore side and front of the hotel a wide 
piazza extends for the comfort of the guests. The table is spread with the 
cleanest of linen. The service is excellent and the food is wholesome and 
plentiful. Mr. Reed has had a long experience in the hotel business, having 
been employed by his father when he controlled it. 

The First National Bank of Provincetown was organized as the Province - 
town Bank in 1854, it becoming a national bank in 1865, and the capital stock 
was increased from $100,000 to $200,000. The officers at the present time are 
M. N. Gifford, president, and Joseph H. Dyer, cashier. The board of directors 
consist of nine members, one of whom was on the board when it was first 
established, Henry Cook being the gentleman referred to. A general 
banking business is transacted including the recieving of deposits, discounting 
notes, etc. The directors are composed of influential citizens of the town, have 
a high standing both in social and business circles, and are men who are well 
adapted for the position they hold. 

The "Giffords" a summer hotel, and one of the best in the place, was 
established about twenty three years ago by James Gifford, the proprietor. 
It is finely situated being on a hill overlooking the town, the harbor and Barn- 
stable bay, and is only a short distance from the shore, while the grounds are 
arranged for amusement of various kinds. The house has accommodations for 
fifty guests, is nicely furnished throughout and is kept up in first-class style. 
The table is supplied with the best the market affords, the service is excellent 
and the rates are moderate. The reputation of this house is wide spread and 
a large and profitable business is the result. On the whole the fare and 
accommodations to be found at "Giffords" are of a superior quality. Mr. 
Gifford is a gentleman of good business qualities, with a thorough knowledge of 
his business, and of courteous manner. 

John Adams, who is among the prominent business men of this place, is 
located at 201 and 203 Commercial street. He commenced business in 1884 
as a dealer in groceries, provisions and country produce and now conducts one 
of the largest stores of the kind in town where may be found a fine line of 
goods, which embraces canned goods in great variety, flour, coffee sugar, crackers, 
meats of all kinds, etc., all of which are of the best to be found. Flour is 
handled by the car-load, and he is agent for Swift's Chicago dressed beef. A 
specialty is made of fitting out fishing vessels with supplies of all kinds. 



406 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIE'S 

A large and prosperous business is being conducted by him, and with the help 
of his five competent clerks he is prepared to fill and deliver all orders promptly. 
Mr. Adams is a well known resident of the town, and has a high standing 
among the people for his liberal dealings. 

D. A. Matheson, who carries on a large business in ready made and custom 
clothing, men's furnishing goods, boots and shoes, (Douglas 1 $3.00 shoes 
being a specialty) hats, caps, trunks, valises, etc. was established in 1872. He 
is located on Commercial street in the old Post Office building, where he 
occupies two large floors, the upper floor being used for boy's clothing and 
ladies 1 and children's cloaks. A specialty is made of seamen's outfits and all 
clothing is sold at prices consistent with the quality of goods. Courteous 
assistants are in constant attendance and every effort is made to meet the wants 
of his patrons. A very prosperous business is being conducted by Mr. 
Matheson, who has had a long experience in this line and is thoroughly posted 
in all its details. He is a well known resident of the town, has a high standing 
in financial and social circles, and conducts his store on the basis of square and 
fair dealing to all. 

The Atlantic House, one of the prominent hotels in Provincetown, of which 
F. P. Smith is the proprietor, was opened more especially for summer 
boarders twenty-one years ago. It has accommodations for thirty-five guests, 
is furnished neatly throughout, and every thing about the place shows that 
great pains have been taken to keep it in first-class condition. The meals are 
served in fine style, and food is well cooked. Being situated close to the shore 
a fine opportunity is offered to indulge in good boating and fishing. Mr. 
Smith has a thorough knowledge of the hotel business, and by his able man- 
agement and courteous treatment he has built up a large and prosperous trade. 
The rates are reasonable, special prices being made for those intending to stay 
during; the summer season. 



D. A. MATHESON, *™f 

Men's %oys> and C h il dren's PI OTUIMP 

HATS, CAPS AND FURNISHING GOODS. 

A Full Line of all Kinds of Also Ladies' Misses' and Children's 

BOOTS, SHOES and EUEBEES. * • . • . CLOAKS. . • . • 

PROVINCETOWN, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 407 



WOODS HOLL BRANCH. 



EAXMOUTH. 



■ \ ALMOUTH is a delightful seaboard town occupying the southwest 

± corner of Cape Cod and of Barnstable county. Along its entire western 
side extends the Woods Holl Branch of the Old Colony Railroad, ter- 
minating 72 miles south of Boston. Its boundaries are Bourne and Sandwich 
on the north, Mashpee on the east. Vineyard Sound (here six miles wide) on the 
south, and Buzzard's Bay on the west. The territory extends as a peninsula at 
the southwest; and on a harbor at the extremity of this is "Woods Holl, where 
are made connections with the Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket steamers. 
It is noted as the location of the government works for fish-breeding, 
and as a principal government station for marine surveys and investigations. 
At the southmost point of this peninsula is Nobska Point and Hill, bearing its 
well known light. Eastward is a fine beach, extending in a concave line to the 
first of three nearly enclosed basins of salt water, the eastward one of which 
constitutes a harbor for Falmouth Village. Population, 1890, 2,567. The 
stations on this branch are Monument Beach, Wenaumet, Pocasset, Cataumet, 
North Falmouth, West Falmouth, Falmouth and Woods Holl. 



MARTHA'S VINEYARD 



THIS famous island of Vineyard Sound is in such close relation with the 
Old Colony system of railroads that a brief description of its principal 
places, as well as that of Nantucket, could not well be omitted here. 
Across the sound lies 

COTTAGE CITY. 

This popular resort embraces the northeastern extremity of the island of 
Martha's Vineyard, Dukes county, and is mainly a place of summer residence, 
having only the business relating to such occupancy. It has, however, a con- 
stant population of 709, of whom 203 are voters. There are now about 1,200 
dwelling houses, all of which are inhabited during the warm season. The town 
has the ocean on the north and east, .Edgartown on the south, and Tisbury on 
the west and northwest. It is separated from the latter town by Vineyard 



408 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Haven Harbor and by Lagoon Pond, the latter partially divided from the 
harbor by a broad sandbar. The coast is formed by steep sand bluffs, with 
sandy beaches at their bases. The area, aside from highways and water sur- 
faces, and some sandy marshes, is 1,965 acres. About one third of this is 
largely occupied by scrub oaks, with trees of larger growth in the vicinity of 
the camp grounds and some of the older residences. The villages are Camp 
Ground, Eastville, Lagoon Heights, Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Heights. The 
latter commence at East Chops, the northeast point, and extend south on the 
shore to Lake Anthony, where Oak Bluffs commence, extending southward to 
Farm Pond. The southeastern part of the town is occupied by Sengecontacket 
Pond, of 650 acres, which communicates with the sea through a break in the 
long sandbar that forms its eastern shore. Eastville is on Vineyard Haven 
Harbor, on the west side of the town. Here are the principal landing places of 
the New York and Portland steamers. This town is reached by regular lines of 
steamers, chiefly from Woods Holl or New Bedford, where connection is made 
with the Old Colony Railroad. The town, also, has its railroad, a narrow 
gauge, connecting Oak Bluffs wharf with Edgartown and Katama. There is 
a finely equipped fire department andexcellent water works. Population, 1890, 
1,080. 

TISBURY. 

Tisbury occupies the middle of Martha's Vineyard, Dukes county, 77 miles 
south of Boston, extending across the island. The capacious harbor called 
Vineyard Haven, and a connected body of salt water called " Lagoon Pond, 1 ' 
separates it from Cottage City on the east ; while the portion south of this is 
bounded on the same side by Edgartown. 

EDGARTOWN. 

Edgartown, the seat of justice in Dukes county, occupies the southeastern 
section of Martha's Vineyard. It lies 85 miles southeast of Boston, and is 
bounded on the north by Cottage City, on the east and south by the ocean and 
on the west by Tisbury. The assessed area is 10,988 acres, — of which 1,667 
acres are woodland, containing oak and pine. Population, 1890, 1,156. 

GAY HEAD. 

Gay Head is a new and small town, embracing the peninsula formed by 
Squibnocket and Menemsha ponds, constituting the western extremity of 
Martha's Vineyard. These ponds are fed from the sea, with which they com- 
municate by short creeks. Chilmark bounds this town on the east, being 
separated from it by the ponds, except for a large .bridge passing over the 
creek connecting them, and the isthmus at the southwest formed by Squibnocket 
Beach. The long line of Elizabethan Islands interpose between it and Buz- 
zard's Bay ; far to the northwest and west is the dim line of the Rhode Island 
and Connecticut shores ; on the south is the illimitable ocean. Here is also 
located the noted Gay Head Life Saving Station. Population, 1890, 139. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 409 



VINEYARD HAVEN. 

This is the principal village of Tisbury, and its harbor affords safe anchorage 
for thousands of vessels annually in stress of weather. The United States 
Marine hospital, a sailor's free reading room, a well stocked library and 
museum, three churches, seven schools and many other advantages incident to 
modern society, are found here. The headland at West Chop bears the famous 
lighthouse of that name, and is approached by a fine road leading from Vine- 
yard Haven. Other villages which were omited in our mention of Tisbury, are 
West Tisbury, Middleton, Christiantown, North Tisbury, Choppaquousett (the 
Indian name of the town), Davistown, Holmes Hole and Okahoma. The post- 
offices are Vineyard Haven, West and North Tisbury. The water supply of the 
village is derived from the noted Tashmer Spring, and is of the purest quality. 
West Chop settlement is a growing and popular summer resort. 

NANTUCKET. 

This town embraces the entire island of the same name, and the smaller 
islands of Tuckernuck, Muskegat, with the three Gravelly Islands ; and the town 
constitutes the entire county of Nantucket. Nantucket is also a name of the 
principal village, containing court house and jail. It is situated midway of the 
north side of the island, on a harbor of its own name. This place is no miles 
southeast of Boston, with which it has communication by the Old Colony 
Railroad and steamers. Population, 1890, 3.268. 



NORTHKRN DIVISION 



FITCHBURG. 



PITCHBURG is a flourishing manufacturing city, in Worcester county, 
situated in its northeasterly section, 50 miles from Boston by the 
Fitchburg Railroad. This road, by a northward curve in the town, 
following nearly the curve of the Nashua river, connects with the four prin- 
cipal villages, — Crockerville in the southwest, West Fitchburg, Fitchburg 
(centre), aud South Fitchburg in the southeast. From the central station 
preceeds the Cheshire Railroad through Bellows Falls to Lake Champlain and 
Montreal. At this station also terminates the Northern Division of the Old 
Colony Railroad, which connects it directly with Framingham, Taunton and New 
Bedford. The Old Colony also has a station in South Fitchburg, which is 
within the city limits. Ashby lies on the north, Lunenburg on the east, Leo- 
minster and Westminster on the south, and the latter on the west. Paper 



4io 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



PATON MFG. CO. 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



-* Combs, Jewelry ™ Buttons, 4- 

Office and Factory, Central St., 
LEOMINSTER, - - - - MASS. 



C. H. Buswell. J. Q. A- Hubbard- Jesse Blake. Louis Phelps. 



W. H. Harrison. 



C. H. BUSWELL & CO., 

Tanners and Curriers of 



Glove, Grain and 

Tannery at No. Leominster, Mass. 



Split Leather. 



Boston Office 137 Summer St. 

E Ho. 343. 



A. W. COLBURN, 



G. F. COLBURN. 



A. W. COLBURN & CO., 

— Manufacturers of — 

Piano and Organ Sharps, 

Drum Sticks, Fifes, Finger Boards, Bones. Cas- 
tanets, Bridges, Tail Pieces, Pegs, Pins, Etc. 

Shell and Horn Mandolin Picks and Zither 

Rings, Horn Scoops, Spoons and Spatulas 

for Druggists' use. 

Handles from Rosewood, Ebony & other Fancy Woods 

Workers of all kinds of Foreign Woods . 
71 PLEASANT ST., LEOMINSTER, MASS. 



E. B. KINGMAN & CO., 



■MANUFACTURERS OF- 



Jet, Rubber, Horn and Shell 

Hair Pins, Combs, Jewelry, 
Buttons and Novelties. 

™ctory, d Leominster, ■ Mass. 
Salesroom, 419 & 421 Broadway, N. Y. 



ESTABLISHED 1850. INCORPORATED 1887. 

J. M. LOCKEY, TREASURER. 

J.H.LOCKEY • * 
* PIANO CASE CO., 

MANUFACTURER OF 

Piano-Forte Cases. 

Leominster, Mass. 



umoNrfpiEu 



E. J. SWEENEY & CO., Props. 



Leominster, 



Mass, 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 41 I 

manufacture is the largest single product of the city. At Crockerville 
(named after a former leading manufacturer) are seven or more mills for 
this article. At other points are cotton and woolen mills, the works of 
the Putnam Machine Company, and the Fitchburg Steam Engine Com- 
pany, making fire, locomotive and stationary engines; also establishments for 
the manufacture of saws, machinists 1 tools, chairs, rattan and other furniture, 
edge tools, agricultural implements, bricks, bread stuffs, clothing, palmleaf 
hats, ooots and shoes, hollow ware, etc. Fitchburg is progressive and enter- 
prising in everything, has a good water system, excellent schools, several fine 
church edifices, an excellent public library, an opera house, and all the modern 
conveniences known to a stirring and industrious New England community. 
There are many fine private estates within the city boundary, and the suburbs 
offer the most desirable locations for residence. The census of 1890 gives the 
city a population of 22,037. 

LEOMINSTER. 

This flourishing town is in the northeast section of Worcester county, 46 
miles northwest of Boston. The Old Colony has stations at West Leominster, 
Leominster Centre and Gates. Fitchburg and Lunenburg lie on the north, the 
latter and Lancaster on the east, Sterling on the south, and Princeton and 
Westminster on the west. The northern and main branch of the Nashua 
river, issuing from ponds at the north-west, flows northward into Fitchburg, 
then southward through the eastern part of Leominster, receiving from the 
west the Monooswock and Fall Brooks, all of which furnish good water power. 
The manufactures consist of two carriage factories (making baby carriages 
chiefly) three or four piano factories, two woolen mills, a tannery, two furniture 
factories, a toy factory, button works, a shirt factory, several factories making 
combs and other horn goods, a paper box factory, a paper mill, a leather mill, 
two shoe shops, etc. The first paper mill in the town was erected by Wm. N. 
Nicols and Jonas Kendall in I796. The sons of Mr. Kendall made a paper and 
cylinder machine as early as 1825, and introduced in 1833 tne Foudrenier 
machine. For a long time this was the leading business of the place. The 
population of Leominster in 1890 was 7,260. 

The Leominster Shirt Company, among the largest and best regulated shirt 
manufacturing companies in this country, have factories in South Framingham 
and Provincetown, Mass., and Chatham, N. Y., besides the two factories in the 
town of Leominster. The president and manager, S. A. Stevens, is a gentleman 
of high standing and well qualified for this important position ; and through his 
able management and business integrity has built up a very large and important 
business ; the total product of this company is about 500 dozen shirts per day, 
that of the Leominster factories alone amounting to 250 dozen shirts per day. 
A force of 250 hands is here employed, who are furnished with the best 
appliances for first-class work, as well as for their general convenience and 
comfort. This company has been established ten years and has acquired 
a reputation throughout the country for excellent goods and upright dealing 



412 



F. A. CLAPP, Pres. 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



*THE* 



3 



A. A. TISDALE, Treas. 



HORN and *- 



V 



C 



■+ supply G. 



DEALERS IN 



Horns, * Hoofs, * Horn * Tips 
and Waste. 



Y .'. Manufacturers of.*. 



£P~R ES~S E dIh'Q'R jfflA lfpf H~0~0 F« l 



Leominster Center, Mass, 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 413 

A large new factory and laundry have been added recently to the Leominster 
plant and is on the line of and plainly seen from the railroad, as it enters the 
town. 

The Bay State Shirt Company are manufacturers of what they term the 
'« Best" shirts. This prosperous concern began operations in 1886, and under 
the efficient and experienced management of its founders has developed into an 
industrial institution of recognized influence, and accumulating during its 
career a trade of large and valuable proportions. The works occupy a four- 
story building 45 x 60 with an ell 30 x 56, all fitted up with special attention 
for the convenient and economical prosecution of affairs, and equipped with an 
abundant outfit of appliances and devices available in the manufacture. Only 
first-class help is employed to the number of 125 hands, whose daily output 
amounts to 100 dozen shirts per day, which is shipped to all parts of the 
country. G. F. Morse, the president, and A. Gr. Morse, the treasurer, are wide 
awake business men, thoroughly familiar with the details of the business, and 
useful and responsible factors in the growth of Leominster. 

J. R. Swift is well known throughout the state, he being the manufacturer 
of the Swift roll top desk, office furniture and standing desks. The roll top 
desk has been developed of late years, until, as now constructed by Mr. Swift, 
it is a veritable cabinet of convenience provided with appropriate and convenient 
places for everything required in the management of a mercantile or business 
house. Mr. Swift is a gentleman of experience and gives the work his 
personal supervision and by his system of upright dealing and prompt execution 
of orders, has succeeded in satisfying the demands of his numerous customers. 
He occupies premises at 148 Pleasant street, well fitted with various appliances 
needed and employs the services of seven hands. 

The J. H. Lockey Piano Case Co. is the oldest and one of the most extensive 
houses in Leominster, engaged in the piano case business. The enterprise was 
established in 1850, but in 1887 the company was incorporated with a capital 
stock of $30,000. J. M. Lockey is its president and treasurer, and through his 
able management, the company has acquired a reputation of high order 
throughout the United States, for commercial integrity, a high grade of goods 
and reasonable prices. The works of the company pleasantly located on 
Mechanic street, consist of some 40,000 feet of floor space, well equipped with 
improved appliances for the work, while the comfort and convenience of the 
workmen are carefully attended to. Steam power is employed and the services 
of some fifty men are constantly required, the product of whose skill and labor 
amounts to 2,000 cases per year. These productions are first-class in every 
respect, containing the most recent improvements, of superior finish and 
appearance, and constructed with a view to durable service. This house is 
a thoroughly representative one, and prepared to compete successfully with its 
strongest rivals in any part of the country. 

A. A. Tisdale & Company was founded in 1884 as manufacturers of tables, 
chairs, baskets, and articles in a great variety known as reed goods, children's 
carriage bodies are one of their specialties. The premises occupied by them on 



4H 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Buy at Manufacturer's Prices, 






!Qf 



ER.MAS5. 

146 Pleasant Street. 
Send for Illustrated Catalogue. 

SUN ENAMEL WORKS, 



ESTABLISHED 1880. 



W. N. MAYNARD, PROPRIETOR. 



EOMINSTER, MASS, 



Fancy Enamelling and Japanning, Imitation of Horn and Tortoise Shell 
and Fancy Woods. . . . Manufacturers of Wood Turned Goods of all 
Kinds. . . . Fine Jet and Colors. . . . All Kinds of Bobbins a Specialty. 

ROBT. W. BAKER, 

Successor to J. H. BAKER & CO. 

Fine Carriages, Wagons, Carts, Etc. 



Manufacturer of Tl ' 



and Dealer in 



Making a Specialty of Medfield Butcher Wagons. 
First-class Work only Repairing promptly attended to. 

MEDFIELD, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 41 5 

Central street, Leominster, consist of a three-story building thirty-two by 
eighty feet, and an ell of three stories, twenty-eight by sixty feet. They have 
all the latest machinery that is required in their business, and a steam engine of 
six horse power is used. Employment is given to forty experienced hands, and 
goods of all kinds in their special manufacture are produced in large numbers. 
The trade extends to Baltimore, Philadelphia, New York, and all the New 
England states. All articles made by this firm are of a superior quality, their 
prices being moderate, and every agreement is faithfully carried out. The 
orders are promptly filled, and delivered at short notice. A. A. Tisdale is the 
sole proprietor, and is a man of high standing in financial circles. Mr. 
Tisdale is also treasurer of the Horn & Supply Company in this place. 

The Horn & Supply Company, an important industry in Leominster, and one 
closely allied to that of comb and jewelry manufacturing, are dealers in horns, 
hoofs, horn tips and waste, and manufacturers of pressed horn and hoof. This 
company was established last year, and incorporated with a capital stock of 
$20,000. The officers of the company are as follows: president, F. A, Clapp ; 
treasurer, A. A. Tisdale, and a board of directors composed of the following 
well known gentlemen : Geo. E. Rogers and L. J. Gunn. They occupy a large 
two-story building on Central street, corner of Graham, thoroughly equipped 
with the necessary appliances, operated by steam power, and furnish employ- 
ment to thirty- five men. Their goods are mostly disposed of in the United 
States and Canada, though there is some export trade carried on with England. 
Though so recently established this house has built up a flourishing business, 
owing to superior management and thorough acquaintance with the business in 
all its details. 

The Sun Enamel Works are prominent among the branches of industry 
conducted in Leominster, W. N. Maynard being the proprietor. The works 
were established twelve years ago, and the business carried on is fancy 
enameling and japanning, imitation of horn, shell, and fancy woods; also 
manufacturing of wood turned goods of all kinds in fine jet and colors. Mr. 
Maynard has had many years of experience, and is fully acquainted with the 
business in all its details. The premises occupied consist of a two-story frame 
building, the dimensions being one hundred and twelve feet long and thirty-six 
wide, where steam power is used, employment is given to 25 hands, who turn 
out a large variety of novelties. The office and factory are located on Whitney 
street. Mr. Maynard is well and favorably known in business circles, and 
stands high in the estimation of all with whom he deals. 

E. B. Kingman & Co. are the most extensive manufacturers of jet, rubber, 
shell and horn goods in this town. The business was originally established by 
Joslin, Palmer & Williams in 1872, who in 1880 were succeeded by A. W. 
Williams, he in turn being followed by the present firm in 1888. The factory 
occupied by them is located on Water street and is most thoroughly equipped 
with modern appliances for rapid and perfect work, while the comfort and 
convenience of the employes is not allowed to go unnoticed. Steam power is 
used, and employment is given to one hundred hands, whose 3 7 early output 



4l6 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

reaches a very high mark. The goods are in great demand by jobbers through- 
out the country, and consist of an almost endless variety of combs, hair pins, 
buttons, jewelry and novelties. The Messrs. Kingman & Co. enjoy great 
prominence and honor in the commercial circles of this town, and their great 
success is but an illustration of what can be accomplished by the exercise of 
commercial probity, energy and ability. In addition to the office in Leominster 
an office is also maintained at 419 and 421 Broadway, N. Y. 

A. W. Colburn & Co. of Leominster are manufacturers of all kinds of musi- 
cal merchandise, such as piano and organ sharps, drum sticks, fifes, finger 
boards, bones, castanets, bridges, pegs, pins, etc., shell and horn mandolin picks 
and zither rings, horn scoops, spoons and spatulas and workers of all kinds of 
foreign woods. This enterprise established in 1880 at Northboro by Brooks & 
Colburn who in 1884 were succeeded by the present proprietors and in 1886 
removed to Leominster is taken as a whole the only one of its kind in this 
country. They occupy a three story frame building on Pleasant street, thor- 
oughly equipped with the necessary appliances run by steam and water power. 
Thirty-five hands are employed and their goods are shipped to all parts of the 
United States. The firm is composed of A. W. and G. F. Colburn, men of 
practical experience and excellent business qualifications and this house is 
considered one of the most reliable and prosperous in this country. 

The Paton Manufacturing Company among the largest of the manufacturers 
of horn goods in Leominster, was established in 1884 by A. S. Paton its present 
proprietor. This house manufactures combs, hair pins and novelties and is 
well and favorably known throughout this section of the country. Pleasantly 
situated on Central street, with the best kinds of improved machinery, power 
furnished by both steam and water, and employing the services of seventy-five 
hands, they are enabled to turn out goods in the large quantities which they are 
obliged to do, in order to meet the demands made upon them. Mr. Paton is in 
the prime of life, and earnestly devoted to meeting every requirment of his 
patrons with discrimination, and his upright, honorable principles have won for 
him the highest esteem of all circles and enabled him to achieve a signal busi- 
ness success. 

C. H. Buswell & Company of North Leominster was established in 1884 as 
tanners and curriers of glove, grain and split leather. The works comprise 
two frame buildings, one being two hundred and ninety feet long and fifty feet 
wide the other being one hundred feet long and forty-five feet wide. The firm 
employs a large force of workmen, experienced in their line of business and tan 
a large quantity of leather of the best quality per month. They have had a 
wide experience in this line and have won a high reputation for their fair deal- 
ing in all business transactions. The factory is located on Nashua street. The 
members of the firm are courteous business men and the extent of their business 
covers a large territory. 

The Union Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in Leominster. It was 
established by the proprietors E. J. Sweeney & Co., about two years ago, and 
has been liberally patronized since then by commercial travelers and others. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 417 

There are fourteen nicely furnished, well ventilated and convenient rooms, and 
the house is prepared to comfortably accommodate about thirty visitors. The 
dining room is very attractive and will seat over twenty-five persons, and the 
attendance is prompt, ample, and obliging. The building is heated throughout, 
and is lighted by gas. The cuisine is all that could be desired, and in short the 
hotel is excellently and liberally managed and richly deserves the reputation it 
has attained. The terms of the Union Hotel are uniformly moderate, and in 
fact may be classed very low, considering the nature of the accommodations. 

CLLNTON. 

This town was originally a part of Lancaster, which bounds it on the north- 
west and north. It was incorporated as a town in March, 1850. In area it 
covers 4,907 acres, and owes its early settlement to the fine water power 
afforded by the north branch of the Nashua and South Meadow brook, which, 
uniting here, forms the Nashua river. The falls of the latter stream were 
especially inviting, and here John Prescott erected and completed in 1654 the 
first grist mill west of the Sudbury river — the germ from which sprang her 
present varied industries. The Old Colony Railroad and the Southern Division 
of the Boston & Maine have stations at the centre, and the Worcester, Nashua & 
Portland Branch of the Boston & Maine has a station at South Clinton. Other 
near by stations of the Old Colony system are Bolton, West Berlin and Berlin. 
The manufactures of the place are extensive and peculiar, consisting of Lan- 
caster ginghams, cotton quilts and counterpanes, Brussels and Wilton carpetings, 
various articles of ladies' underwear, horn combs, clothing, wire-cloth and 
machinery. Population 1890, 10,424. 

The Bigelow Carpet Co. founded in 1849 nas since developed into the 
most extensive plant Jn this country, for the production of Wilton, Axminster 
and Brussels carpet. The original founders were E. B. Bigelow, H. N. Bigelow 
and H. P. Fairbanks, the company being incorporated in 1854 with a capital of 
$120,000, which has since been increased. E. B. Bigelow was the inventor of 
the looms used at the begining of operations, which were the first carpet power 
looms ever constructed. Many improvements have since been made, whereby 
this company is enabled to compete with the best manufacturers of the world 
in the production of fine carpets, which fact is very generally recognized by the 
public, as attested by the immense and increasing demand for their goods. 
The company also manufacture all of the worsted and woolen yarns required 
for their own use, as well as selling a large quantity annually. The reputation 
of the company is world wide and many prizes have been awarded them at vari- 
ous expositions in this country and abroad. The works cover an area of 
460,000 square feet and furnish employment to 1200 hands. The management 
is represented by James N. Beal president; Charles F. Fairbanks treasurer; 
and C. B. Bigelow as agent, gentlemen well known for their ability, energy, 
and integrity. 

The Clinton Wire Cloth Co. is an important and extensive industry of 
Clinton engaged in the manufacture of power loom wire cloth and nettings. This 



4i8 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



CLINTON WIRE CLOTH CO., 



— Manufacturers of- 



POWER LOOM WIRE CLOTH and NETTINGS, 

INCLUDING 

Hardware, Agricultural Machine, Sieve, Riddle, Window Guards 
Locomotive Smoke Stack, Sand, Coal, and Ore Screens. 

Also, CLINTON PATENT PAINTED WINDOW SCREEN, CLINTON PATENT TWIST 

WARP WIRE LATH, CLINTON PATENT GALVANIZED FENCING, 

GALVANIZED HEXAGONAL NETTING, GALVANIZED 

WIRE CLOTH, PERFORATED METALS, Etc. 

New York; Chicago: Boston: General Office: 

76 Beekman St. 137 Lake St. Sears B'Vd'g. Clinton, 3fass. 



Bigelow Carpet Co., 



Salesroom: 100 West St., New York, 



Axminster, 

Wilton, 

Brussell, 



2©>i£3^^^<a8^2H#>^<38^«*8^ 




3^Se3gfera<^^^^^q3g^32fraagb 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 419 

company was organized in 1856 and is now the largest wire weaving establish- 
ment in the world. The old methods of weaving wire cloth were set aside by 
this concern by the employment of a power loom invented by E. B. Bigelow of 
Bigelow carpet fame, which not only lessened the cost of manufacture but 
enabled them to turn out work of a far superior quality. Wire cloth of every 
variety is made from the finest gossamer web to the coarsest coal screen. 
Poultry netting and ornamental fencing in great variety is made a specialty, an 
immense amount of which is sold annually. The plant of the company covers 
an area of 200,000 square feet, is provided with unequalled facilites for the 
rapid production of first class work and furnishes employment for 400 hands. 
The capital stock is about $500,000 and the board of managers is represented 
by James N. Beal as president and Charles F. Fairbanks as secretary and 
treasurer. 

Poole's Granite and Marble Company located at 1 70 Main street are large 
manufacturers of and dealers in American and foreign granite for building and 
cemetery work. This establishment enjoys an excellent reputation for the high 
standard of the work turned out, and the promptness with which orders are 
filled. At Boylston Mass. the company operates a quarry of excellent quality 
granite and employ several skilled workmen. The proprietor H. E. Poole, a 
gentleman of experience in this kind of work, is a well known resident of 
Clinton and caters to the best class of trade in this section. 

The Clinton House is a well known hotel having been open to the public for 
the past forty years ; but since 1887 when it came under the management of its 
present proprietor H. C. Gale it has undergone numerous changes and im- 
provements. It is now one of the most comfortable and pleasant hotels in this 
section of the state, being heated with steam and otherwise provided with 
modern conveniences. Ample accomodations are at hand for 100 guests, and 
as the service is first class, and terms moderate, it commands a large patronage. 
An excellent livery stable is connected, well stocked with carriages of various 
descriptions ana good safe horses. Mr. Gale is a native of Concord, New 
Hampshire, a good business manager and an agreeable companion and has 
succeeded in making his house a favorite resort with the travelling public. 

STERLING. 

Sterling is a pleasant manufacturing and farming town of 1,244 inhabitants, 
lying in the northeastern section of Worcester county, 49 miles northwest of Bos- 
ton, having for its boundaries Leominster on the north, Lancaster and Clinton 
on the east, Boylston and West Boylston on the south, and Holden and 
Princeton on the west. It has three postal villages, Sterling Centre, 
a beautiful place, Sterling Junction, Pratt's Junction and West Sterling. The 
railroad stations are the above (excepting West Sterling) and Washacum. 

NORTHBOROUGH. 

Northborough is a pleasant town in a hilly region near the middle of the 
eastern boundary of Worcester county, 35 miles west of Boston by the Northern 



420 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Steam Heat. 



Electric Light. 






H. C. GALE, - - Proprietor. 

CLINTON, MASS. 



Billiard Room. Rates, $2 per Day. 

GOOD STABLE CONNECTED. 



Poole's Granite & Marble Co., 

Manufacturers of and Dealers in 

CElETERltHDt BUILDING* WORK 



Of American and Foreign Granites 
and Marbles. 

Also Retail Dealers in Portland and 

Rosdale Cement, Calcined Plaster 

and Sand. 

NO. 170 MAIN STREET, 

CLINTON, - MASS. 



W. M. FARWELL 



A. C. FARWELL 



W. M. FARWELL & CO., ^^ T 

Shell and Horn Pins 







(. and Buckles a Specialty. 
All kinds of Shell and Horn Dressing Combs. 

Repairing Promptly Executed. NORTHBORO, MASS. 

ESTABLISHED 1847. |\/| I LO HILDRETH & CO-, Manufacturers of 

Real » Tortoise * 5*)eU • Goods, 

Plain and Fancy Combs, Hair Pins, Fillets, Mandolin Picks, 

Jewelry and Novelties. 

IMITATION SHELL and AMBER BACK COMBS and HAIR ORNAMENTS. 

CLEAR fiORN DRESSING, BERBER AND POCKET COMBS, 

BUCK HORN CLOAK AND DRESS BUTTONS, AND IN FANCY COLORS. 
Special A ttention given to the Manufacture of Goods to Order, HflDTUDflDfl iflACC 

and Repairing Shell Combs and Hair Pins. Samples sent by mail. iltJK I HDU KUj HI HtfVl 

MOSSO BROTHERS, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 



HUSK/IL A flERCH/INDISE, 



Northboro, Mass 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 42 1 

Division of the Old Colony Railroad, which passes through the central village. 
It is bounded on the north by Berlin, east by Marlboro and Southboro, south by 
Westboro, and west by Shrewsbury and Boylston. There are at the central 
village woolen mills, employing a large number of persons. Establishments 
making buttons, combs and other horn goods. Pianoforte manufactory, 
a rubber factory, and boot and shoe making. Other manufactures are boxes, 
bricks, fertilizers, leather and metallic articles. 

Milo Hildreth & Co.'s establishment was founded in 1847 for the manu- 
facture of real tortoise shell goods, also imitation shell goods, and fancy articles. 
They occupy a substantial two-story building on Main street, Northboro, using 
both steam and water power, and employing from ten to thirty hands according to 
the demand for goods. This house is in a nourishing condition, their goods being 
in demand throughout the West and South as well as in New England and the 
Middle States. The output per year Js large and consists of a great variety of 
articles made from real tortoise shell, horn and ivory, such as dressing and 
pocket combs, plain and fancy back combs, hair ornaments, including a great 
variety of plain and fancy hair pins, mandolin picks, cloak and dress buttons, 
jewelry and novelties. This house by its long and honest dealing has estab- 
lished an excellent reputation for square dealing and fine goods second to none, 
and by thorough acquaintance with the details of the work and steady applica- 
tion to business has well earned the high esteem and large trade which they 
enjoy. Milo Hildreth, the senior member of the firm, has occupied many impor- 
tant positions of honor and trust not only in his town but in the Commonwealth. 
He represented the 15th Worcester district in the lower house of the Massa- 
chusetts Legislature, during the session of 1858. Seven years afterward he 
represented the AVorcester East Senatorial district in the State Senate of 1865. 
In 1872 he was a member of the Governor's Council from the 3d Councillor 
district, and was re-elected the two following years. 

W. M. Farwell & Company, engaged in the manufacture of tortoise shell 
and horn goods of all kinds ; as well as shell and horn dressing combs, were 
established in 1872. Since then they have made many additions to their factory 
which is a two-story frame structure. They employ a force of thirty hands, 
and have facilities for producing daily fifty gross of horn pins and thirty gross 
of dress combs which are sent to the South and West. The firm consists of 
W. M. Farwell and A. C. Farwell, and they are located on Hudson street, 
Northboro. They are also repairers of all kinds of work which they manu- 
facture. 

Mosso Bros, on Boylston street, Northboro 1 , are a large firm for the manu- 
facture of musical merchandise, such as bridges, finger boards, drum sticks, 
pegs, shell mandolin picks, etc. Occupying a two-story frame building, and 
using water as their power, they are enabled to finish a large amount of work 
each year. A force of expert workmen are employed by them and by giving 
personal supervision to the work, they are able to detect any flaw that may 
occur in the manufacture of their wares. 



422 ADVERTISEMENS. 

MARLBORO DYE HOUSE, 

No. 8 Liberty Street, - - Marlboro, Mass. 



ESTABLISHED I88O. 



P. W. MYERS & SON. Proprietors. 

OUR MOTTO: NEAT, CHEAP AND QUICK. 

All Kinds of Ladies' and Gent's Garments Cleansed, Dyed and Refinisiied 

BY THE MOST APPROVED METHODS. 

Goods left by Tuesday will be finished the last of the same week. 

Orders sent l>y Express receive Prompt Attention. 

C. H. HOLLIS. E. N. DEARBORN. 

HOLLIS & DEARBORN, 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

Men's Fine Footwear. 

CUSTOM WORK A SPECIALTY. 

Factory No. 129 Lincoln St., - - Marlboro, Mass. 

William C. Lippard, 

— Manufacturer of— 

HEELS * AND * PREPARED * TOPS, 



ALSO DEALER IN 



LEATHER REMNANTS. 

729 Zfincoln St., - - Marlboro, Mass. 

c. b. greenwood, 

Manufacturer and Wholesale Dealer in 

PURE CIDER VINEGAR 
And Vinegar Stock. 

MARLBORO, - MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 423 

■ 

MARLBOROUGH. 

Marlborough is an ancient and very thriving agricultural and manufacturing 
town, lying in the southwest part of Middlesex county, about 25 miles west of 
Boston. Its boundaries are Hudson on the north, Sudbury and Framingham on 
the east, Southborough on the south, Northborough on the southwest, and 
Berlin on the northwest. The Marlboro Branch of the Fitchburg Railroad 
terminates at Marlboro (centre) ; and the Framingham, Clinton and Fitchburg 
Division of the Old Colony Railroad crosses the southwest corner and has 
a station at Marlboro' and Marlboro' Junction. The chief manufacture is 
shoes, while other manufactures are boxes, carriages, shoe pegs, clothing, 
textiles, bleachery, and dyed goods, soap and tobacco. The railroad stations 
are Marlborough and South Marlborough. Other villages are East Marl- 
borough and West Marlborough. Population 1890, 13,805. 

William C. Lippard, located at 129 Lincoln street, Marlboro 1 is a well known 
and reliable manufacturer of heels, and also dealer in remnants. A large force of 
assistants is employed and all orders are promptly filled and satisfactorily 
executed. He occupies part of the second floor of a three story frame building 
where he is supplied with modern appliances. The output of this house finds ready 
sale throughout the New England states, and amounts to one thousand pairs per 
day. Mr. Lippard is one that produces only first-class work, and his goods are 
well known by jobbers generally. 

C. B. Greenwood located on Maple street, Marlboro 1 is a wellknown manufac- 
turer of purecider vinegar. This business was established in 1842 by Hiram 
Greenwood, who, on his death some six years ago was succeeded by his son, the 
present proprietor. His trade is wholesale and principally with Boston parties. 
He gives employment to four hands, and occupies a two-story frame building 
where he has facilities of the best, and turns out about sixty thousand gallons 
per year. Mr. Greenwood has had many years 1 experience in this business and 
is thoroughly acquainted with all its details. He uses only the best stock, and 
the vinegar made by him is of that excellence and purity that is desired. 

The Marlboro Dye House at 8 Liberty street was established by P. W. 
Myers & Son for the business of cleansing, dying and refinishing ladies' and 
gents' garments of every description. The works are fitted up with all the 
latest improved appliances that arc used to enable them to carry on the business 
in a successful manner. Steam power is used in pressing the clothing and 
a large number of hands is employed. Having had many years 1 experience 
they understand fully the requirements of the business and no work is allowed 
to go out unless it is perfectly satisfactory. A large trade is controlled by 
them which extends to the surrounding towns. 

Hollis & Dearborn, at 131 Lincoln streets, Marlboro, are an enterprising 
firm engaged in the manufacture of men's line grade of shoes of all kinds for 
the retail trade. The floor they occupy is neatly fitted up with all the latest 
improved machinery and appliances that are needed in their business. Nothing 
but the best quality of material is used and an efficient force of skilled workmen 



424 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

is given employment, a specialty being made of custom work. Both members 
possess rare business qualifications and have succeeded in controlling an 
extensive trade. Mr. Hollis has been a member of the Common Council and 
is at present a member of the Board of Aldermen. All work done by them will 
be guaranteed to give perfect satisfaction, and all orders will receive prompt 
attention. 

SOUTHBOROUGH. 

Southborough is a pleasant and thriving town forming the eastern extremity 
of Worcester county, 28 miles west of Boston. Its boundaries are Marl- 
borough on the north, Framingham and Ashland on the east, Hopkinton on 
the south, and Westborough on the west ; all except the last towns are in 
Middlesex county. Sudbury river forms the south line, and near it, across the 
river, runs the Boston & Albany Railroad, having stations at Cordaville and 
Southville. The Old Colony Railroad has stations at Fayville and South- 
borough (centre), and these villages are also postoffices. Population 1890^ 
2,114. 

[For other stations — Framingham, Lakeview and South Framingham — see 
" Lowell & Framingham Branch.' 1 ] 

SHERBORN. 

This is the location of the famous Massachusetts State reformatory for 
women, and is finely situated in the southern extremity of Middlesex county, 
20 miles from Boston. The post-offices are Sherborn and South Sherborn, 
which are also railroad stations. West Sherborn is a village of the town. 

MEDFIELD. 

The town of Medfield is in the most delightful part of Norfolk county, 
having many rich agricultural sections, and a prosperous and intelligent 
population. There are numerous diversified industries in the town, good schools, 
churches, excellent water, fine drives in several directions, and all the surround- 
ings well calculated to make life pleasant and enjoyable. The Old Colony 
has stations at Medfield Junction and Medfield. 

The Elm Tree Inn established in 1891 by A. O. Grant is the leading Hotel 
in Norfolk county. The hotel is very pleasantly located, having a wide piazza 
in front, and the entrance to it is lined with shade trees on each side of the walk. 
It is a four story frame building, has ample accommodations for one hundred 
guests and has all the modern conveniences ; being fitted up with electric bells, 
steam heat, fire escapes etc. The table is first class, and tourists or travellers 
on business or pleasure will find this an excellent place to stop. It is also a 
League bicycle house and a large and first-class livery stable is connected. Mr. 
Grant has the welfare of his guests at heart, providing liberally for their com- 
fort and pleasure at reasonable rates. Many prominent persons of New York, 
Boston and other large cities make this hotel their summer resort. It is located 
on North street, within three minutes' walk of Medfield station. 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 425 

Searle, Dailey & Co., Medfield, one of the oldest and largest manufacturers of 
straw goods in this country was established in 1842 and is composed of the follow- 
ing gentlemen, H. A. Searle, G. F. Dailey and Col . E. V. Mitchell. Their plant 
situated on North street, is one of the largest and most thoroughly equipped in 
the United States, and discloses a system and completeness in every department, 
worthy of the highest commendation. The buildings are of large dimensions 
and subdivided for the convenient and systematic prosecution of the work into 
various departments. Steam power is used and employment is given to 1,000 
to 1,200 hands, whose annual output is in the vicinity of 5,000 cases. All kinds 
of ladies' and children's straw goods are made and are in great demand by the 
leading jobbers. The management of the factory is in the hands of Col. E. V. 
Mitchell, a gentleman practically acquainted with the business in all its branches, 
and thorougly alive to the best interests of the trade. In addition to his duties 
here he is also interested in the lumber business, the sales of which last year 
amounted to 3,000,000 feet. He is also owner of a large grist mill and propri- 
etor of one of the largest poultry farms in the country. Mr. Mitchell is also 
interested in politics having at one time served on the Governor's staff and last 
year was elected to the Governor's Council from the second district. The firm of 
Searle, Dailey & Co. is composed of gentlemen of experience, and everything 
connected with the establishment and its work, reflects the highest credit upon 
its proprietors. The sales rooms of the company are located on Broadway, N. 
Y. and Washington street, Boston. 

Blood Bros, located on Park street are among the most extensive dealers in 
coal, grain, baled hay, flour, poultry food and agricultural implements in Med- 
field. This firm was established in 1889 and and has built up a large retail 
trade here and in the surrounding towns. Constant employment is given to 
four hands and the use of three teams is required. All goods bought of this 
firm can be relied on as being the best and all orders are promptly filled at short 
notice. The members of the firm are well known and have the reputation of 
transacting their business in a straight forward manner. 

Robert W. Baker on Frairy street, Medfield carries on an extensive business 
in carriage manufacturing and repairing in all its branches. This business was 
first established some fifty years ago by his father, J. H. Baker, who upon his 
death was succeeded by his son the present proprietor. Five different buildings 
are occupied and constant employment is given to fifteen skilled workmen. A 
specialty is made of the Medfield butcher wagon which is used throughout New 
England and for which a large demand exists. Mr. Baker has a thorough 
knowledge of the business, which he gives his personal supervision, so that only 
first class work is produced. All orders are promptly attended to and His prices 
are reasonable for the fine quality of work done. 

WALPOLE. 

Walpole was detached from Dedham and incorporated December 10, 1724. 
It was named in honor of Sir Robert Walpole, then prime minister of England. 
The New York & New England Railroad and the Old Colony Railroad 



426 ADVERTISEMENTS. 



ESTABLISHED OVER 50 YEARS. 



S. GRAY & CO., 

DTER5 *™ PLEdCMERS, 

**"" WALPOLE BLEACH and DYE W ORKS. 

CAPACITY: 6000 POUNDS FANCY COLORS PER DAY. 

COTTON SKEIN COLORED IN <r 



SPOOL THREAD. TWINES. SUSPENDER YARNS. 

KNITTING COTTON. TAPES. JUTE YARNS. 

HOSIERY YARNS. WARP YARNS. BRAIDS. 

JACKET YARNS. GINGHAM YARNS. LINEN- 

Matching to Shades required. 

Send for Sample Colors and Prices. 

Office and Works: - WALPOLE, MASS. 

Neponset Water-Proof Fabrics 

Are necessary in the erection of every well- 
constructed building. 

/jj/f/j/^^^ 1 // Reliable Archi,ects al1 lndorse them ' 

// 

Better and Cheaper than Back Plaster and 
does not crumble. Always in place. 

If / Samples and Full Informa- 

jj •'' (/] tion Free. 

' f 

Htl^i F. W. BIRD & SON, 




Sole Manufacturers, 
East Walpole, - Mass. 



On each roll of all Genuine " Neponset. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 427 

intersect each other in the central village, thus affording fine facilities for 
transportation. The postal centres are Walpole, East Walpole and South Wal- 
pole. Other villages are Plimptonville, Tilton's and North Walpole. The town 
is situated in the interior of Norfolk County, 19 miles from Boston, and its 
boundaries are Dover on the north, Dedham, Norwood and Sharon on the east, 
Foxborough on the south, and Norfolk and Medleld on the west. The stations 
of the town are Walpole, Walpole Junction and South Walpole. Population, 
1890, 2,604. 

S. Gray & Company's bleachery and dye works, is an old and reliable house 
of Walpole, engaged in bleaching and dyeing cotton yarns and threads. The 
premises occupied by them cover an area of two acres and are fitted up with 
every appliance used in the business. S. Gray & Company, the proprietors are 
always prepared to fill large orders at lowest prices, and their trade extends 
to all parts of the United States. They employ a force of twenty-five hands, 
and the house has always had the reputation of producing first-class work. 
The capacity of the works is 5,000 pounds of fancy colors per day. This 
establishment is one of the oldest, having been in operation for fifty years, now 
owned by R. S. Gray. 

F. W. Bird & Son, engaged as paper manufacturers, succeeded to the 
business established in 181 8 by F. W. Bird's father in a mill that stood where 
Hollingsworth & Vose's factory is now located in East Walpole. In 1833 F. 
W. Bird became associated with his father and in 1838 F. W. Bird started in the 
mill that was used for manufacturing cotton where his mill now is. In 1882 F. 
W. Bird sold the mill that hestarted in first to Hollingsworth &Vose and bought 
the property now occupied by him. In 1885 he took his son, C. S. Bird, in as 
a partner. The business consists of manufacturing paper of all grades for wrap- 
ping and for paper boxes, and also Neponset waterproof paper, of which they 
have exclusive control. They occupy twenty-two buildings and give employ- 
ment to one hundred and fifty-two hands, aided by both steam and water power. 
Their goods are sent to all points in the United States, but export some to 
South America and England, and the business has increased very rapidly in the 
last few years. 

WRENTHAM. 

This town is on the Walpole and Wrentham line, and is an old farming 
town lying in the southwest corner of Norfolk county, about 27 miles southwest 
of Boston. It has six pleasant villages — Wrentham (centre), South Wrentham, 
West Wrentham, Plainville, Sheldonville (which are post-offiees), and Shepard- 
ville. The principal manufactures are straw goods and jewelry, for which 
there are several establishments each. There are also two mills for crude 
woolen goods, and four or five saw and gristmills, Some boots and shoes, 
leather, furniture, boats, carriages, wrought stone, beverages and food prepara- 
tions are made. The stations are Wrentham, Wampum and Plainville. Pop- 
ulation, 1890, 2,566. 



428 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



FOXBORO FOUNDRY, 




Located at jFoxboro, has been in 
continuous operation since 178 1. 
It is now doing a large busi- 
ness in general castings, the qual- 
ity of which is 

Unsurpassed bj any Gompotitor. 

They make several lines of 

Furnaces, Hot Water and Steam Heaters, 

Presses, etc. More than 7500 
heaters of the style of accompany- 
ing cut are in successful opera- 
tion in Baptistries, small conser- 
vatories, stables, hotels, henneries, 
etc. 

FOXBORO FOUNDRY, 

FOXBORO, Mass., U. S. A. 



A, F. BEMIS HAT CO., 

Factory, Union Straw Works, - - Foxboro, Mass. 








UNION STRAW. WORKS- FOXBORO; MAS.S. 

Manufacturers of Men's, Boys' Children's, Misses' and Ladies' Straw Hats of 

every description; also of the celebrated "Corey Brim" Manillas, 

which have a world wide reputation. 
The TJ« S. "W. makes the best finished Manilla hat in the world. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 429 



FOXBOROUGH. 



Foxborough is a busy and prosperous town in the southwestern part of 
Norfolk county, about 20 miles southwest of Boston. The Providence Division 
and the Northern Division of the Old Colony Railroad pass through it, having 
stations at Foxborough (centre), East and North Foxborough. The other 
villages are West and South Foxborough, Foxvale, Foxborough Furnace, and 
Donkey ville. Walpole bounds it on the north and northwest, Sharon on the 
northeast, Mansfield on the southeast and south, and Wrentham and Norfolk on 
the west. For many years this was a leading town in the straw goods business 
in America ; and at one period it sent out more hats and bonnets of straw than 
did all the rest of the country together. The manufacture was begun here by 
, Elias Nason as early as 1812. Daniel Carpenter, at a later period, developed 
the business to such a degree as to be properly regarded as the founder of the 
business. Machinery has been introduced, making better goods at a cheaper 
rate, and the town has now several rivals. Four firms and about 1,000 persons 
are employed in this industry. Other manufactures are boxes, soap, sewing 
machines, leather, etc. Population, 1890, 2,933. 

The Union Straw Works was the first factory in this country to commence 
the manufacture of straw goods. The plant was built in 1853 and in 1855 it 
received its title — " U. S. W." The space occupied by the buildings and dry 
yards covers 145,000 square feet. Numerous additions have been made from 
year to year and the establishment as it now stands, ranks among the first in 
size and in capacity for turning out a large amount of goods. In 1889 a stock 
company assumed control of the works under the name of A. F. Bemis Hat 
Co. and they are now carrying on a large business, renting the plant and having 
a capital stock (or working capital) of $30,000. The business carried on is the 
manufacture of men's, boys' children's and ladies' straw hats of every descrip- 
tion. The number of hands employed in the works is about three hundred and 
fifty, and additional work is done outside. The quality of the work and the 
materials used are the very best. The factory is fully equipped with all the 
latest improved machinery and has a capacity for an annual output of two mil- 
lion hats. The members of the company are men who possess the qualifications 
necessary for successfully carrying on a large business. Their goods are known 
throughout the country and all their transactions are conducted in a straight 
forward manner. 

The Foxboro Foundry and Machine Co., was incorporated in 1888 with a 
capital of $20,000 and officered by the following gentlemen: H. C Williams, 
president, and B. F. Boyden 2nd, secretary and treasurer. This enterprise was 
originally established in 1781 for the purpose of casting cannon, shot and shell 
for the Continental army, and during all this period of one hundred and eleven 
years, these works have never been closed, excepting for improvements or 
repairs, while numbers of other similar concerns have been formed, failed 
and been forgotten. About forty hands are emplo} 7 ed who turn out goods to 
the amount of $40,000 to $50,000 per year specialties being made of presses, 



430 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



THE RISING SUN STOVE POLISH; 




HON. ELIJAH A. MORSE, M. C. 



For beauty of gloss, 

For saving of toil, 
For freeness from dust, 

And slowness to soil. 

Of all imitations 

'Tis well to beware, 
The half risen sun 

Every package should bear. 




For this is the trade mark 
The Morse Brothers use, 

And none are permitted 
The mark to abuse. 




RESIDENCE OF HON. ELIJAH A. MORSE. 






HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 431 

stampers, flats and pressing jacks for straw goods manufacturers, furnaces, hot 
water and steam heating apparatus. These goods are shipped throughout the 
United States. The active management of the business is under the control of 
Mr. Boyden and by his skillful management has largely increased. For many 
years past Jarvis Williams has had charge of the machine shop. The plant 
comprises five one story buildings for the various kinds of work and several 
warehouses. Water power is used most of the time, a twenty-five horse power 
wheel being supplied with water from the Wading river. The business is a 
growing and profitable one and may be ranked among the most important of 
Foxboro's industries. 

A. H. & A. F. Young on Granite street Foxboro carry on a large establish- 
ment for the dyeing and bleaching of manillas, chips, leghorns and all kinds of 
straw hats. They were established in 1884 and have built up a large and suc- 
cessful business. All work receives prompt attention and is given the utmost 
care, and all work is guaranteed, a force of twenty hands is given employment 
by them and they occupy several buildings. They are also manufacturers of 
felt hats and during the season have the facilities for turning out two thousand 
dozen. They make a specialty of getting out their work promptly in a first 
class manner. 

MANSFIELD. 

Mansfield is an agricultural and manufacturing town lying on the northern 
border of Bristol county, 24 miles southwest of Boston by the Providence 
Division. This is intersected at Mansfield centre by the Taunton and New 
Bedford and by the Framingham and Mansfield lines of the Old Colony Rail- 
road system. There is much variety of manufactures, iron and metallic goods 
being the chief products, and consists of stoves, furnaces, windlasses, artisans' 
tools, cutlery, tacks, brads and jewelry. Straw goods, wooden goods, basket 
work, lumber, arms, ammunition, carriages, stone, soap and tobacco, are 
also important manufactures. Rockdale is a near by station, being one mile 
from the centre. 

Richardson & Bottomley carry on a business established in Attleboro about 
thirty-three years ago by O. P Richardson, but in 1890 they moved to Wes* 
Mansfield, on Otis street, their present location, where they are engaged in the 
manufacture of shuttle irons of every description, which are in demand from all 
parts of the United States and Canada. They occupy premises conveniently 
arranged and equipped with modern appliances, using both steam and water 
power. Eleven experienced workmen are employed, whose weekly output is 
twelve hundred setts, the work being of the best quality and finish. The 
members of the firm are enterprising and progressive business men, ever alive 
to the wants of their customers and the best methods of supplying them. 

P. A. Drew & Company, one of the principal contractors and dealers in 
wood, coal, hay, straw and masons' materials, are located oif Rumford street, 
near the station in Mansfield. This house was established in 1877 and has 
built up a large retail business. They have nine coal bins, each holding an 



432 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



[ JEW^ENGLAND^RATTAN^ CO^l 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



% Reed and Rattan # 



FURNITURE. 



South Framingham, 



Mass. 



W. E. RYAN, Manager and Treasurer. 



AUBURN LAST CQM™*X±) 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



U 




LASTS 



and Sole Patterns, Faotory 9S Clark st - 

Carefuta^n^n % SOUTH FRAMINGHAM, MASS 

to fine work. E - D - STONE, Treas. and Supt. 



South * Framingham * Hotel, 

W. ALLEN, Proprietor, 

South Framingham, Mass., 

Opposite the Depot. 

Terms, $2.00 per day. Special Rates to Commercial Men. 

C. W. Allen, Clerk. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 433 

average of about two hundred tons each, and employ two hands and two teams, 
and all kinds of jobbing are promptly attended to. A large stock is constantly 
kept on hand of all kinds of coal and wood, and orders are filled at short notice. 
Coal is discharged direct into the bins from the cars thus giving their patrons 
the benefit of the saving in expense in getting the coal from the wharf. 

S. W. Card & Company, established in 1875, are engaged in the manufac- 
ture of machine screw taps, tap wrenches and screw plates, which are known the 
world over. The premises occupied are located on Rumford avenue, Mansfield, 
and consist of a two-story frame building, thoroughly equipped and affording 
employment to fifty hands. A large stock of their goods is kept on hand, thus 
enabling them to fill all orders at short notice. The facilities of this house and 
the policy adopted by its managers has secured for them a reputation of a hig n 
order as well as an extensive trade. Mr. Card is a well known resident of Mans- 
field and is one of the directors of the Mansfield Co-operative Bank. 

Evans, Cobb & Co. stand among the first in Mansfield as manufacturers of 
jewellers' findings, charms and chain bars in rolled plate, sterling silver and 
fire gilt. The material used is of the best and perfect satisfaction is guaranteed 
to all their patrons. They occupy a two story frame building ninety feet by 
forty feet, located on Spring street, water power principally being used and 
give constant employment to forty experienced hands the output of whose labor 
amounts to four thousand dollars per month. By their enterprise, ability and 
constant attention to business they have built up a large and extensive trade, and 
during the eleven years they have been established have gained the esteem and 
confidence of all with whom they deal. 

The Mansfield News a paper of very interesting reading matter to the in- 
habitants of Mansfield and vicinity was first started in 1873 by S. B. Pratt. He 
was succeeded in a short time by Thos. S. Pratt, who in 1881 associated with 
Mr. William White under the name Pratt & White, Mr. White assuming entire 
control in 1891. The office is located on North Main street and is fully equipped 
with steam presses, paper cutters and other appliances used in the printing 
business. A large jobbing business is also done by him and five experienced 
workmen are employed. The paper is published weekly and has a circulation 
of one thousand copies per week. Mr. White is a man of experience in this 
line of business and all work executed by him is satisfactory. He is also publisher 
of the Foxboro Times. 

George A. Robinson of Williams street is a well known and enterprising 
manufacturer of cutlery in West Mansfield. Starting in 1861 a partnership 
was formed with Mr. Moran and William N. Moran, his grandson, which con- 
tinued for a few years when the elder Moran died, the younger Moran retired 
and Mr. Robinson became and still remains the sole proprietor. The premises 
occupied by him consist of a substantial one story building forty by sixty feet 
and is thoroughly equipped with the necessary appliances. About ten skilled 
workmen are employed in the production of high grade knives for butchers, 
cigar makers, fishmen and shoe makers, in some six hundred styles, from the 
best stock, thoroughly made and sold by the trade all over the United States* 



434 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

The business has been steadily increasing, and the goods are well and favorably- 
known owing to the superior ability and long experience of an industrious 
proprietor. 

C. D. Lyons & Co. are manufacturers of all kinds of jewelry 
making a specialty of watch chains. Their factory is located on Otis street, 
West Mansfield and consists of a two story frame building well supplied with 
the best kinds of machinery driven by water power. Many hands are con- 
stantly employed, the product of whose labor is in good demand. This firm is 
composed of C. D. Lyons and F. H. Reed gentlemen of long experience, excel- 
lent business ability and possessed of that sort of character and reputation 
which compels the esteem and confidence of those with whom they deal. . They 
devote their entire attention to the business, and are in the best possible shape to 
meet the requirements of the trade in this branch of commerce. They have 
now been established about five years, and have built up a trade extending all 
over the country and embracing the leading jobbing houses as their customers. 



g* Tf)e AVansfleld Revs, 3* 

is issued every Friday at 42 North Main St. 
WILLIAM WHITE, • « © Editor and Proprietor. 

TEBMQ • $2.00 per Annum. JlfiTrorticind BflfflO ' $1 per inch, first insertion; 

1 LA Hid . Single Copies 5 eta. AUYGUlOlUg AdlCS . 25 cts. per week thereafter. 

We have Complete Facilities for doing any kind of 

** : Fine * Job * Printinq : *■ 

Promptly and at reasonable ^prices. Orders for Advertising or Job Printing, 
by mail or express, carefully filled. 

P. A. DREW. W. C. WINTBB. 

p. a. dr£w er CO., 

• • • DEALERS IN • • • 

Coal, Hay, Lime, Hair, Cement and Brick. 

All kinds of Jobbing and Contracting promptly attended to. 
Office near the Depot. Mansfield, Mass. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 435 



LOWELL & FRAMINGHAM BRANCH 



LOWELL. 



THIS great textile industrial centre is second in number of its looms and 
spindles in the United States, standing next to Fall River in thi s 
respect and employing a capital of $12,300,000 in this branch of 
manufacture alone. Besides its extensive textile manufactories there are a large 
number of establishments devoted to the building of machinery for woolen and 
cotton goods, several of which are the largest in this country and the most per- 
fect in their appointments. The city is located in the northeasterly section 
of Middlesex county, on the Merrimac river, the stream being controlled by 
a series of canals which afford excellent power for the great factories which 
lie along its course for several miles. Although the city is a " factory town " 
in the strictest sense, being known as the Spindle city, its educational, religious 
and social status is of the highest order, and it possesses one of the finest public 
libraries to be found in the East. 

Lowell has an interesting early history, being named after Francis Cabot 
Lowell, whose career, in connection with Patrick T. Jackson, in the founding 
of the cotton industry at Waltham and subsequently at Lowell, is more fully 
outlined in the history of Newburyport, Mass., of which both were natives. 
Soon after establishing the cotton industry in Lowell, Boston merchants began 
buying up the farms on which the city now stands, and on one occasion they sent 
a man from there to negotiate for a particularly desirable and centrally located 
farm owned by one of the earliest settlers in that section. The young man took 
things leisurely, and passed much of his time in fishing and hunting, each day 
making the farmer an offer for his property, only to find the price doubled on 
every such occasion. When asked the reason for such a course, the farmer ex- 
plained that he had recently seen two men sitting on a rock on the opposite side 
of the Merrimac river, where they were engaged in earnest conversation. Soon 
they arose and " one went up the river and the other down. They returned in 
about half an hour, talked earnestly for sometime and then went away." Being 
asked what significance such an incident could possibly possess, the farmer re- 
replied • "I didn't know what it ment, but I thought something was in the 
wind, and I ju^t made up my mind to double up on you every time you asked 
the price of my farm." And he did "double up" from $1,000 to $6,000, at 
which figure the bargain was closed and the building of the future great city 



43^ HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

begun by Boston capitalists. The above incident is recorded as happening 
about the beginning of the war of 1812, which was about the time of the 
introduction of textile manufacturing in Massachusetts, and which has proved 
such a source of wealth and prosperity to the Commonwealth. 

The growth of Lowell has been a steady and healthy one and to-day it has 
a population of 78,000. It is abreast of the times in everything, and its 
railroad facilities are of the best. It is on the Lowell & Framingham Branch of 
the Old Colony system, with stations in the city and Golden Cove, two lines of 
the Boston & Maine also being located here. The post-offices are Lowell and 
Middlesex village ; the several outlying districts of the city and within its 
limits are known as Belvidere, Bleachery, Centralville, Highlands, Meadowville 
and Pawtucketville. 

CHELMSFORD. 

Chelmsford is an ancient and pleasant town in the northern part of Middle- 
sex county, about 26 miles northwest of Boston. Tyngsborough, Dracut and 
Lowell bound it on the north, the latter with Billerica on the east ; Carlisle on 
the south, and Westford* on the west. The Merrimac river forms the line 
along the Dracut border. The villages are Chelmsford (centre), North, South, 
West and East Chelmsford, which — except the last — are also post-offices. 
The Ayer Junction Branch of the Boston & Lowell Railroad has stations at 
North and West Chelmsford, and the Old Colony Road at Chelmsford and 
South Chelmsford. Population, 1890, 2,695. 

CARLISLE. 

Carlisle is a small farming town of 481 inhabitants, situated in the central 
part of Middlesex county, about 20 miles northwest of Boston. Carlisle 
station, on the Old Colony Railroad, is in the northwest part of the town, and 
Bedford station, on the Boston & Lowell Railroad, accommodates the southeast 
portion. The post-office in at the centre. 

WESTFORD. 

Westford is a prosperous farming and manufacturing town, occupying an 
elevated site between the Merrimac, Concord and Nashua rivers, near the 
centre of the northern section of Middlesex county. The Stony Brook Railroad, 
passing across the midst of the township, is intersected at Graniteville, in the 
western part, by the Nashua & Acton Railroad. The Lowell & Framingham 
Branch of the Old Colony, by its station at South Chelmsford, is convenient to 
the southeastern part of the town. The post-offices are Westford (centre), 
Coldspi ing, Forge Village, Graniteville and Nashua. The other villages are 
Chamberlain's Corner, Parkeville and South Westford. The town has Tyngs- 
borough on the northwest and north; Chelmsford and Carlisle on the east; 
Acton on the south ; Littleton on the southwest ; and Ayer and Groton on the 
west. Population, 1890, 2,250. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 437 



ACTON. 

Acton is one of the old towns of this section and is noted for many fine 
farms and the general beauty of the surrounding districts. It is adjoining the 
town of Concord and has many features characteristic of that place being 
largely devoted to agricultural pursuits, in which the inhabitants are pro- 
gressive and prosperous. The stations are Acton and North Acton. 

CONCORD. 

Concord, the scene of our first triumph in the conflict that made us a Nation, 
is situated in the central part of Middlesex county, 18 miles northwest of 
Boston, by the Fitchburg Railroad. The Lowell & Framingham Branch of the 
Old Colony Railroad, and the Southern Division of the Boston & Maine Rail- 
road also pass through it, the Old Colony having a station at Concord Junction. 
The villages are Westvale, Warnerville and Nine- Acre Corner. Concord is 
bounded on the north by Carlisle on the northeast by Bedford, on the southeast 
by Lincoln, on the southwest by Sudbury, and on the west and- northwest by 
Acton. It is "one of the quiet country towns," says Mr. Alcott, "whose charm 
is incredible to all but those who by loving it have found it worthy of love." 
The Concord river flows leisurely through the town from the south, receiving 
near the central village the waters of the rapid Assabet. The latter, with 
affluents, affords some motive power, which is made use of at West Concord by 
a woolen mill and factories for pails and other goods. Carriages, furniture, 
leather, clothing and building stone, are other of the town manufactures. Along 
the streets, especially in the central village, are numerous well-grown elms 
and maples, lending added charms to the excellent drives to be had in nearly 
every direction. It is the location of the largest public institution in the 
state — the Concord Reformatory. Population, 1890,4,427. 

SUDBURY. 

The ancient town of Sudbury has been immortalized by Longfellow in his 
" Tales of a Wayside Inn." It is in the southwesterly section of Middlesex 
county, 26 miles by highway from Boston, and containing 1,165 inhabitants, 
and three postal centres — Sudbury (centre) North Sudbury and South Sudbury, 
which are also stations on the Lowell & Framingham Branch of the Old Colony 
Railroad. The Southern Division of the Boston & Maine Railroad also has 
stations at East Sudbury and South Sudbury (Mill Village.) It has Maynard 
and Concord on the north, Wayland (from which it is divided by Sudbury 
river) on the east, Framingham on the south, and Marlborough and Hudson on 
the west. 

FRAMINGHAM. 

Framingham, one of the most beautiful towns in the commonwealth, lies in 
the southwestern part of Middlesex county, some 20 miles southwest of Boston, 
and nearly the same distance from Worcester. It is bounded on the north by 



43$ HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Sudbury, east by AYayland, Natick and Sherborn, south by Ashland, and the 
west by Southborough and Marlborough. At South Framingham the Boston 
& Albany Railroad intersects the Northern Division of the Old Colony ; and 
from its large and excellent station sends out a branch southward to Milford, and 
another northward to the central village ; while a third branch connects with 
Saxonville, noted for its woolen blankets and carpets. The other villages are 
Nobscot, Hastingsville, Millwood and Parker's Corner. There are manul'act- 
uies here of rubber clothing and other articles of this material, a large product 
of straw hats and bonnets, of boots and shoes, lasts and carriage wheels ; 
also carriages, trunks and valises, furniture, wooden boxes, etc. The stations 
are North Framingham, Framingham, Lake view and South Framingham on 
this branch of the Old Colony Road. 

E. D. Stone of Clark street South Framingham a well known manufacturer 
of lasts and sole patterns conducts business under the name of the Auburn Last 
Company. This business was established in 1876 at Auburn, Maine, but in 1882 
was transferred to its present location, and is the only one of its kind in this 
section. Ten hands are employed who with the excellent equipment at hand 
are enabled to turn out three hundred pairs of lasts per day. Mr. Stone is a 
gentleman of large experience in this line and his goods are widely and favor- 
ably known. He is also well known in social circles and is a member of the 
I. O. O.F. 

About the year 1882 the Auburn Last Company located on Clark street began 
the manufacture of lasts for rubber shoes, which are now in demand by the 
leading manufacturers of rubber shoes of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. 
Possessing superior facilities for producing first class goods this house has built 
up a large trade and is noted for its reliability and prompt attention to details. 

A. Fales & Sons building contractors and manufacturers of all kinds of 
builders' finish is one of the largest and most reliable houses in this line of busi- 
ness located on the line of Old Colony R. R. They are also dealers in lumber, 
hardware and all kinds of building materials. The business was established in 
1876 and is managed by A. Fales and his sons F. H. and H. T. Fales. Their 
shops and yard are located on Beach street and consist of a mill and other 
buildings occupying about an acre of ground and giving employment to fifty 
men. They take contracts for all kinds of buildings and several of the stations 
and round houses on the Old Colony R. R. have been built by them. Messrs. 
Fales & Sons are well known throughout this section of the country and have 
established for themselves a reputation of a high order, and their success in 
business may be attributed to enterprise, industry and the faithful performance 
of their agreements. 

The New England Rattan Co. are among the noteworthy firms engaged in 
the manufacture of reed and rattan furniture. The business was established in 
1887 but two years afterwards was made a stock company with a capital of 
twelve thousand dollars. The officers are president W. E. Ryan ; treasurer and 
manager, W. E. Ryan. The furniture made by this company is of an extra 
fine quality of rattan, and is well known throughout the country. The premises 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 439 

consist of a four story frame building fully equipped with all the latest applian- 
ces used in the manufacture of their line of goods. Only first class workmen 
are employed by them to the number of from eighty to one hundred. A large 
variety of goods is manufactured by them the daily output being one hundred 
pieces. The business is increasing very rapidly, and now yields an income of 
one hundred and fifty thousand dollars per year. 

Thomson Bros, engaged in the manufacture of carriages and wagons of 
every description, are located on the corner of Cedar and Waverly streets, South 
Framingham. This house makes all kinds of business wagons, do a first class 
horse shoeing business and are also carriage painters and repairers in all its 
branches. Harnesses, wagons and sleighs are kept on hand in which they enjoy 
a good trade. All orders are given prompt attention and perfect satisfaction is 
guaranteed in every detail of their work. This firm was established in 1 889 
and has built up a large and prosperous businesss. Employing six first class 
workmen they are able to meet all demands for work at short notice. They 
occupy a three story building sixty by thirty feet, using the first floor for stor- 
age purposes, the second floor for the blacksmithing and wheelwright depart- 
ments, and the third being used for the painting and varnishing. 

The South Framington Hotel of which W. Allen is the proprietor and C. W. 
Allen, clerk, is without doubt the leading and most popular hotel in this section 
of the country. It is centrally located, being opposite the railroad station and 
convenient to the business quarter of South Framingham. The building a 
three story structure two hundred by two hundred feet in dimension was erected 
and open one hundred and fifty years ago and contains some twenty-six rooms, 
supplied with modern improvements and comforts. The table is first class, 
abundantly supplied with the best meats, poultry, fish, vegetables etc. in the 
market, skillfully prepared and served by attentive waiters. A well equipped 
livery stable is connected with the hotel. Mr. Allen devotes his entire time and 
energies to securing for his house a liberal support from the travelling and 
boarding public, and has made his house one of the most popular stopping places 
in this part of the state. No pains are spared to make guests comfortable and 
at home, and rates are reasonable. 

A. FALES & SONS, 

* Building * Contractors. * 

And Manufacturers of all kinds of 
-X- * BTJIXjID.EiR.S 3 * FINISH * X 

DEALERS IN 

Building * Materials, * Lumber, * Masons' * Supplies, * Hardware, * Etc. 

Dealers tn Camber and Hardware. 
South Framingham, - MasSv 

A. FALES. F. H. FALES. H. T. FALES. 



440 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Aabarn Last CoD)pariY, 



MANUFACTURERS OF 




Rubber Shoe Lasts. 



We have had. twelve years experi- 
ence on Rubber leasts, and offer 

you the best Last at Lowest 
Prices. Send for Price List. 



98 CLARK STREET, SOUTH FRAMINGHAM, MASS.. 



E. D. STONE, Treas. and Supt. 



JOHN SCOTT, 

©Wool Scourer,® 

620 Atlantic Ave., Boston, Room 21. 

Mills at Hyde Park, - Mass. 

T. H. GRAY & CO.", 

Manufacturers of and Dealers in 

W®1 bodies, wool Extracts, 

Wool Waste and Flocks. 

Colored Stocks a Specialty. 
Boston Office, 154 Federal St. Mill at HYDE PARK, MASS. 



A. E. Houghton, 

— Manufacturer of — 

Door and Window Screens, 

NORTH MAIN STREET, 

MANSFIELD, - MASS. 



General Jobbing. Terms Reasonable. 



CHAS, A, LUTHER & CO, 

[Manufacturers of Patent 



C loth J tketchers, 

Thread Dressers, 

Improved Thread and Yarn Reels, and 
<\-Color Yarn Printing Machines. 

187 No. Main St., PAWTUCKET, K . I 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 44 



PROVIDENCE DIVISION. 



THE important towns and stations on this division of the Old Colony 
Railroad system commences with Hyde Park, the first outside of the 
city limits of Boston, other stations before reaching this point being 
mentioned under lt Suburban Service." 

HYDE PARK. 

Hyde Park, situated in the northeastely part of Norfolk county, adjoining 
Boston on the south, is a beautiful and progressive town. The West Rox- 
bury district bounds it on the northwest, the Dorchester district on the northeast 
Milton on the southeast and Dedham on the southwest. It is extensively en- 
gaged in manufactures, has fine schools and churches, beautiful residences and 
is noted for the number and extent of its social and other organization. It is 
eight miles from Boston on the Old Colony and has a population of 10,193, 
a large proportion of which is made up of Boston business men. Clarendon 
Hills is a village and station in the town of Hyde Park, with about 1000 popu- 
lation, and located one mile from the centre. It is a growing section and 
contains many costly modern built residences. Many people find this a most 
agreeable place in which to pass the summer. 

The American Tool and Machine Co., manufacturers of general machinery 
and tools and various kinds of special machinery, are among the most extensive 
of Hyde Park's industries. The company was incorporated in 1864 under the 
laws of Massachusetts, and is now governed by the following board of officers, 
viz : president and general manager, Benjamin F. Radford ; treasurer, Wm. 
O. Lincoln; directors B. F. Radford, Wm. O.Lincoln, Geo. H. Fox, Jacob 
Thaxter, W. M. Bacon. A celebrated product of this company is a belt knife 
leather splitting machine which is used extensively in the leather currying estab- 
lishments of the principal nations of the world. The centrifugal sugar refining 
machinery and Weston's "hydro extractor" for drying all kinds of fabrics, both 
the invention of the first president David M. Weston are also widely used and 
specially noted. In fact all their goods are favorably known throughout the 
world for their excellence, which has secured for this company the faith and 
confidence of the industrial world. They have an extensive and perfected 
plant of ten buildings covering an area of eight acres, and giving employment 
to some three hundred hands. The annual output reaches a very large volume 
and is constantly on the increase which is an excellent indication of the superi- 
ority of its products. The principal office of the company is at 84 Kingston 
street, Boston. 



44 2 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

J. T. Robinson and John R. Fairbanks, under the firm name of John T. 
Robinson & Co. at 125 Business street, Hyde Park, are manufacturers of paper 
box and card cutting machinery. They occupy a two story brick building, 
whose dimensions are one hundred and fifty by fifty feet. The material used by 
them is of the very best and their machinery is sent to all parts of the world, 
while an efficient corps of skilled workmen are able to fill orders promptly. 

T. H. Gray & Co. were founded in 1872 and the business consists of the 
manufacture of wool shoddies of all grades and colors. They also deal in wool, 
wool noils, camels' hair, flocks, waste etc., etc. Their factory located on Busi- 
ness street is a substantial structure two hundred by fifty feet with two store- 
houses and employs some twenty-five to thirty-five hands and they are now 
building a new mill which will employ ten more men. The products 
are sent to all parts of the country. Mr. Gray the manager is an enterprising 
and progressive merchant and manufacturer, has had years of experience and is 
thoroughly alive to the wants of the trade, and has built up a valuable aud close 
connection with woolen and woolen goods manufacturers throughout the country. 
Mr. Gray is a resident of Boston and has an office there at 154 Federal street. 

The Wilton Mills of Hyde Park were established in 1874 at Milton, but in 
1 881 moved to Hyde Park, and since their removal to this place owing to the 
large increase of their business, they have been obliged to build two additions 
to their building and have added new machinery both for drying and scouring 
wool. The dimensions of their building are two hundred and thirty-four feet 
long and fifty feet wide, in which steam power is used and contsant employ- 
ment is given to about fifty experienced workmen. The wool is sent principally 
to Boston, and the mills scour in the vicinity of eight thousand pounds per day. 
Mr. John Scott the proprietor is one that thoroughly understands his business, 
and has a reputation for honest dealing in all transactions. The mills are 
located on Wilton street, Hyde Park, and the Boston office is located at 620 
Atlantic avenue. 

READVILLE. 

This is another village of Hyde Park, and the residence of many wealthy 
Bostonians in summer. It has several fine estates, an excellent trotting park, 
and is about three miles from the observatory on the summit of the Blue Hills. 
Population about 1,000. Green Lodge is a near by station. 

CANTON. 

Canton is an active manufacturing and farming town, lying a little east of 
the centre of Norfolk county. The railroad station at South Canton (Canton 
Junction) is 20 miles from Boston, and Ponkapoag Village, in the northeast 
part, is about 12 miles in a direct line. The latter and Canton are the post- 
offices, and the villages are the same, with South Canton, Canton Corner, 
Dedham Road, Farms, Springdale and Stone Factory. On the north- 
east side lie the towns of Milton and Randolph, on the south and south- 
west are Stoughton and Sharon, and on the northwest is Dedham. The general 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 443 

form of the territory is that of a common kite. The manufactories consist of 
a branch shop of the Ames shovel factories, an iron foundry, cooper works, one 
factory for making shoe tools, two for cotton spinning rings, one for stove 
polish (Rising Sun), one making paper boxes, one for cotton, one for twine, 
one for fish lines, one for oil-cloth, six for fancy woolens, and one for silk 
goods. Population, 1890, 4,538. 

The Rising Sun Stove Polish and Black Lead Works of Morse Brothers was 
established by the present proprietor Hon. Elijah A. Morse, M. C, in Canton in 
1864. At that time Mr. Albert F. Morse was associated with the founder as his 
superintendent, while Mr. Abner L. Morse the manager entered the business in 
I884. Since which period the firm has obtained influential and permanent 
patronage. The works cover four acres, and it required four millions of bricks 
to construct the buildings. This is the largest establishment of the kind in the 
world and is equipped with all the most improved machinery, appliances and 
appurtenances necessary for carrying on the business. Employment is given to 
a large force of skilled workmen, and the machinery is driven by a one three 
hundred horse power steam engine and another of one hundred and twenty- 
five horse power. The rising sun stove polish for brilliancy, durability, no odor 
when heated, and cheapness is absolutely unrivalled in the United States or 
Europe. This house has acquired a high reputation for the excellence of its 
productions, and.the trade extends throughout all sections of the United States, 
Canada and England. Hon. E. A. Morse, the originator of the famous 
rising sun stove polish, is not only known in connection with his mercantile 
enterprise, but is equally prominent in political circles in the state, having been 
a member of the House of Representatives in 1876, and a senator from Norfolk 
county in 1886 and 1887, and was on the Governor's council in 1888, and a 
member of the 51st and 52nd Congress, and was elected to the 53rd Congress by 
a plurality of 4,600, running 1,600 votes ahead of the ticket. He is an earnest 
advocate of all measures of reform for the advancement of the public interests 
and the welfare of the community. 

A. Folsom & Sons was established in 1824 by A. Folsom as manufacturer of 
narrow floor oil cloths. He was the originator of the oil cloth known under the 
name of the New England floor oil cloth. They occupy five buildings three of 
which are frame, the dimensions being one hundred and thirty by forty feet, 
the remaining two buildings are iron and are thirty by sixty feet. The firm 
moved from Roxbury to Canton junction about four years ago and at present a 
force of thirty hands are employed by them, who turn out one thousand yards 
of oil cloths per day. The firm have had a long experience in the business, 
and have the reputation of producing a fine quality of oil cloth. 

G. H. Mansfield & Co. are manufacturers of braided fishing lines, silk and 
linen braids. This business was established in 1865 by G. H. Mansfield, and 
was the first manufactory of braided fishing lines in the United States. The 
present members of the firm are brothers, all natives of Canton. The product 
of their factory is noted for its excellence and is sold in alL parts of the country. 



444 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



A. FOLSOM & SONS, 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



FLOOR OIL CLOTHS, 



Canton Junction, Mass 



Thomson Brothers, 

CARRIAGE AND WAGON BUILDERS. 

Horse Shoeing a Specialty. 


D. D. CODDING, 

"\ --- MANUFACTURER OF 


Express "Wagons for Sale, . . . 

. . . Light Order Wagons a Specialty. 

Carts, Wagons, Sleighs, Pungs and Traverse 

Runners made at short notice. 

All kinds of Repairing and Carriage Painting 

done in First-Class Shape. 


1; iil^^Ui;^:,:!. ;.:::i: .i.,. ::i I!! ■■!;■,■■!. : : ! ' ' ! 

SILVER • NOVELTIES. 


SPECIAL ATTENTION GIVEN TO ALL WO/fK. 
BUILDING IRONS A SPECIALTY. 

GIVE US A CALL. We Guarantee Satisfaction. 

SHOP, Corner Cedar and Waverley Streets, 

South Framingham, Mass. 


FACTORY, > 

North Attleboro, Mass. 




!l!'llll!lll!!lllllllllll!lllll!lllll!lll!l!l!l!l!!lll!lllll!lll 



ft A TES & BACON'S Gold 
Filled Watch Cases are not 
surpassed either in quality, de- 
sign, or finish. Ask your job- 
ber for them. Factory at At- 
tleboro, Mass. New York Of- 
fice, 194 Broadway. 



iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiihii 
— ■ « ■»•» > ■ 



illlllllllllllllllll! 



HTSTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 445 



SHARON. 

Sharon occupies the highlands which fovm the water-shed of streams flow- 
ing in opposite directions — northeasterly towards Massachusetts or south- 
westerly towards Narragansett Bay. It has for its boundaries Norwood on 
the north, Canton on the northeast, Stoughton on the east, Easton and 
Mansfield on the southeast, Foxborough on the southwest, and Walpole on the 
west. It lies at the middle of the southern side of Norfolk county, 22 miles 
southwest of Boston, with stations at Sharon and Sharon Heights, and Mas- 
sapoag Pond in summer. The post-offices are the first and East Sharon. 

[See Foxboro and Mansfield under " Northern Division" of the Old Colony.] 

Atla Heights, located in the easterly part of the town adjacent to the towns 
of Canton and Stoughton, and one and one-half miles from Canton station on 
the Old Colony Railroad, is a beautiful tract of land. The merit of this place 
as a health location 'is receiving considerable attention by our best class of 
people. An Artesian well brings up a subteranean water of remarkable purity. 
Here is situated the residence property of F. W. Mansfield, which is one of 
the finest in Sharon. 

C. S. Harper, of Cottage street, Sharon, is a well known carriage manu- 
facturer. The vehicles made by him are adapted to meet the wants of his 
patrons. In connection with this he has a repair and blacksmith shop, 
occupying seven buildings covering an area of two and a half acres. There are 
twenty-five hands employed who are able to produce about one hundred and 
fifty new carriages a year. The work from first to last is conducted with a care 
and skill that go far to explain why the productions of this house are so durable. 
Mr. Harper is well known in the New England states. 

H. A. Lothrop Manufacturing Company is located on Ames street, Sharon. 
It was incorporated in 1882 with a capital stock of forty-five thousand dollars. 
The premises occupied by them consists of three frame buildings, and give 
constant work to sixty experienced workmen, while the goods are sent to all 
points in the United States as well as to Havana and Vera Cruz. The company 
have had long business experience in this line of industry, and have the 
reputation of producing first-class work in every respect. 

ATTLEBOROUGH. 

Attleborough is a town of many villages, devoted to a great variety of 
manufactures. It is situated on the northwestern part of Bristol county, 
having North Attleborough on the north, Norton on the east, Rehoboth 
and Seekonk on the south, and the town of Cumberland, in Rhode Island, 
on the west. The post offices are Attleborough, South Attleborough 
Hebronville, Dodgeville and Brigg's Corner. Attleborough, Hebronville, 
Dodgeville and East Junction are stations on the Providence Division of 
the Old Colony Railroad, the first being 32 miles from Boston on the line of the 
Providence Division. A branch railroad connects with North Attleborough 
on the northwest and with Taunton on the east. The Indian title to 



446 ADVERTISEMENTS. 

J. M. * * CHARflS 

FISHER Manufacturers of AND 

« maamaa— — ■« 1 1 11m umsBnonaa 

& CO., * LOCKETS, 

ATTLEBORO, MASS. 

REGNELL, EIGNE Y & CO., 



specialties-. Manufacturing 

Lace Pins, Bracelets, Novelties *y£ j y 

and Enamel Goods. ..... J eWeleVS, 

ATTLEBORO, MASS., P. 0. Box 596. 



H. T. Regnell. 

-J. A . Bigney. 
C. 0. Sweet. 



WHEATON, RICHARDS & CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 

^^^VI ^ Sleeve and Collar Buttons, Cuff 
VIV^D^ and Bar Pins and Children's Sets, 

ALSO A FINE LINE OF 

Solid Silver and Gold Front Goods. 

M. O. Wheaton, 

J. S. Richards, % % ATTLEBORO, MASS. 

J. G. Trafton. 

^ n ith LACE PIBS ' CDFF bdttons - drops - collar 

*Z7l 11 1 1 1 mm , STDDS. ALL HAND ENGRAVED. 



4& & 



vV 



ff* WE SEI/L THE JOBBING TRADE ONLY. 

WlVV'^fcS Y • Mtleboro, Mass, 



MANUFACTURERS OF 



The Finest Quality of Solid Gold Front Work 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 447 

the territory out of which has since been carved a part of Rehoboth, Seekonk, 
Attleborough and Cumberland (R. I.) was purchased in 1661 by Captain 
Thomas Willett on behalf of Plymouth Colony from Wamsutta, bon of Massa- 
soit and elder brother of Metacomet (afterward distinguished as King Philip.) 
The land — then called the North Purchase — was subsequently cut up into 
fifty-acre tracts and divided by lot among original and incoming settlers. In 
October, 1694, the town of Attleborough (named for Attleborough, Norfolk 
county, England) was incorporated, and then contained about eighty square 
miles. There was a good deal of bloodshed within the limits of the town during 
King Philip's war, and the people have in all subsequent wars distinguished them- 
selves for their loyalty and patriotism. Cumberland was separated from Attle- 
borough in 1745. The distinguishing industry of Attleborough is the manufac- 
ture of jewelr}^, which is said to have had its origin here in the unpretentious labors 
of a solitary French worker in the precious metals, who settled here in 1 780. 
Even his name is forgotten, but the seeds he planted have brought forth abun- 
dant fruit, and Attleborough, after a century of growth and development in this 
direction, is now one of the most important jewelry manufacturing centers in 
the world. In connection therewith the construction of jewelers 1 machinery has 
reached a wonderful degree of perfection here. 

The Opera House Hotel and Cafe has been known under this name since 
1889. Before this time it was known as the Park Square Cafe, J. M. Bates 
being the owner as well as the proprietor, while Everett W. Eddy is the 
manager. It is handsomely furnished and fitted up with all modern improve- 
ments. Mr. Bates is well and favorably known in Attleboro and adjacent 
towns. In 1885 he erected the Opera House, which bears his name. The 
building is of brick seventy feet front, on Park square, and forms a part of the 
Bates block. The body of the auditorium, dress circle, parquette and orchestra 
has seating capacity for one thousand people, and there are four elegantly 
furnished boxes, the stage being sixty feet high and forty feet wide. People 
who have had the pleasure of visiting the Bates Opera House pronounce it to be 
handsomer than any in the surrounding towns. 

The Bates Button Co. is located in Attleboro. It enjoys a lively business, 
amounting to from sixty to eighty thousand dollars a year, a specialty being 
made of ladies' and gentlemen's cuff and collar buttons. The trade extends 
abroad and all over the United States. The work is confined principally to the 
second floor of the three-story building. The dimensions occupied being one 
hundred fifty by forty-five feet. The firm employs sixty hands who have had 
practical experience, and all the latest improved machinery are in use at the 
factory. 

The establishment of Bates & Bacon, situated in Attleboro, occupies a part 
of the handsome four-story building known as the Bates building, It is fitted 
out with all the latest improved machinery and gives employment to one hun- 
dred skilled mechanics. The house makes a specialty of a full and complete 
line of gold filled watch-cases of various styles and different grades. This is 
the only house in Attleboro which manufactures watch-cases. Over seventy-five 



448 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Goe. K. Vanier. 



M. J. Slattery. 



VANIER & SLATTERY, 

Plumbers* and * Tinsmiths, 

Steam, Water & Gas Piping 
and Stove Repairs. 

Workers in SHEET IKON, ZINC, 
TIN and COPPER. 

JEWELERS' WORK AND BUILDERS' 
CONTRACTS A SPECIALTY. 

dTTLEPORO, l\AJJ. 




S. M. 
EINSTEIN, 



* # 




* MANUFACTURING * JEWELER, 



SPECIALTIES: Separable and Lever 

Sleeve and Collar Buttons, 

Studs and Scarf Pins. 

ATTLEBORO, - MASS. 



S. Williams. 



THE ATTLEBORO WATCH CASE 
PENDANT CO., 

ATTLEBORO, MASS. 



Gold, t Silyenand i Filled t Pendants 

Made in One Piece a SPECIALTY. 

S. WILLIAMS, - - Patentee. 



M. B. Short. Peter Nerney. J. J. Horton. 

Short, Nerney & Co., 

iring Jewelers, 

a MASS. 



ATTLEBORO, 



COLD PLATED CHAIN 
A SPECIALTY. 



SPIER & COLES 



DIE-SINKERS and 
TOOL MAKERS. 

ATTLEBORO, MASS. 

BATES BUILDING No. 2 



Hayward & Sweet. 



—Makers of- 



PINS, • BUTTONS, 

JERSEY PINS, BRACELETS, 

Collar Buttons, Link Buttons, 

Ribbon and Cord Mounted Vests and Guards, 
Bracelet Chain, Eye Glass Chain, Hooks, Bars, 
Box and Glass and O. F. Pins, Seals, Charms, 
Crosses, Hair Chain Mountings, Ribbon Fobs, 
Keys, Ear Hoops, Etc., Etc. 

dTTLEBORO, MASS. 



ELLIS, LIVSEY & BROWN, 

— Manufacturers of — 

* * LADIES' * * 

Victoria and Neck Chains, 

CHARMS, LOCKETS, 
SWIVEL SPRING RINCS, AND 
CHAIN BARS IN ROLLED PLATE. . 

ATTLEBORO, - MASS. 

F. M. Ellis. Geo. W. Livsey. 

Geo. L. Brown, Salesman. 



W. D. Fisher. Wm. M. Fisher. M. B. Mackreth- 

W. D. FISHER & CO., 
MdNMFdQTURlNQ 

JEWELERS. 



Spring Swivels, Spring Rings 

— and all kinds of — 

Chain Trimmings, 

In Rolled Plate and Sterling Silver. 



ATTLEBORO FALLS 



MASS. 



Telephone,, 5532-4. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 449 

thousand dollars is invested in special machinery used in the manufacturing 
departments by the proprietor. J. M. Bates, the owner of this factory, is also 
owner of seven other factories occupied by about thirty tenants. He takes a 
personal interest in all the work, and carries on a large trade throughout the 
United States, southern countries and Canada. 

Dagget & Clapp was established ten years ago in Attleboro Falls, but 
business having increased to such an extent as to cause them to remove in 1886 
to Attleboro. The extensive trade calls for a large amount of manufactured 
jewelry, including all the latest novelties in sterling silver combs, hat pins, etc., 
ladies' goods, badges, buttons campaign goods, etc. About eighty hands are 
engaged on the upper floor of a four-story building. 

J. W. Luther & Co. first embarked in the business of Lapidaries in 1865 and 
pearl working in 1890, when they established a factory in Attlebero. The 
firm consists of experienced, practical men who devote their undivided 
attention to the business, and have consequently made it a success. Twelve 
hands are engaged in the work, and the premises occupied by this properous 
firm are in the basement of a four-story building, fifty by thirty-five feet in 
area. All the latest improved machinery is in constant use at the foctory. 

J. T. Inman & Co., of Attleboro, are manufacturing jewelers. It is only 
within the past few years that this business has been established, but since that 
time the trade has steadily increased. An extensive trade is carried on through 
all parts of the United States. Employing fourteen or more hands, the firm 
makes a great specialty of lockets and various kinds of silver novelties. The 
portion occupied for working purposes is in the third floor of a four-story 
building, covering an area of fifty by forty feet. 

Marsh & Bigney have been engaged for the past eleven years in the manu- 
facturing of fine rolled plate chains. The work is confined principally to the 
second floor of a four-story building. The dimensions are one hundred by 
thirty-five feet. The trade extends all over the United States, and thirty-five 
hands are employed to carry on the work. The firm makes a specialty of 
Victoria chains, ladies' vest charms and gents' fancy and plain link chains in 
seamless gold filled wire. 

.J. M. Fisher & Co. were established in 1881 in Attleboro. The work 
consists in the manufacture of charms and lockets. The trade is in a growing 
and prosperous condition. The work is carried on in a handsome building by 
competent workers ranging from fifty to sixty in number. 

Bliss Brothers are among the industrial houses of Attleboro who have been 
established since 1873. They are engaged in the manufacturing of jewelry, 
making a specialty of charms, lockets and bar pins. The trade of this estab- 
lishment extends all over the United States. Forty to fifty hands turn out 
a large amount of work. 

Wheaton, Richards & Co., manufacture gold sleeve and collar buttons, cuff 
and bar pins, and children's sets, also a fine line of solid silver and gold front 
goods. This house has been established for the past five years, having a trade 
with the various houses in the principal cities of the United States. The work 



45° HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

is performed by skilled operatives, who have all had a praetical experience in 
other business factories of Attleboro. 

F. W". Weaver & Co., located in Attleboro, were established nine years ago. 
They manufacture jewelry, and make a specialty of high grade rolled gold, 
lace pins, scarf pins, drops, charms, gold plate, and sterling silver hair pins, 
etc. The trade lies principally in the United States. 

F. H. Sadler & Co., of Attleboro, were established in 1880, and by steady 
work and use of best inventions and machinery have brought the business up to 
a first class standard. They manufacture a special line of rings, drops, scarf 
pins, and studs in white stone using the Borneo diamond, of which they are 
sole proprietors, also they use the ruby, emerald, garnet, pearl and moonstone 
in all goods, besides a large line of lace pins, bracelets, etc., and confine their 
business to the jobbing trade. Their present factory is 120 feet long, 50 feet 
wide, with the best machinery that can be found for the jewelers' use. We 
should recommend all jobbers to examine their samples believing that they are 
saleable. 

Spier & Coles, located in Attleboro, has been established since 1891, 
engaged in the manufacture of die sinkers and as tool makers. Their trade is 
local and the facilities are such that they are rapidly building up a reputation 
second to none. 

Ellis, Livse}- & (Jo., located in Attleboro, has been established since 1890, in 
the manufacture of ladies' Victoria and neck chains, ladies 1 charms and lockets, 
swivel spring rings, and chain bars in rolled plate in various kinds and latest 
styles. This firm has an extensive trade throughout the United States and 
Canada. 

Short, Nerney & Co., are an enterprising firm located in Attleboro, who 
have been established since 1876 in the manufacture of a very fine quality of 
jewelry, making a specialty of gold plated chain. The trade of this firm is 
remarkable, as they do a business of about one hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars a year. They have a vast trade all over the world. The dimensions of 
the working department are two hundred by thirty-five feet on the upper floor 
of a three-story building, where they employ a force of seventy-five hands. 

Smith & Crosby, an old firm, have been established in Attleboro since 
1874. These gentlemen are engaged in the manufacturing of jewelry, and 
have been successful, making for themselves a high reputation, and an 
enviable place in the trade. The firm makes a specialty of solid gold front 
goods and have a large trade extending all over the United -States. About 
forty-six hands are employed and the factory is equipped with a full and 
complete line of all the latest improved machinery. The premises occupied by 
the above named firm cover an area of one hundred by forty feet, on the first 
floor of a large structure, four stories in height. 

Regnell, Bigney & Co. are a well known firm engaged in the manufacture of 
jewelry, which business has been established since 1888, on the fourth floor of 
a massive four-story building. The firm makes a specialty of lace pins, 
bracelets, novelties and enamel goods. They enjoy a splendid trade all over 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 45 I 

the United States and in foreign countries. The dimensions of their working 
apartments, are one hundred by thirty-five feet, where employment is given to 
some forty hands. 

Vanier & Slattery have been engaged in Attleboro for the past four years 
as general plumbers and tinsmiths, do steam, water and gas piping, and stove 
repairing ; they are also workers in sheet iron, zinc, tin and copper. The 
house makes a specialty of jewelers' work, and builders 1 contracts, their trade 
being principally within the local districts of Attleboro. About seven hands 
are employed about the premises which are situated in the basement of a four- 
story building, and contains the latest improved machinery operated by steam 
power. Prompt attention is given to orders for work in any branch, and those 
who have had occasion to require their services speak in praise of the prompti- 
tude and liberality of the firm. A large and growing patronage among manu- 
facturers, builders, etc., in this and surrounding villages shows the energy, 
perseverance and business tact of this house. 

W. H. Wilmarth is the proprietor of the business established by Wilmarth, 
Holmes & Co. in 1891. The work consists of the manufacture of rolled gold 
plate jewelry; such as ladies 1 lace pins, ear drops, chains, and chain trimmings. 
The business done has been large and is still on the increase, the profits 
amounting to about ten thousand dollars a year. The trade extends throughout 
the United States, Canada and foreign countries. The premises occupied are 
thirty- five by seventy feet, on the second floor of a four- story building where 
employment is furnished to twenty-five competent mechanics. 

The Attleboro Watch Case Pendant Co. is another firm whose business has 
been successfully carried on within the past two years by a well known gentle- 
man, S. Williams. A specialty of this company is gold, silver and filled 
pendants, made in one piece. The firm has the benefit of a remarkably good 
trade, they having the facilities for manufacturing one thousand pendants per 
day. The principal trade is within the United States. This firm occupies the 
first floor of a two-story building, the dimensions being fifty by twenty feet. 

The D. F. Briggs Co. was established five years ago by Tappan, Berry 
& Co. In 1890 it was changed to present name. They are engaged in the 
manufacture of rolled plate vest chains. The Company is represented by W. 
C. Tappan, one of the proprietors. They do an extensive business of one 
hundred thousand dollars a year and their chains are growing more popular 
every year. They sell only to wholesalers in Canada and all over the United 
States. The present firm occupy the first floor of a large five-story building, 
employing about seventy five hands and run as steady as any manufactory in the 
business through the year. 

S. M. Einstein has for the past three years been engaged in the manufacture 
of jewelry in Attleboro, making a specialty of separable and lever sleeve and 
collar buttons, studs and scarf pins. On the first floor of a handsome five-story 
building, is an excellently arranged workroom, thoroughly equipped with 
special machines and appliances for the work, affording constant employment 
to a large number of skilled hands. The output of this house is large and in 



452 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



c. b. w. 8hebman. w. w. shebman. 
Established 1854. 

C. E. f. SHERMAN & SON. 
GOLD a™ 
* * SILVER 
REFINERS. 

North Attleboro, - Mass. 



D. E. Codding. 



D. E. CODDING & CO., 



. MANUFACTURERS OF . 



Solid Gold and Fine Plated Jewelry. 

Bracelets, Lace Pin 8 *, Brooches, 
£carf Pins, Drops, 

In White Stone and Moonstone Goods. 

North Attleboro, - - Mass. 
Represented by N.F.SWIFT. 



0. M. DRAPER, 

— MANUFACTUBBB OF — 

Rolled Plate, Fire Gilt 
and Nickel Chains. 

North Attleboro, Mass. 

New York Office : 
18 Cortlandt St., Room 514. 



SANDLAND, GAPRON & GO. 

MANUFACTURING * 
* * JEWELERS. 

North Attleboro, - - - Mass. 
Thos. G. Sandland, Henry B. Capron' 
New York Office : 
176 Broadway. J. R. Palmer. 



R. Blackinton. 



W. Ballou. 



R R LflCKINTON fir QO. 

— ^3 MABEBS OF Qt^ 

Solid * Gold, * Silver 

AND PLATED JEWELRY. 

NEW YORK OFFICE, 

No, 182 Broadway. 

FACTORY, 

North Attleboro. Mass. 



Codding Bros. & Heilborh, 



8«- 



MANUFACTURING •' 



JEWELERS * 

— AND — 

SILVERSMITHS, 

North Attleboro, - - Mass. 



CHARLES TENNEY, 

Manufacturer of 

MEN'S AND BOY'S 

FINE * CALF * SHOES, 

STOUGHTOJY, MASS. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 453 

demand throughout the New England states and the west, where Mr. Einstein 
has established himself in the favor and good will of all who know him. 

NORTH ATTLEBOROUGH. 

North Attleborough is a prosperous farming and manufacturing town form- 
ing the northwest angle of Bristol county. A branch road four miles in length 
connects North Attleborough — the northern village — with Attleborough 
station, 32 miles from Boston, on the Providence Division of the Old Colony 
Railroad. The other stations are Farmer's and Falls Village. The post-offices are 
North Attleborough and Attleborough Falls. The leading occupation of the 
people is the manufacture of jewelry, nearly the entire population being employed 
in this work, the products being shipped to ail parts of the world. The town is 
an outgrowth of Attleborough. The extraordinary growth of the northern half 
of the old town led to the settling up and incorporation of the new one, which 
was carried into effect by the act of the legislature approved July 30, 1888. 
Population, 1890, 6,727 ; assessed valuation, $3,708,678. The town contains 
two post-offices, Attleboro' and Attleboro' Falls. 

D. E. Codding & Co. extensively engaged in the manufacture of solid gold 
and fine plated jewelry, are well and favorably known to the jobbers of the 
New England and Middle States. The specialty of this firm is the manufacture 
of bracelets, lace and scarf pins, drops, etc., in white stone and moonstone 
goods. Employing a large number of hands and having all the necessary 
appliances in their factory enables them to turn out these goods in large 
quantities. With a long business experience, they have obtained a high 
reputation for honorable methods in their business transactions. A complete 
line of goods is constantly kept on hand, and prices are low. 

Sandland & Capron located at 14 Chestnut street, are among the prominent 
firms of North Attleboro, manufacturing rolled gold plate and sterling silver 
jewelry. They occupy one floor sixty by one hundred feet in the Union Power 
Company's building, where they employ forty-five hands. This firm was 
established in 1876, and produces a fine line of bracelets, bangles, drops, lace 
and jersey pins, hair ornaments, and ladies' sets in all the latest styles. Their 
goods are made of the best quality of stock, and give perfect satisfaction in all 
cases. A department in which they excel is the manufacture of gentlemen's 
scarf pins in all the latest novelties and from their own designs. A branch 
office is conducted by them at 1 j6 Broadway, New York, and buyers are cordially 
invited to call and inspect their stock. The members comprising the firm 
consist of Thomas G. Sandland and Herny E. Capron, who have a high standing 
in business circles and have the reputation of conducting their trade on honest 
business principles. 

C. E. W. Sherman & Son are among the prominent firms of Attleboro, 
engaged in the business of gold and silver refining, and the only house in North 
Attleboro engaged in this line of work. Employing a number of experienced 
hands, they are enabled to conduct a large business in their specialty of 



454 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

smelting, refining, assaying and the preparation of gold, silver and copper for 
the jewelry and silverware trade. The firm has had a business experience of 
nearly forty years and enjoys a reputation of producing a fine quality of material 
in their line. All parties trading with this house will find that their business 
transactions are conducted in a straight-forward manner and all material 
produced|by them will be found as represented. The individual members 
comprising the firm are C. E. W. and W. W. Sherman. 

Codding Brothers & Heilborn, manufacturing jewelers and silversmiths, are 
among the enterprising firms of North Attleboro engaged in the manufacture 
of jewelry, etc. They occupy the ground floor in the Codding building on Jay 
street, near Elm, which is fully equipped with machinery of the latest patterns 
for rolling, stamping and pressing jewelry. The facilities of this 'firm are 
first class and suited to the rapid and economical production of their specialties, 
which embrace the latest designs in rolled gold bracelets and bangles for 
export, also souvenir spoons the " Birthrnonth" being a popular novelty. Em- 
ploying fifty hands they are able to produce over $100,000 worth of goods per 
annum. This firm supply all the leading trade centres of the United States and 
Canada. The firm is composed of Arthur E., James A. and Edwin A. Codding 
and Leo. A. Heilborn. Arthur E. Codding is a trustee of the Attleboro' 
savings bank, and holds the position of town treasurer. The New York office 
and salesroom is located at 1 78 Broadway. 

O.M. Draper, an old and reliable manufacturer of rolled plate, fire gilt, and 
nickel chains, commenced on a small scale in 1862 but by giving close attention to 
business has built up a reputation and trade that extends from the Atlantic to the 
Pacific, as well as abroad. The premises occupied on Elm street, are thirty- 
five by two hundred feet, consisting of one floor in the Richards building on 
Elm street, and is fitted up with a complete plant of improved' machinery. His 
products embrace all the popular novelties and styles in charms, swivels, nickel 
chains, etc. Employing ninety hands on an average, enables him to produce 
a laro-e variety of goods, which are of first class quality, and give perfect 
satisfaction. New designs are being constantly brought out by him and the 
jobbing trade is supplied with an almost endless variety of novelties through 
his traveling salesmen. Branch offices are at 18 Courtlandt street, New York, and 
155 State street, Chicago. Mr. Draper thoroughly understands the business in 
which he is engaged, and is held in high esteem among the trade. 

R. Blackinton & Company among the oldest manufacturers of solid gold, 
silver and plated jewelry in Attleboro, were established in 1862. They are 
located in the Whitney building on Chestnut street, which is completely fitted 
up with the newest and most improved machinery that the market affords, and 
where they give constant employment to one hundred skilled operatives. The 
line of jewelry manufactured by them includes all the latest novelties in solid 
gold, silver and plated jewelry, also the largest line of fancy souvenir spoons 
in the market. A large and extensive trade is conducted by them, which extends 
princijoally to the eastern, southern and western states. The firm is composed 
of Roswell Blackinton and Walter Ballou, who are held in high esteem both in 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CI1TES. 455 

social and business circles. Mr. Blackinton is also a director of the North 
Attleboro national bank. The factory is under the charge of Mr. Ballou, 
foreman, who thoroughly understands the business in all its details. A sales- 
room is maintained at 182 Broadway, New York. 

ATTLEBOROTJGH FALLS. 

This is also a busy industrial village, and is widely noted for the manufac- 
ture of jewelry. It is in the town of North Attleborough, a few miles from the 
centre, with which it is connected by an electric road. 

D. Evans & Co. are manufacturers of fine quality gilt and silver plated 
buttons that are required for the army, navy, militia, police, livery, etc. The 
house was established in 1848, succeeding the firm of R. & W. Robinson. 
During the war the house acquired a reputation for the excellence of its goods. 
A large proportion of the army and navy buttons used by the Union forces, 
especially for officers 1 uniforms, were the product of this company, and no 
manufacturer in either of the Attleboros was so widely known during the 
period of the civil war as the late Daniel Evans. Since his death, (which 
occurred in May, 1892), the business has been continued under the same firm 
name by his son, Edwin L. Evans, who is thoroughly acquainted with the 
business in all its details, and who is well able to maintain the fine reputation 
which the house has acquired. 

The Gold Medal Braid Company was incorporated in 1879 ^ or tne manu- 
facture of worsteds, silk, linen and cotton braids. Handel N. Daggett and 
Harvey Clap became the sole proprietors in March, 1891, and conduct the 
business as a firm but under the original name. The premises occupied by 
them on High street, opposite Commonwealth avenue, this place, consists of 
a five-story stone building sixty by one hundred and sixty feet in dimensions. 
The factory has both steam and water power, is fully equipped with all the 
latest improved machinery. They employ from one hundred and twenty-five 
to one hundred and fifty hands, and fifteen hundred braiding machines are used by 
them. The goods manufactured by this firm are sold throughout the United States 
and in foreign markets. The names on their products are known as "Golden 
Fleece," 61 Braid, and "Atlas" which embraces the finest grades of worsted 
alpaca, silk and cotton braids of all widths and styles for dress bindings, and 
other purposes. Both members of the firm are experienced, capable and 
successful business men. Mr. Daggett being the treasurer, and Mr. Clap the 
secretary of the company when it was conducted as a corporation. The selling 
agents of this firm are the Willimantic Linen Company of Boston, New York 
and Philadelphia. 

W. D. Fisher & Company, a progressive and successful firm engaged in the 
manufacture of spring swivels, spring rings, and chain trimmings of all kinds 
in rolled gold, plate and sterling silver, are located in the Daggett building, 8 
Mill street. Here they are completely equipped with improved machinery and 
give employment to a force of fifty hands ; the product of whose skill and labor- 
is in demand by manufacturing jewelers and jobbers generally. The members 



456 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

of this house are well known residents of Attleboro Falls and gentlemen of fine 
business qualities, ever alive to the demands of the trade and conducting their 
extensive business in a manner satisfactory to their numerous patrons. 

PAWTUCKET. 

The city of Pawtucket presents many features not common to New Eng- 
land towns, and is in some respects entirely unique. Its settlement dates 
some twenty years after that of Providence by Roger Williams, and was 
made by Joseph Jenks, who is credited with being the first founder who 
worked in iron and brass on this continent. It is on record that the Gen- 
eral Court of Massachusetts granted to him a patent for fourteen years for the 
sole manufacture of engines to be driven by water, mills for making scythes 
and other edged tools, and a newly invented saw mill. This occurred in May, 
1646, and in May, 1655, another patent was granted to him for seven years for 
the manufacture of an improved scythe for cutting grass. Inasmuch as the 
manufacture of tools, farming implements, and household utensils is a peculiarly 
important branch of industry in a new country, it may be inferred that Mr. 
Jenks found ready demand for the products of his skill in the adjoning settle- 
ments. Scarcely could he have dreamed, however, that his little forge was the 
germ from which would spring the great industrial center of today and a flour- 
ishing city of 30,000 inhabitants, with over a hundred different and extensive 
industries. 

King Philip's War devastated Pawtucket in common with all the surround- 
ing colonial settlements, and for nearly a century after the above date the place 
made but slight progress. Toward the middle of the last century, however, 
Hugh Kennedy began the manufacture of linseed oil, and in 1770 Ephraim 
Starkweather purchased a potash factory which had been started by some Bos- 
ton merchants several years before. The war of the Revolution also inter- 
fered materially with the prosperity of the community, but shortly after the 
close of the struggle activity began to manifest itself in many departments of 
industry. 

About 1 771 Oziel Wilkinson and his five sons, blacksmiths, removed from 
Smithfield to Pawtucket, and commenced manufacturing anchors, heavy iron 
implements, farming tools, oil presses, stoves, castings, and other articles upon 
quite a large scale. The elder Wilkinson had long been engaged in manufac- 
turing cut nails, and is supposed to be their inventor. His son David was the 
inventor of the side lathes, for which Congress awarded him, fifty years after 
the patent was granted, $50,000. Oziel Wilkinson built a small air furnace for 
casting iron and some time subsequently he, w T ith others, built a furnace in 
which cannon were cast solid, and this was said to be the first successful effort of 
the kind by any one. 

The most notable event in the whole history of Pawtucket occurred in 1 790, 
when Samuel Slater erected the first water-power cotton factory in America. 
Young Slater married one of the daughters of Oziel Wilkinson, and received 
much valuable aid from the male members of that ingenius family. The build- 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CJTIES. 457 

ing known as the old Slater mill, on Mill street, erected in 1793, still stands, 
and it is about the most noted landmark in the city. In the early part of the 
present century Pawtucket was the seat of ship-building and of considerable com- 
merce. Manufacturing industries soon after predominated, and these have been 
steadily growing ever since, until they have assumed great magnitude. 

Pawtucket was made a city Jan. 4, 1876, and was, prior to obtaining its 
charter, the largest place in the United States under a town form of govern- 
ment, having a population rising 20,000. The city is situated on both sides of 
the navigable Pawtucket river, (Blackstone river above the falls) and presents 
many attractive features, apart from its advantages as a manufacturing 
center. 

Up to 1862, what was known as the town of Pawtucket was in the state of 
Massachusetts. The east side of the river originally formed a part of the old 
town of Rehoboth, which up to 181 2 had also embraced Seekonk. The Town- 
ship of Pawtucket was organized under an act of incorporation from the Massa- 
chusetts General Court, March 1, 1828. In the course of time the west side of 
the river — the Rhode Island side — became the most important. The fact that 
the village of Pawtucket was situated in two different states was frequently the 
cause of contention, and with a view to obviating all further trouble arising from 
clash of interest and authority by reason of the separate jurisdictions, the town 
of Pawtucket"" was ceded to Rhode Island in 186I, and in March of the following 
year the act took effect. Some changes took place subsequently in the local 
boundary lines, and a new act of incorporation was issued in May, 1874. 

The Providence Division of the Old Colony Railroad and the Providence & 
Worcester Railroad run through the city, and there is besides a branch line of 
railroad from Valley Falls to East Providence which passes through Pawtucket. 
Altogether Pawtucket presents all the features of a progressive and prosperous 
New England city, and is rapidly increasing in material wealth and popu- 
lation. Pleasant View is a local station near by. [See Providence in pre- 
ceding pages.] 

The Pawtucket Furniture Co. was established about eighteen years ago r 
when their working apartments were confined to a building which covered an 
area of twenty by sixty-six feet. Since this time, by close attention to business, 
the firm has built up a trade, which surpasses many other business houses in 
Pawtucket. In consequence of this increase in business, they have enlarged the 
building to the present size. It is an elegant structure three stories in height, 
covering an area of fifty by sixty-six feet. It is handsomely stocked with 
mattresses, curtains, spring beds, bedding, stoves and tin ware, carpets, oil 
cloths, etc. They are also sole agents for the celebrated Glenwood ranges and 
parlor stoves. Mr. Fifield, the proprietor, has had an experience of many 
years, and fills his position with great satisfaction. 

The Star Tanning company, among the foremost manufacturers in Paw 
tucket, are engaged in the manufacture of improved raw hide lace and picker 
leather, oak tanned leather belting, loom straps of all descriptions, etc. Only 



458 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



Pawtucket Furniture Company 




39 No. Main Street, 

PdWTUCKET, R. I. 



Headquarters for bargains in 
Furniture, Carpets, Glenwood 
Ranges and Parlor Stoves, 
Bedding, Spring Beds, Cur- 
tains, and everything with which 
to furnish a house. Do not buy until 
you have seen us 



WE SELL FOR CASH OR CREDIT, 



. And our Prices are . 



THE LOWEST IN THE STATE 



ROBINSON BROTHERS, 

Manufacturers of 

Jewelers' Findings, 

Swivels and Bars a Specialty. 

Plainville, - - Mass. 



ESTABLISHED 1876 
W. H. WADE. E. P. DAVIS. C. A. WHITING. 

WADE, DAVIS & CO., 
JEWELERJ, 

Plainville, Mass. 

New York Office, 198 Broadway. 



J. B. MAINTIEN. 



W. P. MAINTIEN. 



J. B. MAINTIEN & SON, 

PLAIN ™5 FANCY 

ENdflELINQ. 

Plainville, - - Mass. 

Established 1855. 



PLAINVILLE STOCK CO, 

Manufacturing # Jewelers, 

Pins, Drops and Sets a Specialty. 

Plainville, - - Mass. 

New York Office, 176 Broadway. 
D. H. Corey, Supt. W. S. Metcalf Treas. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 



459 



the finest grade of leather is produced by them, and a specialty is made of 
picker leather for which there is a large demand, their trade extending 
throughout the United States. Pickers of all patterns are made to order at 
short notice, and belts of every description are repaired. A large stock of 
manufactured goods is always carried to supply the immediate demands of the 
trade. The individual members of the firm are Oscar A. Jillson and 
Robert Bellew, both of whom are men of long experience in the business and 
their successful career is due, to a large extent, to their carefulness in 
producing only first class work. 

C. A. Luther & Co. is the style of the firm of which Messrs. Peck and 
Burnham are the members, and who are engaged in the manufacture of cloth 
stretchers, thread dressers, improved thread and yarn reels and four color yarn 
printing machines ; also model making and general machinery repairing. The 
business was originally founded in 1834, by D. L. Peck, who, in 1858 took into 
partnership C. A Luther, the firm adopting the name it is now known by. In 
1883 Mr. Luther died and Mr. Peck continued alone until 1890, when he 
became associated with E. A. Burnham. The trade extends throughout the 
United States and foriegn countries, and is annually increasing. The plant is 
well equipped with the latest improved machinery and affords employment for 
many skilled workmen. 

Dawson & Co. at 122 Broad street are well known in this city as dealers in 
bicycles, tricycles and accessories ; and do all kinds of repairing in a thorough 
and prompt manner, being fitted with special facilities and possessed of 
a thorough knowledge of its details. Since their establishment here some four 
years ago, they have built up an excellent business, and have won a deserved 
reputation for fair dealing, numbering among the patrons many of Pawtucket's 
best citizens. They carry a good stock of safeties of standard makes, which they 
sell for cash or credit on the most favorable terms. They also conduct a riding 
school, where with competent teachers in attendance the art and pleasure of 
riding may be acquired with safety and confidence. Dawson & Co. 
are young men full of energy and ambition and attentive to the wants of their 
customers. 

J. L. Spencer is the manager of one of the oldest establishments in Paw- 
tucket, namely the old Slater Mill. This mill, the first cotton mill in America, 
was built in 1793, by Samuel Slater, after whom it was named. The present 
company carries on a good trade, throughout the United States, the work 
consisting of the manufacture of cotton yarns, twines and threads, fancy twines 
being made to order. A specialty is made of machine thread on large spools 
and cones. The factory is equipped with machinery adapted to the work, and 
engages hands numbering about twenty-five. It is a large building about 
three stories high, covering an area of two hundred by fifty-five feet. 

H. L. Spencer, a well known gentleman of Pawtucket, established himself 
in the bicycle business at 7 Slater avenue, in 1882, since which time he has 
built up a large and prosperous trade. He is sole agent in this city for 
Columbias, Victors, Hartfords and others, and his is the leading house of this 



460 



ADVERTISEMENTS. 



STAR TANNING CO., 



MANUFACTURERS OF IMPROVED 



RAW HIDE LACE & PICKER LEATHER, 

Oak Tanned Leather Belting. White Picker or Moc- 
casin Leather. Also of Patent Lace and Picker 
Leather, Loom Straps of all descriptions. 

Pickers of all Patterns made to Order and Belts Repaired at Shortest Notice. 

SSEWSEST- 140 to 146 FRONT ST., PAWTUCKET, R. I. 



GEORGE A. LANE, 

Successor to BOWEN 8c LANE- 

Boarding and Livery Stable, 

No. 2, 4 and 6 Mason St.. 

Corner Railroad Ave., 

Pawtucket, - - R. I, 

TELEPHONE. 



Old Slater Mill. " 

* 

J. L SPENCER, Agent, 
Cotton yarns, 

Twiner fir Threads;, 

Pawtucket, - - R. I. 



ESTABLISHED 1882. 



*H. L JFENCER, 




Ho. 7 Slater Ave., Pawtucket, R. 



EXCELSOIR 

NORWOOD STEAM LAUNDRY, 

BROADWAY. 

C. J. SULLIVAN, Manager. 

Cleansing® of ©Kid ©Gloves. 

LADIES' AND GENTS SUITS 
A SPECIALTY. 

Satisfact i on Guaranteed. HOrWOOd, MaSS. 



a Lu WHITTEN, 



Manufacturer of 



TIN W A R R 

2i Exchange St., Pawtucket, R. I. 

Mill "Work and General Repairiag 
Promptly attended to. 

A Specialty made of 

Copper Working Bar Drainers. 



JOHN FRENCH, 

Marble and Granite, 

11 and 13 Exchange St., 



Pawtucket, 

Opposite Depot. 



R. I. 

Telephone. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 46 1 

city dealing in these goods. In a large building three stories in height, 
covering an area of fifty by one hundred feet, we find Mr. Spencer and his three 
employees busily at work attending to the wants of their numerous customers. 

Carpenter & Co. is an old and reliable firm engaged as importers, manu- 
facturers and wholesale and retail dealers, in complete house furnishings, office 
furniture, etc. In January 1858, this house was established, and is now 
located at 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36 North Main Street Square. An extensive 
trade is carried on throughout the New England states, requiring the services 
of thirty-two competent hands. 

A. E. Tenney, about twelve years ago, established the business which is now 
known as the A. E. Tenney Mfg. Co. Since the beginning, and also at the 
present time, their goods are sent throughout the world. The work consists in 
the manufacture of patent adjustable barrel rod, Marsden & Simmons cloth 
stretchers, pattern making, model work, general machinery, and specialties. 
The work is confined to the second floor of a handsome four-story building, 
covering an area of one hundred fifty by fifty feet, also an ell, fifty by fifty 
feet in dimension. The factory is equipped with all the latest improved machinery 
and about forty hands are employed. 

John French is owner and manager of one of the oldest business houses in 
Pawtucket, it having been established since 1844 ana " although the trade lies in 
the local districts, it is one of the best in the city. Mr. French is a dealer 
in marble and granite and is well and favorably known throughout the state. 
With the aid of ten competent workmen, he carries on a large and profitable 
business. His workshops comprise a building two stories high, together with 
adjoining sheds, in all covering an area of 2,000 square feet and located at 1 1 
and 13 Exchange street. 

C. L. Whitten in 1887 began his successful career at 21 Exchange street, 
Pawtucket. Since this time he has enjoyed an enviable trade, in the adjoining 
cities, also in the larger cities of the United States. He is engaged in the 
manufacture of tinware, does mill work and general repairing, a specialty being 
made of copper bar drainers. Mr. Whitten and his skilled mechanics, number- 
ing about five, occupy a building three stories high, covering an area of sixty by 
eighteen feet. 

C. A. Spooner & Co. is a well known firm engaged in the manufacture of 
jewelry. This house was established in 1891, since which time they have enjoyed 
a prosperous and increasing trade all over the United States. A large amount of 
brooches, scarf pins, drops, studs, hair pins, etc., is annually produced, and 
lace pins, a specialty is made of wire novelties. Their factory is located in the old 
Slater Mill, occupying the second floor, and covering an area of fifty by sixty feet 
where employment is given to ten experienced workmen. 

George A. Lane since 1872 has been proprietor of the boarding and livery 
stable located at 8 Mason street. This is an old established business having been 
founded some thirty-five years ago by D. Briggs, who was succeeded in 1868 by 
Bowen & Wightman. In 1872 Mr. Wightman retiring, Mr. Lane became associ- 
ated with Mr. Bowen, which continued for a short time, when Mr. Lane became 



462 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 



sole proprietor. He is one of Pawtueket's leading men and enjoys a flourishing 
and increasing business. The stable is three stories high, covering an area of one 
hundred by thirty feet, where six experienced workmen are in attendance. 

The Hotel Aumann, one of the best hotels in Fawtucket, is largely 
patronized although it was only built about four years ago. It is located at 
79, 81 and 83 Broad street, immediately next the depot. It contains twenty- 
four rooms, handsomely furnished in the latest style, the dining room being 
also handsomely furnished, where a first class table is set. The hotel itself is 
a handsome brick structure four stories in height, which together with the 
grounds cover an area of one hundred by one hundred fifty feet, and nothing is 
left undone that can be done for the comfort of guests. William H. Gurney is the 
proprietor, and Thomas H. Houston and S. Sullivan, clerks. These 
gentlemen are among the oldest residents of the city, and enjoy the confidence 
and esteem of the public. 



Geo. S. Leeds & Co., 



■MANUFACTUBEBS AND IMPOBTEES OF- 



Factory : 

BLUE HILL AVE., 
MATTAPAN, MASS. 
OPP. N. Y. & N. E. R.R. DEPOT. 



FRENCH HA T - and 
BONNET FRAMES. 



Office: 48 SUflflER ST., BOSTON. 



THE KNAPP WARREN CO., 

MANUFACTURING 

JEWELERS 



Plainville. £&£? Mass. 



Telephone Connections. 



-»g Providence Creamery 

The Oldest in the State. y ^_) 

... No Finer or Better- • • 

®ICE CREAM* 

Can be found in New England than is 
sold at the Creamery. 

89 and 91 North Main St., PROVIDENCE, R. I. 

Packed either in Bulk or Bricks. _ All flavors 
same price. Sweet Oream and Milk in xheir 
purest condition, Orders large or small filled 
at short notice, 




DEDHAM STATION. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 463 



DEDHAM BRANCH. 



DEDHAM. 



DEDHAM is a fine old town, the seat of justice of Norfolk county, about 
ten miles southwest of Boston. The northeastern part has two branches 
of the Providence Division of the Old Colony Railroad, which has a 
beautiful station of Dedhara granite in the principal village. The town 
is bounded north by Needham and West Roxbury district (Boston), east by 
Hyde Park and Canton, south by Norwood and Walpole, and west by Dover. 
The Charles river forms a part of the northwestern line, and the Naponset the 
eastern line. On this stream are two woolen mills, dye-works, a factory for 
hosiery, an iron foundry and machine shop. At West Dedham are malleable 
iron works, a wood turning mill and furniture factory. Population, 1890, 
7,123. Other stations on this branch are Walnut Hill and Stone Haven. 
[See "Suburban Service."] 

George W. Toomey, livery and boarding stable, is in all respects an 
admirably conducted establishment, and receives a substantial patronage. It is 
also the oldest, and has been in existence for many years. It was established 
on the site of the " Phenix Stable," built in the time of the Revolution and 
started the " Old Coach line" to Boston before the railroad was built. The 
present proprietor, Mr. Toomey, succeeded the business in 1881 and has 
carried it on successfully since then. The establishment is at once a livery, 
sale and boarding stable and carriage repository, and everything is of the best. 
He occupies a fine large stable two stories in height and 30 x 80 feet in 
dimensions, capable of accommodating from twenty-five to thirty horses and 
several carriages, and provided with every modern convenience applicable to 
the business. Among the carriages kept on hand are coaches, hacks, light 
wagons and vehicles of every description, while hacks are at the depot for all 
rains. 

H. L. Wardle, Ph. G., druggist and apothecary, is located at the corner of 
High and Washington streets. This business was originally established by 
Henry Smith, succeeded- by B. F. Smith in 1873. The present proprietor 
succeeded Mr. Smith in 1882, and has carefully maintained its previous high 
and enviable reputation. The store is neatly and handsomely furnished. The 
stock consists of a carefully selected assortment of pure drugs and chemicals, 
proprietary medicines of acknowledged merit and reputation-, toilet and fancy 
articles, perfumery, and everything usually found in a first class pharmacy 



464 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Mr. Wardle is a thoroughly educated druggist and pharmaceutical graduate, 
and gives his personal attention to the compounding of physicians' prescriptions 
and family recipes, which are always prepared in a prompt, accurate and 
satisfactory manner from fresh, pure drugs. 

SPRING STREET 

is a part of West Roxbury district, and has many fine groves and walks in the 
immediate vicinity of Charles river. Passenger service and fares same as 
West Roxbury. 

ROSLINDALE. 

THIS is a growing suburb of Boston, from which it is the same distance 
as Mount Hope. It is a most attractive place for residence, and many 
business people have homes here. Rents are low and land is compara- 
tively cheap for such an accessible and desirable location. The famous Bussey 
Park is located here, and there are many other scenic attractions in the 
immediate vicinity. Seventeen trains to and twenty from Boston week days, 
five trains each way Sundays. Fare one way, 12 cents; 100-ride ticket, $6.75. 

HIGHLAND. 

The rural features of this place are very attractive, and although the 
station, a tine structure, is but seven miles from Park Square, there is good 
gunning and fishing in the neighborhood. Highland has numerous modern- 
built residence and and is rapidly acquiring popularity as a place for homes. 
Seventeen trains to and 20 trains from Boston week days, five trains each way 
Sundays. Fare one way, 14 cents; 100-ride ticket, $9. 

WEST ROXBURY 

is a suburb almost wholly given to residences, many people doing business in 
the city having pleasant homes here. It is seven miles from Boston, with 17 
trains to and 20 trains from that station week days, five trains each way 
Sundays. Single fare, 25 cents; 100-ride ticket, $9. 



Chas. W. Welch, Pres* Frank F. Baldwin, Vice-Pres. E. Morton Elmes, Treas. 

J. G. PHINNEY COUNTER CO., 

MANUFACTURERS OF 



SOLE LEATHER BOOT ^ SHOE QOQNTEKJ 

STOUGHTON, MASS. 
Boston Office, 159 SUMMER STREET. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 465 



SHAWMUT & MII/TON AND GRANITE 

BRANCHES, 

MILTON. 

THIS is an old suburban town of much picturesqueness in scenic sur~ 
roundings, and is separated from the Dorchester district of Boston by 
the Neponset river, a stream navigable up to Milton Lower Mills, near 
the Old Colony station. Many estates in this place partake of the baronial 
character, being extensive in area, and the fine old as well as modern mansions 
are set in the midst of beautiful trees, with handsome lawns and drives to their 
approaches. Milton is largely a residential place, many wealthy business men 
of Boston having residences there, although there is some manufacturing going 
on, the most prominent of which is paper-making and the manufacture of 
crackers and biscuits, the latter an industry which was established nearly 100 
years ago. The famous Blue Hills are located in this town, from the highest 
altitude of which the observatory forms a conspicuous object for many miles 
around. The summit of these hills forms the highest point of land in this part 
of Massachusetts, and affords the grandest views of harbor, bay and inland 
scenery to be had any where. The drives through the town are unsurpassed, 
being broad, well shaded, and mostly laid with macadam, affording equipages 
of every character long and pleasant runs, bicyclists especially making use of 
the fine avenues in great numbers. The population in 1890 was 4,278. The 
town has fine schools, good churches, excellent water, perfect drainage, an ele- 
gant public hall and is well governed. 

Walter Baker & Co., proprietors of the oldest and largest chocolate works 
on this continent, are located partly in Milton, but principally in the Dorchester 
district of Boston, on the banks of the Neponset river. The business was first 
established in the same place by J. Hannon in 1765. He died in 1780 and was 
succeeded by Dr. James Baker who subsequently left the business to his grand- 
son, Walter Baker, in whose name it has since been conducted. This establish- 
ment now comprises five large mills built of brick, is equipped with the lates' 
and most improved forms of machinery and gives employment to a large num- 
ber of hands. The annual output which consists of breakfast cocoa, and other 
cocoa and chocolate preparations, is very large and is noted for its purity and 
general excellence. The long experience of this house has enabled it to reach 
that high degree of perfection for which it is noted, and the large and increasing 
demands for its products is good proof of the high esteem in which this house is 
held. 



4^6 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 



The Bent & Company branch of the New York Biscuit Company, located a 
Central Avenue station, Milton, is one of the oldest manufacturers of crackers in 
this country. It was first established in 1801 by Josiah Bent who in 1890 was 
succeeded by the New York Biscuit Company, with a capital of $10,000,000. 
The president of the company is William H. Moore of Chicago; treasurer, 
George P. Johnson of New York; and manager, J. G. Young, Jr., of Milton. 
A specialty is made by this company of Bent & Company's crackers and fancy 
biscuits. The premises occupied by them consist of a large brick building where 
a large force is employed. The company manufactures the finest quality of 
crackers of all kinds, their fancy and water crackers being unexcelled, and their 
reputation being known all over the world. They have large factories in 
Chicago, New York, and all large cities throughout the country, and their bis- 
cuits are used by the best hotels, restaurants, and families both in this country 
and in Europe. 

CENTRAL AVENUE. 

Central Avenue is a village and station of Milton of unusual natural 
attractions, many palatial estates, fine drives, and quite a number of truck 
and dairy farms. 

The stations within the city limits of Boston on this branch are : Field's 
Corner, Shawm ut, Ashmont, Cedar Grove, Granite Bridge, and Mattapan. 

GRANITE BRANCH. 

This branch leaves the main line of the Old Colony Railroad at Atlantic 
station (See Quincy) near the south bank of the Neponset river, running 
through East Milton and West Quincy to Braintree, where it again joins the 
main line. The stations are Montclair, East Milton and West Quincy. 

Maguire & O'Heron, dealers in granite, are among the representative busi- 
ness enterprises of the town. Established here in 1888, they have by close 
attention to business built up a prosperous and rapidly growing trade. The 
premises, located on Willard street, cover an area of twenty thousand square 
feet, and comprise several buildings supplied with ample steam power and 
equipped with the most improved machinery, while upwards of fourteen skilled 
hands are employed. A superior stock is constantly on hand, embracing rough 
and dressed granite of every variety, monuments, headstones, tablets, etc., and 
general cemetery and architectural work is executed in the most expeditious 
manner, the trade extending as far west as Ohio. The firm use Quincy granite 
mostly, but deal some in New Hampshire granite. Maguire & O'Heron are 
prepared at all times to give estimates on all kinds of monumental and cemetery 
work, and all orders entrusted to them receive prompt attention. Both mem- 
bers of the firm have resided in East Milton for several years and are well and 
favorably known. 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 467 



STOUGHTON BRANCH. 



STOUGHTON. 

3T0NGHT0N lies in the southwesterly part of Norfolk county, 18 miles 
south of Boston. The Stoughton & Easton Branch from the Providence 
Division runs through the centre and connects with the Taunton & New 
Bedford line in the southern part of the town, all being of the Old Colony 
Railroad system. The post-offices are Stoughton and 

NORTH STOUGHTON. 

The latter situated upon the highest land between Boston and Newport, 
is unsurpassed for its fine drives and picturesque features. The other villages 
are Belcher's Corner, Dry Pond and West Stoughton. Canton bounds the town 
on the north, Randolph and Avon on the east, Easton on the south, and Sharon 
on the west. The surface is pleasantly diversified with hill and valley ; the 
highest point of land being "The Pinnacle," from which may be seen the 
islands in Boston harbor, a wide extent of sea coast and many pleasant land- 
scapes. The rock is sienite, in which beds of iron ore occur in several localities. 
In the northwest is a group of several small ponds, and between the hills in the 
southwest section lies the long "Ames Pond," the reservior for the principa 
power at North Easton. The drainage of the town is by affluents of the 
Neponset and Taunton rivers. There are several boot and shoe factories, 
employing a large number of persons, and a woolen mill and dyehouse. 
Other manufactures are leather, knit hose, rubber goods, shoe lasts, machinery, 
artisans' tools, paper boxes, carriages, clothing, dress trimmings, soap and food 
preparations. Steam is the chief power used. Population, about 6,000. The 
stations on this branch are Canton, Springdale, (both of which are mentioned 
elsewhere. See " Providence Division, 1 ') West Stoughton and Stoughton Cen " 
tral. 

The Flexible Shoe Manufacturing Company, Stoughton, was first established 
under the name of the Patent Flexible Shoe Co., in 1882, butin 1891 it was made an 
incorporated company, and the name was changed to the present title, with 
a capital stock of ten thousand dollars. The president is Hannibal Folsom, and 
the treasurer Christopher Farrell. The work consists in the manufacture of 
men's fine shoes, also Folsom patent shoe in all sizes and styles for the retail 
trade. The premises embrace a two-story frame building fully equipped with 
all necessaiy appliances including steam power. The members of this con> 
pany are well known in social and business circles, and enjoy a lively trade 
which extends throughout New England. 



468 HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 

Charles Tenney has, since 1867, been engaged as manufacturer of men's 
and boys 1 fine calf shoes. His factory conveniently located on Porter street, 
comprises a three-story frame building one hundred thirty-five by thirty feet in 
dimensions, also a tower adjoining, twenty-five by thirty feet. The goods which 
are sold principally in Boston are the output of one hundred and fifteen hands, 
aided by steam power. Mr. Tenney is a native of Stoughton and is well known 
both in social and business circles. He has built up one of the most prosperous 
trades in this town and devotes his entire time catering to the wants of his 
numerous customers. 

George F. Walker, Stoughton, engaged in the manufacture of lasts for all 
kinds of boots and shoes is located on Summer street, where he occupies premises 
consisting of two buildings, frame and brick, with ell attached, covering an area 
of eightyby twenty-nine feet. They are fully equipped with improved machinery 
run by steam power, and have a capacity of about four hundred pairs per 
day. Mr. Walker has been established for the past twenty-two years, and has 
built up an extensive trade with the numerous shoe factories throughout the 
United States. The work is done under the supervision of Geo. E. Belcher, 
foreman. The Boston office is situated at 159 Summer street. 

The J. G. Phinney Counter Co., Stoughton, was first established by S. C. Phin- 
ney in 1848, after a time being succeeded by S. C. and J. G. Phinney, and in 1888 it 
was incorporated as the J. G. Phinney Counter Co., with a capital stock of 
one hundred and fifty thousand dollars. The officers of the campany are : 
president and general manager, C. W. Welch; vice-president, E. F. Baldwin; 
and treasurer, E. M. Elmes. The work consists in the manufacture of boot 
and shoe counters, and the premises embrace two four-story frame buildings 
fully equipped with all the modern appliances necessary for the production of 
all styles of leather counters. 

J. &H. Fitzpatrick, Stoughton, were established in 1865, but during the years 
from 1874 to 1880 they operated as two firms. The business consists of fine calf 
shoes in all the leading styles for the retail trade. Mr. Fitzpatrick gives his 
entire time and attention to the business, and all shoes made in the factory are 
looked after carefully and are fully up to sample. The product of this 
factory is about twenty-five cases per day, which are sold to the New England, 
southern and western retail trade, all orders being promptly and carefully filled 



NORTH ATTLEBOROUGH BRANCH. 

/-■ -\OWNS and stations (Farmers, Falls Village and North Attleborough,) 
on this branch are referred to at some length under "Providence 
|_ Division." 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 469 

INDIA POINT BRANCH. 



PERRINS, Rumford, Warren Avenue and Tndia Point are stations 
embraced within the suburbs of Providence for the greater portion of 
the seven miles traversed by this line, Fox Point being the terminus in 
that city. 

WARREN AND BRISTOL BRANCH. 



r 



/""] [""""SHIS branch extends from Providence to Fall River, with stations at 
East Providence, Kettle Point, Silver Spring, Pornham, Riverside, 
Bullock's Point, Drownville, Nayatt, Harrington, Hampden Meadows, 
Warren, Bristol, Coles, South Swansea, Brayton Point and Brayton, nearly all 
of which are noted summering places on the famous Narragansett Bay. 



GEORGE F. WALKER 
Office, 159 SUMMER STREET, BOSTON. 

MANUFACTURER OF 

Boot and Shoe Lasts. 

STOUGHTON, MASS. 

Flexible Shoe Man'fg Co., 

INCORPORATED. 

— - <Lssp Manufacturers of The ^>- — 

^eFolsom •:• Patent * Shoee*- 

In all the Leading Styles for Men's ivear 

and from all the different kinds of stock. 

Factory at Stoughton, Mass. 

H. FOLSOM, Pres. and Manager- CHRISTOPHER FARRELL, Treas. 



47° HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 



SUBURBAN SERVICE. CENTRAL 
DIVISION. 



THE suburban service of the Old Colony Railroad has done much to 
relieve the congested portions of the city proper and make it possible 
for tens of thousands of business men, mechanics and others to build 
homes amid surroundings of the most cheerful and healthful character. The 
suburbs of Boston are acknowledged to be the most beautiful of any city in the 
East, and the facility with which the greater portion of them can be reached by the 
numerous trains of the Old Colony has developed these districts with surprising 
rapidity within a comparatively few years ; not only has the transportation 
service been a potent agent in populating the suburban districts, but the 
railroad company has taken a deep interest in the work of making them 
attractive to residents by the beautifying, and the laying out of lawns and flower 
beds around the stations and otherwise giving a favorable impression to home- 
seekers. 

Starting from the Kneeland Street Station of the Old Colony Railroad, the 
surroundings do not begin to assume a suburban appearance until South Boston 
and Crescent avenue are passed. At 

SAVIN HILL 

the district begins to take on the features which make the country desirable for 
residence, such as ample garden spots, fruit, etc., with broad and well-shaded 
streets. This station is three miles from the city and has 29 trains to, and 25 
trains from that point week days, with a five-cent fare. Four trains are run 
each way on Sundays. 

HARRISON SQUARE, 

four miles out. is a fine section of the city, and has 35 trains to and 39 trains 
from the Kneeland Street Station every week-day, and four each way on 
Sundays. The fare is 7 cents, or 100-ride tickets can be had for 5 cents each. 

F. A. Merriam & Co., the most extensive dealers in masons' material in 
Harrison Square and vicinity, are located at 254 Freeport street, opposite Beach, 
where several large two-story frame buildings are occupied. This house carries 
a large and varied stock of the best class of goods for building purposes, such 
as bricks, lime, cement, drain pipe, flagging stone, etc., and their stock can be 
relied upon for measure and quality. Their goods are sent all over Dorchester 
and are in demand by the best class of builders. Mr. Merriam established here 



HISTORY OF TOWNS AND CITIES. 47 1 

i 

in 1885 and has by his good management, integrity and strict attention to all mat- 
ters at hand, become a prominent and important adjunct of the trade facilities of 
this section of the country. He employs the services of twenty men and 
twenty-live horses and ma}- well be looked upon as one of the representative 
business men of this district. 

E. A. Huebener & Co., Harrison Square, at 315 Adams street, near Park, 
can be relied upon for all kinds of furniture repairing upholstering, carpet and 
shade work. They occupy the lower floor of a two-story frame building 
40 x 30 feet and have facilities for the best class of work. In addition to this 
are the extensive carpet cleaning works at Cedar Grove, which employs 
the services of eight hands. Mr. Huebener established this business eighteen 
years ago which together with his former experience in this kind of work 
enables him to cater to the wants of the most fastidious. Harrison Square being 
his birth place and life long residence, he is well known and possesses a reputation 
for upright dealing and good judgment, as the prosperous condition of his 
constantly increasing business is ample testimony. 

Abel Goss is located conveniently at the corner of Park and Adams streets, 
Harrison Square, Dorchester, where he conducts a well appointed livery board- 
ing and hack stable. He has been established here for the past forty years, 
and devotes his entire attention catering to the wants of his numerous 
customers. In his neatly kept stable, we find a large variety of the vaiious 
styles of carriages, which are furnished for parties, weddings and funerals, at 
short notice, also keeping fifty splendid horses, which are always managed by 
careful drivers. The stable is a two-story frame building where ten men find 
employment, including hostlers, drivers, and other assistants. Mr. Goss is well 
and favorably known in this district, as he has always been a resident of 
Harrison Squ